User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 164
  2. Negative: 48 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    Amazing co-op gameplay (like always) and awesome weapon customizations, although the game lacks some rich stories. But still, a great game to play with friends.
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    It's not a perfect game by any means. The cover system tends to be sticky, there are some graphical issues like screen tear and texture pop, and it tends to be a little glitchy. Lack of polish aside, the combat and game feel are still nice, and I still had a fun time with it over all. Pretty good, but not spectacular.
  3. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    I cannot understand why critics are not in favor of this game, it's incredible. Everything from the amazing customization (masks, load outs, etc.) to the insane destructible environments, provided you use the brutal overkill mode, is just breathtaking. Its not a masterpiece, by any sense, the story and characters are pretty mediocre and there are some graphical glitches throughout. These cons however, are vastly overshadowed by solid controls, equally up to par co-op action, and countless ways to differentiate your T.W.O operative. Overall a great entry in a ridiculously fun series. Expand
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    i'm amazed how the current so called reviewers hited a new low. they list a serious of cons and then axe the score but at same time with the same con but in another shooters we know they give perfect scores. double standards and hypocrisy at best! is not the best shooter and it never wanted to be a call of duty or battlefield. this is a shooter made for you and a friend only and have a a good time with some jokes and explosions. this is a game that makes you feel good and have a great time, resuming this is a game that understands what games are made for!! if you dont buy this game because of the reviews then you're missing out a great game. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing edition to the series. The graphics are gorgeous on the Frostbite 2 engine from the developers of Battlefield 3. The overkill mode you get from performing co-op maneuvers adds a great edition to fights and helps you eliminate tougher enemies like nothing so save up overkill for when you really need it. This game is by far the best in the series and probablly the best shooter of this year. Amazing 10/10 Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really, really wanted to like this game in that I enjoyed the previous two games, but unfortunately I couldn't. While I understand the plot is what it is, the game didn't stay on course with the ability to gain additional contracts. This basically ended up being a 3rd person shooter with another person just like Call of Duty. I noticed alot of people were excited about the explosive environments, but please....every game has the red exploding barrels. That doesn't make it all that great. Beyond that, the plot development and character development alone left ALOT to be wanting. Making Salem the bad guy? Really? Come 'on. Apparently the game makers just completely took everything that already existed about his personality and threw it out the window. Yes, it has good weapon customization, but meh....I could play the whole, linear game through with an over powered pistol. This is the last Army of Two I play. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    The best Army of Two so far, A lot of action, destructive enviroments, funny moments and the arcade gameplay that the franchise do so well. If you wanna have a good time with some friend, and you love shooters, this is for you.
  8. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    I really enjoy this game. Il loved the first Army of Two. The second one was a big disapointment in my opinion but this one brings back the franchise where it belongs.

    I don't understand why reviews by Ign and Gamespot have been so hard on the game. It's filled with great action, good graphics, fun gameplay et despite what they are saying, the game hasn't lost its soul. There's still
    funny lines and co-op actions to do. In fact, co-op is one of the plus of this game. Co-op dedicated game are so rare.

    Yes they took out some things from the previous two installment but this game doest not deserves a 5.0/10. It's much more like 7.0 or 7.5. Sure the lacks of multiplayer may have affected the rating, but why do a multiplayer that sucks or that nobody will play anyway ?

    I hate that today, reviews by popular sites can destroy the sales of a game or kill the franchise itsell. By example, Duke Nukem Forever. Me and two of my friend (3 sales) where gonna buy that game but didn't because of the bad reviews. Sure, In that case, the game sucked. The thing is "Army of Two Devil's Cartel" is rated as bad as this game. It's NOWHERE that bad. I almost didn't buy it because of the reviews. I would hate regret it deeply. Please got some consistency with the ratings. I something am seriously questionning myself on these sites. It's like, you didn't pay us so we're gonna bring your game down.

    Anyway, try the game and judge it by yourself. I really love it and hope the franchise will continue.

    "-Running in front a machine gun is insane

    -Isn't that what we just did ?

    -Yes, but we're Awesome!"

    Lost it souls?! No way!

    Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  9. Mar 28, 2013
    3
    Quick gameplay as usual and a step back from the previous games.
    This game is rubbish and quick to finish at least I liked the characters in the old on.
    I'm tired of giving a company a hundred bucks for 15 hours of fun, EA the bunch of vampires should get burned at the stake for this.
    The interface is horrible compared to the old game, but the destruction looks cool but that's about it.
  10. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    Another great addition to the franchise... in action sense. Not very heavy on story, but just killing and enjoying the arcadic feel. The gun play is awesome, and the overkill mode makes it feel empowering. Long campaign, with short levels to test your capability of teamwork.
  11. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    Good fun but very similar to the previous Army of two. The graphic doesn't look like it's from the Frostbite 2. The graphic is not bad but far from what would be expected especially since it's from the frostbite 2 engine. Gameplay is fun but gets repetitive too quickly. It's best to play the campaign in coop mode and shoot things up with your friends. The story is too predictable and gets really boring. Army of two could really do with a reich story and the experience would be very different. The customisation n the game though is great. There many many choices you can customise on your weapons and the customisation is a good experience. Overall the performance of this game is disappointing and not what i have expected. I expected a lot more of AoT devil's cartel but it is a let down. The recommendation is to buy the game when it gets cheap or on sale. Rental is also a good option. This games is NOT worth it's retail price and I highly recommend NOT to buy it until it get cheaper. If you want a solid and fun third person shooter experience there are a lot of choices both older games and new games. Expand
  12. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    Good:
    + Great story
    + Good co-op
    + Cover system
    + Simple weapon customizations

    Bad:
    + Camera angle is really bad
    + Some graphical glitches

    Very good game! Great story, nice game. Nice co-op and cover system. Yeah there is some bad things like camera angle, but game is still good. So far, the best game this spring!
  13. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    The best AoT yet! This is a true co-op game. Don't bother playing if you don't have a co-op buddy. The game wont be the same. The use of Frostbite 2 takes the series to another level. It's the best looking AoT by far. Weapons customization is great and so is the mask editor. The voice over work is marvellous too. The only weak aspect is the story, but who cares when you are shooting up! Recommended. Expand
  14. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    destructoid is once again smoking crack, giving this game a 4 out of 10, it is an easy 8.5, everything is destructible, great graphics, story avg but gameplay really fun, haven't found bugs or glitches and i been playing the game alot, and it is more fun than lotta new games,
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    so much swag in this game, that the swag outweighs everything else, you just wanna play until your swag has run out, which is never cos this game has so much
  16. Mar 26, 2013
    10
    Army of Two the devil's cartel is the amazing game of the coop.
    The customize is just amazing, the graphics are georgous, it's a one of the best game of coop.
    I love this serie
  17. Mar 28, 2013
    8
    Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is an amazing new entry in the AoT series, it still focuses on co-op, customization and over the top action. There are more than a few flaws but overall it is a decent length thrill ride that has strong replay value. Graphics look decent and gun play is feels fluid (as long as you don't mind aim assist). The story will run you about 15 hours on the hardest difficulty, time will very on co-op or solo and skill level. Bad guys feel rather generic and there is a lack of unique enemies but overall the cartel proves to get the job done. Get this game for a good time solo or with a friend. Expand
  18. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME i do not understand why the critics are being so picky with this game its better than the last TWO [ha ha] and the gun/mask creator is very neat and polished this game deserves more praise
  19. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    I had fun with it. Truth is, there aren't enough solid third person shooter's out there. This one has good controls, the guns have a good kick to them. The story is not spectacular but is enough to keep you interested in how things turn out.

    We as gamers need to wake up and support good games like this one, the critics won't do it as they fancy themselves as "art critics" rather than
    game critics. This game is not a work of art, and does not set out to be, but if you want a damn good time, where you can feel like a bad ass for 8-10 hours pick this up and other games like it. Expand
  20. Apr 6, 2013
    1
    There isnt much to say about this plunge into a wall of bullets I loved the first two games but sadly everything that made them great has been taken out. Yep it is that simple, The dual sniping gone, back to back shoot outs gone, pistol customization (apart from its "skin") gone, RPG/special weapons gone a well written story gone .

    Yes the explosions are pretty but come on, even
    in game there is a blurp about "TWO" contracts, I have finished the game, used my once only online code and cant find them so a) I managed to break my game b) my copy is the only one to ship with missing content or more likely c) its an over kill edition extra...yes they advertise and O.K edition feature in the standard......so you buy a standard game and are told your missing out because you didnt get the super amazing extra awesome edition

    My advice is to stay away, well away at least until a new copy is £5
    Expand
  21. Apr 7, 2013
    8
    I've only played a little bit of the previous title and so I didn't really know what to expect other than a a co-op third person shooter. I thoroughly enjoyed this game even though the story was a little weak and some cover issues, but other than that I liked it.
  22. Apr 12, 2013
    10
    Absolutely amazing. Nothing wrong except occasional sound glitches. Really enjoy the destructible environment, the allowed dismemberment of people. All around a amazing game.
  23. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    On the surface, Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel may appear to be an inferior facsimile of the previous two games. Alpha and bravo have generic names, and their personalities are blunt. But the potential for co-op fun is immediately recognised. Most of its merit is afforded to by the Frostbite engine, rendering great destructive environments and dynamic lighting. You may be shooting for eight or so hours, with a few weird AI bugs, but The Devil's Cartel is a great co-op shooter for a perfect weekend of blasting with a pal. Expand
  24. Apr 26, 2013
    4
    The end of this Franchise?? Possibly. It was a shame playing this game as it did feel like the end has finally come. All that I enjoyed from the previous games seems to have been sucked out of the new one. Salem and Rios have only supporting roles and the new character, who don't really have names, have none of the charisma of the original trio. There is no more fist bumping and comic beating up of your team mate and it just feels flat. Gone are the Morality moments from the second game which is a shame as there were moments where it would have worked.
    It feels like generic shooter 1-0-1 now. The AI is just awful with most of the enemies just charging at you like thoughtless drones.
    There would be a good game here if the developer had just remembered what brought people into the franchise. I'm afraid that all my previous love for the series has now gone and I can't see the Army of Two group reforming for another outting. but on this games example that may not be a bad thing.
    RIP Army of Two.
    Expand
  25. Aug 21, 2013
    5
    Most games are pretty fun when played with a friend and The Devil's Cartel is no exception. Unfortunately however this latest entry in Electronic Arts's Army of Two series makes no attempt to do anything original, or even particularly interesting, with the co-op concept. The story is your usual macho video game nonsense and at some point you'll find yourself playing through virtually every shoot-em-up cliche you can think off, from on rails helicopter sections to breaching doors in slow motion.

    If you can find this for a reduced price, as well as a friend with a copy, the gameplay is certainly fast paced and satisfying enough to make it a worthwhile (if instantly forgettable) experience.
    Expand
  26. Apr 15, 2013
    7
    This game is not as bad as everybody thinks. I personally don't like the idea of toned down salem and rios (as if they don't have any idea to make the original game more interesting). Yes there is no chemistry between Alpha and Bravo (not even their real name) but the action is quiet good but never great.
  27. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    I don't understand why this game is getting such mediocre scores from critics, it's not going to be an award winning game but then again it's not trying to be. If you buy this game you should expect over the top action and cheesy characters, but it also has enjoyable gameplay, the guns feel like they sound and feel like they do real damage thanks to the Frostbite 2 engine. There are tonnes more customisation options over the past 2 games (masks, guns, attachments, weapon skins, character skins etc.) and it definitely feels longer length wise, if you want a good co-op game then this is definitely worth your consideration. The only negative points I have are there is no drop-in co-op so you have to restart a chapter if someone requests to join, and it can get a little glitchy online sometimes. Other than that I'm really enjoying it and have already started my second play through. Expand
  28. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Honestly i'm giving this a 9 simply to counter all the terrible reviews about this game. It's an 8 at best, but it's fun, mindless and again fun. Pay it with a friend and especially if you enjoy the other games.
  29. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    Liked this Army of Two game better than the previous two games. Sure Alpha and Bravo are not as likable as Salem and Rios but the Story was better and the controls didn't feel as stiff.
  30. Apr 29, 2013
    5
    This is the worst army of two series...the graphic ufff..cant discribe
    the story not even good one.
    no aggro system like before.Danger close is ruining this frenchise.
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 55
  2. Negative: 11 out of 55
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    35
    In the end, Army of Two: The Devil's Cartel is a boring, meatheaded slog through about ten or so hours of predictable situations and sub par dialogue, and if someone told me that the development team had simply been handed a bit of cardboard with the words "sink this series" emblazoned across it as a design document, I'd believe it without hesitation.
  2. May 20, 2013
    50
    As an entry into a series that has failed to realise its potential, this is safe and dare we say it, also a bit boring. [Issue#135, p.106]
  3. May 13, 2013
    70
    A prime example of a gamified action film from the eighties. The story is only an excuse for bloodshed and the game is far from unconventional. Yes, I've seen this before at least dozens of times, but then again, there's always room for some good old-fashioned pointless violence. [May 2013]