Arcania: Gothic 4 Xbox 360

Arcania: Gothic 4 Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: ArcaniA - A Gothic Tale is set in a rich world that invites the player to explore all of its innumerable attractions and details. Different climate zones, abundant flora and fauna, subterranean vaults, and cities and castles with unique architecture await the adventurous player. CloudsArcaniA - A Gothic Tale is set in a rich world that invites the player to explore all of its innumerable attractions and details. Different climate zones, abundant flora and fauna, subterranean vaults, and cities and castles with unique architecture await the adventurous player. Clouds darken the skies, weather effects such as wind and heavy rain influence the game world, keeping it endlessly fascinating with its amazing graphics, day and night cycles, and a stunning display of light and shadow. Wonderfully atmospheric music and top-of-the-line sound effects create a truly immersive playing environment. A multitude of entertaining and challenging quests, challenging combat, mysterious NPC characters and a sophisticated plot guarantee many hours of highly entertaining gameplay. The Southern Islands await! Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Arcania Gothic IV is devoid of some typical elements of the Gothic series, but is a good rpg. Ideal to start to become familiar with a hard role-playing game.
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    75
    On the PC, Arcania: Gothic 4 is a good action-rpg for inexperienced players. But the graphics on the Xbox 360 are this horrible, that you can't really enjoy the quests or the fights.
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    73
    On the PC Arcania: Gothic 4 is a good RPG for role-playing newbies. On the Xbox 360 the graphics are so bad that even the good main quests or the diverting battles failing to unfold its potential. There must be a patch soon. Go get the PC version if you are a RPG fanatic. The PS3 version of Arcania Gothic 4 is not out yet and the developers must do some bugfixing.
  4. Decent but hackneyed hack-and-slashery, and still a way off feeling comfortable on Xbox.
  5. Jan 11, 2011
    60
    Arcania turns out to be a passable RPG, it has pleasant enough locations and plenty of quests to get stuck into, even if they do feel a bit similar to each other. The timing of such a generic release couldn't have come at a worse time however, and with Fable III and Fallout New Vegas also vying for attention, Arcania is a pretty hard sell.
  6. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    60
    For all its radial menus and console-friendly UI, Spellbound simply hasn't managed to make Gothic work in a console environment. [Issue#66, p.85]
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    49
    There's nothing distinctive about the world we're allowed to explore.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Feb 11, 2012
    9
    It may not be the most polished RPG, but it is addicting and fun, and as many of the critics have said if you want to get into the open worldIt may not be the most polished RPG, but it is addicting and fun, and as many of the critics have said if you want to get into the open world RPG games then this is a good place to help you get acquainted with these kinds of games as it is simple without being overly simple, easy to figure out, also it's the perfect difficulty for those just starting out, and it's just a lot of fun, it does have some polish issues though, the graphics are bad, and the voice acting is horrible for the most part (you'll be able to find one or two decent voice actors) and the story isn't really all that interesting or well written, but the gameplay is (for the most part) smooth, combat flows very well do to excellent controls, menus are very well done, and leveling up is easy and really makes you feel extremely powerful when you can slaughter hoards of enemies without taking any real damage, it took me about a little over 12 hours to complete, and if you do all the side quests it will probably take you about another 2 to beat, so if your a beginner to the open world RPG and are looking for some practice before you tackle the more challenging and deep RPGs out there, or are a hardcore open world RPG player and are just looking for a good one to play I recommend this game, because even with it's issues it's an addicting and fun RPG, and isn't that why we play games? not because they have the best graphics, but because they're fun, and this game is a lot of fun and that is why I recommend it to RPG fans everywhere. Expand
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, probably due i like the concept. This is pretty much like Risen slightly less polished but the game really picksI really enjoyed this game, probably due i like the concept. This is pretty much like Risen slightly less polished but the game really picks up after a hour. Big world with decent graphics and decent gameplay. But the atmosphere in dungeons and lightning is pretty amazing.

    If you like games with a unamed hero on a island, go ahead. It isn't perfect but you can't stop playing.
    Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    I will start by saying that I am enjoying this game. I think that comparing this (or ANY other RPG) to Oblivion isn't a fair comparison.I will start by saying that I am enjoying this game. I think that comparing this (or ANY other RPG) to Oblivion isn't a fair comparison. Oblivion was a remarkable game that set THE standard for an open-world RPG, but using it as a benchmark for any game even -remotely- in the RPG genre is misleading. There is far more to the RPG experience than stunning graphics and/or control schemes.

    I enjoy RPGs that allow me to explore a fantasy world, be part of an engaging story, and watching my character progress. Arcania does that very well. For some, the graphics may seem unpolished, but the game drew me in...and suspended my disbelief. I guess I don't mind my imagination filling in some gaps that the developers may have left.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2010
    6
    Unfortunately, there are more than a few issues with this game that knocked the game down from a higher score. The graphics are about averageUnfortunately, there are more than a few issues with this game that knocked the game down from a higher score. The graphics are about average at best, with the female characters in the game being pretty fugly in the facial area. By design, foliage disappears as it is near you so you can see any items on the ground, but this actually makes the game look worse since you have constant pop-in and fade around you. The enemies are really standard without much variety. The quests are run-of-the-mill affair, with the plot quests having the annoying "do this for this guy, but you can't until you do this other thing for this other guy, but oh wait you have to do this first, etc." There is not any character customization so everyone gets to use the same guy, though different armor and weapons make your character look different. There are several glitches, usually involving the clipping with area walls. There is just too many flaws and not enough good qualities to offset buying this game. I do recommend a rental (my endgame time was less than 12 hours) just not a $60 buy. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2011
    5
    Arcania Gothic IV is a generic and AVERAGE RPG. First everyone starts as the same male character. The leveling system is very basic with onlyArcania Gothic IV is a generic and AVERAGE RPG. First everyone starts as the same male character. The leveling system is very basic with only a few ways to differentiate characters. The achievements are impossible to attain in one play through. Three are collections based (the collectibles are impossible without a cheat book) and another achievement is based on selling every possible item in the game. Combat is intuitive but switching between weapons is a bit clunky. NPC interaction is generic with no variable conversations and the voice acting is bland. The game is also very LINEAR and short in content (I completed all the quests and finished the game in 20 hours). I have come to expect an open world to explore however this game allows you to unlock small areas once you have completed the prior quest. DON'T BUY!! RENT this game Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    This being the first game i have played of the Gothic series, i think i have a non bias opinion on this game... The story is not compelling,This being the first game i have played of the Gothic series, i think i have a non bias opinion on this game... The story is not compelling, the game is way to easy even on the hardest mode, the crafting would be great if the difficulty of the game was harder, but because you can defeat every enemy just by sidestepping most of the items go unused and are only worth the points they add to your gamer-score Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2015
    2
    There has never been a gaming series so schizophrenic as the Gothic series. It started strong with a solid first two games, trailed off toThere has never been a gaming series so schizophrenic as the Gothic series. It started strong with a solid first two games, trailed off to rubbish for the third, now we have this mess. There is no excuse to release a game on XBOX 360 that runs so poorly that just getting around in the world is a chore. I swear that the frame rate is mostly around 15-18fps and it ruins any chance the game has at being entertaining right out of the gate. There are so many other RPGs to play on 360 that do everything better - so why anyone would bother with this mess is beyond me Expand

See all 14 User Reviews