Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 31, 2011
    90
    In the end, Skylanders knows exactly what it trying to be – a family friendly affair featuring cool creatures.
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    It's an awesome game, the only caveat being that it has more hidden fees than most airlines.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    85
    Skylanders has a smart concept that has been implented very professionaly. The toys that you use with the Portal really star in this game that is fun for young and old.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    80
    A near-perfect conceptual marriage of toys and video games. While wallets may shudder at the thought of throwing down potentially lots and lots of money for the complete experience, what you get out of the box is a well-crafted adventure and world that kids of all ages can be excited about.
  5. Nov 7, 2011
    82
    Skylanders is not your typical depressing teen game; on the contrary is a competent and sometimes surprising project, full of quality and with some real production value. But the success of the game really needs a huge marketing behind, and that's what Activision really needs to do now.
  6. Nov 5, 2011
    80
    Yes, ultimately the content in the game is already on the disc and you have to pay money to unlock it, which sounds like BS. But even without the extras, Skylanders is a pretty substantial action game for kids (with a small cast). It's fun, it's challenging, the story is cute, and there is co-op.
  7. Nov 3, 2011
    90
    Skylanders signifies a new start for the franchise – a step back to Spyro's roots, yet a step into the future.
  8. An entertaining platformer let down by a silly pay-to-play unlocking system.
  9. 90
    An extremely well-designed game that is perfect for kids. Unfortunately for parents, this game is wonderful and addictive, meaning that most kids who get their hands on this will crave more characters to collect them all.
  10. Dec 7, 2011
    80
    A fun, silly, occasionally challenging romp. [Dec 2011, p.67]
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    The overall package is one that only fairly young players with generous parents are going to really enjoy. [Nov 2011, p.76]
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 6 out of 16
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    When I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swapWhen I got this game, I wasn't expecting too much (good few hours of fun) but this game is addictive! It is great to be able to swap characters on the fly, the environments and music are great. I would recommend this game for any parents who have kids (I even found myself playing co-op with my son!) Full Review »
  2. Jan 19, 2015
    8
    This is a very nice game, unlike the others in the franchise.

    Pros -Plenty to explore -Entertaining story -fun battle Cons -Poor
    This is a very nice game, unlike the others in the franchise.

    Pros
    -Plenty to explore
    -Entertaining story
    -fun battle

    Cons
    -Poor Graphics

    You must check out this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    a very addicting franchise, i only intended to collect a few of the toys, but once i started, i couldnt stop! now im only missing two figures,a very addicting franchise, i only intended to collect a few of the toys, but once i started, i couldnt stop! now im only missing two figures, not including the legendary figures, i want more boomer and wham shells in stock, along with the rest of the skylanders, they are in too low stock country-wide (U.S.A) and i think they aren't working hard enough to make them more available even though they said they were, but its a very innovative game style and i like the colorful figures and how they interact with the portal of power and how Richard Horvitz (voice of invader zim, my favorite tv show) voices the main villian, Kaos! FEAR HIS GIANT FLOATING HEAD! :DDDDD Full Review »