Sonic Colors Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Sonic Colors Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, SonicAn extraordinary amusement park has been seen orbiting around the home planet of Sonic the Hedgehog, and rumors are spreading that an alien race of Wisps, who have a unique colorful energy, are being held captive there by the evil Dr. Eggman. Soon after arriving at the amusement park, Sonic discovers he is able to use these mysterious alien forces to help the Wisps escape! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 58
  2. Negative: 1 out of 58
  1. Nov 23, 2010
    90
    Sonic Colors is a fantastic game. Its greatest achievement is that one does not have to be a super-tolerant dyed-in-the-wool Sonic super fan to enjoy it or to forgive a laundry list of flaws.
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    Sonic Colours is a worthy successor of the saga we have learned to love in the 90's. Quick and easy to master, the game brings a lot of fun and it's really enjoyable by all kind of players.
  3. Nov 15, 2010
    85
    After many years of average games, Sega finally gets back on the tracks with Sonic Colors: everything the fans were hoping for is here, packed with gorgeous graphics and solid new game mechanics.
  4. Nov 9, 2010
    80
    A long overdue return to form, with a focus on what made Sonic fun in the first place. He's always been fast, but it's good to finally see him speeding in the right direction.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    80
    Perfect for old-school Sonic fans.
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    70
    The latest game featuring Sonic is a mixed experience. It's the best Sonic-game since the 2D Sonic games and it's a fast, beautiful game with a lot of great levels that you can play many times over and over. But the controls can cause quite some problems and the multiplayer part isn't as good as it could have been.
  7. Nov 13, 2010
    45
    Sonic Colors feels like a step right back into the same crap this series has drowned in for the past decade. If I had to pick a color for this game, it would be brown, for very obvious reasons.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 103
  2. Negative: 4 out of 103
  1. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    It's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this gameIt's a mixture of 3D awesomeness and 2D action adding some catchy music and a difficulty that really challenges your stuff. Buying this game would be the right choice for any Sonic fan. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    This game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic evenThis game is super spectacular!! The game has PS3 graphics , good story , amazing level design, good speed.My sister who despises sonic even likes the game but I love this game. It has issues but there minor . 1: I would like it if sonic was a bit faster and sonic was being a bit cocky. 2:make the game a bit more serious.that's all. Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic Colours is easily the best Sonic 3D game since the Adventure days. It ticks all the boxes. The visuals are some of the most beautiful on the Wii. Vivid colours, smooth models and all at a good stable framerate. The sounds are also great too. Apart from a couple of tunes, like the main theme Reach for the Stars and the end credits theme Speak With Your Heart, the soundtrack is top notch catchy orchestral tunes. Even the voice acting sounds way better. This complimented with the funny and lighthearted script make for some actually bearable cutscenes. Now onto the gameplay. This is split mainly into two sections, 3D and 2D. The 3D sections are fast, kinetic and beautiful. It's really all about speed here, with drifting, quick stepping, loops, corkscrews and ziplines all making for a thrilling experience. The 2D sections slow down the action a tad to focus on precise platforming, and this is great fun. It's nice for a 3D Sonic game to FINALLY have precision platforming. And it works great thanks to the tight physics and controls of the game and whilst these do get a bit of getting used to, the double jump, stomp and jump dash all help to round the experience. The main new addition to the gameplay is the Wisps. For the first time EVER, we have a Sonic "gimmick" that doesn't completely ruin the experience by completely changing the core gameplay, but rather enhances the core gameplay to make it more fun. The Wisps really add a lot of variety to the game, and allow you to explore the boundaries of Sonic Colours' vast and impressive level design. They're really great fun to use, whether you're drilling through cake or sea, rocketing up to the skies, rolling on walls and ceilings or devouring anything in your path, each Wisp gives their own nice touch to the gameplay. If this wasn't enough to make you buy the game, the inclusion of the Red Rings allows for great replay value. You will feel oblidged to collect all of the Red Rings, gain as many S ranks as possible, play through the challenge mode and challenge the Game Land. Oh yeah and did I mention that SUPER SONIC is PLAYABLE in this game in the levels? All the more reason to buy this game. The only complaints I have are the fact that the bosses are stupidly easy and rather unispired due to the fact that they are rehashed in the game, and the fact that the physics and controls (whilst good) could still be a tad tighter. Other than that this is the best Sonic game in YEARS. PLEASE get this game. It will be worth it! Expand
  4. Oct 19, 2014
    9
    Easily my favorite Sonic game ever. The story was a good time, gameplay was good. I loved the powerups, and Sonic was his classic and humorousEasily my favorite Sonic game ever. The story was a good time, gameplay was good. I loved the powerups, and Sonic was his classic and humorous self. Simply put a must have for Wii Owners. Expand
  5. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Sonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing butSonic Colors is the first Sonic game I've come to enjoy since Sonic Adventure 2. So we're a decade later, or so, and we've had nothing but mediocre to crap titles. Now Colors is here to prove to us Sonic isn't dead, he's just been in a coma and Sonic Team didn't know the best way to bring him back. Story wise, the game is targeted for a younger audience. I fee like I'm watching something on the same level of humor and intelligence as Spongebob. And while that annoys me, it doesn't outright stop me from playing. But there were some incredible opportunities that this game missed. For example, near the end, I thought the wisps were going to turn on me because the cut scene gave me the tension that they would and that the game would suddenly take a darker, less kid-friendly tone. Nope. Turns out that the wisps are all about awkward pauses or something. But I do like how ROBOTNIK stayed in the villain's chair the whole time and didn't get punked out by giant lizards, water gods, robots, or anything else for once. Aesthetics are the best in a long time. I thought that Sonic Unleashed looked really good (admit it, the game wasn't perfect but the visuals were good). But every level looks good. Every cutscene is... eh... okay. I think they focused more on gameplay this time around over anything else. So, gameplay! Finally, a game that works like it probably should. No major gameplay bugs to cripple it. No stupid gimmicks to hate. It's classic platforming at its finest. I honestly couldn't ask for more... except a chocolate mountain. In short, if you like Sonic, even after all these years of mediocrity, then give this game a chance. It is worth the price and time. It only makes me look forward to Sonic Generations that much more. Expand
  6. Dec 30, 2014
    8
    It is actually good. Frankly, the 2D sections suck for what they are, but at least they function unlike other Sonic games. the 3D sections areIt is actually good. Frankly, the 2D sections suck for what they are, but at least they function unlike other Sonic games. the 3D sections are cool. the music is good. the graphics are decent, and its the only good sonic game ever. literally, only buy this one. don't buy any other sonic game Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2011
    0
    Sonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game fromSonic is back! But is that still saying much? Probably not. Sloppy level desing, sloppy gameplay, little replay value keep this game from truly deserving a 10. In many instances you will find that Sonic "controls himself" which deprives you from a true challenging experience. This game definetely has its fair share of nice eye candy, but that doesn't cut it if you wan't to be engaged with intuitive gameplay. And if you take into consideration the price of this product. At around $50 this is definetly worth a rental at best. Expand

See all 103 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#4 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010