Super Mario Galaxy Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2412 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2007 Wii Game of the Year] The ultimate Nintendo hero is taking the ultimate step ... out into space. Join Mario as he ushers in a new era of video games, defying gravity across all the planets in the galaxy. When some creature escapes into space with Princess Peach, Mario[Metacritic's 2007 Wii Game of the Year] The ultimate Nintendo hero is taking the ultimate step ... out into space. Join Mario as he ushers in a new era of video games, defying gravity across all the planets in the galaxy. When some creature escapes into space with Princess Peach, Mario gives chase, exploring bizarre planets all across the galaxy. Mario, Peach and enemies new and old are here. Players run, jump and battle enemies as they explore all the planets in the galaxy. Since this game makes full use of all the features of the Wii Remote, players have to do all kinds of things to succeed: pressing buttons, swinging the Wii Remote and the Nunchuk, and even pointing at and dragging things with the pointer. Since he's in space, Mario can perform mind-bending jumps unlike anything he's done before. He'll also have a wealth of new moves that are all based around tilting, pointing and shaking the Wii Remote. Shake, tilt and point! Mario takes advantage of all the unique aspects of the Wii Remote and Nunchuk controller, unleashing new moves as players shake the controller and even point at and drag items with the pointer. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    Mario has not grown older, but younger with time: more slender, more supple, more graceful. It is as if the boundaries of the genre have become transparent, allowing a unique light to shine forth. Super Mario Galaxy will influence gaming perceptions, sure to replenish any lost passion. It will frequently hug your inner child, evoke tears of joy and tug at the heart. It is everything we have always desired, more than we could possibly have dreamed.
  2. Super Mario Galaxy is an out of this world experience that is spectacularly amazing in every imaginable aspect. It creates a constant sense of wonder that manages to permanently transplant a grin on my face while playing. Even when I died I was smiling. No game has ever done that to me before and it's truly a testament to how perfectly fine-tuned it is.
  3. 100
    It's rare to play through a perfect game or one that nears perfection, but Galaxy definitely fits that mold.
  4. It's a perfect blend of the established and unexpected, and a finely crafted piece of software that will infect your subconscious and make you dread dropping the controller. The accessibility, ingenuity, variety, quality, and quantity are impeccable. The only real uncertainty is how much you'll allow it to take over your life.
  5. Nintendo Gamer
    97
    Super Mario Galaxy is one of those rare games that makes children of us all, that'll have you straight on the phone to your gaming comrades, throwing out terms such as 'best game in years' or - gasp! - 'Mario 64 beater.' [Christmas 2007, p.32]
  6. n-Revolution Magazine UK
    96
    Quotation forthcoming. [Issue#16]
  7. I’m glad that after 20 years, Nintendo can still make something old feel new again.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 604
  1. DougC.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Nintendo's finest work since Ocarina of Time, in fact the industries most polish brilliance in almost a decade. Keep up the good work Nintendo.
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Nintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, andNintendo always impresses me. Mario Galaxy was the best Mario game i've ever played, it's just really fun. I completed the whole game, and wanted more. I like the graphics, and the planets with yoshi are awesome. I loved playing this game, and deserves a 10. No game is perfect, and this one isn't, but is really really good. If a game was perfect, it would score more than the site maximum, so a 10 is fair. Expand
  3. DanielV.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    The visual quality is terrific for a Wii game, and the physics are really crazy-like, i was amazed at the gameplay. MUSTbuy!
  4. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    Always loved mario, but it was until mario64 that it became one of my fav games and earned from me the title as best videogame ever, is theAlways loved mario, but it was until mario64 that it became one of my fav games and earned from me the title as best videogame ever, is the only classic game that in my opinion got better with the jump to 3D, for example, "new super mario bros" is nice and fun, but empty of challenge and imagination. Everything 2d mario could made was done in mario3 for the nes.

    Mario galaxy is still at the top of the foodchain in videogaming, no game has even come close, maybe zelda which i love, but this is still the best game. Will take years maybe decades if we're not lucky for a game to surpass the imagination that went behind this masterpiece, this is the only videogame so far that gives you a more or less 4D experience. Tight control, nice soundtrack, every stage is different, 10 different games could came out of this one actually! This is the reason i need to own every nintendo console, im still waiting for "gakaxy 3". NEVER let the childish look of mario fool you, this is as best as videogaming can get.
    Expand
  5. Feb 6, 2018
    10
    The best game on the wii, or maby even the best game created? No wonder Nintendo had to release a sequel for it some years later for the sameThe best game on the wii, or maby even the best game created? No wonder Nintendo had to release a sequel for it some years later for the same system
    Even though the second game is also pretty good nothing can beat the first game. The hub world and the Music is the most memorable even though the physics and gameplay are also gamebreaking. After 100%ing this game, I just wanted more of it. And lucky me - they did release a second game. Cya when I complete that one.
    Expand
  6. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    Wow. Just wow. Nintendo know how to make a good mario game, that much is for certain. Super Mario Galaxy is a 3D platformer with a uniqueWow. Just wow. Nintendo know how to make a good mario game, that much is for certain. Super Mario Galaxy is a 3D platformer with a unique difference. Hence the name, Mario's in space. While you could easily dismiss this as a gimmick, that is exactly what it is not. First off, it means that everything looks gorgeous. The Wii isn't HD, so it's amazing Nintendo managed to pull this off (but it would be even better in HD, and that's why I'd like a remake for Wii U). Everywhere, it's cosmos, but that doesn't mean Nintendo have gone for one background and reused it- every galaxy is unique in everything, including looks. Next is music. It's amazing. Recorded by an orchestra, every piece conveys the atmosphere of the galaxy (and, oh, those atmospheres are things to treasure). So that's excellent presentation. Beautiful and always, always unique. But the most important thing that Galaxy introduces is planet-hopping. You can run right round a planet and come back to where you were before. While this seems pointless, in reality it brings a whole new dimension to the platforming, and is used in a variety of clever, different ways. Here's the clever thing: you always use a launch star, which is like a cannon except it's a star(don't ask) to get to another planet. And most levels consist of a few conxecutive planets.The set out of the game is essentially about forty galaxies, each holding a one to six levels, or 'scenarios'. The goal of each is to collect the star at the end. The way to actually reach each galaxy is a bit like Super Mario 64- levels are in different places in your hub, the observatory. Getting to them is annoying. It's not like you get lost- it's just boring getting to them. The good-for-nothing map of the observatory doesn't help either. So each galaxy has a particular theme, and it is always very imaginative. Even the routine desert galaxy is filled with surprises. A lot of the gakaxies have levels with boss fights, and a lot of the themes of the galaxies could be turned into entirely new games themselves. There are loads of new powerups, and they are always required to progress when they appear. So they're not so much power-ups as they are like items in zelda. There's the bee suit, to name just one. Each power gives you unique abilities which are always very cleverly and creatively implemented. Each galaxy usually has one or three normal levels, then maybe a hidden star in one of the levels, and one or two comet levels. Comet levels are special stars that come into galaxies you've cleared as you progress through the game. They give you a particular aim and are always very hard. The downside is when they arrive, they replace all the other levels in that galaxy until you've completed that comet level. There's a spin jump to assist you in Super Mario Galaxy, like a double jump. The camera is perfect, never wondering. My biggest problem is that although there are checkpoints, they're not marked, so you've no idea where you'll respawn if you die. There's also a mode where a second player can assist Mario by collecting star bits(in game currency) for them among other things, but this mode is too limited. Overall, Galaxy is a fantastic game and one of the best if not the best, refreshing plstforners around. Expand
  7. JohnS.
    Dec 7, 2007
    0
    Horrible, the graphics were bad and the wii remote is very hard to use. This was by far one of the worst games I have ever played!

See all 604 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked

    Every Super Mario Bros. Game, Ranked Image
    Published: October 10, 2017
    We rank every Super Mario game by score from worst to best.
  2. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  3. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
1
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007