Super Smash Bros. Brawl Wii

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1648 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeremyC.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME!!!! Packed with a plethora of modes including: Versus, Classic, WiFi mode, Single-player and co-op mode Adventure mode, All-Star mode, Boss Battle Mode, Stadium challenges, and many more. Over a dozen newcomers and a total of 35 characters, including the amazingly anticipated Sonic the Hedgehog. More than 40 stages. AND the Adventure mode, The Subspace Emissary THE BEST GAME OF ALL TIME!!!! Packed with a plethora of modes including: Versus, Classic, WiFi mode, Single-player and co-op mode Adventure mode, All-Star mode, Boss Battle Mode, Stadium challenges, and many more. Over a dozen newcomers and a total of 35 characters, including the amazingly anticipated Sonic the Hedgehog. More than 40 stages. AND the Adventure mode, The Subspace Emissary has such amazing CG clips in-between intensive gameplay. I have been waiting for this game for Months, Even Years! And now that it has finally come, I could not be any happier. I was shocked to hear that this game was given any less than a 10.0 by ANY person or association. Plus Crazycheif112 , the reason your character moves to the left when you press up on the Wii remote is because you have to hold the Wii remote sideways.... Expand
  2. CozmikM.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    I was a bit angered at the fact some of the old characters were taken out, even though some clones still remain... and I still am, but that is really all superficial. This game is an addictive blast, and even though the multiplayer is, yes, a bit shallow, it lets you play against friends which is really what you want to do. Wii owners, no joke here, a MUST buy! In reference to I was a bit angered at the fact some of the old characters were taken out, even though some clones still remain... and I still am, but that is really all superficial. This game is an addictive blast, and even though the multiplayer is, yes, a bit shallow, it lets you play against friends which is really what you want to do. Wii owners, no joke here, a MUST buy! In reference to "Crazychief112's" review. This guy is a total idiot because he is exemplar of the Xbox generation. All he wants is MC? That is enough to give the game an 8? He complains about the controls? Well then use a Gamecube controller, there are 4 ways to play the game, don't bitch about 1 of them. In reference to "Domingo's" review. Yea, the game looks exactly the same on Gamecube, but all sequels do. How come I never heard bitching about Halo having the same look, it's because all sequels have that. And how does new abilities mean the game is pathetic, next time they can have no abilities if it will please you, idiot. Lastly, no imagination, they have levels and people from every corner of the Nintendo universe, I'm sorry but they can't be fighting the flood in story mode, or fighting Nero from Devil May Cry, it is a N I N T E N D O game, so if your review consists of bitching about stupidity, then save it. Buy this game any Nintendo fans, you will NOT regret it. Expand
  3. Sammy
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    Smash is simply fantastic. There is a character for everyone, adn this is a game with serious replay value, as it will be enjoyed half a decade from now. It has a few weak spots, as its adventure mode has gorgeous cutscenes but repetitive gameplay, and the online suffers from frequent lag. The classic controller and Gamecube pad work well as controllers, although the other two setups are Smash is simply fantastic. There is a character for everyone, adn this is a game with serious replay value, as it will be enjoyed half a decade from now. It has a few weak spots, as its adventure mode has gorgeous cutscenes but repetitive gameplay, and the online suffers from frequent lag. The classic controller and Gamecube pad work well as controllers, although the other two setups are horrendous. But don't let these minor complaints sway you from buying this game, its a multiplayer masterpiece. Expand
  4. SirA.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    One of the best games in the Super Smash Bros. series, this game has so many things to do from collecting stickers to building stages to actually fighting plus online to play against friends or anyone and before you complain that the online is laggy remember that the online is free & most battles don't lag. There are added third party characters Metal Gear solid, Snake & Sonic the One of the best games in the Super Smash Bros. series, this game has so many things to do from collecting stickers to building stages to actually fighting plus online to play against friends or anyone and before you complain that the online is laggy remember that the online is free & most battles don't lag. There are added third party characters Metal Gear solid, Snake & Sonic the hedgehog, you can unlock new things by doing certain things. They added a Subspace Emmisary Mode & Kept the original Classic mode, They kept break the targets, multiman brawl & homerun contest & added in multiplayer so you can play these modes with a friend. So many things to do you wouldn't be able to do it all in one day. The gameplay slowed down a little and I like it more than Melee. Expand
  5. JaredH.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    I consider the graphics to be a worthy improvement from Melee, considering that this is a series that cannot become incredibly. Smash has always been the fighting series that rewards button-mashing the least, and Brawl is no different. This is something I respect the series for. The online play is predictably disappointing, however, Smash has always been much of a group/party game so this I consider the graphics to be a worthy improvement from Melee, considering that this is a series that cannot become incredibly. Smash has always been the fighting series that rewards button-mashing the least, and Brawl is no different. This is something I respect the series for. The online play is predictably disappointing, however, Smash has always been much of a group/party game so this will not be a problem for most. The character list is pretty wide with a few less clones this time around. I consider this an excellent continuation of the Smash franchise. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]s
    Mar 23, 2008
    8
    Holy crap guys Brawl. Having now played it for a couple weeks, I have come to the conclusion that while a worthy successor to the franchise, Brawl falls short of ideal in some areas. First, the good: The core gameplay elements that make the franchise great in the first place are still around, with some minor tweaking that seems to improve upon, rather than detract from, the gameplay. The Holy crap guys Brawl. Having now played it for a couple weeks, I have come to the conclusion that while a worthy successor to the franchise, Brawl falls short of ideal in some areas. First, the good: The core gameplay elements that make the franchise great in the first place are still around, with some minor tweaking that seems to improve upon, rather than detract from, the gameplay. The multiplayer still rocks, the characters are still absurd and hilarious, and the amount of fanservice and nintendo nostalgia is staggering. A couple things the game does wrong, or not all the way right: Online. I'm sure this is a common complaint, but the online is severely gimped. The lack of options while playing online, the total absence of player to player communication, the horrendous matchmaking, and some very irksome lagging issues all make the "with anyone" nearly unplayable. "With friends" is better, but still not great, as the entering of friend codes and the need for an outside communication method to set up a match can get rather tiresome. The lag seems to be less of an issue when playing with friends online, but it is still very present. There are more rule options for with friends play, however, which saves it from being completely pointless, and I actually use it regularly. The other area in which Brawl falls short is the single player. This should be obvious to anyone who's played any game in the series before, Smash brothers is very much a multiplayer franchise. Subspace Emmisary, while relatively fun to play through once, if taken on its own is a rather weak attempt at a single player campaign (although admittedly not nearly as weak as the adventure mode in melee). The gameplay gets repetitive at times, and the seemingly senseless reduction in running speed for every character prolongs the gameplay unnecessarily. When taken as part of the Brawl package, SSE certainly isn't bad, and adds some hours to the game before you're only playing multiplayer matches, but is by no means perfect. Overall, Brawl is certainly a fine game. If you already like the Smash Brothers series, then pick it up, you won't regret it. If you don't understand what all the fuss surrounding the series is about, Brawl isn't really going to sway you, but it might be worth taking a look at nonetheless. This game certainly doesn't deserve a 10 or even a 9, but despite being largely imperfect, it is a great game that will keep you playing for a good while. Expand
  7. TomA.
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    I'm just like everyone else. I've been waiting for this game since it was first announced. And like a ton of other people, I got the the game the day it came out. This is by far the Wii's best game. It has the best graphics on the system (even better than Mario Galaxy), over thirty playable characters, and it's playable online. Unfortunately, the online multiplayer I'm just like everyone else. I've been waiting for this game since it was first announced. And like a ton of other people, I got the the game the day it came out. This is by far the Wii's best game. It has the best graphics on the system (even better than Mario Galaxy), over thirty playable characters, and it's playable online. Unfortunately, the online multiplayer isn't perfect. It'll lag, it'll kick you off, it'll make you wait a long time for someone to play with...but when it does work, oh boy does it rock. It's so much fun playing with others, be it in the same room or not. The multiplayer is where most of the fun is at. The single player Classic mode is back and as fun as ever, and there's a new Adventure mode, that'll last you about ten hours, with an actual storyline and impressive, gorgeous cutscenes. Unfortunately, the story itself for the Adventure Mode seems like a crappy Kingdom Hearts-esque fanfiction gone awry, and towards the end it becomes an exercise in controller-snapping frustration. It'd probably be better with a second player (the mode supports two players), as the fights don't become clusterf***s, but the mode ain't perfect either.Another thing this mode gets wrong is that it makes it way too easy to unlock characters. I personally would rather unlock them by satisfying certain conditions during the course of the game. It almost feels like cheating, it's so easy. You could totally avoid the Adventure mode if you'd rather unlock them the way I would've wanted to. It should also be worth mentioning that Nintendo will never make cutscenes this good for a game ever again, so it's kind of a drag that the mode they were used for ended up being not all that grand. And some characters, like R.O.B. and Jigglypuff, are totally unnecessary for this game. They aren't very good characters. But still...the fun that's had playing with others eclipses any of the game's faults. Just make sure you have a Classic or a Gamecube controller handy. Expand
  8. GerardS.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    A truly amazing game. So much effort has been put into Super Smash Bros. Brawl, where every aspect of the game is perfect, or very close to. The presentation, the graphics, the sound, the gameplay and the replay value are all excellent. This game will be played for many, many years.
  9. ArturoC.
    Mar 6, 2008
    10
    I think this is a really awesome game based on its new characters, new stages, and all of the things is going to be new. When I saw the trailers I was really surprised. It should be the game of the year.
  10. JonathanA.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    Truly spectacular. It ups the competetive feel of the series, but doesn't lessen its accessibility or fun. The roster is superb, with assuredly someone that will click with your play style, and not a single weak entry (even previously weaker fighters like jigglypuff and zelda rock in this game). The stages are stunning, filled with eye-candy and destructible, constantly morphing Truly spectacular. It ups the competetive feel of the series, but doesn't lessen its accessibility or fun. The roster is superb, with assuredly someone that will click with your play style, and not a single weak entry (even previously weaker fighters like jigglypuff and zelda rock in this game). The stages are stunning, filled with eye-candy and destructible, constantly morphing environments that match the intensity of the brawling. A focus on midair combat also increases the amount of strategy employed by everyone. This, including the insurmountable amount of extra content, online fighting, and the numerous enjoyable single player modes, will make your head spin in wonderment. This is a game that every Nintendo fan will surely enjoy, casual and hardcore alike. Expand
  11. GameM.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Super Smash Brothers Brawl is definitely worth the money. Even though its been called overrated and a cash cow, the action and many variant modes will keep you playing for hours. The graphics, while below that of PS3 and Xbox 360, are superb from a Wii standpoint. Plenty of modes to play, as well as online options that are excellent. The only annoying thing about the game is the 12 digit Super Smash Brothers Brawl is definitely worth the money. Even though its been called overrated and a cash cow, the action and many variant modes will keep you playing for hours. The graphics, while below that of PS3 and Xbox 360, are superb from a Wii standpoint. Plenty of modes to play, as well as online options that are excellent. The only annoying thing about the game is the 12 digit friend codes you must share to play with your friends, and the Subspace Emmissary (story mode) is a little boring, however, you need to play through it to unlock characters and stages. An overall good experience. Expand
  12. AnthonyB.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    I've always been a fan of the SSB. series. Brawl was definitely did justice to the series. Melee was definitely a bit too fast paced, and the original just wasn't smooth. In Brawl however, combining the smoothness of melee, and the speed of the original, it makes the gameplay a lot more appealing to beginners, and still be playable for veterans. Still staying to the simple 2 I've always been a fan of the SSB. series. Brawl was definitely did justice to the series. Melee was definitely a bit too fast paced, and the original just wasn't smooth. In Brawl however, combining the smoothness of melee, and the speed of the original, it makes the gameplay a lot more appealing to beginners, and still be playable for veterans. Still staying to the simple 2 button attacks, but with incredible amount of depth. I didn't expect much from a Wii motion sensing game, because this is an all out BRAWL fighter. Using motion sensing would make the game a bit to slippery, and for the hardcore, that's not very good. The lead director stated that "If this was a 1st party Nintendo game, we would definitely have included motion sensing." Which Brawl is not, it's a 2nd party game. Comparing Halo 2 to Halo 3, the control scheme isn't that different either, and so is the sixaxxis to the dual shock 2. My favorite character (Link), was a bit nerfed, which only made my matched harder, which I like that. In Melee, I was hauling so much *ss, not in Brawl, I have to try just a bit more. It goes to show, they definitely were able to balance the characters out more. Some people just aren't good at this game. The people that say it's boring, I agree... when I'm playing by myself. Playing the lvl9 com players does get a bit repetitive. But that's the point, this game is a party game. Go to a college party, Cod 4/Halo3/Rock Band/ Guitar Hero... and now Brawl, is going to be at that party. Playing with friends is what made the game so fun in the first place. When you're with your friends, it's just a blast. The single player... is meh. It's a 10 hour long experience, and you kinda have to force your way through it. But comparing the greatness of the mutiplayer. The near infinite amount of unlockables, and the customizations. It's a game that everyone Wii user should get. Collapse
  13. SiriusB.
    Apr 16, 2008
    9
    Its really fun. Simple as that, If you really want to analyse every little aspect then go ahead. I just know that its fun whilst still being able to be a competitive fighting game.
  14. Chris
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    People that say this is just a clone of the old games with better graphics haven't played the previous games. Melee was much faster paced and used a much more sensitive jump system that made shorthopping difficult. Brawl uses a slower fighting system that increases recovery chance over melee. Its easier for new people to pick up brawl but at the same time, it made it impossible to be People that say this is just a clone of the old games with better graphics haven't played the previous games. Melee was much faster paced and used a much more sensitive jump system that made shorthopping difficult. Brawl uses a slower fighting system that increases recovery chance over melee. Its easier for new people to pick up brawl but at the same time, it made it impossible to be a true pro of brawl. The difference between and average player and a pro in melee was huge. In brawl, its not nearly as big of a difference. Overall, its a good game but its not going to be as competitive unfortunately. Expand
  15. NicholasT.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    This game is the embodiment of everything the Smash Bros.-series strived to be in it's previous iterations, and this time it manages to do everything better than it's successors. Besides the inclusion of online and a wealthy single-player mode (which can also be played with a friend), it retains the pure fun of the previous games and also expands on it with more variation This game is the embodiment of everything the Smash Bros.-series strived to be in it's previous iterations, and this time it manages to do everything better than it's successors. Besides the inclusion of online and a wealthy single-player mode (which can also be played with a friend), it retains the pure fun of the previous games and also expands on it with more variation between the characters and more of the classic chaos of the Super Smash Bros.-series. Expand
  16. JoshV.
    Jul 8, 2008
    10
    This game is great it takes the fun of Melee and times it by 100. It adds a giant 1player mode, more characters, stages, a crazy amount of music, and many many more.
  17. ydiermot
    Jul 8, 2008
    8
    It is a very good game, but i dont think its the greatest game ever or whatever. im not a nintendo fanboy, and i only play smash bros 64 once and never played the gamecube one, but still its a very good game, probably the best fighting game ive played. although i enjoyed mario kart wii more maybe because you use the remote capabilities more but thats just me. however the online for smash It is a very good game, but i dont think its the greatest game ever or whatever. im not a nintendo fanboy, and i only play smash bros 64 once and never played the gamecube one, but still its a very good game, probably the best fighting game ive played. although i enjoyed mario kart wii more maybe because you use the remote capabilities more but thats just me. however the online for smash bros is really crap i have found, while mario karts runs more smoothly and quickly. Expand
  18. SqueM.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    This game is surely the best of the series though it has it's problems (like long loading times, online etc.) but even that doesn't make it one of the best fighting games in existence. Super Smash Bros. Brawl rocks and will be recommended to Nintendo and fighting fans and maybe everyone even.
  19. TitaniumDragon
    Jan 26, 2009
    10
    Really more of a 9.5 than a 10, but there's no decimal ratings. Super Smash Brothers Brawl (or SSBB) is probably the single best fighting game ever made. Its single player modes are fantastic - its adventure mode is a great advancement over the previous game's adventure mode, and its classic mode is a bit more random, though I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad Really more of a 9.5 than a 10, but there's no decimal ratings. Super Smash Brothers Brawl (or SSBB) is probably the single best fighting game ever made. Its single player modes are fantastic - its adventure mode is a great advancement over the previous game's adventure mode, and its classic mode is a bit more random, though I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing. It additionally added a boss rush mode, which is quite fun, in addition to the standard all-star mode where you fight all the characters one after the other. However, I think its greatest advancement was its incorporation of multiplayer play into the single-player modes. You can play the very fun Subspace Emissary adventure mode with two players, and it is quite cool. The flow of the mode is excellent with one or two players, and the difficulty level is perfect. As for the actual multiplayer, it is fun. However, contrary to what people say, it isn't really better or worse than its predecessor in this regard, necessarily. Its biggest advantage is the removal of tedium - Melee had a lot of bizzare technical skills which were utterly unnecessary and some of which (L-cancelling) actually actively detracted from gameplay because they were subtractive rather than additive. It also made it so to be at all decent at the game you had to spend dozens of hours drilling, not actually playing the game, just to master the technical aspects of gameplay. Brawl did away with all that. However, aside from that the two games are pretty similar in multiplayer. Both games have similar character power spreads, though it is arguable Brawl is somewhat better in this regard. Both games have annoying combos, though again, Brawl tends to have fewer (though the few it has are often worse, save for the Ice Climbers, which are less obnoxious in the latest iteration of the series). The game is still about skill, though they added in the totally unnecessary and unfun tripping mechanic. In the end, Brawl is worth getting and is superior to its predecessor, in single player if not in multiplayer as well. It has more characters, it adds in the much-beloved character of Sonic, it allows you to play as Snake from the Metal Gear Solid games, and is generally an enjoyable experience with pretty solid graphics. You'll like it, and it is one of the best games for the wii. Expand
  20. Mark
    Oct 27, 2009
    9
    A truly great game. If you are playing w/ others it is a definite 10, but if you are by yourself, don't bother w/ this game. Subspace Emissiary takes about 10 hrs to beat and the online is worthless. Anybody who has somebody to play this w/ should already own this game
  21. ClifC
    Jul 17, 2009
    9
    After one year, I'm still playing with this amazing game. And I'm not an addicted to video games at all, really. But this one is really good. The only thing that is missing is the possibility to do other attacks. There a lot, but they should have added combinations with the buttons (you only have to click in the directional cross and 1 or 2, or 1 and 2 alone, or a+b and After one year, I'm still playing with this amazing game. And I'm not an addicted to video games at all, really. But this one is really good. The only thing that is missing is the possibility to do other attacks. There a lot, but they should have added combinations with the buttons (you only have to click in the directional cross and 1 or 2, or 1 and 2 alone, or a+b and directional cross). I remember games for Nintendo where you could do combinations and do a large amount of attacks, like Street Fighter. But for the rest, it's perfect. Expand
  22. EmilyJ
    Jul 27, 2009
    9
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is one of the best games on the Wii of all time. The only reason this is a 9 and not a 10 is because it is somewhat repetitive. I have no idea why it is rated Teen, it should be rated E. Each character has original moves, but some characters are very similar such as Fox, Falco, and Wolf. A truly great game.
  23. ChristinaM
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    I've played the original on the N64, the Melee on the Gamecube. By far out of all of those, Brawl has given me the best experience of all. The wide variety of characters and stages are well done, and will always give a fresh fight to any who play. The soundtrack is awesome, with music from many of the Nintendo games to date, remixed and, to my suprise, originals from the 8bit era of I've played the original on the N64, the Melee on the Gamecube. By far out of all of those, Brawl has given me the best experience of all. The wide variety of characters and stages are well done, and will always give a fresh fight to any who play. The soundtrack is awesome, with music from many of the Nintendo games to date, remixed and, to my suprise, originals from the 8bit era of the NES. Multiplayer is edge-of-your-seat fun, and will give laughs and action for as long as you own it. As a new-gen game, Brawl may not have the graphics of the other two systems, and may use a "remote" as a controller; but this truely is one of the best games on the Wii system, and I know as a lifelong gamer this is one of my favoretes. I highly recommend this to anyone with a Wii and a few friends iching for a good time. 99.9/100 because no game is perfection, but this is pretty damn close. Expand
  24. JonathanCarrier
    Aug 12, 2009
    8
    Super Smash Bros Brawl is a good game it is not however a great game. The single player subspace emissary is repetitive. There are no online leader boards or anything worth while when you play online. Too many clone characters especially with Fox, Falco, and Wolf. The classics extra is dumb here's a game you get to play for 30 seconds! The stage creator is lackluster. HoweverSuper Smash Bros Brawl is a good game it is not however a great game. The single player subspace emissary is repetitive. There are no online leader boards or anything worth while when you play online. Too many clone characters especially with Fox, Falco, and Wolf. The classics extra is dumb here's a game you get to play for 30 seconds! The stage creator is lackluster. However everything else is excellent. Great music, great smash moves, etc. It's a good game but not the perfect game people make it out to be. Expand
  25. ThomasZizzo
    Sep 19, 2009
    10
    I hated this game when I first played it, then I tried it again, and still didn't like it, but the more I played, the more tries I gave it I started learning more, and more, and now it's one of the most fun
    games I've ever played, no, the most fun actually. Not to mention
    it's stunning visuals.
  26. HappyBob
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This game is going to be absolutly insane. There are going to be cool color changes to suit the characters and so many new people. There is going to be Ike, Meta Knight, Diddy Kong, King Dedede, Snake, Wario, Zero Suit Samus, Pit, Pokemon Trainer, Lucas, and Sonic. New items, new places, and even more music. I just can't wait for this game.
  27. AdamF.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    The gameplay is as addicting as ever, the music is some of the best ever concieved on a video game. SSBB is completely stuffed with features and overflows with Nintendo love. Although it's clearly aimed at old school fanboys, Brawl is a masterful game no matter who you are. Buy it. It's for your own good.
  28. MattC.
    Mar 11, 2008
    10
    better than melee. not as fast but has the final smashes, assists, a much better selection of characters, better stages.. and some old ones, better graphics, and more game modes. subspace isn't anything special.. but its not terrible either.. and the cutscenes are great! also the music in this game is amazing. I also think it's more nostalgic than the others. overall a great better than melee. not as fast but has the final smashes, assists, a much better selection of characters, better stages.. and some old ones, better graphics, and more game modes. subspace isn't anything special.. but its not terrible either.. and the cutscenes are great! also the music in this game is amazing. I also think it's more nostalgic than the others. overall a great game. btw. Sonic and sSnake are insane! Expand
  29. zKeeper12
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    You can't get much better than this. This game is amazing! Fighting against your friends, killing each other over a Smash Ball, killing them every other time, literally dodgeing a bullet with a split- second button tap and then killing the idiot shooting at you- what more can you ask for? All the control schemes are great, as long as you read the freakin manual(!) and the You can't get much better than this. This game is amazing! Fighting against your friends, killing each other over a Smash Ball, killing them every other time, literally dodgeing a bullet with a split- second button tap and then killing the idiot shooting at you- what more can you ask for? All the control schemes are great, as long as you read the freakin manual(!) and the customization is great! All the fights are completely different, and you really never get bored. The only weak link is the Subspace Emissiary mode. I am about a third through that mode and the only reason I'm going on is to unlock Sonic. Overall, no one in their right mind wouldn't give this game a TEN, BABY!!! Expand
  30. BrianL.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    I don't understand the 0's for this game. Oddly enough, most of those 0 ratings come from people complaining that Brawl is only an extension to Melee. My respone is: NO FREAKIN CRAP. Since the original title on the N64 the controls and style of the game has been the same. Nintendo did what they could do for the game. Make it cleaner, make more modes/maps/characters/options. But I don't understand the 0's for this game. Oddly enough, most of those 0 ratings come from people complaining that Brawl is only an extension to Melee. My respone is: NO FREAKIN CRAP. Since the original title on the N64 the controls and style of the game has been the same. Nintendo did what they could do for the game. Make it cleaner, make more modes/maps/characters/options. But honestly, if you're walking into this expecting a different game than Melee (why would you?) don't buy this. Expand
  31. Denis
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Fanboys giving this a 0 are so obviously just that, fanboys. Well, this is the most fun I've had with a game in ages. 4 player local multiplayer rocks, and it's pick up and play mechanics give people a chance to join in easily. Total fanservice package which plays excellently. Thanks Nintendo!
  32. PhillepinoGangsta
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The game had more than I expected. Obviously, online system for this game is not very great but probably the second best next to Medal of Honors 2. All the extra things such as coin launcher, recording replays and stage builders make this game have an excellent replay value. A must-have, unless you're a melee loyalist and can't face the fact that your ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! The game had more than I expected. Obviously, online system for this game is not very great but probably the second best next to Medal of Honors 2. All the extra things such as coin launcher, recording replays and stage builders make this game have an excellent replay value. A must-have, unless you're a melee loyalist and can't face the fact that your favorite character has been nerfed. There are ways to get around this however, such as finding a new character. I myself ditched Peach and started exploring new characters in which in a sense gave this game a new feeling other than Melee v2.0 Expand
  33. IanH.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    If there is any game worth getting on the wii, it's none other than Super Smash Bros Brawl. This sequel to 2001's gamecube game takes the series into the next generation with over a dozen new characters, a bunch of new stages, four different control types, and hundreds of collectibles, such as trophies of classic nintendo characters or stickers of artwork and sprites. The If there is any game worth getting on the wii, it's none other than Super Smash Bros Brawl. This sequel to 2001's gamecube game takes the series into the next generation with over a dozen new characters, a bunch of new stages, four different control types, and hundreds of collectibles, such as trophies of classic nintendo characters or stickers of artwork and sprites. The game's 4 control types include gamecube, wiimote, wiimote and nunchuk and classic controller. one of the games new features includes online play and the new adventure mode known as the subspace emissary. The controls feel very similar to melee: not too different but not quite the same either. One of the game's best features includes the game's stage builder where you can create your own stages. Theres also over a hundred different songs in the game with several more you have to unlock. The game is sadly not perfect. the adventure mode is only about 8 hours long and gets repetitive and the stage builder is not as customizable as I had hoped. Also the online mode could've had more customizable features when playing other random people online. However, these are only minor issues, and the game overall is a must buy for anyone with a wii and a must hate for the nintendo haters. Expand
  34. MattB
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    This was Awsome all around there was never a dull moment. The addition of the Sub Space Emissary was awsome i loved playing throuhg the story that way in stead of doing the exact same levels over and over like in Melee. The Graphics were amazing! The add feature of being able to create and play on your own levels is amazing part all in its self. All in all I would recommend everyone with This was Awsome all around there was never a dull moment. The addition of the Sub Space Emissary was awsome i loved playing throuhg the story that way in stead of doing the exact same levels over and over like in Melee. The Graphics were amazing! The add feature of being able to create and play on your own levels is amazing part all in its self. All in all I would recommend everyone with a Wii to buy this game IMMEDIATLY!! Expand
  35. SamB.
    Jun 18, 2008
    10
    Any sega fans dream would be able to kick the crap out of Mario with sonic and now u can do it. thanks nintendo.
  36. JohnE.
    Jun 29, 2008
    10
    The Wii many people under estimate the console but Super Smash Bros Brawl shows how good the Wii can be. The graphics and levels are fully detailed if your a regular Super Smash Bros player you know what your going to get with the game. If you have not played this before it is worth checking out if you hated SSBB then you should of checked out the other games earlier. S.S.B has taken a The Wii many people under estimate the console but Super Smash Bros Brawl shows how good the Wii can be. The graphics and levels are fully detailed if your a regular Super Smash Bros player you know what your going to get with the game. If you have not played this before it is worth checking out if you hated SSBB then you should of checked out the other games earlier. S.S.B has taken a big step with adding a brand new mode as it now has it's own story known as Subspace Emissary where you will find all Nintendo characters teaming up with each other. Also this adds Sega's Sonic The Hedgehog and Konami's Solid Snake which adds more fun to the brawl. The online has problems with getting in a match it lags quite a bit making it sometimes unplayable. Anyway this game is worth buying it is a must for any Smash Bros fan. Expand
  37. HooR.
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    This game is by far one of my favorite Wii titles. As a long running fan of the smash bros series, I have to say this is title is by far my favorite. Tourneytard can either stick with melee or shut there taint sucking mouths. Quit your bitchin', if you want a tournament game so badly go play something else. OK, now that that's out of my system, back to the review. Adventure mode This game is by far one of my favorite Wii titles. As a long running fan of the smash bros series, I have to say this is title is by far my favorite. Tourneytard can either stick with melee or shut there taint sucking mouths. Quit your bitchin', if you want a tournament game so badly go play something else. OK, now that that's out of my system, back to the review. Adventure mode was awesome, a bit difficult in choice platforming areas, but good no less. Cut-scenes in Adv mode were good. My only real complaint is the laggy online play, but hey, I have friends so I don't need to worry about that. SSBB is a definite buy. Expand
  38. MarshalH.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    If you're looking for a game that says action, adventure, strategy, and even more action, this is going to be the best game yet. I f you have friends, no problem! you can have up to as much controlers as you can! I would recomand this to any that hates being bored on a rainy day. (or a sunny one).
  39. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    the best wii game out there and a great extension of the super smash bros series. The campaign mode is fun, each character is unique and well thought out. It would easily get a ten if it: A. wasn't so floaty B. didnt have tripping
  40. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    The best game of the saga. The best fighting game of Wii. Complete, huge, funny, fast, really enjoyable with friends... The story mode could be a game apart (a great game, by the way), but all together is a huge mix of different ways of having fun. A big amount of maps, characters, trophies... The only point why I don´t give it a 10 is that several challenges have a completelyThe best game of the saga. The best fighting game of Wii. Complete, huge, funny, fast, really enjoyable with friends... The story mode could be a game apart (a great game, by the way), but all together is a huge mix of different ways of having fun. A big amount of maps, characters, trophies... The only point why I don´t give it a 10 is that several challenges have a completely disproportionate difficulty, in a way that you think that a human being is completely unable to complete the game, but you don´t need them to see the credits of the game, just to complete the whole thing. Expand
  41. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This game is worth getting for $20 or more. It's not my most favorite, as I think games that support just knocking the stuffing out of each other can get more creative and less violent over time, but I love how Brawl is popular among so many people. I loved playing the story mode which took quite some time and effort on the part of both me and a friend. The story mode is compelling, evenThis game is worth getting for $20 or more. It's not my most favorite, as I think games that support just knocking the stuffing out of each other can get more creative and less violent over time, but I love how Brawl is popular among so many people. I loved playing the story mode which took quite some time and effort on the part of both me and a friend. The story mode is compelling, even though words are not spoken, and the plot lines don't quite make full sense. The music has catchy tunes that have been part of video game history for a long time, so I cannot argue with the quality. This was a great game I was able to play with another adult friend of mine. However, we only felt compelled to play this game only as part of the story mode, not really against each other. Having such deep levels of difficulty make this game stand out more, but I wish there could be more quests and things going on, instead of jacking up the difficulty levels of completing certain tasks, and generally just encouraging beating the stuffing out of each other the best. Graphics are great. Definitely a good game you can play with others. Expand
  42. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    Masterpiece of a game. The Smash Bros. formula is almost perfected as it is, but Brawl improves the formula even more. The game has aged extremely well graphically, especially for being on the Wii. Characters and stages are better than ever. Subspace Emissary mode could be better, but it wasn't bad by any means. The game has a massive load of collectibles. I still unlock new songs,Masterpiece of a game. The Smash Bros. formula is almost perfected as it is, but Brawl improves the formula even more. The game has aged extremely well graphically, especially for being on the Wii. Characters and stages are better than ever. Subspace Emissary mode could be better, but it wasn't bad by any means. The game has a massive load of collectibles. I still unlock new songs, trophies, and stickers even after five years of playing. Like the other games in the series, Brawl is extremely intuitive, making it the most vaudeville fighting game out there. This game is practically timeless and deserved all the hype it received. This is by and large the best Wii game ever. Expand
  43. Aug 29, 2013
    8
    By far the best selling fighting game ever! It ha soo many contents! Lots of stages, characters, music and more! One of the best features is the Stage Builder. Yes, you can create your own stages! And there's much, much more! You can play it online, too! But 2 things of SSBB sucks: First, the annoying AI that are always going after YOU. Even if they aren't teamed up! And they're usingBy far the best selling fighting game ever! It ha soo many contents! Lots of stages, characters, music and more! One of the best features is the Stage Builder. Yes, you can create your own stages! And there's much, much more! You can play it online, too! But 2 things of SSBB sucks: First, the annoying AI that are always going after YOU. Even if they aren't teamed up! And they're using their final smashs always on you, too! The other but smaller bad thing is the online mode, because this might by laggy. Expand
  44. Aug 21, 2014
    9
    With enhance fighting style and classic characters in the game, Super Smash Bros. Brawl instantly returns a better stages,music, items, modes, and new characters in this game. With all controllers easy to play with all up to four players exactly, there is no where to play but only to party in brawl. With perfect fun stages to play from Mario to Sonic, the possibilities are endless, alsoWith enhance fighting style and classic characters in the game, Super Smash Bros. Brawl instantly returns a better stages,music, items, modes, and new characters in this game. With all controllers easy to play with all up to four players exactly, there is no where to play but only to party in brawl. With perfect fun stages to play from Mario to Sonic, the possibilities are endless, also with creating our own stages with each set of parts and choosing our favorite song from normal stages. And what's better with old songs from the franchise is that there is news songs and returning songs and also melee stages. With new modes such as classic mode, event matches mode, all star mode, stadium modes, story mode, and training mode. And with multiplayer online, the fun kepts getting better and more better. there is one thing I have say is that the loading in the game keeps taking too long during to prepare for a fight or classic mode, which i was ticked of about it. But anyways this game is truly the best fighting game ever made by nintendo of all times. Expand
  45. May 26, 2014
    9
    This game is great to hack! Just download Project M! But anyways, yes this game is good, but i really hate how casual this is. Anyways, just about everything in this game is great EXCEPT if your fighting against 3 CPUs, no matter if you have teams or not they will GANG RAPE YOU! As in, they will rather DIE, than to have you LIVE. Try it for yourself: play as peach and go to one side of newThis game is great to hack! Just download Project M! But anyways, yes this game is good, but i really hate how casual this is. Anyways, just about everything in this game is great EXCEPT if your fighting against 3 CPUs, no matter if you have teams or not they will GANG RAPE YOU! As in, they will rather DIE, than to have you LIVE. Try it for yourself: play as peach and go to one side of new pork city & float on one side, you will see all of the CPUs ignore each other, and want you DEAD. So screw the CPUs, just play this game with friends, and everything will be well. Expand
  46. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    Mario games just never fail! I have all SSB games from Nintendo 64, GameCube and the Wii. This game is fantastic, the graphics are more realistic, there are ton of characters to choose from too! The reason why I gave this a 9 and not a 10 is because of the maps arnt that great other than than it just a Better version of melee and I love you can use the GameCube controller
  47. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This game is just amazing. I suggest you get it if you don't have it. So many characters, items, and stages! I can't wait for the next Super Smash Bros. This game, it might have brought some characters that are not from Nintendo, but still, its really fun to play with them. The reason I give it a 9, is because there are two characters that are not Nintendo, but, I do like it, but still,This game is just amazing. I suggest you get it if you don't have it. So many characters, items, and stages! I can't wait for the next Super Smash Bros. This game, it might have brought some characters that are not from Nintendo, but still, its really fun to play with them. The reason I give it a 9, is because there are two characters that are not Nintendo, but, I do like it, but still, it's suppose to be a game with all Nintendo characters. Overall, best fighting game I've seen, and I suggest you get it right away! Expand
  48. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Pretty fun, but the previous games are (in my opinion) better. It's probably my nostalgia blindness, though. I also didn't like this game's online multiplayer or story. Third party characters are a good idea, but were OP. I have (or had) my own requests for third party characters in the next one, but it aint happenin'
  49. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    How to make a game better. Easy keep the same philosophy and just add new features to make a great game even greater. I will say I like SBM better but this one for the Wii is great. Expanding to 35 characters makes this game endless fun. The story is great with a variety of given scenarios and different characters to choose from. Bringing back all star mode and the things like home run batHow to make a game better. Easy keep the same philosophy and just add new features to make a great game even greater. I will say I like SBM better but this one for the Wii is great. Expanding to 35 characters makes this game endless fun. The story is great with a variety of given scenarios and different characters to choose from. Bringing back all star mode and the things like home run bat are nice but the main reason why any of us play this game is for the fact of the multiplier and they deliver. Forget about the online because if thats all you want out of this game then your playing the wrong game. Nintendo is not known for great online just great memorable single player gameplay. But back to the multiplier. Playing with friends is great and got even greater with additional characters and items to play as and with. All the stages as well are great and beautiful looking to play online while some offer challenges some on the other hand have great landscapes with no special features. Adding assist trophies and the smash ball are great way that make the fighting 10 times more fun. I can't say this is the best of the series but I do enjoy playing this with friends or against the computer from time to time. The reason I must say this gets a nine is due to tripping and some characters like falco, wolf, and toon link are duplicates of other better fighters. Expand
  50. Jun 5, 2014
    8
    A great game with friends and siblings. Especially because it's a button mash game, and all ages can have fun with it. There are a wide selection of characters and it makes for interesting matches. Story mode was also surprisingly fun.
  51. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    One of my most anticipated games back in the day and the main reason I bought a Nintendo Wii. I definitely would have rated this a 10 a few years ago but going back to Melee and playing Project M have given me a few gripes with this game's flow of battle compared to those other two. Regardless, the single player is the best that Smash has seen, and the roster of characters is top notchOne of my most anticipated games back in the day and the main reason I bought a Nintendo Wii. I definitely would have rated this a 10 a few years ago but going back to Melee and playing Project M have given me a few gripes with this game's flow of battle compared to those other two. Regardless, the single player is the best that Smash has seen, and the roster of characters is top notch with many awesome newcomers. It's easily the best game for the Nintendo Wii. Expand
  52. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the greatest video game that I have ever played. The fighting is quick, precise, satisfying, and addictive. Tons of fun game modes and a colorful cast of characters combine to create an amazing gaming experience. A lot of people criticize Brawl for its prat fall mechanic, but that's just a tiny blemish on an otherwise great game.
  53. Oct 7, 2014
    9
    You must get this. If you liked Melee you will love this even more. Controls are easy to learn, lots of characters and modes, and awesome action. The story wasn't that awesome, but the game is just great. Awesome game to play if you're inviting some friends over.
  54. Nov 2, 2014
    10
    you should at least play this game and 99% of time you would like any smash bros but this is the best version dispite being a wii game and i do not play wii games but the best thing about the game is the stage maker and the story
  55. Jun 26, 2015
    9
    This game is AWESOME!! My 2nd favourite SSB game. The graphics are great for Wii. The controls are good. The character selection is great. I frickin LOVED the Subspace Emissary. Super Smash Bros Brawl is a game you should definitely buy. And if you hate SSB, you're beyond silly as JB.
  56. CarlosL
    Dec 21, 2009
    9
    A great fight game! The online multiplayer could be a little better.
  57. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This game is amazing. Of course, you can't really go wrong with Nintendo games. The subspace emissary is the only thing that I find incomplete. Despite being a nice 'quest,' it can eventually feel like a long grind, but I wouldn't be too concerned about that if you aren't going to play it. That aside, I find that with 4 different control methods (Wiimote, Wiimote + Nunchuck, GCThis game is amazing. Of course, you can't really go wrong with Nintendo games. The subspace emissary is the only thing that I find incomplete. Despite being a nice 'quest,' it can eventually feel like a long grind, but I wouldn't be too concerned about that if you aren't going to play it. That aside, I find that with 4 different control methods (Wiimote, Wiimote + Nunchuck, GC Controller, Wii Classic Controller), you can easily find some type of play style you like. It may be 2 years old, but the game is so impressive that it is the best fighter on the Wii. You will NOT be disappointed. Expand
  58. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I know no one will read this, but don't listen to the bad reviews. If you liked any of the other Smash Bros. games, then you'll fall in love with this game.
  59. May 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Just amazing. An endless cast of characters, a huge range of modes to play, and easy to learn but hard to master controls. This adds up to one awesome game. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is the best fighting game of its time, and multiplayer mode just rocks.
  60. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    One of the best games ever! The game has so much to do, that you'll keep it in your Wii for a very long time. Hopefully the next Super Smash Bros. will be even better!
  61. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is SO MUCH FUN!!! Brawling against your friends is very fun, collecting trophies and stickers is another highlight and don't know where to begin on The Subspace Emissary! I'm sure everyone will agree with me on this, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is a must have on Wii!
  62. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest games ever, alongside "Halo 3". The singleplayer is good, but the multiplayer is EXCELLENT!!!! The graphics are impressive, and many of the characters look more realistic. I like that. My only criticism would be the Stage Builder. The stage builder could be a little better. Wait. A LOT better. But other than that, this game is very, very fun. Definitely worthThis is one of the greatest games ever, alongside "Halo 3". The singleplayer is good, but the multiplayer is EXCELLENT!!!! The graphics are impressive, and many of the characters look more realistic. I like that. My only criticism would be the Stage Builder. The stage builder could be a little better. Wait. A LOT better. But other than that, this game is very, very fun. Definitely worth playing. Buy it!! Expand
  63. Jul 12, 2011
    10
    This game is super fun. My house-mate and I play almost everyday and it never gets old. Though in my opinion it is only playable with a Gamecube controller. The variety of characters and play styles is spectacular, the maps are fun and make you pay attention, and even the campaign is fun for the most part. There are also a lot of really tough challenges that take skill to complete. 10 out of 10.
  64. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    My favorite fighting game of all time. This game is fantastic. Years later and I still play a few times per week. This game got 2nd place on IGN's "Best game of the last decade" poll, beaten only by Majora's Mask.
  65. Sep 4, 2011
    10
    Probably the best fighting game ever made. This game is HIGHLY addicting, and could become hazardous to your health if not taken care of. The graphics were good considering all of the stuff that had to be animated. I liked how there are less clones than in melee (the only clones being link and toon link, but there is a big difference between the two).
  66. Jan 1, 2012
    9
    If the online was as good as it should be, this would be the best game on Wii. It's still hugely addictive still today, being the best multiplayer experience on the market.
  67. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The 3rd entrance in the Super Smash Bros. series is phenomenal. With such a wide cast of characters and stages, the good times can keep rolling. The music and sounds for the game are as great as you could expect a 1st party Nintendo game to have. I honestly looked for a bad thing to say about this game, and the closest I could come up with was a decent story in the Subspace Emissary, butThe 3rd entrance in the Super Smash Bros. series is phenomenal. With such a wide cast of characters and stages, the good times can keep rolling. The music and sounds for the game are as great as you could expect a 1st party Nintendo game to have. I honestly looked for a bad thing to say about this game, and the closest I could come up with was a decent story in the Subspace Emissary, but even then, the story does an interesting job of combining all of the characters to one common goal. The online multiplayer is gruesome, but that is also do largely to the fact that Nintendo decided to go with friend codes for all of their games, which is not the actual game's fault. Even almost four years after its release, I have played close to 3 months of game time in my records. That is roughly 700 hours of game for $50.00, and I would have payed the XBOX retail value of $60.00. Do yourself a favor if you haven't already, and go pick up this game, and even a Wii if you have to. The replay value of this game will keep you entertained for many months. Expand
  68. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    there is no brakes to this game its so fun and i would give this a twenty because its endless and real endless fun.....you cant have a wii or cll your self a nintendo fan without having this game.......and even if you get bored you can play demo classic games and theres endless mini games....by far nintendo did its best on this game and this is probably the best game for the WII.....bythere is no brakes to this game its so fun and i would give this a twenty because its endless and real endless fun.....you cant have a wii or cll your self a nintendo fan without having this game.......and even if you get bored you can play demo classic games and theres endless mini games....by far nintendo did its best on this game and this is probably the best game for the WII.....by owning this game yo will be a proud owner of the wii!!!!!!! Expand
  69. May 5, 2012
    10
    Its perhaps even safe to say that Super Smash Bros Brawl is the greatest game ever created. Super Smash Brawl is what you get if you combine deep gameplay with hardcoreness. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is just Melee but better, with new characters like Snake, Meta Knight, Wario and Sonic, new items like the Smash Balls and a lot of new cool stages. This is a game that you'll be playing for aIts perhaps even safe to say that Super Smash Bros Brawl is the greatest game ever created. Super Smash Brawl is what you get if you combine deep gameplay with hardcoreness. Super Smash Bros. Brawl is just Melee but better, with new characters like Snake, Meta Knight, Wario and Sonic, new items like the Smash Balls and a lot of new cool stages. This is a game that you'll be playing for a very long time, perhaps even years. The only problem I have with game is - NOTHING!!! Even singleplayer can keep you entertained for months! So, if you don't have this game yet, go get it! No Wii is complete without this Expand
  70. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am a big fan of these games and now this game has been up the next level by making the Wii go on line and challenge your friends or just random people.

    They is a least new characters on this game some take time to know what skills they do.

    On the downfall I hate this game for:

    On line can be slow to connect if you playing with random players in a team got to wait at least 20 minus or so before another guy comes on and then it sometimes disconnect you off then you have to start again finding players.

    And you trip a lot too on this game half a time I lost in the sudden death mode because I tripped up and a bomb landed on my head and I could not move in time to avoid it or the other player killed me.

    The game is detail in the characters that is on it.

    The levels is awesome and some playable enough.

    The songs/music is well composed and nice to listen to.

    They 's is the challenges you can do for more stuff in the game that will take you a few days to do.

    The game is just great, it's fast paced with extra bits like a stage builder you can now re-create the old levels in other games but it has hardly room to make a lot of things to make it annoying for you.

    Overall I personally love this game too bits.
    Expand
  71. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Brawl just has so much to offer! This is a game that can be played for hours and hours and hours and hours without getting bored. The fighting, items, levels and characters all blow me away! The Super Smash Bros. series is only getting better and better. This game has a lot of content and is so addicting to play! It's story mode is also amazing and very very beautiful!
  72. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This is the best fighting game ever. You can play as all of your favorite characters from most Nintendo Franchises, and some "Nontendo" [play on words =~)] franchise. This has a great moment with my favorite scene from any video game ever in it. The multiplayer is the best kind ever, no one will be disappointed. The only place where it lacks is having online multiplayer with extremely longThis is the best fighting game ever. You can play as all of your favorite characters from most Nintendo Franchises, and some "Nontendo" [play on words =~)] franchise. This has a great moment with my favorite scene from any video game ever in it. The multiplayer is the best kind ever, no one will be disappointed. The only place where it lacks is having online multiplayer with extremely long wait times, so most of the time it better (and perhaps even more challenging) to put some computer players on. Expand
  73. Mar 24, 2012
    9
    If you own a Wii, getting this game is a necessity. Period. :) You will not regret it. There's so much content in here that you'll likely be discovering more of it for years to come. Far more bang for your buck than most video games can shake a stick at. Most importantly, though, the combat is fun, fast-paced, and there's plenty of strategy involved for the hardcore gamers who like toIf you own a Wii, getting this game is a necessity. Period. :) You will not regret it. There's so much content in here that you'll likely be discovering more of it for years to come. Far more bang for your buck than most video games can shake a stick at. Most importantly, though, the combat is fun, fast-paced, and there's plenty of strategy involved for the hardcore gamers who like to fine-tune their strategies. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  74. Mar 10, 2014
    10
    Sue me for all I care. I personally think this game is better than Melee. Don't get me wrong: I love Melee, but I would be lying if I said I didn't love Brawl even more. Why? One word: content. Brawl has at least twice as much content as Melee. The addition of the Subspace Emissary mode was a brilliant one on the developer's part, and while people whine about it having pretty much noSue me for all I care. I personally think this game is better than Melee. Don't get me wrong: I love Melee, but I would be lying if I said I didn't love Brawl even more. Why? One word: content. Brawl has at least twice as much content as Melee. The addition of the Subspace Emissary mode was a brilliant one on the developer's part, and while people whine about it having pretty much no story, they probably had fun playing it whether it had a story or not. Boss Battles mode is very challenging, Stage Builder (while a little bare-bones) is a great idea, stickers and CDs will keep completionists like me busy for months, and do I even need to talk about Final Smashes? As for everything else that's an improvement on Melee, Brawl just gives us more. More characters, more stages, more modes, more trophies, and pretty much just more things to do.

    Was there anything really bad about the game? Well, not really bad, just annoying. The ability to unlock every character just by playing through Subspace Emissary I think wasn't a good idea (maybe if you just unlocked ROB, Snake, and Sonic as milestones), and the online mode is really laggy, though not enough to stop you from having a good fight with folks online. And yeah, there are a couple characters I would have loved to have in the game, but I won't hold that against the game. Every single crossover fighting game that exists suffers that problem. As for the lack of L-canceling or wave dashing or other crap like that, look at it this way. Most of the people who play Super Smash Bros. probably don't play it competitively (including me though I'm a die-hard fan of the series). This stuff doesn't bother me in the slightest, and if you're still kicking ass without those mechanics, it shouldn't bother you either.

    Bottom line is that Brawl is a fantastic fighting game. It's one of the best games I've ever played, and no one will change my mind. Is Brawl going to become somewhat obsolete when Smash Bros. 4 comes out for 3DS and Wii U? Of course it is, but for now, if you have a Wii or Wii U and don't own Super Smash Bros. Brawl...you, my good sir or ma'am, are out of your mind.
    Expand
  75. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    This is my favourite fighting game alongside Marvel versus Capcom. It's accessible but deep, fun but challenging. The stages are the best I have seen from a fighting game and the characters are unique and fun. This is the best online experience on the Wii and is a must-have for any long time Nintendo fans.
  76. JordanG
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Best fighting game ever made? Yes. In my eyes Soul Calibur II is the only thing that comes close. The fast paced, hectic action is easy to play and when on multiplayer it plays like nothing else. Seriously, this and Halo 3 are the two best games to ever bring out at a party
  77. Sep 24, 2010
    10
    Brawl is the best game in the smash bros. series. The graphics are enhanced and the music is breath taking. The game is really fun with friends and family. The characters are almost balanced but needs few tweaks. The storyline though did not reach my expectation and is awfully short. The multi-player mode is just awesome when played with friends. The online play really sucks because of theBrawl is the best game in the smash bros. series. The graphics are enhanced and the music is breath taking. The game is really fun with friends and family. The characters are almost balanced but needs few tweaks. The storyline though did not reach my expectation and is awfully short. The multi-player mode is just awesome when played with friends. The online play really sucks because of the slow connection. Bottom line: Buy this game and don't borrow it or rent because you have train yourself to kick your friends' ass. Expand
  78. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Personally i'm not a fan of fighters, but the Super Smash Bros. series has always been a blast for me, especially with friends. The addition of new characters and a single player campaign ensure that Brawl isn't just Melee with a coat of paint. The amount of collectables in Brawl is astounding, and will take months to complete. The only let down would have to be the online, Mario Kart WiiPersonally i'm not a fan of fighters, but the Super Smash Bros. series has always been a blast for me, especially with friends. The addition of new characters and a single player campaign ensure that Brawl isn't just Melee with a coat of paint. The amount of collectables in Brawl is astounding, and will take months to complete. The only let down would have to be the online, Mario Kart Wii proved that the Wii can handle online and it would have been great fun to beat the **** out of someone in Germany of France, but in the time I have owned this game i have not found a single online game that was playable. Nevertheless, if you own a Wii, you owe it to yourself Expand
  79. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    With a wide array of 38 characters, a single player campaign, a four player offline multiplayer, a comprehensive online play mode, and dozens of other game modes, Super Smash Bros. Brawl is unrivaled in the amount of content and replay value it offers.
  80. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    This gam isn't only great for its gameplay, but for the amount of content packed into one disc. There are so many characters, stages, items, modes, and collectibles that its surprising the game doesn't explode. Amazingly, there is only minimal wait time. Brawl is exactly like Melee in the gameplay, but there are tons of new characters, including Pit, Diddy Kong, Pokemon Trainer, Wario,This gam isn't only great for its gameplay, but for the amount of content packed into one disc. There are so many characters, stages, items, modes, and collectibles that its surprising the game doesn't explode. Amazingly, there is only minimal wait time. Brawl is exactly like Melee in the gameplay, but there are tons of new characters, including Pit, Diddy Kong, Pokemon Trainer, Wario, Zero Suit Samus, Lucas, Ike, and many more along with Sonic and Solid Snake to round it out. The game has all-new Assist trophies aka dozens more Nintendo cameos. A big difference are final smashes that are jaw-dropping crazy finishing moves and each character has their own one. The game has a story mode, but it is hard to get through the whole thing because its a repetitive sidescroller and the story itself doesn't make any sense. The game allows to adjust song selections, create stages, upgrade characters with stickers, play an interesting arcade game for trophies, play short demos for classic Nintendo games, and gamble on online matches in addition to the old-standbys like event matches, Break the Targets, and Home-Run Contest. The only thing the game does wrong is the online mode because it takes forever to load up a short battle and there are no customization options. Brawl is simply an amazing game and will have you coming back for YEARS. Get it. Expand
  81. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Super Smash Bros. Brawl is one of the best games of all time.The only things that need changes is the adventure mode and online.If that improves i will say that this is the best game of all time.I also like that there is trophies to collect from the nintedo franchise, without this it wouldnt be as fun.
  82. May 26, 2011
    9
    It's a wonderful game. Enough said. It provides endless hours of fun to any group of people no matter how old you are. My little brothers like it, I like it, my parents like to watch it! There are some problems however, the game can be rather glitchy and a few things can get really annoying and upset the balance of the game (thank god there's a lot of settings to remedy most of this). AlsoIt's a wonderful game. Enough said. It provides endless hours of fun to any group of people no matter how old you are. My little brothers like it, I like it, my parents like to watch it! There are some problems however, the game can be rather glitchy and a few things can get really annoying and upset the balance of the game (thank god there's a lot of settings to remedy most of this). Also I could bring down my score to maybe an eight because online is so terrible, but I just forget that it even exists. This game is practically made for groups of friends, not random strangers on the Internet. Also there's plenty of new content and even a story mode that really fits in great with the rest of the game. There are some characters that will be missed from melee however. Expand
  83. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This is easily the greatest fighting game I've ever played. There are very few flaws with this that don't overshadow the rest of this experience. In fact, this is also the best video game I've ever played. I'm really not kidding here, this game is better than Mario and Zelda. In fact it's both of these games plus more games by Nintendo in the mix. However, it also adds Sonic theThis is easily the greatest fighting game I've ever played. There are very few flaws with this that don't overshadow the rest of this experience. In fact, this is also the best video game I've ever played. I'm really not kidding here, this game is better than Mario and Zelda. In fact it's both of these games plus more games by Nintendo in the mix. However, it also adds Sonic the Hedgehog, and Solid Snake which aren't Nintendo characters (which is a good thing), along with their own stages. Add the characters with the stages, features, adventure mode, and every other great feature, and you've got yourself an absolutely perfect game. Expand
  84. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    My favorite multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii. Loads of fun with beating each other up, online is a real challenge! SSE mode was a lot of fun completing with family or friends. This is my favorite Smash Bros. ever made as of to date, looking forward to the 3DS version and more character selection! The level selection in this game has everything any type of Nintendo fan wants. This is aMy favorite multiplayer game for the Nintendo Wii. Loads of fun with beating each other up, online is a real challenge! SSE mode was a lot of fun completing with family or friends. This is my favorite Smash Bros. ever made as of to date, looking forward to the 3DS version and more character selection! The level selection in this game has everything any type of Nintendo fan wants. This is a fantastic fun multiplayer fighting game that will have you coming back for more beating and beatings!! Expand
  85. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    What a game! It is seriously the longest lasting game of all time, it never gets boring (coming from someone with well over 500 hours of play time). However, if I was rating the game on single player alone, it would probably get an 8/10, and the online a 7/10. But, if you have up to 3 friends (or relatives) then the game comes incredibly to life, with 35+ characters to choose from andWhat a game! It is seriously the longest lasting game of all time, it never gets boring (coming from someone with well over 500 hours of play time). However, if I was rating the game on single player alone, it would probably get an 8/10, and the online a 7/10. But, if you have up to 3 friends (or relatives) then the game comes incredibly to life, with 35+ characters to choose from and almost as many stages to fight on you will be playing for years (until the next one). It's better than the previous game and is the best multiplayer game I have ever played. Expand
  86. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This is one of the greatest fighting games ever made. Nintendo's greatest characters return with more action, fighting, pure awesomeness, and some twists, including Sonic the Hedgehog and Solid Snake as the 1st playable 3rd party characters in the series.
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Tons of content to keep the player coming back with beautiful graphics and sound with the excellent gameplay helps this become one of the greatest games on the wii and this generation.
  88. Nov 12, 2011
    8
    The game delivers on what so many were asking for. More characters, my items, more stages, more unlockables, and a more fleshed out single-player experience. The problem lies in the gameplay itself. Yes, Nintendo has done well to eliminate irritating elements like "wave dashing" from Melee, and they've made it easier for less experienced players to pick up and play well; the problem isThe game delivers on what so many were asking for. More characters, my items, more stages, more unlockables, and a more fleshed out single-player experience. The problem lies in the gameplay itself. Yes, Nintendo has done well to eliminate irritating elements like "wave dashing" from Melee, and they've made it easier for less experienced players to pick up and play well; the problem is that the characters feel more "floaty", slower, and the attacks themselves don't feel half as satisfying as they did in Melee. Overall, a quality game, but 7 years after Melee, it's certainly a step backwards. Expand
  89. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    A true triumph for Nintendo fans. Even though the gameplay could be a tad better and the online has a few loose ends, it still goes a long way. Packed with an adventure mode, 4 player battles, stadium games, online play, and a huge collective vault, this game is definitely worth your money.
  90. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game lasted me hours of fun with my friends. The only problem would be the boring subspace emissary mode which was very limited in exploring and just not as fun as the group battles. But of course it is supposed to be a multiplayer game and it succeeds by far in that standards. Best multiplayer fighting game ever.
  91. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online multiplayer is a little dull with just jumping into a battle without being able to talk or add people to a friends list. But other than that this game has everything aThis came contains many of my favorite characters and some new ones that I really like playing as. With many ways to make the brawling fun, this game really delivered. But like many games this one isn't perfect. The online multiplayer is a little dull with just jumping into a battle without being able to talk or add people to a friends list. But other than that this game has everything a long time super smash brothers player wants. Expand
  92. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    When the Wii is the lone host to a great game everyone knows about it. Well guess what? Nintendo made a great game and it sits on the Wii. This is in the top 5 fighting games of all time. Right up there with Tekken 3 Street Fighter Alpha 3 and Soulcalibur. The characters are incredible and extremely fun to use. Takes away the overly abused features from Melee and gives the cast, not aWhen the Wii is the lone host to a great game everyone knows about it. Well guess what? Nintendo made a great game and it sits on the Wii. This is in the top 5 fighting games of all time. Right up there with Tekken 3 Street Fighter Alpha 3 and Soulcalibur. The characters are incredible and extremely fun to use. Takes away the overly abused features from Melee and gives the cast, not a makeover, but a booster. The story mode is an actual story and presents a simpler way to unlock characters from Melee. Each character (save one) has their weaknesses and counters. Great game from the best developer in video games. Expand
  93. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    this is the best fighting game. Nintendo Wii might have the worst graphics and online but who cares they have the best exclusives ever! this game is so fun so addictive. the mulitiplayer is really fun and tight and the campaign is very good and long!
  94. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    THE CAMPAIN IS AWFUL!!! but multiplayer is the most fun multiplayer ever. i know that was gramitically incorrect but this game is fantastic. i played it for a year and now i play it when ever i go to my friends house. (which is fairly often). beyond fun, cant wait for next super smash bros game but at the same time i prob wont get a WII U. :( hopefully they make it for WII too :)))
  95. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Maybe I'm biased towards Smash Brothers in general, but any game that can consistently entertain and satisfy me for 4 years is a great game in my book.
  96. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Are you ready for the best game on wii as well as the best fighting game I've ever played? I sure am! featuring a character roster that almost comes equal with the 48 characters on the Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition, this game has a far more diverse character roster in every respect. There's a character for absolutely every play style. (my 2 favourites are Ike from fire emblem andAre you ready for the best game on wii as well as the best fighting game I've ever played? I sure am! featuring a character roster that almost comes equal with the 48 characters on the Super Street Fighter IV Arcade Edition, this game has a far more diverse character roster in every respect. There's a character for absolutely every play style. (my 2 favourites are Ike from fire emblem and Snake from Metal Gear Solid) The solo aka subspace emmisary mode provides about 8 hours of fun but forgettable levels but it only really serves as a filler and a way to unlock all but 3 characters which is fine by me as the multiplayer mode is so incredibly addictive that I don't really notice it although it is quite fun to play co-op. The online mode is reasonably good except there is a lot of noobs online. The multiplayer is where this really shines as this provides as many hours of fun as your Wii and game disc can tolerate. Impossible to put down in a party environment as you don't even need any other games at your party because this is so frickin good. It's rewarding to play as every character and get good with them (except for Olimar, DeDeDe and Wario, they're beyond help) Like I used to love playing as Fox and Link in melee, now I love playing as Ike and Snake, Ike is perfect for 1 v 1 duels in my opinion, and snake is awesome fun for 3 player fights as you can just screw with the other fighters with remote mines, grenades and rocket launchers, fun to watch them get angry at you XD. There is nothing else I can say other then GET THIS GAME!!! (P.S. this is an awesome music disc for gamers with over 200 songs, it's just awesome to use this and play some classic sonic, mario, zelda, and pokemon songs as a bgm for a party) Expand
  97. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Brilliant party fighter. Simple and addictive fun. Exellent stage design, great character roster and YEARS WORTH of content. I always have a blast with this game. Its issues come in the form of balance (Ike dominates) and the Subspace Emmisary mode wasting tones of potential and being repetetive. Overall the most fun on the wii you can have
  98. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    This game's focus (like the other Super Smash Bros. games before it), is on the actual battle and survival system. This time round, it includes many more attack, specials, abilities, and even a final smash; all of which I found to really bring the game up to the next level. The story, though not perfect, was also a good distraction, and provided some co-op fun, as well as giving someThis game's focus (like the other Super Smash Bros. games before it), is on the actual battle and survival system. This time round, it includes many more attack, specials, abilities, and even a final smash; all of which I found to really bring the game up to the next level. The story, though not perfect, was also a good distraction, and provided some co-op fun, as well as giving some backstory to the characters, But, as I said, the 'brawl' is where this game shines. Expand
  99. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    A good game that combines all the company mascots, see the fighting All-Stars Mario, Kirby, Sonic, Pikachu, Bowser, Link, Ike ...
    Subspace Emissary mode successfully, Event mode very well developed, but the default graphics that makes the game a little nerveu, but the game is very playable.
  100. Apr 21, 2012
    10
    A great Nintendo game. Hands down the second best Wii game. Loads of unlockables, and more multiplayer fun than a night of Halo, the best single player and multiplayer game on the Wii system.

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Brawl is easily the most fun I’ve had on a Wii, and could be the most fun I’ve had with a game in ages. It’s just that good. There is just so much to do, and so many different and refreshing things added that it would be a crime not to at least take a look.
  2. Nintendo Power
    100
    Rarely has any title delivered so much amazing action, such a wide variety of modes, and so many hours of value. It doesn't get any better than this. [Mar 2008, p.82]
  3. It’s obvious that developer Game Arts have put a painstaking amount of effort into creating this game and every time we play it we’re discovering new Nintendo references which bring back a rush of nostalgia. Brawl’s chaotic multiplayer sessions are some of the best to be had on the system, plus there are plenty of challenges and modes to amuse those ‘friend-impaired’ individuals out there as well. It’s a no-brainer, every serious Nintendo fan out there should score themselves a copy of this game, invite some friends/victims around, and have a smashing good time.