• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 20, 2010
    90
    To call Sonic Colours the best 3D Sonic game ever is damning with faint praise, although its title is deserved. The action is fast enough to satisfy your speed lust, whilst the Wisp powers introduce plenty of new skills and ways to explore the stages that otherwise could just be straight zips to the finish.
  3. Nov 9, 2010
    90
    We can say without hesitation than this is the best Sonic game for the Wii, and maybe the best Sonic 3D ever made.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colours embraces everything a SEGA fan could ever hope for or dream. Platforming has rarely been so fun and engaging.
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    90
    A fantastic game. Not just a step in the right direction, but an unequivocal success. In fact, it's the best entry in the series since the Blue Blur's 16-bit heyday. [Dec 2010, p.78]
  6. Jan 2, 2011
    89
    Whether you are a fan or not the hedgehog, take a chance and see if this is more a title of "Sonic cycle".
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    89
    But if you're looking for a modern Sonic game which stays faithful to its roots, is fun to play and is a worthy title on its own merits, look no further. Finally, Sonic Colors is that game we've been waiting for.
  8. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 85
  2. Negative: 2 out of 85
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I can't be too critical of this game, compared to the quality of Sonic games in years past, Sonic Colors paints the way forward for a newI can't be too critical of this game, compared to the quality of Sonic games in years past, Sonic Colors paints the way forward for a new generation of 3D sonic games. The game uses the camera smartly, and transitions from 2D mode to 3D are actually VERY creative (like in one part, sonic will do a 270 degree turn around a fountain to shift from 2D to 3D), which if you remember Sonic Heroes, yeah, you won't have those issues here. The Wisps are used well, they don't seem underused or overused to me. Why? Because Sonic is supposed to be a fast blue blur for most of the action, not using some weird gimmick 75% of the time. The levels are well... beautiful. They are easily some of the best graphics a Wii game has ever seen. Gameplay wise, it has a few knots here and there (hence a non-perfect rating), Ive gotten trapped in an area once before requiring restart, and some of the pitfalls were rather... cheap, but aside from that, this game has great appeal to any Sonic fan young or old. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This game is just plain epic! When Sonic Colors was first announced, I was nervous about this game and thought it would just be anotherThis game is just plain epic! When Sonic Colors was first announced, I was nervous about this game and thought it would just be another failure of a Sonic game....if I had a time-travel machine, I would go back to that day and slap myself in the face just because of how wrong I was. Gameplay wise, this game is like the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, but improved a lot. I never had any camera issues, the shift from 3D to 2D and vice versa is very smooth, the level design is beautiful and very creative, the controls are excellent and responsive, and the wisps add a large amount of replay value to the game. The music in the game is fantastic and even gets me humming to it at times. The graphics are beautiful, SEGA and Sonic Team really pushed the limit on the Wii's hardware for this game (how do they do this?) And last, but not least, the voice acting is awesome, and really makes all the characters really show their personalities and not make them seem like lifeless zombies. In conclusion, this game is a must-buy for anyone who is a Sonic fan. Even if you aren't a Sonic fan, but own a Wii, you should definitely buy this, because it is just too good to miss! Full Review »