User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 3 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GrahamD.
    Jun 30, 2008
    10
    This is a great game that doesn't get the credit it deserves. Even after you beat it, you'll keep coming back for the not stop action and intense shoot outs. The controls are flawless and will keep you coming. This is definately one of the best Wii tities
  2. DougL
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Great until the end... If I had rated this when i had first started playing this I would have given it a 10, greta use of the motion controls great story line excellent graphics as far as the Wii is concerned (if you want Xbox graphics buy an Xbox) and good sound/music. After you take over your first warehouse you are about good enough to finish the game. I do not use free aiming much but Great until the end... If I had rated this when i had first started playing this I would have given it a 10, greta use of the motion controls great story line excellent graphics as far as the Wii is concerned (if you want Xbox graphics buy an Xbox) and good sound/music. After you take over your first warehouse you are about good enough to finish the game. I do not use free aiming much but it worked when i wanted it to. I would have varied what is required to take over a business as the game goes on some how and there should be more of a penalty for dying. The game is repetitive towards the end, but at least it makes you repeat fun things. I will tell you if you like the GTA-style of game at all you will be hooked the first time you choke someone down or throw them off roof or out of a window. Collapse
  3. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    8
    Fun, deep game, with a very mature setting. If you are a fan of the movies, you will enjoy this game. The wii specific controls are some of the best to date.
  4. KeithB.
    Sep 13, 2007
    7
    As a fan of beat 'em ups and GTA, I was really looking forward to Godfather on Wii. Overall, its very nice, and really enjoyable, however could have used a bit more polishing. Noticable right off the bat is textures, they're a bit muddy at times (especially on clothes). Luca Brassi looks like he's wearing a burlap sack for a coat. Next up, the motion controls aren't as As a fan of beat 'em ups and GTA, I was really looking forward to Godfather on Wii. Overall, its very nice, and really enjoyable, however could have used a bit more polishing. Noticable right off the bat is textures, they're a bit muddy at times (especially on clothes). Luca Brassi looks like he's wearing a burlap sack for a coat. Next up, the motion controls aren't as great as the reviews and what not made it seem to be, but it is still a blast punching people, slamming them around, etc. Of the controls, my biggest complaint is with the aiming. You can lock on and use autoaim, or aim with the wiimote. The problem is, the free aim, isn't really free. It gets sluggish, and doesn't respond well. You can also do an assisted aiming, which works better, but is still a pain. If you prefer shooting with out the motion controls, then that is not a problem. Overall, awesome game, but has a few drawbacks. Well worth the lower than normal price. Expand
  5. GameFreak
    Jul 25, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome! I have played the GTA San Andreas, and I got bored pretty quickly. Godfather, however, keeps me engaged for hours. The missions are really well thought out, and using the Wii controls allows you to get the most of the experience. It isn't too easy nor too hard. A perfect game.
  6. FredC.
    Jun 26, 2007
    9
    As a Nintendo junkie, I've never played Grand Theft Auto, but this is what I imagine Grand Theft Auto to be, if skinned with The Godfather. And it feels very tight to the Godfather storyline and feel. Certainly, the missions can feel repetitive, but the world is gigantic and there is always a slight variation if there are any duplications to missions.
  7. AlvinH.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    One of the best games I've bought for my Wii.....it is similar to Grand Theft Auto in the fact you can run around New York, have multiple missions at once, never gets boring! It will take anywhere from 20-30 hours to complete, but there are so many different ways to do missions, you can play this over and over again! The Wii's unique controller is used pretty wisely, could have One of the best games I've bought for my Wii.....it is similar to Grand Theft Auto in the fact you can run around New York, have multiple missions at once, never gets boring! It will take anywhere from 20-30 hours to complete, but there are so many different ways to do missions, you can play this over and over again! The Wii's unique controller is used pretty wisely, could have been slightly more innovative but I love the game, you swing your Wii controller to punch and so forth! BUY IT!! You'll love it! Graphics are the only thing that isn't really the greatest.... Expand
  8. BigL.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    This is the second best game for the Wii by far. Great fun. The gunplay is fast and furious, the melee.... the first time i swung the wiimote to smack a !@$# in the head was a moment to remember. I would recommend this to anyone who isn't bothered by Brutal, Constant violence (not graphic violence, mind you.. cept for the cutscenes), constant swearing, and uh.... Hmm. It says "Sexual This is the second best game for the Wii by far. Great fun. The gunplay is fast and furious, the melee.... the first time i swung the wiimote to smack a !@$# in the head was a moment to remember. I would recommend this to anyone who isn't bothered by Brutal, Constant violence (not graphic violence, mind you.. cept for the cutscenes), constant swearing, and uh.... Hmm. It says "Sexual Themes" on the box, but all I saw were some brothels with prostitutes... can't do anything with them though... odd. Anyway, get this game. Expand
  9. BjornT.
    May 11, 2007
    9
    never played the game on another platform, love it. the best game i have for the wii so far. love headbutting people, getting lost in madhatten. To be picky, the driving bit should have been done with the controller, ho hum, its still rather good though
  10. CurtisM.
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    This definitely the best game I played on the Wii console so far. I have always been a fan of the GTA series right from the start but I don't think its a stretch to says that I have enjoyed this game more than any of them. The freedom to roam around and take over NY at your leisure along with awesome missions make this game well worth the money. As everyone else has mentioned, the This definitely the best game I played on the Wii console so far. I have always been a fan of the GTA series right from the start but I don't think its a stretch to says that I have enjoyed this game more than any of them. The freedom to roam around and take over NY at your leisure along with awesome missions make this game well worth the money. As everyone else has mentioned, the developers made good use of the Wii remote/nunchuck capabilities. Buy it and you won't regret. Expand
  11. Xwind92
    Apr 14, 2007
    10
    Beating the Crap! Out of people what more can you ask for? strangle, throw, bash, thrash. Its so fun!! If you like GTA get this game if you dont like GTA still get this game!
  12. SamuelL
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Great game! excellent face art.
  13. ChristianD.
    Mar 30, 2007
    8
    If you never played the other Versions, This one should be your choice. Fantastic controlls and some pretty cool new content.
  14. PhillipV.
    Mar 28, 2007
    9
    Boom Baby! That was my initial reaction when I started playing this game. Using the Wii remote to "force protection" on your enemies is very innovative and just made me want to continue playing. The weapon wheel was very easy to use and made it easier to take on several enemies at once. Overall it was a very good game.
  15. RavenX301
    Mar 25, 2007
    8
    This is a great game. I like the fact that it really trys to compound itself as much as it can with the movie while trying to keep it a different experience. There are a ton of cool things to do (even though it manly leds to just killing or hurting someone) and the fighting on Wii is certainly a strong selling point. The graphics are probably the worst I've seen in a long time which This is a great game. I like the fact that it really trys to compound itself as much as it can with the movie while trying to keep it a different experience. There are a ton of cool things to do (even though it manly leds to just killing or hurting someone) and the fighting on Wii is certainly a strong selling point. The graphics are probably the worst I've seen in a long time which isnt terrible to me, but every block preatical looks the same. I don't like having to always look at the mini map all the time., You feel so enclosed because there are only 'set' alley ways and everything else just boxes you in. The game is very dark as well. Not too many sunny days (which may be good sense the buildings all look terrible in detail) But the fact that everything feels Sooooo artificial and without substance is such a bad thing for a game thats trying to be like GTA and others. All in all, there feels like their is always something to do and the RPG elements are fun to look forward to and play with. Plus the Wii has the best controls (if executed nicely) and this game differently has that going for it. Expand
  16. JonathanC.
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    The controls are absolutely the best. I love throwing the thugs through windows and using the wiimote to beat someone down with a bat or to punch them!
  17. DanaO
    Mar 23, 2007
    9
    Wednesday night, right after work, my wife and I went to EB Games. She brought my copy of Mario Kart: Double Dash, which has a $20 trade-in value, slightly less than the average going rate on eBay. I figured I'd trade it in towards The Godfather: Blackhand Edition for Wii so that I didn't have to pay full price out of my pocket. Considering I'm not going to play Mario Kart Wednesday night, right after work, my wife and I went to EB Games. She brought my copy of Mario Kart: Double Dash, which has a $20 trade-in value, slightly less than the average going rate on eBay. I figured I'd trade it in towards The Godfather: Blackhand Edition for Wii so that I didn't have to pay full price out of my pocket. Considering I'm not going to play Mario Kart ever again, and the hassle of selling it on eBay for a measly extra $5 or so, it was worth it. Initially I wasn't sure I would like this game, not being a huge fan of the free-roaming styles common to games like Morrowind and GTA and the like. And I am not big on mobster movies, so I figured it wouldn't be worth my time. But I was wrong. Dead wrong. Well, I grabbed the new release and came home and popped it in right away. That was about 8 hours ago. Taking breaks for food and washroom, and a bit of relaxation, so far I have played this game for a total of 6 hours and 15 minutes, according to my Wii's time logs. This means that in the first night of owning the game, I have played it already more than Call of Duty 3 (a game I bought alongside the Wii on launch day), and also more than Rampage: Total Destruction, Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz, and Monster 4x4: World Circuit combined. I played it for over two hours longer than I played WarioWare: Smooth Moves during the brief time I owned it. There are a ton of things to do, and the map is huge. You can find lots of little business to bust in on and take over, using a small array of tactics to try and persuade their loyalty. You can temporarily bribe cops to turn a blind eye to your rampages. You can take on tasks for people, such as taking care of a pesky thug in the back alley, or knocking someone off. You can buy new duds which will help you earn more respect. You can talk to people, you can beat people up, you can get into firefights with the cops, you can rob banks... This game has TONS of content, and it is very engaging and fun so far. The controls in this game are also great. They are intuitive, so you basically do what you want to with the controllers, and your character does it. It takes a bit of getting used to, but if this is not your first Wii game, then you will adjust in no time. Punching feels exceptionally good, as does smacking people into walls. And don't get me started on how much fun it is to hit people with a baseball bat! Aiming your projectile weapons is also another good control scheme, with both a target-centered mode and a free-aim mode, you get your pick of how you want to aim your pistol/tommy gun/shotgun. The controls overall feel great, but the camera controls are slightly strange. I want to invert the camera rotation option, and the option is there... But that works well until you get into a free-aim situation, where if you want to turn to the left, you need to move your cursor to the right of the screen. That is just very, very wrong, and I think it slipped by the QA team because I can't think of one reason anybody in their right minds would like this. The only other thing I would have preferred done differently was the driving controls. I wish EA had copied the jeep-driving control ideas from Call of Duty 3, but improved upon it. That would have made for the complete package. But overall, driving isn't terrible, certainly no worse than you'll experience on any other system. The sound and music are good, and I have no major complaints other than the often repeated phrases from people you speak to and limited voice actor variety. One thing I did notice is that when played through a Dolby ProLogic II decoder, the audio seems to be a little jumpy from channel to channel if you are, for example, rotating or moving around someone or something making sounds. But overall, it isn't that big a deal, and sure doesn't impede gameplay fun for me. For the money you're going to pay, there is no better Wii game out there right now if you are looking for a deep game that can keep you busy and engaged for many hours at a time, with tons of stuff to do, and great use of Wii controls. If you are looking for a game where you play one mission here, one mission there, this might not be the best game for you (might I suggest Sonic & the Secret Rings?). But it's certainly worth a rental if you are a fan of Grand Theft Auto and have never tried The Godfather series before. If you're a GTA fan, I think you'd be hard-pressed to not enjoy this game, especially considering it really is the only option of that style on the Wii at the moment. Simply put, this game ROCKS! If you are fine with Mature titles (violence, foul language, sexuality), decent but not amazing graphics, great controls, and gameplay that draws you in, The Godfather: Blackhand Edition is for you. 8.7 out of 10 (rounded to 9 for Metacritic). Expand
  18. SarahR.
    Mar 22, 2007
    8
    SUCH a good game. It was one of my favorites on the Xbox, so I couldn't wait to get it on the Wii (now that I don't have my Xbox anymore) and it's worth the money for the controls alone. The Wii remotes make it so much more fun to shoot, punch, and strangle one's way through New York... I love it! My only complaints are that the graphics are still a bit dated -- though SUCH a good game. It was one of my favorites on the Xbox, so I couldn't wait to get it on the Wii (now that I don't have my Xbox anymore) and it's worth the money for the controls alone. The Wii remotes make it so much more fun to shoot, punch, and strangle one's way through New York... I love it! My only complaints are that the graphics are still a bit dated -- though better than they were on the Xbox -- and the gameplay does get repetitive after a while. Still, great fun! If they never release GTA on the Wii console, I will be playing Godfather for quite some time. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. 80
    A great first step on Wii, as it uses more than 25 gestures, IR aiming, and has a ton of features above the original game in the form of new items, missions, gameplay modes (favors and blackmailing specifically), and RPG elements. More important than any list of numbers and features though, is the fact that The Godfather is just fun to play.
  2. The Godfather is the perfect example of how Wii controls can make an average game better. It's a shame it doesn't look better, but this is still highly recommended for action fans. [Apr 2007, p.89]
  3. We haven't been bowled over by most of the Wii-makes hitting shelves so far, but The Godfather is a definite exception. The controls and extra content more than make up for the fact that the game already looks visually dated.