User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 114
  2. Negative: 16 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2011
    3
    If you played the first AOT, you will most likely HATE this version! It truly seems as if this one should have been the first one. It plays more like an arcade whereas the first one was more true to life. The enemies are all darkly clothed and most of the backgrounds in this game are dark, so, you have a hard time even seeing what you should be shooting at. The graphics are so muchIf you played the first AOT, you will most likely HATE this version! It truly seems as if this one should have been the first one. It plays more like an arcade whereas the first one was more true to life. The enemies are all darkly clothed and most of the backgrounds in this game are dark, so, you have a hard time even seeing what you should be shooting at. The graphics are so much less realistic, at least in single player mode (I haven't done multiplayer yet). Then, there are the endless staircases... why have you waste time on traversing staircases if nothing surprising ever happens? Plus, you can't skip the storyline cutaways... a complaint I have about the first one, too. Very disappointed in this game. Expand
  2. AndyM
    Feb 1, 2010
    4
    Note: I played this co-op via local split screen. First off, I didn't rent this game for the story, so its quality wasn't important. That said I found myself caring so little about the characters in the game that I at times wished I could just skip the cutscenes. Skipable cutscenes would have also helped since you had to rewatch them every time you played a stage again after Note: I played this co-op via local split screen. First off, I didn't rent this game for the story, so its quality wasn't important. That said I found myself caring so little about the characters in the game that I at times wished I could just skip the cutscenes. Skipable cutscenes would have also helped since you had to rewatch them every time you played a stage again after dieing. The gameplay is a mix of every third person shooter on the market. Problem is, while it borrows from everyone, it doesn't do anything particularily better or even at times as well. The mapping of the "A" button is broken. You will find yourself vaulting across cover more often than locking in behind it. Worst of all, the "revive" mechanic is mapped to the same button. I can't even count the number of times I would start sprinting (also mapped to the "A" button) instead of reviving my partner. Also, you don't crouch when you're reviving your friend, so expect to die many times because you're both stuck in an animation while being fired on. Bosses in the game are typically easier than the common enemies. Every one is the exact same stradegy, one person fires from the front (in cover) and gets all the agro on him while the other player moves to the back and kills the boss. While the weapon customization is cool I never felt like I was actually making my gun any better (just marginally). Furthermore, player two gets completely thrown under the bus. If you don't beat the game in one sitting the next time you load your game player two's guns will be completely gone (along with everything back to being locked). While that angered me I settled back down assuming that I could just reunlock everything (getting money is 2X as easy compared to the first game), but no, for the rest of the game only player 1 unlocked weapons. Overall it just left a bad taste in both of our mouths, and since the story wasn't at all involving we quickly decided to go do something else. Army of Two: 40th Day is a fun rent for an evening of gaming, but beyond that its a game that is actually inferior in every way to its predecessor. Expand
  3. NFOxDevilseedx
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    How can you rate a game based on a DEMO? The demo ONLY allowed co-op, no multiplayer, no solo, no mask customization, no in depth upgrades. This game is pretty dang good in my opinion. It looks better, runs better and has a multiplayer I can enjoy for hours on end.
  4. JoeS
    Jan 14, 2010
    5
    Not nearly as good or fun as the first game. A few times I thought I was playing Time Crisis in the arcade. The controls are very clunky. It can sometimes be an almost impossible task to pick up your partner when the same button to revive him is also the button you use to run. I seem to remember in the game trailer that you could pick off car doors and use them as shields and I also Not nearly as good or fun as the first game. A few times I thought I was playing Time Crisis in the arcade. The controls are very clunky. It can sometimes be an almost impossible task to pick up your partner when the same button to revive him is also the button you use to run. I seem to remember in the game trailer that you could pick off car doors and use them as shields and I also remember some coop sniping where one guy stands on the other guy's shoulders to snipe someone out, neither of these are in the game. The game is extremely short in gameplay time, but the game becomes extremely boring by the end of the 4th chapter til the end which causes the game to seem as if it has 8 hours of gameplay when it actually has about 3. The lack of audio options is a ridiculous oversight by the developers, you can barely hear speech in the game unless you have your speakers high enough to blow your ears out from the SFX. Due to the lack of audio options there are no subtitles in the game. For a majority of the game my friend and I had absolutely no clue what was going on in the story because we couldn't hear anything anyone said. This game was a huge letdown for me, I was very disappointed with it. One of the few redeeming qualities to the game are the opportunities to make "tough" decisions on whether to send someone to death or save them. The negative choices are hilarious. The end of the game was probably the biggest let down, probably one of the worst endings to a game that will most likely not have another sequel. With as poor as the writing and development for this game was, I really hope there isn't a sequel because regardless of how much I disliked this game, I'm sure I will be sucked into playing another piece of garbage in the story of Rios and Salem. Expand
  5. Anonymousreader
    Jan 14, 2010
    9
    I think this game rocks and BTW @ the other "anonymous" poster who rates this game a 4. With at least 2 references to "I heard" what makes you qualified to give such a score? so you played the demo and didn't like it that much, fine but you cannot give a bad score based on something you haven't even played more than the tutorial. Thats like looking at a car on a lot and just I think this game rocks and BTW @ the other "anonymous" poster who rates this game a 4. With at least 2 references to "I heard" what makes you qualified to give such a score? so you played the demo and didn't like it that much, fine but you cannot give a bad score based on something you haven't even played more than the tutorial. Thats like looking at a car on a lot and just sitting in the seat and saying it drove like crap..Yet another instance of the inexperienced professional in their basement waiting for mom to cook their supper. Collapse
  6. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    Army of two is a better co-op experience that its flawed original. Most of the stuff you loved about the first game is here and the inclusion of some cool customisation elements further its longevity. There isn't much that differs gameplay wise but the presentation has had an overhaul. Rios & Salem are more human this time but that doesn't mean they aren't just stupid Army of two is a better co-op experience that its flawed original. Most of the stuff you loved about the first game is here and the inclusion of some cool customisation elements further its longevity. There isn't much that differs gameplay wise but the presentation has had an overhaul. Rios & Salem are more human this time but that doesn't mean they aren't just stupid ballsy men who wear hocky masks whilst firing weapons but they aren't far from it in the 40th day. Overall a great third person shooter which feels largely familiar but is still plenty of fun and this time is more pick up and playable. Expand
  7. CyprianL
    Jan 25, 2010
    3
    Really poor game. Ending is the worst nightmare for all players. This should be first game not a sequel.
  8. FoolsGold
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    A truly terrific game. If you love high energy action, this is the game for you - a great disaster setting, fresh lead characters and great combat make this a better game than Gears in a lot of ways. I also liked the fact that the moral decisions you make in the game don't have a clear good or bad outcome - really makes a difference, especially if you're playing with another A truly terrific game. If you love high energy action, this is the game for you - a great disaster setting, fresh lead characters and great combat make this a better game than Gears in a lot of ways. I also liked the fact that the moral decisions you make in the game don't have a clear good or bad outcome - really makes a difference, especially if you're playing with another human being and not the AI. Expand
  9. DenisG
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This game is great...Play alone and play with a friend...great improvement over the first! A must buy for gamers with friends ;)
  10. jayh
    Jan 18, 2010
    2
    I agree that alot of the improvements in this installment like the graphics, and lots of different custom options are very much a welcomed suprise. The thing that makes me give this such a low score is the fact that this game is advertised as a co-op stlye game, but yet , the co-op and multi-player functions are all but broken and unplayable.Freezing up in the same spot for well over a I agree that alot of the improvements in this installment like the graphics, and lots of different custom options are very much a welcomed suprise. The thing that makes me give this such a low score is the fact that this game is advertised as a co-op stlye game, but yet , the co-op and multi-player functions are all but broken and unplayable.Freezing up in the same spot for well over a half hour and another hour of lag deaths breaks this game for me. These "features" are the whole reason I purchased the game in the first place. To launch a game with these faults is inexcuseble. For all its improvements I cannot advise anyone to buy this game. Rent or stay away. Expand
  11. JesusD
    Jan 19, 2010
    9
    Army of two is a really good game. I got it a few days ago and have beat it about 4 times. The story line is a bit on the weird side, bit a great game overall. Its a blast to play with a friend or sibling,and I like the custom masks and the different difficulty settings for each character, letting newbies play with professionals. Controls were pretty confusing, but I got used to them.
  12. GREGS
    Jan 19, 2010
    8
    This game is a blast. its fun playing splitscreen and a online is an intense gunfight. you can make a mask on your computer and publish online, then connect to the ps3 and your mask is there for your character to wear! awesome. the developers really improved the sequel, the game is not very long, but it deserves second playthroughs just to expierence all the different gun customizations. This game is a blast. its fun playing splitscreen and a online is an intense gunfight. you can make a mask on your computer and publish online, then connect to the ps3 and your mask is there for your character to wear! awesome. the developers really improved the sequel, the game is not very long, but it deserves second playthroughs just to expierence all the different gun customizations. check this game out Expand
  13. Cromie
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Great game the two player is awsome if you get the game with some one. The story is great and changing your mask is funny. The only downside is you have to play with some one which can be annoying
  14. BillyD
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    This is a excellent game, the graphic are very good the custonmization of weapons is fantastic.
  15. Travis
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    Truly a treat cover-to-cover shooter. I feel very strongly that many critics like gamepro and gamespy are massively underating this game. The graphics are amazing as you watch building and planes crash to the ground around you. The gunplay is fluid and satifying. To make it better the weapon customization is one of the best I've ever seen in a game. Overall this game is incredbly Truly a treat cover-to-cover shooter. I feel very strongly that many critics like gamepro and gamespy are massively underating this game. The graphics are amazing as you watch building and planes crash to the ground around you. The gunplay is fluid and satifying. To make it better the weapon customization is one of the best I've ever seen in a game. Overall this game is incredbly fun, addicting and in my opinion not getting the credit it deserves from some critics. Expand
  16. JimboB
    Jan 15, 2010
    8
    It's a fun game you can play with a friend and have a good time with. The controls work well at times and the Multiplayer modes aref un to play and addictive. You don't need to play the first game to understand the plot, as there barely is one, but that doesn't make it any less of a great game. And it has splitscreen online.
  17. ShawnW
    Feb 17, 2010
    3
    Army of Two: The 40th Day is an interesting shooter. Weapon customization and making your own masks. But after a few fights and moral decisions, you realize this is just another repetitive shooter, with only the weapon cust and the masks. (Yes, I'm also talking about MW2.) Also, believe it or not, the campaign is soooooooo short. The multiplayer is also very laggy. It's fun with Army of Two: The 40th Day is an interesting shooter. Weapon customization and making your own masks. But after a few fights and moral decisions, you realize this is just another repetitive shooter, with only the weapon cust and the masks. (Yes, I'm also talking about MW2.) Also, believe it or not, the campaign is soooooooo short. The multiplayer is also very laggy. It's fun with a friend, but soon, you'll find it's just a repetitive shooter with some extra touches. My suggestion: fun to rent and play with a friend, but you may regret it later when you bought a pretty dumb and short game for 60 dollars. Expand
  18. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    Kyle is a fatretawd, now that thats outta da way you kill Rios dies and shanhai or however you spell in gets blown up and the main guys kyle obeace sinister 9 citrus of hell diarioa poopie dom dumn
  19. Oct 8, 2010
    7
    Army of two : TFD is a very very fun game. The graffics are smooth and the co-op capability is immense. The custimization of the guns is insane and generally the game as a whole is worth a buy. thier isn't really a game were the review has been so short but their you go!
  20. Jun 3, 2011
    5
    My friend and I played through the entire campaign on coop. While it wasn't difficult (enemies weren't hard to kill), this game is extremely cheap. Enemies will randomly spawn (sometimes from behind), and you'll get killed without feeling a rumble on the controller. I've also died a number of times when I was stuck in cover when I didn't want to be.

    Rent this game or buy it used for
    My friend and I played through the entire campaign on coop. While it wasn't difficult (enemies weren't hard to kill), this game is extremely cheap. Enemies will randomly spawn (sometimes from behind), and you'll get killed without feeling a rumble on the controller. I've also died a number of times when I was stuck in cover when I didn't want to be.

    Rent this game or buy it used for cheap if you really want to play it. Otherwise, avoid it.
    Expand
  21. May 4, 2011
    10
    This game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. IThis game is so much underrated, its sadning. Army of Two: The 40th Day is my favorite shooter and one of my favorite game ever. I really loved the first game, put this second installment is a great improvement Army of Two. The disaster setting is great and the gameplay is just fantastic and thrilling, and it controls very well. The characters are interesting, fleshy, and funny at times. I kinda miss the first game's humour. Playing this game alone is amazing, put playing with a friend is a real blast, the best fun I had playing a videogame! Expand
  22. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    excellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this firstexcellent game here, very very good campaign that is even better to play through in coop. i actually preffered the campaign to gears 3's. Theres lots of neat game-play ideas that really work, i don't really have any complaints regarding the sp, i must have played it right through 4 or 5 times. If you like games like gears of war, you will no doubt love this. I played through this first then i played through the original game and i thought this was miles better, tho some disagree. I thought the multiplayer was very decent too, apart from that i didnt stick it out and continue playing it for as long as i have done with other games like gears or cod. brilliant effort and i hope they do a sequel. Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    i think it is good i like how it is in the 1st person view also i like how u can add attachment to your weapons i really do not like how it is on co-op. i wish that on co-op that u and your friends/friend can face each other one be on the enemies side and one be on the good side
  24. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    A supremely good game that has the ability to be a game without selling itself out with being overloaded with faults or quizzical motives. Though as a person who loves both guns and customization, I found myself in the menus more then I was in a game, simply because the customization is fun to mess around with. Me and my friend were able to have fun with this and enjoy quality time together.
  25. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    This game is fair to say the least. It tries to set up a big story by having a shadowy organization attack Hong Kong but it failed to pull me into the game. The gameplay was only enjoyable with a friend, we spent half the afternoon getting through the game. The game gives you choices to make when you run into certain NPC's during the game but they have little to no effect on the finalThis game is fair to say the least. It tries to set up a big story by having a shadowy organization attack Hong Kong but it failed to pull me into the game. The gameplay was only enjoyable with a friend, we spent half the afternoon getting through the game. The game gives you choices to make when you run into certain NPC's during the game but they have little to no effect on the final results of the game. Gun customization is back but even that becomes dull after a while. It's just a sub-par follow up to a shooter that was also sub-par to begin with. Expand
  26. Jun 4, 2013
    6
    It was good, but it was also disappointing. The customization was a bit pointless and your choices had the impact of a rats ass. If you like Army of Two, you'll like it, but I can't recommend it.
  27. Aug 16, 2014
    7
    A surprisingly good FPS that never fails to be fun, especially with the capability of split screen. Throughout the game the player is faced with a range of decision, which are quite challenging, rewarding and down right sad. The 40th day feels more like a B movie production, though with its limited budget. Do not let this title pass under your rater. I would consider getting this game on aA surprisingly good FPS that never fails to be fun, especially with the capability of split screen. Throughout the game the player is faced with a range of decision, which are quite challenging, rewarding and down right sad. The 40th day feels more like a B movie production, though with its limited budget. Do not let this title pass under your rater. I would consider getting this game on a sale, its money well spent. Expand
  28. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    this is the first AOT i played don't know whether its preceedors were better or not but this is one hell fo an action powerpacked game with intense moments, tension building up. playing alone is really pain in the ass as everyone focuses on you!! best to be played in co-op mode this is how a shooter game should be. another awesome part of this game story angles can be chosen everythis is the first AOT i played don't know whether its preceedors were better or not but this is one hell fo an action powerpacked game with intense moments, tension building up. playing alone is really pain in the ass as everyone focuses on you!! best to be played in co-op mode this is how a shooter game should be. another awesome part of this game story angles can be chosen every decision takes you to a different direction and weapon customization and the increase in opponent weaponry damage as the story progresses adds a challenging theme during gameplay Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2014
    8
    Playing on your own isn't much fun, the AI on your companion that you have through out the game is not great. But, the co-op is great! This game isn't very long but it can provide some great sofa entertainment on a weekend. If you have a friend willing to play it: buy it, if not: Don't
  30. Feb 6, 2015
    8
    The second part of the series, brought many new and imaginative ideas into it. The graphics are much improved. The other plus tips, good color to the game. I think it is a pretty good game.
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Army of Two: The 40th Day has taken past criticism on the chin. Salem and Rios have evolved from disagreeable meatheads into entertaining anti-heroes while the setting is now much more befitting to the gameplay. If you're looking for an intense but concentrated gaming experience, we think the masked mercs deliver. [Jan 2010, p.68]
  2. 85
    A disaster movie in a game package, Army of Two: The 40th Day capitalizes on its co-op play to deliver an awesome action experience that's incredibly fun to play. Co-op moments feel more natural.
  3. The interaction between the two main characters extends beyond the trivial buddy moves from the first game and becomes an integral part of the journey. Marry that to some satisfyingly chunky gunplay and the odd spectacular, building-levelling explosion and you have an action game that is far more fun than it has any right to be.