Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    40
    There was a lot of hope for Aliens: Colonial Marines but it seems the gaming world is let down with another attempt to make a successful film tie in. The review should give you a few good reasons why the game suffers but other aspects such as the overused catchphrase ‘Stay frosty!’ and anticlimactic ending are a couple more to add to the list and this is why you should wait until this game gets thrown into the bargain bin before you purchase.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    20
    I'm not that witty, but I am pretty vulgar—as a result, all I can say is that if Aliens: Colonial Marines had been fished out of a Marine's colon during emergency surgery it wouldn't surprise me in the least.
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    62
    An unremarkable FPS plagued by dim AI and repetitive set-pieces. [Apr 2013, p.68]
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    50
    Due to the simplicity of the levels and lack of enemy diversity, the game experience was extremely short; it took 2 players about 5 hours to finish the campaign on hardened difficulty, and to be clearer, we can say that the only difference between difficulties lays in damage resistance and the lack of a HUD.
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    55
    A missed chance both for Sega/Gearbox and every Aliens or even FPS genre fan. Unsatisfying in every aspect, Aliens: Colonial Marines doesn't do justice to the name it carries.
  6. Mar 4, 2013
    30
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is a poor game made worse by the extensive hype that the game mustered over its six year development.
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    40
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is both disappointing and sad. The plot plays out like a bad fan-made film with unintentionally bad acting and ties to familiar things because it didn't have any original ideas. The gameplay feels dated and out of step with the evolution of the shooter. Bugs are rampant throughout the title, and the game lacks a level of polish that was expected during the first year of this console generation.
  8. Feb 26, 2013
    30
    As a fan of the series, the game was horrible to play, and this review was heart-breaking to write. For purely sentimental reasons, this was one of the games that fans would have been desperate to see succeed. Somewhere along the line, we were all let down. What makes it worse are the occasional flashes of a good game that flash through.
  9. Feb 25, 2013
    40
    Overall the game is a big disappointment - often frustrating, dated and has little in the way of reward or replay value.
  10. 44
    Fundamentally, it is flawed with poor design and weak content. Colonial Marines feels dated, and fails to capture any essence of what an Alien game should be. Though Aliens: Colonial Marines has been crafted with the fans in mind, it just needed a stronger approach in its design, accompanied by some serious polish.
  11. Feb 22, 2013
    53
    If you’re a fan of sci-fi classics Aliens: Colonial Marines will be worth a nostalgic trip down memory lane because of the authenticity in the game. Even the multiplayer is worth a shot, but the generic and boring single player mode will not entertain you for long. On nearly every field this game falls short and adds little to the first-person shooter genre.
  12. Feb 21, 2013
    33
    I would definitely suggest avoiding Aliens: Colonial Marines entirely or at least just rent it if you feel like you need to experience it yourself. Certainly don’t buy it.
  13. Feb 21, 2013
    40
    You know how some games are so bad, they’re actually fun to play? Aliens: Colonial Marines isn’t one of those games. It’s just bad.
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    40
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is a slap in the face to anyone who put the game on their Most Wanted list at any point since 2007. It’ll be remembered for a long time, but for all the wrong reasons. What a shame. I just feel sorry for those who bought the Season Pass… since there probably won’t be a Season now.
  15. Feb 20, 2013
    55
    In essence if Colonial Marines were chocolate it would be Cadbury's; it's chocolate, has all the ingredients of chocolate, but the only real attraction is the name, the quality leaving you somewhat hollow and unfulfilled.
  16. Feb 18, 2013
    30
    Aliens Colonial Marines is old-school, that's for sure. A little bit too much so, unfortunately. With three different developers and a several year delay, it was predictable... Graphs from 2005, AI from 1895 and poor story writing amount to a too-heavy burden. And you can't even compensate for that by being highly loyal to the movies. This game is just a waste - of time for the studios, of money for you.
  17. Feb 18, 2013
    60
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is not the bad game that most reviewers have made it out to be. With the reviews it's been getting, you would think it was unplayable! However, the hoax that Pitchford sold with his video demo two years ago has clearly poisoned the well. Everyone seems to want to know: Where is that game? With Colonial Marines supposedly outsourced, all the talent went to Borderlands 2, I guess.
  18. Feb 16, 2013
    68
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is disappointing in many ways. Though it features some solid mechanics, the game delivers a short single player campaign and some mediocre graphics.
  19. 40
    Building a game around James Cameron’s 1986 sci-fi classic should be the recipe for a tense, action-packed shooter bursting with atmosphere and scares. Instead we get one of the biggest disappointments in recent years. Aliens: Colonial Marines is a shameful, at times broken, and consistently woeful waste of potential.
  20. Feb 14, 2013
    20
    A disaster worthy of the Nostromo if you allow me to reference.
  21. Feb 13, 2013
    54
    This is a wasted chance. While Rebellion's Aliens vs. Predator remake at least occasionally managed to deliver horror atmosphere and suspense, Colonial Marines mutates to a rather dull run-and-gun-experience, while the visuals seem older than the movie this is based on.
  22. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    Even though I have a terribly high tolerance for bad monster movies, I still couldn't find an excuse for Aliens: Colonial Marines. The game has been in development for over five years, and nearly every single component has some major flaw. It's yet another black eye on a franchise that's already taken a heavy beating.
  23. 50
    Sad, boring and at times buggy beyond belief. The Aliens seem weak, the tension absent and even though the set pieces are great, the whole game feels bland. The last half of the game improves a bit, but by then you have already lost all faith. Mediocre at best. In space no one can hear you cry.
  24. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Aliens Colonial Marines is a half baked cake. The recipe and the pictures look delicious but the implementation reveals the only obvious thing: The game's age. Old look, old feeling and old design. Some fresh ideas, a fun multiplayer mode and decent fan service save the day.
  25. Aliens: Colonial Marines is a decent love letter to a great sci-fi movie, but it falls short of being something special in its own right. It’s an above-average licensed game, but a below-par shooter. Fans of the franchise will either love it for the subtleties and little details it gets right, or hate it for missing some of the most important parts.
  26. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    Take away the Aliens license, and you’ve got a shooter that has no reason to exist.
  27. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    It’s not all bad. Through the slow-boil of falling standards, sometimes we found ourselves not hating it as much we probably should have and, occasionally, there were glimpses of what Aliens: Colonial Marines could have been, should have been. It’s best at being an intense shooter, but sadly that intensity is all too rare.
  28. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    With solid shooting mechanics, well-designed environments and a tense atmosphere, it’s a fine first-person shooter, but its repetitiveness, glitches, substandard graphics and insubstantial story make it a far cry from anything close to matching the prestige of James Cameron’s beloved film.
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    As a player, you would expect a survival horror game but it's nothing more than a normal shooter. But there are better shooters available. ACM contains bugs and fails on the graphical aspects. Not worth a buy.
  30. Feb 12, 2013
    65
    The abysmal graphics and bland shooting make this game a gigantic disappointment, especially if you consider the names involved in its development. Still, it randomly captures the atmosphere of the movies and can be quite fun online. Truly a missed opportunity.
  31. Feb 12, 2013
    65
    The enemies in this game are just dumb as a damned rock.
  32. Feb 12, 2013
    65
    It has combat in both its campaign and competitive modes that feels extremely appropriate, and there’s a generous amount of very “Aliens” content here. Just expect the plotting and atmosphere to feel slightly stale throughout.
  33. Feb 12, 2013
    46
    If Colonial Marines were a film it would be one of those quiet indiscretions sent directly to video, but instead it's a game, one in which every interactive and visible aspect feels dated by any measure.
  34. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    The failure of Aliens: Colonial Marines runs deeper than a clumsy stab at sliding into the Alien canon, though. It’s not just a poor Aliens experience, it’s a poor game. There’s a stiffness to the movement and a lack of feedback to the vanilla weapon line-up that’s unexpected from Gearbox Software.
  35. Feb 12, 2013
    60
    Once you best the 6-8 hour campaign - and suffer through an absolute butchering of some long-held Aliens narrative themes - it's time to try out the surprisingly solid multiplayer modes. While the head-to-head options will likely be an afterthought for many franchise faithful, the online throwdowns actually manage to capture the Aliens feel better than the campaign itself.
  36. Feb 12, 2013
    40
    Certainly, many of Colonial Marines’ flaws could have been excusable back in the early days of the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, but now, when every title is polished to a near excruciating level of quality, it just doesn’t cut it.
  37. 60
    Colonial Marines can't trade on nostalgia alone... It needed to offer intense combat against an unstoppable force, deft storytelling that matched the cinematic flair of the films, and some new ideas that could have rejuvenated an overexposed franchise. It needed, in short, to be a better game.
  38. Feb 12, 2013
    30
    It makes me wonder: did Gearbox actually sit down and watch the Alien movies?
  39. Feb 12, 2013
    64
    It’s a shame that a title seven years in the making could result in something so lackluster. Aliens: Colonial Marines had the foundations of a solid game, involving writers (David Weddle and Bradley Thompson from Battlestar Galactica fame) and a talented artist (Syd Mead from Blade Runner, Aliens and Tron). It even had the right voice talent bringing back Lance Henriksen as a Bishop-model clone...But it appears that the elongated, ‘stop-start’ development ultimately resulted in an inconsistent and disappointing final result.
  40. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    I haven’t been this disappointed in a game in a long, long time. Not only does the campaign welch on its opportunity to create interesting and additive content in the Aliens universe, but the multiplayer is languid, broken, and laughably frustrating. Colonial Marines plays it as safe as possible and still can’t manage to copy successfully proven ideas.
  41. 60
    This is really a review of two games: a derivative story campaign (that you can play solo or with up to three friends in co-op) and a riveting, far superior multiplayer mode that allows you to compete as marines or alien xenomorphs in online matches. Considering Colonial Marines’ relatively long gestation period — roughly six years — it seems more attention was paid to fine-tuning multiplayer than to the campaign.
  42. Feb 12, 2013
    45
    There are some feelings of nostalgia to be enjoyed, but it soon wears off and all that is left is some bog standard run ‘n’ gun action that brings little of note to the FPS table - and it suffers from a severe lack of optimisation on PS3 and 360.
  43. Feb 12, 2013
    50
    Like a trip to a natural history museum. It's empty and nostalgic, meticulous and dated. More importantly, it's hands-off. Like a museum, Colonial Marines is at its best when you're admiring the view. The moment you attempt to reach out to interact you're met with a barrier, reminding you that you're there to look, not to touch.
  44. Feb 12, 2013
    38
    Repetitive gameplay, plenty of bugs and bad graphics. Aliens: Colonial Marines is a bad game, a really bad one.
  45. Feb 12, 2013
    45
    And that's Colonial Marines' biggest problem: enemies come, and you shoot them down easily, again and again. The game is remarkably light on variety. A couple of battles masquerade as boss fights, but they require no strategy and are just as easy and thrill-less as the rest. The four- to five-hour campaign has no thrust to it; it feels the same from beginning to end, and the finale just drops with a thud. And by being so easy and predictable, the game lets down the license.
  46. Feb 12, 2013
    90
    Like most successful license-based games, Aliens: Colonial Marines is much more than a loving homage; it serves as one of the most robust story-driven co-op experiences to date. The concept definitely has room to grow, but as maiden voyages go, Colonial Marines is a clear winner.
  47. Feb 12, 2013
    30
    Even if it were polished to an acceptable, 2013-standard AAA shine, Colonial Marines would still only be a generic effort coasting on borrowed iconography. Weighed down by so many grindingly obvious mechanical issues, it never even gets off the ground. For a game all about exterminating bugs, it's a fatal irony.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 167
  2. Negative: 88 out of 167
  1. Feb 13, 2013
    4
    Please don't buy this game, it's a major disappointment all round. It's so bad I felt compelled to sign up to metacritic so that I could prevent others making the same mistake as me. Save your money or better yet, buy Borderlands 2 if you haven't already got it. Full Review »
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    finished the single player mode yesterday. Game is very short (5 hours wtf!?), has really bad graphics and the gameplay feels like in low budget pc fps game. There is no horror atmosphere in this game bacause it was made as 4 player co op game (something like Dead Island but much much worse!). Multiplayer sucks, finding players takes you 1,5 minute and the lag kills the fun. No dedicated servers. Just simple p2p matchmaking like in CoD but created worse. There are multiplayer modes where you can play as alien versus humans. To tell you the truth, nobody wants to play as aliens because marines are way to powerfull. If marine players stick together, they always wins the match. The only option to win the multiplayer match as an aliens is when it is match where aliens have bigger numbers than marines (ex. 2 marines vs 6 aliens). In multiplayer match 6 vs 6 marines ALWAYS win. You can't choose sides, game does it for you like the developers knew that nobody would like to be alien.

    Oh! And one more funny thing! This game WAS NOT CREATED by Gearbox but 5 different developers. You can see their names in the campaign intro. Gearbox was supporting them with their brand. F*ck you SEGA and gearbox. Lost respect for those companies.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I'll be honest so far I'm really enjoying this game, I'll admit that the gameplay is just your typical FPS walk from point A to point B clearing out rooms of enemies and yes the graphics aren't going to win any awards but these problems haven't stopped me from enjoying the game... I still love it.

    The story for this game is actually pretty decent and I won't spoil what happens but as a canonical sequel to the film it make sense, it also solves a major problem I had with Alien 3. While the story may not be as good as some recent attempts in gaming such as The Walking Dead, Spec Ops: The Line or Assassin's Creed 3 (Well the Haytham/Connor sections anyway) the story is still entertaining and (for me at least) memorable.

    Now I'll admit that this game probably only deserves a 6.5 at most but the reason I scored this game a 9 is because I am a really big fan of the Alien series and the fan service here is incredible, areas from the film are recreated perfectly, Newts doll (Casey) can still be found in the sewer where it was dropped, A lot of the original cast such as Lance Henrikson and Michael Biehn return to reprise their roles in one form or another. You get to ride a power loader, the list goes on. The fan service alone made me want to push through this game to see what else I could find. I know this may sound stupid seeing as I'm giving the game a 9 but that's all I ever want from licensed games.... games that entertain me as a fan of the source materiel and boy did this game deliver.

    If you are a fan of the Alien film series or just Aliens then their should be enough fan service to entertain you and make you look past most of the faults in this game however if you are just looking for an amazing FPS then maybe here is not the place to look.

    Thank you for taking the time to read through my opinion on the game, but remember at the end of the day that's all it is... my opinion, you may disagree with me.
    Full Review »