User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1853 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JarvisH.
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    A great game, one of the better games on the wii thus far, but ultimately it gets a bit boring. I think the game was highly overrated and in no way deserved a better score than zelda twilight princess, maybe not even metroid prime 3.
  2. RayB.
    Feb 26, 2008
    5
    Meh. Ratchet and Clank beats it Old Skool. That's right, I didn't like it. Take that Nintendo fanboys, your precious platformer doesn't hold a candle to shootin' stuff with missiles. AVAST!
  3. ShaunQ.
    Feb 26, 2008
    2
    This is getting boring now. Can't nintendo think of anything else or do they still have to rely on kids buying games with characters that have been used hundreds of times before. Once again Mario returns to yet another pointless and easy mission to save the princess who has been captured (again) just like he has for all the other hundreds of games. The only people who can find this This is getting boring now. Can't nintendo think of anything else or do they still have to rely on kids buying games with characters that have been used hundreds of times before. Once again Mario returns to yet another pointless and easy mission to save the princess who has been captured (again) just like he has for all the other hundreds of games. The only people who can find this game/series fun anymore are children (really really young children), people who just like walking on planets that take 10 steps to go around and catch a star while killing one enemy or brain dead people (which is actually a bit like the second one). If you want to waste your money on something repetitive then by all means get this but if you still like mario and really want to play it then play an older one (it is the same game basically). Expand
  4. TimB.
    Feb 25, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best nintendo game I've ever played. The boards are challenging but not too difficult. The interaction between Mario, the enemies, and the boards is very entertaining. And I couldn't believe the number of levels and drastic differences between them. I can only hope that Super Smash Brothers is half as good as this game. If you buy only 1 game for the Wii... This is by far the best nintendo game I've ever played. The boards are challenging but not too difficult. The interaction between Mario, the enemies, and the boards is very entertaining. And I couldn't believe the number of levels and drastic differences between them. I can only hope that Super Smash Brothers is half as good as this game. If you buy only 1 game for the Wii... make it this one. Expand
  5. SaifG.
    Feb 24, 2008
    10
    I played it at my friends house. it was challengin but a lotta fun!!
  6. WrangeW.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST GAME EVER CREATED! Mario galaxy is so awesome! it has awsome graphics, great sound, easy controls, and is an extremely fun game! No one will EVER forget Mario Galaxy!
  7. DaveS.
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    Great game, I really do love it, but i gotta agree, while some areas are very hard a majority of the game is easy. I've witnessed or played all 121 stars. The camera angles were a bummer sometimes too. Other than that it was creative and enjoyable.
  8. JosiahH.
    Feb 17, 2008
    9
    I loved the game, but it SO didn't deserve a higher score than Zelda.
  9. DaveC.
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    From the start to the end there is never a dull moment in the game. Any one who has beaten the game will know that you get plenty of Mario and Luigi action. There are a lot of games that try to add replay value. They try to give the game more length by adding bonus items and other useless things you must accomplish. With Super Mario Galaxy that is not the case. You get all 120 stars and From the start to the end there is never a dull moment in the game. Any one who has beaten the game will know that you get plenty of Mario and Luigi action. There are a lot of games that try to add replay value. They try to give the game more length by adding bonus items and other useless things you must accomplish. With Super Mario Galaxy that is not the case. You get all 120 stars and you never get board doing it. Then you unlock Luigi get all the start again and beat the last level. The camera angles were not a problem at all. The controls became second nature and added extra effect to the game. Any body that didn't give this game 100/100/10/10 probably didn't beat the entire game. When I saw i could replay the game with Luigi I thought it would be stupid and pointless. That was not the case. It was a far different experience from Mario which made playing thru the game a second time just as fun as the first. The last bonus level was a good reward too. The only thing bad that comes from this game is I will probably never find a game that can offer as much thrill as this one. Ps. Most Mario games don't have multilayer, and for 5-10 year olds with other siblings it will add something fun for the kid waiting to do. Expand
  10. DaveH.
    Feb 15, 2008
    6
    It's great fun at first and the level designs are clever. But I found the controls clunky and the gameplay too simplistic to withstand even its modest length before it gets repetitive (which is less than halfway through). There again, this has always been the way I've felt about Mario games, having being grown up with Sonic games and I probably shouldn't knock it too much It's great fun at first and the level designs are clever. But I found the controls clunky and the gameplay too simplistic to withstand even its modest length before it gets repetitive (which is less than halfway through). There again, this has always been the way I've felt about Mario games, having being grown up with Sonic games and I probably shouldn't knock it too much as Mario Galaxy better than 99% percent of platformers around these days, ESPECIALLY the new Sonic. The soundtrack is also very good and the Luma creatures are nothing short of adorable. However, I maintain that this game does nothing to bring platform gaming into the seventh-generation and its shortcomings are probably a symptom of the the datedness of the said genre. The last platform games I honestly enjoyed were Sonic Adventure 1 and 2 and Rayman 2. Expand
  11. EthanG.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Well I give it a 9 because it gets boring or confusing at times. Plus no one wants to be the star. But I disagree with the critics I hate it when I die!
  12. JamieS.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    A superb game. A MUST MUST MUST have for all Wii owners. However the swimming controls are a complete joke.
  13. PetriT.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    Great, long lasting quality entertainment.
  14. AnonymousMC
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    I have no clue why i`ve waited so long befor i bought my wii ... its just so great. Ever since the n64 with mario64, zelda, mario kart, goldeneye007 i`ve rarely had as much fun playing a video game. There are great games for PC that are considerably on the same lvl in terms of awesomeness ( Halflife1+2 / Fallout1+2 just ot name two ), but for SMG absolute happiness comes into it aswell.
  15. AndrewC.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    Wow...I can't believe how many people are actually complaining about what is possibly the best game Nintendo has ever created. Every element, every little nook and cranny of the game is so polished and awesome. There are so many works of genius here and there, and the levels can be quite challenging. They are fairly short and sweet, but they are longer than those found in Super Mario Wow...I can't believe how many people are actually complaining about what is possibly the best game Nintendo has ever created. Every element, every little nook and cranny of the game is so polished and awesome. There are so many works of genius here and there, and the levels can be quite challenging. They are fairly short and sweet, but they are longer than those found in Super Mario 64 (a vastly overrated, boring platformer by all regards...though notably innovative). This game should not be compared to past Mario games, because frankly it blows them all out of the water. That's all there is to it. This game is all that is keeping me from selling my Wii and going with the Xbox 360, folks. It's AWESOME. Expand
  16. ChisameS.
    Jan 28, 2008
    7
    The graphics are really, really good, but I have to agree with Brad~ The levels are much too easy and short...I wish they were a bit more challenging and long.
  17. 80
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    I never considered myself a Mario fan until I played this game. I love it so much! The critics are right; I didn't get frustrated when I died. I was excited to try again. Overall, a really fun experience. Anyone with a Wii should go out and bye one! As a hardcore Legend of Zelda fan, it's pretty rare for me to admit that it had more personality and was more fun than some of their games.
  18. MarkB.
    Jan 27, 2008
    8
    Definitely shows the power of the Wii, but as far as difficulty settings go, makes it too easy. I rarely die, and when I do, I easily pass the level on the next life. Love the graphics and gameplay, which are phenomenal, I just wish it was more difficult at times.
  19. BradS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    8
    I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising I seriously cannot believe the reviews that SMG is getting. The levels, while having good design, are very linear and easy. The game holds your hand through everything. The hub world is incredibly dull compared to SM64 (there aren't any secrets in it whatsoever (dont call a mushroom underneath a platform a secret)) . I am somewhat ashamed of the gaming press who have been praising the game so highly, it is definetely not deserving of being on th level of Ocarina of Time or SM64. Expand
  20. FGT
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    Simply superb. The creativity and effort put into this game shows all the way through. Amazing how each world keeps throwing new awesome unexpected stuff at you.
  21. BenHewitt
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This game is the best single player game i have ever played. I have been playing games since the Amiga 500 i own a ridiculous amount of consoles, console games and PC games. Mario is absolutely stunning. Previous to this my favourite mario game was Super Mario Bros 3 on the NES. Don
  22. EricA.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This game is so different and unique. Once you beat the game as Mario you have the option to continue playing a lot of the same levels over again but with various "comet" challenges such as enemies moving twice as fast, or you only have one health, or you have to finish the level in a certain time limit. Even after you beat all these levels and beat the game again you unlock Luigi as a This game is so different and unique. Once you beat the game as Mario you have the option to continue playing a lot of the same levels over again but with various "comet" challenges such as enemies moving twice as fast, or you only have one health, or you have to finish the level in a certain time limit. Even after you beat all these levels and beat the game again you unlock Luigi as a character and can replay the entire game over but with a Luigi that can jump higher and farther but can't stop as quickly. This makes for a more interesting and challenging game play. Expand
  23. AxewhipeS.
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Great game for a great system. This game combines both 3D & some 2D like gameplay and adds new items & new ways to play into the mix. You need this game if you have a Wii.
  24. JonathanA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Wow. This game soars. A true experience, memorable and exhilarating, whether blasting off to a new planetoid to face some gravity-defying, mind-bending puzzle, to walking off a ledge only to find yourself on the other side and with a whole slew of new secrets and things to explore, to just twirling around in the hub-world and dancing with the luma-stars. Hehe. It brings out the kid in me. Mario, you're the man. Expand
  25. RaquelM.
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    One of the games who shows that creativity, innocence, and originality, can be unlimited when it comes to innovating the universe of gaming.Not universe... galaxy ! A true masterpiece, that reminds you of the old times, but doesn't forget to give you a diferent and completely new view of an epic and remarkable game, called "Super Mario 64".
  26. JPH.
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    Awesome game play -- plenty challenging for an experienced gamer yet intuitive enough for a novice to enjoy. Another Mario hit from Nintendo.
  27. ChrisC.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    Utterly brilliant - a masterpiece. Definitely Nintendo's greatest work ever. With stunning graphics, beautiful artistic levels, controls that actually make sense and pure unlimited fun and challenge, Super Mario Galaxy is 2007's Game of the Year in my opinion. Everything we love about the Mario franchise and more.
  28. RobB.
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play I'll start by saying I love Mario. I have owned, played, and finshed every Super Mario game since his days with Luigi on the NES. I even love the Mariokart series, so I may not be the most unbiased reviewer. I'll start by saying I love this game. The controls are great with very few exceptions. The visuals are Fantastic. And the game play is superb. I play my own game, I play with my kids, I play this game with my wife. Buy it and you will not regret it. Expand
  29. Darkhorse
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around I gave this as a gift to my kids with the Wii and also played it with them. I had Game Boy and 64 where I played the old version of Mario. This game had come a long way and my gosh I've never seen a game where you can't stop trying 'til you achieve your goal. I'm not progressing through the game faster than others but doesn't matter as sometimes I just walk around the galaxy enjoying the graphics. Expand
  30. ShaneK.
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Loved it! I was very disappointed with Sunshine but makes up for more of it. Although, the only flaw is it's difficulty. It's very easy and has little replay value. A solid 9!
  31. JamesK.
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    Great to look at, might be amazing for younger players. Anyone 20+ will get bored along the way. When is Nintendo going to try something different? Mario 64 in space is not original.
  32. JustinR.
    Jan 2, 2008
    7
    This game isn't as great as everyone says it is. The storyline is kinda boring and it gets awfully repetitive going after star after star after star. It's definitely one of the better games for Wii, though, as most games out for this console positively blow.
  33. KristofferM.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing game which undoubtedly will be remembered as an era-defining classic.
  34. EricG.
    Dec 31, 2007
    10
    Wow, superbly entertaining and just creative as can be. Everything is very beautiful and just fun and addicting to play. I can't wait until the next one to come out.
  35. JoeA.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I'd actually rather give this game a 9.5 out of 10, but I'll just have to round up for metacritic. Incredible graphics for an outdated console, classic and refined gameplay, and music that's surprisingly robust for a Mario game. My only complaint are the rare instances the camera can't find you and the moments where going upside-down forces you to switch your I'd actually rather give this game a 9.5 out of 10, but I'll just have to round up for metacritic. Incredible graphics for an outdated console, classic and refined gameplay, and music that's surprisingly robust for a Mario game. My only complaint are the rare instances the camera can't find you and the moments where going upside-down forces you to switch your movements. The game does this silhouette thing with Mario if the camera gets stuck behind something, but in some worlds, like water ones, it's just not good enough. Also, there are some sections where you get no control over the camera where control would have been most helpful. These problems, however, absolutely do not hinder the experience. Nintendo has once again refined and reinvented the platformer, giving us a better 3D Mario than Mario 64, and possibly the best Mario since Super Mario Bros. 3. Expand
  36. UweP.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Having completed the game 100 % with both Mario and Luigi now, I can definitely say that this is the best 3D platformer ever made. Contrary to both Mario 64 and Sunshine, which both featured large and somewhat empty levels, Galaxy is just a no-nonsense, superb compilation of compact levels (well, galaxies) filled to the brim with great ideas and the most satisfying, pure platforming imaginable.
  37. IsamuO.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    State of digital ART Another masterpiece from the master-designer Miyamoto. EAD Tokyo show in this game "how to made THE unique game experience in this generation.
  38. TedA.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    It's by far the best looking game on Wii. Best gameplay? No way. It's incredibly easy and won't take you long to complete it (even the 'special' 2nd run through). The camera is dreadful; sure it's nice not bother having to adjust it constantly but it seems to find the most ridiculous places to settle down at - mostly with a huge ledge just out of sight. The It's by far the best looking game on Wii. Best gameplay? No way. It's incredibly easy and won't take you long to complete it (even the 'special' 2nd run through). The camera is dreadful; sure it's nice not bother having to adjust it constantly but it seems to find the most ridiculous places to settle down at - mostly with a huge ledge just out of sight. The controls are nice, but the Spin Attack seems to be an easy way for Nintendo to add a new level of simplicity. Whatever happened to Mario jumping on his enemies? If you have a Wii by all means rent it (you'll probably complete it in 3 days). If you have another console, ignore this. Oh and let me say - I prefered Sunshine a lot more. The hub world in Galaxy is terribly dull compared to Sunshine and SM64. The levels are linear and small compared to Sunshine/SM64's wide areas to run around in. 6.9/10. Expand
  39. B.S.M.
    Dec 26, 2007
    7
    Seriously, this is far from a perfect 10 many reviewers seem to be giving it. It is not a bad game either, just a good game. Would rate it a 7.4 I think. Game could barely hold my interest near the end when collecting enough stars to finish it. And I have no desire collecting everything. I would actually recommend players to rent this one if they are not totally convinced with the videos Seriously, this is far from a perfect 10 many reviewers seem to be giving it. It is not a bad game either, just a good game. Would rate it a 7.4 I think. Game could barely hold my interest near the end when collecting enough stars to finish it. And I have no desire collecting everything. I would actually recommend players to rent this one if they are not totally convinced with the videos and what people are saying so far. Expand
  40. MikeV.
    Dec 24, 2007
    7
    The game is very innovative but it is so extremely easy its ridiculous. Because of this complete easiness I only give it a 7. Nintendo seems to be targeting more casual gamers and are sacraficing the fun-factor/challenge for a "pretty" game.
  41. JakeH.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Super Mario Galaxy is in my top 3 games I have ever played. When I first heard about another Mario game, I had my doubts. I thought it would be like Super Mario Sunshine and I would get bored with it. I was wrong... big time! Super Mario Galaxy has the basic Mario storyline with Peach being kiddnaped by Bowser and Mario saving Peach. But now Nintendo threw in a new person. Rosalina. Rosy Super Mario Galaxy is in my top 3 games I have ever played. When I first heard about another Mario game, I had my doubts. I thought it would be like Super Mario Sunshine and I would get bored with it. I was wrong... big time! Super Mario Galaxy has the basic Mario storyline with Peach being kiddnaped by Bowser and Mario saving Peach. But now Nintendo threw in a new person. Rosalina. Rosy is like the fairy of the star observatory. She needs all the stars and grand stars you collect from missions to power the observatory and save Peach. Now for gameplay. The gravity in this game is superb. It will really help you travel around the galaxy. You use the Nunchuck to move and the remote to attack, jump and fire star bits you find. The star bits are everywhere. They are easy to collect. All you have to do is aim with the remote and you have some star bits. They can be fired at some enimies to stun them so you can hit them. The only thing I don't like about Super Mario Galaxy is that you can't really focus the camera. You don't have to because the camera follows nicely, but in some spots, you wish you could control the camera. My other complaint is how you swim underwater. It's hard to control and easy to get lost. All in all, Super Mario Galaxy is the best game for the Wii. Expand
  42. Bishman
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    Now Super Mario Galaxy is the true sequel to Mario 64. It does everything Mario 64 does but better. Not only is the art direction amazing, Nintendo raises the bar on what you think a platform game can do. And it is simply fun. When I'm playing, I have to laugh and smile because this game is just too fun.
  43. LTB.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Beautiful music played, Creative worlds made. A better game, will I find? SMG you blew my mind. The magic of it can bring out a tear. This deserved Best Wii Game of the year.
  44. GeneSimon
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    This is the great game ever!!! A must have for all hardcore wii owners. the graphics are god. Music is best I have seen since zelda OoT. Gameplay is perfect and dosen't feel bad at all I love it. Super long game first 60 stars are as easy as most mario games, last 61 are a little harder. Mario galaxy is a fresh new turn in the world of mario, wii, Nintendo, and platforming. Highly This is the great game ever!!! A must have for all hardcore wii owners. the graphics are god. Music is best I have seen since zelda OoT. Gameplay is perfect and dosen't feel bad at all I love it. Super long game first 60 stars are as easy as most mario games, last 61 are a little harder. Mario galaxy is a fresh new turn in the world of mario, wii, Nintendo, and platforming. Highly HIGHLY recommended as a first wii game. BUY GALAXY TODAY!! Expand
  45. DevinH.
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    If I was a game reviewer, I would give this game an 11 out of 10 instead of a 10 out of 10 and risk getting fired because this game is better than almost anything I've played in years and certainly superior to 99% of the stuff that they review. However I get to play whatever game I feel like playing and therefore I am going to have to be a bit harsh and give this game a 9. There are If I was a game reviewer, I would give this game an 11 out of 10 instead of a 10 out of 10 and risk getting fired because this game is better than almost anything I've played in years and certainly superior to 99% of the stuff that they review. However I get to play whatever game I feel like playing and therefore I am going to have to be a bit harsh and give this game a 9. There are four things that irritated me about this game with the last one dragging the game from a 9.5 to a 9 in my opinion. 1) The Pull Stars. 2) Lack of Control over camera angles. 3) Having to do the same exact Bowser stage again to complete the game once you obtain 120 stars. 4) Doing the purple coin challenge in the desert level. I know it sounds crazy for 1 star challenge to change your overall assessment of Mario Galaxt by a lot but hear me out. It took me around 60 tries to get the star in the desert purple coin challenge. The three coins that are on top of the Thomp's Head is an extreme and almost impossible pain in the arse to get. Everytime I couldn't get on the Thomp's head after a couple of tries, I had to try the challenge all over again because otherwise 25 years later, you would still be unsuccessfully trying to get the 3 coins since the tornado seemed to position itself in a certain place to keep you from landing on the stone's head after a few attempts. If by some miracle you land on the stone's head and get the three coins, you still have to deal with the extremely unforgiving skinny platforms, regenerating skeleton koopas, and coins hovering high in the air in the middle of nowhere with one tiny mistake sending you to your instant death in the quickstand and having to do the whole coin challenge all over again. Other than these four annoyances, this game is the most amazing video game on this galaxy that was made since 1996 and should not be missed by any gamer regardless of the kinds of games you usually play unless you just like either extremely violent or sports games. Expand
  46. SteveJ.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    This is an amazing game by all accounts. The controls feel fantastic, the Wii remote bringing something new to the table and still not feeling gimickey. The stages are all unique, and you don't have to spend too long in any one place. The graphics are tied with Metroid Prime 3 for best on the system. There are a few small downfalls, though: occasionally, though rarely, the This is an amazing game by all accounts. The controls feel fantastic, the Wii remote bringing something new to the table and still not feeling gimickey. The stages are all unique, and you don't have to spend too long in any one place. The graphics are tied with Metroid Prime 3 for best on the system. There are a few small downfalls, though: occasionally, though rarely, the upside-down platforming feels awkward, and some of the suits felt strange to use. Otherwise, though, Nintendo has blown my mind. This is one of the most fun games I have ever played. Expand
  47. AnonymousMC
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    This game was good and it was addicting to play. I give it an 8 the graphics are good-especiallyfor the wii and the gameplay is sweet. Let's face it though it ain't no halo and i am a halofanboy. Because i am a halofanboy can you guys plz not cus at me....
  48. JohnC.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Amazing game! A true successor to SM64!!
  49. ThunderS.
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    I'm a 30 year old gamer, so I'm a bit ol'skool when I review SMG here. Ok, this game isn't a 0, nor is it a 10... I think it is a solid 8, or 8.4 in my opinion. What can I say about it someone else hasn't? I think the graphics are very nice and probably the best part of this game.. (and the wii-mote control scheme is nice too).. However, the game itself is sorta I'm a 30 year old gamer, so I'm a bit ol'skool when I review SMG here. Ok, this game isn't a 0, nor is it a 10... I think it is a solid 8, or 8.4 in my opinion. What can I say about it someone else hasn't? I think the graphics are very nice and probably the best part of this game.. (and the wii-mote control scheme is nice too).. However, the game itself is sorta far from perfect. So, what keeps this from being a 9 or 10? 'Dumbed down' lessons or tutorials that are un-necessary (namely, the manta ray part isn't skippable) and the sometimes sluggish or upside down camera is annoying. This game is great for younger gamers (and people new to gaming), but if you've played any 8-bit or 16-bit mario games, this may leave you that feeling of wanting more fun and better gameplay. Also missing is the classic physics feel and power ups. The bottom line: Bee-suit power-up?! Chesparit-ooo!!!?!!? Expand
  50. PALAFOXP
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack Super Mario Galaxy stands proudly as the second best game from Nintendo. Why? Because its excellent design, innovation, controls, and graphics. Some reviewers claim this is not the best Mario game yet, others just lower the score of the game by just saying the camera, and easy-level issues, but it's not enough. Although this game is not perfect, it really entertains. The soundtrack is just amazing, with orchestrated tunes and background sounds that perfectly fit each Galaxy. I give this game a 10, because this game really amazed me, and will amaze everyone who plays it 'till the end. Expand
  51. Mike
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    I'd give this game a 9.8 The game simply doesn't surpass Super Mario 64, but it comes very very close! This is just my opinion though. I think some of the levels were way too short and not very memorable. The music was great in a few galaxies, but falls very short compared to SM64. I will say one thing, this game is definitely a reason to buy a Wii for!
  52. MarkR.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    I got the same impression of "Hardcore Gamer Magazine". When I play this game I fell like a crafter had reachd its highest skill point. It is an awesome game, beautiful to look at, just great music and controls and fun all the way through. I highly recommend it.
  53. Taurus
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    What an awesome, awesome game. A must-buy for all the Wii owners, and if you don't own a Wii, here's a great reason to buy one.
  54. [Anonymous]
    Dec 9, 2007
    2
    Galaxy uses play mechanics from a 10 year old game and graphics from a 5 year old game, and doesn't even have a great storyline to salvage it from the depths of un-originality. It was nice, but won't be deserving of any Game of the Year awards, even if it wins them.
  55. TomD.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I never give out 10's. This game is a ten and it is not a shooter like the four nominees at the VGA's. Pure bliss not a 3rd person shooter a platformer thru and thru. NES had Super Mario Bros. SNES Super Mario World N64 Super Mario 64 Gamecube had Sunshine sorry cube Wii has the defining game of this generation.
  56. Marko
    Dec 9, 2007
    3
    If this game had a tagline, it would be "I Can't Believe We're Still Getting Away With This!" Nintendo had a good thing going with Mario64, then they just flatlined after that. Add prettier graphics and planet hopping and you've got Galaxy. Not only that, but Nintendo's definition of "replay value" is forcing you to play though the game twice if you want to see a If this game had a tagline, it would be "I Can't Believe We're Still Getting Away With This!" Nintendo had a good thing going with Mario64, then they just flatlined after that. Add prettier graphics and planet hopping and you've got Galaxy. Not only that, but Nintendo's definition of "replay value" is forcing you to play though the game twice if you want to see a little bit more content. At least Nintendo's Zelda games inject originality and storyline into each one; there's definite quirks to each. You could look at any given screenshot and tell which Zelda you're looking at. Not so with Mario; it's just business as usual. Rent this game if you must, but a few hours into it, you'll realize that you've been had yet again by the Mario team. Expand
  57. TomS.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    The Wii may not be the best system, some may not even consider it a real game machine, but reguardless of that this is a game and a great one at that. Don't believe the hype over Halo 3 or Assassins Creed, Super Mario Galaxy is truly one of those rare games that makes you remember how gaming got to where it is today. Galaxy's uses the Wii controls the way they should be, The Wii may not be the best system, some may not even consider it a real game machine, but reguardless of that this is a game and a great one at that. Don't believe the hype over Halo 3 or Assassins Creed, Super Mario Galaxy is truly one of those rare games that makes you remember how gaming got to where it is today. Galaxy's uses the Wii controls the way they should be, minimally. This is not waggle a thon, not junk free ware like the other Wii games, this is a truly great game that anyone who owns a Wii should have. Expand
  58. JohnS.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    Horrible, the graphics were bad and the wii remote is very hard to use. This was by far one of the worst games I have ever played!
  59. TechniM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    4
    This rainbow colored whack-a-mole style game with little depth, but a lot of attitude. It might make a good stocking stuffer for the younger Wii owners.
  60. JulianM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Great overall game! I loved Mario 64 and this was just the substitute I needed! If you like Mario 64, pick this up! The use of the Wii Remote is also very fun. Great graphics. I reccommend you pick it up!
  61. Bauermill
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Somehow this game blows away Super Mario 64 and possibly all other Mario games with it's graphics, gameplay, story, challenge, and straight up fun! A must have for anyone who owns a Wii. It gets my vote for game of the year.
  62. AnonymousMC
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is very close to being my favorite single player game of all time (Shadow of the Colossus and HL2 are up there as well). I am ridiculously addicted - after getting 120 stars I didn't even take a break before starting again. The major appeal here is variety: There are a ton of different galaxies covering all the stock themes and more. But more than that, each star feels like it isThis is very close to being my favorite single player game of all time (Shadow of the Colossus and HL2 are up there as well). I am ridiculously addicted - after getting 120 stars I didn't even take a break before starting again. The major appeal here is variety: There are a ton of different galaxies covering all the stock themes and more. But more than that, each star feels like it is its own level, whereas in SM64 each star was a part of the overarching level. I can see why someone might like SM64's system better, but I actually greatly prefer Galaxy's. The only problem with Galaxy is that it's a little bit too easy. There were a few stars where I lost more than one life, but it would have been nicer if the difficulty consistently scaled up as you progressed. Sweet Sweet Galaxy (one of the first stars in the game) is probably one of the hardest, while some of the last galaxies were not difficult at all. But, that's an extremely minor gripe. Expand
  63. LuisR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the This game is a Mario geek fantasy come true. I keep reading a lot of comparisons to Mario 64, and there are definitely similarities. One thing that definitely sets this apart from Mario 64 is the lack of repetition. Every star within each stage has it's own areas, so it doesn't feel like you're running around the same parts of the level trying to figure out how to get the star. It definitely made Mario 64 feel tedious for me at times, but I have been playing Mario Galaxy non-stop, and even after having defeated Bowser I'm having a blast trying to get the rest of the stars. Expand
  64. DG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Amazing game play...graphics...great overall!
  65. Mattyouwouldliketoknow
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Don't listen to Dionysus J. he doesn't know what he's talking about. It looks way different than Super Mario Sunshine and looks way different than Mario 64. Galaxy has a style of its own. I strongly recommend this game.
  66. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're I have yet to find a flaw in this game. For those of you who feel it is not as "pretty" as compared to other games out today, take a look again. For how little power the Wii has as compared to its graphically massive competition, it does very well for itself. Also, when you're such a shallow gamer to put graphics in front of fun, then go play Lair for a third time keep you're opinion to yourself. Expand
  67. KingKong
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Who ever rated this game below 9/10, proves that they dont know much about video games, next to a freshy. This Game has it all! from best clarity and innovation to royal platformers; interms of visual, gameplay, competitiveness, simplicity, involvement and addictiveness. Mario is Fit for a KING of all games to this present and future, hands down.
  68. RickyQ.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    An amazing game which is somehow even more fun to play than Super Mario 64. It's too easy though.
  69. ClintonB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This game might just be better than Super Mario Bros. 3 which I previously though at the best game ever made. The new "suit varieties and amazing level design bring this game back to the same standard that Mario 3 set for video games in general.
  70. JesseS.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best Mario Game ever, and easily the best Wii game so far. This a great game, in pretty much every way I can think to grade it. It's even got a great 2-player mode, great for people like me (a long time gamer) and my daughter (she's not coordinated to play the game herself, but she loves helping me out while I play, and I really appreciate the help she can provide with the Best Mario Game ever, and easily the best Wii game so far. This a great game, in pretty much every way I can think to grade it. It's even got a great 2-player mode, great for people like me (a long time gamer) and my daughter (she's not coordinated to play the game herself, but she loves helping me out while I play, and I really appreciate the help she can provide with the second controller). So, if you've got a casual-gamer (or non-gamer) family member, give them a controller while you play. They'll have a blast figuring out all the stuff they can do. Expand
  71. DanielR.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    This is the best game ever, even better than Super Mario 64. Graphical perfection. Musical perfection. Gameplay perfection. Lasting perfection. Overall perfection. God.
  72. BigA
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    As soon as I began playing this game, it took me straight back through every Mario game I have ever played and reminded me why my memories of those games are so fond. This game embodies everything classic about Mario, and then takes him to the next level of platformer games. The fluidity of the controls is like second nature, the concept of the galaxy ties in beautifully with the already As soon as I began playing this game, it took me straight back through every Mario game I have ever played and reminded me why my memories of those games are so fond. This game embodies everything classic about Mario, and then takes him to the next level of platformer games. The fluidity of the controls is like second nature, the concept of the galaxy ties in beautifully with the already developed themes of previous Mario games, and the game play is simply phenomenal. Expand
  73. DionysusJ.
    Nov 28, 2007
    7
    It's a fun game... This is true. But after games like Ratchet & Clank Future and Uncharted, it's hard not to be spoiled by the gorgeousness that is high-definition. SMG is a definite buy with great level design, but honestly it looks no different than Super Mario Sunshine... or even Mario 64 in some areas. Slightly over-hyped, but still recommended.
  74. MatthewM.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    A truly amazing game, loved every second of it! If you have a Wii, get this game NOW! the graphich are amazing, and the gameplay follows suit,not to mention one of the MOST addicting game I have ever played. BUY IT NOW!
  75. MoP.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Having played hundreds of games in the last 30 years of gaming, starting with pong. I can honestly say this has been the most fun. Even cured my jaded middle aged palate. Thank god for Nintendo.
  76. DonC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Most innovative and original Mario to date. Drop your Halo 3 paddles and try out this real game, find out why the hype for other games is just stupid and also why graphics don't matter.
  77. RCR
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Unbelievably fun and engrossing 3D level design and gameplay. Fun, fun, fun.
  78. AnonymousMC
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    This game is the most pure fun experience ever. It will make you never want to go back to playing a violent FPS ever, and will make you never want to play a game which is not as high quality as it,. The only bad thing about it is the lifespan. I've played it for 4 hours and have already got 19 of the 120 power stars. BEST GAME EVER.
  79. GhostReviewer
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Simply put, this is the best wii game released so far. The challenge is satisfying, the music is addictive, and the graphics and art style are beautiful. The Gameplay, however, is the real highlight of the game. They are without a doubt the most responsive controls of the system. They feel natural but not overused or gimicky. Super Mario Galaxy is definately a contender for game of the year.
  80. dcartist
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game. Well deserving of a 10. Amazing control, lots of imagination... seamless. My only nitpick is with that very sad and haunting storybook that is a cliffhanger all the way through if you start reading it early. Having a sad lonely kid looking for his mom who has "left forever"... without a resolution until you finish more game... bad idea. Luckily the storybook is totally skippable.
  81. MichaelF.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the This is not my favorite game of all time. It doesn't have the emotional intensity of FFVII or the beauty of Okami; it doesn't have the deep sadness of Shadow of the Colossus or the gorgeous physicality of Gears (or God) of War. At the same time, from a pure gaming standpoint, Super Mario Galaxy is most definitely the best game I've ever played. The odd off level aside, the game is stuffed to the brimming with pared down runs of perfect platforming and mind-bending physics. It undeniably excels at every little aspect of its being; platformers will never be the same. Expand
  82. ZombieW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This is definitely one of my favorite Wii games. The game looks beautiful, the different power-ups are amazing, and the classic Mario music is priceless. It doesn't matter what kind of gamer you are, you will LOVE this game!
  83. ColinW.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    As i dreadfully trudge through th mediocre pile of games that have been released for my beloved console. My usual fan boyish attitude towards anything coming out for my wii. But my wii's soul has been re-engulfed in a flame that may be brighter than Zelda TP. It is definitly a must buy. I would almost say it's worth buying a wii for. Top of my list of game of year. Just above As i dreadfully trudge through th mediocre pile of games that have been released for my beloved console. My usual fan boyish attitude towards anything coming out for my wii. But my wii's soul has been re-engulfed in a flame that may be brighter than Zelda TP. It is definitly a must buy. I would almost say it's worth buying a wii for. Top of my list of game of year. Just above Orange Box. Expand
  84. DanielV.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    The visual quality is terrific for a Wii game, and the physics are really crazy-like, i was amazed at the gameplay. MUSTbuy!
  85. Alec
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. Great premise, concept. The story it the generic Mario story, but that's fine. Only problem I have it the camera angles.
  86. SYC
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Unequivically Mario Galaxy is the best game of the year. A stellar title in every respect and everything a good game should be. The only problem comes with tearing yourself away from it, which thanks to the originality exhibited in each level, is exceedingly difficult.
  87. TommyD.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Games like this one come around very rarely. If Super Mario Galaxy isn't worthy of a 10 then I don't think very many games in history have ever been worthy of one. You can get caught up in childish console wars if you'd like, but when it's all said and done THIS is the game that will be remembered more than any other of the generation. No one will be talking about Games like this one come around very rarely. If Super Mario Galaxy isn't worthy of a 10 then I don't think very many games in history have ever been worthy of one. You can get caught up in childish console wars if you'd like, but when it's all said and done THIS is the game that will be remembered more than any other of the generation. No one will be talking about Crackdown or Bioshock or Metroid Prime 3 or Uncharted 10 years from now. Mario Galaxy, however, will be frozen in eternity as a meter stick by which all other platformers are measured. It has rightfully earned it's spot as a game that isn't just excellent, but that other similar games are expected to live up to. Expand
  88. DavidJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    It's a great game and I'd reccomend it to anybody.
  89. TomM.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Great game, took 64's innovation and charm to heart, but yet still expanded and innovated upon it in more ways with planets, gravity, and new moves. An epic, must-own title for anyone who considers themselves a gamer.
  90. DavidK.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Excellent mario game, full of original gameplay, yet classic, music enemies, settings powerups and fun. amazingm yet undeniably far far to easy, no where near the challenge as MArio 64 was but i would say has more WOW factor, considering the controlls and gravity effects, and suprisingly excellent visuals
  91. OliverC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Kind of feel like I need to put my foot down on this one. Yeah the game is beautiful, full of fun content and cool ideas but it is just not more fun than Mario 64. I think the main reason for that is that the game is a joke in terms of difficulty, and all the maps are really linear. If you are looking for a challenging platformer, this is not your game. If you are looking for a fun and Kind of feel like I need to put my foot down on this one. Yeah the game is beautiful, full of fun content and cool ideas but it is just not more fun than Mario 64. I think the main reason for that is that the game is a joke in terms of difficulty, and all the maps are really linear. If you are looking for a challenging platformer, this is not your game. If you are looking for a fun and colorful romp with an old friend then this is a sure thing. Expand
  92. DylanB.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played, and a worthy sequel to Mario 64.
  93. RoryC.
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Really enjoyable and a very fun game. I do think it has been overated a little bit however, but certainly is the one of the best graphical displays the wii has produced so far. I'm not the biggest Mario fan so maybe thats why my score is below average but definately worth a rental!
  94. MikeH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I love this game, good graphics, odd camera angles, but still overall very good
  95. JeremyJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never Reaffirms my faith in Nintendo's ability to make games of more quality and freshness than any other company. The game is, in a word (a very un-Mario word): epic. The only complaint I might have had was "too easy"...but if you think about it...how many people got to experience getting all 120 shines in Super Mario Sunshine, the exponentially harder 3D Mario game? I myself never acheived that rating until Galaxy came along, and it's a great feeling. Besides, there's always that "little extra something" for getting all 120 stars that makes the game slightly more difficult asecond time around. Expand
  96. DesmondH.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Best Wii game out. Also, it dosn't copy R&C because of the round level or in every way ( not even close to every way). The game isn't just good because Mario is the main character either.
  97. AnonymousMC
    Nov 21, 2007
    4
    I played this game for about 2 hours and then booted crysis back up! i usually like this style of game but this just failed to engage me.

    i pride myself on having as little bias as possible and i think this is fanboy overhype, it should stop so people like me with no platform/series preference arent dissapointed.

    yours regretfully (for wasting my money) david.
  98. JohnM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    What more can you ask for? A unique experience, a new way to play, and it's Mario. Mario. That's all you need to make a game good. Mario. And when he's on a platformer, an even more awesome one like this, ya. Love the gravity and spherical platforms AKA planets. So, ya, it's Nintendo. Nintendo and Mario, and you know it's a good game.
  99. GlenM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Fantastic game, better then Mario 64, even!
  100. GregW.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Miyamoto once again proves that gameplay is king. This game is fun in its purest form, players will experience a truly magical feeling that is rarely felt in gaming.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  2. Nintendo has crafted a platform game that, while not as technologically pioneering as its grandfather, is, level for level, more fun to play than "Mario 64." [Dec 2007, p.128]
  3. 95
    Galaxy proves that Mario matters just as much today as he did 25 years ago, and that makes him one of a kind in this medium. But don't play Galaxy simply because Mario is the timeless godfather of gaming. No, play Galaxy because it's fantastic.