Sonic the Hedgehog 4: Episode I Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 88 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic is back for his fourth installment in the classic 2D series, revamped from the ground up.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sonic the Hedgehog 4 Episode 1 Lost Labyrinth Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Nintendo Gamer
    Dec 25, 2010
    100
    Purer and cheaper than Sonic Colours, this is a great reboot for 2D Sonic. [Issue#56, p.74]
  2. A beautiful nostalgia trip that also stands on its own blurry blue legs. Utterly heart-warming.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    88
    No just a rehash, but a brilliant game in itself. Sonic reigns once more. [Issue#232, p.88]
  4. 80
    There are no bugs and glitches, the controls are tight, and save for a few annoying spots, the levels dazzle in their ingenious design.
  5. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    It has the flavour of the original Sonic, but refined. It may result too short for its price, but it is very replayable.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Sonic 4 is short, but sweet and well worth downloading.
  7. Oct 27, 2010
    50
    Sonic 4, on the other hand, should have had a different title, like Sonic the Hedgehog: Re 1&2, because that is what the game feels like. The game may make gamers question if Sonic Team can make a proper, new Sonic title, instead of throwing together elements from over ten years ago and expecting us to be satisfied.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 12 out of 39
  1. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    I grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no,I grew up playing the Genesis games, and love them just as much today. When I first picked up the controller, my first thoughts were "oh no, that's changed" and "dang, that's different." but 10 minutes after I started I was really just nitpicking at the greatest Sonic game released in 16 years. It's a bit short, but it's everything you'd remember from the old days - with lots of nostalgic bits thrown in! My roommate and I both felt like we were back in the 90's. I give this game a 10/10 Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make veryThis game was not perfect, but It is still great sonic fun. People are too critical, sonic is a very hard game to make you have to make very long stages since sonic moves through them so quickly and still keep them enjoyable. The physics just don't bother me, If you play a sonic game how it's meant to be by racing through the levels quickly you won't have time to notice imperfections in physics. I agree the magic of the original sonic games still isn't here but It's a damn good effort and I will always welcome more games like this over 3d sonic adventures. Please give me more 2d sonic games and more chances to earn chaos emeralds! Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. oh yes... oh well, could be better, but could be much worse, if someone understands me... hm... i think that the game may have left much to be desired for some fans who are from a sonic or a little more of that, but I really liked the game! but... you know, relax! why is just the first episode, i think the harvest has yet to show a lot of this Sonic ! and... well, probably the Sonic 4 is basically equal to the versions of Micro$oft or COPY AND then I can talk about the Wii version, and the same in the other two talk, many fans did not like the PS3 for Sonic to be very heavy. I personally saw no problem with that, if the physics of Sonic 4 would equal that of Sonic 1 - & Kncukles, nobody would complain, and vice versa. I liked the soundtrack, but really, yes you can improve for the next ep.! despite being the same GAME! Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2013
    7
    after a bunch of disappointments like sonic 06,and sonic and the black knight, sega finally made a game that is a very late sequel to sonic 3after a bunch of disappointments like sonic 06,and sonic and the black knight, sega finally made a game that is a very late sequel to sonic 3 and knuckles sonic 4 ep 1. sonic 4 ep 1 is set right after sonic 3 and knuckles. in this game, you can only play as sonic, no tails, no knuckles. but this feels like sonic 1. it's great that sega is going back to their roots and making a 2D game. everything looks great in graphics and all of the zones are based off zones from the classic sonic games. the zones are, splash hill zone, casino street zone, lost labyrinth zone, and mad gear zone. and the bosses are just remakes of bosses from the classic games, like the boss of green hill zone returning as the boss of splash hill zone. sonic also has a homing attack in this game now this is not as bad as you might think but sometimes it just feels too easy to get a lot of speed going. but this really does feel like a late sequel to sonic 3 and knuckles and that's basically what it is. and the graphics have been updated to fit today's standards. now there are some problems with this game, for one thing it's extremely short and easy but i still loved every second of it second, all of the bosses are ridiculously easy, with the homing attack you can beat them all in less than a minute. also the homing attack is not optional there are some areas where you have to use it like when you see a line of enemies over a bottomless pit. this sometimes does not feel like a classic sonic game, but it's at least the best sonic game until sonic colors came along. after all of the rough time sega had with 3D sonic games after sonic heroes, they really needed to make something like this, and this game is a great continuation of sonic 3 and knuckles, but the question is where is knuckles, where is tails, why is sonic just alone in this game, and why couldn't they just make sonic 4 one game instead of making it episodic, but it just might be trying to be like sonic 3 and sonic and knuckles which were two separate games that make one game together. i just wish that sonic 4 ep 1 and 2 had lock on technology like sonic and knuckles so that we can play through all of sonic 4 ep 1 and 2 as one game, wouldn't that be great. but all in all sonic 4 has great graphics, great zones, memorable remakes, great music especially the final boss theme, and great gameplay, there's no story other than sonic having to stop dr eggman it's as simple as that and that's the way i like it. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    6
    Sonic 4 is very fun to play, but it is just plain short. I beat the final boss in about 3 hours. Sonic games need to be far longer. This isSonic 4 is very fun to play, but it is just plain short. I beat the final boss in about 3 hours. Sonic games need to be far longer. This is also the main reason why I prefer Sonic Colors over Sonic 4. And not only is Sonic 4 short, but it's also EASY. Mad Gear Zone needs more difficulty. The only part of the game that was actually hard was the final boss, which was just a remake of a Sonic 2 boss. There's no multiplayer mode either. On the plus side, Sonic 4 does a pretty good job of bringing back the old Sonic charm from the Genesis games, and the game has great frame rate. The Homing Attack is also a nice addition. But in the end, Sonic 4 feels more like a sequel to the original Sonic the Hedgehog than a sequel to Sonic 3 & Knuckles. It's just not up-to-date with today's video game standards. Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2010
    4
    Sonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team creditSonic 4 feels like a wierd, Flash-based version of Sonic 1 & 2 made by a fan who took a course in video game design. I give Sonic Team credit for going back to his roots, but it's done so ineptly here that it's kind of embarassing. What breaks the game is the controls. Sonic is very, very floaty. It can be very hard to land accurately on a moving or flipping platform because of this. Momentum is also very odd in the game. In previous 2D Sonics, when you roll into a ball and go down a hill, you can keep your momentum for a long time without holding Right on the controller. Not here. Even when you hold right you can slow to a crawl. Run across one of the classic corkscrew loops and you'll find yourself suddenly moving slower, only to suddenly speed up again when you exit the loop. It's incredibly jarring. The music, which is meant to sound like classic Genesis tunes, is tinny and uncatchy, a very poor homage to the original games. I found myself getting a headache listening to it. I'm glad that I only paid $15 for part 1, because now I know not to spend any more money on further chapters. This is NOT the return to Sonic you were hoping for. I'm very disappointed. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2010
    0
    For a game trying to throw it back to the Genesis days it fails to nail many of the things that made that game great. The clunky controls andFor a game trying to throw it back to the Genesis days it fails to nail many of the things that made that game great. The clunky controls and physics fail to convince me I'm playing a Sonic game or a Mario game for that matter. Collapse

See all 39 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

19
10
#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2010
51
#51 Most Shared Wii Game of 2010