Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Jan 5, 2011
    100
    It's hard for me to find a bad thing to say about Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, it's just an amazing game. I remember thinking last year before we knew there was even going to be an AC: Brotherhood that it was going to be hard for Ubisoft to top AC2, but I am happy to say Brotherhood does in every single way. This is flat out a great game.
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    100
    Brotherhood is the franchise's best entry to date and one of the best games of 2010.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    100
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood brings to the table so much more than was ever expected. Not only is it perhaps the best in the franchise, but is also an easy Game of the Year candidate.
  4. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    Brotherhood lacks that generational leap we saw from Assassin's Creed to Assassin's Creed II, but it more than makes up for that with a full-bodied single-player experience teeming with interesting gameplay additions and a risky multiplayer component.
  5. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    What makes the multiplayer so much fun is the constant balance between being the hunter and the prey. Stalking enemies around the map is a lot of fun (even when I end up on the business end of a blade before I can make my kill), and patience has never been so important.
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    100
    With a campaign worthy of sequel status and a multiplayer mode full of fresh, entertaining ideas, there isn't enough praise I can lay on AC: Brotherhood.
  7. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    This is a fantastic game, but only if you desperately crave the second half of the Assassin's Creed 2 experience. If you hated the original game, there's nothing here to sway you and the story certainly doesn't welcome newcomers. The multiplayer adds a nice diversion.
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    It amazes me that a game of this caliber – that is to say, a game that is ridiculously good in spite of its missteps – comes just one year after its predecessor. It improves a lot, adds even more, and changes nothing I already adored. It's a shorter game than Assassin's Creed 2, if that matters, but aside from the storyline it's better in almost every way.
  9. Nov 16, 2010
    100
    A masterful combination of the many things that have striven to define the series in the past, each presented at its best and accentuated by considered design.
  10. Jan 1, 2011
    97
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood isn't as much a sequel as a completion to the second game, and while this is certainly the best game of the three so far, you probably don't want to jump into the story without having played at least the second game first.
  11. Nov 18, 2010
    96
    Every bit as essential as it's forebear, an outstanding achievement and a magnificent game in its own right.
  12. Jan 2, 2011
    95
    But what sets Brotherhood apart from the rest of the series is the inclusion of Multiplayer.
  13. Dec 20, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood builds on the foundations laid by the previous two games, expanding the gameplay with some very welcome additions, ultimately Brotherhood is by far the best Assassin's Creed game we've seen so far and one of the standout games of the year.
  14. Dec 16, 2010
    95
    The game may have the odd technical flaw, but it still stands out as the best in the franchise so far. Oodles of fun with an epic campaign and slick multiplayer, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a serious contender for Game of the Year.
  15. Dec 10, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a deep, rich, and sublime experience in both single player and multiplayer.
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    95
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is one of this year's finest releases, and improves on everything we loved about the previous title, while adding plenty of its own excellent features.
  17. Nov 16, 2010
    95
    Against all odds, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood exists in 2010, and it not only lives up to the hype, but it manages to completely outclass its predecessor. Brotherhood is a game that Assassin's Creed fans simply cannot afford to miss, and one of best games this year.
  18. Nov 16, 2010
    95
    Don't even consider skipping the game for a second. While the story doesn't progress as much as we had hoped, it still adds some new questions and twists into Desmond's dilemma. The ever so fresh guild mechanic and addictive as hell multiplayer already feels like essential components in the series.
  19. Dec 29, 2010
    94
    Extraordinary in sheer scope, breadth and execution. [Jan 2011, p.72]
  20. Dec 2, 2010
    94
    This is a truly worthwhile upgrade on the Assassin's Creed experience and sets the bar dangerously high for the next iteration.
  21. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Definitely the apex of the Assassin's Creed series thus far. The story does a great job of furthering both the historical plot as well as the overarching sci-fi elements of the story (Desmond has a much larger role here), and the game's new structure is refreshing for those who may have found the back-and-forth structure of last year's title to be a bit tedious.
  22. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Achingly beautiful to behold and incredible to play, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood will be the best Roman holiday you'll ever have.
  23. Nov 16, 2010
    94
    Undoubtedly the best game in the series: varied, with longevity and extremely charming, it improves every feature of the previous game while adding several well thought-out novelties.
  24. Nov 16, 2010
    93
    Its new gameplay elements and other additions like the multiplayer modes makes this one the most complete Assassin's Creed thus far. Brotherhood is an amazing follow-up to the sequel and an amazing way to conclude Ezio Auditore's adventures.
  25. Nov 13, 2010
    93
    The moment you finish the game, you'll be chomping at the bit for the inevitable Assassin's Creed III. [Dec 2010, p.112]
  26. 92
    Story limitations and a few failed mission experiments cement our statement that it's not Assassin's Creed 3 - but with a lick of paint it would've come dangerously close.
  27. Dec 13, 2010
    91
    With new gameplay mechanics, improved combat, exciting new online multiplayer options and a brand new storyline, Brotherhood is packed with an overwhelming amount of content!
  28. Nov 21, 2010
    91
    But even without this clever take on online play, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood would be a strong outing. With the addition firing on all cylinders, it's a real killer.
  29. Nov 19, 2010
    91
    Ubisoft has taken the time to develop a massive amount of innovations which help bring the already epic story to life like never before; and while ensuring an epic single player experience, Ubisoft put one right between the eyes with their multiplayer gametype. With all of these new innovations, a very in-depth story, and a great multiplayer gametype, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is one that you must have in the collection.
  30. Nov 17, 2010
    91
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood has everything you loved and hated about AC2, but it has shined up the positives to a sheen I didn't expect. Toss in the fantastic multiplayer with its persistent experience and leveling system and you have a solid and worthy successor to an already great series.
  31. Nov 16, 2010
    91
    If you didn't like Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood will hardly convince you, but if you are one of the series followers, this game is a great sequel to the previous one. It polishes its mechanics and includes many things to do in the city, and it adds a very enjoyable multiplayer mode which brings some freshness to PS Network and Xbox Live.
  32. Nov 16, 2010
    91
    The multiplayer aspects aren't that engaging for me -- there's just not enough to do to balance out the frustration of not being able to defend myself in a fight. However, I love how deep the team has managed to make the single-player portion of the game (again).
  33. Jan 19, 2011
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a pleasant surprise in every respect, even though some of the concerns you might have had regarding the single map and ageing formula still stand with the final product.
  34. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    You are looking at about 20 to 30 hours of gameplay in the single player story and more replay value if you enjoy the multiplayer mode. Highly Recommended!
  35. Dec 23, 2010
    90
    Not only the best Assassin's Creed yet, but one of the meatiest, most engaging games of this generation. [Issue#66, p.78]
  36. 90
    Back again in the assassin's role this time we got some help from "business associates". Story, atmosphere of Rome, historical aspects and combat system – everything fits the puzzle that makes new Assassin an excellent game. [Dec 2010]
  37. Dec 2, 2010
    90
    If you're new to Ubisoft's stealthy series, I recommend starting with AC2; however, if you've already bloodied Ezio's blades, you'll want to begin building your army of assassins in Brotherhood.
  38. 90
    Brotherhood manages to stand out as one of the better games in a year that has been fairly lacklustre for sequels. A game once feared to be a mere expansion not only manages to do everything Assassin's Creed II did; it brings a few tricks of its own to the fray.
  39. Nov 30, 2010
    90
    A very good sequel to Assassin's Creed 2, with an impressive atmosphere, a lot of diversion and a great multiplayer-mode. There are some issues that could have been done better, but in the end they don't matter anyway.
  40. Nov 25, 2010
    90
    In Assassin's Creed Brotherhood the only place where Ezio is sneaking around is Rome. But thats not bad news because the city of Rome is gigantic. There are some balancing problems and the multiplayer is not that entertaining. Anyway, Brotherhood is a wonderful game.
  41. Nov 22, 2010
    90
    Nobody could have predicted this. Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is fan service of the highest order, all the while breaking new ground with a terrific multiplayer experience.
  42. Nov 21, 2010
    90
    The game features a whole bunch of additions, of which the main innovation is the new multiplayer mode. This new game in the franchise is once again a top shelf production, but it's not for people who like quick action, because the use of stealth is always needed.
  43. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    With plenty of top-quality content to indulge in, this is far from the lazy sequel many were expecting.
  44. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    While the core mechanics of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood are largely familiar, the game still brings fresh ideas to the table with some inspired secondary missions and meta-games. It's in the multiplayer that Brotherhood really beats its wings though, presenting what's arguably the best competitive stealth experience anywhere in gaming.
  45. Nov 19, 2010
    90
    Crammed full of features, diverse gameplay, energetic combat and the basic stealth/action the series is renowned for and you have a killer of a game for fans and newcomers alike.
  46. 90
    Hands down the best game in the series so far. Everything is bigger, better and brighter, the combat system is vastly improved and the new weapons and tricks are very welcome. There's plenty of stuff to do, loads of side missions, and the new addition of recruiting and training other assassins is a brilliant one. The controls feel a bit wonky on occasion, but that's all we can complain about. Heartily recommended for fans and newcomers alike.
  47. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Brotherhood is another great chapter of the most thrilling series of this generation. The plot is mature and interesting, and even if some issues with the battle system are still there to bother, the beauty of the landscape and the amount of quests are impressive.
  48. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is a great way to finish the storyline of Ezio Auditore. The game is a better version of Assassin's Creed 2, and offers a solid adventure with loads of missions and a great variety. The multiplayer needs some improvements and could become really addictive in Assassin's Creed 3, but as for now it looks just like a minor extra.
  49. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    While its story falls short of the bar set by Assassin's Creed II, Brotherhood packs in more than enough new content and improvements to make up for it. It's not the best of the series, but it's still an essential piece of the ever-expanding AC puzzle.
  50. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    Hitting the mark in just about every area, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a stunningly considered improvement on its predecessor. Essential for fans of the series, it's also an adventure of tremendous substance and beauty in its own right.
  51. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    It's thrilling, it's satisfying, it's occasionally terrifying, and it's a completely unique take on multiplayer.
  52. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    It's an exercise in perfecting what you've already got working; you're not going to find much in the way of completely new material, but this is a superior game to its predecessor and a solid bridge to the next entry in the series.
  53. Nov 16, 2010
    90
    The multiplayer component definitely has its moments, but serious players will be turned off by how random it can be. For the series to remain elite it will need to evolve, but for now, its unique premise and core gameplay are more than enough to make this brotherhood one worth joining.
  54. A better game than Assassin's Creed II, albeit one with extra niggles to contend with. [Jan 2011, p.]
  55. Jan 3, 2011
    88
    Brotherhood is an extremely fun game, with some new elements added that keep the series fresh enough that it does not seem like just an extension of Assassin's Creed 2.
  56. Dec 20, 2010
    88
    While Brotherhood strays farther away from foundation of the original Assassin's Creed, it still has the ability to hold your interest and lock you into an engaging story.
  57. Dec 10, 2010
    88
    Assassins Creed: Brotherhood is another power house in the game series.
  58. Nov 18, 2010
    88
    Overall, Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood for the Xbox 360 is great bang for the buck.
  59. Nov 16, 2010
    88
    The real game changer is the Multiplayer experience which brings a tense battle of paranoia to the forefront and rewards stealth over open-attacks. There are subtle techniques to be learned and to succeed you need to play smart.
  60. Nov 16, 2010
    88
    Ezio's new adventure is an intermediate chapter the fans of the series will certainly like. Unfortunately, it offers a shorter single player campaign, and a fun yet not so deep multiplayer mode.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 620 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 134
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    6
    I keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, thisI keep giving the AC series a shot, as there is much to appreciate, but based on my experience with these games and my own preferences, this may be the last AC game I bother with. I seem to be in the minority, but I find these games rather dull and extremely repetitive, regardless of the pretty environments. This game in particular (as hinted at by the title) does not feel like a standalone game, it feels like more of the same of the last installment, sort of a glorified expansion pack. For people who love the series I guess this is more than enough, for me it is more of the same and a very narrow experience. I am also quite surprised that more people don't dislike the Animus stuff as much as I do, which has always felt awkward and tacked on since the first game (it doesn't help that our hero looks like a douche) - half baked sci fi elements used to make a very simple game appear complicated. With the addition of "Da Vinci Code" type conspiracy and "secrets" which were greatly expanded in AC2, I find the game comes off as just plain silly, and not in any way profound which it seems to insist that it is. I gave this a shot, but I think I am done with AC for good at this point. Full Review »
  2. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    This is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for theThis is easily one of the standout titles of the year. Hope the critics understand its worth and its uniqueness. This is because it is for the first time that the gamers will get their hands on the multiplayer component of a pure action adventure game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    4
    I've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recentlyI've attempted to get into the Assassin's Creed series a few times now and have trouble doing so since the first instalment. After recently picking up AC2, beating it within 2 days and enjoying it somewhat I decided to get Brotherhood. I wasn't expecting a whole new game as even from the box art you can see it's just going to be a Assassin's Creed 2.5 reskin. You play, again, as Ezio, or more a cardboard cut out of him. He lacks the charm and immersive dialogue of the Ezio you play as in AC2. In fact, all the characters recycled from AC2 are bland and uninteresting. The funny and likeable Leonardo is now a wooden shopkeeper. As for the gameplay, frustrating is the word I would definitely describe this with. The free-running (something you do for the majority of the game) is as bad as previous Assassin's Creed titles and you'll often find yourself leaping off buildings to your death or climbing when you just don't want to. You CAN pull off some really good runs, leaping from building to building and swinging from poles and looks great if it works. Unfortunately, that would only be about half of the time. Combat has improved from AC2, with new weapons and combos and insane kill animations that make you feel like a badass. In reality, all you're doing is a very simple series of button presses. This isn't a bad thing, however, as you could take on several enemies at once. The graphics are, as the previous titles, great. I didn't notice any texture pop-in or buffering as you would in most other current gen console games. The textures are nice and sharp and Rome looks pretty in both night and day. Onto the actual tasks of the game, the missions. Frankly, I have never been more frustrated at some of the missions in this game than I have in all my years of playing video games. The new "full sync" feature will give you a 100% complete in a mission by performing a certain task, for example killing the target in a certain way, or beating the mission in a time limit. This sounds like a good, challenging feature, however if you try to fully sync every mission on your first play through, you're going to be tearing your hair out in frustration. The terrible AI and awful controls will be more of an annoyance than the badly thought out missions. In all, it has nice graphics and a nice setting, the sci-fi and historical cross over is cheesy but welcomed. The controls and gameplay are awful, the voice acting is wooden, the music is pretty nice, and then theres the fact it's a reskin and has early DLC. 4/10 Full Review »