WWII Aces Image
Metascore
41

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Roll, loop, dodge and shoot like an Ace with simple motion controls in WWII Aces for the Wii™ system. Fly alone or with a friend via split-screen co-op as you join the ranks of the Royal Air Force, Soviet Air Force, or Luftwaffe and pilot 12 authentic airplanes through multiple campaigns based on real events. Or, take on your friend in thrilling competitive multiplayer! Published by Destineer and developed by Arcade Moon, World War II Aces immerses players in the intense dogfighting and acrobatic maneuvers that typified World War II via the most intuitive flight controls on the Wii yet. Execute barrel rolls, loops, and last-second dodges with a flick of the Wii Remote, or attach the Nunchuck addition for a more realistic control scheme. [Destineer] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. WWII Aces is a decent title that is meant to be played cooperatively. So long as you have another friend close by, the $40 shouldn't sting your wallet too much.
  2. This is a third-party game with not very high aspirations. Don’t let the “Wing Series” emblem on the cover fool you into thinking that it is official or historically accurate or anything of the sort.
  3. 45
    It's still a pretty crappy game, but there's certainly a little more merit in this game compared to some of the other lower-budget third party Wii titles on the market.
  4. A long campaign doesn't help if the gameplay itself is intrinsically bad. Poor graphics, partially shoddy controls, boring objectives, and frustrating, repetitive missions make WWII Aces one to steer clear from unless you're a glutton for punishment.
  5. WWII Aces is a frustrating, ugly, flight combat game with antiquated design elements and unresponsive motion controls.
  6. Yet more proof that slapping motion controls on a lousy game doesn't magically make it worthwhile. [Mar 2008, p.87]
  7. The levels are unorganized, ugly, and totally unsatisfying. [Apr 2008, p.60]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    It may not be a standard setting game for graphix but when an 8 year old plays it, the game play is what makes it fun. For me, I got the game cuz I thought my son wouldn't be interested but I was totally surprised. He has been playing it for a week now and so have his friends with the co operative mode. It is a blast. It is simple. It is fun. It was $14 bucks at Best Buy. I think it is just fine. I actually do enjoy playing it. Expand
  2. Dec 24, 2011
    8
    I enjoyed this game / simulation for many many hours! I think one needs to be an aviation enthusiast or pilot to enjoy WWII Aces. If you stick with it and learn the basics in Dogfight mode, it will help a lot.

    Note the "lead time" on shooting a moving target is critical, especially in the X axis (left-right). Note that your cross-hairs turn red only after a bullet hits the enemy, indicating that you're in the correct bank and/or rudder input.

    Utilizing the following two tips helped a ton. Tip #1: there are 3 "control schemes" from which to choose. I found number two to be good, thus utilizing the nunchuk for everything (except the A button to switch between bombs and missiles, later in the campaigns). Tip #2: for beginner to intermediate play, I found a large rubber band to be helpful in holding the B button. You see, there are 2 speeds of game play. The default one is at least DOUBLE real-world. Holding the B button reduces it to what seems to be a bit slower than real-world (being a pilot, I know approximately how these planes should respond.) I guess they figured hard-core gamers would be quickly bored by the slow (real-world) speed.

    As for the V symbols pointing to primary and secondary targets, the choice of two colors was a great idea. Too bad they are red and dark red. Yellow would have been better. Watch them carefully. The program Loop and Roll maneuvers were worthless to me because you can't modify it mid-stream or do an Immelmann. But you can out-turn the enemy most of the time using bank and rudder. Last note: reading the instruction booklet helped. There are a couple of useful items in there.
    Collapse
  3. PeteBella
    Jun 11, 2008
    7
    If you enjoy WWII fighter planes [among others] this game puts you in the pilot seat. The games campaign is challenging but the great thing is that you can dig yourself into Dogfight Mode to get into the action without unlocking a lot of maps or planes. The Wii controls are fantastic. They make you feel like you are piloting these war machines and becoming a WWII flying ace!

    True the campaigns can be frustrating when trying to defeat squadrons of enemy planes single handedly. But hey - maybe it can only make one a better pilot. Besides, since when is an easy game any fun when you can finish a campaign in an afternoon.

    When special objectives arrive they are difficult to follow due to poor identification on the radar or as arrow indicators on screen. They just get lost in the mass of similar indicators as enemy planes are everywhere.

    As for the graphic - they are comparable to, or even better, than many other Wii games. But to each there own.

    All in all, I enjoy WWII Aces
    Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    7
    I bought this at a grocery store for about fifteen bucks. The gameplay is enjoyable, and it is always fun shooting down the Luftwaffe over Normandy. The campaign has no cutscenes, and the voice acting is only at the beginning of each mission when your commander gives you your objectives. The graphics are not very pleasing to the eye, and unless you know your history, you might get lost during the story. The replay value is mainly unlocking new planes and completing each mission on all the difficulty. Co-op mode is awesome during the story, and I would recommend giving it a try. Multiplayer is good, but there is no online mode, which is unfortunate, so unless you have a friend or family member available, you won't stay for long. If you find this game at a discounted price, give it a go. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    6
    It's not the best world war 2 video game, but it's good enough to enjoy. The game has exciting combat and okay graphics, but kind of lacks a storyline. You should probably rent it before you buy it to see if you like it/ Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2013
    3
    This game is impossibly difficult. Even at the easiest setting on the first level, the game is punishingly difficult. The awkward Wii controls and lack of mission variety really are a let down. That's not to say there isn't a lot to do, because there is with over 60 missions, but many of them are just the same objective in a different setting. It's way too repetitive. This game seems like it was almost half-assed and the fact that it is so unapproachable by all but the most skilled person with a wiimote and an infinite amount of patience. Expand
  7. GYm
    Dec 25, 2011
    0
    INterface is okay, but the missions are impossible. There are always swarms of enemy fighters behind you, making it pointless to use a bomber since it will just be cut to pieces. I like a challenge, but I was unable to make any meaningful headway in the game with the setting on EASY! Too bad, it had a lot of potential, but just doesn't reach it. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews