Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Last Story is a JRPG for the Wii console from Hironobu Sakaguchi that lets you take charge of a band of mercenaries and journey with them into a sprawling cinematic adventure. Enjoy the adventure alone in this epic Wii game or jump into online multiplayer modes with up to five other players. [Nintendo UK] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    92
    Hironobu Sakaguchi and Nobuo Uematsu team up again to make a Japanese RPG which can be easily considered one of the best in years. It succeeds in innovating in a lot of features, with a charming gameplay that works and is very fun. It also has an epic and well-told story. A must-have for fans of the genre.
  2. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    Sakaguchi knows how to make great JRPGs. The Last Story is a memorable and magical work. The combat system is brilliant, it's fun, and Nobuo Uematsu's music helps you to remember the great games of the genre. Nintendo Wii has another essential. Zael will be your friend.
  3. Aug 1, 2012
    90
    Overall, however, The Last Story is an awesome experience. [Aug 2012, p.84]
  4. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Full of gags, bawdy humour and pratfalls (what other game gives you the chance to shoot bananas at the feet of citizens for comic relief?) it's got charm to spare. Unlike Sakaguchi's biggest hit, The Last Story's title is more likely to be a self-fulfilling prophecy, but it represents compelling proof that there's still life in the old JRPG yet.
  5. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    An engaging and refreshingly svelte JRPG, but one that offers mere hints at where the genre may go from here rather than the new blueprint it could have been. [Issue#121, p.110]
  6. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    The Last Story and Xenoblade Chronicles are two different games which both try to achieve certain similar goals, however, The Last Story often shows potential without ever fully succeeding in basically every field. Visuals are absolutely pretty but special effects cause heavy FPS drops; battles are intriguing but extremely easy and confusing; the story itself is well told but very cliché. It's an overall good game, although it doesn't live up to its own hype.
  7. Aug 14, 2012
    40
    If The Last Story is the Wii's swan song, it is a miserable dirge, full of regret and remorse.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    What an amazing game. it is worth every penny. it is one of the best j rpgs of all time and i think its close to xenoblade. had a great story. i did not finish the game yet but so far its been a great experience. good graphics for the wii and had great gameplay Expand
  2. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    I wrote a review of this game August 14th when it was released, and while my score doesn't differ, my opinion does.

    I hadn't completed the
    game when I wrote the review, but when I finally did, I realized just how much I loved this game and will remember it for years to come. The Last Story and Lost Odyssey really show Mistwalker's talent, and I hope they come out with something new soon. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    An absolute beautiful game. Just what you would expect from the genius behind early Final Fantasy games and the man behind the majority of Final Fantasy's OSTs.

    I just want to get the two bad things out of the way:
    1. It's too short. I finished it in 19 hours, which isn't short. But for a game which such a great story you just wish it was longer.
    2. This one is a funny one, because it's also one of the best parts about it the battle system. It can get a bit clunky when trying to move while surrounded enemies.

    About from that. The characters reminds me a lot of Final Fantasy X's, but that's a good thing. They feel different enough to not be a copy. Vast majority of the game takes place in 1 town, which might seem like a bit of a bore, but the story flows so brilliantly that it will not bother you.

    Like most JRPGs of the PS2/GC PS3/Wii generation the game is rather linear. But the story is so beautiful and the characters feel so life-like and are totally lovable that you will not care for the linear factor. Unlike Final Fantasy XIII, the linear aspect here works in The Last Story's favor.

    I did want to give it a high 9, as it does have some flaws. But it's more worthy of a 10 as oppose to a 9. Go out and buy this if you have a Wii. It's cheap and worth every dolllar.
    Expand
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    The characters in this game hook you in before the story even begins to fall into place. There may be missteps, yet that's welcomed when tackling the JRPG genre with a new style of gameplay and battle mechanics. When playing this game I experienced as though I progressed through more of an actual story as oppossed to a campaign with no soul. Truly a one of a kind gem in the Wii library that shines brightly. Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    This is another great jrpg on the wii. With a few plot twists, lovable characters and a great combat system, this is another must buy for any jrpg fans or wii owners. 8.5/10 Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    The Last Story is a pretty good but flawed game. Graphically speaking it's by far the best looking game I've seen so far on the WII, because so it does tend to get choppy and gets frequent frame rate drops at times but usually doesn't last more then thirty seconds. Controls are actually somewhat straightforward and somewhat difficult to figure out. I found myself being confused trying to use certain skills at times but other then that it was easy all you pretty much had to do to attack was run into enemies and the player you control would automatically attack. The story isn't bad and there are a few side quests to help you enjoy the game more, at the time of the games end I had clocked in around 28 hours. There were some boring parts in the game but still it was enjoyable. Music and sounds were awesome and characters were unique and interesting. This game is actually good and I had more fun with it then I did with Xenoblade, but there were some aspects that left me wishing there was more ways to customize my characters or maybe more ways to change the outcome. Still this is one of the best looking games on the WII and one worth playing for RPG fans. Expand
  7. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    this game is just beyond crap.... lame gampeplay (the stealth sections is a total embarassement), a silly story, no exploration... and the framerate is a joke.... no interest at all... what a shame for sakaguchi.... Expand

See all 32 User Reviews