• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 254

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while theI was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while the story does borrow from some other sources, it is still enjoyable, and the multiplayer is fantastic, this is one of the best games on the Wii, a must get for Wii owners. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up.This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up. Since I got addicted to the online gameplay more than any other game i've played I've given it a high score. Expand
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    Played for around five minutes.
    Gave up.
    Difficult as **** to play.
    Graphics are strange, and from what I could remember, somewhat ****ty.
    Was addicting.
    If you are looking for a game that is so **** challenging and **** addicting, this game is recommended.
    If looking for a game to play casually, or just not freaking hard as hell,
    DON'T **** BUY THIS.
  4. MikeT
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level Great game. Controls work perfectly and are fully customizable as well as extremely precise, thus making the game require and reward those with skilled aiming and practice (making the multiplayer and single player much more satisfying). Graphics are very well done for a Wii game and could even be at 360/PS3 level if it were not for some bland textures and low resolutions in a few level objects. But overall, it looks great and most people will be impressed. This game sounds great also with a nice sound track and gun fire sounds that feel realistic as well as good use of the Wii remote speaker. Weapon wise, this game has many fun to use weapons that are all very balanced and useful in different situations. You won't be dissapointed in this category at all. Storyline is somewhat cliched which may discourage some from enjoying it to it's fullest extent but it is still very well done and there are plenty of hidden messages in the levels that add a lot of depth to the story. Single Player is well done and serves it's purpose nicely as a run and gun shooter that has enough action to keep most fans busy for 3-4 play-throughs, assuming they go for all the secrets and difficulty levels. It lasts about 8 hours. The Multiplayer, on the other hand, is even better and is definitely the best on the Wii so far surpassing Super Smash Brothers Brawl mainly due to the little or no connection issues players have been experiencing. Although, without a fast connection some lag may occur during full rounds but it is never anything unplayable. There are plenty of game modes and weapon sets to keep players happy and overall it is a highly addicting experience (especially with the ranking system) that can, in my opinion, easily compete with some of the more popular online shooters out there (yes, even Halo 3). Overall, this game is excellent and has well lived up to its very high expectations and hype. Aside from a slightly cliched and short storyline, The Conduit shines with a fun campaign, highly addictive online that will keep players busy for a long time, and controls that separate it from many generic alien shooting games on the market today. I recommend this game to anyone who has a Wii, or to anyone who wants a good shooting game, or even to anyone who is just interested in what all the hype is about. Expand
  5. TimH
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to IGN and G4TV had horrible reviews. This game was very well made. The control system is very well done with tons of room for customization. The online mode in comparison to other wii games is outstanding. I never cared for online wii games before now. This game should hopefully influence other developers to do the same. I encourage Wii owners to give it an open minded try as opposed to deciding the game is not worth your time because the story isn't extraordinarily original as if any story these days is. Expand
  6. carterk
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    The game is much more fun than the "critics" are suggesting. The gameplay may not be anything new but the controls are truly revolutionary and make this game really fun. The only thing I would have liked to improved upon is the big boss battles.
  7. kd
    Jul 5, 2009
    10
    Despite what all the reviews said, this game is extremely fun every second, and that's why I have a gaming system. For only $39, this is the best money I've spent, and recommend this title 100%. Best racer I've played.
  8. JoshuaR
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want Even though I've only had a short time with this game, it's been nothing more then impressive. The SP campaign is not what anyone would call ground breaking, but it is very enjoyable and I really enjoy the exploration aspect. While it is an extremely linear experience, the linearity of it all doesn't take away from the enjoyment this game provides. If you really just want to shoot aliens and experience the best controlling FPS on any console, this game delivers. I have yet to touch the multiplayer portion of this game, but I'm pretty certain that it won't disappoint. One can not forget that this game is on the Wii and that the system has been lacking terribly in the online market. Great game and definitely worth of a purchase. Expand
  9. TonyJ
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This game is, hands down, the best first person shooter and the best online game on the Wii. The controls are awesome, and the difficulty ranges from entry-level to hardcore. I am going to sink some serious time into this game!!
  10. RonW
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Yes, the Conduit may not be a step forward in game play, but it sure as hell is in controls. Undoubtedly the most configurable control set up to date on any system. Online is a smash and will keep you returning to play for months and months, don't be scared off by the relatively average single player length, the multiplayer is where it's all at.
  11. DerekS
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to Great game. By far the only way FPS games should be played in the future. All other control methods (dual analogs, keyboard-and-mouse, etc) seem archaic and unnatural compared to this. Your arm might hurt by constantly holding the gun/controller while walking, and the camera might be shaky while doing so, but that's the way it's done in real life. At times, you'll want to put your left and right hands closer together just to keep your gun and camera steady, which emulates how you naturally achieve the accuracy you want, and hence makes this game very interesting. Expand
  12. DarrenZ.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and This could very well be the most underrated game on the Wii. No, it doesn't revolutionize the FPS genre, but then it doesn't try to. What it does do is give us a well-designed and entertaining game that gets all the fundamentals right and does very little wrong. Presentation is top-notch, controls are tight and highly configurable, the single player is fun, fast-paced, and compelling, and jumping online for some competitive multiplayer action couldn't be easier: literally a couple of clicks of the Wii Remote and you're playing. High Voltage Software may have stuck to the basics when designing The Conduit, but they delivered a solid product that is an absolute blast to play. I highly recommend it. Expand
  13. Highlar
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to The Conduit is just the kind of FPS game that Wii owners and players have been waiting for. The single player is challenging, with the last couple of levels feeling murderous (to me, who hasn't really been able to get into FPS games on console systems before). The AI could use a bit more fine tuning, but they do use cover, attempt to flank you, and cover each other when some try to charge at you. The game was repetitive in ways, but most FPS games that I have tried in the past seemed the same overall: you move forward, killing enemies, to reach the end of the level. I enjoyed the story, for the most part, and am interested in seeing it continue in a sequel. The graphics are great for the Wii. Enemies are detailed, but there aren't enough varieties of them. Also, the weapon details are some of the best I've seen yet. Some of the weapons are pretty imaginative, and can only be done on the Wii (shrieker comes to mind). The single player campaign isn't too long, but then comes the better part of the game: Multiplayer! Long matches or short, its great that everyone has a chance to vote on what they'd like to have as a match. I haven't been able to try Wii Speak, as I don't have it yet (and don't have any friends on the list anyway), but I hope to do so eventually. There are a good variety of matches (personal favorites are ASE Football and Bounty Hunter) to choose from, in both free for all and team play. Several different weapons sets are set up to choose from, as well as map and game type. My only gripe so far about multiplayer, is that too many people select the "Street" map for just about everything. Although, I will say that it is a small map that works GREAT for games of ASE Football with larger numbers. 10-12 people running around blasting each other trying to steal and hold onto the ASE is great, frantic fun. And I think that, to me, sums up The Conduit the most: The game is just fun! And isn't that what games are supposed to be about? Not necessarily flashy graphics...or awesome controls...or deep stories...but FUN. If it has all of the above, then so much the better, but as long as the fun shines through that's all that I need. Expand
  14. Mr.Ford
    Jul 2, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some The Conduit is a good game but it can't be compared to other FPS's on other consoles, simply because that would be like comparing apples to oranges. It should be compared to other Wii shooters though and there, it can be said that The Conduit is one of the best Wii shooters. Not as good as MP3:C, of course. I think it will probably sell well enough to guarantee a sequel. Some recommendations for the sequel: 1. Offline: * Improve enemy AI * Add Drop in/drop out local MP (2 players, so it doesn't hurt the frame rate). * Better story and voice acting * Some visual Improvements (backgrounds, lightning, more variety of enemies, etc) 2. Online: * More players/maps * Reduce lag * Ranking system * Improve visuals In the end regardless of the reviews, a game should be able to answer a simple question: is it fun? For The Conduit , the answer is yes. Expand
  15. hooko
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Reviewers don't know what they're talking about. They're taking points off subconciously BECUASE its a third party wii game (omg no way!)

    Get this game now., You won't be disappointed. You want a good review, read IGN's or the user reviews from FELLOW GAMERS who played and loved this game.
  16. DouglasC
    Aug 2, 2009
    9
    This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see This really is a great game! The controls are spot on, the graphics are great. I cannot believe the amount of detail that went into the characters and modeling. The story is fine, too. I think some reviewers are just copy and pasting their reviews to make their lives easier. There is a lot of Background to the story, you just have to search for it. The difficulty is great, as you can see the AI change at different difficulty levels. It can be as easy or challenging as you want. The weapons are also a lot of fun. I keep thinking I have found my "Favorite weapon", and then another pops up that I like! Buy this game, you will not be disappointed. Expand
  17. RussellF
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very mediocre. That is not all there is to the story, however. The main theme of the game is conspiracy and secrets. Thus the more interesting parts of the tale are told through the secret messages on the walls located by the ASE, and the radio chatter heard as you walk through levels. The story they tell is very deep, involving an alien race known as the Annunaki, Sumerian and Greek mythology, and American history. It's a lot in information to discover and work through, so if you are interested in hearing more of the story, you can go the this URL (NOTE: There are spoilers involved, so I'd recommend finishing the game before checking it out): http://uk.gamespot.com/wii/action/theconduit/show_msgs.php?topic_id=m-1-50295705&pid=947068&page=0 Another common complaint seems to be that the enemy AI is lacking. I've heard from many review sources that the best strategy is to "run 'n gun" through the whole game. I would only recommend this strategy if you intend to lure your enemies into a false sense of security, or kill them by making them laugh so hard that they choke. Though on some occasions faulty, the AI is smart enough to take cover, flank you, and swarm you with their numbers as the situation calls. Yes, one or two guys do occasionally get stuck, but as a whole the enemy AI is formidable, especially in the higher difficulty settings. The graphics are a mixed bag: some of the effects are excellent, even early 360 worthy. On the other hand, some textures are blurry and muddy. The character models look great, but the enviornments are bland, and in the case of the horizon laughable. Still, the graphics are decent enough to not pull you out of the experience. The game sounds great. Voices of the main characters are believeable and good, the weapons have strong bangs and electric whirs as necessary and the enemies scream and yell "THERE HE IS!" with just enough vigor to take seriously. All the way down here, and I still havent mentioned the control. This has the best control of any console FPS bar none. Every aspect is customizable, making for a great, custom tailored experience. If you have any problems at all, you can change the controls and see their effect on your play in realtime. This system will be the benchmark for FPS control on Wii, and rightly so. Online games are a snap to sign on to. The guys at High Voltage have studied the other popular online FPSs well. The system is simple, you only need to point and click, and you're online. In addition, The Conduit is the second game to utilize the Wii Speak peripheral. I've yet to use it (I lack one), but from what I've heard it works well. Friend codes rear their ugly head again, but you don't need them to play online. The Conduit can connect you to national and worldwide matches without those finicky numbers. The only issue with the multiplayer is the fact that there is no local multiplayer. So if you were interested in playing against your friend who is sitting right next to you, you're out of luck. The Conduit is a fun time. The story is deep for those who look for it, the graphics are nice, the gameplay is awe inspiring, and the multiplayer is the best on the console. If you own only a Wii buy this game. If you own any other console, at least give it a rent before trashing it on the nearest forum. Expand
  18. sebk
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    This game just shows what the wii can do when devs acually try. I own a xbox 360, and love it, but this acually made me pick up my wii 'mote for a while -easily the best fps on wii (yes better then metroid).
  19. StevenN
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Although the single player mode is slightly derrivitive, the online multiplayer is the real hook.us This is the game wii owners have been waiting for!
  20. StephenW
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    Definitly a must buy for Wii owners. On any other system the visuals would stop this from getting a 9 but on the wii they are fantastic. The gameplay is spot on and the sound does the job. It's not perfect but it's a very good way to spend $50 on some Wii software.
  21. CH
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    This game is great. It definitely reminds me of 007 and Perfect Dark. The single-player is fun ... not thrilling. But the online is perfect. I couldn't have asked for a better online experience (except maybe for the dumb friend codes). I'm very pleased with this game - I'm glad I dropped the $50 to get it.
  22. AgtError
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Do not worry! This game is the greatest! As to why the other reviews were so low? It's because they didn't fully explore the game! They complained about controls, graphics and short story line! Storyline I do agree on, but its graphics are way beyond amazing for the Wii! The graphical technology is underappreciated in most reviews, because they compare it to a PS3 or 360! About Do not worry! This game is the greatest! As to why the other reviews were so low? It's because they didn't fully explore the game! They complained about controls, graphics and short story line! Storyline I do agree on, but its graphics are way beyond amazing for the Wii! The graphical technology is underappreciated in most reviews, because they compare it to a PS3 or 360! About the controls, this FPS offers THE BEST controls! Many reviewers didn't take the time to mess around and tweak their controls or were too lazy looking for their hot spot! I am really disappointed at the reviewers besides IGN.. At least IGN supports what they said unlike the others. Expand
  23. EvanS
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    Decent game. The single player is hard, although, short and some bits aren't that good. But overall its great. The Multiplayer is the best on the Wii by far. Even better than MoH:H2 and Mario Kart. The weapons are awesome. The graphics are variable. Some models look good, especially enemies and weapons. Some rare bits look as bad as Red Steel though. The controls need to be Decent game. The single player is hard, although, short and some bits aren't that good. But overall its great. The Multiplayer is the best on the Wii by far. Even better than MoH:H2 and Mario Kart. The weapons are awesome. The graphics are variable. Some models look good, especially enemies and weapons. Some rare bits look as bad as Red Steel though. The controls need to be customized, good thing you can do this, but once you do so, they work well. The story isn't that great. It would be better with full cutscenes. The major plot twist is to abrupt. Expand
  24. JamesB
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    The game isn't perfect, but is an amazing effort nonetheless. Fantastic online multiplayer and a great single player campaign make for a very solid package. If you own a Wii, you must buy this game.
  25. AlexMcAnnally`
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Despite what the reviewers say I thought the story was awesome! Levels are nice and long, acheivements are also cool, Online right now is a bit laggy I don't think its the framerate dropping its just the horde of people playing online. I think this game deserves more credit than its currently receiving *looks at 1up and Gamepro reviews* Quit comparing it to the X360 and PS3 the Wii isDespite what the reviewers say I thought the story was awesome! Levels are nice and long, acheivements are also cool, Online right now is a bit laggy I don't think its the framerate dropping its just the horde of people playing online. I think this game deserves more credit than its currently receiving *looks at 1up and Gamepro reviews* Quit comparing it to the X360 and PS3 the Wii is not going to ever catch up to them graphically. BRING ON THE GRINDER! Expand
  26. KevinC
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    While this game may have not appealed to eager Wii fanboys like me at first, it begins to grow on you, and eventually you'll get hooked on this game. While trailers for The Conduit showed that this game was going to be one of the most beautiful Wii games, graphic-wise, it wasn't really as well as I expected. Controls are easy to learn and adapt, and online multiplayer is quite While this game may have not appealed to eager Wii fanboys like me at first, it begins to grow on you, and eventually you'll get hooked on this game. While trailers for The Conduit showed that this game was going to be one of the most beautiful Wii games, graphic-wise, it wasn't really as well as I expected. Controls are easy to learn and adapt, and online multiplayer is quite enjoyable as well. The Conduit succeeds in taking your classic alien homeland invasion and creating something completely new out of it. Expand
  27. JohnL
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    Great multi-player. Decent single player, but a little short and they could of tied the conspiracy elements into the game more. Some single player levels are better in both graphics and design then others, but all the modes for multiplayer are great.
  28. adamh
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    By far the best looking game on wii. best control set up on wii and possible on any other system. many say the story is cliche but if you look for all the imagery and the hidden messages and google every other word you find youll start to see connections behind seemingly unconnected things. im amazed at some of the connections and references i found but im more amazed that the reviewers By far the best looking game on wii. best control set up on wii and possible on any other system. many say the story is cliche but if you look for all the imagery and the hidden messages and google every other word you find youll start to see connections behind seemingly unconnected things. im amazed at some of the connections and references i found but im more amazed that the reviewers missed them. it seems cliche if you only watch the cut scenes but if you notice every name and every picture and every hidden message you will realize how interesting this story is. level design is a bit generic though. Expand
  29. Kyle
    Jun 29, 2009
    9
    This game is seriously unappreciated by the majorty of critics. yes there are many flaws to this game, but this is high voltage software's first real wii game. look at the big corperations like EA and Activision that have been in gamming before the atari, thay have massive resources and lots of $$$ and they were unable to produce a game of this quality with more time to work with theThis game is seriously unappreciated by the majorty of critics. yes there are many flaws to this game, but this is high voltage software's first real wii game. look at the big corperations like EA and Activision that have been in gamming before the atari, thay have massive resources and lots of $$$ and they were unable to produce a game of this quality with more time to work with the wii than High Voltage. Sure the single player campane was difficult, but I have been gamming since the nes with titles like "contra" for kids this level of difficult is very welcomed to me. the story was ok, but it gets the job done to fill in the gaps and it makes seance. the Gameplay is awsome, they basicaly have recreated the missions that get you to point A to point B without getting lost. there was a lot of complaining that the world was not open enough, but I really liked the tight battles it made the game more intense. I can see why they didn't want wii motion plus, because the controls rock the wii. I really don't think natal could do better : ) Not to mention that you can configure them to be anything you want. there is no split screen gameplay in this game, but online makes up for it (hopefully they will fix this issue in "the Grinder") the computer AI on the humans are dead on but I find the Alien AI really dumb. There is no Lan mode, but there has not been a wii game that has does than anyway. Over all it is a great game. yes it is not a 360 or ps3 game, but it was made just for the wii and that makes it special. I can see this game becoming a big cult and having a great sequile. Expand
  30. RichardB
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    The only review I agree with is (surprisingly) IGN's This game has fantastic online, but if you don't have online, you may want to think about getting this game. The single player experience isn't all that long, but the online is what is done right. Please buy this game. High Voltage did a great job, and they deserve all the suport they can get!
  31. JoseRubioRubio
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    This should've deserved better scores. What are the critics thinking. I think the reason why it got some low scores is because they compare it to the 360 and PS3. So like what? nintendo can't have great third party games with great graphics.
    bunch of Wii critic haters r just scared cuz the wii will return to the hardcore market
  32. LukeS.
    Jul 19, 2009
    10
    A fun game, with great graphics and a solid overall presentation. The Conduit has been a lot of fun to play online, once you've beaten the single player game. I really like The Conduit. It fits perfectly in my Wii library right alongside Mario, Zelda, and Wii Sports.
  33. zachstr
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    While it is not the best shooter ever, it is a great shooter on the Wii with some of the best graphics I have ever seen on the Wii. The online multiplayer will keep you hooked even after finishing the story.
  34. AdamAubin
    Jul 7, 2009
    9
    For what it is this game is a lot of fun.
    To me that is what matters most. It's a bit on the short side, and could use some fine polish, but I guess I just enjoy the promise of this game and my hope for a sequel.
    It makes the best of the Wii hardware.
  35. AlexanderP.
    Aug 13, 2009
    9
    I have played through the game already. I thought The Conduit was a well-done game to be honest with you. So Gamespot, Eurogamer, and 1UP.com all said the game was generic, and multiplayer was unoriginal, but none could deny the success of the graphics and controls. With all due honesty, High Voltage Software has been putting more and more successful games and has been improving with each I have played through the game already. I thought The Conduit was a well-done game to be honest with you. So Gamespot, Eurogamer, and 1UP.com all said the game was generic, and multiplayer was unoriginal, but none could deny the success of the graphics and controls. With all due honesty, High Voltage Software has been putting more and more successful games and has been improving with each game that comes out. To be honest, the graphics are second to Galaxy, maybe Brawl. The difficulty of the game to me started off harder than most Wii games I've played, but once I got used to getting swamped by Drudges and other soldiers, I got through the game pretty quickly. Was it original like Gamespot said? I can't disagree with them, but can't the same thing be said with a lot of other shooter games on the market right now? The only thing I thought about when I played through the single player was how short the game was, I thought it could've been better with more missions and other whatnot. "Multiplayer" was fun, but the only thing they offered in their multiplayer mode was the online play. I can tell you right now, I am not very good at online multiplayer. Nonetheless, the connection was always very good every time I have played and it was always fun to play. I honestly thought there would have been an offline multiplayer mode, but I guess you can't put everything on a Wii (unless it's a double layer game). Bottomline, it's still a good game to have. With the very slow sales going on, don't be surprised if the price of the game goes down very quickly, that's gonna be a great time to pick up a copy of this game. Expand
  36. John
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Ignore the reviews, they're all flawed (except IGNs) All of them ignore some part of the Conduit's amazingness. A few of them didn't even realize about the Games customizable controls. Contrary to reviews, the single player isn't that short, because its damn hard. The AI is amazing, ambushing me, flanking me, and dodging. The NP reviewer played it on easy difficulty, Ignore the reviews, they're all flawed (except IGNs) All of them ignore some part of the Conduit's amazingness. A few of them didn't even realize about the Games customizable controls. Contrary to reviews, the single player isn't that short, because its damn hard. The AI is amazing, ambushing me, flanking me, and dodging. The NP reviewer played it on easy difficulty, no wonder he thought it was crap. Multiplayer, this game shines, with so many options. This game, is truly a wii gem, and one which every self-respecting wii gamer should have. Collapse
  37. LizzyM.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. The only complaint I have about this game is the single player campaign is way too short. The graphics are great on the wii and the controls are really good and customizable. This game's strong point is defiantly the online multi-player. I've done a few matches online and it runs very smoothly. The levels I've played through were really big and cool. This game is awesome. The only complaint I have about this game is the single player campaign is way too short. The graphics are great on the wii and the controls are really good and customizable. This game's strong point is defiantly the online multi-player. I've done a few matches online and it runs very smoothly. The levels I've played through were really big and cool. The single player is really great but short. I haven't played through the game entirely but of what I have played of it is really fun. Expand
  38. TimS
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is easily the best fpd on the Wii, but it is so much more. Despite the single player campaign being short, I enjoyed it and the story. The Conduit isn't as cliched as people would want you to believe, with pot twists that I never saw coming. At the climax of the story is a cliffhanger, a la Halo, which had me wanting more (in a good way). My only beef with the campaign is The Conduit is easily the best fpd on the Wii, but it is so much more. Despite the single player campaign being short, I enjoyed it and the story. The Conduit isn't as cliched as people would want you to believe, with pot twists that I never saw coming. At the climax of the story is a cliffhanger, a la Halo, which had me wanting more (in a good way). My only beef with the campaign is the continuity of the missions. They seem a little disjointed. But that is only a small con, up agianst many pros. The Multiplayer is amazing. I can't think of another word for it. Even though you can only use Wii Speak with friends, I have fun playing it every time I get onto the Nintendo WiFi. Being the fist original game from High Voltage Software, this is an impressive game. I'm sure that this will sell enough for a sequel. Expand
  39. ShannonW.
    Jul 19, 2009
    9
    Finally a great shooter for the Wii. I love shooters and have played thousands of hours or single player and online shooters dating back to Tribes and this was truly one of my favorites. The abilty to customize the controls and to play free online has had me locked on this game for hours since I bought it. Finally a new way to play shooters so that I don't have to buy something that Finally a great shooter for the Wii. I love shooters and have played thousands of hours or single player and online shooters dating back to Tribes and this was truly one of my favorites. The abilty to customize the controls and to play free online has had me locked on this game for hours since I bought it. Finally a new way to play shooters so that I don't have to buy something that plays just like all the other shooters on consoles. Thank you High Voltage Software, Sega and Nintendo for finally bringing something new and fun to the shooter arena. Expand
  40. MikeB
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    The Conduit gets a high rating in my book for its customization and multiplayer. The campaign mode may have been generic and short, but the fact that High Voltage Software and SEGA poured so much effort into creating "a gamer's game" really makes this a stand-out title for 2009 and for the Wii in general.
  41. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Great Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were aGreat Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were a must and really made the game better. I understand The Conduit 2 is coming soon and I will dump the $50 to get it. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.