User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 186

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    Loved this game. I think most criticisms are from people who tried to play this game as a shooter. The dialogue system is the best part of the game and I loved the C&C. I wish there would make another game but it appears highly unlikely given the reception this one got.
  2. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    Gameplay:
    Great game, Possibilities are huge for such a small game.
    Alpha Protocol has a great character development system, though in the end Stealth is the best skill by far, no matter how you play. It has a great character interaction system, which affects the entire playthrough, making room for some interesting romances and consequences for your actions. In the end I milked a
    Gameplay:
    Great game, Possibilities are huge for such a small game.
    Alpha Protocol has a great character development system, though in the end Stealth is the best skill by far, no matter how you play. It has a great character interaction system, which affects the entire playthrough, making room for some interesting romances and consequences for your actions. In the end I milked a wholesome 9 playthroughs out of the brilliance that is Alpha Protocol. Gameplay Score: 9/10


    Graphics and Audio and Script:
    Not much to say here, I've never really cared that much about graphics.
    The graphics weren't next-gen but like a said, who cares?
    The script was great loved the suave remarks, though I wish more of the girls were turned on by them,They preferred professional/aggressive. Also i didn't hear much of the music, since i was too busy playing this awesome game :P

    Graphics: 7/10
    Audio: ?/10
    Script: 9/10


    Re-play Value.
    Lots. For such a average size story, it's surprising how much re-play a game can give. Just play the game and bone someone else. Or maybe Execute every single person you meet allys or not. The game has LOTS OF replay value.

    Replay Value :10/10 Story:

    The story was a huge plus for this game, serious it's definitely its strongest point. The story in this game involves Agent Mike Thorton or "Mikey" as he joins a secret government organization known as Alpha Protocol. You'll instantly be plunged into a story of trust and betrayal, where everyone has an Agenda even you. This gives complete control over the story in a frame narrative, like c'mon you can kill nearly everyone you meet in some point of the game!

    Story: 10/10
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2011
    10
    Don't misjudge this game. I must admit at first when I played it I ruled it out and just thought it was a piece of crap. Then I started to play more and more and the story was interesting because it was my story. I've finished this game about 5 times but have had nearly 8 characters attempt the game. There are so many different options/choices/decisions to makes throughout the game. LotsDon't misjudge this game. I must admit at first when I played it I ruled it out and just thought it was a piece of crap. Then I started to play more and more and the story was interesting because it was my story. I've finished this game about 5 times but have had nearly 8 characters attempt the game. There are so many different options/choices/decisions to makes throughout the game. Lots of great RPG elements woven into the gameplay and leveling system. Also the dialogue. Only problem is it only gives you a short amount of time to make a decision in dialogue, which doesn't give me enough time to think about possible outcomes of my decision to my character and his relationships.

    I really wish for a sequel of this game, as it's rpg elements are unseen in pretty much every game. Hoping Mass Effect 3 might take influence from this.
    Although I have bad news, SEGA announced a while ago their not making an 'Alpha Protocol 2' as it did not sell very well.
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Yes this game is full of bugs, sometimes feeling unfinished. It also has graphics comparable to a poor looking PSone game and poor enemy AI. But if you can look past this Alpha Protocol is one of the deepest and most compelling experiences to be found. Nothing can match the feeling of perfectly time your run to dart across a room full of enemies undetected, silently tranquillizing andYes this game is full of bugs, sometimes feeling unfinished. It also has graphics comparable to a poor looking PSone game and poor enemy AI. But if you can look past this Alpha Protocol is one of the deepest and most compelling experiences to be found. Nothing can match the feeling of perfectly time your run to dart across a room full of enemies undetected, silently tranquillizing and knocking out enemies with badass finishing moves. Exploration is also awarded, with many things scattered about the level that you will WANT to find, such as money pouches and Intel on characters or factions in the game. You won't be merely finding these for Achievements, you will genuinely want to find out more about characters essential to the excellent plot. Reading dossiers can either give players a deeper understanding of the story, provide helpful hints for taking on that enemy or just some quirky secret facts. The only real way to get the full enjoyment out of this game is to play using the stealth approach, as the shooting mechanics are weak. There are also some horrible boss battles and parts where you are forced into a gunfight, and these are by far the weakest moments in the game. Special credit has to go to the storytelling. I genuinely believe this game has one of the most enjoyable and immersive stories in modern gaming, made even more incredible by the fact that no two playthroughs will ever be the same, and the players choices have huge impacts on the things that happen in the game. Never judge a book by its cover. Ignore the graphics and the bugs and jump in. You won't regret it..

    i want ALPHA PROTOCOL 2
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    Yes this game is full of bugs, sometimes feeling unfinished. It also has graphics comparable to a poor looking PSone game and poor enemy AI. But if you can look past this Alpha Protocol is one of the deepest and most compelling experiences to be found. Nothing can match the feeling of perfectly time your run to dart across a room full of enemies undetected, silently tranquillizing andYes this game is full of bugs, sometimes feeling unfinished. It also has graphics comparable to a poor looking PSone game and poor enemy AI. But if you can look past this Alpha Protocol is one of the deepest and most compelling experiences to be found. Nothing can match the feeling of perfectly time your run to dart across a room full of enemies undetected, silently tranquillizing and knocking out enemies with badass finishing moves. Exploration is also awarded, with many things scattered about the level that you will WANT to find, such as money pouches and Intel on characters or factions in the game. You won't be merely finding these for Achievements, you will genuinely want to find out more about characters essential to the excellent plot. Reading dossiers can either give players a deeper understanding of the story, provide helpful hints for taking on that enemy or just some quirky secret facts. The only real way to get the full enjoyment out of this game is to play using the stealth approach, as the shooting mechanics are weak. There are also some horrible boss battles and parts where you are forced into a gunfight, and these are by far the weakest moments in the game. Special credit has to go to the storytelling. I genuinely believe this game has one of the most enjoyable and immersive stories in modern gaming, made even more incredible by the fact that no two playthroughs will ever be the same, and the players choices have huge impacts on the things that happen in the game. Never judge a book by its cover. Ignore the graphics and the bugs and jump in. You won't regret it. Expand
  6. May 3, 2012
    9
    Two years after I originally purchasing this game, I finally beat it! I found the branching story to be compelling and entertaining. I was blown away with how my choices actually had an effect on the outcome of the story. Many games boast this feature, but I have never seen it done as well as it was in Alpha Protocol. Unfortunately, the actual game-play is pretty horrible. I knew thisTwo years after I originally purchasing this game, I finally beat it! I found the branching story to be compelling and entertaining. I was blown away with how my choices actually had an effect on the outcome of the story. Many games boast this feature, but I have never seen it done as well as it was in Alpha Protocol. Unfortunately, the actual game-play is pretty horrible. I knew this going in and is why I decided to played the game on easy. This allowed me to reduce the amount of time I actually had to spend in the missions. You can now pick this game up for under $10 almost everywhere and I highly recommend that you do for the story alone. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    9
    The First time I played this game I thought it was one of the worst games ever. But now playing it the second time and actually being patient I have changed my mind and think this is one of the best games I have ever played this game is awesome
  8. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    If you are a fan of games then this is right for you. Alpha Protocol is an RPG that truly gives your actions consequences, you can proceed through missions in whichever order you choose, you can choose to kill or spare main characters that can come back to help you, there are many different ways of playing through depending on what you want to do, it's a smorgasbord of choice. After youIf you are a fan of games then this is right for you. Alpha Protocol is an RPG that truly gives your actions consequences, you can proceed through missions in whichever order you choose, you can choose to kill or spare main characters that can come back to help you, there are many different ways of playing through depending on what you want to do, it's a smorgasbord of choice. After you get past the not so good first mission hub (Saudi Arabia) the game really opens up and you'll get to see why this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. Collapse
  9. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    The most critically underrated game of all time. Complex story, great skill upgrades, unique characters, awesome weapon customization, tons of perks, choices matter greatly, fun gadgets, decent voices, etc. Only negative is slightly imperfect gameplay and a lot of menu surfing. If your a dues ex, stealth, or rpg fan its a must-buy. If you think call of duty is the greatest game of allThe most critically underrated game of all time. Complex story, great skill upgrades, unique characters, awesome weapon customization, tons of perks, choices matter greatly, fun gadgets, decent voices, etc. Only negative is slightly imperfect gameplay and a lot of menu surfing. If your a dues ex, stealth, or rpg fan its a must-buy. If you think call of duty is the greatest game of all time just because of high production value and spiffy gameplay/graphics you might be someone who won't like the game because it is not some simple run and gun shootfest and requires intelligence, reading skills, and a decent memory to be successful at it. Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the most underrated games in this generation of consoles. It is amazing that in current times someone can still make a game intellectually challenging - that puts the story first, shooting/action second. I know it's not perfect, there are some technical flaws... But this game is about storytelling, emotions and choices!! (lots of choices!). The character depth andProbably one of the most underrated games in this generation of consoles. It is amazing that in current times someone can still make a game intellectually challenging - that puts the story first, shooting/action second. I know it's not perfect, there are some technical flaws... But this game is about storytelling, emotions and choices!! (lots of choices!). The character depth and interaction is awesome. You can make friends from your enemies and vice-versa, create your own play style based on it. It is amazing that you can complete this game and do not kill anyone in the process (I've made it personally at my fist playthrough). You can finish the game with completely different mindset than you started it with. There is lots of humor and hidden details in this game. It's simply amazing! In it's style it's close to Mass Effect, which I absolutely adored, so If you liked Mass Effect do not hesitate, do not look at reviews (63%? you've got to be kidding me! I've played much worse games with ~80% reviews) Obsidian Entertainment I salute you, It's been a while since I had such a good time in this world full of games with increasing numbers at it's titles. Expand
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    When you expect a game from Sega it's usually another Sonic game. But this is something different. Alpha Protocol is a RPG espionage game that holds back stealing from James Bond films. It's completely original through both gameplay and story. A story that would make James bond's fifty year old panties wet.

    You play as Micheal Thornton, a character with no backstory (besides a
    When you expect a game from Sega it's usually another Sonic game. But this is something different. Alpha Protocol is a RPG espionage game that holds back stealing from James Bond films. It's completely original through both gameplay and story. A story that would make James bond's fifty year old panties wet.

    You play as Micheal Thornton, a character with no backstory (besides a dossier on who your character is) but has a completely customized set of skill that makes a good point for gameplay progression, but not character. You are set out to find a terror group that shot down an airliner with stolen weapons. But as you start progressing the story you then learn of a company that wants to start a Cold War for their profit. You then set out as a rouge agent to expose them and the secret division of people that work for them.

    Gameplay is the main focus, despite the laggy controls. You basically build your perfect agent and do what you need to do. Every faction of people or certain people you fight or get aided by have strengths and weaknesses that you can read in their dossiers. Like for example: Say you are fighting one of the boss characters and you seem at disadvantage, but then you learn he has some sort of head injury that makes him vulnerable to concussions and that grenades can daze him.

    Cut rate graphics and piss poor controls hurts this game, but if you can look past that you see a game worth a few playthroughs.
    Expand
  12. Apr 27, 2013
    9
    Alpha Protocol at its core is a brilliant and daringly original attempt at bringing something new to the RPG/Action genre. Certainly, the game has some major flaws, low quality graphics, occasional glitches and poor balancing when it comes to weapons and combat skills....BUT! If you can see passed this you will find a gem of a game. The conversation systems is unparralled in my books,Alpha Protocol at its core is a brilliant and daringly original attempt at bringing something new to the RPG/Action genre. Certainly, the game has some major flaws, low quality graphics, occasional glitches and poor balancing when it comes to weapons and combat skills....BUT! If you can see passed this you will find a gem of a game. The conversation systems is unparralled in my books, offering branching directions in story, peoples reactions and more, all depending on the approach you take. You genuinely feel that your every decision and action has an effect. Its a real shame SEGA are unlikely to get a second shot at realising a more polished sequel. A great shame, that originality is rebuked while rehashing the same old FPS and game model is rewarded. Expand
  13. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Finally got to play this through. I started it quite a long time ago and after completing the training part and part of the first real mission I quit. I didn't hate it but I had better games at hand then. Started it again and boy was my first impression wrong. It seems that has happened to many others as well. This was and is a truly great game and has tons of replay value due to variousFinally got to play this through. I started it quite a long time ago and after completing the training part and part of the first real mission I quit. I didn't hate it but I had better games at hand then. Started it again and boy was my first impression wrong. It seems that has happened to many others as well. This was and is a truly great game and has tons of replay value due to various courses you can take with your decisions. If you like RPGs this is definitely a great game. If you expect it to be a shooter, you're going to be disappointed. I actually created a profile on Metacritic just to rate this game as it definitely is totally an underrated gem. Too bad they are not going to make a sequel. Expand
  14. Sep 9, 2013
    9
    Splinter Cell turned RPG is the best way to describe Alpha Protocol. In most RPGs it is only your final choices that determine how the game ends, and your in-game choices do not significantly affect how the game develops as you play it. In contrast EVERY choice you make in Alpha Protocol will affect not only the ending but also how the game develops as you play it. Your aiming accuracy isSplinter Cell turned RPG is the best way to describe Alpha Protocol. In most RPGs it is only your final choices that determine how the game ends, and your in-game choices do not significantly affect how the game develops as you play it. In contrast EVERY choice you make in Alpha Protocol will affect not only the ending but also how the game develops as you play it. Your aiming accuracy is bad at first because you need to level up your skills, your weapons are bad at first because you need to purchase better weapons or new parts. This is kind of what you do in RPGs. In shooters your skills are already as good as they get. In RPGs they are not. Yes the gameplay is linear but how the storyline, characters and scenarios develop are not. The core of RPG is 'choice', not just physical open-world type of choice and appearance customization, but also dialogue choices that affect how the game plays and ends. This game may not have an open-world nor appearance customization, but it makes up for it by having a highly complex and dynamic dialogue system where the choices made will affect your gameplay and the story development in a direct way. It has a highly intricate system of cause and effect, more advanced than what Mass Effect, Fallout and Elder Scrolls have delivered. Alpha Protocol is far from a "simple shooter". Expand
  15. Jul 11, 2011
    0
    If you are a fan of games then this is right for you. Alpha Protocol is an RPG that truly gives your actions consequences, you can proceed through missions in whichever order you choose, you can choose to kill or spare main characters that can come back to help you, there are many different ways of playing through depending on what you want to do, it's a smorgasbord of choice. After youIf you are a fan of games then this is right for you. Alpha Protocol is an RPG that truly gives your actions consequences, you can proceed through missions in whichever order you choose, you can choose to kill or spare main characters that can come back to help you, there are many different ways of playing through depending on what you want to do, it's a smorgasbord of choice. After you get past the not so good first mission hub (Saudi Arabia) the game really opens up and you'll get to see why this is one of the greatest RPGs ever made. Collapse
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 68
  2. Negative: 9 out of 68
  1. The tragedy of Alpha Protocol is that, hidden behind the mass of technical failings is a superb action RPG bristling with choice and driven by some inspired storytelling.
  2. What Obsidian has crafted is a decent first attempt that shamelessly borrows elements from some heavy-hitting titles in an attempt to make them its own. While we refrain from using the term 'unique' in any capacity, somehow the result feels fresh enough to warrant at least a single playthrough.
  3. Alpha Protocol threatens absurdity only on rare occasions - generally its plot is well conceived and told, particularly when you factor in the multiple narrative strands that can be followed. [July 2010, p.112]