• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Samba de Amigo Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Created exclusively for the Wii home video game system, this vibrant new game lets players shake to the beats of a samba-infused soundtrack comprised of popular new songs as well as fan-favourites from the original game. Playing as the grinning, sombrero-topped monkey, Amigo, players shakeCreated exclusively for the Wii home video game system, this vibrant new game lets players shake to the beats of a samba-infused soundtrack comprised of popular new songs as well as fan-favourites from the original game. Playing as the grinning, sombrero-topped monkey, Amigo, players shake the Wii Remote and Nunchuk like maracas, in time with the visual beats of the music on-screen. Samba De Amigo is packed with lively stages and a host of colourful characters. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 43
  2. Negative: 2 out of 43
  1. Of course, the big question on the minds of Samba devotees is how the controls stack up to the Dreamcast version and its beloved maracas peripheral. The answer: extremely well. [Nov 2008, p.95]
  2. Here is one of the most amusing games for Wii. It’s more colorful than the original version and has an amazing playlist, although the Wiimote is not so accurate has the maracas. In addition, we also have to complaint about the lack of an online mode. [Oct 2008]
  3. 79
    Frustrations emerging on higher difficulty levels mean that while as a basic multiplayer experience Samba excels, for the solo player it sadly isn’t a lasting prospect.
  4. If you're a hardcore gamer or have played the Dreamcast original to death then this has to be seen as a bitter disappointment; the imprecise controls on Hard will drive anyone looking to play the game at its most challenging level up the wall - the controls simply aren't accurate enough. For those looking for a casual bit of rhythm-based fun with friends though, Samba De Amigo is right up your street.
  5. If only the Wii controls were as precise an instrument as maracas...
  6. Apart from the obvious fact that party games have moved on an awful lot since Samba De Amigo first appeared, there's no denying that the control system just doesn't quite translate as well as it might have - and that can only hurt its appeal in the long run.
  7. Far too often your hands will be in the right physical space, but the Wii thinks they’re elsewhere – inexcusable in this kind of videogame. [Dec 2008, p.126]

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. StevenW
    Dec 25, 2008
    10
    Great game, easily matches up to the one on the dreamcast. the controls are easy to pick up, it doesn't take long to master the maraca Great game, easily matches up to the one on the dreamcast. the controls are easy to pick up, it doesn't take long to master the maraca positions. fun from the start and something anyone can play. great choice of fun music, would be great for parties, its still the happiest game in the world. Collapse
  2. KellyP.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    To be honest my friends and I just grab this game to mess around and were really caught off guard by it. However, we were all pretty drunk so To be honest my friends and I just grab this game to mess around and were really caught off guard by it. However, we were all pretty drunk so we started playing this and couldn't put it down. Its like dance dance for your hands! Expand
  3. JohnW.
    Sep 26, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game. The control scheme takes a little getting used to, it's different than the Dreamcast version, but once you get Fantastic game. The control scheme takes a little getting used to, it's different than the Dreamcast version, but once you get comfortable with it you can do very well. I and my kids are loving it. Expand
  4. GabeS.
    Sep 26, 2008
    9
    Having neverplayed the original DC version of Samba, and never having played many Wii games in general, I was a bit overwhelmed when I first Having neverplayed the original DC version of Samba, and never having played many Wii games in general, I was a bit overwhelmed when I first tried this game. However, within minutes I was in the game and shaking those maraca's like crazy and having a lot of fun doing it! The controls took a little bit of getting used to, but after a song or two I had it down pretty well and was able to progress into the next difficulty levels pretty quickly, though I never managed to quite handle the hardest level. I would definitely suggest Samba De Amigo if you like rhythm games, and even if you don't, I think it is worth trying out! Expand
  5. VoltaireT.
    Nov 9, 2008
    9
    The controls works great, but require a lot of practice to master. Non-gamers can easily engoy EASY and NORMAL modes, but the HARD and The controls works great, but require a lot of practice to master. Non-gamers can easily engoy EASY and NORMAL modes, but the HARD and SUPERHARD modes require a lot of patience. It your willing to learn, youll have a blast playing through the game, if not, enjoy th easy and normal modes. All in all, its a grewat game. Online leaderboards, downloadable content, its a blast with friends. And its only $40. Expand
  6. KCL.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    Interesting game! I never played the first game but this is definitely a good game. Lots of fun but it seams like a yonger crowd would enjoy it more.
  7. JimmusMaximus
    Sep 30, 2008
    4
    Decent song selection, if you like latin-flavored music. Otherwise, a total crap-fest of dull gameplay and horrible controls. After playing Decent song selection, if you like latin-flavored music. Otherwise, a total crap-fest of dull gameplay and horrible controls. After playing music-themed games like Guitar Hero and Rock band, shaking controls to simulate maracas is mostly pointless. Samba De Amigo is no amigo of mine. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews