User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1704 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Beste game zelda ever.

    El mejor Zelda que he visto y uno de los grandes juegos de la generacion. Los haters que se abstengan de puntuar. Hay que jugar al jurgo para tener opinion propia.

    Muy buena banda sonora, buen control, rejugable, excelente en todo.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I'm having a lot of trouble understanding the negative reviews complaining about controls and fetch quests. There's always side quests in any sort of RPG, but they are OPTIONAL. Unless you count items and flames that you obtain in dungeons as fetch quests? Regardless, I've decided the control complaints are simply because you suck at the game. I've had no problems, and this is my favoriteI'm having a lot of trouble understanding the negative reviews complaining about controls and fetch quests. There's always side quests in any sort of RPG, but they are OPTIONAL. Unless you count items and flames that you obtain in dungeons as fetch quests? Regardless, I've decided the control complaints are simply because you suck at the game. I've had no problems, and this is my favorite Zelda game yet. The perfect blend of homages to previous games and new, imaginative elements and design. A must have for any gamer, Wii owner, or Zelda fan. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Not the best wii game, is not the
    best nintendo game is not the best
    game of this gene is in the best game I've played in my life ... this game is simply a work of art, beyond anything I've ever played, its graphics are wonderful and are very well defined (eg shadows) and the graphic quality deserves a 10 as well as pc. epic sound and well defined, the soundtrack is a great job
    Not the best wii game, is not the
    best nintendo game is not the best
    game of this gene is in the best
    game I've played in my life ... this
    game is simply a work of art, beyond
    anything I've ever played, its
    graphics are wonderful and are very
    well defined (eg shadows) and the
    graphic quality deserves a 10 as well
    as pc. epic sound and well defined,
    the soundtrack is a great job and
    without comparison, you could
    expect from a Zelda? Wii technology
    used to 100 in this game, see note 8
    enemies moving in front of you with
    total flow while moving the wii
    motion +. overflows innovation and
    gameplay is superb, find those who
    hate nintendo or play pure shooters,
    this is a masterpiece of 10:)
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is an amazing game! Everything in this game works perfectly, including the puzzles, motion controls, and graphics. This is easily a contender for the best Zelda game ever and one of my favorite games. If you don't have a Wii yet, this game is the reason to get one.
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    its reviews like ActivisionFan99's that really make me say to myself, "what". have you ever played a zelda game through in your entire life? a game's worth shouldnt be based off of whether or not the graphics look, photorealistic, or, "geared for a younger audience". with the wake of games like COD, the actual substance and gameplay of games doesnt mean jack **** if it isnt in HD. anyits reviews like ActivisionFan99's that really make me say to myself, "what". have you ever played a zelda game through in your entire life? a game's worth shouldnt be based off of whether or not the graphics look, photorealistic, or, "geared for a younger audience". with the wake of games like COD, the actual substance and gameplay of games doesnt mean jack **** if it isnt in HD. any single zelda game has more depth than the whole COD series combined. And seriously, give a 5 year old a zelda game and see how far he gets. let me tell you - not very far. give a 5 year old a 360 controller and COD... and he'll be just fine holding down the trigger doing the same thing for hours. Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Zelda Skyward Sword is not just one of the best games in years: it's also one of the most controversial.
    Many wrote this game off before they ever even played it, spouting comments like "the graphics are childlike" or more commonly "Motion controls are always terrible"
    If you are one of the people who fall into this crowed, I strongly urge you to play the game. Dismiss any bias you might
    Zelda Skyward Sword is not just one of the best games in years: it's also one of the most controversial.
    Many wrote this game off before they ever even played it, spouting comments like "the graphics are childlike" or more commonly "Motion controls are always terrible"

    If you are one of the people who fall into this crowed, I strongly urge you to play the game.
    Dismiss any bias you might have toward games with motion controls, try to accept the games unique art style, even though it's different from all the HD "realistic" games that saturate the market.
    If you do what you will find is a game that achieves a greatness so vast, that many simply can't fully comprehend it.

    I can not stress enough: this game is everything that motion controlled game should have been, and hopefully represents what they will become.
    Expand
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Before I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, butBefore I write the review, I just want to say for those non-zelda lovers, or for those gamers who thought that they are hardcore because they are playing lots of COD, or skyrim etc, please do not read this review... This game is simply AMAZING, one of most amazing game in Wii or probably the best game in Wii... The graphics is beatufully stunning, You can't compare with other HD games, but for Wii it's beautifully stunning, the best looking game in Wii... This game looks very childish, but the puzzles, the action wasn't made for kids, it's difficultness was made for mature gamers... Some people said that the control was terrible some people said it's amazing, so for my opinion this controls works just fine, Perfect! I don't what the other did or how the others did it, if you said that the control is terrible there are only two conclusion: Whether they are did it in the wrong way like Tom Mcshea from Gamespot, or their controls are broken, it works perfect, from horizontal, vertical, diagonal, etc... Thank you Nintendo for making this game... God Bless Nintendo... simply 10/10 !!! Expand
  8. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Excelente en todos los aspectos, otro clasico mas para el catalogo de Nintendo. Goob job Ninty, keep the good work, and congrats. Graphics, Sound, History and the Gameplay are excelent. This is the best Zelda game to date period. and one of the best game this Year.
  9. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First of all, this is truly one of the best Zelda games ever made. Yes, the controls may be unresponsive at sometimes but it takes the Wii capabilities to the max. This game offers a great story line, great graphics for the Wii, and some most memorable moments in Zelda history. People need to quit complaining and comparing this game to games like CoD, Assassin's creed, Uncharted, orFirst of all, this is truly one of the best Zelda games ever made. Yes, the controls may be unresponsive at sometimes but it takes the Wii capabilities to the max. This game offers a great story line, great graphics for the Wii, and some most memorable moments in Zelda history. People need to quit complaining and comparing this game to games like CoD, Assassin's creed, Uncharted, or whatever. This is a Zelda game. Not something remotely close to any of the other games. True Zelda fans will add this at the top of their list along side Ocarina of time and Twilight Princess. I give it a 10 all around. Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Another vacations with my favorite game. Thanks Nintendo for the innovation. I love Zelda Skyward Sword so much. The music is great, the storyline is so perfect, the controls is maybe the best part. It's a hard game and i aprecciate this masterpiece since the first minute until the last one. Miyamoto, Eiji and kondo: Thanks again, this will be a fantastic christmas. Now im going for SuperAnother vacations with my favorite game. Thanks Nintendo for the innovation. I love Zelda Skyward Sword so much. The music is great, the storyline is so perfect, the controls is maybe the best part. It's a hard game and i aprecciate this masterpiece since the first minute until the last one. Miyamoto, Eiji and kondo: Thanks again, this will be a fantastic christmas. Now im going for Super Mario Land 3D Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe
    First off, the negative reviews come from shallow fanboys living in mom's basement. Most FPS fanboys live in their mom's basement, living off welfare, eating nachos and watching porn because they can't get a real girl or meet real friends (no your X-Box Live list doesn't count you sad sacks)

    You come to bash games like Zelda because you are a group of brainwashed nerds who believe anything without a gun is "gay" or "kiddie". The world would be better off if you all disappeared or went far away and drowned in a lake because you are a waste of space. Now to the great game. I've played Batman: AA, Portal 2 and U3. Skyward Sword is the greatest achievement in games this year. It sets the standard for how motion controls should be used in gaming. Its the equivalent of Mario Galaxy to the Mario series. Nintendo are masters at attention to detail and Skyward Sword is no exception. Everything from the world to NPC's have so much personality and rank as some of the best in the series. Every perfect score you read folks is well deserved. The only equal this game has in 2011 is Arkham City with Skyward Sword edging it out. Zelda is back and better than ever.

    In the meantime, the trolls should worry less about killstreaks and bashing this masterpiece and losing weight. Stay free you IQ lacking trolls!
    Expand
  12. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I have been playing this game for about 35+ hours now and i can say without a doubt this is the best game of the year, one of the best games of this generation and one of if not the best Zelda games.
  13. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Sound -> 10, it's Zelda, and sounds so good!
    Graphics -> 10, it's not HD, but it's beautiful, amazing design and colorful.
    Gameplay -> 10, 1:1, nothing more to say.
    Story -> 10 too.
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction
    It's amazing how after telling the same story for 25 years Nintendo continues to have the magic of the first time.
    Skyward Sword is the best Zelda ever.
    For several years we have motion controls. Although we have enjoyed in small portions, their performance was more of a fashion. It is to this day that Fujibayashi and his team of geniuses have given me a tour of a dimension of interaction did not know. My faith has been revived: this is not a fad. The hardware depends on how developers use it. Forget everything you know about the motion controller gaming, Skyward Sword is the true beginning.

    Skyward Sword starts and doesn't stops. From start to finish, is a feast of amazing and charming characters. Explore new places and enjoy the most beautiful scenery we've seen in a videogame. In most of the adventures we've had in a game just press a button at the right time to get an achievement. However, in Skyward Sword feel firsthand the success to overcome every Bokoblin. It is not meaningless shake control: real enjoyment of defeating an enemy is to give careful consideration to each opponent. We are in the rethinking of how it should work a sword in a game-a fantasy that has been with us since childhood.
    Skyward Sword Zelda is also the freest Zelda of all. It's a world that you'd want to explore in its entirety. The options are endless, even outside the main story. Hundreds of NPCs have fun tasks you will be always busy.
    I have purposely avoided the subject of the story. Skyward Sword is something you have to play by yourself.
    Visually, Skyward Sword has a lot of personality. The graphic style is very original, from the introductory sequence to the credits, graphics feel fresh. They are very similar to the magnificent and original style of Street Fighter IV.
    The dungeons in Skyward Sword are the best I've seen the series. The battles with the bosses redefine what it means to fight a boss in a videogame. The intelligent design in all the puzzles in the game is a constant feature throughout the adventure. Get ready to find mechanisms similar to those seen in the dungeons of the last games of the series, but now scattered throughout the open world, free from confinement of a room or hallway.
    From the moment you start Skyward Sword until the last second, is an hearig brutality. The orchestral soundtrack of Koji Kondo and Hajime Wakai is perhaps the most impressive in the history of the medium. Whether you're in a cave or in a vile dungeon impressive, Skyward Sword is a sonic masterpiece. Freedom of sounds and instruments present in this title is something we've never heard in the series. The album included the 25th anniversary of the franchise is not far behind. I confess that I rarely had moved so much a melody as the theme of the source of the Great Fairy.
    this is the prime example of art in a videogame... simply a must own. 10/10
    Expand
  15. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Finally the first zelda game for the wii comes out and it's the best one since OoT, miyamoto didn't lie when he said, its the best zelda or no more zeldas.

    ITS A MUST PLAY
  16. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This is by far the most expansive and coherent Zelda game ever. Perfect controls, amazing art style and a heartfelt story make you truly invested in the characters and what happens to them. The great animations and facial expressions really sell the experience, and the dungeons and side quests are some of the best in the series.
  17. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Really great game, best wii game ever and probably best Zelda ever, Nintendo did a awesome job with the story and gameplay, i don't know how this can get better.
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Skyward Sword stands at the peak of the Nintendo videogame-crafting. It's colorful but eerie atmosphere, the polished gameplay and the amazing plot builds the greatest game in the series.
  19. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is long, beautiful and full of content along with variety. The motion controls can be a bother at times, but by no means does it keep me from enjoying this fantastic Zelda game we were promised back in 2005. It truly is what Miyamoto said it would be!
  20. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    very original game the best in zelda the new controller are the best, there are some minor flaws but they don't make it less fun or playable,They tried innovating and succeeded! This game makes old gamers happy and new people to the series as well.it's reasonably accessible for new players it does none of the claustrophobic hand-holding that many other recent Zeldas have done.
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Many of the complaints I've read about this game are about the controls. I can't understand that, as the controls have been very responsive for me. Perhaps there is some kind of interference or lack of calibration? Other than that, the gameplay is fun with plenty of exploration, the story keeps you very involved, and the fighting feels very natural. This is the perfect addition to theMany of the complaints I've read about this game are about the controls. I can't understand that, as the controls have been very responsive for me. Perhaps there is some kind of interference or lack of calibration? Other than that, the gameplay is fun with plenty of exploration, the story keeps you very involved, and the fighting feels very natural. This is the perfect addition to the Zelda franchise. Expand
  22. Tid
    Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybeAbsolutely fantastic game. From the moment it begins to the moment it ends, everything about this game is setting the standard for Zelda, the Wii, Nintendo, and video gaming. The controls are perfect, I never want to play The Legend of Zelda with buttons ever again. The motion+ technology fits so seamlessly into the traditional Zelda gameplay that I couldn't help but feel as if maybe Nintendo designed the attachment just for the sake of this game. They've given Zelda so much more depth than ever before, every instant is a challenge, and there's no button-mashing in sight.

    I don't want to spoil anything, but the story is beautiful. I'd be willing to call this the best story ever told in a Zelda game, no matter how far fetched that may sound. The wide and varied cast of main and supporting characters differs from the Zelda norm, but it's a refreshing change, and upholds the usual charm that we've come to expect from this series.

    Unfortunately, the game isn't the best looking thing we've ever seen. Compared to the other big name titles hitting stores this month, it simply isn't as visually impressive. However, it pushes the Wii to its absolute limits, there's definitely no better looking game on the system. It was a wise decision for Nintendo to take a more painted art style approach rather than a realistic one, or else the hardware Zelda has been limited to would really start to show its flaws.
    Aside from being compared to the big HD titles, the game is very pretty, that's irrefutable. Not to mention the attention to detail Nintendo has put in with character animations and little tweaks, which just make every corner and character in the game feel so alive.

    In terms of design? The game breaks from the standard Zelda formula. We've still got the forest>fire>ice/water progression as usual, and there are of course familiar elements to the storyline and the world, but past that it's all been revamped, and it's definitely an upgrade. No longer do we have a big empty hub world with dungeons and areas attached to all the corners. No, the overworld is just as dense, challenging and fun as any of the dungeons, and they flow pretty seamlessly together. It's a fun world to explore, and there's a lot of it. Flying is fun. There's not much to it, but it's just... Fun. It's got that breathtaking, discovery feeling that we all loved in Wind Waker, only without the crappy fetchquests and slow travel.

    This is the definitive Zelda game. A Link to the Past and Ocarina of Time were my childhood, because of how adventurous and exciting and memorable they were, and despite having played all the Zelda games that followed, none managed to evoke those feelings in me again. Until now I thought it was because I'd grown up and had just gotten used to those quality standards, and was enjoying more "mature" games. Not any more. Skyward Sword is one of the best games I've ever played, if not THE best. I think in 15-25 years, the current generation of children will remember this adventure as fondly as we all remembered our first Zelda games.
    10/10.
    Expand
  23. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, what this game does for motion controls is what Ocarina of Time did for 3D gaming. The motion controls are simply divine, with any errors being purely on my behalf. I certainly never want to return to 'traditional' controls for a Zelda game, largely because THEY WORK. Many fans, myself included, will argue that this is the best Zelda yet, if not the best game of all time.
  24. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    this game is simply amazing. a mus t own for any persons who own or have access to a wii. the art style is amazingly gorgeous and the game uses the wii motion plus controls to it's fullest.
  25. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful.I picked up the game as soon as GameStop opened this morning, about 6 hours ago (I was first in line). I have been playing it non-stop, and I am extremely pleased with it. It feels very... Zelda. The only control issues I have had regarded flying, and it ultimately was a reading issue (shouldn't have skimmed those instructions). Looks beautiful, sounds beautiful, and plays beautiful. I can't wait to finish typing this and get back to it! Expand
  26. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    All of the people that say this is a bad game probably never even got past the tutorials. It's a sad day when such a beautiful, amazing game gets bogged down with bogus reviews. The controls are good, after you get used to them. The story and gameplay are superb, easily one of the best games Nintendo has ever made. It deserves the amazing critic reviews and to me is better than skyrim.
  27. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is fullThis game is truely a masterpiece. everything is amazing, the music, the story, the graphics, the controls, and everything that makes zelda so great. It retains what makes zelda great while being completely new and different at the same time. even incredible motion controls may not be for everyone, but they're certainly not an issuse and anyone who gave this game less than a 9/10 is full of **** that is all. Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Probably the best Zelda yet. Tough to say, I have 5 tied as the best. This is definitely a contender. And if it's the best Zelda game, that means it's the best game ever,
  29. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I gave this game a 10/10 because it definitely deserves it (thus far. i'm about 4 hours into the game). The music is astounding, the colors are amazing, and the story line is just as intriguing as OoT. If the game somehow starts failing as I continue playing, i'll change my review but i don't see that happening. Definitely worth the money and imo, better than TP.
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    This game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flawsThis game is a spectacular addition to the Zelda series. I knew long before purchasing this game that I would enjoy it, but after trying it myself, I found that it not only lived up to its high expectations, but surpassed them by far. I was blown away by this game's amazing gameplay, which was a huge improvement from the shortcomings of Spirit Tracks. As hard as I try, I can find no flaws in this game. If there is any Zelda game that could possibly challenge Ocarina of Time for the spot of the best game in video gaming history, this is it. Expand
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Just here to balance out the trolls. Honestly anyone who says that the formula is the same hasn't played the game yet. For the first time in a long time, this game doesn't feel like Dungeon -> field-> dungeon. Now everything is integrated into one huge dungeon meaning that you will always be on your toes having fun.
  32. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is the best game on the Wii. It's also the best Zelda game of all time, quite a feat, considing Zelda is considered by some to be the best game series ever. The MotionPlus swordplay, although tough to get used to, is flawless, and I never want to play another Zelda game without it ever again. The structure of the game is incredibly designed, and theThe Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is the best game on the Wii. It's also the best Zelda game of all time, quite a feat, considing Zelda is considered by some to be the best game series ever. The MotionPlus swordplay, although tough to get used to, is flawless, and I never want to play another Zelda game without it ever again. The structure of the game is incredibly designed, and the music...well, you should count yourself lucky that a soundtrack comes with the game, as in my opinion, it's the best game soundtrack ever. Zelda: Skyward Sword is amazing, and if you have a Wii, you owe it to it and yourself to buy it. 10/10 Expand
  33. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The best Zelda game so far. Great art style, great soundtrack, great story, and the best control scheme. Motion Plus really does difference in gameplay, how say it not is a dumb.
    Conclusion, play Skyward Sword, don't worry about bad reviews, they reveal envy from author.
  34. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Nintendo's changed the game with Skyward sword. The Motion controls are simple and intuitive, requiring minimal time to adjust. From wielding your sword to properly using your shield (ensuring it's not damaged) to bowling with bombs, and flying to the wonderfully made soundtrack. Skyward Sword's a must have for ANYONE who's remotely interested in the Zelda series.
  35. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Only one word: masterpiece, shut up trolls this game is amazing with amazing graphics,amazing gameplay(only if you're a true gamer) and epic story.I give this 10/10 and is better that ocarina.
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    What's new: Enhanced controls.
    New graphics.
    Improved combat system. Different means of over-world travel. Challenging AI Story-driven campaign Upgrading/crafting system. What is preserved from earlier installments: Enemy types Dungeon exploration and puzzles. Auto-jump Item types Protagonists Other common themes from previous titles. Significant Pros: Story, Combat, Music. Criticisms:
    What's new: Enhanced controls.
    New graphics.
    Improved combat system.
    Different means of over-world travel. Challenging AI
    Story-driven campaign
    Upgrading/crafting system.

    What is preserved from earlier installments:
    Enemy types
    Dungeon exploration and puzzles.
    Auto-jump
    Item types
    Protagonists
    Other common themes from previous titles.

    Significant Pros: Story, Combat, Music.
    Criticisms: Controls at times, too precise. Over-world movement. Overall: 9. An improved installment in a classic series.
    Expand
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    From the minute I picked of the controller, I knew I was playing a masterpiece. Games today stick to the traditional button mashing and the same old shoot em up adventures. Skyward Sword and Zelda always does the opposite. It brings something new to the table. Holding the control and watching in amazement as the 1:1 ratio kicks in on every slice just does it for me. Along with anFrom the minute I picked of the controller, I knew I was playing a masterpiece. Games today stick to the traditional button mashing and the same old shoot em up adventures. Skyward Sword and Zelda always does the opposite. It brings something new to the table. Holding the control and watching in amazement as the 1:1 ratio kicks in on every slice just does it for me. Along with an outstanding storyline and gameplay that no one does better then Zelda, this is a must have game. 10/10 Expand
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    A beautiful game, an unseen control scheme, a story a lot better told than any Nintendo game, a solid soundtrack and better boss battles and dungeons than any other Zelda game, makes this game a masterpiece.
  39. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Every few years there comes a game that is so wonderfully made, that no matter what console you own, or what genre is your favorite, every gamer needs to play. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is one of those games. Those familiar with the Legend of Zelda Series will instantly recognize â
  40. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Es genial, todo es sobresaliente. La música , los gráficos, la historia , las quest secundarias, volar...
    Es un paso evolutivo en la franquicia , las mazmorras. El control perfecto con el wii motion plus.
    La duración es buena.
    Lo tiene todo
  41. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best games of all time, not just the best Wii game, or the best Nintendo game, the best GAME. The Wii Motion Plus controls may take some getting used to at first (besides the initial calibration the infared sensor is never used) but add an extra layer of depth to the combat that other games can't even hope to match. The enemies exhibit very good AI and I was amazedThis is truly one of the best games of all time, not just the best Wii game, or the best Nintendo game, the best GAME. The Wii Motion Plus controls may take some getting used to at first (besides the initial calibration the infared sensor is never used) but add an extra layer of depth to the combat that other games can't even hope to match. The enemies exhibit very good AI and I was amazed that they managed to predict my movements so many times. Another thing about the controls is you shouldn't worry if you are left handed, I'm a lefty and I haven't experienced any problems. The graphics are more beautiful than 90% of games out there, and that is saying something being on an under powered console like the Wii. Once again Nintendo shows us that console power isn't as important as innovation, and this games has my favorite visual style in the whole series. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  42. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is by far, hands down, the best Zelda game ever created. It steals the Ocarina of Time's spotlight easily and this is indeed a masterpiece. See Nintendo? Put effort into your games and you get a game that could be a timeless classic.
  43. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Simple as this its a good as The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and for people who never played that this is your chance to play a game as good as it and its GOTY for me hands down
  44. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    So far I have played the game and I've gotten a taste of swordplay, flying, and overall starting to get used to flying mechanics. I love the game and I think it is an amazing challenge; it brings me back to when I first played Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and how I found both of them to be rather difficult to me at the time, being they were my first Zelda games.

    Skyward Sword is
    So far I have played the game and I've gotten a taste of swordplay, flying, and overall starting to get used to flying mechanics. I love the game and I think it is an amazing challenge; it brings me back to when I first played Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask and how I found both of them to be rather difficult to me at the time, being they were my first Zelda games.

    Skyward Sword is getting bad scores due to people thinking too highly of it and comparing it to other games like Assassin's Creed. If they would compare it to the REST of the Zelda series instead, the game would be getting a better score.

    Trust me, don't judge a game because of other users reviews. Well... yes take it into account... but don't let it ruin it. I say try the game out, maybe as a rental, then buy it if you want. It's a good game.
    Expand
  45. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Definitely a new take on the Zelda franchise while remaining true to what the series is known for. At first, the controls seem awkward as you raise your wii remote upwards before dealing a devastating strike but after an hour, I can't imagine playing Skyward Sword in any other way. A surprisingly involving story and excellent mechanics make this game the reason why you should pick up aDefinitely a new take on the Zelda franchise while remaining true to what the series is known for. At first, the controls seem awkward as you raise your wii remote upwards before dealing a devastating strike but after an hour, I can't imagine playing Skyward Sword in any other way. A surprisingly involving story and excellent mechanics make this game the reason why you should pick up a motion plus. After only a couple hours of game play, you can't wait to play more. The characters are more welcoming than ever, each with their own personality, especially the game's villain. There was more areas to discover and reasons why you should return to previous areas. The flight seems strange at first but to have controls not limited by the joystick seems like a very free feeling. The only thing that slows the game down somewhat is the lack of response the controller has but that is a trifle, barely noticeable when you can control exactly the direction your sword strikes. This is how a true motion control game should play. Each aspect of the technology is used effectively. The ability to change the UI is an excellent addition. Despite the game not having the graphics that Skyrim or Modern Warfare 3 have, it keeps true to the Zelda theme. The game is bright and a welcoming change to the greys and browns normally seen in mainstream gaming. This game signals a new start for the Zelda franchise and possibly the only reason to buy a Wii if you haven't already. Expand
  46. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game, which affords a new control scheme which makes interesting new gameplay options possible. Negative reviews are reprehensible given that the game's usage of motion controls was announced originally --- people who want to sit down and play games by mashing buttons should re-play the old games, or choose to purchase games which cater to that. People who played WiiAbsolutely amazing game, which affords a new control scheme which makes interesting new gameplay options possible. Negative reviews are reprehensible given that the game's usage of motion controls was announced originally --- people who want to sit down and play games by mashing buttons should re-play the old games, or choose to purchase games which cater to that. People who played Wii Sports Resort and wanted more freedom and control (and interesting puzzles) or Red Steel 2 and wanted a longer game will be well-rewarded by this game. Expand
  47. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is not only an incredible Wii game, but an engaging game on any platform. It pushes the graphics on Nintendo's little white box, utilizing an excellent art style that feels perfect for the series. If Zelda was upscaled to high definition, this would be on par with a good looking XBOX360 or PS3 game, and that's exciting, yet simultaneously disappointing considering no other Wii games,This is not only an incredible Wii game, but an engaging game on any platform. It pushes the graphics on Nintendo's little white box, utilizing an excellent art style that feels perfect for the series. If Zelda was upscaled to high definition, this would be on par with a good looking XBOX360 or PS3 game, and that's exciting, yet simultaneously disappointing considering no other Wii games, save one or two, achieve this. This is the greatest Zelda game made, and a wonderful swan song for a console that has been greatly underappreciated. Expand
  48. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    After waiting so many months Skyward Sword Zelda, after reading so many articles, see movies and read rumors, even I would give this game 10/10. Then he came out, I bought and tried and it is at this point that came the disappointment. I quickly realized that so much praise, so many high scores were just advertising. I am an expert player of Zelda, I played three times and finished ZeldaAfter waiting so many months Skyward Sword Zelda, after reading so many articles, see movies and read rumors, even I would give this game 10/10. Then he came out, I bought and tried and it is at this point that came the disappointment. I quickly realized that so much praise, so many high scores were just advertising. I am an expert player of Zelda, I played three times and finished Zelda Twilight Princess and I would have expected much more from Skyward Sword. Grainy graphics, controller goes crazy when you look off the field, the controller is not precise, enemies in spite of the above the new Motion Plus controller, are killed simply shaking the controller. And then the most important thing, the story,missing the magic, the soul is lacking, there is no involvement, few dialogues. It looks like a game made in a hurry to go to meet business needs, putting together the pieces of the previous Zelda,yet they have had 5 years of time. I've played now for 20 hours since I hope that going forward you change something... Expand
  49. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I'm playing SS for about 23 hours and here are my thoughts:

    + Memorable Story
    + Character design
    + World design & size
    + Controls
    + Humor

    - Getting used to the controls took me a while

    Check it out guys, it's one of the last Wii gems!!
  50. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    This game definitely is one of the better Zelda games I've played.. but not the best, not by a long shot. The graphics are alright, yes they are very artistic looking, but that doesn't hide the fact that pixels are made very obvious. But hey, I can forgive graphics and graphics don't make a game (although personally TP has better graphics IMO..). The gameplay itself is as good as ever, butThis game definitely is one of the better Zelda games I've played.. but not the best, not by a long shot. The graphics are alright, yes they are very artistic looking, but that doesn't hide the fact that pixels are made very obvious. But hey, I can forgive graphics and graphics don't make a game (although personally TP has better graphics IMO..). The gameplay itself is as good as ever, but the motion controls really put a downer on it, as personally, I'm more of a button-masher than a motion controlled sword swinging guy, sorry but they just bug me, plus the motion control don't always work which is VERY frustrating! Anyway, the story so far isn't too bad, but I'd prefer a darker story like TP's, but hey-ho I'll see how it turns out (only at the 2nd dungeon so not really judging it yet don't worry). It's kind of obvious that I've set my standards high after playing TP, because after that I couldn't really get into WW or PH/ST, they were just too childish for my taste, lets just hope this isn't either! Expand
  51. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword is one of the greatest games i have ever played. The near perfect pacing of when you are just starting to get bored of something you change directions and start doing something else. the controls are near perfection. i am sorry gamespot but i dont know what you were playing but i have had nothing but pure enjoyment from the controls. i have played everyThe Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword is one of the greatest games i have ever played. The near perfect pacing of when you are just starting to get bored of something you change directions and start doing something else. the controls are near perfection. i am sorry gamespot but i dont know what you were playing but i have had nothing but pure enjoyment from the controls. i have played every zelda from a link to the past up and this i will with no problem say tops ocarina of time in my book as best in the franchise. This is the perfect gift from nintendo for zeldas 25th aniversery if you have a wii get this game and if you you dont im sorry because you are missing out on a great game Expand
  52. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    It will make use your head until the end...It's one of the most difficult Zelda compared to the last Zeldas; excellent gameplay associated with a perfect game design. The Legend is back!!
  53. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    great game because like what some of the reviewers are saying it feels like one big dungeon getting to the dungeon. controls are great but occasionally when drawing my sword it wasn't where i was pointing it. it seemed like it was doing opposite of my movements. instead of recalibrating i would go to item menu and recenter and everything would be great. one other small complaint is alwaysgreat game because like what some of the reviewers are saying it feels like one big dungeon getting to the dungeon. controls are great but occasionally when drawing my sword it wasn't where i was pointing it. it seemed like it was doing opposite of my movements. instead of recalibrating i would go to item menu and recenter and everything would be great. one other small complaint is always hitting B to equipped the item that alrealy set on B. once it's set it should be set. also B should use the item instead of hitting B then A to shoot. but still a great game my fav is majora's mask then a tie between this and twilight princess. Expand
  54. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Well, this game has the best controls ever seen in a game. The story is awesome and the swordplay is simply perfect. I think this is a game that will pass through generations... it's really a masterpiece.
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games i have ever played. the visuals are stunning and the motion controls feel like it was meant for zelda. it has been receiving some of the best reviews i have seen on the net, getting a perfect 40 from FAMITSU magazine which consists of four different reviewers that review the game and give it a final score. only16 games in existence have achieved this before,This is one of the best games i have ever played. the visuals are stunning and the motion controls feel like it was meant for zelda. it has been receiving some of the best reviews i have seen on the net, getting a perfect 40 from FAMITSU magazine which consists of four different reviewers that review the game and give it a final score. only16 games in existence have achieved this before, Oot being the first. This is truely a game for the ages Expand
  56. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Fantastic game! Great ideas, new experiences and a story that honors the entire legacy. The graphics are incredible for Wii's capacity and maybe you have to choose wisely your TV and it's configuration before start playing. Orchestras sounds are terrific and the controls REALLY work if you wanna play it correctly. Congrat's, Nintendo. Nobody does it better.
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Featuring many of the series best ideas while bringing in an array of new ideas to the franchise; The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is fantastic.

    One of the best improvements come from the control system. One of the few games to truly utilize the Wii, the fighting finally feels natural and adds some depth to the battle system, which has been a very shallow area in previous instalments.
    Featuring many of the series best ideas while bringing in an array of new ideas to the franchise; The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is fantastic.

    One of the best improvements come from the control system. One of the few games to truly utilize the Wii, the fighting finally feels natural and adds some depth to the battle system, which has been a very shallow area in previous instalments. The controls also breathe life into the flight mechanic. It could have become very tedious, alike to how some took the boat in Wind Waker, however, the one-to-one twisting of the wii remote and the speed between destinations allow it to be an enjoyable part of the game, even towards the end of the game.

    The best part of the game however comes with the exploration between dungeons. In previous instalments it was purely to get from destination to destination and could have been taken as pretty lacklustre (Majoraâ
    Expand
  58. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Awesome! The characters feel real! This is what gaming is about! The interface is perfect! The motion controls are accurate and smooth. The story is well-told by a cast of believable characters.
  59. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    Skyward Sword adds some new elements to the overarching Zelda timelines but also answers a few in the process. However, though the storyline is engaging enough to keep you playing, the inconsistent Wii Motion Plus controls paired with shoddy aiming will cause you to pay attention to your hastily rising blood pressure instead of the story.

    I'd say aside from the controls, my biggest gripe
    Skyward Sword adds some new elements to the overarching Zelda timelines but also answers a few in the process. However, though the storyline is engaging enough to keep you playing, the inconsistent Wii Motion Plus controls paired with shoddy aiming will cause you to pay attention to your hastily rising blood pressure instead of the story.

    I'd say aside from the controls, my biggest gripe with the game overall is that the "New Formula" added in Skyward Sword, which has you solving puzzles and defeating enemies almost at a constant rate. It makes me long for the times where I could calmly ride through Hyrule field, or stroll through Kakariko Village and enjoy the sites without having to constantly think and fight (or flail around my arms for that matter).

    Skyward Sword is a fun game that is worth-while to play through, and while the controls can be frustrating, more often than not you'll find them to be tolerable. This is definitely not the best Zelda game since OOT, A Link to the Past, or Majora's Mask, but it's still a pretty good entry. Don't buy into too much of the hype, or disappointment may ensue.
    Expand
  60. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I've been playing it for about 4 hours and can't get enough of it. The Wii Motion Plus really helps the game, and I think is going to be be a very good rival for Ocarina of Time as the best Zelda Ever.
  61. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Absolutely revolutionary. HAVE NO IDEA what's up with the negatives... it's just fan boys marking it badly but just look at the critic reviews. Those reviews are the ones you can rely on...which I did to decide to buy the game. 49.99 is a great price for a great game
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game deserves a 10 out of 10 Gamespot is wrong about skyward sword. Check out this vid it by the WiiFolderJosh an official reviewer company [(here is the link) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu ] basically this guy does his skyward sword gameplay live with his body on the bottom right corner showing all the moves he is doing. And Link is doing exactly what he isThis game deserves a 10 out of 10 Gamespot is wrong about skyward sword. Check out this vid it by the WiiFolderJosh an official reviewer company [(here is the link) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu ] basically this guy does his skyward sword gameplay live with his body on the bottom right corner showing all the moves he is doing. And Link is doing exactly what he is doing on the screen. Gamespot, i really disagree with them with their review. Gamespot says the controls are innacurate yet he says you can waggle your way to victory. But his review is very innacurate. And to disagree with you metacritics the average rating of syward sword is a 10 out of ten not including gamespot with their innacurate review. I mean have you ever seen their review. I know they want Skyrim to be the game of the year so they decided to give it a bad review. But please look at everybody else`s review mostly the game has gotten a 10 out of 10 even with IGN. Please i beg you look at the description and find some other reviews of syward sword to see the others. Gamespot really didn`t do a good review they even said Link seems like old link with un-human like movements. Yet Nintendo changed the whole style of Link`s and everybody else`s movements to make it look more life like. Please look at IGN review Gametrailer`s review and review you can find, then watch the Gamespot`s review and see how completey different they are. Then watch the link i gave (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QEge_2Vuft0&feature=feedu) you to the video. Please even if you want Skyrim to be game of the year, though i`m not saying you do. Please reconsider the score of Skyward sword. And even if Gamespot gave it a 7.5 it doesn`t mean that`s the average of the game. Check with every other review and then calculate the average. Then contact me at my email (mr.flash2017@yahoo.com) please do it now because the scores aren`t fair Expand
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Perfect in every way, definitely the most enjoyable Zelda I've ever played. Packed full of plenty of side missions as well as a very well-done main quest, it's a non-stop ride of pure joy and excitement. Anyone who enjoys gaming should definitely pick this up, a must-buy for sure.
  64. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Amazing game. I've been waiting for this game for over a year. You know what I say, it was worth it. It has really good controls. Spaced out enemys. You can even adjust how to point the wii remote, so you can sit at any angle you want. 11/10
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    1 word...........said multiple times.....

    WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW WOW
  66. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    This game makes new standard for all motion games. If you like Zelda games then you'll love it and won't even want to go back to old control scheme. This is probably last worth game for the Wii but really, it's a must to own it and play it. The game is getting everywhere positive reviews from critics (this is rather confirmation that in 90% bad reviews are made from fanboys here..). I'veThis game makes new standard for all motion games. If you like Zelda games then you'll love it and won't even want to go back to old control scheme. This is probably last worth game for the Wii but really, it's a must to own it and play it. The game is getting everywhere positive reviews from critics (this is rather confirmation that in 90% bad reviews are made from fanboys here..). I've played almost all Zeldas and I like them all, but for now this is one of my favourites. Hope you will have also the same good time as I had playing it. 10/10 ! Expand
  67. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    El mejor zelda?ni de coña. Si esto es el mejor zelda, entonces no se que seran Wind Waker, Ocarina of Time y Majora´s Mask, patrañas?y un huevo. Nintendo se ha dejado la pasta en la prensa para que le pongan dieces a esta mierda llamada Zelda Skyward Sword. El conjunto del juego es una jodida fusion de Wind Waker, Twilight Princess y SpiritEl mejor zelda?ni de coña. Si esto es el mejor zelda, entonces no se que seran Wind Waker, Ocarina of Time y Majora´s Mask, patrañas?y un huevo. Nintendo se ha dejado la pasta en la prensa para que le pongan dieces a esta mierda llamada Zelda Skyward Sword. El conjunto del juego es una jodida fusion de Wind Waker, Twilight Princess y Spirit Tracks, el mundo mas vacio incluso que Twilight Princess, el Boss Final mas facil de derrotar que el emo de Grihaim o como se llama, el efecto acaurela es otra mierda mas del juego, de tocarse los huevos el equipo desarrollador. Expand
  68. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    This game is so **** epic. **** off these stupid haters, ****
    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
  69. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    It's sad to see all the haters destroy the true user score of a masterpiece. I'm playing for over 35 hours now and I can assure you that all those people who gave a score below 8 haven't played the game properly or far enough. This game is superb! Great controls, characters, story & design aside: the puzzles are awesome! They are fresh, exciting & most important challenging. This gameIt's sad to see all the haters destroy the true user score of a masterpiece. I'm playing for over 35 hours now and I can assure you that all those people who gave a score below 8 haven't played the game properly or far enough. This game is superb! Great controls, characters, story & design aside: the puzzles are awesome! They are fresh, exciting & most important challenging. This game sucks you in and I'm having a hard time letting the controller go. I just wanna play more. That's the reason why I stop here ;) Don't let the haters win!!! Write a honest review!!! Expand
  70. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. the graphics are perfectly done: backgrounds, floors, walls simulate beautiful paintings. Controls are perfected, Link will even twist his hand at your command. This game is like one of those dreams that you don't want to wake up. This game is for what Zelda was created, no, this game is for what video games were created! 10/10
  71. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    ZELDA GAME THIS MEETS EXPECTATIONS THAT THE GREAT MAJORITY OF FANS LOOKING FOR SAGA, THE CONTROL IS VERY GOOD, history and character interaction and the appearance visual and musical, though not COMES MASTER IS OOT It alone can SHINE
  72. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    People who complain this Zelda isn't Zelda should have played more Zelda games besides Ocarina of time or Twilight Princess. Skyward Sword goes back to it's A Link to the past, Link's awakening roots with more influence of Windwaker, The minish cap, The Oracles series. Looking at the limitation of the Wii graphics, this game really nails it with it's amazing artstyle. The bright colorsPeople who complain this Zelda isn't Zelda should have played more Zelda games besides Ocarina of time or Twilight Princess. Skyward Sword goes back to it's A Link to the past, Link's awakening roots with more influence of Windwaker, The minish cap, The Oracles series. Looking at the limitation of the Wii graphics, this game really nails it with it's amazing artstyle. The bright colors work well for a Zelda game, something I missed from the previous console title Twilight Princess. Overal this game is the best Zelda to date. For me it's a title that has finally beaten Ocarina of time from it's trone. Expand
  73. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This game is a Masterpiece!!! I have beeb playing for 25 hours and is wonderful and awesome. My favorite Zelda was before Majora's mask but after playing Skyward Sword I need to think about it.jajaja

    Sorry for my English! is not my natal lenguage.
  74. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Hi folks! I'm 45+ hours in the game and I'm having a great experience. The other 10/10 reviews already tell what's so magical about this game. I'm absolutly loving it!!! Forget what the 0/10 people are saying. I's ****!
  75. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Being a Zelda fan since as long as I can remember, I am always wary of a "newcomer" game because I am afraid of being disappointed and getting my glowing memories of the Zelda franchise shattered. However, I can easily say that Skyward Sword just continues this memory and builds upon all of the good times that these games gave me in the past. 10 on beautiful impressionist-painting styleBeing a Zelda fan since as long as I can remember, I am always wary of a "newcomer" game because I am afraid of being disappointed and getting my glowing memories of the Zelda franchise shattered. However, I can easily say that Skyward Sword just continues this memory and builds upon all of the good times that these games gave me in the past. 10 on beautiful impressionist-painting style graphics, 10 on the story line and 10 on everything else. Thank you Nintendo!! Expand
  76. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    hahaha. people are so dumb. one guy said the good reviews comes from a little minority of people. yet somehow there are 400X the about of good reviews thatn the bad ones. I have been playing zelda for a long time also. OOT was one of my favorite games of all times if not my number 1 favorite. I never expected this game to be better than that. I was delightfuly surprised. this game is justhahaha. people are so dumb. one guy said the good reviews comes from a little minority of people. yet somehow there are 400X the about of good reviews thatn the bad ones. I have been playing zelda for a long time also. OOT was one of my favorite games of all times if not my number 1 favorite. I never expected this game to be better than that. I was delightfuly surprised. this game is just pure bliss. I have never had a boring moment. as for the controls. .. i have had no problems. and if i have to calibrate once and a while, so what . big deal. it's worth the awesome sword fighting... all you trolls... get a life Expand
  77. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Don't believe negative reviews. There is a reason the gaming media did not give this game a single "Mixed" review. Must purchase. The Wii's game library has built itself up for this game. You will see aspects of just about every Nintendo Wii game manifest itself in this game.
  78. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    this game IS perfect, i am over 20 hours in and STILL not done, the game plays, controls, and looks amazing. the music is simply beautiful, its impossible to say any negatives. all i can say is, if u give this anything less then a 8 or 9, ur either a troll or u have no taste
  79. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, exciting and, above all, fun! Fighting is great, story is great and the music is magical! Giving this game a 0 or 5 is so childish, get a life, there is so much work involved in this kind of game. Don't give a bad score if you didn't even play this masterpiece.
  80. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    This is a game worthy of celebrating the 25th anniversary of the best video game franchise ever. This franchise has come a long way from its humble gold cartridge casing days on the nes. The mechanics are great with the wii motion plus guiding our blades and other gadgets. the look with the watercolors is beautiful, the story keeps us yearning for more with each dungeon, and the musicThis is a game worthy of celebrating the 25th anniversary of the best video game franchise ever. This franchise has come a long way from its humble gold cartridge casing days on the nes. The mechanics are great with the wii motion plus guiding our blades and other gadgets. the look with the watercolors is beautiful, the story keeps us yearning for more with each dungeon, and the music done with a full orchestra sounds better than anything we have heard!! i love this game and its going in my never return it pile with my other favorites Expand
  81. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Good orchestrated music, a fine difficultly for both new and experienced gamers (provided you can be bothered with Hero Mode), probably the best use of Motion control I have ever seen in a Wii game. Also contains Groose, the greatest Zelda character of all time!
  82. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Since Ocarina Of Time, no game has ever brought me the same amount of pleasure and emotions that it brought me at that time. Some say the "Zelda magic" is not in Skyward Sword. I disagree. It is there. In fact I think it is more present than ever before, AND it is a more unique one this time. This game keeps surprising me without end. I had extremely high expectations for this game butSince Ocarina Of Time, no game has ever brought me the same amount of pleasure and emotions that it brought me at that time. Some say the "Zelda magic" is not in Skyward Sword. I disagree. It is there. In fact I think it is more present than ever before, AND it is a more unique one this time. This game keeps surprising me without end. I had extremely high expectations for this game but they kinda disappeared once I started playing the game. It is so different than what I expected. And in a good way. From gameplay, to music, to story, to dungeons and...hell, everything in this game surprises me. Controls works like charm. Believe me when I say the controls work perfectly well, at least for me, they work perfectly well. Just take your time, get used to the controls and everything will go smooth and it is tons of fun. Definitely better than pushing buttons, and I don't say this lightly. I wasn't sure about a lot of stuff in this game. But I decided to jump positively in the game. And it turned out extremely well. This is the first Zelda that I believe outclass every other Zelda in a lots of ways. I've read people saying Skyward Sword graphics are worse than Twilight Princess which is absolutely wrong. The level of detail in SS is so much better than in TP. The art style is different, sure but I think this new art style is probably the most suitable for a Zelda game. Colorful and more pleasant looking than TP which is dark and sort of has a empty feeling to it. But that's just me.

    I had a good time with TP but SS... is SO SO SO SO much better. It didn't take long I could already say TP is boring game compared to this one.

    But hey I like hating on TP because it's my least favorite 3D Zelda but I know I shouldn't really. Each Zelda game is its own experience. Its own feeling. And OOT was the best feeling to me. But then, I was a kid back then. And now I feel like this is OOT all over again. But so different, I actually cannot say it is OOT again. It is a SIMILAR feeling, in the sense that I'm constantly smiling at how awesome this game is. The weird thing is that I have some Super Mario 64 feelings sometimes... I am extremely happy that this game is what it is. I'm a Zelda fan so I thought the game would be great but... this is just so different than what I expected. I'm repeating myself but I'm glad I was wrong.

    I love this game. I just love it so much. Don't listen to haters. Nintendo isn't dead. This game is the proof. It is an amazing experience. I also play other games such as Skyrim, Batman, etc, so that you know I'm not just a Nintendo fanboy. I am being honest. No one should miss this, not even Nintendo haters. EVERYONE should play this. :)
    Expand
  83. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Skyward sword is a fantastic title. A little slow to begin with, (but then again show me a zelda which isn't). This slower start is important though because all the characters you meet will have a big impact on you. characters and locations are memorable. The game elegantly gets around the wii's SD capabilities with the new art style. Jagged objects are avoided by the watercolour effectsSkyward sword is a fantastic title. A little slow to begin with, (but then again show me a zelda which isn't). This slower start is important though because all the characters you meet will have a big impact on you. characters and locations are memorable. The game elegantly gets around the wii's SD capabilities with the new art style. Jagged objects are avoided by the watercolour effects on objects in the distance. It works a little like the focal point blurring that wind waker used to avoid jagged scenery etc. The first few hours feel a little like more traditional zelda, but as you progress, it becomes clear that skyward sword is a fantastic addition with many new ideas and features! Truly brilliant. Expand
  84. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Spoiler-free review

    This is the greatest gaming experience I've ever had. I am a huge Zelda fan. I've played Ocarina of time, I have it for the N64, virtual console, and gamecube collector's edition disc. OoT was my favorite game up until Skyward Sword came out. Skyward Sword has the best plot and character development out of all Zelda games. I've seen some reviews that are saying they
    Spoiler-free review

    This is the greatest gaming experience I've ever had. I am a huge Zelda fan. I've played Ocarina of time, I have it for the N64, virtual console, and gamecube collector's edition disc. OoT was my favorite game up until Skyward Sword came out. Skyward Sword has the best plot and character development out of all Zelda games. I've seen some reviews that are saying they don't like the beginning set-up. I agree that it does drag on at parts, but it was fun overall and the game needed it for the story. The story is not only amazing, but it explains events in OoT and other zelda games.

    The 1:1 sword controls are perfect for the most part, the remote will need to be re-calibrated every once in a while, but it wasn't much of a problem for me. The controls make the combat much more difficult, diverse, and puzzle-filled than most Zelda games. Every single dungeon in game have been my favorite out of all the games so far, and the bosses are superb and difficult, especially the last two. Those are the hardest boss fights out of any Zelda game so far. The overworlds in the game aren't as open as in OoT and Twilight Princess, but they're large and work perfectly for what they're used for. The graphics are amazing, especially for a Wii game. The art style is by far the most beautiful I have ever seen in a game.

    The items in this game are extremely amazing. There's many new items and returning classics. Almost every item can upgraded to be more powerful, have new functions, and look even cooler than they already do.

    I haven't finished them all yet, but the game has many side-quests and collectible items to upgrade your gear and potions with. Skyloft is the best town in Zelda so far, it's large, has a lot going on in it, and every NPC in the town can be talked to have have their own personality.

    The music in this game isn't quite as amazing as OoT or WW, but it makes up for it with how beautiful the fully orchestrated songs are, especially the songs from past games that are now fully orchestrated.

    The mode of transportation in this game, the loftwing, is my favorite so far. It works perfectly for the kind of overworld it is used in and is extremely fun to control. The main quest is about 40 hours long. There's many hours worth of sidequests and collecting treasures. And after you beat the game, there's a hero mode that is more difficult than the normal game. This game has at least 100 hours of play time.

    To sum it all up, this is by far the greatest Zelda game, no, the greatest game I have ever played. Story - 10/10
    Graphics - 10/10
    Music - 9/10
    Replay Value- 10/10

    Overall - 10/10
    Expand
  85. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Breathtaking! People that complain about the controls clearly haven't spent much time understanding them and their nuances. They expect everything to automatically work without any learning curve.
  86. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Amazing game! Great art, story, characters, and gameplay. Ignore all the zero scores, etc. Trust me when I say they haven't played the game. If you are looking for a great gaming experience like no other then i would highly recommend trying this game. Does have a learning curve, but once you get past it you will never want to go back
  87. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    I expected this game to be good, but you know what it is? Its great!! The graphical style is the best that the Zelda series has to offer, IMO. Plus, the motion controls work excellently. The only problem that I have with the game is that you have to recenter the pointer thing a little too much. Oh yeah, I forgot about the story of the game. To be honest, this is the most plot centeredI expected this game to be good, but you know what it is? Its great!! The graphical style is the best that the Zelda series has to offer, IMO. Plus, the motion controls work excellently. The only problem that I have with the game is that you have to recenter the pointer thing a little too much. Oh yeah, I forgot about the story of the game. To be honest, this is the most plot centered Zelda game ever made. There are also many cinematic parts to this amazing adventure. And for all these reasons above, this is why the game deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  88. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    What are these "games" that you have honored in recent years? The one true sword master chief is back, or rather he has always been there. Matrix, navel and center of gravity of the video game, this new Zelda reference everyone and all claims satellites in orbit. The wind in the sails, at ease.
  89. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    This is the best game on the Wii period. Best Zelda game period. Best game this year? Maybe.
    The graphics are cell shaded :/ but it works well, actually looks alot better than I thought it would. Sword controls take only a couple hours to master, if you dont like them or think they're laggy it's because you suck.
    Lots of cut-scenes, interesting characters really gets you into the
    This is the best game on the Wii period. Best Zelda game period. Best game this year? Maybe.
    The graphics are cell shaded :/ but it works well, actually looks alot better than I thought it would. Sword controls take only a couple hours to master, if you dont like them or think they're laggy it's because you suck.

    Lots of cut-scenes, interesting characters really gets you into the story.
    Lots of Zelda de-ja vu.

    Awesome game all around definitely a must play.
    Expand
  90. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    It's got a Twilight Princess brain, a Wind Waker heart, and the adventure of Ocarina of Time coursing through its veins, but at its soul is a brand new game, and Nintendo aren't afraid to show it.

    Skyward Sword is a game that FEELS right, in every sense of the word. It flows effortlessly and, as the game progresses, immerses the player beautifully into its world. For 35 glorious hours,
    It's got a Twilight Princess brain, a Wind Waker heart, and the adventure of Ocarina of Time coursing through its veins, but at its soul is a brand new game, and Nintendo aren't afraid to show it.

    Skyward Sword is a game that FEELS right, in every sense of the word. It flows effortlessly and, as the game progresses, immerses the player beautifully into its world.

    For 35 glorious hours, you won't just play a video game - you will become Link, and embark upon your own fantastic adventure, high spirits and sword (Wii remote...) in hand. Never mind the brown/gray/dark brown color-wheel of Call of Duty or Battlefield - the watercolor pallet of Link's latest outing is majestic and, indeed, beautiful. This game simply radiates with character and cheer.

    Accompanied by a soaring soundtrack and ingenious, satisfying controls, Skyward Sword sits proudly in the ranks of one of the finest games in the series.

    The finest game on Wii. A must-buy.
    Expand
  91. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece from beginning to end. Possibly the best zelda game to date and definitely the best game on the wii. Even coming into this game with the mindset that it won't be as good as my favourite zelda ( Twilight Princess, deal with it ) it still shined through as my favourite in the series. The motion control is absolutely fantastic and i never want to go back
  92. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I remember playing Ocarina of Time when I was younger and being in awe, knowing without a doubt that it wouldn't be the only time I played the game, and I was right. I still loved every moment playing the 3ds version when it came out. Since then there hasn't been another Zelda game that had that kind of impact on me, even the ones I've played multiple times were not that same feeling.I remember playing Ocarina of Time when I was younger and being in awe, knowing without a doubt that it wouldn't be the only time I played the game, and I was right. I still loved every moment playing the 3ds version when it came out. Since then there hasn't been another Zelda game that had that kind of impact on me, even the ones I've played multiple times were not that same feeling. Skyward Sword changes that.

    This game is a masterpiece. The story is easily the strongest in the series by a long shot. Sure there's no voice acting, but emotion is portrayed more than well enough, the cutscenes are beautifully done, the characters are memorable, and to top it all off, it does a phenomenal job as the first game in the Zelda timeline at explaining the things we've seen in previous titles.

    The graphics are not hyper-realistic like seems to be expected these days. Instead, they're a very expressive mix of the realistic and cartoony Zelda styles that have been used throughout the series, and it works beautifully. It copes with the Wii's lack of power by having more distant scenery turn impressionistic, that comes together as you get closer which is actually a pleasing way to handle things. The style itself is beautiful and works great for the game.

    Music, well, it's a Zelda game and it's all orchestral, what more do you have to say? Wonderful start to finish.

    The gameplay holds up strongly throughout. There were times when controls would hiccup, whether it was accidentally doing a spin attack because I tweaked the nunchuck a bit, or the aim being off using an item and having to hit down on the Dpad to recenter it. However these problems were minor inconveniences, and the second+more common one once rectified also reestablished your viewpoint to centered so if you reacted quick enough it was barely noticeable.

    Outside of the hiccups, the motion controls shine as what Wii promised years ago. Sword play is dynamic and fun, and mistakes will often cost you, especially once you start finding enemies equipped with electric weapons(which in true Zelda fashion will take away a heart every time you're blocked). The items all feel natural, and there are some nice additions like the bow charging a shot by holding A, or charging quicker by holding C and pulling back the nunchuck. The addition of being able to roll bombs adds a whole new level of depth, as does being able to carry them remotely.

    The items are all well done. Not to mention, they're used from the time you get them until the time you get to the end. If I recall correctly, you get the beetle in the first temple(Skyview) and it was necessary in multiple ways in the final temple of the game. The only thing I didn't like about the items was shield durability, as it's very late in the game when you are finally able to attain a shield that won't break if you block instead of parry with it. However there's a self-repairing shield that holds it's own if you know how to use it until late game, so it's mostly just getting to the point where you can get that.

    The dungeon design is some of the best Zelda has ever seen. There are a couple "put this box on this switch" puzzles, but they're very limited in number. I think there was maybe one "light the torches" and it was done in a new way that prevented it from feeling like a stale puzzle. Outside of that there are a lot of new mechanics and new puzzles which are quite interesting, especially when you run into one of the most interesting new elements, the timeshift stones.

    Boss fights are some of the best in the series. There are several that I remember puzzling through how to beat them, and the final boss was easily one of the best finales Zelda has ever seen, challenging your mastery of the mechanics and your ability to think on your feet all at once(which most of the new bosses do, but what can I say, I really like the last fight).

    Revisiting areas as much as you do is helped along by having new things happen to help keep things feeling fresh. The last trip you make to the Eldin province is unique to the rest of the game and is quite an entertaining journey. There are also a few areas in each province, which you open up and explore as you more items, so even though you've been to the area you may still be going somewhere new.

    The silent realms are an interesting diversion, challenging your patience and thought. It's pretty much a fetch quest, but it does give you a break from combat to do something the Zelda series almost never sees: Avoid combat at all costs, and innovate your way to the collection items so as to not get spotted and have to start all over, while on a time limit before the enemies wake up and start chasing.

    I'm running out of characters so I'll end there. This game is a masterpiece, and I think may actually beat OOT(tough call there). From start to finish it is easily the best game released for Wii and, in my opinion, easily Game of the Year.
    Expand
  93. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    From the minute the game starts, to the moment the game ends - Skyward Sword is an adventure of epic proportions that truly delivers on Miyamoto's vision of exploration; one that leaves a lasting impression on any gamer who dares commit to it's lengthy playtime.

    Almost everything in this game is polished to perfection, the visuals are often stunning despite their lack of resolution, with
    From the minute the game starts, to the moment the game ends - Skyward Sword is an adventure of epic proportions that truly delivers on Miyamoto's vision of exploration; one that leaves a lasting impression on any gamer who dares commit to it's lengthy playtime.

    Almost everything in this game is polished to perfection, the visuals are often stunning despite their lack of resolution, with a style that seamless combines those of past Zelda games to create something that is truly befitting to the series. Don't let the lack of lighting and bump-mapping fool you, this game looks glorious - it's textures are lovely in their paint-like quality, and some of the character models are brilliant in their simplicity, even by today's standards. The controls, although extremely tight, have their occasional frustrating moments - often needing to be re-centered when aiming with a weapon. Though this slight frustration is a moot point. Motion controls are a revelation, and I simply do not want to go back.

    Nintendo has fully unleashed it's creativity with the cut-scenes in this game, offering a truly cinematic quality with nary a word spoken; the camera work in these cut scenes are fantastic, and every cut scene (despite some being a little too lengthy,) manages to shape and mold each of Skyward Swords complex characters even further. Skyward Sword is the gaming achievement since the introduction of 3D worlds. The game-changing controls, along with the charming visuals and polished-to-perfection production values, hold this game so high, it's only fitting destination is Skyward.
    Expand
  94. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the actionThis is a great game. I can understand why people may have minor gripes with it, but anything below an 8 is just silly. Not only does it contain everything we love about Zelda already, it really does innovate. The blurriness of distant objects I find truly striking and not unlike a Nintendo nod to Monet and other impressionists right there on my screen, blending seamlessly with the action oriented foreground. The controls are not perfect, but they do a damn good job. It's Zelda - chill out from your MW3 session and enjoy it for what it is. Expand
  95. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    I've never been so engaged in a game in a very long time. Everything from the dungeons to the bosses are absolutely fantastic. It's and extremely amazing game. 10/10
  96. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A wonderful, colourful and epic celebration of the rich 25 year history that is "The legend of Zelda". Don't be fooled by the console it's on, Skyward Sword pushes the wii and manages to pull off a timeless and artistic look that does the series justice. Motion controls feel precise and intuitive, story is top notch and gameplay is at its best. Fan or not, do yourself a favour and giveA wonderful, colourful and epic celebration of the rich 25 year history that is "The legend of Zelda". Don't be fooled by the console it's on, Skyward Sword pushes the wii and manages to pull off a timeless and artistic look that does the series justice. Motion controls feel precise and intuitive, story is top notch and gameplay is at its best. Fan or not, do yourself a favour and give Skyward Sword a go. It will not dissapoint! Expand
  97. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    Taking my time to play the game through first & keep an eye on the major gaming sitesâ
  98. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    A great game for an under used system. The only reason I have a wii for is super mario and zelda games. Nintnedo always delivers when it comes time for the show and this game is no exception. The changes are refreshing, the story is a nice change of pace, and the motion controls add total immersion to the experience. It started off a bit slow but picked up. Im about 10 hours in andA great game for an under used system. The only reason I have a wii for is super mario and zelda games. Nintnedo always delivers when it comes time for the show and this game is no exception. The changes are refreshing, the story is a nice change of pace, and the motion controls add total immersion to the experience. It started off a bit slow but picked up. Im about 10 hours in and cant put it down. I recent picked up Arkham asylum (another great game) but have no urge to play it due to how much fun zelda is. Expand
  99. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    An amazing game; The creators have improved upon all aspects of the gaming adventure that is Zelda! It's been a number of years since I've played a game that's simply so much fun I find myself not being able to put the controller down for long. I highly recommend Skyward Sword!
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    100
    Overall, this is the best experience I've had playing a Zelda game since Ocarina of Time and I'd have to say they are pretty equal in my opinion. Either way, you won't be disappointed getting this game, it's a masterpiece.
  2. 90
    New Zelda is the best game of whole series since the groundbreaking Ocarina of Time. It is a true masterpiece with uncompromising playability. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Jan 19, 2012
    95
    A magnificent homage for the 25th anniversary of one the biggest franchises in gaming, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword provides a compelling gaming and artistic showcase for the indefatigable potential of the medium as a whole, and a reason to have gaming as a hobby.