Alice: Madness Returns Xbox 360

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 158
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 31, 2015
    7
    Despite a promising plot fails game in its gameplay, which becomes a repetitive EXPERIENCE, cloying, boring and even annoying. .
  2. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    Alice has got some of the most breathtaking visuals I have seen on the 360. The game is just utterly gorgeous to look at. Almost like the demented love child of Tim Burton & Don Bluth. But regardless of its visual beauty, the game itself is really just average. It's an old school platformer that really doesn't add anything new to the mix. In fact one could say that this style of gameplayAlice has got some of the most breathtaking visuals I have seen on the 360. The game is just utterly gorgeous to look at. Almost like the demented love child of Tim Burton & Don Bluth. But regardless of its visual beauty, the game itself is really just average. It's an old school platformer that really doesn't add anything new to the mix. In fact one could say that this style of gameplay is rather dated, but I will stick to old-school just to be polite. Levels are fun to explore, but not to play. The action is just so slow and the games pacing can be tedious at times. Platforming sections work for the most part, but do face their fair share of frustration due to awkward camera controls. Puzzles are either ridiculously easy or incredibly obscure. Overall: Alice: Madness Returns is a worth playing for the visuals alone, but don't expect a game that'll keep you on the edge of your seat. It's fun, but the dated & repetitive gameplay does get a bit dull. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    This game has 90% of the things needed to make an excellent game but it let down by just a couple of (fairly large) features. Visually, the game is stunning and the artwork both in Wonderland and in London is fantastic, and well worth pausing to admire. Combat is simple, but fits well within the theme and restraints of the game. Dodging is done in a flurry of butterflies and the weaponsThis game has 90% of the things needed to make an excellent game but it let down by just a couple of (fairly large) features. Visually, the game is stunning and the artwork both in Wonderland and in London is fantastic, and well worth pausing to admire. Combat is simple, but fits well within the theme and restraints of the game. Dodging is done in a flurry of butterflies and the weapons (although arguably not enough in number) are inventive and varied enough to provide entertainment.

    Sadly, the game is flawed in its
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2012
    6
    Alice does a lot of things right. It has an interesting art design, good voice acting and a satisfying combat. The atmosphere is splendid and the story would be good if the majority of the game didnt feel like filler. And that is the problem with this game. Even if the platforming and combat is alright in it self is it not in any way good or challenging enough to carry the game on its own.Alice does a lot of things right. It has an interesting art design, good voice acting and a satisfying combat. The atmosphere is splendid and the story would be good if the majority of the game didnt feel like filler. And that is the problem with this game. Even if the platforming and combat is alright in it self is it not in any way good or challenging enough to carry the game on its own. The majority of the game is spent going to character A or doing a fetch quest for character B with the occasional puzzle. The game has some nice and quirky gameplay ideas here and there but they cant compensate for the fact that the largest part of the game is simply repetitive and boring. The game is quite long but personally i would have enjoyed the game a lot more if it was shorter and more compact. Quality>Quantity. Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    There's some great animation, fantastic voice acting, and the levels have jaw-dropping visual design. It's also painfully repetitive. If you're willing to put up with the tedium then it's certainly worth a look for the prettiness alone... but if you want a game with equally good visual design, a sharper wit, a truckload more originality, better level design, better pacing, and a smarterThere's some great animation, fantastic voice acting, and the levels have jaw-dropping visual design. It's also painfully repetitive. If you're willing to put up with the tedium then it's certainly worth a look for the prettiness alone... but if you want a game with equally good visual design, a sharper wit, a truckload more originality, better level design, better pacing, and a smarter take on the levels-inside-the-mind theme, then you might want to consider Psychonauts instead. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    7
    melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br

    Jogo lançado em 14 de Junho de 2011, produzido pela desconhecida Spicy Horse e distribuído pela EA. Alice: Madness Returns é uma grotesca e macabra distorção da obra original de Lewis Carroll, Alice no país das Maravilhas (não vou entrar em detalhes
    melhor visualizado em: criticalplayer.com.br

    Jogo lançado em 14 de Junho de 2011, produzido pela desconhecida Spicy Horse e distribuído pela EA. Alice: Madness Returns é uma grotesca e macabra distorção da obra original de Lewis Carroll, Alice no país das Maravilhas (não vou entrar em detalhes porque não conheço mas deve ser aqueles típicos contos de fadas a lá Disney) criada do pelo designer de games American McGee. O estilo é ação/plataforma em terceira pessoa com combate baseado em armas.

    O enredo conta a história de Alice, uma adolescente recém saída de um hospício, em uma busca de respostas para o que aconteceu no dia em que sua família tragicamente morreu queimada dentro de sua própria casa (motivo pelo qual, ela foi parar no hospício).
    A busca ocorre dentro de um mundo criado pela própria Alice dentro de sua mente. No decorrer do jogo, ao encontrar partes da memória e completar os capítulos, a verdadeira história para o acidente vai sendo contada.

    A jogabilidade é bem simples e intuitiva, todos os controles são muito bem explicados e assimilados no decorrer do gameplay. Com ressalva para um problema que ocorre em alguns pontos do cenário que trava a movimentação da personagem.

    A câmera pode ser controlada livremente ou pode ser fixada em um inimigo (no estilo Zelda dos áurios tempos de N64). O arsenal é composto por uma faca (a melhor no combate corpo-a-corpo, é bem rápida, mas tira pouca energia), uma espécie de martelo em formato de cavalo (boa quando os inimigos estão amontoados, ela é devastadora e quebra a guarda de alguns inimigos apesar de ser lenta), um moedor que atira pimenta (ideal para inimigos voadores), um bule que atira chá quente (bom para matar inimigos amontoados a longa distância) e um boneco-bomba (distrai os inimigos e é essencial para resolução de alguns quebra-cabeças).

    A utilização do modo â
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    6
    The original American McGee's Alice arrived during what I call The Golden Age of PC Gaming. We had great original stuff like Giants: Citizen Kabuto, No One Lives Forever (both of which received pitiful console ports), and Clive Barker's Undying. Alice was, to me, a dark, fantastic retelling of the old story for a grownup audience. Even though it was tied to the now ancient Quake 3 engineThe original American McGee's Alice arrived during what I call The Golden Age of PC Gaming. We had great original stuff like Giants: Citizen Kabuto, No One Lives Forever (both of which received pitiful console ports), and Clive Barker's Undying. Alice was, to me, a dark, fantastic retelling of the old story for a grownup audience. Even though it was tied to the now ancient Quake 3 engine and hardware limitations of the time, it managed to be creative, artistic, very difficult at times, and a very nice looking game, primarily due to the textures. Here we are eleven years later, with hardware that can pull off pretty much any sort of amazing visuals imaginable, as well as doing a better job of telling a story without using pre-rendered cinematics, and all I can think of is how much better the first game was. I really thought we were through having to endure low-res, 8-bit color textures now that the PS2 is put to rest. Visually, what we have are higher polygon counts for models and level geometry, often painted in a most sloppily manner...nice particle effects, a bit of bloom, and the ever-present shiny-reflective surfaces. This just seems lazy, as if the entire art department consisted of two guys from Singapore with unpronounceable names. Ever since "American" McGee decided to outsource everything to his newly discovered cheap labor force, apparently for pennies on the dollar, things have gone predictably down hill. It's still a pretty fun game, but it's really a step backward, all things considered. The creative spark that was so prominent back then has all but disappeared. Expand
  8. Jun 20, 2011
    7
    I love Alice. I loved this game for the first 2 chapters. on the 3rd - it all seemed repetitive and started to bore.
    Overall the game is decent with decent graphics - but some obvious bugs as well.
  9. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    The twisted aesthetic may be played out, but it is done with such a level of detail and refinement that one has to excuse the dated gameplay and two (out of five) lackluster chapters. Yeah, I'm looking at you, Chapters 2 and 3. The industry is hard up on 3d platformers as of late but unfortunately t his doesn't excuse Alice from not doing anything new; collectibles and weapon-heavy combatThe twisted aesthetic may be played out, but it is done with such a level of detail and refinement that one has to excuse the dated gameplay and two (out of five) lackluster chapters. Yeah, I'm looking at you, Chapters 2 and 3. The industry is hard up on 3d platformers as of late but unfortunately t his doesn't excuse Alice from not doing anything new; collectibles and weapon-heavy combat are abound and can become repetitive while light challenges, puzzles, and sidescrolling sequences break things up a bit. Nonetheless a wholeheartedly original and lurid narrative awaits you in Alice: Madness Returns, playing out with as much variety and spirit as the gameplay attempts to provide. Expand
  10. Jun 16, 2011
    7
    Alice:Madness Returns could almost be a HD remake with it's outdated gameplay.The most basic kind of 3D platforming is in evidence here.Run,jump and one button melee your way through Alice's poorly designed levels finding none too subtle 'hidden areas and paths along the way.The excellent art style is almost ruined by some of the worst textures I've ever seen.Even on Hard,the enemiesAlice:Madness Returns could almost be a HD remake with it's outdated gameplay.The most basic kind of 3D platforming is in evidence here.Run,jump and one button melee your way through Alice's poorly designed levels finding none too subtle 'hidden areas and paths along the way.The excellent art style is almost ruined by some of the worst textures I've ever seen.Even on Hard,the enemies present little challenge and 'Death By Falling' is about the only worry you'll have.
    Despite all I've said,I did enjoy the game for a playthrough but will never touch it again.
    Expand
  11. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    This game is truly unique, I love the way Wonderland is interpreted, it's basically Alice's mind, so as her sanity begins to slip and her mind becomes corrupted so does Wonderland, and you really notice the changes, and while that's cool the presentation does suffer from bland graphics, bad voice acting, and a story with plot holes, the graphics aren't a real problem when your inThis game is truly unique, I love the way Wonderland is interpreted, it's basically Alice's mind, so as her sanity begins to slip and her mind becomes corrupted so does Wonderland, and you really notice the changes, and while that's cool the presentation does suffer from bland graphics, bad voice acting, and a story with plot holes, the graphics aren't a real problem when your in Wonderland as long as you don't look to closely as the levels all have very unique themes that keep you interesting and dying to see what the world will look like as you progress, but the environmental graphics aren't 100%, the part of the game of the graphics that are 100% is Alice (when she's in Wonderland), her dresses, face, hair, and animations look fantastic and are incredibly well done, but during the sections when your in London the graphics go straight down hill, the environments and character animations, including Alice herself are all ugly, and the voice acting goes is also weak ranging from bad to passable, and the story behind it all ends up coming together in the end, and I admit I like the fact that it touched on things like insanity, rape, murder, and prostitution with such a high level of maturity, I understand why other developers don't touch on these things, but they fit the tone of this game perfectly, and like I said they were incredibly mature in dealing with these extremely touchy subjects, however a design choice later in the game in the form of triple sixes being in certain parts of the game I feel is incredibly inappropriate, and I'm not just saying this because of my religious views, but because it's tasteless and an immature move on the creators behalf, but even with its minor presentation issues it's backed by strong gameplay which reminded me of old school N64 platformers, it also has strong combat which is like a hack and slash but with more depth, yes you can just button mash to kill certain enemies, but most require tactics to defeat which makes beating a large group of enemies extremely satisfying, and it also mixes up the gameplay with the occasional fun minigame, sections where your a giant, or just switching it up from a 3D platformer to a 2 one, all these sections are incredibly fun and keep the game from getting stale, there are also tons of collectibles like bottles or memories, the latter playing out like the recordings from the Bioshock games (although most aren't nearly as interesting), and also has a new game+ option which is a very nice touch, I know it sounds like I don't like this game, but actually I really like it, it has me dying to play the original, and I do recommend it to older audiences (because of the mature subject matter), one of the best games of 2011 for sure. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 1 out of 67
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    79
    The levels are creative and artistic direction is solid, but the actual gameplay suffers from a lack of diversity and being clumped into big chunks.
  2. Sep 14, 2011
    82
    All in all it's a decent game with only a few nagging issues to prevent it from being great. Comparatively, I think that the original did it better, but Spicy Horse has done a respectable job with the sequel.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    70
    Had Madness Returns cut its length by half and tossed in a few more gameplay mechanics, it could have easily been one of the best titles released this year.