X-Men: Destiny Wii

X-Men: Destiny Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: X-Men: Destiny has you playing a new recruit amongst comic's motley mutant band, and promises a branching storyline that features a deep element of choice.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 9 out of 10
  1. Oct 15, 2011
    50
    It's still largely linear, and the gameplay mostly amounts to simplistic, repetitive beat-em-up combat, boring level design and platforming marred by a somewhat cumbersome jumping mechanic.
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    47
    With a few more months' development this might have come good. But in this state not even Professor Xavier could convince us to play it again.
  3. Oct 19, 2011
    45
    X-Men: Destiny is a budget-priced offering wrapped in a full-priced package. By no means is it worth the $49.99 MSRP – which is a real shame given the excellent source material Silicon Nights had to work with.
  4. Oct 24, 2011
    40
    I have no idea why such crimes against gamedom even get published. Simple advice: hands off! Well, at least the sound is good.
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    35
    Its ugliness assaults your senses right from the start.
  6. Sep 30, 2011
    30
    In X-Men: Destiny, awful combat and meaningless choices combine to create a new mutation of boredom.
  7. Nintendo Power
    Nov 8, 2011
    25
    Sadly, X-Men Destiny's lone mutant power is the causing of anguish. [Nov 2011, p.79]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. May 31, 2016
    2
    "X-Men: Destiny" was a major disappointment for me. Prior to this game's release I had heard of the mechanic of customizing your own mutant"X-Men: Destiny" was a major disappointment for me. Prior to this game's release I had heard of the mechanic of customizing your own mutant and your powers. I had even heard that the story-line will change depending on what side you choose. Unfortunately this game not only failed to live to my expectations but it also left a bad taste in my mouth with really bad mechanics and repetitive game play. The story line follows the X-Men after the death of Charles Xavier as they try to fight off against an extremist group called the purifiers. You play as one of three stock characters and you can choose only one of three powers: energy beams, shadow manipulation, and body armor. None of the starter characters are compelling as they are really nothing more than mere stereotypes. The returning characters from the comics have a few moments to shine but they end up being nothing more than quest givers. The main plot itself even had potential but it failed to keep me invested since it doesn't go much in depth as it could have considering the complex-lore of the X-Men franchise. On the Wii cut-scenes are done through still images which looks bland and reeks of laziness in Silicon knight's part. The dialogue tree is tacted on at best and pointless at worst since no choice impacts the course of the story. Where this game really falls apart is in the basic design. The combat is highly repetitive and tedious as yo rely on pressing the "A" button on the Wii remote over and over again . Enemies drop like flies as you button mash your way to the top. The bosses don't fare that much better because you only rely on one strategy to beat them. The sequences are visually impressive but the actual mechanics are pretty simplified to the point that I might as well be playing "Dragon's Lair". The customizing hurts the experience instead of helping it since when you choose a power or suit, you are stuck with that suit or power for the rest of the game. There is no chance to test them before equipping so if you pick a customization you are not satisfied with than you are completely out of luck. On top of all of this, the game is ugly to look at with brown layed throughout the game with out of date character models. This game has a lot of potential but that potential has long been lost as it was rushed to meet a deadline instead of being made from the desire to make a good game. Expand
  2. Jul 28, 2013
    1
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade *X-Men Mutant Academy *X-men Legends 1 *X-Men Legends 2 **Even X-Men: the
    Here are some examples of good X-Men games:

    *X-Men Arcade
    *X-Men Mutant Academy
    *X-men Legends 1
    *X-Men Legends 2

    **Even X-Men: the official game

    Examples of bad X-Men games:

    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny
    *X-Men: Destiny

    Even **X-Men: Destiny, which has blocky graphics, repetitive gameplay, no facial animation, cookie-cut dialogues, chopped editing, boring platforming and powers FX that look really awful. It has a pro though in the form of the cutscenes, fashioned in the way of animated comic strips with still images; the voice acting is fine too but not enough to compensate for the rest of its unhappy features.
    Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    0
    Everybody, please look at Cyclones review... Now point and laugh at him. I'm just gonna do what he did and not explain why, but this gameEverybody, please look at Cyclones review... Now point and laugh at him. I'm just gonna do what he did and not explain why, but this game sucks. and you don't want anyone to play it. anyone. Expand

See all 4 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#24 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2011
#22 Most Shared Wii Game of 2011