Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Wii

Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    82
    Sonic is back and is as fast and smooth as ever. One of the best Sonic game in a long time.
  2. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Sonic 4 is short, but sweet and well worth downloading.
  4. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    100
    Purer and cheaper than Sonic Colours, this is a great reboot for 2D Sonic. [Issue#56, p.74]
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    The fans who clamoured for a "proper" Sonic adventure will be thrilled by Sonic 4: there's no dialogue, no cutscenes and no sidekicks. A dozen side-scrolling stages, seven torturous special stages and five classic bosses all adds up to a great Sonic game. It's a shame there just isn't more of it.
  6. 80
    There are no bugs and glitches, the controls are tight, and save for a few annoying spots, the levels dazzle in their ingenious design.
  7. A beautiful nostalgia trip that also stands on its own blurry blue legs. Utterly heart-warming.
  8. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    It has the flavour of the original Sonic, but refined. It may result too short for its price, but it is very replayable.
  9. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Definitely it's not the game that will make the character return to its golden age. It's fun, well produced, its physical needs understanding and requires adaptation of the player and makes numerous references to the previous games.

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
#42 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 38
  2. Negative: 12 out of 38
  1. Oct 12, 2010
    4
    Sonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team creditSonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team credit for going back to his roots, but it's done so ineptly here that it's kind of embarassing. What breaks the game is the controls. Sonic is very, very floaty. It can be very hard to land accurately on a moving or flipping platform because of this. Momentum is also very odd in the game. In previous 2D Sonics, when you roll into a ball and go down a hill, you can keep your momentum for a long time without holding Right on the controller. Not here. Even when you hold right you can slow to a crawl. Run across one of the classic corkscrew loops and you'll find yourself suddenly moving slower, only to suddenly speed up again when you exit the loop. It's incredibly jarring. The music, which is meant to sound like classic Genesis tunes, is tinny and uncatchy, a very poor homage to the original games. I found myself getting a headache listening to it. I'm glad that I only paid $15 for part 1, because now I know not to spend any more money on further chapters. This is NOT the return to Sonic you were hoping for. I'm very disappointed. Full Review »
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    I grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no,I grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no, that's changed" and "dang, that's different." but 10 minutes after I started I was really just nitpicking at the greatest Sonic game released in 16 years. It's a bit short, but it's everything you'd remember from the old days - with lots of nostalgic bits thrown in! My roommate and I both felt like we were back in the 90's. I give this game a 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yesSonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 is a great game. I'm glad that the game goes back to Sonic's roots. It plays almost like the classics and yes I said almost because the physics are a little different. Now different doesn't mean it's bad. It is a little weird to see Sonic sometimes walking on a slope and gravity can be on the floaty side. But even still It doesn't break the game at all. Infact it makes SuperSonic much more controlable than the Genesis games. Physics aside. The controls of the game are spot on. It's pretty much as you remembered it on the Genesis. The Spindash is useful once again and the homing attack is a welcomed addition to the 2D gameplay. Episode 1 only contains 4 zones with 3 acts each along with a boss act. Now that may sound short, But considering the amount of acts per zones and the length that some require. Episode 1 can arguably be the same length as Sonic The Hedgehog 3 (Alone). All the levels are based on zones from Sonic 1 & 2 with elements from Sonic 3. Splash Hill Zone is basicly Green Hill Zone with swinging ropes and a beautful sunset Act 3. Casino Street Zone is Casino Night Zone but more casino themed with slots in Act 1, Cards in Act 2, & Sonic 3's cannons in Act 3. Lost Labyrinth Zone is well the name speaks for itself but not as dangerous as the original with a unique act 2 with a torch and mine carts. Mad Gears Zone! Metropolis Zone anyone?. And finally Egg Station Zone which is an boss rush version of Death Egg Zone and that pretty much it. Graphicly, Sonic 4 is a very pretty game. All the enviroments look great and nostalgic. Same goes for the sound effects. 16 bit sounds never get old. The soundtrack is also pretty good. Most of the music fit the levels and some jingles are remixes from Sonic 1 and 3. But clearly some tracks are better than others. As with all 2D Sonic titles. The Chaos Emeralds are hidden inside special stages and once you collect them all. Super Sonic can be played in all levels which I am very happy to see coming back. Episode 1 is a great game as well as a nostalgic one. But I do think Sega went too far on nostalgia. I mean a nostalgia game is nice and it's about the right time for one, But in Episode 1 Nostalgia is all it is. Hardly any original content whats so ever. I had the same kind of issue with New Super Mario Bros Wii. last year. Going back to the roots of a franchise doesn't mean to rehash everything. Now the new twists and turns on the levels and bosses are creative but alot of them we have already seen in previous handheld titles. Time Attack is a nice feature and completing for best time and score on the leaderboards are cool. Theirs not much else to say about this game since this is only Episode 1. We only have a taste of what Sonic The Hedgehog 4 will be. Overall this is a great game but it's not by all means perfect. The physics are noticably different,The great overuse of nostalgia. Also Episode 1 lacks Tails and Knuckles. Come on Sega, I miss those guys. It's been almost 5 years since Sonic 06. No more Sonic solo games. We need them back. But with those flaws and nickpicks aside it's a great game and worthy of the name Sonic 4. And it's only the beginning... Full Review »