User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1517 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Hello, this is Danny T. and this is my first review!!!!!
    SSBB Rating: 100/100
    The only reason that i giv this game a 100 out of 100 is because i cannot find any flaws at all. Don't tell me that it takes too long to load, this game is obviously loaded with tons of things to do. And you truly cannot ask for any more characters. This is probably the only game that i am going to give a
    Hello, this is Danny T. and this is my first review!!!!!
    SSBB Rating: 100/100
    The only reason that i giv this game a 100 out of 100 is because i cannot find any flaws at all.
    Don't tell me that it takes too long to load, this game is obviously loaded with tons of things to do. And you truly cannot ask for any more characters. This is probably the only game that i am going to give a perfect rating to. Wonderful music, graphics, story (SSE), controls, and many things to do. This is my absolute favourite game.
    Expand
  2. May 1, 2011
    10
    Greatest game of all time in my opinion and I've been playing video games since day one. It is so simple, yet so complex. So fun for kids, yet so ingenious that it makes for great tournaments.
  3. May 12, 2011
    10
    We All know Brawl is the Best in the Series sure it may have terrible loading times and Horrible online mode but still doesn't change the fact it was fun!
  4. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    What killed this game was the Wi-Fi. It was the number one reason why I decided to buy the game (aside from what already made this game a great hit). And it just TOTALLY killed the score. Sorry SSB fans, but this one factor leaves me disappointed.
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing the best super smash bros ever i played this all summer long and smoked pot and drank beers and just had a good time and this game is amazing
  6. EricBollinger
    Aug 23, 2009
    5
    This is a good game. I liked it when I rented it, but when I finally bought it, I just got bored too quickly. The story mode is nice and long, but the actual story is just to ridiculous to follow, and the maze level is plain stupid. I like the variety of characters, but some just seem to be complete fan service (I mean, seriously, Wolf?) The fighting is very fun, but if you aren'tThis is a good game. I liked it when I rented it, but when I finally bought it, I just got bored too quickly. The story mode is nice and long, but the actual story is just to ridiculous to follow, and the maze level is plain stupid. I like the variety of characters, but some just seem to be complete fan service (I mean, seriously, Wolf?) The fighting is very fun, but if you aren't playing local multiplayer, it just gets monotonous. Don't get me wrong, this is NOT a bad game, it's just I can't really recommend it. Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    May not be as good as "Melee" but it is definitely one of the best game the Wii has to offer. Pretty good graphics, as wild as ever with even more awesome characters from Nintendo history, all new adventure that is more detailed than the other to games and it has that smash bros feel that makes you want to have a party with your friends.
  8. DylanR.
    Mar 22, 2008
    5
    An allright game, fun multiplayer, lame one player. But the problem is this is the EXACT same game I bought 7 years ago for the gamecube. Sure there are a few very minor improvements but these are truly just minor additions that could have neem added in a mod. For all the delays and hype I was expecting something amazing and new but received something mediocore and old
  9. RoyM.
    May 22, 2008
    6
    SO overrated. Most new features aren't good. Online is awful.
  10. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = Unlimited amounts of replayabiltity, battles of epic proportions, all of my favorite nintendo characters on one incredible roster, unparalleled fighting gameplay, Final smashes, 60 frames per second . . . Need I continue??
  11. May 3, 2013
    7
    Brawl or Melee?
    I pick this too some many people say that is a lot of CLONES on this game that I can understand like Fox, Falco, Wolf, Captain Falcon, Ganondorf, Lucas, Ness but the truth is they was clones on Melee too Brawl is just smooth to a crisp movement Melee was slow in this way.
    Ok the good parts: nice list of people I love it I use Wolf or random nice list of levels some
    Brawl or Melee?
    I pick this too some many people say that is a lot of CLONES on this game that I can understand like Fox, Falco, Wolf, Captain Falcon, Ganondorf, Lucas, Ness but the truth is they was clones on Melee too Brawl is just smooth to a crisp movement Melee was slow in this way.

    Ok the good parts:
    nice list of people I love it I use Wolf or random
    nice list of levels some new some old ones from Melee game
    good controls for a gamecube one I never tired the will mote and stuff
    good story mode too I guess it's not perfect but it's a start
    great for muli-player sessions I take this to my friend's and we have a blast on it for hours

    Cons:
    is the online is crap at times I know many people say it so I SAY IT AGAIN, when on online playing with random people I was hoping it would find them quick, well it don't half the time due to possible of the LAG the lag in this game kills the game so badly that it is unplayable you have found people but then you lose connection at the last second then gonna need to get more players to join again this is tedius at times I had the problem a lot mostly when you find two people it will not search anymore or it will take a long time to do so and when you waiting I used to like the music in the background but now it drives me crazy it just repeats the same sounds over and over
    you can't change anything in Brawl too in online game with anyone only 2 minutes well I think that is really to short, you can't even add them too on friends list too

    Well I hoped you liked the review remember not all games is bad and if so it can improve every problem has a solution but to Brawl online they is non you can't stolve it simple a matter of waiting
    Expand
  12. Jul 9, 2011
    5
    I have to say it's an astonishingly magnificent work of art, but I got bored almost as soon as I finished everything in about a month or less. I just don't feel it's any better than most other games released on the wii. Unless you have some friends over, this game is a total disappointment (and don't even try to compete online).
  13. INTERWEBUSER
    Mar 13, 2008
    5
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl, also known as Dairantou Smash Brothers X in Japan (which this review is based off of) is one of the most anticipated titles ever in the history of video games. It is often glorified to be Nintendo's representative game, the one masterpiece where all of its flagship characters and rich history all come together in one ultimate package. Unfortunately, beyond Super Smash Bros. Brawl, also known as Dairantou Smash Brothers X in Japan (which this review is based off of) is one of the most anticipated titles ever in the history of video games. It is often glorified to be Nintendo's representative game, the one masterpiece where all of its flagship characters and rich history all come together in one ultimate package. Unfortunately, beyond the shiny cover and massive hype, Brawl is a title that has evolved minimally in the past seven years, stripped away many good features, and taken several steps backwards from its predecessors. The core of the game is what you've come to expect: a four-player brawl featuring your favorite Nintendo characters, as well as two third-party newcomers, Snake and Sonic. Each character has an array of regular attacks, B-button Smashes, and a special move known as a Final Smash. The Final Smash is, essentially, almost an assured one-hit K.O. to one's opponents. The only catch is that in order to use it, one must break a rainbow-colored item called the Smash Ball. The Smash Ball flies around the arena, is hard to capture, and takes quite a few beatings before its effects can be applied to a character. In most cases, the Final Smash is a cheap, extremely overpowered item, except it takes even less skill to use than, for example, the Hammer in the original Smash. It's almost impossible to dodge a Pokemon Trainer's Triple Finish on a flat stage, whereas with a hammer, one actually has to chase after his opponents and make contact with them to take advantage of it. Final Smashes aside, the game plays largely identically to its two predecessors, with minor differences due to the new physics engine. While some E for All game show attendees have expressed concerns about the game feeling slower-paced than Melee, players will get used to it, and this should not be a major issue to non-competitive players. The Brawl character lineup features a total of 35 fighters, 21 of which are available from the start and 14 which need to be unlocked. The 20 veteran fighters have largely retained their original movesets, and clones still have not been done away with. While the lineup (which will not be spoiled here) has drawn massive criticism for its character selection, I will not dwell on that. My obsession over the lineup is actually quite limited, as I care more about what they have to bring to the table in terms of gameplay. Of these 35 fighters, only three have actually added any new strategic elements to the franchise: Zero Suit Samus, whose transformation adds a speed vs. power, long-range vs. short-range tradeoff; Pokemon Trainer, whose three rotating Pokemon, each with their own limited stamina, require thinking ahead to use effectively; and Captain Olimar, whose multicolored Pikmin all have their individual strengths and weaknesses. The rest, especially ones such as Sonic, were included in Brawl largely for fanservice and add little to the gameplay. There are 41 arenas to fight on, ten of which were taken directly from Melee. Disappointingly, they are nothing you wouldn't have come to expect: there are vertically-scrolling stages; there are horizontally-scrolling stages; there are stages with environmental hazards; and there are stages that move around various spots in a larger area. All of these ideas have been done before. Rumble Falls feels like Icicle Mountain redux. There's Norfair with its rising and falling lava, similar to Brinstar in Melee. The Mute City stage in Melee that takes you on around a giant F-Zero racetrack with several stops is now back again in the form of Port City. While there is a stage editor, it is quite restrictive and does not allow you to make elaborate arenas like the official ones: you're limited to a static 10x12 grid with limited interactive elements. The Wi-Fi battle options are far from flawless: searching for players can take up to minutes (though there is a Sandbag you can perform your moves on to alleviate the waiting time); tedious friend code-entering is required to battle your friends (though this is a global complaint for Nintendo's Wi-Fi titles, not just Brawl); and there is sometimes a bit of lag during battle. Subspace Emissary, the highlight of Brawl's single-player modes, is little more than a glorified, extended Adventure Mode. The gameplay still consists of long, sidescrolling sections interleaved with occasional brawls and, at the end of each world, a boss battle. These boss battles are taken directly from the characters' representative franchises and include favorites such as Petey Piranha from Mario and Rayquaza from Pokemon. These boss battles are the high point of SSE, but outside of these battles, the gameplay is still very limited and similar to that of its predecessors. You defeat enemies in your way, jump over obstacles, and collect fallen items along your path. The plot, written by Nojima Kazushige of Final Fantasy fame, relies on cutscenes instead of dialogue and is often times confusing and ambiguous, especially the resolution (which, again, won't be spoiled here.) Subspace can take up to 6-10 hours for a first playthrough, depending on the difficulty level, and doing so unlocks most of the hidden characters. After beating it once to 100% completion, there is little incentive to play through it again, unless you want maximize your high score or fight against CPUs with more hit points. Classic Mode may as well have been ported over directly from Melee. Once again, you have about 12 stages with bonus levels scattered once every few matches and culminating with the Master Hand's showdown. As you'd have come to expect, the stages are nothing new, consisting of the same old objectives: 1 vs. 1, 2 vs. 2, 1 vs. multiple, 1 vs. metal, and multiple vs. 1 giant character. Master Hand uses the exact same attacks as in Melee and even has the same hit points for each difficulty setting. This time, the only bonus level is Target Smash. Snag the Trophies, Race to the Finish, and Board the Platforms are nowhere to be seen, and the few Target Smash stages are now shared amongst all characters, instead of each character having his/her own unique stage as in 64 and Melee. The varied, sometimes wacky bonuses that appear upon clearing each stage in Melee (and whose collection led to unlocking the most prized trophy, the Diskun) have also been removed: one's score is now entirely dependent on the time remaining and damage dealt. Events are still largely the same old, with two notable changes. First, there are now 60 or so events, a third of which are designated as multiplayer "coop" events, which you complete with the assistance of your friend. Second, the events now have difficulty settings. Objectives include simply defeating one or more CPUs, defeating CPU(s) within a certain time, and racing to the end of a side-scrolling stage: in other words, nothing we haven't seen before. The coop seems tacked-on and unnecessary, and many of these 2P events could have easily been 1P events if you didn't care to do more fighting on your own. Similarly, the Home Run Contest and Multi-Man Brawl options are the same as in Melee, except now with coop. While coop in Home Run Contest has allowed for strategic combos and even greater records, the coop in Multi-Man does not really add much to the gameplay for similar reasons as with Events. Multi-Man consists of the same modes: 10-man and 100-man, speed tests in which the player tries to defeat a set number of CPUs in the fastest time possible; 3-minute, 15-minute, and Endless Brawl, endurance tests in which the player tries to defeat as many CPUs as possible in the allotted time limit; and Cruel Brawl, a mode that features CPUs at the highest difficulty. The rest of the Vault's features feel extremely tacked on. If you recall the weird trophy-unlocking requirements in Melee that no one would ever have thought of, they're now in their own Challenges section. The game now outlines the exact objectives you need to complete to unlock a certain trophy or collectible. Masterpieces, which are time-limited demos of Nintendo classics like Super Mario Bros. and Star Fox 64, serve little purpose except to advertise the Wii's Virtual Console. Chronicle is little more than a laundry list of titles Nintendo has released in its almost 30 year game-making history; you may as well head directly to Nintendo.com's game list for the most up-to-date and comprehensive database. The quality of Brawl's soundtrack is quite varied. There is the main theme, complete with vocals, which truly gives the game an epic feel. It appears on the menu and at least a dozen remixes of it exist, including a dark, sinister version of it on Final Destination. While there are a lot of selections in My Music to choose from, about half are just taken directly from old games, while the other half consists of remixes of dubious quality. Simply put, many of the remixes, while arranged by famed composers, do not really do their originals justice. The fast-paced, cheery-sounding Ocarina of Time medley would have sounded out of place in the original game. The Song of Time in the medley lacks the ethereal, somewhat sorrowful mood within the Temple of Time. Saria's Song, which should evoke a melancholy feeling of a lost friend, is strikingly unfitting when played at such a fast tempo. In addition, the transitions between the various ocarina songs seem forced and do not flow well. The slow, sinister castle theme from Super Mario World was converted into an upbeat techno track. Nearly all of the music appears to be synthesized, not recorded by a live orchestra, as was the case in Super Mario Galaxy. Brawl's soundtrack is a prime example where nostalgia or quantity does not imply quality. At the end of the day, it all boils down to one verdict: too much rehashing, and too little "new" content, filler aside. Of course, there's the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it," but personally, I couldn't help but feel a tinge of disappointment. Franchises are meant to evolve, especially a 10-year-old one like Smash Bros. For those who wanted a Melee 1.1, that's great, but I'd rather have stuck to the original instead of shelling out another $50 for a limited upgrade. Expand
  14. Jan 29, 2012
    5
    Although this game is great for both casual and hardcore gamers, don't expect great things from this game. One of the major drawbacks is the incredibly inbalanced character roster. I'd take a balanced roster over a large roster anyday. The replay value is "meh". The music can be boring, and the stage creator isn't worth trying. Although there is some replay value, this game is not reallyAlthough this game is great for both casual and hardcore gamers, don't expect great things from this game. One of the major drawbacks is the incredibly inbalanced character roster. I'd take a balanced roster over a large roster anyday. The replay value is "meh". The music can be boring, and the stage creator isn't worth trying. Although there is some replay value, this game is not really worth your money at all unless you're a Nintendo/Smash Bros. fan. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2010
    6
    I believe the game is getting forgiven too easily. Fun game? Yes. Re-playability? Long. But how much of that time will you actually enjoy it? The addition of a story mode extends gameplay and is primary to anything else. However once completing the story your playtime will soon degrade into random matches, and challenges that can all be completed as well. This is TRULY a multiplayer title;I believe the game is getting forgiven too easily. Fun game? Yes. Re-playability? Long. But how much of that time will you actually enjoy it? The addition of a story mode extends gameplay and is primary to anything else. However once completing the story your playtime will soon degrade into random matches, and challenges that can all be completed as well. This is TRULY a multiplayer title; I cannot find myself playing this game unless friends are with me, so being a loner will cost you. If your one for repetition to a slight change, then by all means this is your game. Otherwise you'll eventually tire of singular like experience and choose something else. Expand
  16. Apr 19, 2013
    3
    As someone who got many hours of multiplayer gaming heaven out of Melee, I was very happy to hear about how Nintendo intended to amp the next in the series.

    I'm not going to repeat the points you have heard generally, yes it is fantastic, a fantastic roster, Melee's returning "clone characters" fleshed out and some great stages. It's worth buying on these alone. The Subspace Emissary
    As someone who got many hours of multiplayer gaming heaven out of Melee, I was very happy to hear about how Nintendo intended to amp the next in the series.

    I'm not going to repeat the points you have heard generally, yes it is fantastic, a fantastic roster, Melee's returning "clone characters" fleshed out and some great stages. It's worth buying on these alone.

    The Subspace Emissary was a great idea on paper, but missed a trick by not taking the concept beyond some flash CG cutscenes. The bits inbetween involve standard matches and low end 80's platforming. Considering that it has key characters from the platform genre's hayday, you'd think they'd add more elements inspired by the roster of characters, maybe even some original ideas.

    The biggest let down is the Online modes that are promised by Nintendo, put simply I have not had a single match since I am forever waiting for the service to match me up with other players. I have had the game since launch and still nothing... which is made worse if you have experienced how well Mario Kart Wii Online has hand this.

    To sum up, the game is excellent, Subspace Emissary is a dull missed opertunatey, the fantastic multiplayer still isn't broke and the online equivalent is, unless Nintendo see fit to sort it out, which maybe unlikely since they knowingly sold it in this state after having the very same problem in Japan and the US.

    I know there will be fans who won't like this when I say it, heck I'm suprised I'm saying it, but this game really is the definition of flawed genious. This game and it's publisher come from a good pedigree, but don't take everyone's word for it that it's a classic, the hype was definately a step beyond a product that European gamers were made to wait for, which is why I scored it 2 stars overall.
    Expand
  17. PeterC
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    Can't remember when I've been more disspointed with a game. The single player is entertaining for about 4 hours, but becomes a chore pretty quick. But of course, this game is all about the multiplayer, but guess what? ONLINE WITH STRANGERS IS COMPLETELY UNPLAYABLE. Even with friends you'll find there's often one person who will lag the game so much it is unplayable. So Can't remember when I've been more disspointed with a game. The single player is entertaining for about 4 hours, but becomes a chore pretty quick. But of course, this game is all about the multiplayer, but guess what? ONLINE WITH STRANGERS IS COMPLETELY UNPLAYABLE. Even with friends you'll find there's often one person who will lag the game so much it is unplayable. So unless you know a bunch of people who will come round to play regularly, or you know people who own wiis and the game and can organize to play then it's a waste of money. But even then, as I mentioned it often lags like hell, (and then controls are so unresponsive so the game is simply no fun) My internet connection runs a stead 5-6MB/sec, but I literally cannot get a game against strangers. If I try random games it just searches and searches. Maybe 10 minutes later it might set a game up, but it lags so bad it's just ludicrous. It's not my router or anything else like that- just a problem with nintendo servers I guess. Not only that but when playing against random people, you're not allowed to change options. Its a 2 minute brawl every time. Fortunately I was able to swap this game at the shop a week later. I pity the suckers who got screwed by this. Just google search SSBB and lag and you'll find zillions of people with the problem. So if you expect Brawl to be LIKE EVERY OTHER COMEPTITVE ONLINE GAME IN EXISTENCE where you can just pick it up and play with people whenever you like, prepare for a shock... Graphics sound and gameplay are all amazing. Pity that the thing that makes an online game like this worth buying and playing doesn't actually work. for 90% of the people who buy this game. Expand
  18. eric
    Apr 19, 2008
    1
    One could write a 10-page essay on the many ways Nintendo has screwed over its long-time fans in the past few years. For me, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the greatest example because I am (or was) such a fan of the series. It
  19. PresenT.
    Mar 18, 2008
    4
    This game was fantastic 5 years ago, but I don't accept a recycled game with a few new characters. Online isn't customizable, character list is now very unbalanced, and the new modes leave so much to be desired. Sorry Nintendo, you've seemed to fool everyone else, but not me. Shallow, a failure at best.
  20. Sep 23, 2010
    2
    The commercial and critical success of this game is proof that you could slap Mario's face on the cover of "DESTROY YOUR WII IN ONE EASY STEP" and it'd sell like gangbusters. This game is a slap in the face to truly fantastic multiplayer action titles without half the name recognition.
  21. Jul 25, 2011
    0
    Loved the new characters, stages and game modes, but the multiplayer, by itself, earned this game a zero. Now, any player, no matter how bad, can recover from devastating attacks, break combos, due to "tripping," and keep up with more competent players because of brawls painfully slow frame rate. Also, why did they take out wavedashing and L-canceling? If you dont know what either ofLoved the new characters, stages and game modes, but the multiplayer, by itself, earned this game a zero. Now, any player, no matter how bad, can recover from devastating attacks, break combos, due to "tripping," and keep up with more competent players because of brawls painfully slow frame rate. Also, why did they take out wavedashing and L-canceling? If you dont know what either of those are go buy melee and figure it out. Expand
  22. DudeR.
    Mar 15, 2008
    3
    Only brainwashed Nintendo kids love smashing their buttons for stupid Mario characters. The roster is so boring and rehashed from their entire game lineup and if you really need to play this over over decent games than I feel sorry for you.
  23. mikew
    Jan 5, 2008
    10
    the game super smash bros. brawl is almost a perfect 10 out of 10. This game has multiplayer, which most Wii games don't ,also it has online. I t has everything inside, multi player, online , mario, "fatality" (super smash ball), trophies (achievements), story mode, battle mode, and a million others, it has many features and add on too, and most important part is, it's frickinthe game super smash bros. brawl is almost a perfect 10 out of 10. This game has multiplayer, which most Wii games don't ,also it has online. I t has everything inside, multi player, online , mario, "fatality" (super smash ball), trophies (achievements), story mode, battle mode, and a million others, it has many features and add on too, and most important part is, it's frickin FUN. I recomend buying it the first day it comes out (feb. 10. 2008) Expand
  24. AdamB.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    New characters, new stages, new moves, Smash Bros. has just gotten a whole lot better!
  25. Crazychief112
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    I give this game a zero because you can't even see your own HP, wtf. I think that even if this game had Master Chef it would get an 8. Only because his shooting is awesome. the controls feel wierd and when i kept pushing up on the wiimote my man kept moving left? Worst game ever.
  26. JonH.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Nintendo did good, they made a MUCH better single player and the only reason why someone wouldn't like it is because they don't have any friends but now you don't need to, theres wifi play.
  27. DennisG.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Multiplayer games don't get better than this.
  28. SamK.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    This game is excellent. It took everything great about Smash Bros, and made it better. I give this game a 9.9/10 because of the lack of using the d-pad on the classic controller even if you change the control scheme, but everything else tottally makes up for it. My final thoughts. Buy this game. It is so worth the 57 bucks
  29. RoryF.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    To Presen T, to say this is just a recycled melee shows that you havent even played this game, the amount of extra content in this game is huge. Not like Halo3 which is essentially "enhanced hill physics" and better graphics. Simply put, this is the game of Nintendo fans' dreams and a solid fighter in its own right.
  30. WesleyA.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Wonderful game, the best game ever so far. If you thought Galaxy was good, this is even better!
  31. TheRyan
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    The game offers crazy amount of action and it never lets up. Great playing solo or multiplayer. A must buy for Wii owners.
  32. JohnJ.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing. A real masterpiece!
  33. JohnF.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    I love this game, all my family is super into it! I also love how giantbomb gave it the lowest score to maybe get more hits in there page.
  34. DarwinZ.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    This is my FAVORITE game by far! it is so fun, and packs a great kick! i love it! and i'm so glad i got it! BEST EVER!
  35. CalebH.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Best game for the Wii yet and best installment in the SSB series. Chock full of Nintendo nostalgia and awesome multiplayer action. Years of enjoyment!
  36. TSwan
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Deep as a fighter, Nintendo history class, and multiplayer game. No fight is EVER the same. Millions of collectables, online matches, definitely 100%.
  37. JustinS
    May 4, 2008
    10
    WHAT ARE SOME OF YOU PEOPLE THINKING!!!!! This is one of the greatest games out on the market. If you don't like how they are not changing anything, then go play something else. I wouldn't change anything ether if the first two where complete hits, what's the point? I say keep up the good work.
  38. SteveR.
    Jun 27, 2008
    5
    I was looking forward to this, and was sucked in the hype. Its essentially a platform game, where you run back, forth and jump. It doesn't really utilize the Wii's #D, 360 degree play capability. There are better games out there.
  39. KentL.
    Jun 30, 2008
    4
    It's not a bad game, but it's not a Wii game either. It could work equally on any platform. It takes no advantage of the controls glory that makes the Wii the Wii. In fact, although you could play it with with both the regular controller and the nunchuck, my family finds it easier to play with just the regular controller horizontally as if it was a 1980s through early 00s It's not a bad game, but it's not a Wii game either. It could work equally on any platform. It takes no advantage of the controls glory that makes the Wii the Wii. In fact, although you could play it with with both the regular controller and the nunchuck, my family finds it easier to play with just the regular controller horizontally as if it was a 1980s through early 00s controller! The game is either just a player version player on one screen (ala Rampage) or a solo player side to side w/ slight vertical scrolling platform game. The graphics are good and some of the character animations are attractive. Playing as chars from various games is mildly pleasant but the game does little to deepen them as characters. The sound is average as is the game play for a scroller. I hate the controls. Nothing is more frustrating when I go to shoot left but instead and shooting right, completely missing the target. And don't get me started on trying to jump and not actually jumping. I think the game is fine although I wouldn't have purchased it knowing that's what it is. Expand
  40. NohC.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    Great game, i have all 3 ssb and melee looks like a demo compared to brawl. I can play 3 hours a day. Also wifi battles are rely cool. this is not a waste of money. I give my word to all parents, its a great game your kid will live. Not a waste. 10 out of 10.
  41. SkylerO.
    Aug 15, 2008
    9
    Excellent game. It's lack of hitstun and it's slower speed make combos non-existent. Fun for parties, but not as tournament viable as it's predecessor.
  42. AlanL.
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    Oh my gosh, this game is awesome! Is the best game on Wii in my opinion. Is glory to have Sonic and Snake among the team.
  43. JamesW
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    It's not trying to reinvent the series, so don't expect that. What you should expect is the biggest homage to Nintendo ever, with great gameplay (single, co-op, multiplayer or online) to boot. Highly recommended.
  44. joshla
    Jan 7, 2010
    8
    This game utilizes NONE of the Wii's controls....no shaking, no pointing, no tilting, no nothing..WHY?
  45. JCAndrew
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    The game at first is exciting seeing ultimate graphics and more. But playing a million bosses to just get alll the moves for all characters which you don't unlock but have, but have to get moves to play adventure mode and multi-player, when it said you have to unlock certain players. this game dissapointes me, I thought it was about battling, when all it is, is to understand theThe game at first is exciting seeing ultimate graphics and more. But playing a million bosses to just get alll the moves for all characters which you don't unlock but have, but have to get moves to play adventure mode and multi-player, when it said you have to unlock certain players. this game dissapointes me, I thought it was about battling, when all it is, is to understand the strength of those moves and that every power is magnificent, but I do not see how that has to come in hand. the internet source I had looked at every week during the summer is a waste of time, those website creator's have gaven the biggest crapstore information i have ever recieved, which makes the game such a letdown. Thanks Nintendo. Expand
  46. AckTar
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    It is an excellent game that would be amazing as a stand-alone game. 37 characters, a ton of stages, and generally high replay value make this a great party or tournament game. The problem, though, is that Melee is simply a better game in terms of the engine and the balance, and it is a more competitive game. People complain about it being not competitive enough, and rightfully so. Buy It is an excellent game that would be amazing as a stand-alone game. 37 characters, a ton of stages, and generally high replay value make this a great party or tournament game. The problem, though, is that Melee is simply a better game in terms of the engine and the balance, and it is a more competitive game. People complain about it being not competitive enough, and rightfully so. Buy it, but fans of Melee should NOT expect Melee 2.0. Expand
  47. DavidC.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    This is a rare game in the fact that the few negatives are completely over-shadowed by the immense positives. If you have a Wii you must buy this game. If you don't have a Wii, you should go buy one and then buy this game.
  48. MarcusN.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    Bar far the greatest game of the century. Sakurai done his best and we should admire his masterpiece. 10/10
  49. DJ
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    No one does it like Nintendo! The multiplaya is in full effect, whether at your crib with friends or online vs the world, this is a next-gen 007 Goldeneye in terms of the addiction and madness! Nintendo pushes the Wiis hardware to levels yet unseen. The graphics and music are simply fantastic and the game runs at a smooth and fast framerate. It would be nice if I could play my homies on a No one does it like Nintendo! The multiplaya is in full effect, whether at your crib with friends or online vs the world, this is a next-gen 007 Goldeneye in terms of the addiction and madness! Nintendo pushes the Wiis hardware to levels yet unseen. The graphics and music are simply fantastic and the game runs at a smooth and fast framerate. It would be nice if I could play my homies on a DS version wirelessly though. How cool would that be? Expand
  50. AllanK.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    This game is so sweet! Making maps. Playing wonderful multiplayer. Great minigames and long adventure!
  51. TerryB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    The whole game is head and shoulders above melee, but it's a cruel joke that the fastest way to unlock all the characters is in that godawful Subspace Emissary mode.
  52. A.G.
    Mar 10, 2008
    9
    A bit sluggish (think 64 style, rather than Melee) but with all the modes, challenges, and extras...Brawl will never collect dust.
  53. IanI.
    Mar 12, 2008
    8
    Great game, not quite as good as melee though. Combat seems weaker and the new levels are awful, they generally move alot and like to arbitrarily kill people, not at all balanced. The new customizabillity is great, alot of settings, unfortunately you can't change anything if you want to play online (unless its a friend match) so you are stuck with a timed match, random map, with full Great game, not quite as good as melee though. Combat seems weaker and the new levels are awful, they generally move alot and like to arbitrarily kill people, not at all balanced. The new customizabillity is great, alot of settings, unfortunately you can't change anything if you want to play online (unless its a friend match) so you are stuck with a timed match, random map, with full items...which is no fun at all. Expand
  54. Domingo
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    The game is a flop. It looks exactly the same as gamecube. The game play is just boring and the new special abilities show you how pathetic the game really is. The fact that there is no imagination left in Nintendo is just really sad. If the game was about 30 dollars cheaper I'd give it a 5.
  55. SW
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I had never played any Smash Brother games in the past. Since I had a gift card I bought it based only on the hype that surrounded the game. This game does live up to its hype. The sheer number of game modes is overwhelming for someone who has never played SSB before. Playing online is a great experience. It is very polished. The best part is that its re-playability is off the charts! I had never played any Smash Brother games in the past. Since I had a gift card I bought it based only on the hype that surrounded the game. This game does live up to its hype. The sheer number of game modes is overwhelming for someone who has never played SSB before. Playing online is a great experience. It is very polished. The best part is that its re-playability is off the charts! This truly is a game that wii owners will be playing for the life of the system. I own 14 wii games and have never given a perfect 10 to any of them, except this one. Expand
  56. AliK.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    A deep single player mode and overall fantastic.
  57. Ryan
    Mar 17, 2008
    1
    This is waay overrated. Looks just like the gamecube, gameplay isn't much different either and boring. The Wiimote makes it harder to control this time around. There's not much depth to this fighting game. Tekken and SoulCalibur are the ones you should be playing!
  58. TyeH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best game i have every played in my entire life, it is equal in awsomness to Zelda Ocarina of Time in my opinion!
  59. JulianA.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    I think that this is by far, the best game I've played in my gaming experience. Beating all of my owned games, except Super Monkey Ball 2, It is pleasure to my ears and mind.
  60. CurtisR.
    Mar 20, 2008
    0
    Bad ai, bad controls, Space Station Emassary Sucks, unbalanced characters. This game is attrocious.
  61. JayB.
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to utilize the full power of new Nintendo really understands the meaning of "cash cow, because they are really milking this concept dry of all of its novelty and flavor. Brawl is more of the same thing we've been waiting and expecting for almost a decade and I'm not impressed at all. Yes it is fun because Smash bros. in general is fun, but that's not the point. The point is to utilize the full power of new technology and create something different and meaningful rather than clone the previous game with "sweeter graphix and soundz!!!1!1". Yes Smash bros is fun, but gimmicky plastic add ons are not. I have just as much fun playing the original Smash bros, if not more. It's so sad that developers are getting more and more lazy the better the technology becomes Expand
  62. MarioL.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    Best game for the wii for sure.
  63. AnnaS.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    I enjoy this game and so does my little cousin.
  64. Samuel
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    This is the most revolutionary game ever to be invented you would really have to be challenged to give this game anything less than what it deserves, a 100/100
  65. ShaequanR.
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    How could you give this game anything less than 100%
  66. KobeeH.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    So far. So good. played it for about half and hour. The 10 is jumping off point til I go much much deeper. Hopefully the scare stands with my full review.
  67. ChrisM.
    Mar 8, 2008
    5
    More casual pick-up-n-play trash from Ninty. They've abandoned the hardcore gamers who made them famous.
  68. AlexS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    This is the best console game I have ever played.
  69. RichG.
    Mar 9, 2008
    5
    Big upset for me, the controls for the Wii controller were average at best. Its just like melee just that it has some new characters and new stages. Even the players that were here before had the exact same moves, it wasn't what it sounded like in all the advertisements. Don't get the game until its price goes down or if you must get it get it used.
  70. FowlerS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    9
    Great party game. Lots of options. Fun single player mode!
  71. Michael
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    You know a game is awesome when the only bad thing people say about it is that 'it didnt reinvent the series'. Smash players don't want a reinvention, they want more content! We've all been spoiled by melee, and Sakurai delivers even more than any of us thought possible. I'm still playing melee, and I'll still be playing brawl in 10 years time!
  72. Daniel
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    A thoroughly fantastic and magical experience.
  73. NintendoNerds
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. The more I play it, the more addicted I come.
  74. BobAndrews
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This is the best game ever rate this game a ten.
  75. JeffS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Perfect! this game is awesome. wow whoever gives this any lower than a 7 is seriously a miserable man with no friends. the single player mode is great enough for it, BUT MULTIPLAYER OWNS. it took me a long time to complete and still i am not done...good job nintendo
  76. BrandonB.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This game sweats amazing, if you want a Wii game, and your one of the nine people that doesn't own Brawl, then go to your local retailer and get a freakin' copy already!
  77. RobertG
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Good game over all
  78. BobC.
    Apr 7, 2008
    7
    A fun game, but doesn't make use of the Wii the way I was hoping. Still a lot of button mashing, and many have found the older controllers to be superior to the Wii-mote and nunchuck during play. If you're using the Wii-mote only, you don't have as many weapons or control. I enjoy this game, but there are other games I enjoy more (Mario Party 8, MLB Power Pros, Smarty A fun game, but doesn't make use of the Wii the way I was hoping. Still a lot of button mashing, and many have found the older controllers to be superior to the Wii-mote and nunchuck during play. If you're using the Wii-mote only, you don't have as many weapons or control. I enjoy this game, but there are other games I enjoy more (Mario Party 8, MLB Power Pros, Smarty Pants, to name a few). Expand
  79. AreYouSerious
    May 28, 2008
    1
    There is no function served in playing this - all you do is mash buttons and it has no real impact on anything. What a waste of money.
  80. ErnieU.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    I thnk its the best game on this console great graphic improvment and gameplay expecially the final smash.
  81. AlecC.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The epitome of multi-player gaming action. Enough content to last another decade. Too much depth to be called a "Fighting Game."
  82. CalebraD.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    The best the Wii has to offer. Worth buying a Wii for. A must have for any gamer.
  83. DrewH.
    Jun 15, 2008
    0
    Terrible Fighting Techniques, very bad combat system, repetitive techniques, no competitive factor. Huge letdown in general. I regret wasting 60$ on this game.
  84. JamesM.
    Jul 16, 2008
    0
    Meele on a new platform, which was the original SSB on a new platform. 3 games in and nothing has changed. This...irritates me.
  85. NathanW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    10
    It's effectively a love letter to Nintendo fans after over 20 years of wonderful treats and treasures, crammed full of references and easter eggs that will make you smile like a clown on nitrous oxide.
  86. feldeghast
    Jul 25, 2008
    2
    I hated it. Button mashing at its worst. Mortal Kombat 1 on the SNES was more fun. A to hit, C to Jump and nothing else. Characters were too small to see and the pace was too fast. I finished it on my first try and half the time couldn't understand how i was winning. I'm so glad i only rented it from the video store.
  87. DivineStorm
    Jul 5, 2008
    10
    Probably one of the best games ever. Maybe even better than tekken 3,castlevania symphony of the night,super mario galaxy and metroid prime.
  88. JoyceChristenson
    Oct 2, 2007
    0
    I had played it for a very long time, I am only half way, and I am still playing it. I got a special given copy for me in the beginning of august, and now it is October. i have been playing 7 hours every weekend, 10 hours every summer day, 3 hours every normal weekday, and I'm only 46% accomplished. The game has been overdone and too long. And people think they are still inI had played it for a very long time, I am only half way, and I am still playing it. I got a special given copy for me in the beginning of august, and now it is October. i have been playing 7 hours every weekend, 10 hours every summer day, 3 hours every normal weekday, and I'm only 46% accomplished. The game has been overdone and too long. And people think they are still in production of the game, because every week they add something new to the game, when the game itself is done, and has been done since June. Expand
  89. MarkusE
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    Looks like just more of the same. Rumble Falls = Icicle Mountain 2 (yet another vertical scroller). Pokemon Stadium 2? Yawn. Trophies back. Subspace Emissary? 1P Adventure Mode II with some trace of a story. SSBB can be summarized as follows: "New characters. New items. New stages. SAME OLD GAMEPLAY."
  90. JaredChristenson
    Aug 26, 2007
    0
    After I went to a special gameplay viewing I found myself...dissapointed, its a really bad game. Its actually overall the worst game ever, you know why, I will tell you why. The games characters have moves that are too powerfull that each level is over in less than 20 seconds, its so hard to play, find out the controlls, and follow. It doesn't flow with any other game of Nintendo,After I went to a special gameplay viewing I found myself...dissapointed, its a really bad game. Its actually overall the worst game ever, you know why, I will tell you why. The games characters have moves that are too powerfull that each level is over in less than 20 seconds, its so hard to play, find out the controlls, and follow. It doesn't flow with any other game of Nintendo, and the Wii doesn't do anything to this game but make it a bigger product because you don't even use the numchuck for cripe sake. To me its big popular waste of money, its a letdown that I wouldn't even buy for free. It sucks. Expand
  91. JosephAhrens
    Nov 28, 2008
    8
    I like how there are more characters and places, and how many more weapons are included. I also like the smash ball and smash powers of every character in the game. The story mode can get frustrating, so, I take some time off from playing it for 5 hours. Overall, it is a pretty good game.
  92. BryanPope
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    With the combination of heroes and villains from some of the most epic games from now to 20 years ago, dozens of beautifully orchistrated music and a TON of maps from several memorable occasions in gaming history, not to mention a solid background of 2 already masterfully crafted fighting games, Brawl is expected to be a perfect game, and anyone dares admit it.
  93. JermaulW.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    This game has the everything that melee didn't. The only characters that i don't like are Jigglypuff, Sonic, and . I love everybody else. It also helps that I'm really good at it. I tested it out on online (friend got to it) and is was tested out as a level 26. THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!
  94. JT
    Feb 23, 2008
    1
    This game is HORRIBLE. I imported it on my japanese wii and I have never been so dissapointed in a game before. Seriously this is a pitiful excuse for a fighting game. Not to mention the wii mote is useless on this game. I had such high anticipation and I am so let down. Major dissapointment. Solid Snake is UNSTOPABLE on this game.
  95. DJTrasatti
    Feb 26, 2008
    1
    Look - I'm a huuuuge nintendo fan. I had the first system when i was 8 when it first came out. Yeah... i even had ROB. But come on, is anyone else sick of all the hype around this game? I'm just sick of every gamestop employee pushing this thing on me like Jesus himself handed it down from the cross.
    BLAH!!! I respect every Nintendo franchise - but it's time they focus on
    Look - I'm a huuuuge nintendo fan. I had the first system when i was 8 when it first came out. Yeah... i even had ROB. But come on, is anyone else sick of all the hype around this game? I'm just sick of every gamestop employee pushing this thing on me like Jesus himself handed it down from the cross.
    BLAH!!! I respect every Nintendo franchise - but it's time they focus on some serious 3rd party games. Melee was a great nod to the nostalgia that nostalgia is and was, let's move on.
    Expand
  96. ClovisJunior
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    This game its perfect. Best Wii game I ever played... A realy MUST HAVE !!
  97. SergioA.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    It was just put together so amazingly.
  98. joycechristenson
    Feb 5, 2008
    0
    There is so much to do, you wouldn't have the chance to even try everything once you sell it. To me this is a waste of time. The effects are cheesy, but it doesn't have that cheaky quirk crap like last time. But its weak, its no fun, it is slow, boring, and dull, a dud, just makes the WII look even more worse. Just awful.
  99. DavisWonders
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    I've only had the game for three days now, and I can easily and honestly say it is the best game on the Wii. It easily beats out its predecessors, SSB and SSBM, by a long shot. It's easily three games in one with the Sub Space Emissary, more than 300 songs (wow), and the multiplayer aspect, not to mention online. It is truly a masterpiece and a must have.
  100. JamesH.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    It's more than likely the reason you bought a Wii. And if you didn't know about it's predecessor, Melee, and you're not sure about this one, trust me, It's worth your 50 bones. Hope to see you all on wifi play. (If Nintendo's servers can ever handle the load)
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Brawl is easily the most fun I’ve had on a Wii, and could be the most fun I’ve had with a game in ages. It’s just that good. There is just so much to do, and so many different and refreshing things added that it would be a crime not to at least take a look.
  2. Rarely has any title delivered so much amazing action, such a wide variety of modes, and so many hours of value. It doesn't get any better than this. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. It’s obvious that developer Game Arts have put a painstaking amount of effort into creating this game and every time we play it we’re discovering new Nintendo references which bring back a rush of nostalgia. Brawl’s chaotic multiplayer sessions are some of the best to be had on the system, plus there are plenty of challenges and modes to amuse those ‘friend-impaired’ individuals out there as well. It’s a no-brainer, every serious Nintendo fan out there should score themselves a copy of this game, invite some friends/victims around, and have a smashing good time.