Tiger Woods PGA Tour 08 Wii

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhilMickelson
    Jun 10, 2008
    8
    I think that the Wii finally does the game some justice! Not only does the game continue to give gamers realistic courses and the ability to creat/build your own golfer, it also incorporates swing mechanics. Don't know why anyone would want to sit down while playing this game...My only complaints would be that chipping can be difficult (too much focus on the speed of follow through)I think that the Wii finally does the game some justice! Not only does the game continue to give gamers realistic courses and the ability to creat/build your own golfer, it also incorporates swing mechanics. Don't know why anyone would want to sit down while playing this game...My only complaints would be that chipping can be difficult (too much focus on the speed of follow through) and approach shots aren't too influenced by the hole being above/below the ball. Previous editions seemed to emphasize this more. The putting is realistic (unless you are a cheater, don't bother with the putt preview), but just like actually putting, it takes practice. Expand
  2. jonathanb
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    big fan of tiger but some time it take your shoot 4 you.its great using the wii control its makes it harder so i cant shoot 24 under par at the moment.i hpoe they get the controls set up better.i think i speak all the golfs we want the master course to win the green jacket
  3. GregShukis
    Mar 28, 2008
    6
    I've only thrown the disk across the room once so far. As easy as it is to drive 110% and in the fairway every time, the chipping and putting controls are obversely difficult. There is, however, plenty of variety and interesting minigames. It's worth buying if you can find it used.
  4. ZincAlloy
    Feb 10, 2008
    7
    Meh. Good game if you haven't played a Tiger Woods game since early PS2 days but I became rather bored with it after maybe 20 hours of game play. The controls are actually pretty solid when comparing the motions needed to play golf in real life- that was certainly cool. The mini games are too easy and there is nothing exciting about playing in a tournament. Where the announcersMeh. Good game if you haven't played a Tiger Woods game since early PS2 days but I became rather bored with it after maybe 20 hours of game play. The controls are actually pretty solid when comparing the motions needed to play golf in real life- that was certainly cool. The mini games are too easy and there is nothing exciting about playing in a tournament. Where the announcers voice went is a mystery to me.... one day they were there and the next they are gone... and still gone to this day.... huh? I changed no options.... Don't watch a replay of an amazing shot- that will only ensure that you will get snaked because of glitches and lose a stroke on that hole... Gotta love that. This one is just another PS2 import... Not terrible but I'll probably put it up on feeBay shortly... Expand
  5. PeterC.
    Jan 23, 2008
    5
    Really dissapointed. Swing mechanics were okay, though imprecise and confusing especially where chip shots are concerned. The mechanic for moving where you're aiming is virtually broken. I'm not kidding. The thing that got this sent back to the shop was how shocked I was at how bad the graphics are. Okay, so the Wii is no xbox360, but I refuse to look at graphics that Really dissapointed. Swing mechanics were okay, though imprecise and confusing especially where chip shots are concerned. The mechanic for moving where you're aiming is virtually broken. I'm not kidding. The thing that got this sent back to the shop was how shocked I was at how bad the graphics are. Okay, so the Wii is no xbox360, but I refuse to look at graphics that wouldn't be especially good even on a PS2. Some of the light effects are alright, but everything else is abysmal. *sigh* Back to paying those damn 9 holes of Wii Sports golf again. I pray We Love Gold will be better. Expand
  6. MichaelR.
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    I had a lot of fun with this game, but it has a few glaring flaws: - I rolled in a beautiful hole in one and decided to watch the reply. I then watched as the ball stopped short in the replay! Surely enough, after I watched the reply I found myself with 1 inch putt. Unacceptable. - Fairly often, when my ball lands in the rough and/or in an unusual spot, it will be magically moved about 10 I had a lot of fun with this game, but it has a few glaring flaws: - I rolled in a beautiful hole in one and decided to watch the reply. I then watched as the ball stopped short in the replay! Surely enough, after I watched the reply I found myself with 1 inch putt. Unacceptable. - Fairly often, when my ball lands in the rough and/or in an unusual spot, it will be magically moved about 10 yards. On one particular hole, I would choose to hit into the rough because it left me with a fairly easy second shot, but then the game would move my ball more than 100 yards back! I hit that shot into the same spot and, surely enough, my next shot was again from 100 yards back. - It amazes me that I can shatter a course record in the first day of a tournament and then watch as at least five others match that record in days two, three, and four. Expand
  7. DW
    Nov 3, 2007
    9
    I think some of these reviewers may have played TW07, not 08. Simply put, I love this game. The courses are interesting, the challenges are just right. If anything, it might be too easy once the experience points pile up. I can't imagine playing this game without the Wiimote . . . why would it be interesting unless you are swinging and putting? I'd play more, but it makes my arm I think some of these reviewers may have played TW07, not 08. Simply put, I love this game. The courses are interesting, the challenges are just right. If anything, it might be too easy once the experience points pile up. I can't imagine playing this game without the Wiimote . . . why would it be interesting unless you are swinging and putting? I'd play more, but it makes my arm hurt. Only reason I didn't give a 10 is due to the graphics. They are good, but not up to the look of the other Wii games. Luckily, it doesn't distract from the game. Expand
  8. MatP.
    Sep 28, 2007
    9
    The motion sensor works very well, paticular the putting compared to wii sports. A very solid and enjoyable game for single and multiplayer.
  9. RyanA.
    Sep 14, 2007
    6
    This game is a strong improvement from last year's, but it still lacks control. With all that the Wiimote has to offer, EA has yet to hone it in. Drive and iron shots are great, but chips and putts are absolutely horrible. It's guaranteed that in a nine-hole game, you'll have at least two wild shots, and one of them will fly off while you're pulling the back swing. If This game is a strong improvement from last year's, but it still lacks control. With all that the Wiimote has to offer, EA has yet to hone it in. Drive and iron shots are great, but chips and putts are absolutely horrible. It's guaranteed that in a nine-hole game, you'll have at least two wild shots, and one of them will fly off while you're pulling the back swing. If you liked '07, then pick this up when the price drops, but the best version is still on PC. I still play this on the Wii, but turn the system off when a 4' putt goes for 20' or a 20' putt only goes 4'. Expand
  10. Dugger
    Sep 6, 2007
    8
    I'll start by saying I havn't played a Tiger Woods game since my friend brought over his copy for the XBox. That said, I've never been into golf, especially in videogames, just too darned boring to press buttons to golf. However, once we got the Wii and played the Wii Sports Golf, my wife and I really got into it, but obviously there wasn't much to that version. Since I'll start by saying I havn't played a Tiger Woods game since my friend brought over his copy for the XBox. That said, I've never been into golf, especially in videogames, just too darned boring to press buttons to golf. However, once we got the Wii and played the Wii Sports Golf, my wife and I really got into it, but obviously there wasn't much to that version. Since then, we've been searching for a fun golf game with more holes, more characters, more...well....everything. After having played both Super Swing and this game, we are VERY pleased we picked up Tiger Woods 08. The graphics aren't anything to write home about (it is the Wii mind you) but they work. The character editor is substantial (if you can keep pressing the correct buttons that is and get over the scrolling feature ...blech) and there appears to be a good variety in the golf courses and the like. What really sells the game for us however is the actual act of golfing. Like Wii Golf, it's easy and fun to get into. Buttons are well placed and the character actually mimics your swing movements. The putting takes a little getting used to but after a few games we got into the swing (*tiddy boom*) of things. I have yet to touch the single player, but thats not what we got the game for, so I cannot comment on it. Overall, if you liked Wii Golf and want something that plays similar to it, then Tiger Woods 08 is your game. Expand
  11. [Anonymous]
    Sep 4, 2007
    8
    If you bought 07 you were severely disappointed in how unresponsive and frustrating the controls were. if you hated 07 please give 08 a try, it is actually pretty good! the swing is very fun and very forgiving and responsive.
  12. PhatElvis
    Sep 3, 2007
    1
    Left-handed players avoid this game at all costs. The only LH function that works is putting. This defeats the purpose of buying this game for the Wii experience if you're left-handed.
  13. Roygeeeee
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    The swing motion is much better than the previous release, with draw and fade movements quite similar to the real thing and coz of this the casual golfer will truely enjoy this game. It does slightly struggle with the back swing on chips and putts, but this can be resolved by slowing down on the pull back. excellent group play, overall a fairly solid golf game. If you enjoy the PGA, The swing motion is much better than the previous release, with draw and fade movements quite similar to the real thing and coz of this the casual golfer will truely enjoy this game. It does slightly struggle with the back swing on chips and putts, but this can be resolved by slowing down on the pull back. excellent group play, overall a fairly solid golf game. If you enjoy the PGA, You'll "Love this Game!" :) Expand
  14. ClaudeR.
    Sep 2, 2007
    9
    Great game of golf. Lots of options, plus wii remote play.
  15. RossG.
    Sep 1, 2007
    3
    I have played the previous tiger woods games on play station and enjoed them. The Wii game is not worth the money. The Wii sensor doesn't pick up when trying to put, so you either end up hitting it too far, or not enough. It's extremely agravating... Not worth $50.
  16. JonathanH.
    Aug 29, 2007
    8
    Improved over last years tiger woods. Graphics are the same but the draw distance in the environments has been vastly improved. Also the glitches in swing recognition have been almost completely ironed out. The new mini-putt mode is fun too plus other new modes. Pretty good game!

Awards & Rankings

#32 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#62 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. It is a great game to have around when friends come over, and the controls really make the game fun. However, if you just want to play the career mode by yourself, I would suggest picking up a copy for one of the other systems. The overall complexity of the title is not as deep as it is on the other consoles, but the gameplay is much more fun for the average player.
  2. The best Tiger in years just appeared on the Xbox 360 and PS3, but this game just doesn’t feel the same in comparison. Of course, with the Wii controller it shouldn’t – but it also shouldn’t leave me guessing half the time as to where my ball is going.
  3. If you did buy it last year you won’t find anything here that makes it worth spending your money again.