The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess Wii

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1640 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ElliottP.
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    This game never falters! OoT left me amazed, and this game managed to surpass even that.
  2. DaveH
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were I really dislike comments people make about this game being so similar to Ocarina of Time, but I am even more pissed off those fanboys calling Ocarina the best videogame ever, yes it is a good game, but not that awesome that everyone will call it the perfect game. Truth is, I loved this game, I started playing Zelda with A Link to the Past and then continued with Minish Cap, they were awesome, I loved the game and the gameplay, and when I found this game, I just liked it so much, the fact that you can convert into a wolf was the best feature, yeah well, maybe the storyline wasn't the best, but I sure do think "save both the light and the dark realms" is better than "get in a comma and save the world". Expand
  3. MarcoF.
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    It's easily the best Zelda game ever, it has beautiful enviroments, good graphics, excelent story, and the gameplay it's superb. I've played all the Zelda Games since the first one in NES, but this is the pinacle of the Legend: Twilight Princess.
  4. CurlyCurly
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I Amazing Intense gameply Amazing plot line that had me guessing every where plaenty of play time for anyone Beutiful graphics Nice comeback from the Wind Waker Overall: Zelda is one of the best sereis to ever come out. It makes you think more than just point and shoot Twilight keeps you on the ege of your seat for the entire game down to the last climatic batles Gameplay, very smooth, I love the new sword moves Graphics, as far as I car it looks amazing Plotline, one of the best ones for zelda since OoT 10/10 no doubt. Expand
  5. SamJ.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    Twilight Princess gives you everything you want from a video game. A moving and inspired storyline, gameplay, and hours of entertainment. If you have ever played a Zelda game in the past, you can't pass this up.
  6. JonathanC.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    It is the best Zelda game I have ever played! Some good graphics, but the best part of it is that you get to be Link!
  7. JordanKnight
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game Brilliant Zelda game, really stands up to Ocarina of Time, i'd have to say that TP is better than I expected, expecially as I have played OoT over 5 times I think it is brilliant, as it should being Zelda and all, it has great graphics, storyline and characters... I love the new bosses and the new array of items is excellent, it gets a definite 10 from me. I think that this game could bring anybody to the Nintendo side. Expand
  8. I
    Feb 10, 2007
    10
    This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then This game is really great. I would give it 9.5 (nothing is perfect), but I can't do that so I'll just have to round it up to a 10. Anyway this game is definitely the best game for the Wii out there. When rating this game, I compared it to Wind Waker (the first Zelda game I got) and Ocarina of Time (never actually completed that game though) I realize this game was better then both of them in almost all respects. I thought in OOT the combat style was incredibly awkward and I found my self using my shield too much. In WW the sword fighting was definitely improved, but probably too much. You could easily go through the entire game without using your shield once. That also made OOT too hard and almost tedious at times and WW, almost too easy. TP is a good balance of the two games, and it has a very good storyline. If the Phantom Hourglass is anything like TP, I'm very much looking forward to a sequel to WW (even though many fans hate WW I actually think it was better then OOT). Ok, sorry to bore you all with this long speech. Anyway, this game pwns and I gave it a 10. Expand
  9. TomP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love Zelda games and this is definitely worth even more than 10 on 10. Hopefully Nintendo will come out with some more games this good soon.
  10. RyanH.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    This game is superior to even ocarina of time. by far this is the greatest game I've played
  11. DLippert
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things Great game once you get past the inital story line (like all Zelda games). If you own a Wii and have any interest in action/fantasy you must buy it. There is one fatal error in this game use two save points to avoid (fixed in later copies). I hit the error and it broke my heart, until i copied a friend's saved game to not have to start from the begining. A copy of real tricky things on the air world if you can't figure it out get help. Expand
  12. JayJ.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its Cons: midi sample music, no voice overs, blurry textures, annoying remote noises, sometimes feels a little gimicky, often predicable, seen most of it before. Pros: Flawless art direction, flawless gameplay, amazing storyline, although the music is midi its still the most beautiful and best written music in any game (or film) ever. Can sometimes feel retro (which is a very good thing) its zelda. Also, its probably the best game ever made. Expand
  13. JustusR.
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    I didn't think I'd see the day when I'd be more engrossed in a game than I was with OoT. The day has come.
  14. MasterJ.
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    Ocarina of Time, your time is up. This is hands down the greatest zelda game ever made, it is flawless in every way. I can't wait for the GC version of the game which will be better.
  15. JackBlack
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    This is the best game ever! If u do not like it, u have not seen or played it! Amazing graphics, amazing action, amazing everything! Extremely action full and non stop action, that never ends, and keeps gettting better and better! Get it, or u will not be on top of the besst video games, even if u hate most of Nintendo's games! Truust me on this one I no?!!!...
  16. Ace
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    Excellent Game! Full of suprises and very addicting. The graphic, sound, and game play was excellent. No doubt that it is a 10.
  17. jonny
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these Pay no attention to these closed minded non-gamers decrying this game for lack of innovation or lesser graphics. This game was a Gamecube game, every addition we got from the Wii (which are all welcome and very cool, though not the best we expect from the Wii later) are bonuses. They make the experience better. If this had been a Gamecube only release even 6 months earlier, none of these issues would rise with anyone. This game is huge, beautiful, endearing, exciting, and just next to flawless. Get lost in this game, it is soooo worth it. Expand
  18. DeclanD
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    has to be a 10. It is my favorite Zelda game, of all time, Well my favorite game ever!!! the only thing i didn't like was there was a glitch in it, so any one still playing the game, When you get the cannon to get to sky temple, DONT SAVE AND QUIT, thanks =] dispite a glitch, 10/10 well done nintendo,
  19. DiegoM.
    Jan 24, 2007
    10
    Superb Game, Zelda Twilight Princess delivers excellent thinks in all what the game can offers, wonderfull graphics, stunning light effects, beauty art style, Superb gameplay, very good Music, Excellent presentation, awesome story, the few bads of the game are only technically speaking. Zelda Twilight Princess definitely raises Wii, Gamecube and all video games bar.
  20. AlexT.
    Jan 26, 2007
    10
    Beautiful. Awesome. Gigantic. The next Zelda had better be very different because this one truly perfected the old formula.
  21. KevinR.
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that This just may be the greatest game of all-time. An epic story, surpassing any other one put forward by a Zelda title, combined with one of the best and most intuitive control schemes ever, show just why Nintendo was justified in waiting to release this game. While it draws some mild influence from previous Zelda entries (for those idiots out there, not just from Ocarina, but from ALL that preceded it), it feels completely original, focusing more on Link and his new friend Midna than anything else. I highly recommend this game to anyone who has any interest at all in video games or fun in general. Expand
  22. BenF.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Really Awesome. The game is extremely fun, There is tons of things you can do a yes, you will have a lot of fun with this game. Best game of 2006! Also one of the best games of all time.
  23. JesseS.
    Feb 7, 2007
    10
    At first I was going to give Zelda:TP a 9, because it's not perfect. And it isn't perfect (but then, what is). There are minor problems here and there with cameras and collision and shadows. Nothing major. Nothing that prevents you from doing what you want to do. It seemed a bit easy at times (we never failed at a boss fight, and rarely had to use a fairy in a bottle). But too At first I was going to give Zelda:TP a 9, because it's not perfect. And it isn't perfect (but then, what is). There are minor problems here and there with cameras and collision and shadows. Nothing major. Nothing that prevents you from doing what you want to do. It seemed a bit easy at times (we never failed at a boss fight, and rarely had to use a fairy in a bottle). But too easy is better than too hard (personally, I thought OOT was a too hard, TP a bit too easy, and WW just about right). So instead, I asked myself if there was a game I had enjoyed more. The answer is no, so I give it a 10. Expand
  24. Mariatrhgfhgfh
    May 12, 2007
    10
    Im giving it a ten so far ive been playing ive al ready been playing for like 8hours and im only at the part where the dungon thing is with the kids, kidnapt and the monkeys trying to guide me to save her frends, i cant win! im stuck i need help! i used all of my sling shot things and now i cant move on so someone just PM me or somethin if you know what to do >Hypnotized3@yahoo.com
  25. HarveyD.
    May 20, 2007
    10
    There is always somethings about a Zelda game that evolves gaming. Not just a revolution by the standards of a wiimote (the GC is just as good) but the mere fact that it makes you feel like you are playing videogames for the first time again. It's reminiscent of what a great game should always accomplish. Invoking not only a connection but memories of bliss. Hmm... I'm not sure There is always somethings about a Zelda game that evolves gaming. Not just a revolution by the standards of a wiimote (the GC is just as good) but the mere fact that it makes you feel like you are playing videogames for the first time again. It's reminiscent of what a great game should always accomplish. Invoking not only a connection but memories of bliss. Hmm... I'm not sure but if you ask me there can't ever be sufficient words to describe such an experience. Merely a grand string of actions and emotions carried by this masterpiece. There is nothing anochronistic about this games release with comparison to any and every other game, and certainly not polemical in the slightest. Hands down, the definition of gaming. Expand
  26. AdamO.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    This game reinvents the Zelda franchise with awesome new items and amazing motion-based controls. It's artistic design is some of the best I've seen since Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, and it more than makes up for any technical problems. The music may not all be orchestrated, but it's brilliantly nostalgic nonetheless. The dungeons are some of the best in gaming This game reinvents the Zelda franchise with awesome new items and amazing motion-based controls. It's artistic design is some of the best I've seen since Princess Mononoke and Spirited Away, and it more than makes up for any technical problems. The music may not all be orchestrated, but it's brilliantly nostalgic nonetheless. The dungeons are some of the best in gaming history, not just the franchise. The latest entry in Nintendo's triple-A franchise may be the best one. Expand
  27. JoshR.
    Aug 8, 2007
    10
    The best game ever by far. Simply stunning. Long quest, brilliant music and beautiful environments.
  28. RobertD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    The amount of things to do in this game is just insane. The dungeons are really top notch, espeacially City in The Sky, Arbiter Grounds and Snowpeak Ruins. this is basically one of the best games ever created and the best zelda game in years.
  29. ColinC.
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Nine months after it came out, I finally picked it up. I loved this game and so did my wife. Prior to this Zelda, my favorite was the N64 classic. But in my humble opinion, this one's got it beat. Huge variety, huge world, huge fun. If you love Zelda games, you'll love this one. Here's hoping Phantom Hourglass is as good.
  30. eeganrac
    Dec 19, 2008
    10
    I love zelda games, and this is a fantastic zelda game. the only issue i, or anybody may have is that the bosses are a tad bit too easy. i believe the reason for this is because of the wiimote itself. it is new technology, if they made it too difficult people would just throw there hands up and shut the game off. bottom line, if you like zelda games you will like this game!

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2006
#1 Most Shared Wii Game of 2006
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 73 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 73
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 73
  3. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. 100
    An excellent addition (and homage to "Ocarina") to the franchise, and you'll have an enormous amount of fun playing it from start to finish. Get over the fact that the Wii's hardware is simply not as powerful as the other next-gen machines and get into the fact that Twilight Princess is one of the best games you'll play this year.
  2. It truly is, in my opinion, the best and longest Zelda ever made. With nearly 70 hours of playtime committed and more still to do, I cant think of a better experience or value this holiday season.
  3. 100
    Truly fantastic. It's not a reinvention of the genre like Ocarina was -- but it's much better, because it takes all its predecessors' raw ideas, perfects them, and creates an experience that's at once new and familiar. It's rare to find a launch game that truly justifies the purchase of a new console, but this is precisely that.