• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 155
  2. Negative: 39 out of 155

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Christa
    Oct 12, 2007
    2
    I couldn't play this for more than an hour before I had to beg blockbuster to take it back, pretending it was damaged. It's so monotonous.
  2. BubbaS.
    Apr 28, 2008
    1
    Wow - I purchased this game because the box says its multiplayer. Guess I should have read the reviews. Chopping logs just doesnt cut it my friends. Even the old Sonic 3 back in Genesis days had multiplayer. LAMO. Also we seem to be stuck in endless training and cant get to the "great" parts of the game with the great graphics and fun. Now, to be fair, we just picked up the game and my Wow - I purchased this game because the box says its multiplayer. Guess I should have read the reviews. Chopping logs just doesnt cut it my friends. Even the old Sonic 3 back in Genesis days had multiplayer. LAMO. Also we seem to be stuck in endless training and cant get to the "great" parts of the game with the great graphics and fun. Now, to be fair, we just picked up the game and my son has only been playing it for maybe an hour, but the endless and relentless - try jumming this time, try short jumps now, try walking backwards, now try bashing these guys.. ohh you missed one - you failed - redo the whole course...each seperated with 5 menus and totally annoying music ohhh man just burns me! We cant advance until we finish this Lost Prologue training thing which has you practicing moves in a vortex wormhole thing.. jeeze I thought we were past this kind of thing - just throw us into a real level already!??? We will figure it out! Wasnt that one of the cool things about sonic? Just throw you into a situation - up to you to figure it out. Much more interesting than having a jumping/bashing course shoved down your throat - we'll learn as we go people. Also how can people rate this game so highly with all the flaws? People say ohh yeah - if you dont need multiplayer and dont mind annoying music, and the unresponsive controls its great - 9! huh? Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    4
    If it wasn't so damn hard to control it would be a great game.
  4. Jan 26, 2012
    4
    History is really no big deal. Not terrible, but more bad than good. Gameplay is bad compared to other good Sonic games. It's quite repetitive and boring. If the game had cutscenes, it would be a little bit more involving, but no, they decided to make it with pictures, and that sucks. Resuming: The game has a bad history, it's quite repetitive and not involving.
  5. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Most unplayable glitchy failure of a sonic game. I can't stand the controls. Graphically it looks horrible, and the physics don't work... Oh yeah, and its something that would've been made 10 years ago. Another disaster from sega. What a pity.
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    4
    This is a HORRIBLE DISTURBANCE OF THE SONIC STORY LINE! Why would sonic READ anyway....(sigh) what the heck happened to get the freaking Chaos Emeralds???? Not a good game for die hard sonic fans...But good graphics!...
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    This game was poorly done by Sega:

    1. It's on rails last time I checked with this game all you do is moving the Wii remote left or right that is it they is nothing to it, nothing to the game too. 2. It does the game for you, it ends so easy. We all loved the old games Sega did back in Mega drive so why did you stop of making them and make them into this new game? It's a
    This game was poorly done by Sega:

    1. It's on rails last time I checked with this game all you do is moving the Wii remote left or right that is it they is nothing to it, nothing to the game too.

    2. It does the game for you, it ends so easy.

    We all loved the old games Sega did back in Mega drive so why did you stop of making them and make them into this new game?

    It's a shambles of a game next time I hope Sega does put more thought into their Sonic games as I won't be buying anymore if they like this on rails.

    Waste of time of any ones, sorry Sega fans but this game is a complete disaster to say the least they is no fun using Sonic this lame way, don't buy it!
    Expand
  8. May 6, 2014
    1
    This game was an absolute recipe for disaster from the very start. Not even SMB Banana Blitz can top this. Sonic and the Secret Ring has to be the WORST game I have ever played in my entire life. And no, I haven't played Sonic 360/Sonic 06.

    The story was ripped STRAIGHT from the Arabian Nights stories, the characters are kind of forgettable, and the cutscenes are jarring at best, and
    This game was an absolute recipe for disaster from the very start. Not even SMB Banana Blitz can top this. Sonic and the Secret Ring has to be the WORST game I have ever played in my entire life. And no, I haven't played Sonic 360/Sonic 06.

    The story was ripped STRAIGHT from the Arabian Nights stories, the characters are kind of forgettable, and the cutscenes are jarring at best, and lazy at worst.

    Now to the real reason why I gave this a 1/10: The control is TERRIBLE. Sure, I didn't mind it in Mario Kart Wii, but it's so awkward here, jumping included. You have to press B to stop and charge the jump. You STOP to charge a jump. This is Sonic the Hedgehog. But then I found out that you have to do missions to progress, which is just the same stages, with a different objective.

    Also, there's a party mode that I don't care for.
    Expand
  9. Apr 8, 2014
    3
    A modern Sonic game has enough going against it without starting it off with a long series or mind numbing tutorial tasks that can zap the fun out of even the biggest Sonic supporter.

    While Sonic and the secret rings looks nice on the wii, It's hard to get past the ridiculousness of the strict tutorial that proceeds to make you relearn every game mechanic the has been created in the
    A modern Sonic game has enough going against it without starting it off with a long series or mind numbing tutorial tasks that can zap the fun out of even the biggest Sonic supporter.

    While Sonic and the secret rings looks nice on the wii, It's hard to get past the ridiculousness of the strict tutorial that proceeds to make you relearn every game mechanic the has been created in the last 20 years. Combined that with a cumbersome menu system in the tutorial which instead of just automatically bumping you to the next lesson made you troll back and forward through unnecessary obstacles just to reach your next boring objective.

    Secret Rings could have been something somewhat decent if it wasn't for pure interface design choices that just drains any enjoyment to be had.
    Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2014
    1
    This abomination of a 3D Sonic game is not worth the effort of even a freaking penny. If you get this game on your Wii/Wii U collection by paying any price that's above Free, Then your ripping yourself off dude. The game has a Terrible Story/ Terrible Music/ Terrible Levels and Controls that make Sonic Heroes controls look like Super Mario Sunshines controls. They only positive that I canThis abomination of a 3D Sonic game is not worth the effort of even a freaking penny. If you get this game on your Wii/Wii U collection by paying any price that's above Free, Then your ripping yourself off dude. The game has a Terrible Story/ Terrible Music/ Terrible Levels and Controls that make Sonic Heroes controls look like Super Mario Sunshines controls. They only positive that I can think of is that the Multiplayer is decent to play for friends and family. Other then that, It's pure garbage. Expand
  11. SimonG.
    Aug 30, 2007
    3
    Yes hard games are rare these days and we should have more of them. Yes this is probably the best Sonic in 3D. Yes the overall idea of it is good. However, this doesn
  12. CraigM.
    Jul 2, 2007
    1
    I bought this after playing sonic rush. I thought if that's how good sonic can be on the ds what will it be like on the wii? The answer unfortunately is garbage. The crappy control system ruins what is a fantastic looking game, the storyline is pants, the annoying voice over telling you what to do while the controls make it damn near impossible is enough to have throw the bloody I bought this after playing sonic rush. I thought if that's how good sonic can be on the ds what will it be like on the wii? The answer unfortunately is garbage. The crappy control system ruins what is a fantastic looking game, the storyline is pants, the annoying voice over telling you what to do while the controls make it damn near impossible is enough to have throw the bloody thing out the window! I only gave it a 1 because my son likes the party games. I kept it for 2 weeks and that's only because I didn't have the heart to give up on it sooner. Rent it first if you are at all tempted to buy it!! Expand
  13. YermakirumY.
    Feb 27, 2007
    2
    Very good game.
  14. JonS.
    Apr 23, 2007
    0
    You basically hold the wiimote sideways and tilt it left and right to turn, then thrust it forward to jump. The clever developers put steps at the end of platforms to stop you walking off, but that would have been preferable to walking up to the step to jump, thrusting forward, hitting the step and not jumping. Because of the tilt turn mechanism, sonic has the turing circle of Africa, You basically hold the wiimote sideways and tilt it left and right to turn, then thrust it forward to jump. The clever developers put steps at the end of platforms to stop you walking off, but that would have been preferable to walking up to the step to jump, thrusting forward, hitting the step and not jumping. Because of the tilt turn mechanism, sonic has the turing circle of Africa, (and no reverse) so he falls of the side of the platform as you try to go back and have another go. When you do repeat the section you then over compensate and jump far too early so Sonic doesnt make any of the the longer jumps. over and over. Then you have to attack enemies by the use of the same thrusting gesture. 'Wait til the target goes Red then thrust' it tells you as you walk past the fucker and its not turned red from green and thats if you can see the fucking target. Fight and jump the same movement? WTF Not a game in any way shape or form, just a series of shitty frustrations only made worse by the completly piss poor use of the wiimote as any kind of control device. I honestly dont know how anyone associated with this can sleep at night with the knowledge that they made this game or even think it would be a good idea to release it. i cant give it any kind of rating, but i have to so it got a big fat Zero Expand
  15. PhillipV.
    May 27, 2007
    3
    Very F'ing bad. The only reason that i gave it a three instead of a one or a zero is because it's a sonic game. Good job sega you f'ed up the sonic series, congrats.
  16. JamieC.
    Aug 27, 2007
    4
    It's eye candy basically. Sure it looks nice but the game does all the flashy parts automatically for you and leaves you with the grudgings. It's a linear, on rails experience that asks you to steer left and right and jump. You will constantly find yourself tutting in anger as something so simple as walking backwards or even stopping is a major challenge in itself. Boring cut It's eye candy basically. Sure it looks nice but the game does all the flashy parts automatically for you and leaves you with the grudgings. It's a linear, on rails experience that asks you to steer left and right and jump. You will constantly find yourself tutting in anger as something so simple as walking backwards or even stopping is a major challenge in itself. Boring cut scenes, repetitive tasks and nothing making you want to play. It's only redeeming factors are the not so bad soundtrack, pleasing to the eye graphics and a good sense of speed and adrenaline but everything else has no soul. Gameplay, simply, doesn't exist. Expand
  17. May 4, 2013
    4
    I've played almost all the sonic games, and I have to say this is probably the worst. It's the controls that kill it. In what could have been seen as a brave move by the developers the player controls sonic by holding the wi-mote horizontally and steering sonic like a car. Sounds good in theory, but unfortunately it's like steering an old car with broken steering and no reverse gear.I've played almost all the sonic games, and I have to say this is probably the worst. It's the controls that kill it. In what could have been seen as a brave move by the developers the player controls sonic by holding the wi-mote horizontally and steering sonic like a car. Sounds good in theory, but unfortunately it's like steering an old car with broken steering and no reverse gear. Controls aren't nearly responsive enough, and the hit-and-miss homing attack will have you tearing your hair out in frustration and you fall to your death time after time. For the life of my I can't understand why the devs didn't allow alternative control schemes, such as the classic control or even steering sonic with the nun-chuck. Mario Kart does this, Sonic and the secret rings doesn't. Some good ideas here but at the end of the day the controls are virtually a game-breaker. Expand
  18. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    this game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dontthis game is ok, but i personally do not like it. I dont like the controls, as well as i dont generally care for the way the game is designed. I definitely wouldnt call this a bad sonic game, I would probobly give it a 7/10 as a game, but i personaly did not enjoy this game. i liked the level up concept, alot actually. And the graphics and music were pretty good as well. But i really dont care for the on rail mechanic, as well as the controls. if this game had controls similair to sonic and the black knight (you know, minus the swordplay) i think this game would actually be decent. but the controls are too akward and unresponive. Not a bad game, but one of my personal least favorite sonic games. Expand
  19. May 26, 2013
    2
    I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad.I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad. Shahra is very poorly developed, and Erazor is one of the worst villains I've ever seen in a video game. the gameplay doesn't help either. It gets very repetitive when all Sonic can do is go constantly forward, and go left and right in a straight pattern, and the control use of turning the wiimote forward and sideways to move around feels extremely unnatural. The graphics, even for an early wii game, aren't that great at all. the characters look like plastic, and the environments look very bland. Another thing I absolutely hate is party mode. the party mode in this game tries so hard to be a Mario party clone, and it fails terribly at that. Even with all these things, however, there is one thing I can say is fairly decent about the game: the soundtrack. Most Sonic games have soundtracks ranging from good to amazing, and this one is no exception. I don't really like the main theme of the game, but everything else about the game is pretty catchy. But even with a good soundtrack, Sonic and the Secret Rings manages to fail terribly on story, gameplay, and control. this is by far the worst Sonic game I've ever played, and I highly recommend staying away from it. Collapse
  20. Aug 22, 2014
    2
    I really hate this game it's boring to play or watch i'd rather play shadow the hedgehog than this steaming pile of poop. The story sucks the controls suck and the one good thing is party mode
  21. Dec 20, 2014
    1
    I really am stumped as to why Secret Rings in the only console game in the series between SA2 and Colors that's considered "At least playable" since it's the only one that I considered unplayable, yes even more so then Sonic 06. It all boils down to control, in Sonic 06, I can at least control my speed and what I'm doing, Secret Rings on the other hand, it's controls are gimmicky andI really am stumped as to why Secret Rings in the only console game in the series between SA2 and Colors that's considered "At least playable" since it's the only one that I considered unplayable, yes even more so then Sonic 06. It all boils down to control, in Sonic 06, I can at least control my speed and what I'm doing, Secret Rings on the other hand, it's controls are gimmicky and mangled as hell; this in turn makes the game unplayable to me. It is the single worst 3D Sonic game and one of the worst Sonic games I have ever played. Expand
  22. May 26, 2013
    0
    I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad.I've had my share of bad Sonic games: Sonic 06, Shadow the Hedgehog, even Sonic Heroes wasn't that good to me. But none of them come as close as this abomination of a Sonic game. The plot for the game is very far out there: I've seen pretty crazy concepts for plots before, but nothing like Sonic going into a story book to save the Arabian Nights. The new characters in here are just as bad. Shahra is very poorly developed, and Erazor is one of the worst villains I've ever seen in a video game. the gameplay doesn't help either. It gets very repetitive when all Sonic can do is go constantly forward, and go left and right in a straight pattern, and the control use of turning the wiimote forward and sideways to move around feels extremely unnatural. The graphics, even for an early wii game, aren't that great at all. the characters look like plastic, and the environments look very bland. Another thing I absolutely hate is party mode. the party mode in this game tries so hard to be a Mario party clone, and it fails terribly at that. Even with all these things, however, there is one thing I can say is fairly decent about the game: the soundtrack. Most Sonic games have soundtracks ranging from good to amazing, and this one is no exception. I don't really like the main theme of the game, but everything else about the game is pretty catchy. But even with a good soundtrack, Sonic and the Secret Rings manages to fail terribly on story, gameplay, and control. this is by far the worst Sonic game I've ever played, and I highly recommend staying away from it. Collapse
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. An encouraging sign that good Sonic games can still be made. I had a tremendous time exploring the different stages and the skill points add a bit of depth to an otherwise straightforward game.
  2. 75
    Although Sega deserves praise for Secret Rings' innovative single-player adventure, the less said about the four-player party mode, the better. It's another low-budget "Mario Party" rip-off that stretches out a few weak gameplay concepts into multiple multiplayer contests.
  3. By no means perfect, but it's still a fantastic game that finally gives the blue blazer the sort of fast-paced, slick action he deserves. It's tricky to master but once you do it really shines. [Mar 2007, p.62]