Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Alien Fear is an Unreal Engine 3-powered arcade FPS that is coming to XBLA and Sony Entertainment Network.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 7 out of 10
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    66
    There's nothing terribly wrong about CI Games' efforts to bring a solid FPS gameplay experience to the gamer. Everything you need to play this FPS is firmly intact. It's not perfect by any means, but it's not dreadful either. The main issue with Alien Rage is that it doesn't go out of its way to do anything exceptionally well for the first-person shooter genre. The potential to be great is right there at its door, but it chooses to ignore the knocking.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    65
    Alien Rage could have been a thousand times worse, but even a thousand times better. We can definitely recommend it only to hardcore fans of FPS and science fiction.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    50
    Alien Rage may have made a positive impact if it were released in 2007; however its ambition isn’t matched in execution. The shooting and technical graphics work well, but a lack of distinctive moments fail to distinguish Alien Rage from a sea of same-y space-marine, sci-fi, alien shooters.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    45
    I wanted to love Alien Rage. I tried to like Alien Rage, but at the end of day, the game made me not want to play it. Twitch shooters are one of my favorite things to play mindlessly and yet I couldn’t stomach this one for more than an hour or two at a time. No online multiplayer, bad frame rate problems and dying every five feet is not a recipe for enjoyment.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    42
    Alien Rage has a lot going against it, but it’s not a completely horrible experience. Its generic story, visuals and gameplay, combined with the lack of any multiplayer are all low points, but some players may still have some fun with it.
  6. 40
    A few tough boss battles drag on way too long, and at least one suffers from a game-breaking glitch that might force you to restart the entire level. That sort of crap is nobody’s idea of a good time. Truly dedicated soldiers might power through, but most will leave this contested rock to drift through space.
  7. Nov 7, 2013
    35
    Alien Rage is as bad as you expect, and something that all video game lovers should keep their hard earned dollars away from.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    8
    Love this game. For an arcade game it's a really fun FPS. It's absolutely old school in it's approach very fast paced, shoot the hell outLove this game. For an arcade game it's a really fun FPS. It's absolutely old school in it's approach very fast paced, shoot the hell out of everything with rapid fire weapons and explosives and progress to the next level. It's very derivative of some of the older Unreal games (uses Unreal engine I think) but satisfying. Auto-aim makes it a fun romp since the number of enemies can be a challenge. Kind of a throw back but it's the first arcade game in a while that I can't stop playing... Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Super generic, yet super fun. Alien Rage happens when you combine Gears Of War and Crysis in a terrible, lazy way. Although all what AlienSuper generic, yet super fun. Alien Rage happens when you combine Gears Of War and Crysis in a terrible, lazy way. Although all what Alien Rage do is ripping off ideas from other shooter giants, it is still a fun game and it gives you memories of the old Quake III days. I will recommend this game for a 10$ bargain, Collapse
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    7
    Some say Alien Rage is generic, and it is, but in a good way. It hearkens back to the good old days of Quake, Unreal and Doom where gameplaySome say Alien Rage is generic, and it is, but in a good way. It hearkens back to the good old days of Quake, Unreal and Doom where gameplay came before story, and where you played as a badass marine. This whole game reminds me of Quake II with a mix of Bulletstorm, but unfortunately there are a few set backs. Some of the boss fights feel cheap, there's a section where you man an underpowered mech (yawn), the environments grow stale and boring halfway through the game... But it's not as difficult as people make it out to be. This is still an old school shooter at heart, even if it does have a regenerating health system, but it never feels as if the game is slowing you down. As a matter of fact, hiding under cover for too long will get you killed quick. This game is an absolute blast to play and ALL the weapons are very satisfying to use. Alien Rage also has high re-playability, taking different routes or using different weapons/techniques can really up your score on the leaderboards. Also a big thumbs up to the voice acting! Nothing pumps you up like firing a futuristic minigun and mowing down enemies while yelling and shouting expletives. I hope we get to see some DLC. Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    5
    I played the game a few hours and one of the things that I do not like boring claustrophobic locations. Overall the game at first glance,I played the game a few hours and one of the things that I do not like boring claustrophobic locations. Overall the game at first glance, makes a good impression. However, after a few hours you're tired of the boring shooting environment. Let's play a game for me but not for long. Expand

Trailers