User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 210 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 210

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    9
    Extremely solid game based on exploration and story that uses the Wii-mote expertly. Shattered memories best feature is its cellphone that lets you capture clues and call ghosts in an alternate reality. The game is not a parody of real life, but designed to make you think about your relationship with the game, or with your real life. It is not a shoot-em up or survival horror likeExtremely solid game based on exploration and story that uses the Wii-mote expertly. Shattered memories best feature is its cellphone that lets you capture clues and call ghosts in an alternate reality. The game is not a parody of real life, but designed to make you think about your relationship with the game, or with your real life. It is not a shoot-em up or survival horror like Resident Evil or older silent hill games, but it is a must have wii title. Combat is non-extistant, where you must and complete mazes. It is still spooky and full of scares. The drive to keep going and find a new area is always there. The length of the game is just about right considering it can have multiple endings. An interactive story makes this game awesome. The best modern Silent Hill game since the ones on the ps2. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    I can understand how this game will polarize Silent Hill fans, it is quite different, especially since fighting has been removed entirely. Using the Wiimote as the flashlight feels amazing! Puzzles are ridiculously easy, but I think the purpose of them is to force you to interact with objects using the Wiimote so you feel more immersed, rather than challenge you mentally. The nightmarishI can understand how this game will polarize Silent Hill fans, it is quite different, especially since fighting has been removed entirely. Using the Wiimote as the flashlight feels amazing! Puzzles are ridiculously easy, but I think the purpose of them is to force you to interact with objects using the Wiimote so you feel more immersed, rather than challenge you mentally. The nightmarish chase scenes will stump you enough to satisfy your need to use brain power. The story is really great once you piece it all together, and when you do, it's not so much of a mystery why they chose to reinvent the original and use its characters in a new context. The graphics are astonishing for the Wii. There is some frame-skipping at times, especially when running through doors during chase scenes, but I would rather deal with frame loss than slowdown. Expand
  3. May 3, 2012
    9
    Amazing story, totally breathtaking, Nice gameplay control. I love the psychological turn that the game offered me. U wont regret. Yea maybe as the "Silent Hill" series this can be a parallel view, but we aren't discussing about the series are we?, we are discussing this game-play experience, and is unforgettable!.
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    10
    A classic. Excellent music score. Exceptional programming. Excellent gameplay. Excellent story; multiple endings; things that happen in the game actually and effectively depend on what you do (ex. what you look at). Terrifying. I think of this game almost as a perfect game -- the only thing I could complain about is that maybe the system used to track how the player plays the game has someA classic. Excellent music score. Exceptional programming. Excellent gameplay. Excellent story; multiple endings; things that happen in the game actually and effectively depend on what you do (ex. what you look at). Terrifying. I think of this game almost as a perfect game -- the only thing I could complain about is that maybe the system used to track how the player plays the game has some minor flaws: I would look at all items (ex. posters) to get my character to react to them (say something), but I found out that the game took this as interest in the items, rather my actual intention, and stored these as valid statistics to use. Expand
  5. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the best games, I've ever played on the Nintendo Wii. I played the other versions, too (PS2, PSP) and I have to say, that the wii-version actually is the best. I like the controls and also the story. And for the Wii it has amazing graphics, too.
    Buy it. You won't regret it!
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    When I first played this game I was like "wow, this looks really good". Really good to the point that I had to pause to make sure I was holding a Wiimote. I was. Then I kept playing and was just blown away by the lighting and snow effects. I paused again to make sure my Wiimote had not interfaced with an 360 or PS3 or PC in order to trick me into thinking Wii games could look like this. ItWhen I first played this game I was like "wow, this looks really good". Really good to the point that I had to pause to make sure I was holding a Wiimote. I was. Then I kept playing and was just blown away by the lighting and snow effects. I paused again to make sure my Wiimote had not interfaced with an 360 or PS3 or PC in order to trick me into thinking Wii games could look like this. It had not. Finally I had to stop the game a third time. This time because I was afraid. Very afraid. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Shattered Memories is the kind of game that won't resonate very strongly with many people, but for others like myself, it will definitely hit home in a way that will never be forgotten. To me, it was an emotional journey among the ranks of games as varied as The Walking Dead and Journey, and it far exceeded that of the emotions which were elicited from Heavy Rain. Everyone's experience isShattered Memories is the kind of game that won't resonate very strongly with many people, but for others like myself, it will definitely hit home in a way that will never be forgotten. To me, it was an emotional journey among the ranks of games as varied as The Walking Dead and Journey, and it far exceeded that of the emotions which were elicited from Heavy Rain. Everyone's experience is going to be different, however, and so I should add that the reason why I felt personally connected to this game (moreso than any other I've played) is because the central theme revolves around the concept of "reimagining" or fantasizing about life in the way that it could have been, if only something or other was "different" about it. The ending of the game was incredibly emotionally charged and struck out in my mind for many months afterwards. Climax has done amazingly well at retaining the spirit of the Silent Hill series with its reimagining of the original game, while simultaneously improving upon the execution and doing a far better job in terms of gameplay. This game is a seriously underrated work of art that's superior to the original game in many ways, and even on par with Silent Hill 2 in terms of story. Expand
  8. FedericoT
    Mar 2, 2010
    10
    Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before. The graphic is very good for Wii and the lights effects are simply fantastic. The game didn't scary me, but it has a great atmosphere. The puzzles are not very hard, but they're very funny. The story is something excellent. In fact this is a great Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before. The graphic is very good for Wii and the lights effects are simply fantastic. The game didn't scary me, but it has a great atmosphere. The puzzles are not very hard, but they're very funny. The story is something excellent. In fact this is a great game for Wii, and anyone should have it! Expand
  9. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    My absolute favorite survival horror game of all time. Mind blowing graphics and effects and a truly involved, dark story with many twists depending on how you play and answer the psych profiles. A melancholy game for those with true "mature" tastes.
  10. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    The best game I played. The ending is a MASTERPIECE. Silent Hill Shattered Memories is a game made whit passion, and Climax made a great job, creating a game unique, never seen before.
  11. ScottS
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Very happy with the direction they went with this game. The chase scenes are intense!
  12. HarryT
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    The best Silent Hill ever. And perhaps the beste survival horror game of all time. I really enjoyed playing it.
  13. JoyT
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, from start to finish it kept me entertained to no end. It must have some incredibly talented developers!
  14. DC
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    A compelling adventure with some awesome set-pieces. The voice acting is bang on and the atmosphere is amped up to the max. A great return to form from a great horror franchise.
  15. MovieQueen
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Quite scary, super athmospheric and Interesting game, that is PERFECT in any way. It's only "flaw" is that it is a little short, but still it is longer than CoD MW2, and this is replayable game with alternatinging story. And for once: the psychological horror means psychological horror. You feel like you are being watched. Beautiful game and good quality voice acting.
  16. anonymous
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Played this for several hours and I am really enjoying this game. It has some scary moments and using the Wii Remote as a phone is a great idea.
  17. StuS
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    So long as you're a Wii owner, and intrigued by the concept of having no way to truly fight back against the monsters that pursue you, this game is *easily* worth a rental, if not a full buy - though due to the 4-7 hour gameplay mark, this may be more appropriate for a 20-30 dollar pricetag. However, this is also redeemed by a wealth of replay value, as I've played through 3 So long as you're a Wii owner, and intrigued by the concept of having no way to truly fight back against the monsters that pursue you, this game is *easily* worth a rental, if not a full buy - though due to the 4-7 hour gameplay mark, this may be more appropriate for a 20-30 dollar pricetag. However, this is also redeemed by a wealth of replay value, as I've played through 3 times thus far, and enjoyed myself every time. And pay little attention to any criticism of the graphics, as the game looks *amazing*, particularly with the shadow, particle, and flashlight effects. Expand
  18. Ellie
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    The story is beautiful, and outright disturbing. I'd say one of the best of the series. The gameplay is fun, possibly better than the stiff handling of the original trilogy. This game is definitely better than SH4, SH0, and SH:H put together. It all depends on taste, really. Hardcore fans of the original will hate it because it's so innovative.
  19. LewisHiigel
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    I just finished this game and have nothing but good things to say about it. The voice acting is phenomenal, the graphics are easily the best on the Wii, the motion controls are slick and the pacing is perfect. The story is perfectly told without a trace of ancient mystical cults to ruin it. It's a short game, but merits multiple playthroughs. In a word, perfect.
  20. StevenS
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    This is way far one of the most intense experiences of I've ever play in any game. The chase scenes work so well. You're defiantly running for your life in those. The atmosphere feels really good. I'll even compare it to Bioshock and Metroid Prime when it comes to that. Some people may get turned off by not having any weapons but this game is down right amazing. The ending This is way far one of the most intense experiences of I've ever play in any game. The chase scenes work so well. You're defiantly running for your life in those. The atmosphere feels really good. I'll even compare it to Bioshock and Metroid Prime when it comes to that. Some people may get turned off by not having any weapons but this game is down right amazing. The ending left me with such a shock, I couldn't believe my eyes and ears. This is a game that people must play with an open mind. Good job Climax studios. PS Why would that person give a well deserving game a zero? Expand
  21. JamesK
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    It may be short, but after the first play through you will be absolutely compelled to begin a second... and if you do things a bit differently, the possibilities really open up. It's far from perfect, but it does so many fresh things that work so well for it that the little annoyances here and there become downright petty. As an industry, we need more games like this.
  22. FlorianB
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him play the action sequences in a blockbuster hollywood movie, a game that uses all it's assets to tell that story and not just dialogue and guns, deserves nothing but praise. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories might not be what you expect from a Silent Hill game, and it's actual scaryness can be disputed. But it is the best story told interactively since portal, or since Silent Hill 2 if you limit yourself to the genre. If you're even remotely interested in the medium of games as storytelling medium, you owe yourself to play Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Expand
  23. FlorianB
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him While this game features gameplay flaws much like all of the early Silent Hill games had, those are ultimatly irrelevant for the same reason as they were in Silent Hill 2. A game that successfully manage to engage the player in the storytelling, a game that features clever, immersive writing that tells a story interactively and engages the player in everything, instead of just letting him play the action sequences in a blockbuster hollywood movie, a game that uses all it's assets to tell that story and not just dialogue and guns, deserves nothing but praise. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories might not be what you expect from a Silent Hill game, and it's actual scaryness can be disputed. But it is the best story told interactively since portal, or since Silent Hill 2 if you limit yourself to the genre. If you're even remotely interested in the medium of games as storytelling medium, you owe yourself to play Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Expand
  24. MattR
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    The best Silent hill since SH2. Haunting, Psychological and brilliant. Gone are silly plots relating to cults and any mention of Silent Hill existing anywhere outside of the character's minds and in is a deep, compelling story that adapts its telling to fit the gamer's psyche profile. congratulations Climax, you have done very well indeed.
  25. KevinP
    Dec 15, 2009
    9
    Great game, really messed with my head. Nightmare sequences are frustrating but worth struggling through. No one said Silent Hill was easy. Great use of Wii motion controls, great graphics for a Wii game, amazing story, sound, etc.
  26. FrankP
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    A truly engaging interactive experience. SM takes the most engaging elements of past Silent Hills -- the psychological horror and externalized personal hells -- and takes them in exciting new directions. The much-hyped psychological profiling the game performs behind the scenes changes the game in subtle, yet meaningful ways, and the end result is a gaming experience that truly makes you A truly engaging interactive experience. SM takes the most engaging elements of past Silent Hills -- the psychological horror and externalized personal hells -- and takes them in exciting new directions. The much-hyped psychological profiling the game performs behind the scenes changes the game in subtle, yet meaningful ways, and the end result is a gaming experience that truly makes you feel like you're being watched. Add to that an affecting, well paced story, and sky high production values, with an imppressive lighting system, convincing facial animations, and professional voice-acting, and you have one of the very best titles of the year across any platform. Expand
  27. BryS
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Probably the best graphics I've ever seen on Wii. No difference I can see from most Xbox and Playstation games. The lighting effects are the most creepy and best I've ever seen in any game, ever. The flashlight is AMAZING. You'll spend hours just staring and moving the light around to see the gorgeous world. It's amazing, truly. The psychology elements are insane, it Probably the best graphics I've ever seen on Wii. No difference I can see from most Xbox and Playstation games. The lighting effects are the most creepy and best I've ever seen in any game, ever. The flashlight is AMAZING. You'll spend hours just staring and moving the light around to see the gorgeous world. It's amazing, truly. The psychology elements are insane, it changes EVERYTHING and you'll play through the game MANY times before you even see half of what changes. It's nice to see Silent Hill on Nintendo, where it belongs with Resident Evil. The best game of 2009 for me BY FAR, and I buy a frick load of games every month. Expand
  28. GaryW
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Amazing game. Story,sound, Gameplay and everything else is perfect IMO. Must have for all Silent Hill fans.
  29. BrettT
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    This here is hands down the best Silent Hill game in years. It's also one of the rare 3rd party efforts on the Wii that truly exploits all the Wii is capable of. The flashlight works beautifully mapped to the Wii IR pointer, the motions feel natural and help enhance the tension and Wiimote speaker is used to great effect here as well. Also of note, this game is one of the better This here is hands down the best Silent Hill game in years. It's also one of the rare 3rd party efforts on the Wii that truly exploits all the Wii is capable of. The flashlight works beautifully mapped to the Wii IR pointer, the motions feel natural and help enhance the tension and Wiimote speaker is used to great effect here as well. Also of note, this game is one of the better visual efforts on the Wii with a lot of attention to detail in every environment. It took me around 8-9 hours to finish the story (I explored every nook and cranny for more echos and such). The story here is top notch and with the psychological profiling it lends itself to multiple replays (aside from the fact that every SH title has multiple endings). This is the type 3rd party title that I want to see more of on the Wii: one with effort for once! This game is absolutely worth the purchase. Expand
  30. VichoP
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    this game have amazing graphics, a dynamical gameplay (a really good use of the wiimote) and really scare me a lot (more than any wii game) even if you can't shoot here, you'll have a great time playing this.
  31. ACreature!!
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This is my favorite in the franchise. Seriously, it's as good as the second one. It is also a rare game that gives me the "YEAH, I'M PLAYING THE WII" feeling that no other game but No More Heroes and the New Super Mario Bros gave me. The way the scrachy radio sound comes from the Wii remote is a perfectly immersive, brilliant touch. It saves the sound in the tv from being as This is my favorite in the franchise. Seriously, it's as good as the second one. It is also a rare game that gives me the "YEAH, I'M PLAYING THE WII" feeling that no other game but No More Heroes and the New Super Mario Bros gave me. The way the scrachy radio sound comes from the Wii remote is a perfectly immersive, brilliant touch. It saves the sound in the tv from being as clustered as in previouse games. The graphics look extremely good, and it can even stack up pretty well against 360 and PS3 games. Another cool thing is that it utilizes the cellphone as much as Grand Theift Auto 4. There are some bad points. First, the chase scenes are random trial and error frantic running. You can't really check your GPS while being chased which can lead to getting lost often in more complicated stages like the school one. Also, the enemies. First, they change often, however they still have the same figure so it really doesn't feel like there is any variety, and to top it off are so UGLY!! They are not the "interesting" kind of ugly like in previouse SH games and other survival horror ones. They look all scaley and if they have some sort of skin diseases. That's reason enough to run away from them. The story takes time to fall into place, and I mean a LOT of time. Also, I don't understand why this is a "reimagining" of the first one instead of with completely new characters. I've never played the first one, but this still sounds completely different. That's like if there was a "reimagining" of Modern Warfare 2, but it took place in space. The puzzles are rarely good, their usually either too obviouse or too obscure. Lastly, though it's entertaining, it's not scary. There are a few scares and eerie moments, but the way you discover things by walking towards an object until it explodes or something and then get a text message afterwards every time is very repetitive. There is also no stalker character like pyrimid head from SH2, but that works in my favor because I like to sleep at night without having to check my closet for monsters. I feel like I'm leaving out some things, but I cant remember them, so in conclusion it's a good game~! Collapse
  32. JustinZ
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This is by far the second best Silent Hill game I have ever played. Silent Hill 2 is still my favorite just because I enjoyed the story more and found it be a bit scarier but regardless, Shattered Memories blows SH1 out of the water. First of all, Climax did a fantastic job with the graphics. it runs at a constant framerate with slight drops when you're outside, but generally if you This is by far the second best Silent Hill game I have ever played. Silent Hill 2 is still my favorite just because I enjoyed the story more and found it be a bit scarier but regardless, Shattered Memories blows SH1 out of the water. First of all, Climax did a fantastic job with the graphics. it runs at a constant framerate with slight drops when you're outside, but generally if you turn off your flashlight, it stays at a constant framerate. Ooh, the flash light! Wow, best video game flashlight EVER. The shadows! How it controls with the Wii Remote! It's phenomenal. Shattered Memories uses the Wii Remote very well with its puzzles and flashlight mechanics. Also, the motion control added is realistic and not gimmicky. You don't need to flail your arms around like an idiot, just a simple swing in the correct direction. What really sealed the deal for this game was the plot. Wow! I don't want to spoil anything, but, with the profiling and such, I've played it four times with different interactions, puzzles, and endings. You get more replay value out of this than any other Silent Hill game. Granted, SH2 also profiled you, but, you had NO IDEA what you were being profiled on so it's not as customizable. Your first ending was completely random. Overall, I was very pleased with this game. The ending blew me away and I suggest it to any Silent Hill, Survival Horror, or Adventure fan. Good show Climax, Good show! :D Expand
  33. UlissesD'Á
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    The Wii is lacking good third-party horror and adventure games and the Silent Hill franchise has been left in the dark for too long. Both these gaps are filled with this new, innovative and inventive entry in the series. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories tells the story of Harry Mason, and the game begins with his car, him and his daughter, Cheryl, inside, crashing in the snowy Silent Hill, The Wii is lacking good third-party horror and adventure games and the Silent Hill franchise has been left in the dark for too long. Both these gaps are filled with this new, innovative and inventive entry in the series. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories tells the story of Harry Mason, and the game begins with his car, him and his daughter, Cheryl, inside, crashing in the snowy Silent Hill, a small city. When Harry wakes up after the crash, he notices his daughter, Cheryl, is missing and go look for her. The main quest starts from there. You play as Harry and moves throughout Silent Hill looking for Cheryl. In this journey, you get to visit schools, pumping stations, forests, shoppings, boats and many other places and get to know some very interesting and compelling characters that interact with Harry in his mission. But what really sucks the player in the game is the way it profiles psychologically the player and changes itself to fill the game with moments according to the behavior of the player. The base to this whole thing is the psychiatrist sessions you have between one "chapter" of the game and another. The doctor will ask Harry some questions and play some games with him that are decisive to how the game will be in the next moments. It may sound a little too much mechanical (it sounded to me like that before I played the game), but when you take control of Harry, it all seems very natural. Also, the game has a few endings that will fit your personality and blow you away. Another great achievement of the developer is to have made an amazing control scheme that fits the whole game. Use the control stick the move Harry around, the Z-button to run, A to interact with stuff and B to zoom where the flashlight is pointing. Things change a bit when you go through the nightmare sequences, so let's talk a little about it. In these sequences, the world freezes completely and some very awkward creatures start chasing Harry. They are fast and smart, and they'll use their incredible AI to get him and grab him. If Harry gets grabbed and can't get free for enough time, he will "die" and return to the beginning of the sequence to try again. You can get free of the creatures by using smartly implemented motion controls to shake them off. It feels very natural, but it takes some getting used to. Harry's goal in these sequences is to get to the end of it by using the labyrinth of doors to get there. There is a map, but if you try to lose some time to understand, you'll probably get killed very soon. By making the player completely lost most of times, these scenes can make one completely desperate. The only things that are there to help Harry are some marks to tell him the possible way to get to the end and some flares that will keep the monsters away for some time. Between the cutscenes and the nightmares, there are some puzzling and exploration sequences in which the player is supposed to get to somewhere by unlocking doors and jumping around to find the way. To unlock those doors, there may be some very simple and intuitive puzzles in which all you have to do is interact with them. Others, by using the same mechanic of grabbing things, make for complex, Zelda-like, oh-snap-i'm-a-genius situations. All the game runs in a steady framerate with absolutely amazing graphics, both technical and artistic. Although the water effects might be disappointing, the particle and, especially, the lighting ones are surely unparalleled on the Wii. The loading screens are hardly noticeable because they're few and far between, and can't even start to bother the experience. The sound effects and soundtrack are excellent also and go in the same way of the visuals to create one of the best atmospheres I've ever experienced in gaming. Summing up, this is a Wii game that should be experienced by any hardcore owner of the console. It is technically accomplished, thrilling and ultimately fun in its own way. The only major complaint about it is the short length of the campaign, which can be fixed if you look for all the mementos, messages, logs, phone numbers and endings. Oh, the ending... It's just freaking awesome. Expand
  34. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    This is an absolute awesome game. It's more of a psychological thriller than a horror game, because it focuses more on psychological plot points rather than lots of blood, guts and horror.

    The main character is just an ordinary dad looking for his missing daughter after their car crashed, so it makes perfect sense why he haven't got a single weapon to defend himself with. He does what
    This is an absolute awesome game. It's more of a psychological thriller than a horror game, because it focuses more on psychological plot points rather than lots of blood, guts and horror.

    The main character is just an ordinary dad looking for his missing daughter after their car crashed, so it makes perfect sense why he haven't got a single weapon to defend himself with. He does what most of us would do in a similar situation, we would run!

    A really enjoying and entertaining game, you'll likely never play a similar one again.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories is without a doubt one of the year’s finest games, and is another example of a well made third-party game for the Wii.
  2. Silent Hill: Shattered Memories takes some bold, unpredictable risks with this venerated franchise, and the result is a heck of a lot more interesting than yet another survival horror game with motion-assisted aiming might have been.
  3. Shattered Memories is in some ways a true return to form for the series, although with recent news of Akira Yamaoka—whose music and vision has consistently defined the series—leaving Konami, it may be the last true Silent Hill game, period.