Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Climb back into the cockpit with another installment of the Ace Combat series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 71
  2. Negative: 1 out of 71
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    92
    As we approach the engagement zone, we are treated to one undeniable truth and that is Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the premier flight game for the Xbox 360. There are a ton of new innovations packed in every area and aspect of this game and with the included support of the Ace Edge flight stick, Ace Combat: Assault Horizon is the king of the skies. Now marshal your talent and focus pilots for it's time to fly.
  2. 87
    Adding some of Modern Warfare's gritty realism gives the Ace Combat series a shot in the arm, while its arcade accessibility and enjoyability remains intact.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    83
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon continues the legacy of the series by giving fans of the series the new title that they've wanted. With a deep storyline included in the campaign and an online community that is quite strong upon launch, there is plenty of replay value with the title. Some issues with the gameplay do exist, but nothing that truly detracts from the game enough to not justify picking the game up.
  4. Oct 10, 2011
    80
    A nice multiplayer game. The single player Campaign can be kinda boring due to the lack of intensity. The multiplayer modes, on the contrary, can be really funny and interesting to play with. If you're looking for a different kind of multiplayer experience, you should try this game.
  5. Oct 13, 2011
    80
    Ace Combat Assault Horizon is a really fun game. The dogfights, the really cool online mode and the helicopters are great additions, make this a need to buy game for every aspiring pilot.
  6. Oct 14, 2011
    75
    Dogfights are exciting, the helicopters are interesting (though underdeveloped), and the real world setting and story ground the game in reality.
  7. Oct 11, 2011
    33
    Really the only thing Ace Combat has to offer that its predecessors don't is a couple of new flight modes and real world locations. This would be enough to recommend the game to die-hard fans, but the camera cut aways make the game a worse experience than its predecessors. If you want a good Ace Combat experience, you should play an earlier game in the series.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 13 out of 28
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Please understand: i gave my score evaluating THE GAME not THE SERIES wich i think it is the main purpose of these reviews, review the GAMEPlease understand: i gave my score evaluating THE GAME not THE SERIES wich i think it is the main purpose of these reviews, review the GAME and not review what the franchise has become

    The game takes a daring choice to make the aerial combat more visceral, fast paced, i just love how you can see the plane designs from up close instead of shooting a fire and forget missile from kilometers away, seeing pilots flying out of the cockpits, engines blowing, oil gushing everywhere..looks like pacific rim on planes
    The game is REALLY a metal carnage

    Really, shooting missiles on green boxes can be realistic but, when you fit 60+ missiles on a F-15C and then thinks about realism..well..it doesn't make any sense..plus, it makes the game repetitive and after some missions, you get tired (not an issue on the game series since they always make up great ideas like those big bomber-like planes/carriers on fires of liberation to break the monotony)

    The game features great cutscenes, nice cinematography, great graphics and plane models, a very good soundtrack that fitted PERFECTLY with the game and the game stages wich each music plays and a fun, addicting and mind blowing gameplay

    Another interesting thing i saw, my girlfriend with NO experience on flight games, managed to play it perfectly after 1 hour or so, i found this pretty interesting since some games focus so much on simulation and plane handling that some players get sad since they can't play those games very well and they end up having trouble with the controls and that makes the game impossible to enjoy, this games offers easy controls so anyone can enjoy it

    Now, people usually get mad when they cange series, it was very clear on the release of metal gear rising revengeace, DmC..but if you play these games, you'll see that it ain't so bad, people need to open their minds, a game series that just copy and paste the same game with almost no new features and just add 1 to the name can be fun to see the story going on and on and branching out to whole new levels but some people need to think a little before judging games, some just say "the game does not have innovation, it's the same as before" but when they make a whole new game, with new ideas and gameplay "they killed the series, they are destroying the franchise" make up your minds people..

    Summing it up - the game is fun, action packed, thrilling, unlike anything you ever played before, the soundtrack is great and the cinematography and in-game cutscenes are great and this is a FACT
    however..the story feels like call of duty "YO BRO, GRAB THESE GUNS N STUFF AND BLOW SOME STUFF UP, YEEEEEEEH" but i found the "shark" nemesis a lot more interesting than some stereotypical Russian nation, making it personal

    This game is a masterpiece, however, if you are a hard headed fanboy that can't stand any changes on the game franchise, don't go near it
    Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    I am here to say something about the difficulty of this game that most of people who are saying this game is too easy are misunderstanding inI am here to say something about the difficulty of this game that most of people who are saying this game is too easy are misunderstanding in a wrong way. I would say, there are mainly two new factors which have changed the difficulty of Ace Combat. 1)"dogfight mode (DFM)" and 2)"automatic healing". I have beaten this game on the "Ace" mode which is most difficult so far on this game. Contrary to an opinion that this game is "too easy" or "no skill" which i saw many places on websites, it was absolutely NOT easy (i guess for most of you) even on the Elite mode. With the higher difficulty, tougher and smarter enemy AI would be against you and take your back so often. With the Ace mode, damage on your aircraft is NOT healed automatically anymore. Because of these, you would not be able to go on DFM and shoot enemy in a relax way anymore unlike "demo". Due to the new fighting style that you take the enemy's back and enemy takes your back, you would have more chance to be hit as well as you hit enemy. So because of this, depending on with or without automatic healing, the situation could be changed drastically. If you are hit in the early stage of the mission it could be almost impossible to beat the whole mission. (Actually, you would have to count on your skill which you obtained from previous Ace Combat as well) If you say this game is too easy, you must try on the Ace mode. I bet you it will definitely kick your ass and will result in your satisfaction. It will require you a new skill which is composed of the new style and old style. Therefor, i would say, this game must not be rated down due to choosing the difficulty in a wrong way. And I am expecting higher difficulty "Ace of Ace" would come like AC6.. Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    8
    [Review PT-BR] Ace Combat Assault Horizon é um ótimo jogo, com belos gráficos e uma jogabilidade sólida garante horas de diversão.
    Houve uma
    [Review PT-BR] Ace Combat Assault Horizon é um ótimo jogo, com belos gráficos e uma jogabilidade sólida garante horas de diversão.
    Houve uma mudança em relação aos jogos anteriores da série, mas foi uma mudança bem vinda, não tem mais fases onde você perdia 30 minutos apenas atirando até dar Mission Accomplished, o novo modo DFM é ótimo e responde bem e o modo Online é muito bom, recomendo muito esse jogo
    Expand
  4. Jan 21, 2013
    5
    As a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, this game just didn't click with me. The game play and multiplayer aren't bad. I just think theAs a long time fan of the Ace Combat series, this game just didn't click with me. The game play and multiplayer aren't bad. I just think the story and the DFM just kills the game. The helicopter and bomber missions are okay but I would just like to stick with flying jets. I will give them credit for FINALLY adding paint customization for your planes. In the future I just hope that Bandai-Namco sticks with the original Ace Combat world and flight system. And the special plane you're supposed to unlock for doing something awesome like in the previous Ace Combat games (X-02, ADF-01 Falken for example) is DLC. So if you're reading this Bandai-Namco, please, just stick with the old Ace Combat. "Amidst the blue skies, a link from past to future. The sheltering wings of the protector.../The flames of hatred scorch the skies, igniting Gaia's funeral pyre..."

    What ever happened to the old Ace Combat? Now its just a cliche, copy and paste, story of the good ol' U.S. against the "evil" Russians. Ace Combat taught me that war isn't black and white, good against bad. It taught me that there are no border or boundaries. That it's all just subjective. And most importantly, that we're all human. No matter your nationality, ideology, race, of gender. That we're all just people trying to get by in life. And we're all just too busy being scared of one another and not loving each other enough. God damn it, I just want the old Ace Combat back.
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    4
    Too heavily scripted. Hated DFM (Dogfight Mode). Suddenly all the skill it took to follow and target is gone. You have half to none of theToo heavily scripted. Hated DFM (Dogfight Mode). Suddenly all the skill it took to follow and target is gone. You have half to none of the control during DFM (depending on if you're following some random plane or an integral target that will advance some plot in the mission). For the latter, you can literally just sit on your hands and it'll still follow the target plane better than you will be able to. As someone that loved the PS2 AC games, this is horrendous. I was hoping for a next gen experience and got a dumbed down version catering to the masses. It is blatantly apparent that Namco was trying to get a wider (read: less skilled) audience by adding in so many hand-holding features. Sure, great scenery, cool planes I guess, though I didn't even get a chance to look at them. Mission playback isn't easy to find (if it exists; I hear it does, but it could just be a myth). The story is non-existent. Where in previous AC games I actually felt for the characters and the squadron and enjoyed the story and followed along with it, in ACAH I didn't give a crap about any of them. I was hoping this game would cure my desire for a good flight-sim on one of my 7th generation consoles. Sadly, I guess I'll just have to break out my PS2 and relive AC4, 5, and 0. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    3
    I have never been a fanboy of flight simulator action games like Ace Combat or Blazing Angels, but I'd have to say that taking a risk byI have never been a fanboy of flight simulator action games like Ace Combat or Blazing Angels, but I'd have to say that taking a risk by purchasing this game was by far a waste of my time. You know that you have a flawed game when the controls won't allow you to do simple maneuvers like a split-s or a simple barrel roll (and no not the Star Fox "barrel roll" either). Since when did a dogfighting game become an on-rails shooter where the enemy can make physically impossible maneuvers and turns and you can't even do the simplest of them?
    Secondly, why would anyone decide that putting in helo levels and a Call of Duty carbon copy AC-130 sequence were good ideas? It's so out of place it's like having Justin Beiber open for a Tool concert. It halts the pace of the game to a screeching halt and never has any real significant value other than railroading the plot.
    Thirdly, the game's overall focus is an absolute mess. I couldn't tell if it was a coming-of-age story for the main character Colonel Bishop (which wouldn't be piloting at that stage in his career), a story about fraternity in the military, or if it was a Tom Clancy parody. At times I thought, why is this scene here? Is it to give the pilots a face? If so, then they completely blew it. No one...NO ONE in the military calls each other by their rank unless it is out of anger, sarcasm, or fun. I never walked up to a colonel and said "hi, colonel!" I said "good morning, sir." If you are going to have a military game, you better learn at least the very BASICS of military courtesy. Even my brother, who was never in the military laughed when he heard a captain call his superior colonel instead of sir. I don't ever talk about something that I haven't at least researched for a total of 20 minutes. They shouldn't make a game that has dialogue without knowing common military courtesy.
    The only redeeming qualities about this game is that the soundtrack and landscapes are well done. I do have to say that someone finally decided that not all of Russia is bad in the plot. I really appreciated fighting rogue Russians with other Russians. Call of Duty, Battlefield, and Tom Clancy seem to just love to bash the Russians simply because they can't get over that the Cold War ended TWENTY YEARS AGO.
    But enough of my soap box. This game is awful. If you have a few bucks to spend to get achievements like myself, get it. My brother and I are in constant competition with gamerscore and we always rent games just to get achievements...and that's really the only reason why you would buy this game.

    Pros: Soundtrack, Graphics, and a plot that's worth appreciating.
    Cons: Gameplay, physics, difficulty (too easy), lack of focus, and no knowledge gathered for the game.
    Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pros: 1) The graphics and sounds are absolutely incredible. Great script, the voice acting felt natural, aircraft (visually speaking) werePros: 1) The graphics and sounds are absolutely incredible. Great script, the voice acting felt natural, aircraft (visually speaking) were spot on. Pretty much standard fair in the graphics and sound department, aka "top of the top notch."

    Cons: WHAT THE HELL DID THEY DO TO MY FLIGHT CONTROLS?!?!? I can't even roll! And whats with the zoom autopilot dog fights? It takes everything (and I sincerely mean everything) that was fun about the franchise right out of the game. Seriously, devote Ace Combat fans will sorely hate this game. You know what? Why am I even writing this? Everyone who would benefit from this review already took the game to the desert for target practice. Seriously, the only fun I had in the game was the 15 minutes I had in the Blackhawk, and MW2 did this better, so why bother playing this game in the first place?

    This is the last Ace Combat I will ever buy, until they bring back ye old school gameplay. Take your graphics and cutscenes and shove it.
    Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews