User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 411 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    I am a huge Aliens fan. This game is made for THAT person. I don't even think that the campaign is that short as long as you don't play it on the cry baby easy setting. It has tons of Alien "eggs" for you to discover. As in "Easter eggs". Lot's of content that bring you into the universe of the "ALIENS" movie. I don't want to spoil it. But, you may want to polish up on your knowledge of the movies. Because some of the stuff is really subtle. But, it's there. And, it's cool. There is a lot of ACTION in this game. Yes, it's run and gun. But, that's what being on a "bug hunt" IS. Just hearing the "pulse rifle" and "smart gun" blasting in 7.1 surround sound really pulls you in. The graphics are not BAD like a lot of the mega-nerds are describing. They aren't incredible. But, they definitely are cool enough to pull you in. The SOUND CREW is what gets an A+++++ from me. Everything from the gun sounds, motion tracker to stepping on aliens residue has been done to perfection. Top that all off with music that sounds like it is right from the movie and you have one heck of a cool action game for an alien fan.

    Anyway, because of the reviews, you can probably get this game for under $40 in a month. But, I think it's cool enough to pay $60. Yes, this game could have been SPECTACULAR and ended up being below that standard/expectation. But, I enjoyed every second of this game.

    Turn off the lights and blast the stereo sound and I guarantee you will have fun with this one if you like the movie ALIENS at all.
    Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2013
    3
    Not sure what I can say that hasn't been said already. Maybe this game needed another 6 years of development. I could forgive the horrible graphics if everything else wasn't just as bad. The player animations are terrible. The lip synching is almost laughable. The AI(both friendly and enemy) has to be the worst part of this game....almost to the point of making it unplayable. The single player portion of this game is a 3/10. I'd give it a 2/10 if it wasn't an Aliens game.

    The multiplayer is really the only playable part of this game. Taking out the game's horrible AI and replacing it with human player AI shows signs of how great the game could have been. Unfortunately the multiplayer suffers from it's own set of problems and is unable to save the game overall. Matchmaking is pretty bad, as is the lag once you do get into a match. There are some pretty big balancing issues as well. Also, when playing as an alien the controls are inconsistent at best. There are only 4 modes to play as well, and although there is some customization and unlocks, after playing for a couple hours you will see the multiplayer portion of the game is not very deep at all.

    Don't make the mistake I did by buying this at full price. If you are a diehard Aliens fan either rent it, or wait for a price drop, which won't take long. This game is on the fast track to the bargain bin.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    Aliens: Colonial Marines is a very fun game with many game modes that have kept me hooked to my Xbox for the past week now. Sure the story isn't strong, but the game play that reminds me so much of the original Alien vs Predator games for PC by Rebellion and that has kept me coming back for more despite the lack luster campaign. However, that's not why I bought the game...I bought it for a fun coop game that I could play with friends and to pay homage to perhaps one of my favorite movie series of all time. When I saw where Hudson was dragged under the floor to his presumed death I got one of the biggest smiles I have ever had on my face. Now online is where this game truly shines in my opinion despite lacking a coop survival mode where my friends and I could survive wave after wave of regular A.I. controlled aliens. Now the online gameplay consists of four main modes that all have similar, yet distinctive gameplay that forces one to adopt new strategies on both sides of the playground. Survivor is perhaps my least favorite as the environment isn't the largest and the marines only last until their armor is completely taken away by the Alien players...once that happens..."Game over man!" despite this I have found that it is perhaps the best mode to test the defensive skill of yourself and friends online.

    Next is Team Deathmatch mode, now I was hesitant to play this mode first as I expected the Marines to completely destroy the Alien team like they do in Escape and Survivor mode, but boy could I ever be further from the truth. TDM starts the Marine out with no armor to even the playing field a bit and it is truly a success in my opinion. Nothing is better than stalking a lone marine and lunging across the battleground to pummel him into the ground. NOTE you can do this on any game mode.

    Next is Escape mode, this is mode is basically nothing more than the Aliens amusing the marines constantly while trying to separate one player at a trim before they reach the next checkpoint. The beginning is especially tough as the marines have armor and are much harder to kill, but as the distances to the checkpoints increase the more that armor is rendered useless by constant alien attacks. The atmosphere is tense and heart racing as you race with your squad while checking every few meters to see if any alien is on the motion sensor. NEVER GO ALONE!

    Last and perhaps my favorite mode is Extermination mode where the Marines have to control points on the map to destroy egg caches as the Aliens try to stop them. This mode allows the aliens to coordinate their attacks better than any other mode, except maybe Escape mode, and slaughter the marines in one all out charge. Do I hear Zerg Rush anyone? The marines have no armor in this mode and it either equalizes the the two teams or the Aliens just completely destroy the marines. No worries though if you are a marine as you will just switch species mid round to take revenge upon those fleshy mortals we aliens like to call dinner!

    So other than some blotchy gameplay that will likely be fixed in a patch soon and a rather lacking storyline. Aliens: Colonial Marines delivers an extremely fun and entertaining game that will keep you coming back to fulfill challenges or to experience another Glorious Day in the Corps as the Sgt once said!

    Once you get it...just remember to "Stay Frosty!"
    Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    5
    The graphics are a train wreck. The story, despite being penned by the writers of Battlestar Galactica, is ho-hum. The multiplayer is bland and takes forever to find players. About the only decent thing about this game is the fact that you get to explore set pieces from the movies. What happened Gearbox????
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    Just terrible. Gearbox was completely dishonest to both the media and it's fans and knowingly released a product that was different than what they were showing only a few months earlier. Although Gearbox is remaining silent on the issue, it appears likely that the bulk of the game was farmed out to other development studios. All in all, this game is an example of exactly how not to run a studio.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    2
    For a game that was seven years in the making, it is terrible! I made an account just to warn people to stay away from this title. The positive reviews are either being paid off by gearbox and saga or are people that are in complete denial after paying $60 for a frisbee. The graphics are out of date, the multiplayer is broken, and the entire game takes place in a revolving square map that slightly changes scenery. Even if you're an aliens fan, please wait for it to go on sale pre-owned and save yourself the headache. This game is so bad the GameStop near me is allowing opened returns to their loyal customers who they suggested the game to. I give it a 2, only because it has co-op. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I have the Collector's Edition. Not even disappointed. This game is absolutely fantastic. I don't know why everyone is hating on it. Sure, the Campaign is short, but it's also co-op. And don't get me started on the Multiplayer. All of the game modes are fun. The customization for the weapons and the appearances is also awesome. I have about 30 hours on this game, and I will continue to play it.
    10/10
    Expand
  8. Mar 1, 2013
    5
    Aliens Colonial Marines was a fair game. There are many faults in the game, especially graphic.
    For example, you can go through the human population, and ugly graphics.
    The game can be exciting at times, especially when the aliens crawling on the wall, and you can shoot them out of there. It can also be frustrating to be in the game, because sometimes you can be wrong, and when you run
    out of ammo, it's wrong. And there can also be scary when you play it at night, then you can scare up terribly well, because when you turn the corner, you'll find an alien team. Has often occurred to me that my heart was pounding with fear. The management only problem is that the grenade button to purchase your guess was wrong. Now, summarize the content. The game that I wrote that was fair, and you can score: Graphics: 6/10 Atmosphere: 8.5 10 Controls: 7/10 Sound: 8/10 Playing Experience: 7 10 The Game: 7/10 Expand
  9. Feb 20, 2013
    3
    This game reminds me a lot of Operation Racoon City. The verybad news is Operation Racoon City is a better game. ACm doesn't even make me want to try to finish it. ORC at least did that. Gearbox blew it big time here.
  10. Feb 21, 2013
    2
    Poor gameplay. Last gen graphics this gen! Terrible, terrible AI in both the NPC's and the Xenomorphs! For an Aliens game, you spend more time fighting humans with guns??????????? No dedicated servers so no over watch. Terrible match making. Just a terrible disappointment. the E3 demo looked amazing. this game looks god aweful.
  11. Feb 23, 2013
    4
    It's not that Aliens:CM is absolutely terrible.... It's that it was a colossal disappointment. So much hype for a game that looks unpolished and at times unfinished. It is full of bugs, and I don't mean xenomorphs. Very disappointing that gearbox and sega would release a game in the condition of this one.
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    2
    I was expecting this game for many years so it comes up with such a great disappointment. The kills don't look realistic, there are motion glitches on the aliens, repetitive game play, terrible multiplayer system. The thing i enjoyed was a big alien startling me and being cautious at the sewers, of course reviving the places of the movie; but after that, its predecessor aliens vs predator, its way much better than this huge mistake that will sink the aliens franchise. Expand
  13. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    This game has been getting a lot of bad reviews, so let me address some concerns. It's true that this game doesn't have the best graphics. The textures can take I've five seconds to load in and the facial animations for cutscenes may as well be non-exestant. Luckely, the majority of the game does not take place inside of a cutscene so you don't need to worry too much about that. Another complaints is that the ai is dumb. Switching the difficulty up to hard essentially makes this problem go away. When the xenos can kill you in two hits the game becomes much more tense. The story is not to bad and the shooting is average. What really matters is that this game looks like aliens and more importantly sounds like aliens. There is nothing so sweet as the drone of a pulse rifle. If you like aliens you will probably like this game. If you don't care about aliens and just want a good first person shooter then you should go buy halo 4 instead. It's really good. Expand
  14. Feb 28, 2013
    3
    this game is a horrible excuse for a game this franchise is falling apart boring game play and just well not so interesting at all(my opinion)you don't even need to play the game to understand its a horrible game you can just watch game plays and you can still see this game is not what fans were expecting AT ALL
  15. Mar 1, 2013
    4
    This game is pretty disappointing. The story isn't very compelling or even interesting for that matter. The AI is terrible, when the aliens charge your position, it seriously looks like a bland, cardboard cutout is moving across the ground. The graphics and appearance of the game are pretty bad. The only good part is
    the multiplayer, without the multiplayer, I would give it a 2.
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    1
    How they got away with putting this game on the shelves in 2013 is beyond me. Gameplay is terrible, i could have forgiven the fact that some of the visuals literally look like something out of Duke Nukem for the N64 if it was actually fun or entertaining, but it's not.... Multiplayer is terrible as well. went on eBay the same day i bought it
  17. Jul 31, 2013
    8
    Aliens was a good movie, as it mixed horror and science fiction in an interesting way. But when it comes to game all you have is just the science fiction, because players aren't really scared by monsters they can just shoot till it goes away or dies. But this game was different to me, as it did scare me, but only in the sense that I got flustered by monsters that were killing me.

    The
    story takes place after Aliens 2, where Colonial Marines investigate a ship and find out what killed it's crew. You later encounter aliens and get stranded on it, then mercenaries from an evil corporation try to murder everyone to cover up their mistakes and crimes. You crash land on the planet and make shelter in the same building Aliens 2 took place. You proceed to pursue the mercenaries while getting hunted by the Aliens. The game does well by introducing a story that leads you across the planet so you can survive and stop the terror.

    Gameplay here is very streamlined, but challenging once the difficulty is risen and certain objectives put you in harms way. But it's near impossible to do this alone, as the game goes more for co-op, but then it just get's clustered when four people try to slide themselves into a doorway like meat through a grinder. The game should have opened the levels up more and offered more to co-op.

    But if you are bored and need something to pass the time this game can prove to do that, but it is far from being a light in the darkness.
    Expand
  18. Mar 12, 2013
    8
    Ok graphics may not be top drawer, but gameplay is very good. What you need to recall is that the original Aliens movie wasn't an amazing film in the first place, it had ropey effects and cheesy acting, oh and don't forget the 80's hair, but what it did have was loads of guns and loads of aliens getting killed.
    What Sega have achieved is a game which reflects the feeling of the game
    without overshadowing the Aliens movie... my advice if you enjoy Alien trilogy give it a go, I've played about 5 hrs on Hardened and i am enjoying it far more than i did Dead Space 3... Expand
  19. Mar 26, 2013
    3
    Whats bad about this game? what's good about this game? That's the easier question.
    Bad graphics, dumb story, REPETITIVE GAMEPLAY, and HUMAN ENEMIES in this new creation from gearbox. I hate this game. I really do. Not because of the bad qualities, although that's a good reason, BECAUSE IT'S ALIENS AND I FEEL LIKE ITS JUST A TERRIBLE KNOCKOFF OF COD. Now i can tell what you what happened
    to that awesome demo in 2012, whatever it is, it's aliens colonial marines. This.... Game isn't. This is a shooter that doesn't hold up to its competition in the slightest. This is quite possibly, the worst game I have ever played. I know that there are worse games. But I haven't played them. Here's a challenge, play on ultimate badass mode, alone, with no one else even in the room to talk to, and TRY to have fun. This game makes me sad, gearbox has fallen. They have sealed their reputation not only as liars and cheats,but they have destroyed their reputation by making a false demo, making false promises, and using the hype machine to boost sales. DON'T WASTE YOU'RE MONEY ON THIS. If you really want a good aliens game, try the avp game that came out in 2010. But this game isn't worth a triple a price if it isn't a triple a game. Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2013
    4
    I think this is a great game but I put in the disc before signing in to my profile and once I was at main menu it reset my profile on the game.I am very disappointed about this I was a high lvl and I finishe the campaign once they fix this I will play again my gamer tag is: Anthony Ferris I was lvl 17 for aliens and lvl 34 for marines please fix this and my profile if fixed let me know
  21. Mar 16, 2013
    5
    I'm surprised after so many years of waiting for the this game to come to find the the game is full of glitches and bug with a average story line. the only thing i could so i liked was the multiplayer and the weapon customization team up with friend online is so much better than playing the game alone
  22. Mar 16, 2013
    2
    It's phenomenal, if you're the type of loony who licks windows for a living. More than angry, the game just makes me sad. It could, should and probably would have been good if it had been released a few years ago; unbroken. I was going to round this off with something positive to say about the game, but there's just nothing. Sorry.
  23. Apr 27, 2013
    1
    This game was horrible the gameplay, the graphics of the lights where so bright, the story was bad couldnt finish it, poorly designed weapons that dont even kill anything that well and really buggy
  24. Mar 22, 2013
    2
    This game is a fail, no matter what anyone says. The graphics cant run right on my Xbox, and start to look pretty junky after the first hour. Enemy and partner A.I are horrible, and O'neal did not kill one alien my whole play through. Multiplayer is glitchy and the marines are very overpowered against their alien enemies. There is no survival, which is a shame. And included to all of that, the game is just plain ol' unfinished. Literally, my gun disappeared at moments, O'neal walked through walls, and the power loader sequences are literally UNPLAYABLE. Even the lore is horrible. It does continue off of the movie ALIENS, but ignores Alien 3 and 4. By now, I've had it with this game. The reason I have not given it a 0 was because of the easter eggs, but thats it. Game over, man. Expand
  25. Mar 25, 2013
    5
    Boring story without anything nice dont buy the game what they have done on the demo isn't truth Graphics are good but not enough, the only thing it's nice but with a lots of bugs it's the multiplayer stuff!
  26. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly, I do not see why others say ths is a bad game. I bought it and i have to say that even though it is not perfect, It is still fun. Sure the AI is bad but that does not mean it is a horrible game. The combat is nice and the enemies are challenging. The only bad thing is at the end where you fight the Queen, I upgraded my weapons and you just run around pulling levers, Other than that this is a decent game. Expand
  27. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    The storyline is great, however, the gameplay isn't. My cousin and I just recently played "Aliens: Colonial Marines" on Hardcore/insane difficulty for s*** n' giggles. After about 4-5 hours of non-stop game time we both had finished the game and complaining about the difficulty isn't as challenging as we both thought it would be. The multiplayer is okay, yet, it needs some improvement. The atmosphere for a common horror game isn't there, unlike the first Dead Space or any game that I could named out that is completely more terrifying than this... It's a major disappointment, just buy anything else than this. Expand
  28. Mar 31, 2013
    6
    Let me first start of by saying I've been waiting for this game ever since 2008 when it was announced for current gen consoles. First off It is a very short game 5-7 hours even on the hardest difficulty which I have done. But the first thing you'll notice is the graphics, which are quit dated to be honest. All of the negatives aside this game is great for aliens fans. The new types of aliens make sense with in the aliens universe and are quit cool to say the least. In all aliens is a okay game that need more time in development. Expand
  29. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    You have to take this game for what it is and not look any further than that. Single player took me about 7 hours to complete while farming all the achievements. And another 10 hours Co-op when my bro came over. The game has a well rounded feel and does include some suspense walking around corners; kind of like what Doom has going on. Graphics are great, Sound was great, level design was very detailed, especially places with massive amounts of alien hives. If you were expecting to replace a giant franchise game with this you will be disappointed. If you just play through it from start to finish, its a decent game. I rented this from RedBox on a Friday and returned on a Sunday with a free game night code. I got my $2 worth, and would recommend you to do the same for a good 2 days of gameplay. Expand
  30. Apr 4, 2013
    5
    I love aliens and I was excited for colonial marines but when I finally played it I didn't get the aliens experience I was looking for instead I got a game with bland graphics not so interesting story line and awkward glitches but its not a horrible game. the sound is just awesome the multiplayer is fun but it does have problems. it may not be the scary aliens game we've been hoping for but that scene with the boilers scared me by trying not to piss them off by moving or else they will blow up on you. the story didn't really make sense and the visuals might be off and it gets really glitchy on the console version but the pc version is better maybe just a little bit. overall its a mediocre game so I really don't recommend this game but if you want it then ok butt its probably better to get something else. Collapse
  31. Apr 24, 2013
    3
    Theres alot of things this game does wrong but a few things right. First of all, the atmosphere of the game fits with alien's franchise. Also the multiplier is pretty enjoyable but the lacks of map makes the game die fast. But the game gets pretty much everything else wrong. The graphics are really outdated and visually the game looks terrible. The biggest concern is the AI the AI will just stand around and do nothing. You can beat this game easily on the hardest difficulty. The boss at the ending is so terrible its not even funny. The story and characters are also terrible so there's not much to look forward in this game. The game was rushed and they should have token more time to work on it. A good year might have made the game worth checking out. Expand
  32. Apr 24, 2013
    1
    I am really a hardcore fan of the Alien-Universe, even Cosplaying a USCM. Reading all the comic from Aliens vs Predator. And i loved the older A vs P games. I waited deperately for this game. Had it on Pre-order based on the first trailers. But i never got that disappointed in my life from a game. The story is nearly non existent, the game mechanics dont need tweaking they need to be exchanged.
    The graphics are way out of date, (strangely the first gameplay trailer showed differently)
    And its no tension. The Aliens are the utmost stupid creatures i could ever encounter in a game.

    And wtf with the fighting against Humans all the time?
    This is "Call of Duty: Alien Front", nothing more.

    This game is the JJ Abrams of Videogames, And no i dont mean that in a good way. It destroyed everything the Alien franchise stood up for.
    NO Horror or Survival, NO tension. NO shocking moments. Just shoot and run down the next corridor.

    I will better re-install the PC version of A vs.P 1 instead of playing this game one minute longer.
    Expand
  33. Apr 24, 2013
    5
    It feels old, and outdated, but it is nowhere as bad as it's made out to be. A good rental, and if you can find it for say US$ 20 or your regional equivalent, I'd think about it seriously.
  34. Apr 26, 2013
    0
    I have no words to explain why Sega and Gearbox released this alpha version of the game. Horrible in all aspects of the game, except music. The worst game I ever played in 30 years.
  35. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been a fan of the alien movies ever since I was 7 so when I picked up this game from Redbox I was actually pretty excited to play it. I've heard from many that the game was terrible and in my opinion..... it wasn't THAT bad. My problem with the game was that it was kinda mediocre.

    There was nothing really special about the game in the gameplay. There's one level where deep below underground and you have no weapons and have to slowly get out without alerting any aliens. It was actually tense and felt like an alien game. Weapon customizing was good and the story... to be honest I had no idea what the hell was going on at certain times and the lack of character depth didn't exactly help.

    Why am I trying to save people I don't care about?
    Expand
  36. May 4, 2013
    4
    WHY?? WHY!??? i am a huge fan of the original Aliens movie and i was expecting so much from from Gearbox, where is the emersive story that we have been promised?? and the why we are fighting humans for the most of the time?? in the aliens game??? and the worst thing is that apparently there is one guy from the original crew who is still alive, i swear after that you will be like... WhAAAAT. As for the story, it's just bad and the graphics are really bad even on the PC and the game is so easy, if you want to play this game i really reccommend playing it on super soldier difficulty because on easiest difficuly you can just run, run and run and the enemies will just look at you and stare for ten minutes. This game also offers a broken AI and a Multiplayer but there is not really that much to say, nothing original here. Thankfully this game has drop in drop out co-op mode so you don't have to suffer by yourself. Co-Op is the only way to play this game, believe me. Expand
  37. May 23, 2013
    0
    A crappy falsely advertised game deserves nothing more than a zero
  38. May 17, 2013
    10
    I honestly don't see anything wrong with this game. It offers a suspenseful thrill with a controlled fast pace. Guns are Aim-Down-Sight just like Modern Warfare. You can upgrade and customize them with simple decals.. The story as good as Modern Warfare 2. If I had one complaint it'd be not having the ability to pick up decease’s weapons. Graphics were great on the 360, it's directx 9 so you won't get all that hi-res.

    Finding memorabilia throughout from the movie was exciting.
    The smart-gun is the best I've seen in any game.

    With a name like Colonial Marines I would expect to see them running random missions and having the ability to drive the APC.

    Maybe one day.
    Expand
  39. Jun 3, 2013
    0
    If you've played AVP, then you'll remember that the Marine campaign wasn't that great and not very entertaining. Well imagine playing as that the entire game. What you get is This is more than this is a station. Over 9000 glitches, bland graphics, and non challenging enemies, this makes me face palm at the entire Alien franchise. I borrowed this game from a friend and I still felt ripped off. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this game. Not even if it's free. If you want to play a good game with Xenomorph's and Predators, try AVP Expand
  40. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    Man, the most frustrating thing about this game is its potential. If they made the xenomorphs a threat instead of retarded T-Rex wannabes, it would have been better. If they had dialogue that wasn't written by a high schooler, it would have been better. If they made the atmosphere creepy at all, it would have been better. When played with a friend, it's fun to go through, as it's not completely broken and entertaining to make fun of certain elements. But overall, it seems like an unfinished game from a studio that didn't really care. Expand
  41. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    Good conception, good environments, solid graphics, poor execution. Alien colonial marines had the potential to be one of the best games of 2013, but fell far short. Aliens. Aliens is part of the title yet the aliens are shot dead within 5 bullets, it took 5 rounds to but one down in the movies, why have they done this. Although after all the complaints they have finally made the aliens far harder, making the game somewhat channeling. I would defiantly recommended this game to hardcore alien fans although I would rent first. Expand
  42. Jun 10, 2013
    5
    Aliens colonial marines is a mixed bag it starts of in the middle for me i like its tone at the beginning then it starts to go down in lots of places the game also feels weird and sluggish when you even just walk and trust me the animations in this game are wow just terrible the graphics are mediocre but i didnt care for that cause of the world i was in but the gameplay is even terrible when they throw in humans!!! thats right humans you dont even fight only the xenos once the humans arrive you are put into the most generic fps ever but the xenos AI might have been improved from its release but i dont know they still attack walls sometimes so i suggest stay away from this game unless you in it for the multiplayer the multiplayer is scary at lots of times when the xeno players get the drop on you which they will. The only reason i played aliens colonial marines as long as i did was that multiplayer its fun and addicting but id wait till the game is worth like 10 dollars to even give it a try cause of its lack of maps and modes Expand
  43. Jun 17, 2013
    3
    Not much to say besides this game suffers from terrible characters and falsely advertised content from the original E3 demo that showed much higher detail, but the final product was poorly created and suffered from idiotic artificial intelligence, yet somehow still managed to entertain me at some points.

    3 out of 10
  44. Jul 3, 2013
    1
    gave a 1 for at least trying..that is it. terrible, terrible, terrible game. everything glitches, I was attacked thru walls, enemies disappeared thru walls. terribly repetitive combat that made it painful to continue. terrible story. "allies" did nothing or would shoot at the ceiling, doors, floor, or just the air. some of the computer files you're suppost to find are not collectable. what I mean is it wouldn't let me pick them up. gun upgrades that make little to no difference. sadly stupid enemies that made me actually laugh but that was the only joy I received from this game. sooooo happy I only rented it considering I was going to preorder it. and for anyone that just says im a "hater" or I need to get a life all I have to say is I've been a gamer my whole life, I love games. I remember getting the aliens vs. predator vs. marines game for my original Xbox where you could create units and control them in a third person view. I loved that game when it first came out. you royally screwed up gearbox lost a customer for life. would never give 65 bucks to a company that laughs in my face. Expand
  45. Jul 5, 2013
    2
    the A.I. is broken! the aliens basically do nothing at all. you can complete whole levels without killing a single alien. the game is to easy. the A.I. enemy is horrible. some of the worst I have ever seen in a game. the A.I. allies are more annoying than they are helpful. they only get in your way. their I nothing in this game that made it truly even feel like a aliens game. half the time your not even fighting aliens. overall the game is very poor. the only thing that keeps it from getting a lower score is the somewhat entertaining multiplayer. I do NOT recommend buying this game even if you are a aliens fan. Expand
  46. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    The game is terrible, awful AI and terrible graphics... That was what I thought before the patch, now, the game has good voice acting, good graphics, good AI and there have been a few moments where I have actually been scared by the game. Although this game is not the one shown to us in 2012 at E3, the game is great and I would highly recommend it to everyone, even people who are not fans of the Aliens franchise. Expand
  47. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    I'm a huge 'Aliens' fan, watching all the films including the 'Aliens vs Predator' films. Expectations: I had quite big expectations going into this video game, due to the E3 2011 demo which was specifically designed to be solely used for that E3 demo. Scores: Graphics: 0/10 Campaign: 2/10 Sound: 8/10 Gameplay: 4/10 Multiplayer: 7/10 Final Score: 4.2/10 Final Verdict: I didn't realise there was any graphics in this game until I saw the textures which would have been good in 2002, the less said about the campaign the better (the ending is blatantly a set up for a sequel.) Inside this game the sound is the best part of this game simply because Gearbox actually used the same sounds for the xenomorphs and guns which were used in the movies. The ganeplay in this "game" is awful, the controls are laid-out terribly and they are highly unresponsive. The multiplayer is also another aspect dragging this title out of the dirt but the controls for the xenomorphs are wonky at best. Expand
  48. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    So I am a big fan of the series and the movies this game was 7 years in the making it really didn't come to par with some of the other games that came around that time. the graphics are lack luster and should have been better. the campaign was about 5 hours long, and remember this game took 7 years to develop. now the story wasn't all that bad but I will not spoil it for you but the final boss is to god dame easy. But I had fun with the game to playing with friends is the only way to go and the multiplayer just feels unfinished. now there are hidden guns that you can find threw out the game from the second movie "aliens" witch when you find them you can use them and so forth. now to really get in to the multiplayer you can customize your character any way you wont but not with full control you can pick a male or female customize the color of the armor and have 4 different emblems. with the aliens you choose between 4 different aliens with sertine skills and unlocks like changing the way they look. you can also customize you guns for the marines but that's really it. you get to go into a ship like the one in Prometheus witch is cool but that doesn't really help. this game flunked mostly because of the high expectations of it luckly I didn't run into any glitches my first time threw. its not a bad game but its not a so called good game. If your a fan of the series pick it up but if you not its not for you I give this game a 4/10. Expand
  49. Aug 29, 2013
    7
    If you love the Alien-universe and FPS this is a fun game. At the current price the game is well worth it. It is no Half-life 2 by any means but if you enjoy all sorts of FPS (Doom 3, Quake 4, Turok, Prey, Timeshift, etc) and not just whatever is trending on TotalBiscuit and such, you might just enjoy it. The fact is I had more fun playing ACM than Borderlands. My only complaint is that the game is quite short. Apart from that, a solid fun FPS where you fight hordes of Aliens in legendary Hadley's Hope using some cool weapons and gadgets. Expand
  50. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    let me get one thing straight if you are an Aliens fan you will like this game if you are a person who likes a GOOD game you will hate this game

    so i heard from my friends this game was good so i bought it on Xbox Live Marketplace 40 $40 WORST MISTAKE EVER!!! (DO NOT BUY THIS GAME)

    so the singleplayer sucked the AI was so lazy that my "marines" were standing there watching me die not
    even shooting at all the Aliens don't act like Aliens at all they just walk up to you and hit you in the face once then stand there for 5 minutes then hit you again this game was so rushed with half of the textures missing. like i went up to a console and it looked like a 2D 16Bit texture piece of (yes i know this is Xbox but that is just stupid) the gun sounds are ok but the big issues are the graphics and horrible AI pathing it looks like a 2 year old made this game.

    anyways now to the multiplayer
    MARINES ARE SO OP IN MULTIPLAYER i could not kill them as an alien i literaly ran into their face and hit them 20 times and then died and they didn't take like any damage at all because they have armor which aparently is made out of Adamantium or something it is so bad controlling a Alien so slow and half the time you get stuck on a wall and die severs are horrible and lack of gametypes and gameplay makes this game REALLY HORRIBLE

    now what i would rate this game a ZERO A BIG FAT ZERO
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME AND DO NOT BUY THE DLC UNLESS IT'S FREE
    Sega never ever let Gearbox make another Aliens game ever again please let Rebelion make another game because Aliens vs Predator is 20 times better than this piece of and for all of those people out there that give this game a 1 or above actually pley the game without useing modds people make to make the game look better on pc because this is just a discrace
    Expand
  51. Sep 10, 2013
    4
    Rent it maybe only if your curious about multiplayer because thats the only thing that isn't painfully average or bad in this game. Do not buy, if you skip this game you won't miss anything.
  52. Sep 20, 2013
    2
    Terrible game, incredibly stupid AI that just gets in the way of action, horrible graphics, lots of technical issues, the game makes it almost impossible to care about the characters, the game is like 5 hours long, you're fighting HUMANS most of the time, the last boss in the game is really easy, the multiplayer is stupid and woefully unbalanced. The only good things about this game is that there's a lot of fan service and The Raven level that's actually scary but everything else about this game just sucks balls. Expand
  53. AGK
    Oct 8, 2013
    2
    this game is god awful. it destroys my mind on why my dad bought this piece of dog the a.i is weird and and the game play is just depressing. Don't buy this, save your money!
  54. Nov 9, 2013
    6
    This Game for sure has lacked to offer what was promised; Whilst the Story and gameplay throughout the unpolished setting is not up to scratch, despite these issues i could still appreciate the Great Soundtrack! and character tags from Aliens the movie, i myself am i alien fan and in contrast to the movies overocarse this is a let down, but we have seen let-downs before of this genre, it is unfortunate that it could not live up to what could have been a very successful game but i believe is still worth a borrow from all alien fans out there Expand
  55. Nov 26, 2013
    4
    Not great but not total I must admit, I went in with extremely low expectations. It's worth a play if you're an Aliens fan. The sound effects and soundtrack capture the feel of the film and the environments were reminiscent of the film as well. The story was interesting enough. Other than that, not really much I can recommend. The AI is pretty horrible, the graphics are relatively bland, especially in cut-scenes, and multiplayer is...meh, if you can even find anyone playing the game and tolerate the lag. Oh, and I haven't even mentioned the numerous glitches/bugs. I don't understand how you can ruin a game that draws from such excellent source material. If you're an Aliens fan, give it a rent. Anyone else, only if you're a masochist. Expand
  56. Apr 4, 2013
    0
    I love aliens and I was excited for colonial marines but when I finally played it I didn't get the aliens experience I was looking for instead I got a game with bland graphics not so interesting story line and awkward glitches but its not a horrible game. the sound is just awesome the multiplayer is fun but it does have problems. it may not be the scary aliens game we've been hoping for but that scene with the boilers scared me by trying not to piss them off by moving or else they will blow up on you. the story didn't really make sense and the visuals might be off and it gets really glitchy on the console version but the pc version is better maybe just a little bit. overall its a mediocre game so I really don't recommend this game but if you want it then ok butt its probably better to get something else. Collapse
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 47
  2. Negative: 22 out of 47
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    40
    There was a lot of hope for Aliens: Colonial Marines but it seems the gaming world is let down with another attempt to make a successful film tie in. The review should give you a few good reasons why the game suffers but other aspects such as the overused catchphrase ‘Stay frosty!’ and anticlimactic ending are a couple more to add to the list and this is why you should wait until this game gets thrown into the bargain bin before you purchase.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    20
    I'm not that witty, but I am pretty vulgar—as a result, all I can say is that if Aliens: Colonial Marines had been fished out of a Marine's colon during emergency surgery it wouldn't surprise me in the least.
  3. Mar 24, 2013
    62
    An unremarkable FPS plagued by dim AI and repetitive set-pieces. [Apr 2013, p.68]