Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    100
    Purer and cheaper than Sonic Colours, this is a great reboot for 2D Sonic. [Issue#56, p.74]
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  3. A beautiful nostalgia trip that also stands on its own blurry blue legs. Utterly heart-warming.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    82
    Sonic is back and is as fast and smooth as ever. One of the best Sonic game in a long time.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Definitely it's not the game that will make the character return to its golden age. It's fun, well produced, its physical needs understanding and requires adaptation of the player and makes numerous references to the previous games.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    The fans who clamoured for a "proper" Sonic adventure will be thrilled by Sonic 4: there's no dialogue, no cutscenes and no sidekicks. A dozen side-scrolling stages, seven torturous special stages and five classic bosses all adds up to a great Sonic game. It's a shame there just isn't more of it.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Sonic 4 is short, but sweet and well worth downloading.
  8. 80
    There are no bugs and glitches, the controls are tight, and save for a few annoying spots, the levels dazzle in their ingenious design.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    It has the flavour of the original Sonic, but refined. It may result too short for its price, but it is very replayable.
  10. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    That's what Sonic 4 is all about: trying to be new while recapturing those fleeting moments of brilliance from the old Genesis titles.
  11. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a good enough start to what will hopefully be a more refined and usable experience. It is better than some of the more recent games, and although has addressed some issues with the move back into 2D, still suffers from awkward and unpredictable controls.
  12. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    With a toe-tapping soundtrack, glitzy presentation and obvious accessibility, Sonic 4 Episode 1 has much to be proud of. Gamers who recall the early nineties and yearn for a simpler time when true 3d was restricted to bad sci-fi movies should lap this title up, but there's definitely a sense that it could, or indeed should have been more.
  13. Oct 27, 2010
    50
    Sonic 4, on the other hand, should have had a different title, like Sonic the Hedgehog: Re 1&2, because that is what the game feels like. The game may make gamers question if Sonic Team can make a proper, new Sonic title, instead of throwing together elements from over ten years ago and expecting us to be satisfied.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 36
  2. Negative: 12 out of 36
  1. Oct 12, 2010
    4
    Sonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team creditSonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team credit for going back to his roots, but it's done so ineptly here that it's kind of embarassing. What breaks the game is the controls. Sonic is very, very floaty. It can be very hard to land accurately on a moving or flipping platform because of this. Momentum is also very odd in the game. In previous 2D Sonics, when you roll into a ball and go down a hill, you can keep your momentum for a long time without holding Right on the controller. Not here. Even when you hold right you can slow to a crawl. Run across one of the classic corkscrew loops and you'll find yourself suddenly moving slower, only to suddenly speed up again when you exit the loop. It's incredibly jarring. The music, which is meant to sound like classic Genesis tunes, is tinny and uncatchy, a very poor homage to the original games. I found myself getting a headache listening to it. I'm glad that I only paid $15 for part 1, because now I know not to spend any more money on further chapters. This is NOT the return to Sonic you were hoping for. I'm very disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. oh yes... oh well, could be better, but could be much worse, if someone understands me... hm... i think that the game may have left much to be desired for some fans who are from a sonic or a little more of that, but I really liked the game! but... you know, relax! why is just the first episode, i think the harvest has yet to show a lot of this Sonic ! and... well, probably the Sonic 4 is basically equal to the versions of Micro$oft or COPY AND then I can talk about the Wii version, and the same in the other two talk, many fans did not like the PS3 for Sonic to be very heavy. I personally saw no problem with that, if the physics of Sonic 4 would equal that of Sonic 1 - & Kncukles, nobody would complain, and vice versa. I liked the soundtrack, but really, yes you can improve for the next ep.! despite being the same GAME! Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    Sonic returns to its classic roots in this excellent brand new game, despite that it copies many elements of sonic the hedgehog 2, it stillSonic returns to its classic roots in this excellent brand new game, despite that it copies many elements of sonic the hedgehog 2, it still makes up for it with new ones like the homing attack that works like a charm! The level design is great and unique all the way through, and it plays well both in consoles and on the Iphone as well. The only reason I can't give it the 9 score is because of being way too short, while I know it's an episode, is still too expensive considering that you can get the original games at a lower price but with a lot more levels. Full Review »