Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: WWE All Stars will deliver one of the greatest rosters ever assembled in a wrestling-centric videogame. Renowned WWE Legends will align with today's most prominent Superstars, inviting players to generate fantasy matches and ultimately determine the greatest competitors of all time. In addition, each Legend and Superstar will boast a distinctive and highly stylized appearance, adding to the overall atmosphere and intrepid attitude exuding from the on-screen action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Apr 23, 2011
    85
    The ultimate in fantasy warfare, and a great port from Other Formats, too. [Apr 2011, p.64]
  2. Fun and accessible. It's easy to slip into a rut, but there's more there to discover.
  3. Apr 1, 2011
    80
    WWE All Stars executes fun, arcade-style action well, with accessible controls and exhilarating presentation. The lack of a career mode and online features will disappoint some, but it's a small dent in a very fun package.
  4. Apr 13, 2011
    65
    Even with a lot of areas in need of polish, WWE All Stars isn't a bad game. [April 2011, p.87]
  5. Apr 19, 2011
    60
    WWE All Stars is a missed chance. The scarce single player experience and the lack of online play are far from excusable, as they are the mixed graphics. Still funny, but not engaging.
  6. Apr 18, 2011
    60
    We had high expectations for WWE All Stars, but unfortunately the game failed to deliver. The Wii version, in particular, comes with so many problems (cumbersome controls, poor collisions, awful sound effects, lack of multiplayer) that's hard to recommend it even to a huge fan of the genre.
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    40
    If you are looking for a new wrestling game you'd be better off looking for SD vs Raw 2011 or wait for the inevitable SD vs Raw 2012 at the end of the year.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its not the best wrestling game in the world, real moves can be found at "SD vs RAW" but not here. Here its like "Legends of Wrestling" on Gamecube but little bit over the edge. Its still a lot of fun and you can choose from many Hall of Famers and the WWE roster. If you are a wrestling fan, take a look at it. The only problem that THQ did to much moves on any button, so that sometimes your wrestler is doing the wrong thing. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    7
    I suppose this isn't that bad, it could be a hell of a lot worst but its positive from me! The fact that you can use the legends against each is pretty cool so, ok Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2011
    6
    Cool looking game. Thats where the positives end. Very limited create a player mode, very limited game modes, controls and it just too easy to spend your money on, unless your renting and have a few hours to beat a wrestling game that could have been much cooler. Expand
  4. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers. Admittedly, I was really looking forward to this game. Being a fan of classic wrestling characters, I couldn't wait to get throw somebody in the Sharpshooter, give someone that sweet chin music, or land a text-book flying elbow (RIP Macho). I had fun initially, but the game gets old, QUICK. Once you've run through the classic match-ups to unlock all the necessary characters, run them through the battery of an enjoyable by ultimately lackluster Path of Champions mode (awesome, a secondary outfit), there's not a lot left to do.

    My biggest qualm with the entire game is the horrendous Create-A-Wrestler ability. THQ has always been great at giving people a plethora of options when doing a CaW, but this is just pointless. Why would I take the time to make someone, say Kurt Angle, and just give him another already made players moves? Anyone with any knowledge of wrestlers and their individual styles is going to probably be pretty bummed about this. Granted, I haven't played a wrestling game since I lost interest in wrestling around the time Smackdown: Bring the Pain came out (another THQ title), but even back on the classic N64 wrestling canon you had SO.MANY.OPTIONS. Even if a wrestler wasn't on the game, you had the ability to tailor-make that wrestler and be completely specific with each grapple, finisher, mannerism, etc.

    So fun, Yes. Initially. But re-playability has always been key for me in wrestling games. This has nearly none of that. It's a shame too, because there are a lot of great legends and a stable of new guys (of whom I have no idea who they are) that could really benefit a player's imagination if given the opportunity, rather than existing in a controlled environment such as this.
    Collapse