User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 237
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 13, 2017
    1
    Un jeu pensé pour la coopération multi-joueurs (et peut-être très intéressant, qui sait ?) mais en solo avec l'IA aux fraises et une interface défectueuse, c'est une purge. On se retrouve avec un Gears of War bas de gamme et bas de plafond, une réalisation moyenne, une VF certes appréciable et un jeu où la banalité des situations se dispute avec la médiocrité générale. Un gros navet.
  2. Aug 1, 2016
    9
    I have really enjoyed this game . What I love about the Army of two series is that the AI parnter is very useful . He makes lots of kills and his ability of having unlimted ammo makes him a valueable asset when it comes to attracting aggro . This was a very nice game . I still play all entries when I let my xbox one rest
  3. Apr 3, 2015
    4
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic. Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options. The two protagonists are idiotic
    Not the worst game I've played, but pretty bad.

    It's all about the gameplay for me in 3rd person shooters, and this game fails in that department. Cover system is sticky and hard to control, aiming is terrible, and drawing the enemy fire is a pointless mechanic.

    Graphically the game is good, no problems there, and I like the customization options.

    The two protagonists are idiotic meat heads, that hardly draw you in to the bland plot taking place.

    There is one saving grace. Co-op. If you are looking for a decent co-op game to play with your friend and have a laugh, this is as good as any. Annoying, but also funny in places. I would never play this game by myself.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    This was one of my earliest Xbox 360 games that I enjoyed in co-op and I thought was really fun to beat. Anyway I gave this game an 8,8 out of 10 it was good.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    Its story might not present anything that revolutionary, but the incredibly entertaining "Army Of Two" still brings an immensely fun co-op experience and a pretty bold weapons system to the proverbial table.
  6. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    The game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. yourThe game's a really fun GoW knockoff. The graphics are nice and the gameplay awesome! But your A.I. teammate is just plain stupid. Certain points he just runs at the enemy guns blazing only to get gunned down by the bad guy holding a minigun and I have to save him over and over again, same thing with him. Good news: There's online co-op, so you don't need to worry about the idiot A.I. your partner is being controlled by. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    6
    Army of Two isn't the best 3rd person shooter I've played, but it is worth 5 dollars or so. The bland story aside, the game play, gun customization and characters are all really good. I might've given it a better score if the online servers (for the Xbox 360 at least) were still up, really hurting it's replay value, but if you can get a friend to come over and play this with you, it makesArmy of Two isn't the best 3rd person shooter I've played, but it is worth 5 dollars or so. The bland story aside, the game play, gun customization and characters are all really good. I might've given it a better score if the online servers (for the Xbox 360 at least) were still up, really hurting it's replay value, but if you can get a friend to come over and play this with you, it makes for a fun experience. Overall, it's not the worse I've seen, but it's still not great. Expand
  8. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One thing that stands out with Army of Two are the visuals, which look incredible. Both Salem and Rios come across with huge character models and sharp details, from the top of their protective face masks to the tattoos and scarred battle armor. Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    I thought the game was amazing, but the weapon customization and overpowered AI were a pain in the ass. But the in-game cutscenes looked impressive and the round the world campaign of betrayal and fame/fortune made it worth while.
  10. Nov 5, 2012
    6
    EA's "Army of Two" is like a poor man's "Gears of War". While it looks gritty and great, the final product is anything but. It's more like a cheesy satire of Michael Bay movies with some good ideas that are poorly implemented. This game lacks the superb gameplay found in both "Gears of War" and Infinity Ward's "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare". At times, the campaign feels like anEA's "Army of Two" is like a poor man's "Gears of War". While it looks gritty and great, the final product is anything but. It's more like a cheesy satire of Michael Bay movies with some good ideas that are poorly implemented. This game lacks the superb gameplay found in both "Gears of War" and Infinity Ward's "Call of Duty: Modern Warfare". At times, the campaign feels like an arcade-version of "Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six: Vegas". Two players can play it simultaneously as heroes Salem & Rios, but the wonky controls and poorly designed levels make "Army of Two" a sub-par affair. The "agro" system is just a cheap way of exploiting the terrible enemy A.I. and certain co-op moves can only be performed in certain parts of the game (making them sort of pointless). This short-lengthed actioner has some fun little moments, but it doesn't hold up against the best of the genre. Not even close. Expand
  11. Jan 19, 2012
    5
    The gameplay is fun and weapon customization is good but there is no replay value to the game. It features a very short campaign and lame multiplayer. It lacks content as well. Yet its still a decent and somewhat challenging shooter.
  12. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    This is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game andThis is a game for moronic idiots. The mercs are more suited to watching Spongebob than saving the free world. The friendly AI is some moronic that sometimes would run around in circles or fail to revive me. The gameplay is ripped off from gears of war but without the awe or enemy variety. Also how can a bunch of ill trained rebels hijack a carrier and kill Navy SEALs? **** this game and the developers, who should resign or kill themselves. Expand
  13. Dec 11, 2011
    6
    I'm a fan of shooters, but this game is not that great. The graphics aren't appealing, and the mechanics are fairly shoddy. The game lacks any kind of charm or personality. Really cheesy dialogue and a lackluster plot. I didn't have much fun with this game at all. If you want a good co-op shooter then get r6v2.
  14. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Short campaign, Pretty much no multiplayer interactment during campaign (which is the basis of the entire game, fail?), No replay value, and a poor multiplayer makes this game an epic failure.
  15. Apr 24, 2011
    2
    I bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisationI bought this game to play co-op with my brother; we got quite far through the campaign before deciding it was so awful we couldn't bare to play it any more. There are some decent sections and the idea is good, but the execution is poor. I would have thought an EA published title could have invested some more time into making it a bit more interesting. On the plus side, gun customisation is very good but it doesn't come anywhere near saving the game. I can't recommend you play this game. 1/5, poor. Expand
  16. Aug 25, 2010
    6
    A simplistic and generic shooter. The unique things that the game attempts to do aren't done very well, and its main gimmick is just that enemies choose to attack the bigger threat when attacked by multiple players. This is something that has been done before in much better games, like Gears of War for example. The Locust will attack whichever enemy they see first, but if the other playerA simplistic and generic shooter. The unique things that the game attempts to do aren't done very well, and its main gimmick is just that enemies choose to attack the bigger threat when attacked by multiple players. This is something that has been done before in much better games, like Gears of War for example. The Locust will attack whichever enemy they see first, but if the other player starts firing at them, they will return the shots. However, Gears of War has better things going for it than just that. In Army of Two, well, that's the entire game. The concept of "turning invisible" when one player has the attention of the enemies is just stupid also, because one player having a big gun would never make trained soldiers forget entirely about the other. And don't get me started on the story and characters (annoying).
    Rent if it seems like it would be your thing, but don't buy if you expect great things.
    Expand
  17. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather Army of Two was a pretty fun game. The cooperative mode is something I have yet to see surpassed by anything outside of the Gears of War series and the multiplayer mode is addicting. My favorite part of the gun is the various guns and the add-ons you can buy for them, giving the replay value a few kicks up when wanting the powerful sniper rifle or the P-90. Single player can be rather tedious when you're injured or when trying to get your team mate to listen to your commands, but if you're good enough, you can easily compensate for your team's AI faults. Expand
  18. WilliamM.
    Oct 19, 2008
    2
    Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry Literally beat it in a single afternoon. The games characters are unlikable, the plot sucked and the entire experience was very wash and repeat. There are no real boss battles. The back to back crappy action movie style segments just drove yet a nail into this ready to return no reply value coffin. The game sucks. Period. In addition there is a serious lack of variety in the weaponry department. Also the larger older man sounded, talked and acted like a cliché Expand
  19. RyanM.
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, I played this game only in co-op mode, so I can't speak for the partner AI. However, with a human teammate this game is pretty fun. The aiming is horrible and the hit detection is weak, but those are the only real complaints I have. The cover system is pretty nice, as is the revive system, and the weapon upgrades are pretty cool. I played through it both on normal and professional, and I don't usually play through games more than once. Also, there are two free campaign missions released as DLC bringing the mission total to 8. I found this game to be of pretty good length for a shooter, maybe even a little long, but I tend to like my shooters a little shorter than most people (I thought Bioshock was too long). All in all, a solid, very fun game with a teammate. Butting heads and giving out kidney punches to your teammate never gets old and neither does giving high fives and air guitaring with them. Oh, and it's the best teabagging/humping game out there. A solid 8/10 strictly because of the co-op. Without that I'd probably rate it a 6/10 or so. Expand
  20. BrentB.
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    Its a cool game. I hope that 3rd person shooters are the way of the future. Like gears of war that was a good game to.
  21. ChrisW.
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Best Damn Video game I played. it just passed up halo...can`t wait for the sequel. There going to be a sequel right!.
  22. MW
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    Great Game, great idea and great graphics! This is a great title and the single player does stand well on it's own (despite more focus on this aspect in the future). Easily recommended and a great new property to be excited about!
  23. DanF.
    Apr 10, 2008
    9
    This is an excellent co-op game with an excellent storyline and graphics as well as tight customization. overall this is a shining example of good original fun.
  24. ReidB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    6
    Army of Two is great if you have a friend and play split-screen. Once you venture online, playing with anyone but a friend will be a chore. If the player pauses, hits the Guide button, the screen will tell you "Waiting for other player" and just sit there. Playing alone still gives you and Army of One Point Five feel. You tell your AI buddy what to do and he does it just as you would Army of Two is great if you have a friend and play split-screen. Once you venture online, playing with anyone but a friend will be a chore. If the player pauses, hits the Guide button, the screen will tell you "Waiting for other player" and just sit there. Playing alone still gives you and Army of One Point Five feel. You tell your AI buddy what to do and he does it just as you would expect the AI in a modern game to act. He will bug out and get stuck, and I can if you get injured, he will drive you insane by pulling you into some of the worst locations or dragging you in a circle trying to make up his mind. The story was entertaining. The addition of characters you can somewhat connect with and witty humor help a lot. Overall an entertaining game. Definitely a rent, not a buy though. Expand
  25. ToddP.
    Apr 8, 2008
    6
    Ok graphics, controls felt sloppy. didn't know where or who was shooting me half of the time. Skip buying this one, only rent.
  26. DaveJ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved Loved it. Wasn't expecting to - infact I was all ready to hate it after seeing some of the rather negative reviews. But when my friend brought it round and we popped it in.. well I went out and bought my own copy the very next day! Good, solid action, great set pieces and level design, and buying/upgrading weapons is fab. The single player is definitely a tad too short, but I loved every second of it, and while it is a little derivative of GoW in some respects, the way it handles cover, and the concept of aggro are unique. I never thought I'd say this, being one of EA's biggest cynics, but man, I loved it. Expand
  27. AndyK.
    Mar 27, 2008
    6
    Lame singleplayer, multiplayer is funny but not for long...AoT is just a simple copy of GoW.
  28. JohnM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    4
    While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification While its focus on coop is a great idea it over complicates itself, its far too straight forward and just isnt fun, the online community is already dead, its far hard if your playing with someone at a different skill level to your own, and really is boring with a stupid plot that doesnt suck you in at all, alot of good ideas but poorly executed, although the ammount of weopon modification is cool, not worth playing really, it sucks, its more for people who enjoy lame shooters than good ones, if you like good shooting games like halo 1 or 3 or halife or deus ex, this isnt for you, if you like mindless violence and our not a real gamer, sure go blow your money, youll like it. Expand
  29. Will
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST I loved it...maybe cause it feels kinda like a "gears of war clone" (yes, it definitely does). This is by NO MEANS a bad thing, though: co-op is campaign good (better with friend than with AI) and weapon upgrades make things interesting. The graphics are good, sound is excellent (although I'd like the sniper rifles to be a bit more "resounding") and this game has got some of THE BEST video sequences I've see EVER (see video scene at start of final MAIMI campaign !!) Highly recommended. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 3 out of 76
  1. AceGamez
    70
    It has plenty of redeeming and rewarding features to offset its linear limitations, but it was designed to be played with a friend, so approach with caution if you don't have Xbox Live or a friend to partner up with.
  2. Calling Army of Two a poor mans Gears of War may be unfair, but the comparison is a reality as the game falls short on so many levels.
  3. Army of Two’s solo mission doesn’t match the firepower of its two-person co-op play, either in the offline game or online. But it does have plenty enough gun-filled action to satiate any violence-fans fill, and if the online gameplay is functionally free of lag or connectivity issues, Army of Two is one of the better recently released titles in regards to Xbox Live gaming.