User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 954 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 30, 2013
    6
    Alan wake is perhaps one of the few true old school survival horrors on the XBox 360. Visually it looks good, story is well written and thought out. Voice acting is good. It does almost everything an adventure or survival horror should. So what's wrong with it. The game's pacing is just far too slow and tries to be too clever for its own good. For people new to the genre, or to this style, I guess it would be something to marvel. But above all it really doesn't feel like a game, but more like an interactive movie. To be honest the plot here reminds me allot of the old John Candy movie Delirious, except set in a serious gloomy town. Above all, it isn't interesting. I kind of feel like I'm a part of a Stephen King novel, and like his books there is just far too much filler. Overall: It's a decent enough game that is likely to be more appealing to "fresher" audience. Considering how long it had been in development I had expected a bit more. It is highly likely I had just over-hyped the game for myself and was underwhelmed by the end result, but regardless, that is how I feel. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    One of the most amazig games on xbox 360, is a masterpiece, have amazing moments, is scary, the gameplay wow, is awesome, the graphics fantastic, but the better is the story, is epic. Fantastic game.
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    Alan wake is a pretty good new IP and i like the idea behind it. You go to a cabin in the woods with your wife to work on a book and your wife vanishes and all hell breaks loose. The game has a nice creepy atmosphere being in the woods at night . The combat mechanics are fairly good . i like the idea of having to use your flashlight to weeken the enimys down before you can shoot them . The story telling is pretty solid . There is no real good enimy varity at all though and it would have been nice if they could have put some freakier creatuers in this game . over all though if you like survival horror type games like silent hill its worth your time. Expand
  4. May 27, 2012
    9
    One of the best unique gaming experiences on the 360. This game was a great experience and one of my favorites this generation! I would have given the game a 10, but the ending was kinda abrupt. But definitely great psychological thriller! I loved the atmosphere and humor!
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    If you're looking for a unique game on the 360, this is definitely one to pick up. The narrative is engrossing (except for the ending), the graphics are dark yet vibrant when light comes out, and the sound direction is among the best I've ever heard. While the atmosphere is unsettling, it's never really scary. I wish this game had adopted elements of a survival horror game. It's more of a light thriller than a horror game.
    Give this game a shot. It's really pretty cool.
    Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    this is the best terror game i ever played in my hole life,the only problem of this game are the guns (wich exist less thanany game) and he isnĀ“t an open world game.
  7. ERB
    Sep 23, 2013
    9
    This game is truly a work of art.Remedy again made another masterpiece after creating MP1 and MP2.This game really focuses on the story,the story of this game is really good and also the action or game play is really enjoyable plus satisfying.And not just that the game really thrilling and scary I mean before I start to play Alan Wake I make sure that every lights in my room is open because this game made me realize that the darkness is really disturbing or scary.But even though I enjoyed this game I think there is something that is missing.According to the creators this game was supposed to be an Open World game.Okay at first It was okay for me to not start adventuring Alan Wake's world.I can wait until the game ends.Then when I thought I can go have an adventure It didn't happen.After finishing the game the only thing you can do is to repeat all the missions in order to play.That part really disappointed me.

    And a word of advice to you creators If you will make Alan Wake 2 please promise me and your fans to make it an open world game.That will make us very happy and satisfy.
    Expand
  8. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Really Fun game, I very much enjoyed it, it had an amazingly fun story with very interesting characters and very unique game play, I mean killing enemies with a flash light is awesome, Great game worth all your money, even better because this game can be found in pretty much any clearance bin really cheap game.
  9. Nov 19, 2011
    7
    Alan Wake is a fairly well made horror game with some interesting concepts such as the use of light but suffers from its influences.The characters setting and story are nothing you haven't read or seen in a movie a dozen times.Though initially disconcerting,it soon wears off and becomes a generic,so-called horror game.This game may as well be called Stephen King.
  10. May 29, 2013
    9
    Alan Wake was a one of a kind experience and I enjoyed it immensely. The story, characters and the plot were more than enough to make the game very enjoyable and despite not being the scariest game that's ever existed, it sets an atmosphere that just doesn't quite go away. However, the only downside to this game is its lack of replay value. Once you beat the game, all you have left to do is go on a scavenger hunt for items and what not. Overall this is a must play game and is highly recommended. Expand
  11. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed this game on my Xbox 360 back when I purchased it from Gamestop. I give this game a good review of 9.3 out of 10. I can recommend you to buy this.
  12. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    I couldn't be more satisfied with this game, survival horror and adventure games aren't scary anymore, this game changes that. The story is great and suspenseful, I always wondered what would happen next and how would the ending continue. The combat system having the mix of light and guns is perfect and the controls i found then to be perfect. The graphics are wonderful and the atmosphere and environments can't be better. This is a must buy for any xbox owner, buy it now. Expand
  13. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    A very unique game with an interesting concept, I found the storytelling interesting if a bit cliche at times and the experience all together enjoyable. The creepy vibe is achieved well and the combat is fairly fluid if you are not a klutz with a controller. I played this game solidly all the way through and was not disappointed, a great game and I would love to see a proper come next gen.
  14. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    An excellent game, feels fresh and unique. The first ten minutes were quite scary, but the rest of the game was not scary at all. I won't call this a horror game. I can't stop playing the game, finish it in two days and never feel bored or rushed. However, the ending to me is not good enough and it decreases the replay value for me. I give this game a solid 7, but since Remedy is a Finnish company and I live in Finland, so one point for that. Expand
  15. Apr 8, 2011
    3
    Episode 2 of Pokemon had better writing. Seriously, this is just a game dressed like a tv show with repetitive as hell gameplay. Apparently the cancer of casual gaming is spreading faster than I thought. You should be embarrassed to review this well.
  16. Jan 27, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake is a brilliant game, all in all. It does everything right, from it's story and characters to its gameplay and graphics. The game messes with your head (it is a very winding and twisting story) and leaves you not knowing what to expect! The lighting techniques are superb, and the graphics are very impressive! This game is worth the cash, so buy it next time you see it!
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    To start off Alan Wake is one of the best games I have ever played, yeah the camera angles are annoying and yes you run through the same forest over and over but the fact is, you play Alan Wake for the story and it sure does deliver. The gun play is pretty solid with a decent range of weapons for someone who has never fired a gun, the flares and flash bangs are cool additions. The enemies were not the best with only a few types but they were I believe well balanced providing some tense encounters. The story is probably the best story in any game I have played which is over 230 on the Xbox 360 (not including the N64, Sega MegaDrive, SNES, Gameboy, Gamecube, Dreamcast, PS1, PS2, PS3, PC and the PSP) so I think I have a pretty decent history with game stories and Alan Wake's narration and the manuscripts were really well done. Making the game like a book was a great idea and was executed perfectly with some great twists and cliff-hangers. The ending at first was a disappointing but when I thought about it, the ending made sense and was rather good at sprouting questions in the brain. This is a game that everyone that likes a good story should play but if you're for action, you have come to the wrong place.
    A most definite 10/10. GOTY 2010
    (I got the game on release, collector's edition but I didn't do reviews on here then but I felt I had to put it)
    Expand
  18. Feb 17, 2011
    8
    For the amount of hype that this game has received, I must admit that I'm somewhat disappointed. When this game first came out, all I ever saw on anything that has to do with video games is "ALAN WAKE" plastered everywhere. I forced myself to not purchase this game at full price, waiting till it dropped into the bargan bin for a mere $20 before i made my purchase. In the end, I'm glad that I did, seeing as how this game has very little replay value and can be completed in a mere 8-10 hours. I read that it's supposed to be a psychological thriller, shooter, action, and horror game. While it definitely is all of these, it really doesn't do any of them well except psychological thriller. The game isn't scary in the slightest, mainly because the enemies are all exceptionally annoying. Or, it could be that the main character is constantly talking, giving you the sense that you're not fully enveloped in the world. Either way, the game never gave me chills, nor did it ever make me jump, even a little. I was expecting some insane mind-twisting story that would leave my mouth agape, but it was actually quite predictable and uninspired. You'll catch yourself in the game thinking, "OK, there's no way that's going to happen next, it's waaaayyy too obvious." And then, to your dismay, it does happen. Exactly as you imagined that it would. I can't say that the entire story is like this, but the majority of it definitely is. The collectible thermos' are boring to collect, but the manuscript pages are somewhat interesting. The voice acting is decent, but nothing spectacular, and lip-synching is hilariously bad. The actual game's graphics are excellent, and the environment was tremendously well-done. Lighting in the game is remarkable, and the shadowing is near flawless. The gunplay and core mechanics in the game all work extremely well and definitely gives you more of a movie-esque vibe with all of the slow-motion cinematics during combat. The general idea of light vs. dark is prevalent in this one, and seems a little cliche. The ending was OK, but wasn't pieced together too well, as I felt that some things weren't explained as properly as they should have been. One thing that ground out my nerves was when you were swarmed by enemies that swing their weapons over and over. A dodge is great once or twice, but then you run into the third guy who is swinging as well. The general gameplay tends to get a little repetitive at times, consisting of you running through the woods shooting at seemingly endless amounts of enemies that aren't even scary to fight. Overall, I enjoyed the story to a degree and it was worth paying $20 for. The gameplay is good and the graphics are great. If you're looking for another horror game to satisfy your need to leap out of your chair, this is not recommended at all. I feel this game is targetted more towards adults who enjoy a decent psychological thriller with some shooting sprinkled in, and so that is the only audience I can recommend this game to. In the end, a disappointment to myself, but still a solid game. Expand
  19. Jul 1, 2012
    8
    Alan Wake encapsulates imagination. And with such comes great originality. The story has a tendency to go a bit all over the place, though overall it comes across as something few developers dare to explore these days - a brand new vision. The characters have strong personalities, and the atmosphere draws you into the world with a presentation that holds up well even by today's standards. The gameplay succeeds in being quite different from the norm, and although it doesn't vary as much as I would have liked it to throughout the game, it manages to remain challenging and enjoyable. Personally I would have liked a Focus button that did not require me to hold it down for minutes on end, and a more alarming notification of enemies approaching from behind - though this is nitpicking really. I'm not yet certain where Remedy is going with the narrative, but consider me intrigued. All in all Alan Wake is a rarity, and its approach to episodic content reminiscent of television shows should be encouraged throughout the video gaming industry where fit. Much props to Remedy for taking their time to fulfill their vision, and perhaps it will help encourage the rest of the industry to take some notes on how originality is achieved - instead of having the only remaining ambition in this sequel-filled industry being the constantly reappearing selling point "bigger and better". Expand
  20. May 14, 2012
    4
    After wandering around in the dark fighting the same exact lumberjacks with a flash light is your idea of a good time then Alan Wake is a masterpiece. Unfortunately for everyone else it's simply a "Twin Peaks" rip off with repetitive mind numbing gameplay, constant narration and a overall plot likened to one of M Night Shyamalan's failed screenplays. Go to point A, fight lumberjacks, ambush, collect thermos, go to point B, quick time event, cutscene, rince and repeat 10 times. Save your money and pick up a real survival horror game like Deadly Premonition or Resident Evil. Expand
  21. Aug 8, 2011
    6
    Action thriller that is predictable at times. The good: Storytelling, sounds, and chapter by chapter like TV series. The bad: Graphics could have used more work around release date (when characters on screen talk there lips don't move with words properly), repetitive game play, too predictable for a horror/thriller game, and linear game play also. It has a very unique way of telling you the story (at the end of each chapter there is a short intermission followed by the next chapter like a TV movie series where it shows what happened last before the start of each chapter). For the main character you control there are some exciting points like driving in cars and dictating the light. Bottom line is that it feels like your being pulled along. Weapons are limited and your main character abilities to fight off the darkness (enemies) hand to hand doesn't exist. Your best weapon is your flashlight sadly. I understand the concept of the game but I think it would have been a better game if it was a sandbox environment so it wouldn't be so predictable. For the time it took Remedy to make this one it's not worth the wait. Expand
  22. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Alan Wake is a major success for being a psychological thriller thats plays out like a tv show. The story line for this game is interesting and is full of twists in the plot. You play the role of Alan Wake, a writer, who is looking for his wife who went missing when they were vacationing in a Bright Falls. Bright Falls is a small town in Washington that holds many mysteries, namely Cauldron lake which is in the center of the town. The game's mood is creepy and dark which really is the only "scary" part of it. The gameplay works but could be better and glitches occur occasionally sometimes creating issues. The music also contributes to the eerie feeling of Bright Falls. Though it is a short game and has a rather unfulfilling ending, the DLC should keep you happy but only for a few more hours. The best part of the game in my opinion is the light vs dark theme which involves you racing to sources of light to escape the darkness and removing the darkness from the taken to defeat them. Overall, loved this game, hoping for a new one. What kept this from a perfect 10/10 was the short story and the poor ending. Expand
  23. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    What a great game. Excellent atmosphere, okay lenght (9 to 10 hours), and well-telled history. Batteries and ammo are not something that you can find anywhere and there are epic boss fights. You will want to come back because of the challenge of Insane difficulty, but not so more as the game is not that long. There are a few bugs, and the physic is not perfect, but there are a few games as unique as this one. Expand
  24. Jul 13, 2012
    0
    Alan wake. How **** a game can be. The game is all about running around in a **** forest (at least for the most part of this **** game), you get bored easily, the combat mechanics is completely retarded and the controls feel wonky, like if Alan is drunk. There's not much to do at the game, only runnin around, combat(which sucks) and collecting **** There's no variety at all. The story is good but its so confusing and has so many gaps, as if they were tired of thinking about a story and just left it unfinished. The game has a good setting and is very immersive until you get bored on the first couple of hours of gameplay. Don't even try this ridiculous game. Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    "Alan Wake" is a psychological horror game from the makers of "Max Payne". Storywise, it is a blend of Stephen King novels and TV's "Twin Peaks". But the gameplay and overall look recalls the video game "Silent Hill". Made exclusively for the XBOX 360, it features a good twisty story that's presented much like a TV show. Before a new "episode" begins, there is a brief recap of previous story events. The presentation is a gimmick but it's done well enough. The developers at Remedy Entertainment have produced an extremely polished game with "Alan Wake", but it's too bad that it never reaches its true potential. Unfortunately, repetitive tasks robs the game of much needed tension. Its spooky to be sure, but once Alan has turned on a light source for the umpteenth time, it becomes obvious the makers focused more on the story than gameplay. In that regard, the company's "Max Payne" and its first sequel are more satisfying experiences. But despite its shortcomings, "Alan Wake" is still a trip worth taking. It may not be a great XBOX exclusive, but it's good enough to play through at least once. 8.5 out of 10. Expand
  26. Sep 22, 2011
    7
    I really wanted Alan Wake to be a masterpiece, but unfortunately it failed to live up to my expectations by some margin. The problem with the game is that, after a strong start, it fails to immerse the player. After every episode (the game consists of 6 episodes) the character is robbed of all of his inventory and the return of these items becomes irritating. Also, how many flashlights, pistols and hunting rifles do you normally find casually strewn about the wilderness? No, I don't find many either, but Alan Wake finds literally hundreds.

    The facial animation and lip-synching is often poor which, for a game thats main aim is to tell a story, is unforgivable. The story itself is actually pretty good, if a little bit convoluted. The inspirations behind the story are clear, ranging from Stephen King to Twin Peaks, yet I do feel that perhaps the story could have been a little better. Perhaps this is because any impact of key plot moments is lost due to the premature finding of manuscript pages, which often detail what is about to occur before it actually does. Not only does this reduce the impact of plot moments, but it also often causes tension in the scene to be reduced, as the player knows exactly what is coming.

    All of these criticisms are not to say that Alan Wake is a bad game, as it is enjoyable. It is just unfortunate that the developers did not spend more time and iron out a number of irritating issues. However, when one looks at the fact that the game took 5 years to make, it is maybe the skill of the developer and the choices made whilst making the game that must be called into question. If you can pick it up cheap then you won't regret it. I just hope that there is an Alan Wake 2 that truly explores the potential of Alan Wake.
    Expand
  27. Apr 4, 2013
    8
    Alan Wake is a very unique game, but also a repetitive one. It has one of the best stories I've heard in a while, and it's told in a unique way similar to television. Instead of doing something like missions or going from point A to point B, the game's played in episodes. There are six episodes and each episode is about two to three hours long. When you start each episode, there's a short cutscene that goes "previously on Alan Wake" just like you see on TV that recaps important plot points from the previous episode. The gameplay is good except for the fact that it can get pretty repetitive after a while, I thought that it was fun at the beginning but I got a little bored towards the end of the game. The combat was a bit too easy and ammo and other supplies were too common. I still found the combat to be satisfying when you killed all enemies and the game's brightness lit up and it went into slow motion for a short time and you could just watch the last enemy disappear. The story is what kept me engaged to finish the game. It would be easy to recommend Alan Wake to someone who likes a game with a great story, but not to someone who likes action. Either way, I really enjoyed it and I loved the story. Expand
  28. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    Interesting entry into the survival horror video game world. The story is interesting enough considering how absurd it is, even for a video game. The gameplay gets very repetitive near the end and by the time I was playing the DLC, I just felt like I was grinding through it to see the end. Not worth the original retail price, but definitely worth the $20 it costs now. Pretty easy game to get achievements on if that is your thing. Expand
  29. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    I really liked this game. It keeps you in the dark, figuratively and literally. Not the scariest game I've played but it definitely has its moments. The gameplay is good, but be warned - it takes some getting used to. The flashlight combat is very unique, and satisfying once you get it down. The length is good, it's not a short game by any means. It mixes in the occasional open world scene with a heavily linear story, which I also liked. The game pulls you in, lulls a bit for the first few chapters, but picks up and finishes strong. 9/10. Expand
  30. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    It was fun, it just got a bit old to me. The story was interesting, but the whole time I did not know where it was trying to go with it. To honest none of the characters were really memorable. It was fun but I would have to say there are many other games that Xbox has to offer that are way better.
  31. May 23, 2012
    10
    One of the best stories a videogame ever had plus simple but fun-packed gameplay presented with very good-looking graphics. The atmosphere and sound will surprise and thrill you too through this thrilling game. The way this game plays with light and shadow is just awesome and almost unique in the gaming-industry. The psycholgical touch is brilliantly presented too. If u love Max Payne you will love Alan Wake. Thank you Remedy! Expand
  32. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    This game is simply unremarkable, repetitive as hell, and boring. Not to mention the 'awesome writing'. I've seen better stories from 8th graders. This should only appeal to people that haven't read anything better than a Goosebumps book.
  33. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    Alan wake is a very enjoyable game, I hadn't played it but saw that it had good reviews so recently got it on XBL, the game was not that long but it kept my interest, the plot and take on the storyline is a very interesting mixture. One of my favourite parts of the game is once you finish a chapter yoàu get an alan wake logo on screen and a song plays from start to finish it just adds an extra relief and a little while to relax before starting up again. Found the game to be like a mini tv series of which you are the main character, no doubt the intention of the producers and the gameplay, the story and gameplay mesh well together with the creative directing. There are a few niggles, the gameplay does begin to get repetitive by the end and I couldn't bring myself to replay the game, once through was enough. So.... Not perfect but an enjoyable gaming adventure, if you find it on the cheap it's worth picking it up. Expand
  34. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake es un titulo nuevo dentro del genero de terror psicologico.
    Sin duda que Remedy tomo bastante tiempo para terminarlo, pero finalmente crearon un juego
    totalmente inmersivo, increiblemente bien logrado grafica y fisicamente con una historia atrayente y un terror sobrenatural raya entre la realidad y la locura.

    Aunque resulta un tanto corto el juego es totalmente recomendado.
  35. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    The gameplay is pretty shallow, but I liked story and graphics. I've quit that jump'n'run orgy after 2-3 hours. I would recommend it to fans of the genre.
  36. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    As an avid stephan king reader, i appreciate the fiction this game puts forth. I know good storytelling and this game raises the bar on it. The graphics have a specific art style and complement the engaging music. To some one with no knowledge on video games, the combat and enemies seem generic and not varied. These people are idiots. this game is engaging and awesome in presentation. I pity the fool who rates this game low. Expand
  37. Oct 12, 2011
    8
    For those of you who haven't played this game, go out and play it right away. This may not have the greatest game-play but the story and pacing is top notch. A top complaint is the repetitive game-play, but it is really easy to look past it if you just focus on what's going on around the protagonist. The environment is great and the eerie tone is not scary, but it has some near-scary moments. Character models, other than Alan, seem a bit dated but it still looks better than a lot of games that have come out in the past. Buy or rent it, you probably won't regret it. Expand
  38. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alan Wake does a lot of things right and a lot of things wrong. It gets so caught up in this supposedly epic storyline it ends up giving an ending that just confuses more than resolves. Questions are left unanswered, and overall it feels as though you just wasted spending 15 hours becoming connected to Alan, only to have an abrupt and unlikeable ending forced upon you. Not to mention the meh graphics due to a long development period.
    But it is still a solid thriller, with some actual thrills and scares. They don't come often, and they're not scream inducing, but Alan Wake does something many games nowadays don't, and that is to try and revive the dead horror franchise of gaming, since such classics as the original Resident Evils and Silent Hill.
    It's a good combination of horror and action, and it manages to pull of this mix well.
    Expand
  39. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake was almost more of a cinematic experience than anything else. The game play itself wasn't all that difficult, and the linear path of the story left me feeling that I had little control over the outcome. I still enjoyed it and can appreciate the artistic value of this game.
  40. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Alan Wake is by far one of my favorite games of this generation, maybe it can get a little repetitive but the story is so compelling that you just can't move from the chair, the graphics are awesome and the game play works well.
  41. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Alan Wake is a great mystery/horror/thriller that hits all the right notes in the story, character, and design departments. It is a MUST-PLAY for any Twin Peaks fan.

    Pros: Great, zany characters (with solid voice-work), good mystery story with a nice pay-off at the end, entertaining and 'suspenseful' combat, nice looking (even with age), great soundtrack.

    Cons: The ending is a
    semi-cliff hanger and warrants a sequel, enemies become repetitive, while the flashlight mechanic creates a ton of tension in combat, it can become tedious, DLC required to get clearer picture of ending for most.

    Overall, this game is a classic exclusive that everyone should experience (whether on xbox or pc). Unlike some other horror games, solid combat mechanics don't diminish the overall experience. The game has a story to tell and it does it well. 9/10
    Expand
  42. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    I like my games with a bit of story to them, and Alan Wake is just that. Alan Wake himself makes a interesting character, and if only their was more to the combat and then this would make for a pretty sweet game. Nothing about it is 'special', though, and because of that, it'll be forgotten about in a few years.
  43. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Finally the makers of Max Payne 1 and 2 have returned.Their latest game Alan Wake hasn't made as big an impact as Max Payne yet but the franchise has a lot of potential. Right off the bat you will notice Alan Wake's story is well written. I can't remember the last time a video game's story was told like Alan Wake. The atmosphere and graphics of the game just add to the experience. I can't go any further without mentioning the lighting system. It's one of the best lighting systems I have seen in a video game. Not to mention the combat system is based on the use of light. Although the story of the game is told well there is something that takes away from the cutscenes/storytelling. That is lip syncing. A lot of games don't have good lip syncing but in Alan Wake in just has an odd look to it. Some gameplay mechanics aren't very good as well. Such as jumping. It's good for clearing gaps but when it comes to jumping over something it is a little annoying and the animation doesn't look right even though the animations in every other aspect of the game is done very well. What more can you ask for from a game? There is a well written story plus good gameplay (with a little errors) and amazing looking graphics. This could possibly lead to one of the best franchises ever and I have high hopes that Remedy can strike gold with it if they put in the effort. I wouldn't say it is a must own but it is a should own game if you like great stories. 9/10 Expand
  44. Apr 16, 2014
    10
    The Best XBOX 360 Exclusive Game...EVERYTING IN THIS GAME IS AWESOME, EVERYTHING...one of the best story in a video game ever made, gameplay awesome, soundtrack, EVERYTHING...But it's just one bad thing...this game was originally Open World and they remove that thing from the final version..what the hell the did that, I love every place in this game, the forests looks amazing, I'd love the explore the map..if this game was open world, it will be my favourite open world video game ever

    P.S. an Multiplayer will be good too :(
    Expand
  45. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    This is really one of the best games I've ever played. Done by the same guys who did the Max Payne series, the character development, the story, the creepiness, the graphics. Everything about this game was a winner for me. For those who enjoyed the series Twin Peaks, you'll see multiple references and similarities. Incredibly polished, enjoyable cinematic/gaming experience.
  46. Dec 8, 2010
    7
    Interesting storyline and gameplay but no need to play it a second time. The add-ones available provide some extended time and some new ideas. If you want to pick one, download The Writer which provides some good moments.
  47. Jan 12, 2012
    1
    Alan Wake's sole redeeming feature is its use of full motion video to pastiche shows most gamers will only know of through cultural osmosis. Every other aspect of the game is woefully undeveloped or simply incompetent in execution. There's no satisfaction to the combat, which is dull, repetitive and constant. And the writing is tragically bad and self-indulgent, ultimately bereft of any redeeming value - a judgement that can be extended to the game as a whole. Avoid. Expand
  48. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Alan Wake is a flawed but still enjoyable game.

    The production values are up there with the best the story is good but the mechanics do let it down a bit having to shine a torch at the undead to make them shootable whilst running out of batteries with the undead coming at you from all angles is quite frustrating

    It did keep me playing to the end but the experience wasn't as
    enjoyable as it could have been, Expand
  49. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    At first the story line of the game was interesting. A different type then other FPS games that use all kinds of weapons. This one, even though you did have use of a pistol, shotgun, and flash bang grenades used flash lights, lights, and flares to defeat attackers, but after playing it, it got monotonous. I finished the game just to see if it would pick up the pace. The story line got boring and game play was repetitive. Expand
  50. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    Great survival horror game. Gets a bit repetitive at some times, but the story keeps the action going.Unfortunately the real story only concludes in the DLC, which is kind of an abuse, but it's a great game nonetheless.
  51. Sep 16, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  52. May 15, 2012
    8
    If I was allowed only one word to describe Alan Wake, "atmospheric" would always come to mind. If there is one thing that Alan Wake nails down perfectly, it is firmly placing the player within it's world, not letting go until the credits roll. With great use of fog, lighting, sound and art design, the game does an absolutely fantastic job realizing the world Remedy was trying to create, and it is a rather satisfying one at that. While the game more or less sells itself on story and atmosphere alone, the are some relatively minor gripes with design and gameplay that hold it back a bit. The game introduces an interesting light mechanic, requiring you to dispel, usually through means of a flashlight, the darkness that surrounds the bulk of enemies found in the game. It adds a little something to the game that changes the feel of combat when compared to your typical third-person shooter. There is also a nice dodge mechanic, giving you a chance to slip out of incoming attacks, considering you time things just right. Overall, the action and gunplay elements of the game work well, and while the game itself is pretty straight-forward, combat feels very satisfying. That said, while the gunplay was handled rather well, traversing the environment can sometimes feel a bit clunky. Things like jumping feels more than a little off. At it's worse, the small number of platforming sections in the game can be a bit of a headache. For the most part though, the time spent navigating Alan through the world with sometimes be greeted with some awkward looking jumping animations. Also, your spring can sometimes be halted when making contact with walls, which can add unnecessary tension to chase scenes. Overall, Alan Wake is a fantastic game. There are a few noticeable issues, but most are rather minor. If you are looking for an interesting story and great atmosphere, this game is for you. If you are looking for a good third-person shooter, and can deal with a few issues, this game is also for you. Being one of the more interesting titles I have played in a long while, I can easily recommend this to anyone interested. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2012
    6
    Overall, the game was enjoyable on some level.. But Overall, I don't think it deserves the high rating that it has received. The story line was excellent. It was almost like an interactive movie. The graphics weren't bad, but nothing special. The driving mission was broken... it was honestly some of the worst driving in a game that I have ever played... some flash games on the internet had better physics.. but that was just a small problem, as there wasn't much driving anyway... my main complaint, is that the gameplay was very much the same for the entire game. It felt like a Demo that lasted for 6 hours.
    overall I was a bit disappointed with the purchase, however if you find it in a bargain bin at walmart, then go for it.
    Expand
  54. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    When people talk about 360 exclusives they usually dismiss this game but they really shouldn't as this is truly one of the best Xbox 360 exclusive out...the story alone holds the weight if this game with the story making you carry on playing, desperate to know what's gonna happen next...the combat is pretty fun and I also like the tv show styling of the game...any one with a 360 should get this game Collapse
  55. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    Although Alan Wake has an incredible amount of room for improvement, it's a deep game, and it's honestly terrifying in it's own way. The use of the flashlight in the game as your ultimate weapon is very unique, this game wanted it's own feel and got it, they have started there own unique gameplay that they simply just have to build on like every other game that had ideas to make something different, in almost all ways Alan Wake succeeded and it met my expectations which were fairly high for a series starter like Alan Wake. I loved the game and can't wait to see what they do in the future with this title. Expand
  56. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a game that captures you as soon as it begins. The first thing you will notice is that this game looks absolutely gorgeous. The voice acting is some of the best I have heard in any game. Everything about Alan Wake is believable. And most importantly the story is excellent. This is the one aspect of the game that drove me to complete the game quickly to see the ending (which is conclusive and pretty satisfying). I really do believe that this game has set standards in how a story is told in the video game medium. If you like your games with an engrossing narrative and game-play so smooth you feel as if you are Alan Wake then this game is a must buy. Expand
  57. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    I highly recommend this game! This game has a great story with plenty of question that keeps you thinking, the gameplay is ok in a fact you destroy people with a flashlight. The flaws with this game is the repetztive walk in the woods with enemies from every direction, this is almost what you are doing 80% off the time. This game overall did not truly live up to its height as i thought it would be one of the greatest games i've ever played especialy through all the delays it went through. Expand
  58. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Love this game, the atmosphere this game brings is one of the best I have seen in any game. The lighting as well is fantastically done. Definitely one of my favourite games this gen!
  59. May 1, 2012
    10
    This game sucked me in for three days... and I don't regret even one second spend in this masterpiece. It was like reading one of early King's works. Unique story, combat mechanics are enjoyable to (till) the end. Overall - 10 out of 10. There were some flaws, but that wasn't enough to spoil the fun.
  60. Aug 8, 2013
    8
    After playing through Alan Wake, I'm no longer afraid of the dark. For a supposed psychological horror title, that's pretty bad. But despite this, I liked it. I waited this game for years. The prime reason I actually got myself an Xbox 360 was because I heard this one was going to be an exclusive. I got it on the release day and expected and wanted it to be a 10/10 game. I was pretty disappointed when it was only an 8, but these things happen.

    My first impressions were great. The game looked pretty good and the setting and the atmosphere were great, plus I loved the Twin Peaks references. There's also the traditional Remedy storytelling, which as you might guess is something I greatly appreciate.

    Then the plot kicks in. You find yourself running around in dark forests chased by shadowy enemies than are sensitive to light (and bullets). The gameplay is solid enough, but here's where the problems start. It is, as almost all games today are, a tunnel. Aside from very minor sidepaths, there are no alternate routes or anything. This is pretty disheartening considering the game was supposed to have an open world. Not to mention only having a single path through an entire forest feels pretty dumb.

    Then there's the main character. In a traditional horror fashion, he's portrayed as slow and weak. However, the control scheme is simply too effective. After playing for a while, I realized not a single enemy can ever touch me. A few hours from that, I realized you can pretty much predict all the jump-scares by observing the environment. On a side note, upping the difficulty didn't make the game any harder for me. There are other issues as well, for example the game wanting so badly to be a TV show instead and the shortness of it.

    The plot was pretty nice overall. Even though I've seen other people complain about how it ends, I thought it was pretty fitting. I thought a more open like this is better suited for "a psychological horror" title anyways. The collectibles in this game also deserve a special mention. While there are maybe too many of them, especially considering most of them are really pointless, the book pages that give vague hints of what's about to happen next were a great addition. I feel I need to mention that the extra pages that only appear on the toughest difficulty were the biggest disappointment in the game, though.

    I may have voiced a lot of criticisms, but despite all that, I still played the game through multiple times, collecting everything and so on. It wasn't anywhere near a perfect product, but it was fun and the atmosphere was still great.
    As for the DLCs, while I think they offer some worth, I also think they're like DLCs usually are, which is to say boring. They do more of what the core game does, except everything about it is slightly worse.
    Expand
  61. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    All in all, Alan Wake is a great game with a really captivating story. It's one of those movie-esque games (not to be confused with movie license games....Those things are that really engages you with its plot. Anyway, to get to the point, here is what I really enjoyed about Alan Wake:
    -An amazing story that's complicated and mature
    -Mostly interesting characters (granted, there are
    exceptions to this).
    -A unique combat system with the flash light, flares and guns.
    -Some down right amazing environments.
    -A superb soundtrack with Poets of the Fall being one of the featured artists.
    Now here are my cons:
    -Some pretty bad lip syncing and character models. I think the characters had a lot of potential to look good but it just didn't really work out.
    -Extremely repetitive gameplay. I mean, you'll basically be running through levels trying to not get killed by the same enemies over and over. Fun for a while but it does get old...
    -A pretty confusing ending
    Expand
  62. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    I really enjoyed playing this game it has a fine storyline and great controls.The graphics are very atmospheric and the lighting effects are a joy to behold.All in all I'd recommend this game to anybody that's a fan of the genre
  63. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    This is one of my all time favourite games, it is so atmospheric and although this was originally meant to be an open world game I'm glad they didn't in the end as it is really well done as a linear story and it really is just amazing to go through. My only complaint is that it is a little bit long, if they cut out some parts I think it would have helped with the pacing a little. But it has amazing graphics, characters and locations. The music is also 1st class. Expand
  64. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    The best story-driven game i have ever played. Alan Wake wont let you go before you finish it, and even after that you still want more. This game has great controls,very good graphics, Superb story and character you want to se more of. Just go buy it. Nuff said
  65. Sep 27, 2011
    9
    A brilliant game that shows the power of atmosphere. The immersion was great, the environments dragged me in so well I was on the edge of my seat the whole time, while still being able to frighten the hell out of me. Brilliantly paced and written, with strong gameplay mechanics and beautiful environments, the minor flaws like facial animations are nearly completely forgotten it what is a game that deserves more praise than it gets. Expand
  66. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    After playing all the crappy shooter lately, I have to say, this is not ony a awesome departure from the standard run and gun, but a game that is nearly a masterpiece. This game is very pretty. The tiniest things in the enviorment such as electricity and light/flare effects look beautiful. Alan Wakes in-game character model looks very detailed as well. The story is about a writer named Alan Wake(LOL)who is suffering from writers block. He and his wife Alice are going on vacation to a small creepy town , Alice gets kidnapped, and he begins getting pages of a manuscript written by him that not only he doesn't remember writing, but is coming true. Now a dark entity has been unleashed and he has to find a way to stop it. As chece' as this sounds, the story is pretty damn good, with fascinating supporting characters like Alan's agent Barry, the FBI agent, and several others. The main character is relateable and likeable as well. There are plenty of twist and turns as well. The best part of Alan Wake however is the gameplay, it is so different than any other game I've other played. Now due to the fact that all of you're enemies are possessed by the dark entity, you have to use light to get rid of the darkness, then use your gun to finish them off. The only thing I don't like about the game is the ending, it is so bad! I am sick of great games having such bad endings. If you love video games and want something different, buy this game. You owe it to yourself. Expand
  67. Apr 3, 2013
    1
    This game misses the mark completely. I mean really, if they were going for some sort of survival horror game they failed miserably in every regard. Health regenerates and you are always supplied with enough ammo to deal with every situation and even if you manage to die somehow you are just set back a couple of seconds since there seems to be a checkpoint every step you take. The aim is completely automatic making sure you don't miss and everytime an enemy comes near you the game pauses to make sure your monkey brain has time to dodge. This means you never really fear for the protagonist instead you just get annoyed when you die since it prolongs the monotonous tps gameplay even further. So you just jog along a linear path through forests and villages shooting the predictable jumpscare people the game throws at you a million times, nothing cerebral ever happens and when I was halfway through the campaign I found myself wishing the game would just end. Expand
  68. Aug 19, 2010
    7
    This is a horror shooter trying to get you all veklempt with a story thrown in there, somewhere. But it's ultimately mundane because of the repetitive enemies and tired novelty of having to remain in light. Nothing to see here. This game is ultimately forgettable, even though it is initially intriguing. Well worth a rental, but you're a sucker if you buy this one, just as you're a sucker if you allow sites like this one to make decisions about your playing preferences. Expand
  69. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    this game is brilliant. Many have wrongly complained about the voice acting which is brilliant. Second the game play isn't repetitive that much i mean seriously its only as repetitive as resident evil 4 which everyone said was brilliant. Overall this game is brilliant with very good graphics, a great story and great game play.
  70. Sep 19, 2010
    8
    Alan Wake. Alan Wake,
    About 5 years in the making, Alan Wake has finally reached our store shelves. Created by famed developer Remedy, responsible for gems such as Max Payne, Alan Wake is a psychological thriller about a writer called Alan Wake who takes a much needed holiday with his wife to Bright Falls. As soon as they arrive, nothing goes to plan, his wife is kidnapped by a mysterious
    force known as the Darkness and Alan brings it upon himself to discover her whereabouts.
    The game was originally conceived as an open world, sandbox title and I was a little disappointed upon release when it was revealed that this had been taken out. The game takes place as episodes like a tv series with daytime being your story progression and night-time being the action orientated fight against the Taken, the name given to the people who have been overcome by the Darkness. This, ruined one of the strongest appeals for me. I had envisaged taken my car out for a drive to suddenly being overcome by the Darkness, with light the only source of comfort.
    But Alan Wake is good, but not great. The daytime sequences only exist to expand the narrative and provide a sense of a believeable open world which in fact is quite linear. The night is the main bulk of the game and is where Alan Wake's story lies. Armed with only a torch and a few weapons, Alan must traverse a variety of woodland environments to meet his objectives to try to find his wife, Alice. The environments are incredibly spooky and the game is very atmospheric but unfortunately it is just not scary. I played the game on the 'Normal' setting and this is what most people will play and the game constantly tells you when the Taken are going to ambush you, defeating the element of suprise. I don't know if this can be turned off.
    Despite this, the game is still an enjoyable experience. I think, had the game not spent so much time in development, then it would be getting 9's across the board.
    The only other negative is the story. The story is good but incredibly confusing if you don't analyse everything. About half way through I didn't really have a clue what was going on!
    However, in an industry saturated with 'space marine shooters', Alan Wake is a refreshing change. It's not a masterpiece but it is a brilliant experience not to be missed.
    FeelinLuckyPUNK
    Expand
  71. Oct 8, 2010
    2
    After hearing a lot of positive reviews, I was really surprised what a disappointment this game was. It's like a cross between a second rate FPS and an simple adventure game. Go here, pick up the keys, return the keys, shoot some bad guys between here and there... repeat. And the special collectible bonus item is a what?? a thermos. That's right... they've scattered bonus thermos containers around the world for you to collect. If you're even THINKING about buying this game, save yourself some money and rent it first. Expand
  72. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    This game is fun the first time you play it. But thats the thing about it. You will only truely enjoy this game the first time you play it. After that, as with so much other games, the magic is no longer there. I do reccomend this game to anyone as it is highly playable. However not worth the 5 year wait.
  73. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    Alan Wake is an outstanding and absolutely polished, beautifully written thriller story from Remedy - makers of previous best seller Max Payne. I must say I was totally stunned by the beautiful graphics, the most realistic lights and shadows, the crisp audio, but the secret weapon for me was the STORY itself, without doubt. All the characters and mechanics, the background story, the smart talking-names, the minor referrals to Remedy's previous blockbuster action, the narration and the beautifully crafted lines, the lost manuscripts, all of them feels like straight from the hand of a Real writer! Alan Wake is a must have for not just the ones who like survival-horror action, but especially for the ones who loves watching, reading and feeling the adventure, the moving, heart pounding stories - spiced with bits inspired by the best of Stephen King's.
    Everybody have to try this one!
    Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is Twin Peaks meets Stephen King in a Remedy shaped parking garage. In short, it's absolutely perfect. The pacing was handled extremely well and I was struck with a 'just ten minutes more' feeling whenever the story revealed another small piece of information. It's an adventure that is as subtle as it is dark and I loved every minute.
  75. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Alan wake does what other horror games in this generation can't. It keeps you on your toes throughout the 12-15 hour single player. It's so well paced and well thought out that it will always bring you back for more. With great horror segments and the occasional one liner which will make you chuckle, this game has blended all the great aspects together which make a good single player memorable, one of the best psychological thrillers out there, if not the best horror game to be out to this year even now in 2013. All i can say is...when will we visit Bright falls again? Expand
  76. Oct 31, 2013
    6
    Maybe if this game didn't have such a raging stiffy for Stephen King and Rambo, this game could have been very good. This game was a missed opportunity with poor characters you don't care about (Barry!) and a very difficult story to follow. This game did have a good atmosphere but only in dark forests, other than that it was just a bland repetitive shooter after a couple of hours giving you unlimited ammo and pretty easy, not scary enemies that were as predictable as burnt toast. As I said, better story, better characters and maybe more survival based combat this game could have been awesome, but it failed, badly. Expand
  77. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    After almost a year, I still think about the visuals and story of this game. It was a complete surprise and one I will definitely return to in the future. The DLC was interesting but lacked the feeling of the main story.
  78. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    One of the best XBOX 360 games I've played. Great story and execellent atmosphere. Recommended if you liked Condemned.

    Perhpas a little short, although on the hardest level it does take longer.

    Brilliant. Will definitly buy AW2 when its released.
  79. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  80. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    The best game I ever played in my life. Good graphics and nice music and the gameplay is so fun the game is Challenging and make you feel great.
    overall the story of the game is wonderfull and keep you wondering what's gona happend next and you feel exciting :D.... i dont know any other game who affer you fun and good story together alan wake is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  81. Jun 24, 2012
    10
    I love everything about this game! The story just keeps you wondering and asking questions as to why things are happening. Graphics and game play are great and nothing to complain about. Also has 2 DLC packs for it to make it more interesting. This game will make you think and even probably make you play multiple times to understand it a little better. This game isn't for those looking for something to shoot it. This is for those who want a game that they can not only enjoy but have a good time thinking and figuring out stories. Its kinda like reading the book only your playing as you go along. Try the game out and then decide whether to add to your collection or not. Expand
  82. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    Simply one of my favorite games of all time. Beautiful to look at, wonderful soundtrack, likable characters, fast paced (though sometimes repetitive) gameplay, gripping atmosphere and an overall good story make this game one hell of a trip. I didn't follow the hype, I just enjoyed the game for what it was. And that's one of the most memorable games I have ever played, the replayability is very high.
    However, there is some nitpicking to do, like the sometimes repetitive gameplay (especially noticeable during long gameplay sessions) and that you're mostly outnumbered by the enemies (but that makes the thrill). Otherwise I can't really think of many negative points for Alan Wake. I replayed it surely 6 times, have over hundreds of hours of gameplay spent on it, have it completed to 100% even with the DLC and it's just fun to pick it up again after a long time and enjoy it all over again. A really special game. Great work, Remedy. I will remember you for this.
    Expand
  83. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    nailed the atmosphere of a decent horror novel and if your a Stephen king fan or a twin peaks fan. this is for you. also any fan of horror and story telling. there is not much verity in enemy's but the game does not outstay its welcome.
  84. Aug 23, 2010
    6
    Alan Wake's attempts at paying homage to Stephen King come off as being more self-serving than sincere. Almost as if the developers were trying to distract you from what is basically a boring presentation by reminiscing about the halcyon days of King's best novels. The environments are an absolute creepy kind of joy to look at, but it leaves you wishing that they could have worked harder on the character models; faces in particular are jarring to look at. Expand
  85. Gex
    Aug 28, 2010
    6
    Descent game with a cool atmosphere. No real variety in enemies and you don't get the real ending which must be downloaded at a cost. Graphics are subpar and the story is quite good, but not great as some would want you to believe.
  86. Sep 30, 2010
    9
    Alan Wake is a fantastic title, packing a intriguing narrative and gorgeous visuals. Finnish developer 'Remedy' wanted Wake to play out like a US TV drama, and they've succeeded in every way possible. What you see here is six in-game episodes of heart pounding, spine tingling awesome with a narrative that'll keeping you guessing right up until the final credits role. Characters are unique and engaging, with Wake's monologuing adding to the experience every step of the way. Gameplay can become quite samey, though environments remain stunning and the lighting is fluid and, at times, simply breath taking (which is fantastic, in a game built up upon a mechanic that direct involves it.) If you're a fan of engaging narrative coupled with exciting gameplay, Wake is an unmissable edition to the Xbox's exclusive collection. Expand
  87. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    This game is awesome. I don't like the final....but only because is confusing. This game is for "twin peak's fan" or every person that wanna play a well narrated story. A must buy.
  88. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    I'm honestly aghast at all the people who think this game represents the pinnacle of good storytelling in a video game. If this is all writers have to do to impress the gaming world, then future game stories are doomed, and blowhards like Ebert will be right in saying that video games cannot be art. Just because you make a game play out like a movie or some hyper-dramatic television series, does not make it a good story; cinematic drama is not synonymous with a good story. Additionally, Alan Wake is grotesquely overwritten, failing to understand the power of subtlety, while beating the player over the head with cliched ideas of "light versus darkness". Was everyone too dumbfounded by the beautiful trees to notice that the human animation and lip-syncing is amateur for this allegedly high standard production? Environments, while pretty, lack the variety and meaning as they did in true masterpieces like Silent Hill 2 and Shadow of the Colossus. The game's plot-line is a contrived piece of crap. It has a pointless metaphysical idea driving it nowhere (i.e. I'm a writer writing myself out of my own story). It relies too heavily on other writers to build its shoddy sense of depth, which, despite its attempts, fails. If anything, I can call this game comedy for all the times the ridiculous commentary of the enemies made me laugh. I have to quote off a few: "Farmers are the opposite of hunter-gatherers"
    "Omega 3 Fatty Acids are good for your heart"
    "Fishing is both a sport and a hobby"

    Seriously, did anyone else pay attention to how ridiculous the enemies are? No, seriously, did you? You can't go five minutes into the game without troupes of enemies barraging you with corny dialogue. Add to this that Alan Wake himself can never shut up, and continually has to state the obvious (i.e. I had to turn on the generator, he said in a narrative voice), and you have a script that, if used for any other medium (such as a book or film) would be laughed at and regarding as juvenile. Ultimately the game lacks focus. It does not know what it wants or what it takes to get there.
    Expand
  89. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    this game is great inspired by stephen king & the tv show lost it has such an edge of your seat story it will keep u guessing 2 the end & beyond great acting,graphics,story & mechanics any1 who hates this game truly don't understand what a thriller is & the 2 dlc packs r amazing must buys
  90. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    Maybe when you play this game, you do not immediately appreciate it highly. But after the passage of it will come out of your memory for a long time. Alan Wake - incredibly atmospheric game, with great plot and interesting characters. The visual effects look very nice, and landscapes of Bright Falls to remember for a long time. The game may not have a lot of memorable moments, there are no interesting bosses. But it is an adult story, great atmosphere, excellent professional videos, a great soundtrack and excellent presentation of the plot. Maybe Alan Wake - the best exclusive for the XBOX360 and one of the best games of recent times. Expand
  91. HLR
    Aug 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alan Wake is a fun game to play.Definitely one of the best exclusives for the 360 in 2010.Although it might get kinda repeating sometimes,it has amazing environmental graphics and a wonderful horror storyline. Expand
  92. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Alan Wake represents the epitome of great storytelling. It takes the archaic story of light vs. darkness and provides a cool new spin to it. What makes a great game is not the main character, but who surrounds that main character. The supporting characters are SUPERB. At times, Alan Wake is at times seriously scary, which is different from other "scary" games that a 4 year old could easily play. The beautiful scenery, story, characters, and all around atmosphere really makes this game great. The music doesn't hurt either.

    I would tell anyone to pick up this game. Absolutely awesome,
    Expand
  93. Feb 23, 2012
    10
    Alan wake is very good and epic game. The story mode is one of the best i have ever played. And the collectables are very nice too. Alan wake chrapics are very very good too. NICE.
  94. May 6, 2012
    10
    Alan Wake izvrsna igra,nezaboravan doživljaj s kakvim se niste susreli unatrag nekoliko godina. Zato ga bez dvoumljenja nabavite i odigrajte ako ste u moguÄ
  95. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    When I finally Picked this game up and played it I wasn't sure what to expect. I read the reviews mostly saying it was great, so I went in with high hopes and expectations. All of those expectations were reached. The story is told as a T.V. show narrated by Alan Wake. It's very well written as if Alan Wake, the famous author wrote it. If you've done your homework on the game then you know that the enemies have a dark shield on them, only penitratable with light. This never gets old. Fights make you feel like you are being hunted, adding to your fear. A clever thing about this game is the way it scares you. It isn't in your face scary like is popular with a lot of movies today, it's mood scary, which creates fear the way classic authors like Poe and Lovecraft did. Further, nothing in the game works bad, and the game itself is great in both sound and appearance. Expand
  96. May 6, 2013
    10
    Loved the game shame about people who score it 0 and score bad games 10
    I've voted 10/10 just to help recover the scoring and help generate normality here.
  97. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    amazing graphics, amazing story. Smoke and fog effects are great and add to the spooky supernatural feel of the game. They did their homework - their fictional town looks much like small towns in the pacific northwest.
  98. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    This game really shows what Remedy can do, it will leave you wanting for more but not in a bad way. The story is one of the most interesting stories you will ever experience, with cliffhangers, great writing and intriguing characters, you will not want to stop playing. It pulls you into the world and you will never want to leave. With manuscripts fore-telling events to come and radios to fill you in an the events there is plenty of reasons to go back and play again. Technically the game is beautiful with big long vistas and sun swept landscapes. This is down to the lighting effects, it almost looks like real life at times. It introduces a unique way fo fighting off enemy's that creates tense moments, your most powerful tool isn't your gun but your flashlight. This game is a masterpiece and creates a new standard of storytelling in not only video games but all forms of media. This is a most buy game! Expand
  99. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    You must try this game, this one is my favorite game this generation. I can't wait to play alan wake 2, i mean you can buy this game now for 9$ DO IT
  100. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    10/10 A superb Psychological Action Thriller this is indeed ... Alan Wake is not the 'best game in the world', but for me it fits perfectly into that missing AAA category Hollywood movie-like story driven mystery experience! This game gripped me, nailed me to the couch day by day and after a week I felt like "Wow, this is the deal!" I loved the well written scripts, the atmosphere of the small town and forests, the twisted and meaningful names and sneaky referrals to other great works of art out there ... This game (whole series I hope) will definitely stand on my Top5 chart for ages ...

    PS. : Oh and ... Remedy guys, if you read this ... Fantastic work! Thanks all of you and can't wait for the sequel!
    Expand
  101. Apr 5, 2013
    0
    When people talk about 360 exclusives they usually dismiss this game but they really shouldn't as this is truly one of the best Xbox 360 exclusive out...the story alone holds the weight if this game with the story making you carry on playing, desperate to know what's gonna happen next...the combat is pretty fun and I also like the tv show styling of the game...any one with a 360 should get this game Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 100 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 100
  2. Negative: 0 out of 100
  1. Alan Wake is finally here, and it's as good as we expected. Rich environments, great story, superb gameplay, many areas to explore, interesting characters... A great game that is not the ambitious project Remedy wanted it to be, but it's glorious anyway.
  2. Alan Wake lacks that little spark of genious that distinguishes a good game from a masterpiece, an H.P. Lovecraft from your average Stephen King.
  3. While its not the generation defining game the epic development schedule might've hyped, Alan Wake is still a fantastic, 10-hour-plus play-it-on-the-couch linear action game - with brains required or not depending on your preference.