Sonic Colors Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2010
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 303
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Colours is easily the best Sonic 3D game since the Adventure days. It ticks all the boxes. The visuals are some of the most beautiful on the Wii. Vivid colours, smooth models and all at a good stable framerate. The sounds are also great too. Apart from a couple of tunes, like the main theme Reach for the Stars and the end credits theme Speak With Your Heart, the soundtrack is top notch catchy orchestral tunes. Even the voice acting sounds way better. This complimented with the funny and lighthearted script make for some actually bearable cutscenes. Now onto the gameplay. This is split mainly into two sections, 3D and 2D. The 3D sections are fast, kinetic and beautiful. It's really all about speed here, with drifting, quick stepping, loops, corkscrews and ziplines all making for a thrilling experience. The 2D sections slow down the action a tad to focus on precise platforming, and this is great fun. It's nice for a 3D Sonic game to FINALLY have precision platforming. And it works great thanks to the tight physics and controls of the game and whilst these do get a bit of getting used to, the double jump, stomp and jump dash all help to round the experience. The main new addition to the gameplay is the Wisps. For the first time EVER, we have a Sonic "gimmick" that doesn't completely ruin the experience by completely changing the core gameplay, but rather enhances the core gameplay to make it more fun. The Wisps really add a lot of variety to the game, and allow you to explore the boundaries of Sonic Colours' vast and impressive level design. They're really great fun to use, whether you're drilling through cake or sea, rocketing up to the skies, rolling on walls and ceilings or devouring anything in your path, each Wisp gives their own nice touch to the gameplay. If this wasn't enough to make you buy the game, the inclusion of the Red Rings allows for great replay value. You will feel oblidged to collect all of the Red Rings, gain as many S ranks as possible, play through the challenge mode and challenge the Game Land. Oh yeah and did I mention that SUPER SONIC is PLAYABLE in this game in the levels? All the more reason to buy this game. The only complaints I have are the fact that the bosses are stupidly easy and rather unispired due to the fact that they are rehashed in the game, and the fact that the physics and controls (whilst good) could still be a tad tighter. Other than that this is the best Sonic game in YEARS. PLEASE get this game. It will be worth it! Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Introduction
    I enjoyed playing Sonic games on the Sega Genesis as a child. I have not played any since then, until now. From what I have read about previous games not being received well, I can say that you have nothing to worry about with Sonic Colors. The game brings back fond memories of that wonderful blue blur, is an absolute blast to play, and feels faster than ever before.
    The
    Introduction
    I enjoyed playing Sonic games on the Sega Genesis as a child. I have not played any since then, until now. From what I have read about previous games not being received well, I can say that you have nothing to worry about with Sonic Colors. The game brings back fond memories of that wonderful blue blur, is an absolute blast to play, and feels faster than ever before.

    The story behind Sonic Colors seems straight out of a Saturday morning cartoon and does quite a decent job of laying the foundation for the rest of the game. The game takes place in an interstellar amusement park created and run by Eggman, a.k.a â
    Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2010
    9
    good game i love how they designed the levels, everything seems together i feel like im playing adventure batle all over again ALMOST... This game just proves every release they make the series only gets better, from the first release on wii to the newest (Sonic colors) Sega made a major improvment through the cycle, i wonder what sega will come up with next.
    Once again good game.
  4. Nov 19, 2010
    9
    Sonic colors is THE 3D sonic game we've been waiting for. Having played the game myself, I can safely say that this game is far from disappointing. Sonic colors Boasts 45 levels in all, each with alternate routes to extend replayability. All in all with an average skill at sonic games, I cleared the whole story in 5 hours flat. Controls are spot on, and the wisps ADD to the core sonicSonic colors is THE 3D sonic game we've been waiting for. Having played the game myself, I can safely say that this game is far from disappointing. Sonic colors Boasts 45 levels in all, each with alternate routes to extend replayability. All in all with an average skill at sonic games, I cleared the whole story in 5 hours flat. Controls are spot on, and the wisps ADD to the core sonic gameplay rather than take away as previous ideas had. Unfortunately, there are a few minor issues to address. While not terribly hindering, there are Difficulty spikes of extreme magnitude as the game progresses which could be damaging to some players. Most deaths will be caused directly by YOUR ability to adjust to these spikes on a moment's notice(and there are some really evil ones). The story for once isn't overly dramatic; it's short, sweet and to the point with some nice humor thrown in. , though I won't spoil anymore than that. It's the perfect step for the franchise as a whole, my new favorite sonic game this generation, a few more tinkers however and you could have yourself a dream sonic game. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    8
    This is sonic's greatest 3d game yet. However, while great, Sonic colours still has some pretty annoying issues that could cause some serious frustration with certain players. First off, I have to mention that the graphics are superb and wouldn't look out of place on a HD console. The game is rather short at maybe 6-8 hours. However, it's 6-8 hours of SONIC. No werehogs, fishing mini gamesThis is sonic's greatest 3d game yet. However, while great, Sonic colours still has some pretty annoying issues that could cause some serious frustration with certain players. First off, I have to mention that the graphics are superb and wouldn't look out of place on a HD console. The game is rather short at maybe 6-8 hours. However, it's 6-8 hours of SONIC. No werehogs, fishing mini games or blowing away aliens with machine guns, just sonic at his speedy best. The music is also incredible with hardly a bad tune in the whole game. Definitely a hundred times better than sonic 4's forgettable soundtrack. The co op mode, while a little broken, is still a good laugh and will at the very least evoke memories of you and a friend playing through sonic 2 for the first time. Now to the bad. While not too serious a problem, the 2d platforming can be very frustrating at times. On certain levels, the camera will zoom out very far to make the path ahead to you clear. However, it also makes the platforming very frustrating. Most jumps will require almost pixel perfect platforming skills to make. And sometimes one mistake means falling to your death. My only other complaint is that while it's still very fast, Sonic colors is probably one of the slowest sonic games ever. There are times when you'll have to wait or activate lifts, make very precise jumps or use the wisps to make it through to the next area. Finally I have to say that I am a big fan of the new wisps. Most are genuinely great fun to use and really make finding the secrets a pleasure rather than a chore. The only power I didnt like was the drill. It's very hard to find secrets underground as the area's are just to large and if you stay under too long, you lose a life. But don't let any of this put you off. Sonic colors is an absolute classic and is almost up there with sonic's very best titles. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Graphics are amazing, as is the music. It's the most fun I've had in years..no, scratch that, most fun ever! While short, it has enough challenges at the end and replay value to remain fresh for a long time.
  7. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Sonic Colors for Wii is no doubt the best 3d sonic game to date, if it can be called a 3d sonic game as 70% of the game is side scrolling, but that's probably for the best. The side scrolling sections of the game are similar to the 2d sections in Sonic Unleashed however in Sonic Colors there is a heavy emphasis on platforming. (Not the slow Werehog platforming from Unleashed, i'm talkingSonic Colors for Wii is no doubt the best 3d sonic game to date, if it can be called a 3d sonic game as 70% of the game is side scrolling, but that's probably for the best. The side scrolling sections of the game are similar to the 2d sections in Sonic Unleashed however in Sonic Colors there is a heavy emphasis on platforming. (Not the slow Werehog platforming from Unleashed, i'm talking about the nice speedy platforming from sonic's genesis games). While the 2d sections are amazing the 3d sections are a little lacking, they're not bad they're just not as good as unleashed since it lacks in how you control Sonic, because now in Sonic Colors drifting and side-stepping are restricted to certain sections. It doesn't ruin the 3d game, but when you don't have those abilities it feels like something is missing. The big new addition to the game is the wisps. Some wisps like the yellow wisp are very well executed while others like the cyan wisp and the nega wisp are hard to control. Overall though the wisps add to the level variety and are in no way a negative "gimmick" like what Sega has done in the past. The levels themselves are beautifully done this is remarkable since it's on Wii. The variety between levels is also present and each level is vibrant and alive, you can't mistake Starlight Carnival for Sweet Mountain or any of the levels with each other. The Story is actually pretty okay it's not bad but it's not worthy of awards either, the plus side to it is that it's NOT annoying and the new voice actors also help with the lack of annoyance. Overall Sonic Colors is a great game, it seems like the "sonic cycle" has finally been broken. 9/10. Expand
  8. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Sonic has always been my favorite video game mascot of all time, and so far there has only been two bad games, Sonic R and Sonic and the black knight, and this is one of his greatest games of all time. Fantastic graphics, great gameplay, good voice acting, and great boss battles.
  9. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    If you haven't played this yet, what are you waiting for? Visually impressive, neat soundtrack, very colorful, and the most important thing: fun, very fun. Good level design, but controls could be improved a bit. Definitely a good comeback for Sonic, that was just now topped by Generations.
  10. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I have to say, Sonic Colors is the best 3D Sonic game in years. Heck, I think it's even better than Adventure 2. STORY: The story is pretty simple, the way every Sonic game should've been. The only main characters are Sonic, Tails, Dr. Eggman/Dr Robotnik, and Yacker if you count him as a main character. I'm very happy that the only returning secondary character is Tails, instead ofI have to say, Sonic Colors is the best 3D Sonic game in years. Heck, I think it's even better than Adventure 2. STORY: The story is pretty simple, the way every Sonic game should've been. The only main characters are Sonic, Tails, Dr. Eggman/Dr Robotnik, and Yacker if you count him as a main character. I'm very happy that the only returning secondary character is Tails, instead of overdosing with the mediocre characters like the past 3D titles. Anyway, the game takes place entirely in space, but it's NOT a ripoff of Super Mario Galaxy. (I cannot stress that enough.) Dr. Eggnik has built a planet-sized, egg-shaped amusement park and has chained five planets to the park and altered them into attractions, claiming it as an apology for his terrible deeds. Sonic, suspicious, decides to travel to the amusement park, along with his pal, Tails. But the game doesn't show a cutscene before starting a game. The game starts IMMEDIATELY, which was kinda weird for me. After two or three acts, a cutscene is shown. And I think it introduces Yacker, a white alien from a race called Wisps, being chased by Orbot, a red, ball-shaped robot introduced in Sonic Unleashed, and Cubot, a yellow, cube-shaped robot introduced in this game. Sonic saves Yacker and a similar looking light bluish-green Wisp. Afterwards, the unknown Wisp, named the Cyan Wisp in the manuel, absorbs into Sonic's body and the hedgehog zips offscreen uncontrollably, ending the cutscene. That's all I'll say. You'll can watch walkthroughs for the story if you want. GRAPHICS: Woooooow, this game looks aazing for the Wii! They seem like ediocre Xbox 360 graphics, and that's saying something when it comes to a Wii game! I think they're as good as Super Mario Galaxy 2's graphics, but that's just me. You'll have to see this for yourself. It proves that the Wii has the potential to have 360 graphics. MUSIC: Jen Senoue isn't involved with the music in this game. But if he was, I just can't help but think the entire Colors soundtrack would be mostly rock. Anyway, this music is just GREAT. the theme song, Reach For The Stars, is probably a love-it-or-hate-it song, but I really like it. My favorite track from the game is either Aquarium Park, Tropical Resort, or the final bos track, an orchestral version of Reach For The Stars that's just plain AWESOME. And my least favorite track in the game is still a good one, Asteroid Coaster. I'd buy the soundtrack in iTunes if I could. GAMEPLAY: It plays just like the Daytime Stages of the Wii version of Sonic Unleashed, which was praised by almost everyone except people who just want to hate on it. The Spin Dash and Ring Dash are excluded from the game though, but can be acquired by the abilities of the Wisps. There are eight different types of Wisps and they can help you reach new passages: The white Wisps only fill your boost bar, the cyan Wisps transforms you into a laser and allows you to ricochet on walls and the ceiling, the orange Wisps transforms you into a rocket and allows you to shoot straight up into the air and slowly fall down, and five more. You have to complete certain stages to unlock the Wisps though. You can also use the new Wisps in older levels, allowing you to reach places you couldn't reach before. The jumping in the game will take a bit getting use to, but it's not impossible to hop to a certain platform like Jim Sterling of Destructoid says in his wrongful review. the levels are 2D and 3D, but the game mostly consist of 2D levels. That's where the jumping gets taking use to. DIFFICULTY: It's a mixed bag, most reviewers say, but It's pretty challenging to get an S rank and collect every red ring in the game. The level design is a little off and it's slightly trial and error. You can't just rely on speed and ring collecting to get an S rank, you also need to use the Wisps and destroy enemies, and find certain areas to collect more rings, which also gets added to the score, making it more fun if you ask me. The bosses are too easy, but can also be a pain when trying to get an S.

    REPLAY VALUE: You'll be playing this for some time if you're trying to complete the entire thing, but if you just speed through this, it's pretty short. There's also a Challenge Mode, making you play every level again non-stop. The total score from completing the game can be posted to the leaderboards, but it's been hacked for now, I think.

    PROS: Great graphics, very few characters, nice speed that isn't overwhelming like the 360 SU, Sonic is the only playable character, the voice acting is FAR better, and the Wisps are great power-ups that aren't forced on you.

    CONS: The multiplayer isn't good at all, cheap deaths, easy boss battles (but a satisfying final boss long overdue in a 3D Sonic game), and the dialogue can be cheesy, but still okay.

    I give this a 8.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  11. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Ahh the best 3D Sonic Game since Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. It takes Daytime Levels from Sonic Unleashed MINUS the boring WereHog levels EQUALS Loads of Fun! Awesome Music! Colorful Graphics! Decent Replay Value due to the Red Rings and the Ranking System. Whether you're a Wii owner or a Sonic Fan you should absolutely get this game as it is just plain excellent as it's my Second FavoriteAhh the best 3D Sonic Game since Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. It takes Daytime Levels from Sonic Unleashed MINUS the boring WereHog levels EQUALS Loads of Fun! Awesome Music! Colorful Graphics! Decent Replay Value due to the Red Rings and the Ranking System. Whether you're a Wii owner or a Sonic Fan you should absolutely get this game as it is just plain excellent as it's my Second Favorite Wii Game Behind Resident Evil 4: Wii Edition. End of Story. Expand
  12. Jun 8, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is a really fun game, and I had a great time playing it. It's a great mixture of 3D and 2D playing environments, and the addition of new powers in the form of Wisps is highly original. The level design is amazing, controls are easy to learn and highly responsive, and there is something new everywhere. And for once, voice acting in a Sonic game is actually good! I recommendSonic Colors is a really fun game, and I had a great time playing it. It's a great mixture of 3D and 2D playing environments, and the addition of new powers in the form of Wisps is highly original. The level design is amazing, controls are easy to learn and highly responsive, and there is something new everywhere. And for once, voice acting in a Sonic game is actually good! I recommend this game far more than Sonic 4. I did have a few issues, though. While I liked Game Land in general, the cooperative mode is just bad. I also wish that Super Sonic could be unlocked before the game is 100% completed. Honestly, I had to look at a guide to figure out how to unlock Super Sonic. But, those minor flaws do not stop Sonic Colors from being a great game. What I like best about Sonic Colors is the super-cool powers. FRENZY! It's hilarious. Sonic & Eggman are also quite comical themselves. Overall, this game is good, great, awesome, outstanding, and amazing. Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing but mediocre to crap titles. Now Colors is here to prove to us Sonic isn't dead, he's just been in a coma and Sonic Team didn't know the best way to bring him back. Story wise, the game is targeted for a younger audience. I fee like I'm watching somethingSonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing but mediocre to crap titles. Now Colors is here to prove to us Sonic isn't dead, he's just been in a coma and Sonic Team didn't know the best way to bring him back. Story wise, the game is targeted for a younger audience. I fee like I'm watching something on the same level of humor and intelligence as Spongebob. And while that annoys me, it doesn't outright stop me from playing. But there were some incredible opportunities that this game missed. For example, near the end, I thought the wisps were going to turn on me because the cut scene gave me the tension that they would and that the game would suddenly take a darker, less kid-friendly tone. Nope. Turns out that the wisps are all about awkward pauses or something. But I do like how ROBOTNIK stayed in the villain's chair the whole time and didn't get punked out by giant lizards, water gods, robots, or anything else for once. Aesthetics are the best in a long time. I thought that Sonic Unleashed looked really good (admit it, the game wasn't perfect but the visuals were good). But every level looks good. Every cutscene is... eh... okay. I think they focused more on gameplay this time around over anything else. So, gameplay! Finally, a game that works like it probably should. No major gameplay bugs to cripple it. No stupid gimmicks to hate. It's classic platforming at its finest. I honestly couldn't ask for more... except a chocolate mountain. In short, if you like Sonic, even after all these years of mediocrity, then give this game a chance. It is worth the price and time. It only makes me look forward to Sonic Generations that much more. Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Sonic Colors IS avery good platformer, it has amazing graphics for the wii and a very catchy soundtrack, co-op mode, good level design, sometimes you can take up to more than one path to finish the stage, i only disliked the boss recycling and how the music stops when you use a wisp, the music becomes "crappy" when you enter water, and Sonic's personality is annoying in this game.
  15. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Previous Sonic games like Sonic Unleashed and Sonic 06 were not bad, but this is another good one. Sonic remains as fast as he was in Sonic Unleashed, but without the werehog. The wisp power-ups in the game add some extra fun, just like the power-ups in Mario games
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Without a doubt 3D Sonic games have taken a steady decline from what used to make Sonic so original and fun. Nevertheless Sega is actually trying to make things better with the franchise. Sonic Colors tries to fix all of the past 3D Sonic game bugs and adds new feautures that mixes up the gameplay to keep things fresh. The Final result it actually a damn good Sonic Game. This time insteadWithout a doubt 3D Sonic games have taken a steady decline from what used to make Sonic so original and fun. Nevertheless Sega is actually trying to make things better with the franchise. Sonic Colors tries to fix all of the past 3D Sonic game bugs and adds new feautures that mixes up the gameplay to keep things fresh. The Final result it actually a damn good Sonic Game. This time instead off adding huge game tweaks and introducing new characters Sega tries to play it safe for the hedgehog. Sometimes a little too much. The game plays much like the daytime stages from "Sonic Unleashed" only that not only are the stage designs superior but also has thrown into the mix some interesting powerups called wisps. These are mostly fun and keeps things from being repetitive but at the end feel a bit underused in what could have been some crazy but unique level desings end up being casual. But still Sonic Colors is the perfect return for the blue blur in what seems to be a better future for the overall Franchise. I highly recommend every wii owner to give this game a try. Its safe to say Sonic is back. Expand
  17. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    For a small project, the creativity of the game helps it stand out along with the overall game-play. The level design is stunning but the construction isn't clever enough. The new Wisp power keeps the game moving, along with it's catchy soundtrack that'll keep you humming. The graphics are by far, for a Wii game, at it's best. Many levels, particularly in the middle of the game can beFor a small project, the creativity of the game helps it stand out along with the overall game-play. The level design is stunning but the construction isn't clever enough. The new Wisp power keeps the game moving, along with it's catchy soundtrack that'll keep you humming. The graphics are by far, for a Wii game, at it's best. Many levels, particularly in the middle of the game can be frustrating and unnecessary which makes the game seem rushed and unfruitful. The boss fights are boring and repetitive as well. Expand
  18. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    This is definitely one of, if not the best 3D Sonic game out there. Everything from the level design to the graphics to the voice acting is spot on. Special props goes to the story, which is fairly normal and not full monsters or outer space dinosaur battles (which were admittedly pretty awesome).
    The soundtrack alone makes this game worth a purchase, as it is one of the best soundtracks
    This is definitely one of, if not the best 3D Sonic game out there. Everything from the level design to the graphics to the voice acting is spot on. Special props goes to the story, which is fairly normal and not full monsters or outer space dinosaur battles (which were admittedly pretty awesome).
    The soundtrack alone makes this game worth a purchase, as it is one of the best soundtracks I've heard from the Blue Hedgehog.
    All in all, this is an excellent 3D Sonic game that's worthy of any Wii owner's attention.
    Expand
  19. Jan 24, 2015
    10
    Sonic Colors is a magical Sonic game, a game i got charmed by, my sons got charmed by, and is the perfect training ground for novice platformers, all the while satisfying veteran Sonic fans.
  20. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    I can't be too critical of this game, compared to the quality of Sonic games in years past, Sonic Colors paints the way forward for a new generation of 3D sonic games. The game uses the camera smartly, and transitions from 2D mode to 3D are actually VERY creative (like in one part, sonic will do a 270 degree turn around a fountain to shift from 2D to 3D), which if you remember SonicI can't be too critical of this game, compared to the quality of Sonic games in years past, Sonic Colors paints the way forward for a new generation of 3D sonic games. The game uses the camera smartly, and transitions from 2D mode to 3D are actually VERY creative (like in one part, sonic will do a 270 degree turn around a fountain to shift from 2D to 3D), which if you remember Sonic Heroes, yeah, you won't have those issues here. The Wisps are used well, they don't seem underused or overused to me. Why? Because Sonic is supposed to be a fast blue blur for most of the action, not using some weird gimmick 75% of the time. The levels are well... beautiful. They are easily some of the best graphics a Wii game has ever seen. Gameplay wise, it has a few knots here and there (hence a non-perfect rating), Ive gotten trapped in an area once before requiring restart, and some of the pitfalls were rather... cheap, but aside from that, this game has great appeal to any Sonic fan young or old. Expand
  21. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    Sonic Colours is definitively a really great step on Sonic's franchise. The good speed, the nice visual effects, the fact that gimmicks are more controlled and a nice challenging platforming.... all these can tell Sonic Team has managed to break the so called "Sonic Cycle" at last.
    The music in the game is really good too, Jun Senoue, music leader, once again shows us some of his jazzy and
    Sonic Colours is definitively a really great step on Sonic's franchise. The good speed, the nice visual effects, the fact that gimmicks are more controlled and a nice challenging platforming.... all these can tell Sonic Team has managed to break the so called "Sonic Cycle" at last.
    The music in the game is really good too, Jun Senoue, music leader, once again shows us some of his jazzy and catchy inventions of the music world, this guy keeps surprising us!

    Overall, this game should deserve at least an 8, but the happiness is so high after trying the game that I would rather give it a 9
    The bad point is that the multiplayer mode is really basic, it'd would have been better if they worked more on it, you'll understand if you play it.
    Expand
  22. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan.
  23. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This game is just plain epic! When Sonic Colors was first announced, I was nervous about this game and thought it would just be another failure of a Sonic game....if I had a time-travel machine, I would go back to that day and slap myself in the face just because of how wrong I was. Gameplay wise, this game is like the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, but improved a lot. I never had anyThis game is just plain epic! When Sonic Colors was first announced, I was nervous about this game and thought it would just be another failure of a Sonic game....if I had a time-travel machine, I would go back to that day and slap myself in the face just because of how wrong I was. Gameplay wise, this game is like the daytime stages of Sonic Unleashed, but improved a lot. I never had any camera issues, the shift from 3D to 2D and vice versa is very smooth, the level design is beautiful and very creative, the controls are excellent and responsive, and the wisps add a large amount of replay value to the game. The music in the game is fantastic and even gets me humming to it at times. The graphics are beautiful, SEGA and Sonic Team really pushed the limit on the Wii's hardware for this game (how do they do this?) And last, but not least, the voice acting is awesome, and really makes all the characters really show their personalities and not make them seem like lifeless zombies. In conclusion, this game is a must-buy for anyone who is a Sonic fan. Even if you aren't a Sonic fan, but own a Wii, you should definitely buy this, because it is just too good to miss! Expand
  24. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Easily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify this title. It breaks the cycle! It actually does not suffer from bad level design flaws that punish the player unfairly like the ones found in (insert most popular plumbers name here) the highest ranking Wii plat-former known. Idiots don't understandEasily breaks the "Sonic Cycle" Let me start by saying that there are many who are just trying to find any small detail to fully crucify this title. It breaks the cycle! It actually does not suffer from bad level design flaws that punish the player unfairly like the ones found in (insert most popular plumbers name here) the highest ranking Wii plat-former known. Idiots don't understand that just because you can run at full speed does not mean that you should always do so. The game is practically flawless in its design and punishment is only at the players fault. The game can be played casually and offers more challenging routes for those who wished to be challenged. After completing the game and going for speed runs the game shines more and more, and its a sad thing that many still think that this is on the same plateau as Sega's past Sonic garbage.

    I know this game has been out for some time but after seeing the UNDESERVING reviews it really pisses me off and lets me know some people choose to still be butt-hurt over past. Let me make this easy!

    1=It has great level design and does not punish the player. Deaths is mainly the players fault 99.9% of the time in this game, unlike the chubby plumbers most recent titles on the WII.

    2=Tight responsive controls, easy to pick up, hard to master!

    3=Seamless 2D to 3D transition with shifting control layouts to EFFECTIVELY convey feel and movement!

    4= Whisps are not really gimmicks! whisps are no different then powers obtained in past Sonic games, such as Fire, electric or water shields. Its just switching out an item box for ability icon!

    5=Music and presentation are the best ever seen in ANY mascot plat-former game to date! Yes it can be a subjective statement but the game looks like a Ps3 or 360 game, not to mention, but the design is amazing and surreal like Genesis era Sonic games. Great MUSIC!

    If you are curious about this game RENT IT, and I m sure you will fork over if you like plat-formers and have left your bios feelings at the door. I read some of the reviews and really, some like Destructoid.com is really badly composed and analyzed and is what has led me to this opinion.
    Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Truly the best sonic game made since Sonic 3 and knuckles. I don't think there needs to be much more said than that. Now SEGA, continue getting better from here on. You just won my trust back guys.
  26. Dec 21, 2010
    9
    A very good game period. From the start the game gets going then eases you into the story. A very clever touch that not even modern day Mario games do. This game has got to have some of the most unique and clever platforming bits of any modern day platforming game. But the game does have its imperfections. For example, Sonic's jump maybe a bit floaty for some and the momentum that carriesA very good game period. From the start the game gets going then eases you into the story. A very clever touch that not even modern day Mario games do. This game has got to have some of the most unique and clever platforming bits of any modern day platforming game. But the game does have its imperfections. For example, Sonic's jump maybe a bit floaty for some and the momentum that carries on in his jump may feel a slight bit slippery, but very manageable for those who take time to learn its physics. Overall the game is short and sweet with no filler just Sonic. Sonic Colors is a great platforming game for Sonic fans and platforming fans alike. Expand
  27. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Our old pal Sonic here has had a rough few years. His new 3D games have been from bad to mediocre to OK. His latest ones being Sonic Unleashed and Sonic & the Black Night are the only OK ones to tell the truth. Then came Sonic 4 which was unsurprisingly very good. I loved every moment of playing it. But it seems like SEGA have left best till last and Sonic Colours does just that. AOur old pal Sonic here has had a rough few years. His new 3D games have been from bad to mediocre to OK. His latest ones being Sonic Unleashed and Sonic & the Black Night are the only OK ones to tell the truth. Then came Sonic 4 which was unsurprisingly very good. I loved every moment of playing it. But it seems like SEGA have left best till last and Sonic Colours does just that. A combined mix of 2D and 3D glory which will eventually lead to Sonic being a gaming God again. The characters have got new voice actors and everything and Sonic finally sounds like a 19 year old. And Tails finally sounds like a boy. The best 3D Sonic game yet in my opinion. Bosses are awesome and the idea for the plot is awesome too. Eggman has built a huge Theme Park and is draining the power of these aliens called Wisps. They're kind of cute really but they are the Power Ups of this game. And they're the only good gimmick in a Sonic game yet. In fact they're so good to toy with that I don't even think I should call them gimmicks. Brilliant stuff. Level Designs and Graphics are colourful too and has the catchiest theme tunes yet. Yes this is one huge neat package of a game but there are 2 flaws in particular which I would like to point out. One is the multiplayer. It is fun no doubt but only when your smashing your friend's head! One screen just isn't enough for two Sonic's and just ends up being a tug of war! Argh! Another thing is the very unexpected difficulty spikes. They just come out of the blue like a click of a finger! Well apart from those flaws this game is masterful! A brilliant 9/10! This is Mewtwo465 saying goodbye! Expand
  28. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game. EASILY blows every other 3D Sonic game out of the water, has lots of platforming, powerups, and best of all THERE IS NO HORRIBLY MEDIOCRE ALTERNATE GAMEPLAY LIKE MECH SHOOTING OR TREASURE HUNTING IN THIS GAME. it's all good old platforming from start to finish.
  29. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    My personal opinion:

    I really have to praise this game. I admit that I was often disappointed about Sonic nextgen games in the last few years. I loved the graphics of Sonic unleashed but I hated the control. So I was quite critical while playing Sonic colours the first time but my concerns were needless. Pro: Sonic colours combines fantastic graphics and precise control. The
    My personal opinion:

    I really have to praise this game.
    I admit that I was often disappointed about Sonic nextgen games in the last few years.
    I loved the graphics of Sonic unleashed but I hated the control.
    So I was quite critical while playing Sonic colours the first time but my concerns were needless.

    Pro:
    Sonic colours combines fantastic graphics and precise control.
    The music is funny and thrilling.
    The level-compositions are imaginative,rich in variety and are a lot of fun to run through.

    Contra:
    A little bit short ( 2 or three planets more would ve been nice ) Overall Sonic colours could be the best nextgen-Sonicgame available at the moment ! I utter a recommendation to buy !
    Expand
  30. Jul 20, 2011
    9
    Since Sonic Unleashed, many fans and critics stated that Sega should make an entire Sonic game based on the daytime stages of Unleashed. And thats exactly what Sega did, Sonic Colours is basically Sonic Unleashed 1.5 minus the werehog. The game will you at least 5 hours to complete, but 15 hours to collect everything. The only criticisms I have is that the difficulty will occasionallySince Sonic Unleashed, many fans and critics stated that Sega should make an entire Sonic game based on the daytime stages of Unleashed. And thats exactly what Sega did, Sonic Colours is basically Sonic Unleashed 1.5 minus the werehog. The game will you at least 5 hours to complete, but 15 hours to collect everything. The only criticisms I have is that the difficulty will occasionally spike causing several cheap deaths and for those who enjoy Sonic Unleashed, you will feel a sense of deja vu but not enough to water your overall experience. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#7 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Feb 2, 2011
    86
    If you have enjoyed previous Sonic games but were hesitant to pick this one up because of the most recent Sonic outings, worry no more. Sonic Colors is worth the price of admission.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 15, 2011
    80
    Fast side-scrolling Sonic successfully combines the "classic" platformer with 3D action. Colorful environments and nice level design make new Sonic really catchy. [Issue#199]
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    85
    Sonic Colors is hands-down the best Sonic title to be released in nearly a decade, and definitely one of the best titles to hit the Wii in the past year.