Sonic Unleashed Wii

Sonic Unleashed Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Having been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways neverHaving been broken apart by the evil Dr. Eggman, it's up to Sonic to put the pieces of the world back together again by retrieving the power of the chaos emeralds! In doing so, Sonic finds himself in a race against time and faced with an unusual situation that challenge hims in ways never before seen. Both day and night play different, yet important, roles in Sonic's newest quest... as the sun sets, a new adventure awakens. By completing a wide variety of action-packed stages, spanning the seven broken continents of the world, gamers unleash Sonic’s amazing abilities to save the world, and himself! In addition to running at high speeds, which is highlighted in four new speed mechanics, combat fighting now becomes possible. New combat, movement, functional abilities and platforming are introduced to offer increased depth and variety. Sonic Unleashed offers a re-defined experience for fans and newcomers of the franchise alike by combing picturesque & detailed scenery, an expansive world with multiple paths to choose from and dynamic viewpoints for an immersive and renewed gaming atmosphere. Along with seamless 3D to classic 2D camera transitions, the game is built on a powerful, new proprietary "Hedgehog Engine," which introduces impressive lighting abilities and new technology tailor made for Sonic’s new speed capabilities. [Sega] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 30
  2. Negative: 2 out of 30
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    If you don't mind some fisticuffs mixed into your high-speed thrills, give Sonic Unleashed a shot. [Holiday 2008, p.80]
  2. Sonic Unleashed is both one of the best Sonic games we've ever played and one of the dullest. If you can put up with the werehog levels you'll love it.
  3. 75
    This has been an exercise in balance that has proved to be worth our while. While this game might not be up to much if you’re the owner of one of the hulking beasts that are Microsoft and Sony’s consoles, if you’re a Wii owner, don’t be put off by what you’ve read.
  4. Astounding day levels gives exactly what fans want.
  5. The Wii version has less annoying traits than the others and still retains all the usual mediocrity. The motion-control elements in the Werehog levels add an extra dimension to the action, and the hub worlds are entirely text-based and aren’t nearly as annoying. If you can stand the diminished graphics, the Wii version actually edges out the PS3 and 360 entries.
  6. The best praise that can be given to Sonic Unleashed is to call it a step in the right direction. Unfortunately, the game is heavily weighted towards its werewolf stages.
  7. 25
    Sega fails to make a good platformer -- pretty much everything Sonic Unleashed does has been done better in tons of other games.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. BenG
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Best Wii game and one of the best Sonic games to date. Better than I expected. Play it and see. To Tom C "The worst part about this game is Best Wii game and one of the best Sonic games to date. Better than I expected. Play it and see. To Tom C "The worst part about this game is the fact that the sonic sections are by far the greatest 3d sonic ever." How does that make sense? Yes Sonic Unleashed is one of the best and most important gaming experiences we've ever played, but the fact the game also includes werehog somehow undoes that? Where are people's values? If someone is to deducts points for the werehog it should be minimal, that is if you insist on deducting points at all, because if you do, it is misleading, and it implies we should be avoiding great gameplay just because the total package isn't consistent. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    While often overshadowed by its HD twin, Sonic Unleashed Wii is, in many ways, better. And no, the Werehog sections aren't as bad as someWhile often overshadowed by its HD twin, Sonic Unleashed Wii is, in many ways, better. And no, the Werehog sections aren't as bad as some would make you believe.
    This game is split into 2 level types: Day and Night. The day stages are simply amazing. The 3D sections are the best 3D sections in any Sonic game to date - yes, better than Adventure, better than Colors, and better than Generations only because Generations' controls aren't tight. The 2D sections are fun too, though they seem a little too on-rails compared to Colors' Wisp Power-ups. The night sections... well, although they aren't great, they still are fun at times, and the motion controls make the night stages far superior to the HD version's. The boss fights (both day and night) are among the best 3D Sonic bosses to date.
    The graphics are top-notch. The game has some of the best graphics on the Wii, and definitely had the best graphics at the time it was released (yes, better than Super Mario Galaxy's). The sound is great too. The day stages' music are some of the Sonic series' finest, the night stages' music fits perfectly, and even the hub and menu music will get stuck in your head. My only complaint in this department is Jason Griffith's voice acting as Normal Sonic (Werehog Sonic's VAing is fine).
    Overall, Sonic Unleashed Wii is a great game. The night stages change the pace and have interesting gameplay, but it's the day stages that make the game. Buy this game if you have a Wii.
    Sonic Gameplay: 10
    Werehog Gameplay: 7
    Graphics: 9.5
    Sound: 9.5
    Replay Value: 8.5
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  3. AndrewM
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    What I was looking for in a sonic game was a suitable follow-up to the Sonic Adventure series. and secret rings didn't cut it. this is What I was looking for in a sonic game was a suitable follow-up to the Sonic Adventure series. and secret rings didn't cut it. this is the closest they have come ever since they put out sonic heroes. i love the werehog levels where you actually have to slow down and think your way through an area, and take out your frustration on the miserable little ghouls that wreak terror on the townsfolk. the only three things I found to be potentially problematic is 1. no camera controls, which can get pretty frustrating in werehog levels 2. hardly any 'spinball' action for sonic. ( I mean, the most fundemental part of sonic removed?? ) 3. chip. he just sounds so cheesy. and when all of a sudden he is a god (SPOILER ALERT) that kinda turned me off the whole story. besides that, this really takes the cake as a fenominal continuation of the sonic franchise Expand
  4. ManoelQ
    Dec 6, 2008
    7
    The graphics are great for Wii, the hedgehog stages are great. And the same happens with the werehog stages as well. However, what makes this The graphics are great for Wii, the hedgehog stages are great. And the same happens with the werehog stages as well. However, what makes this game a regular one is that it destroys the characteristics of Sonic: he was made to run, not to punch. If Dimps weren't lazy and dumb, they could make three acts for a day stage that this game would get 10 anywhere. Expand
  5. May 6, 2015
    7
    Unwiished is surprisingly great to play yet every critic towards the wolfhog part is true.

    This needs two critics actually: Sonic
    Unwiished is surprisingly great to play yet every critic towards the wolfhog part is true.

    This needs two critics actually:

    Sonic Unwiished:
    -Gotta learn the levels by heart to get your S ranks
    -It's fun
    -It's really fun
    -It's fast, colourful, different, with good control, good music, good visuals(in HD version it's AWESOME visuals, games that came out five years after still looked no better than Unleashed HD)
    -It's exhilarating to go through the levels at that speed, with your reflexes and memory constantly tested, lots of branching pathways and a simple yet all-around fun boost mechanic

    -It's a little bit too "gotta memorise this to win"
    -It's a railway game where you just boost and the game directs you
    -Little too "videogame-y" for a modern game, the mechanics in this could've existed back in SNES days almost, you'd think a modern 3D game could do slightly better than that
    -Bosses are ok but even more videogamey and not that interesting, complex or realistic, they're just sort of there

    Wolfhog Unwiished:
    -Eh
    -Meh
    -Ugh
    -Eh for the generally boring combat
    -Meh for levels that are too slow, and thus far too long in comparison with the much more fun daytime running levels
    -Ugh for the clunky, uninteresting wolfhog platforming where you get auto-grab ledges, your running speed is slow and slippery, your walking speed is Sonic the Snailhog, and it's just generally a very slow, boring, extremely skippable part of the game.

    Combat is a poor God of War ripoff, the challenge is mostly weak, you'll usually just rinse and repeat the same 2 or 3 combos throughout the entire game (left right left, left right strong), the powerups aren't worth the sidequests or just the effort, it generally is an acceptable game but you just will never play it except to get it done with so you can go back to the daytime stages. The combat is not nearly as bad as the ridiculously slow platforming that can completely make you wanna quit the game, but both together comprise the majority of the time you'll spend on Sonic Unwiished/Unleashed.

    On the side note, the few characters, story and world this game introduces happen to do the job just fine. A few cliches, taken lightly, a few quirks, and a decent plot make for a mundane but agreeable story. I played through all of it and hated none, though I'll hardly recall this in years from now.

    The control is fine in the daytime stages and apart from the platforming in wolfhog form, Super Sonic was a huge pain to control. You don't play him long though.

    Music is very nice as usual, visuals are quite nice for a wii game and as a whole, I find the entire game to be an extremely good memory.

    It's probably because I played all Sonics in a marathon, and after the slow, painful descent from the great Sonic Adventure to sh*tty Adventure 2, mildly sh*tty Heroes, really sh*tty Shadow and Sonic 06, having a game that was competently made with no glitches, good control and fun level design, even if it was a pretty simplistic game design, was already a godsend.

    But besides the fact that this is an overall competent game, I think I just like Unwiished for being a fresh new thing. 06 was such an unmitigated disaster that we got an entire introspection by Sonic Team to redo Sonic. Even if he boost mechanic was gimmicky and led to simple game design, it was new, it was fresh, it was revolutionary even, and it started a new age of Sonic that greatly improved with the latter Boost games, Colours and Generations.

    The slight shame is that Sonic Team did not just introspect the gameplay, they introspected on their writing capabilities too. And the verdict was quite cruel: they could never write a good story(ever, there isn't one Sonic story that isn't stupid or outright jarring out of all the previous games, when they had a story anyway), so they decided to go with the most classic, unoriginal ripoff story. Made me think of Zelda even, go around the world, find the stones/pendants(in this case Emeralds) and move on to the next Temple.

    Still, i'll remember Unleashed as one of the few 3D Sonic games that I'd gladly replay, even if only partly. It goes into the good 3D sonic games with problems, along with Adventure and Heroes. It's much more competent than these but also a lot more bland.
    Expand
  6. Nov 11, 2014
    5
    This is a generally underwhelming game, but I did enjoy it. Certainly not the best Sonic game, but I'll explain some of its details.

    The
    This is a generally underwhelming game, but I did enjoy it. Certainly not the best Sonic game, but I'll explain some of its details.

    The graphics are rather uninspiring. They aren't all out bad...but they aren't exactly very pretty. Neither solid nor pathetic, I simply didn't enjoy them.

    The gameplay is quite the mixed box. The Day stages are exhilarating. The sense of speed is captured perfectly, perhaps better then in any Sonic game ever. However, the Day stages are far and few in between. The Night stages are interesting, but begin getting boring quickly. Coupled with shockingly long stages, I found myself bored many times. The Wiimote controls are also rather disappointing.

    The music is absolutely wonderful. "Endless Possibilities" perfectly captures Sonic and remains one of his be st themes ever. The orchestra music at the end is absolutely stunning and never fails to take my breath away.

    The story is not extremely complex, but it's more detailed the Colors or Generations. The final boss is generally stereotypical, but not horrible.

    While not a good game, this is not horrible. With Sonic, you often most take the good the bad, and this game shows that perfectly.
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2015
    0
    Who the hell thought it will be a good idea to make this game?There is no real challenge, the graphics are not so good even for the wii andWho the hell thought it will be a good idea to make this game?There is no real challenge, the graphics are not so good even for the wii and the game lags as **** Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#20 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008