The Conduit Wii

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Jun 23, 2009
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 258
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2016
    5
    I can't for the life of me understand why this game has such a high score. The only reason to play this game is because it doesn't have a lot of FPS competition on the Wii. But that's kind of silly because the Metroid Prime games were already out. And if Metroid isn't your thing, well Red Steel came out in 2006.

    I kept thinking I was enjoying the game the way I'd enjoy crappy indie game
    I can't for the life of me understand why this game has such a high score. The only reason to play this game is because it doesn't have a lot of FPS competition on the Wii. But that's kind of silly because the Metroid Prime games were already out. And if Metroid isn't your thing, well Red Steel came out in 2006.

    I kept thinking I was enjoying the game the way I'd enjoy crappy indie game with all its indie charm, but there's nothing indie about it. By the time I got to the end, it was clear it was just a regular bad game. The complete non-resolution of a cliffhanger was just insulting. Definitely not worth suffering through all the mediocre repetitive gameplay and bare-minimum linear level design.

    I'm very good at searching for secrets, but I couldn't find all the secret messages in any of the 9 levels. I have no idea what I was doing wrong.
    Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2016
    5
    I had really great hopes for this game and damn, do I feel disappointed. On finishing it, there is no sense of accomplishment, no pride that comes with completing a game. Instead, I regret wasting my time, which gives this game a bad enough name. Is it all that bad? Well, no. Technically, it is quite solid. The premise is pretty basic and, sure, it won't break any new grounds but it hasI had really great hopes for this game and damn, do I feel disappointed. On finishing it, there is no sense of accomplishment, no pride that comes with completing a game. Instead, I regret wasting my time, which gives this game a bad enough name. Is it all that bad? Well, no. Technically, it is quite solid. The premise is pretty basic and, sure, it won't break any new grounds but it has worked out well in many games before the Conduit and afterwards. Alien invasion. Government conspiracy. You as a one-man army to prevent bad guys from taking over the world. You tell yourself you can turn a blind eye to the plot's shortcomings and enjoy the gameplay but after a couple of minutes you realize that the devs couldn't have gotten it more generic.

    Let's start from the beginning, though. I've already written that I don't mind a mediocre story. However, the Conduit has the most mediocre storyline of the most mediocre storylines ever conceived, a true definition of mediocrity, indeed. The voice acting is not even cheesy, it just... is. All lines, maybe except for Adams', are read out without any emotion or character, whatsoever. By contrast, in Resident Evil actors are so bad that they are fun to listen to. Here... well, look it up on youtube and listen for yourself, as it is difficult to describe something so bland in execution. Which brings me to another issue, namely - where the hell are all the cutscenes? Why am I being forced to read chunks of texts as if it was Doom 1 or 2? If only acting was a little better, then it might be justifiable, but sadly it isn't.

    Gameplay is equally generic, and for several reasons. Guns, for the most part, feel underpowered. Mind you, they do damage, but when you fire them, you don't have that sense you wield any kind of power in your hands to bring about the destruction of your nemesis. On the contrary, they feel like pop guns. A lot of them, especially the alien weapons, are more gimmicky than they need to. Overall, for a shooter, the Conduit gives little pleasure in gunplay, accompanied by soundtrack of short tracks looped over and over. But I digress... I also couldn't help but notice that there's a slight aim assist, even when you do not auto-lock on enemies. Whether it's good or bad, depends on your preferences. However, it makes the game more casual, if you ask me.

    There's a shortage of varied enemy types. Matter fact, they get very repetitive after a short while, as they are recycled level in, level out. On top of that, they usually charge at you, which - coupled with their being, oftentimes, released in swarms - makes them very annoying. It's evident that the devs were of two minds whether they wanted to make a corridor or an arena shooter. Fighting dozens of enemies is fun when you've got plenty of space to maneuver, not when you are confined to claustrophobic corridors. This increases the difficulty during some sections of several levels, especially toward the end. Honestly, I had to lower the difficulty because after relatively easy, walk-in-the-park segments of the game I could no longer handle without frustration.

    To recap, what the Conduit has in store for your is poor story, no cut scenes, bad voice acting (but not in an entertaining way), generic gunplay, enemies recycled on and on... Surprisingly, in spite of all its flaws, this game can be entertaining sometimes. All the same, it certainly does not live up to the hype and you are better off playing the first Red Steel or the worst Far Cry of all time, Vengeance. Honestly. I'll revisit the Conduit in several month. Who knows, maybe then I will change my opinion. Until then, though, I give this game 5 out of 10.
    Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2014
    8
    This is a really good Wii FPS for hardcore gamers. It was very hard but a lot of fun to play this through. The Conduit has nice controls, good graphics and an awesome soundtrack. The story could be better or at least more interesting. There are a lot of cool weapons to choose from, but the enemies could be more interesting. I will however buy the Conduit 2 because this game left me wantingThis is a really good Wii FPS for hardcore gamers. It was very hard but a lot of fun to play this through. The Conduit has nice controls, good graphics and an awesome soundtrack. The story could be better or at least more interesting. There are a lot of cool weapons to choose from, but the enemies could be more interesting. I will however buy the Conduit 2 because this game left me wanting more. I reccomend this game if you own a Wii. I got it used for 8€. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    The graphics are insane, and the sound is well done. The game suffers framerate issues but nothing major. The story is good. The gunplay and controls are great, and the level design and mission structure are good. The ai is impressive, but the game doesn't have enough variety. Plenty of content to be found here as well.
  5. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Usually, I would say the wii had a lot of weak FPS games but this game totally changed my opinion. The Conduit brings awesome gameplay with great graphics (considering the wii's power) and an amazing level of customization when it comes to everything control related. The single-player is long and satisfying and the multiplayer is fun and just epic although I would appreciate a reducedUsually, I would say the wii had a lot of weak FPS games but this game totally changed my opinion. The Conduit brings awesome gameplay with great graphics (considering the wii's power) and an amazing level of customization when it comes to everything control related. The single-player is long and satisfying and the multiplayer is fun and just epic although I would appreciate a reduced amount of hackers. This is a great game overall and I recommend it to any wii gamer. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    This game is terrific.For some reason i liked it more than 2 (which i'm currently playing).I didn't pay much attention to the story but i had fun with the game play and with the toughness of the game.Dont understand the hate of other reviewers but i dont care.A must for wii owners.
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    good arcade fps with simple but crisp visuals with great fx(for wii) perfect controls(as always on wiis fps) and varied levels make this a nice fp experience
  8. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    This game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in aThis game was terrible. Felt like as i was playing nothing, lifeless and boring. Controls, while customizable, are still bad, and making the game so graphics focused was a HORRIBLE decision on High Voltage's part. The game actually looks bad, because there's no stylization whatsoever, and realism just isn't for the Wii. And the plot. My god, the plot has to be the worst i've seen in a current generation game. It's like they didn't even bother to make a decent singleplayer. Multiplayer is also broken due to cheaters.
    Pass this one up, isn't worth it at all.
    Expand
  9. Sep 16, 2011
    6
    First of all, lemme say that I like first-person shooter; I just don't go fanboy over them. The Conduit suffers from a very cumbersome control scheme and wildy uneven difficulty. One mission will have you breeze throught it, and then the next you hit a brick wall. The graphics are gorgeous, but the blood looks like spray-paint. The Conduit isn't bad but it's not good either.
  10. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    I was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while theI was very surprised with this game, the graphics are fantastic, this is definitely the best looking Wii game I've seen so far, the controls are fantastic and very responsive, the only problem I had were some very light issues with turning, and melee attacks could use some work, voice acting is good for most of the characters, although the main characters is pretty bland, and while the story does borrow from some other sources, it is still enjoyable, and the multiplayer is fantastic, this is one of the best games on the Wii, a must get for Wii owners. Expand
  11. Jun 29, 2011
    5
    Really disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overallReally disappointing. I was hoping for a really decent FPS game on the Wii and I thought The Conduit would do it for me. I was very wrong. Though the graphics are kind of nice to look at and the controls are easy and very customisable, the overall gameplay and story is repetitive as hell. Enemies always look the same every time, the story is forgettable and boring and the overall experience is just too easy to pass up. The multiplayer is the only redeeming factor but that doesn't save the fact that it is a completely mediocre game. Expand
  12. Apr 1, 2011
    10
    Played for around five minutes.
    Gave up.
    Difficult as **** to play.
    Graphics are strange, and from what I could remember, somewhat ****ty.
    Was addicting.
    If you are looking for a game that is so **** challenging and **** addicting, this game is recommended.
    If looking for a game to play casually, or just not freaking hard as hell,
    DON'T **** BUY THIS.
  13. Jan 21, 2011
    9
    Great Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were aGreat Game, I picked up at Target for $15 dollars and was well worth it. Sitting back in my couch with my gun in one hand, and my grenade/nunchuk I manage to stop the immediate invasion. I found the story interesting and I like how they make the character sound like he is kicking their arses. Game ended short and seemed more like a trial run for the designers. Custom controls were a must and really made the game better. I understand The Conduit 2 is coming soon and I will dump the $50 to get it. Expand
  14. Jan 17, 2011
    7
    I bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good gameI bought this game for £13.50 which is a good price for what i got. The pros are it has good graphics, fast paced gameplay, nice selection of weapons. There are some serious difficulty spikes in the game though, so be warned one section in particular had me losing lives endlessly even on normal difficulty. I dont mind a challenge but this was ridiculous. this aside a good game that was very entertaining and worth the asking price. Overall a 7. Expand
  15. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    I wasn't looking forward to get this game, because the Wii doesn't have a perfect FPS games that has balanced controls and better story. However, when I played this game I'm impressed. Honestly, this is the only FPS that is well done on the Wii that I've played. The aiming is smooth and perfect, my Wiimote balance's this game perfectly. Music is really cool, should have an album. Story isI wasn't looking forward to get this game, because the Wii doesn't have a perfect FPS games that has balanced controls and better story. However, when I played this game I'm impressed. Honestly, this is the only FPS that is well done on the Wii that I've played. The aiming is smooth and perfect, my Wiimote balance's this game perfectly. Music is really cool, should have an album. Story is a little confusing, but it's not bad. But, their are problems I have with this game. The health system, you'll die so many time you will start yelling at the TV all day. First in the game, you die easily because your not wearing protective gear. Later in the game, you wear a power suit to regenerate health slowly, but you'll still die fast. Also, when you finish the game, you fell like you don't want to play it again. It's not a bad game, but when you finish it, your done with this game. Plus, the story is very short, I finished this game in about 6 hours. The online is good, but I wish the Wii has voice capability's like the PS3 and 360 has. If Nintendo can make something like that for the Wii, you will be playing this game forever. But it's still a great game, until you finish it your done with it. This game is worth a rent. Expand
  16. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    For a Wii shooter, it IS something to be noticed among all others, only when pitted against other shooters does it fall short. I for the sake of it however will stick to Wii only. The controls are Spot on, something only ever encountered on light gun games for the platform. The mouse like aiming adjustments will make A few PC-WII casual shooters feel right at home. The story...don't worryFor a Wii shooter, it IS something to be noticed among all others, only when pitted against other shooters does it fall short. I for the sake of it however will stick to Wii only. The controls are Spot on, something only ever encountered on light gun games for the platform. The mouse like aiming adjustments will make A few PC-WII casual shooters feel right at home. The story...don't worry about it, it's about as cliche as it can get. The Mutiplayer is unsurpassed by any other in it's respective genre on the platform. A few shortcomings here, but it's a great example for others to follow. Expand
  17. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up.This is the game that I've played the most on my Wii, the online is completely addictive, this was my first online FPS and I've tried other but none come close to the excitement this game produced, the controls are customizable and allow for a unique personalised online experience. The single player has an good story as their are twists and betrayal and an ending asking for a follow-up. Since I got addicted to the online gameplay more than any other game i've played I've given it a high score. Expand
  18. Sep 1, 2010
    8
    Pros:
    great game, the controls work perfectly and you can customize them, i enjoyed the story, it gave me a tones of replay value, the lighting effects was fantastic, the graphics where nice

    Cons:
    no polish, a typical run and gun game, no explorations, no fully instruct-able environments, no boss fights
  19. Aug 29, 2010
    8
    The Conduit is a nice interesting game that has many interesting ideas going for it, but it never uses to the max to make an impact on the gamer. Still, it's definitely a nice first person shooter that uses in an excellent way the Wii controls. However, the game suffers from two main problems and is that the single player campaign is way too short and it has inconsistent difficulty. ThisThe Conduit is a nice interesting game that has many interesting ideas going for it, but it never uses to the max to make an impact on the gamer. Still, it's definitely a nice first person shooter that uses in an excellent way the Wii controls. However, the game suffers from two main problems and is that the single player campaign is way too short and it has inconsistent difficulty. This means that certain parts from the beginning of the game can be really hard while others after that one can be much more easy. Yet, the game offers a very nice online multiplayer that is great for wii online players that barely get an online shooter and it works like a charm for the most part. I have hopes that the sequel will improve the mistakes done with this first part, because I have seen how greatly interested are the developers in making a great project and communicating with the fans. Expand
  20. Shane95
    Jan 2, 2010
    8
    This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i This game is good, i don't see why it got such a low score, the story is the same as other shooters, like Halo 3, the gameplay is in my opinion slightly better than killzone 2's gameplay, mainly cause i don't like charging and shooting, which makes that game easy. The Conduit online hacker problem doesn't bother me, cause there's hardly any hackers, from what i saw when i played it. Its worth it Expand
  21. MikeB
    Dec 18, 2009
    9
    The Conduit gets a high rating in my book for its customization and multiplayer. The campaign mode may have been generic and short, but the fact that High Voltage Software and SEGA poured so much effort into creating "a gamer's game" really makes this a stand-out title for 2009 and for the Wii in general.
  22. WESB
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on The fully customizable controls get a 10 from me and it's nice to have online but this is a diamond in the rough. Generic story which doesn't develop as fully as it could've and no destructible environments are some disappointments. While this isn't the only game that does this i'm always annoyed when you get your new wii game and discover it's trapped on your wii...try to play it on another wii system and get ready to start over. Smash brawl,smash up,mario kart and this game are just some of the offenders. In the end it's nintendo who treats us like thieves for legitimately buying their games. It's like thanks for buying our game...potential thief and virtuial console games are also stuck on the wii of purchase unlike 360 and ps-3 where you can put your dl content on more than 1 system. For those controller layout and custom game options including placement of health,weapon status and even the bounding box size the conduit is truely a diamond in the rough and worth purchasing hopeing the game gets a 2nd chance to improve on weak area's in this game. Expand
  23. YosefM
    Nov 14, 2009
    7
    I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode I thought the campaign mode was alright and interesting enough to play with, but the online gameplay--decent at best. I give huge props to HVS for putting effort into the game, and revolutionizing customizable controls, wii speak support and pretty graphics on a first person shooter--however, I feel like HVS focused TOO MUCH on innovative stuff, and less on overall gameplay. Online mode has a lot of glitches--especially concerning respawn glitches, also the art design of the maps are nothing special.. If anything.. It's just boring, because they're mostly symmetrical for the most part. Also I could have sworn HVS promised a party system--but it never ended up being in the final retail version. Other small things such as not being able to play private matches with yourself to test out maps, like MOH:H2 and WaW Wii really bugged me. Expand
  24. MartinW
    Oct 31, 2009
    4
    I'm a single player gamer so the single gamer campaign is critical to me. Hence my score. The story was bland and the action very dated, Graphically at times it was just about superior to the original xbox, on very rare occasions but generally much weaker and to be honest 'Black' on the ps2 is more impressive most of the time.
  25. JohnF
    Oct 12, 2009
    6
    Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. Let me preface by saying I'm not a hardcore FPS fan. I'm just a casual to moderate video game player. GRAPHICS: Prior to The Conduit's release, the graphics was one of the major talking points. Having beat the game, I'm not impressed. Compared to Metroid Prime 3, Mario Galaxy, Zelda TP, The Conduit ultilizes basic models with a few added textures and particle effects. It's nothing to write home about. GAMEPLAY: The controls are solid and fully customizable which is great because the default controller layout can be awkward. Puzzles and aside tasks are practically nonexistant, so thankfully the shooting/combat controls are flawless, because that's practically the only thing you'll be doing in this game. Online-multiplayer has a good amount to offer, it's just nothing special. The maps aren't compelling enough to keep things fresh over time. PRESENTATION: The story primarily plays out in text and voice dialogs between missions. Perfect Dark and GoldenEye still blow this game out of the water. By 2009 standards, text/voice boxes don't cut it. The level design is one of the worst I've ever seen in a game. They reuse rooms constantly, often immediately after each other. There is little variety in weapons and enemies-- and by little, I mean you'll be seeing the same 7-9 enemies for the entire game, likewise with the weapons. The music is a mind-numbing 10 second techo look. The story ends very VERY abruptly and you don't feel like you've gotten anywhere between the first and final level. Expand
  26. GregB.
    Oct 11, 2009
    6
    This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but This game should have been great, customizable controls, best graphics on the system, and 12 person online multiplayer. The single player is good, but by the 3 level it just gets to repetitive. The Conduit can be extremely frustrating, with most levels you having to face an endless wave of enemies until you destroy the portals or eggs there coming from. There are some boss fights, but they suck and are underwhelming. The first time you see one of these huge aliens you expect a great battle, but they don't even fire at you, the only damage you'll take is ammo lose. Online play is usually lag free and there are plenty of people, but there is nothing to keep you playing. All you earn by playing is a new medal next to your name. Overall it should have been a much better game than it was, I would wait for Call of Duty Reflex or just get WaW. Expand
  27. Steven
    Oct 10, 2009
    6
    Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really Well seeing the mixed reviews of this game, it seemes to be based on your preferences for a fps. The graphics and the amount of customization on this game is fantastic, but that is really the best part of the game. This game would flop if it was on the 360 or PS3, as their is much better games for those systems, but sadly this is a really good game by the wii's standards. So really your review is based what level of games you have played prior to this game. Expand
  28. JacobF.
    Sep 12, 2009
    6
    Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're Sadly, the technology behind this game is far superior to the game itself. For a game on the Wii, the graphical capability is incredible. But even that is marred, as there are many textures, which are often blurry, due to their low quality and resolution. The level design is often bland, and often very similar to the corridor you just passed through. It reminds me of when you're following the Monitor of the Index in Halo. You run around, shooting baddies, and then run into a room that looks almost identical to the one you were just in. It occasionally lags, and the gameplay is just repetition. You run here, shoot a couple aliens and conspirators, run here, shoot a couple more... The gameplay works, but it's just so darn boring and repetitive. The story is kind of lousy. It's way too short, and it's a basic story that has been done over and over again. The government is conspiring against the American people, with a secret organization that is claiming aliens are invading, while actually covering up the fact that they're the ones making these creatures, all to gain the trust of the people and the president, and then gain control. Similar things have been done before. The sounds are pretty good, and are one of the good points of the game. The voice acting is okay, the sounds are pretty good, and I didn't see an enormous amount of downsides. Might be a little simplistic and poorly written, but that's the fault of the script writers and sound directors. The controls and user interface are great, since you can customize them anyway you want. The multiplayer, in my opinion, is not good. It wasn't fun, and many times I couldn't even get on. It isn't the fault of my internet connection, because I have a very reliable 20 MB connection. In online games, I often have one of the lowest ping times. But I would try to get online, or join a game, and the console would just freeze. I would have to shut off the console to be able to do anything again. A couple times I joined a game, I could hear the people around me running around and shooting everyone, but my screen would be black with the HUD on it, and I wasn't able to do anything. I couldn't go to the Wii Menu with the Home button. A little picture of a crossed out home button would appear, and I would be stuck unless I turned off the console or waited for the game to end. Overall, this game makes a good rental, but don't waste your money to buy this game, unless all you have is a Wii, and need a shooter. The breakdown: The graphical capabilities are good. But the artistic quality is not. A point docked. The story is bland and unoriginal. A point docked. The gameplay is boring and repetitive. A point docked. Terrible multiplayer. A point docked. Good voice acting, but somewhat counteracted, and therefore made mediocre, by the boring script and poor directing. No points docked, but definitely not to be praised. The sounds effects are pretty good. No points docked. So, all in all, it gets a 6. Mediocre, with little imagination and work put into it. Good rental, but not a good buy. Maybe High Voltage Software's next games will be better, as they don't have to build a new engine. Expand
  29. RussellF
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very The Conduit is great. Note that I didn't add 'for a Wii game' at the end of that sentence. I look at all of these low scores in confusion; what happened to these people that they couldn't enjoy the game as much as I did? The most common complaint seems to be the story of the game. I partially agree with this sentiment: the story that is presented to you is very mediocre. That is not all there is to the story, however. The main theme of the game is conspiracy and secrets. Thus the more interesting parts of the tale are told through the secret messages on the walls located by the ASE, and the radio chatter heard as you walk through levels. The story they tell is very deep, involving an alien race known as the Annunaki, Sumerian and Greek mythology, and American history. It's a lot in information to discover and work through, so if you are interested in hearing more of the story, you can go the this URL (NOTE: There are spoilers involved, so I'd recommend finishing the game before checking it out): http://uk.gamespot.com/wii/action/theconduit/show_msgs.php?topic_id=m-1-50295705&pid=947068&page=0 Another common complaint seems to be that the enemy AI is lacking. I've heard from many review sources that the best strategy is to "run 'n gun" through the whole game. I would only recommend this strategy if you intend to lure your enemies into a false sense of security, or kill them by making them laugh so hard that they choke. Though on some occasions faulty, the AI is smart enough to take cover, flank you, and swarm you with their numbers as the situation calls. Yes, one or two guys do occasionally get stuck, but as a whole the enemy AI is formidable, especially in the higher difficulty settings. The graphics are a mixed bag: some of the effects are excellent, even early 360 worthy. On the other hand, some textures are blurry and muddy. The character models look great, but the enviornments are bland, and in the case of the horizon laughable. Still, the graphics are decent enough to not pull you out of the experience. The game sounds great. Voices of the main characters are believeable and good, the weapons have strong bangs and electric whirs as necessary and the enemies scream and yell "THERE HE IS!" with just enough vigor to take seriously. All the way down here, and I still havent mentioned the control. This has the best control of any console FPS bar none. Every aspect is customizable, making for a great, custom tailored experience. If you have any problems at all, you can change the controls and see their effect on your play in realtime. This system will be the benchmark for FPS control on Wii, and rightly so. Online games are a snap to sign on to. The guys at High Voltage have studied the other popular online FPSs well. The system is simple, you only need to point and click, and you're online. In addition, The Conduit is the second game to utilize the Wii Speak peripheral. I've yet to use it (I lack one), but from what I've heard it works well. Friend codes rear their ugly head again, but you don't need them to play online. The Conduit can connect you to national and worldwide matches without those finicky numbers. The only issue with the multiplayer is the fact that there is no local multiplayer. So if you were interested in playing against your friend who is sitting right next to you, you're out of luck. The Conduit is a fun time. The story is deep for those who look for it, the graphics are nice, the gameplay is awe inspiring, and the multiplayer is the best on the console. If you own only a Wii buy this game. If you own any other console, at least give it a rent before trashing it on the nearest forum. Expand
  30. EdwardG
    Aug 17, 2009
    8
    As a PC online FPS gamer (L4D, TF2, CSS, etc back to UT & Q3) this is the first console shooter I have enjoyed playing. I bought a Wii for Console Games. Not Beat em Ups: the Dreamcast and Arcade sticks still holds its own there, but Platformers, On screen multiplayer, and stuff it is fun to play with a friend even if the game is single player. The Conduit is no Bioshock as an overall As a PC online FPS gamer (L4D, TF2, CSS, etc back to UT & Q3) this is the first console shooter I have enjoyed playing. I bought a Wii for Console Games. Not Beat em Ups: the Dreamcast and Arcade sticks still holds its own there, but Platformers, On screen multiplayer, and stuff it is fun to play with a friend even if the game is single player. The Conduit is no Bioshock as an overall experience but the controls actually create a sense of immersion that is lacking (for me and many other PC gamers) with game pad FPS's on the other consoles. The visuals are not super HD FSAA x8 FSAA x 16 (lets not play the PC vs Console visuals game here) but they are good enough not to distract if you are used to playing next gen shooters. Sure the art is poor in some sections. But good in others. The AI is a bit random. More consistent on harder levels. The story is okay. This isn't an epic. It won't make you cry. But it might make you grin. And the online is a blast. Some nights I don't want to spend 30 minutes trying to get a decent L4D game and then deal with the stress of 'Am I playing well enough for my friends'. The Conduit is a perfect solution. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2009
#33 Most Shared Wii Game of 2009
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79
  1. Nintendo Power
    80
    The best pure first-person shooter on the Wii. [July 2009, p.84]
  2. Nowhere near classic status, but this is a welcome companion to "Metroid Prime: Corruption." [July 2009, p.78]
  3. 86
    While the game does not turn the genre upside-down, it is innovative in certain areas -- for example, it features the most customizable, precise and enjoyable controls of any console shooter created, hands down.