User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1097 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. reepermanx
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Unbeleivable scope and ambition by the dev team. just about pulled off. Only critisism is that is goes on a bit too long and there is too much to do. This may be a good thing though for many palyers.
  2. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    I love this game. It improves in every aspect over the first game with much better character development and storyline. AC2 offers a variety of new tools, weapons and techniques to dispatch targets in a variety of ways. The development team really hit the nail on the head this time around.
  3. ByronW
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is a must buy! but the only problem for me is the difficulty. It is waay too easy, to carry 15 health potions around is ridiculous if you die in combat in AC2.....shame on you
  4. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Wow, what a great game. I have almost completed everything and am looking forward to Brotherhood. Hope that is good to, so whatever you do, do not listen to people saying this game sucks, because this game is by far one of the best out there for graphics, action and overall fun.
  5. Sep 22, 2010
    9
    This game is truly excellent. The story, the visuals, the gameplay, and it is just so much fun. I love all of the missions. None of them are repetitive like the first game suffered from. I just don't have much to say about his game besides the fact that the graphics look a little worse than the 1st game for some reason but this really is not very noticeable. Overall, the game is great, notThis game is truly excellent. The story, the visuals, the gameplay, and it is just so much fun. I love all of the missions. None of them are repetitive like the first game suffered from. I just don't have much to say about his game besides the fact that the graphics look a little worse than the 1st game for some reason but this really is not very noticeable. Overall, the game is great, not much bad to say about it. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    9
    Another game which took me by surprise, it has a long singleplayer which is strong and engaging to the end, there are enough variations in the gameplay to keep you entertained. The actual maps are brilliant and big enough to keep you exploring around for many hours. The slightly tedious and not very fluent parts are the combats, where they are not as smooth and great as depicted. Where youAnother game which took me by surprise, it has a long singleplayer which is strong and engaging to the end, there are enough variations in the gameplay to keep you entertained. The actual maps are brilliant and big enough to keep you exploring around for many hours. The slightly tedious and not very fluent parts are the combats, where they are not as smooth and great as depicted. Where you see Ezio mowing through guards with ease is more like Ezio getting surrounded by many guards, all of which parry constantly unless a single enemy randomly takes a stab at you, where all your character can do is parry back and randomly counter hoping you take the guy down in retaliation. With that said though, its still thoroughly enjoyable and Brotherhood is going to feature a more fluent combat system and even a multiplayer which they can use and improve in the future. Well Done Ubisoft Montreal! Expand
  7. LukasM
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. Just feels so real. My brother walked by as I was playing and he said that it looked so real that he thought it was a movie at first. (and he is a gamer as well) just a beautifully made game, really polished. great story and great scale. It makes you feel as if you are really in italy, and is much more exciting than the first AC. the replay value is WAY better than the other Amazing game. Just feels so real. My brother walked by as I was playing and he said that it looked so real that he thought it was a movie at first. (and he is a gamer as well) just a beautifully made game, really polished. great story and great scale. It makes you feel as if you are really in italy, and is much more exciting than the first AC. the replay value is WAY better than the other one, im going to play this one for months and months! Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    I am in love with the Assassin's Creed series and this game didn't disappoint it is 100X better then it's predecessor and should have won GOTY last year EVERYONE should play this game! Played this just over a year ago now (when it came out) and it's sequel "Brotherhood" is on it's way to me and personally i can't wait to join Ezio and Desmond on another journey and a head scratching finale!
  9. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have played on the current generation systems, hands down. The story kept me going, the side quests were awesome, and the main story itself blew me away. I can't say enough great things about this perfect game, so I'm going to stop here.
  10. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I felt like the game had okay graphics, not enough of a free fight like bman arkham city, glitches left and right, it also bugged me that when enemies died, they did a body jump, they like twitched or something, but still, its fun for how sneaky you can be, the details are spot on, and the more detailed costumes made it worth its price Expand
  11. May 13, 2013
    9
    Assassin's Creed 1 was such a s**t game and really had no fun with it. Assassin's Creed 2 on the other hand improve with everything about the game in my opinion, the best sequel comeback in gaming! Ezio was a awesome chracter and was way better then Altar. Story is beautiful and very gripping. Gameplay has improved. Side missions are great and no doing the exact same thing here(unlike theAssassin's Creed 1 was such a s**t game and really had no fun with it. Assassin's Creed 2 on the other hand improve with everything about the game in my opinion, the best sequel comeback in gaming! Ezio was a awesome chracter and was way better then Altar. Story is beautiful and very gripping. Gameplay has improved. Side missions are great and no doing the exact same thing here(unlike the first game)! Overall a brilliant game and Ubisoft will never make another assassins creed like this again! Assassin's Creed 2 9.5/10 Expand
  12. Jul 24, 2012
    10
    Any score below a 7 is absolutely asinine. The improvement is so substantial from the first that I wondered if this was even made by the same company. The environments are awesome, story is epic, main character really grows on you, and stealth kills have never been so much fun. This is tied for one of my favorite games this gen. So far, it blows the other AC games out of the water. CallingAny score below a 7 is absolutely asinine. The improvement is so substantial from the first that I wondered if this was even made by the same company. The environments are awesome, story is epic, main character really grows on you, and stealth kills have never been so much fun. This is tied for one of my favorite games this gen. So far, it blows the other AC games out of the water. Calling it a GTA clone is absolutely absurd and one critic review said that they were promised so much more. Are you on crystal meth? Expand
  13. May 27, 2014
    10
    Masterpiece. Looks like you're really in Renaissance Italy. Good graphics, outrageous (in a good way of the word) story and character and gameplay. This is one of my favorites 7th generation games and my Ubisoft's favorite.
  14. Apr 27, 2015
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 is not a masterpiece because of graphics or gameplay, but by it's ability to make you feel like a grand adventurer in an Italy about to be reformed.
  15. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    easily the best game of the series (excluding revelations as i have not played that yet) the first game only impressed me so much as it was the first game i owned on ps3 but looking back now the story wasnt so good! this time though they got it so right with what i believe to be one of the greatest endings in a game yet! top notch play this and dont bother with brotherhood!
  16. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Story: 10/10
    Presentation: 10/10
    Character Development: 10/10
    Gameplay: 9.5/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Music: 10/10
    Sound: 9/10
    Replay Value: 7/10
    Achievements: 9/10
    (+2 point = Ezio, Terrific Character)
    (+2 point = WTF Ending)
    Total = 87.5/90
    Rating = 9.72/10 Result: Breathtaking Experience. Game of the Year. The Best Sequel Ever. Must-Play before you die.
  17. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Among the 5 greatest games released this decade, easily. This masterpiece sits next to other venerable titles as Zelda: Twilight Princess and the COD: Modern Warfare games. The ambition of the game is off the scale, this title breathes a fresh blast of oxygen into the lungs of a genre that's taken a back seat in recent years - the single player experience. For my part, I received thisAmong the 5 greatest games released this decade, easily. This masterpiece sits next to other venerable titles as Zelda: Twilight Princess and the COD: Modern Warfare games. The ambition of the game is off the scale, this title breathes a fresh blast of oxygen into the lungs of a genre that's taken a back seat in recent years - the single player experience. For my part, I received this game as a Christmas gift in 2009 and it pretty much collected dust until Thanksgiving of 2010. When I started playing the game originally last year I was kind of put off by the game play outside of the sneaking and infiltration sequences (like building your new estate). But a good internet FAQ on the location of glyphs and all of the easter eggs very quickly turned this game into a 19 hour marathon when I came back to it a few days ago. I see now what Ubisoft was going for and I commend them for their ambition. I can see the future of this title headed closer into RPG territory (like the Fable series). This game is a must-get. I'm getting Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Expand
  18. stevek
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    this game is amazing and is a step up from the first one. there are many more things you are capable of and able to do without the annoying repetitiveness of the first one. just a heads up harry s. destructoid is included in the final score. do the math. 5547/61=90.09
  19. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = A Scale and ambition of this game stands out so much when playing through it. It's such a unique idea which allows for a broad opening of unique gameplay and narrative as well.
  20. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    This was the pinnacle of the AC franchise. This review was written well after 3 came out with 4 coming in the next few weeks and I don't believe the series gets better than this game. First of all they fixed all the issues from the first game, including the poor camera, better combat balance, and a better story. This was also the last game in the series not to sell out for more money andThis was the pinnacle of the AC franchise. This review was written well after 3 came out with 4 coming in the next few weeks and I don't believe the series gets better than this game. First of all they fixed all the issues from the first game, including the poor camera, better combat balance, and a better story. This was also the last game in the series not to sell out for more money and that was evident by the sheer amount of work that was put into the story, characters, and locations in game. The 3 games that followed this (Brotherhood, Revelations, and AC 3) were either just a a money grab or just severely lackluster and, in the case of the upcoming 4th game, at least this game had it's own identity. Something that you could say was truly original in the long run. 3 and 4 are combined by a plot line that isn't really interesting. I won't say 4 will be a bad game but this was the last truly great game in the series bar none. 4 will have a long way to go to catch up with this game and put the series back on the map. This is easily the only game in the series, currently, worth playing and the best part is that you don't have to play 1 to understand what is going on here. Pick this one up for super cheap and enjoy it as you won't get as much enjoyment from any of the sequels in this series. Expand
  21. ConnorW
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    I thought this game did something very few games can do in this day and age: make a compelling story. The plot and subplots in this game rival, and are often better, than some classic movies. Ubisoft created a completely new world, and gave it the most amazing series of plot twists one could ever imagine. Sure the repetitive nature of the game is the sole element that brings it down, but I thought this game did something very few games can do in this day and age: make a compelling story. The plot and subplots in this game rival, and are often better, than some classic movies. Ubisoft created a completely new world, and gave it the most amazing series of plot twists one could ever imagine. Sure the repetitive nature of the game is the sole element that brings it down, but when collecting the 20 scattered glyphs reveals a video that will change your entire view of the game, I believe it is worth it. I can't wait for AC3. Expand
  22. Apr 21, 2013
    8
    It's really cool conceptually, and the gameplay is awesome too. But it can feel a tad messy at times, and somewhat repetitive. The good does outweigh the bad, and the result is a maddeningly addictive game with a great story to tell.
  23. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    What makes AC2 so great is the fact how big it improved upon the first game: Better more interesting storyline, Improved and fast paced gameplay with lots of side quests rather than the main storyline, Likeable characters with excellent voice acting and great visuals, the ONLY downside i have with the game is the fact that the facial visuals are not the best other than that AC2 is my mostWhat makes AC2 so great is the fact how big it improved upon the first game: Better more interesting storyline, Improved and fast paced gameplay with lots of side quests rather than the main storyline, Likeable characters with excellent voice acting and great visuals, the ONLY downside i have with the game is the fact that the facial visuals are not the best other than that AC2 is my most Favorite game of this generation and possibly of all times!

    Visuals - 90/100
    Gameplay - 100/100
    Sound - 100/100
    Story - 100/100
    Expand
  24. May 9, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed 2 is epic! The story is epic, gameplay is epic and graphics are epic. This game is a worth playing. The best part is that the world in AC2 is so huge, that you will be impressed by it. And It's a perfect action adventure game. (9.9)
  25. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    It's such a shame that they just couldn't make you feel like it really was Venice. It's historical accuracy is lacking a bit too much. Games shouldn't be history lessons, but I think they could've done more than a silly Matrix-like Sci-Fi story, it's an old trick. But it's still a great game. It's graphics and exploration (via rooftops) stand out. 8/10
  26. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    What an addictive game. I played through this entirely over a three-day period. The combat is fun and challenging, the graphics are beautiful, and--let's face it--who DOESN'T want to be a badass assassin in Florence Italy during the Renaissance? The sci-fi part of the story is a bit confusing and detracted a bit from the rest of the game for me, but fortunately you spend little time inWhat an addictive game. I played through this entirely over a three-day period. The combat is fun and challenging, the graphics are beautiful, and--let's face it--who DOESN'T want to be a badass assassin in Florence Italy during the Renaissance? The sci-fi part of the story is a bit confusing and detracted a bit from the rest of the game for me, but fortunately you spend little time in this aspect of the story. There were some other parts of the story that were kind of goofy, but the conclusion of this game is incredibly well-done. If you are looking for fun action and buckets of blood, this is a good one. Expand
  27. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Ha a year ago I confess that I did not care for this series, but AOPs play this game completely changed my vision, as it presents a fascinating story of betrayal, violence and extremely competent honor that takes the player to ancient cities portrayed faithfully and tastefully which makes the game a great product of entertainment for many types of people, ranging from the most laypeopleHa a year ago I confess that I did not care for this series, but AOPs play this game completely changed my vision, as it presents a fascinating story of betrayal, violence and extremely competent honor that takes the player to ancient cities portrayed faithfully and tastefully which makes the game a great product of entertainment for many types of people, ranging from the most laypeople seeking distraction to intellectual cults Expand
  28. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    An excellent all round game, went forward in leaps and bounds from the first, still can be a little repetitive and probably a little too easy but all in all an excellent adventure.
  29. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This is the way you make an Assassins Creed game. This is the game that will get you high on Venice. The game that will change your life.The way you see things, they way you act around others. This game is legendary. The gameplay, story and graphics are TOP NOTCH.
  30. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    That game was amazing, was better than one, because it innovated thousands elements, the script is one of the best in the series. the environment is very very beautiful, many cool details
  31. NickS
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Absolutely breath-taking, stunning, and engrossing. A must-play.
  32. M.E.
    Jan 2, 2010
    9
    This is a great game. Ubisoft improved and expanded on practically everything. More enemy types, assassination techniques, weapons and so on. The graphics are good though not top of the line,and the environments beg to be explored. The only gripe i have is that the combat system has been expanded but not improved a lot. It works great against one or a few opponents but when you have a This is a great game. Ubisoft improved and expanded on practically everything. More enemy types, assassination techniques, weapons and so on. The graphics are good though not top of the line,and the environments beg to be explored. The only gripe i have is that the combat system has been expanded but not improved a lot. It works great against one or a few opponents but when you have a crowds, it falls apart. Collapse
  33. JBell
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    Assassin's Creed II is a breathtakingly beautiful game which raises the bar for sandbox-style gameplay. The gameplay and design tie in perfectly, and the Renaissance-era Italian setting is refreshing and startlingly detailed. An outstanding improvement over the flawed perfection that was the original Assassin's Creed, this second instalment in the franchise is easy to recommend Assassin's Creed II is a breathtakingly beautiful game which raises the bar for sandbox-style gameplay. The gameplay and design tie in perfectly, and the Renaissance-era Italian setting is refreshing and startlingly detailed. An outstanding improvement over the flawed perfection that was the original Assassin's Creed, this second instalment in the franchise is easy to recommend to anyone and will keep you entertained for weeks to come. Expand
  34. BrienH
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    The characters are compelling, the story engrossing, and the gameplay addictive. On top of that, the campaign is deep, replay value well-stocked, and graphics/sound are 1st rate. The only reason you may not love this game is that platforming can sometimes be frustratingly inaccurate, but just a little patience goes a LONG way with enjoying the game overall.
  35. ChristianO
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Simply put... The Greatest Video Game of All Time. The 'critics' either do not have a clue what they are talking about or they need to find some imagination and wonder from somewhere. I honestly feel sorry for them if they cannot see the endless beauty in this magnificent 'game.' Astonishing.
  36. JoshG.
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Blows the previous entry out of the water in every single way. Mainly the problem I had with the first game was the repetitiveness... AC2 if anything is not repetitive and it completely and totally blew me away.
  37. NickH
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    It is in every way a step up from the original, the missions are more engaging and varied, and the combat is richer and over the top (in a good way). In fact, if there weren't so many other great games that have come out this year I would give this game of the year hands down. Get this game.
  38. AlexW.
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    I played the first one and it was great for the first two hours... then it became repetitive and boring. I never finished it. However, Assassin's Creed II is absolutely amazing. I literrally played this game 12 hours straight and not once did it feel boring or repetitive. Venice is without a doubt one of the most beautiful cities in real life and this game manages to recreate it I played the first one and it was great for the first two hours... then it became repetitive and boring. I never finished it. However, Assassin's Creed II is absolutely amazing. I literrally played this game 12 hours straight and not once did it feel boring or repetitive. Venice is without a doubt one of the most beautiful cities in real life and this game manages to recreate it perfectly. One you climb on a tower in the center of Venice and look around you will be breathless. Expand
  39. TalhaA
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    This is what the first game should've been its so diverse in terms of mission structure and a great introduction to investigate inside the tombs just love the prince of persia feeling in to the gameplay. You actually care about the main character thanks and the first 2 hours is very interesting.
  40. MattMe
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    9 and fully deserved. The only things you can possibly improve in this game are the opponents AI and the fight sequences/gameplay. But, ehi, if you are just looking for that go play call of duty. With assassin's creed, if you are a good player, you won't fight that much, but sneak to the rear and finish your opponent in a second. Obv, as every game it gets awesome if you take 9 and fully deserved. The only things you can possibly improve in this game are the opponents AI and the fight sequences/gameplay. But, ehi, if you are just looking for that go play call of duty. With assassin's creed, if you are a good player, you won't fight that much, but sneak to the rear and finish your opponent in a second. Obv, as every game it gets awesome if you take some risks, i.e. by walking on the streets of the city instead of just going everywhere jumping on the top of the roofs. Expand
  41. EstebanDuart
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    At first I thought I thought the first Assassin's Creed was a good game but I after playing this and seeing how it has improved in the every way I would go as far as to say Assassin's Creed 2 has been my favorite game of the whole year.
  42. MatthewL.
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    Ubisoft has proven it can still craft an engaging experience and yes, once again, it is still worthy of our attention. While not a GOTY candidate, you would be remised to pass this game up as simply another free-runner in what is becoming a bit of an overpopulated genre. Let's get this out of the way first
  43. DanielS
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are This is a fantastic game, worthy of a place in any gamer's collection. I've played both versions of this game, and they are just about equal. The PS3 version does have some graphical issue such as bluriness and the controls aren't as well-suited for this type of game as the 360's are. The 360 version does have some slower loading times though. All in all, they are nearly equal but it shouldn't matter because it won't ruin the experience for anyone. Final words: play this game! Expand
  44. EdR
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    An amazing and riveting experience. I, for one, was blown away by the presentation. I thought the environments were stunning and I don't understand those who complain about poor graphics. This is a gorgeous game and having been to many of the locations in real life, I can say that the art team got it bang on. I got chills walking into Saint Marks Square in Venice and seeing the Duomo An amazing and riveting experience. I, for one, was blown away by the presentation. I thought the environments were stunning and I don't understand those who complain about poor graphics. This is a gorgeous game and having been to many of the locations in real life, I can say that the art team got it bang on. I got chills walking into Saint Marks Square in Venice and seeing the Duomo for the first time, it's the frickin' Duomo, you mean I get to climb the Duomo. I loved the crazy art puzzles they throw in as well, very cool and inspiring to be reconnected to renaissance greats. The overall game design is brilliantly conceived and stays true to its overall intent within the framework that the designers created. All the detail is there from the menu to what goes in-game. I will say that the map was disappointing and not very useful, even frustrating and I'm not sure I understand why they chose to skimp on that portion. I found the main narrative to be very compelling despite being confused at times. The missions for the most part were fun. The game's difficulty is actually quite easy, you just got to put in the time to cover all the content that is offered. Fighting is very well done and easy. Overall, a top notch experience and one of the most carefully crafted products I have ever played. Well done, Ubisoft Montreal! Expand
  45. BrandonG
    Dec 10, 2009
    9
    Everything that was right in the first game was kept or improved, everything wrong was fixed. This and Batman are tied for game of 2009.
  46. Gary
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Most games when attempting a complex story end up with a incoherent mess, but this is not the case with AC2. I highly recommend this game. A note to anyone interested in this game though, you must play AC1 first otherwise the story will make no sense whatsoever. Expand
  47. ErickO
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    An incredible game with such spectacular visuals and improvements to everything that was Assassin's Creed 1. Repetitiveness has been thrown out the window, now giving you story missions to take up when you choose to, and the free roaming for your pleasure. Pickpocketing, races and information gathering are all now mini-quests, not needed to continue the story. And speaking of the An incredible game with such spectacular visuals and improvements to everything that was Assassin's Creed 1. Repetitiveness has been thrown out the window, now giving you story missions to take up when you choose to, and the free roaming for your pleasure. Pickpocketing, races and information gathering are all now mini-quests, not needed to continue the story. And speaking of the story, impeccable improvements. The first was a prototype for a new IP, and the second installment refined it to it's peak. Addicting and enthralling, I recommend it to everyone. Expand
  48. GarrettS.
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. It takes the annoying repetitive side missions from the first and makes it so much better. The free running also seems just about equal f not a little better but a minor thing is occasionaly you "stick" to things witch gets annoying. Combat is much improved, many weapons and the dlow of the action is much better. And the double blades? They never get old. Buy this This game is awesome. It takes the annoying repetitive side missions from the first and makes it so much better. The free running also seems just about equal f not a little better but a minor thing is occasionaly you "stick" to things witch gets annoying. Combat is much improved, many weapons and the dlow of the action is much better. And the double blades? They never get old. Buy this game (not used) so Ubisoft makes another. P.S. @harry s Ignorant people like you really annoy me no one on Metacritic is taking and bribes or any other game site and maybe you were too busy whining to notice that it is up there. Thats it. Expand
  49. MostafaR
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Stupendous! At once more emotionally engaging, as well as wondrously built. I felt an attachment to Ezio, and his plight, which is a rare thing in games. The story is well thought out, albeit sometimes unclear, the fighting is improved with the wider range of weapons, the structure of the game is progressively better, the cities seem bigger, and bursting with detail. Not only a massive Stupendous! At once more emotionally engaging, as well as wondrously built. I felt an attachment to Ezio, and his plight, which is a rare thing in games. The story is well thought out, albeit sometimes unclear, the fighting is improved with the wider range of weapons, the structure of the game is progressively better, the cities seem bigger, and bursting with detail. Not only a massive leap from the first game, but a step forward for games in general. A masterpiece of an experience. Expand
  50. AriD
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    I've played maybe 3 hours of the game, and its pretty amazing. Some of the graphics aren't as amazing as I was hoping for but in the end the graphics are still pretty good. The game isn't nearly as repetitive as the first game was and allows for a bit more variation in what you do. Not perfect but pretty fucking good.
  51. SeanF
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    An enormous improvement over the original, everything is better from the graphics, to the gameplay and sound. Hugely reccomended for anyone even slightly interested in video games, and an absolute must have for anyone with a console. Easily in the top 5 Action/Adventure games of all time and a clear forerunner for game of the year.
  52. gonzalon
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    3 hours playing the game, all i can say is damn i have classes, i could happily be al the day playing the game, i loved the gameplay of the first one, now you have the same but with little improvements, i like the fact that is a fiction but take place in great parts of history, with great names, jesper kid keeps his great style in music, from gameplay music story i have nothing bad to 3 hours playing the game, all i can say is damn i have classes, i could happily be al the day playing the game, i loved the gameplay of the first one, now you have the same but with little improvements, i like the fact that is a fiction but take place in great parts of history, with great names, jesper kid keeps his great style in music, from gameplay music story i have nothing bad to say, but good job ubisoft Expand
  53. MiguelR
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    Assassin's Creed 2 delivered all that was promised by their creators. Anyone who played the game needs to admit that some quality time was spent by just looking at the scenery. The cities are so beautifully rendered, you just need to get in a view point and plan ahead which path to take for the other view point or just go randomly from roof to roof, streets or water. The music chosen Assassin's Creed 2 delivered all that was promised by their creators. Anyone who played the game needs to admit that some quality time was spent by just looking at the scenery. The cities are so beautifully rendered, you just need to get in a view point and plan ahead which path to take for the other view point or just go randomly from roof to roof, streets or water. The music chosen for this game cannot be compared to any other; each song is perfectly implemented into the story and game-play. The eagle vision looks amazing when you look at the sky and all the animations, day/night cycle, and counter moves are performed flawlessly. I could write a 20 page-essay just describing how good this game is, but I leave it for you to decide. Expand
  54. ChrisS.
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Simply amazing, what the first game SHOULD have been like.The only reason It doesn't get a 10 is because of a few little bugs and clipping glitches that dampen your mood, but they only dampen the mood because the game is so amazingly fantastic. I would even recommend this to people who haven't played AC1, you can skip AC1, the only thing you miss is the story, but they do a nice Simply amazing, what the first game SHOULD have been like.The only reason It doesn't get a 10 is because of a few little bugs and clipping glitches that dampen your mood, but they only dampen the mood because the game is so amazingly fantastic. I would even recommend this to people who haven't played AC1, you can skip AC1, the only thing you miss is the story, but they do a nice little recap at the beginning which was very nice. Expand
  55. JoshThiel
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Take the first game, although borrowing ideas still groundbreaking, and multiply it times 10. This game offers a variety form the simple follow this person, do this quest. It also offers you the chance to build up an old rundown area and gain money from it. It's got classic RPG elements and then continues to make the Assassin experience that much better. A great game and something Take the first game, although borrowing ideas still groundbreaking, and multiply it times 10. This game offers a variety form the simple follow this person, do this quest. It also offers you the chance to build up an old rundown area and gain money from it. It's got classic RPG elements and then continues to make the Assassin experience that much better. A great game and something anyone who is a fan of the Action/RPG or Adventure genre should give a try. Expand
  56. DJH
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Do not buy this game, if you have ANY desire to keep your social life intact. Once inserted into your console, you will not leave your house for days. If the incredible scenery, backed by beautiful graphics, doesn't keep you hooked. The excellent, creative and challenging gameplay will. If you still don't heed my warning; Good luck! You're going to need it.
  57. SeanB.
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    This game is simply one of the best I have ever played. From start to finish, it is full of a fresh variety of activities and action. Each mission becomes memorable for their own distinct flavor and style, partially for the way you accomplish your goal, and party for the script that directs the events around you. Finally, the game has one of the best narratives I have ever encountered. As This game is simply one of the best I have ever played. From start to finish, it is full of a fresh variety of activities and action. Each mission becomes memorable for their own distinct flavor and style, partially for the way you accomplish your goal, and party for the script that directs the events around you. Finally, the game has one of the best narratives I have ever encountered. As a book, it would be stellar, New York Times Bestseller. As a movie, it would be one that people would talk about for decades. As a game, it sets a new bar. With a beginning full of emotion, wit, and realism, to an ending that satisfies my needs for closure and consistency, this game blew me away. Expand
  58. LuisH
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    The target: a corrupt templar monk hiding in his own private monastery in the Tuscan countryside. I entered the monastery's courtyard, my eagle vision id'ing the guards hidden in monk robs, I approached a group of four monks and waited. Moments later, the target approached me, while engaged on a lively conversation with a pier. Death was delivered with my double hidden blade, The target: a corrupt templar monk hiding in his own private monastery in the Tuscan countryside. I entered the monastery's courtyard, my eagle vision id'ing the guards hidden in monk robs, I approached a group of four monks and waited. Moments later, the target approached me, while engaged on a lively conversation with a pier. Death was delivered with my double hidden blade, taking out both the target and his companion through the throat. A quick smoke bomb later, I sprinted to my horse and fled the scene. After two decades of playing video games, that was one of my top 5 moments ever. I wished I had captured it on video. I love this game. Buy it. Expand
  59. RicO
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    I loved the first Assassin's Creed, and was expecting something special from the sequel. I wasn't disappointed. Some amazing improvements have been made, most noticeably the ability to swim, the monetary system, and the various types and styles of weapons that are now available. The game totally resets Assassin's Creed and gives it a complete overhall. The graphics are as I loved the first Assassin's Creed, and was expecting something special from the sequel. I wasn't disappointed. Some amazing improvements have been made, most noticeably the ability to swim, the monetary system, and the various types and styles of weapons that are now available. The game totally resets Assassin's Creed and gives it a complete overhall. The graphics are as good as they ever were, and the gameplay has been refined just enough so that new and old players alike will get a great experience from it. One thing to note: Some of the puzzle challenges later on in the game can be difficult, but they are worth working your way through to unlock the full potential of the story. Can't wait for number 3. Expand
  60. LongHaired
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Unlike a lot of people i loved the first game so eagerly i bought this game, if there was any flaws in the last game, they're not there now. The new Italian theme really works and the fact that there are loads of twists and turns in the long and interesting storyline, if you don't like this, please go and seek help from a doctor.
  61. JoshuaH
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Great game that takes the framework of AC1, while getting rid of all the tediousness. Add in some gorgeous locations, and an excellent storyline, and this was the one game in my library capable of pulling me away from MW2
  62. JamesP
    Dec 25, 2009
    10
    This is the BEST game I have ever played. The plot, the combat system, everything is top notch but what really pushes this game over the edge is the historical and architecural accuracy. I feel like I should have skipped ARCH151 and just played this game, the amount of content is staggering, from the huge variety of classical painting to the many famous churches, palazzos and villas, I This is the BEST game I have ever played. The plot, the combat system, everything is top notch but what really pushes this game over the edge is the historical and architecural accuracy. I feel like I should have skipped ARCH151 and just played this game, the amount of content is staggering, from the huge variety of classical painting to the many famous churches, palazzos and villas, I really felt like I was exploring renaissance Italy. Expand
  63. MarkoH
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    The gameplay of this game is very enjoyable and the envrioment is just amazing!There are lots of things you can do in this game that differs lot from the orginal game!But,as usual they should have spent more time on animating. I give this game rating 9.
  64. Zombiehunter
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    This was a very good game that I had to play through twice fully before I could think of putting it down. It has a very smooth learning curve too so that even novice players should be able to pick it up right away. My only gripe would be that the "tutorial" section is WAY too long for multiple play throughs. Still, if that's the price I pay for a well written, engrossing story then so be it.
  65. pupers
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    The perfect sequel to an already awesome game. Everything has been improved and the story and content let me forget about time. I LOVE IT!
  66. ruffneckcruffneck
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    The game sucks you into its world and never lets go until the final blade and been swung and your vengeance complete. I really enjoyed playing through this game, which has so much to do that you can never really get bored. The fighting mechanics work pretty well, the story has twists and drama that are intriguing and I really loved discovering Renaissance Italy. The climbing mechanics The game sucks you into its world and never lets go until the final blade and been swung and your vengeance complete. I really enjoyed playing through this game, which has so much to do that you can never really get bored. The fighting mechanics work pretty well, the story has twists and drama that are intriguing and I really loved discovering Renaissance Italy. The climbing mechanics leave a little to be desired as you will often starting running up a wall when you are simply chasing someone down and the targeting of multiple enemies when fighting could be done a little better but all in all, this is a wonderful adventure game that will grab you and never let go until the very end. Expand
  67. DanielG
    Nov 17, 2009
    10
    This game improved everything and ever since it was announced I have been deathly excited for it, and it has lived up to my expectations. Perfectly Executed.
  68. CodyB
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    I must say that I am completely surprised! I loved the first2 hours of the first one and absolutely loathed the remaining 8 hours. They have truly taken the faults of the 1st and fixed them. I have played this one for 6 hours straight and am cursing the fact that I have a job right now because I can't stop thinking about playing this game. I can't remember the last time a game I must say that I am completely surprised! I loved the first2 hours of the first one and absolutely loathed the remaining 8 hours. They have truly taken the faults of the 1st and fixed them. I have played this one for 6 hours straight and am cursing the fact that I have a job right now because I can't stop thinking about playing this game. I can't remember the last time a game had me at hello. The story is completely immersive, you get emotionally attached to the characters, and the gameplay is solid. The repetitiveness from the 1st is completely gone and every mission flows perfectly. I absolutely love how they have incorporated the many different mini puzzles with the cool little video clips that you are awarded with by solving the puzzle. Each video clip continues off of the last one to reveal "The truth". Quite addicting and massive. MUST BUY! Expand
  69. CranstonP.
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    I can't believe I am saying this, but this game has my vote for Game of the YEAR! I was reluctant to buy this based off the the horrible repetitiveness of the first one. I decided to take a gamble solely off of the reviews it was getting. Boy did it pay off! Jackpot! Just read the reviews of all of the critics and that will sum up beautifully how awesome this game is. I can't I can't believe I am saying this, but this game has my vote for Game of the YEAR! I was reluctant to buy this based off the the horrible repetitiveness of the first one. I decided to take a gamble solely off of the reviews it was getting. Boy did it pay off! Jackpot! Just read the reviews of all of the critics and that will sum up beautifully how awesome this game is. I can't put the controller down.... well except to type this review. Expand
  70. A.B.
    Nov 18, 2009
    10
    What is "Meristation" talking about. This is nothing like the first one. It's almost like this is a totally different game with the same skin. People, I am the most critical person when it comes to games. I rarely play anything but sports and racing games. This game rocks. Yes, the first 2 hours are slow, but once you get to the part where you escort your mom and sis out of the city, What is "Meristation" talking about. This is nothing like the first one. It's almost like this is a totally different game with the same skin. People, I am the most critical person when it comes to games. I rarely play anything but sports and racing games. This game rocks. Yes, the first 2 hours are slow, but once you get to the part where you escort your mom and sis out of the city, this game completely opens up and is completely ADDICTING!. If you like ANY kinds of video games, this is a must buy and must play. Prepare to give up time in your life to play this. Expand
  71. ChrisK.
    Nov 22, 2009
    8
    A great game letdown by dated gameplay controls and an underdeveloped engine. The LOD loading in this game is a great immersion killer. Characters appear from nowhere, shadows flicker and textures pop in. Even running across a vacant field shows a visible line where high res grass meets with the low res version. A generation 1 xbox 360 game might have these artifacts, but for a A++ title A great game letdown by dated gameplay controls and an underdeveloped engine. The LOD loading in this game is a great immersion killer. Characters appear from nowhere, shadows flicker and textures pop in. Even running across a vacant field shows a visible line where high res grass meets with the low res version. A generation 1 xbox 360 game might have these artifacts, but for a A++ title with this kind of development time this is inexcusable. I'm already disappointed and considering waiting for the PC version which hopefully won't have these issues. Otherwise it's a great game and well worth your time. Expand
  72. MnFlaco
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Grand Theft Gondola is a fantastic game
  73. A.R.
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    This game is not perfect, but it is what we all wanted the first one to be. The environment is absolutely outstanding, with beautiful graphics of Ubisoft's version of Venice. The mixture of Italian and English is incredibly well-done. The mechanics are similar to the first game, but enhanced and polished for a much deeper and more expansive experience. This is what a sequel should be.
  74. BrettA
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    This game was no let down. It had all the things a game needs to be fun, the combat was mainly untouched, they added stuff on to the already great system. Though the free runnung is what really seemed to have people raving about the first one and it is still great dispite the rare gliches in inside areas it was a great game. My only complants lie within the aforementioned free running This game was no let down. It had all the things a game needs to be fun, the combat was mainly untouched, they added stuff on to the already great system. Though the free runnung is what really seemed to have people raving about the first one and it is still great dispite the rare gliches in inside areas it was a great game. My only complants lie within the aforementioned free running complant, the fact the charater modles and lipsyncing weren't the best and that they got rid of the beggers (yes) to replace them with the buskers. All in all it was a great game and my vote for game of the year! Expand
  75. JohnC
    Dec 13, 2009
    8
    Great game, vast improvement on the first, plenty of things to see and do, buildings to climb and people to kill in amusing manners. I like the combat system, making it more reliant on you adapting to the opponent rather than just employing your assassin techniques. The graphics are great and the story is supported with a great many cut scenes. Overall quite enjoyable and not to Great game, vast improvement on the first, plenty of things to see and do, buildings to climb and people to kill in amusing manners. I like the combat system, making it more reliant on you adapting to the opponent rather than just employing your assassin techniques. The graphics are great and the story is supported with a great many cut scenes. Overall quite enjoyable and not to repetitive if you mix the main quest with side activities. Expand
  76. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    Ubisoft Montreal have proved the naysayers and doubters wrong and delivered an organic and truly immersive story, a vibrant world full of colour and personality, and a ton of fun. Once you pick up the pad, you won
  77. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    a much much improvement over the over hyped borefest of the original game . pretty much every thing i thought they shoulda had in the original they put in its sequel . the missions feel abit more varried and less repetitive , theres more to do, you can do some real upgrading to your charicter now . every thing about this game just feels better.. except the controls ... i ran into somea much much improvement over the over hyped borefest of the original game . pretty much every thing i thought they shoulda had in the original they put in its sequel . the missions feel abit more varried and less repetitive , theres more to do, you can do some real upgrading to your charicter now . every thing about this game just feels better.. except the controls ... i ran into some issues with my charicter just doing stupid things out of the blue i could be standing on a roof not moving and then all of a sudden just fall to my death. it wasnt alot to where it really pissed me off but it happend enough that it annoyed me alittle. otherwise great game its the hype on the first one we expected the first one to be ... just only on the second. Expand
  78. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    I really wish that I could give this game a 10, but I can't. The core gameplay of Assassin's Creed II is excellent and really engrossing. Playing through the main story will give you many fun of hours of fighting, killing, looting, and exploring. It took me a while to get used to the combat system; once I did, however, the game really opened up for me. The voice acting was top-notch,I really wish that I could give this game a 10, but I can't. The core gameplay of Assassin's Creed II is excellent and really engrossing. Playing through the main story will give you many fun of hours of fighting, killing, looting, and exploring. It took me a while to get used to the combat system; once I did, however, the game really opened up for me. The voice acting was top-notch, and the graphics were simply amazing.

    There are problems - many little problems. My chief complaint is that once you get decent at combat you will destroy your opponents. This game would do well to have boss fights that are really challenging. Secondarily, the pacing of the game is off. The plot felt fast and rushed in the end, which disappointed me after it was going along so well for most of the game. Lastly, you make way too much money way too easily by investing in the villa. Do these flaws ruin the game? No. If Brotherhood fixes these issues, however, it will be one of the best games ever made.
    Expand
  79. Oct 10, 2011
    9
    Huge, huge, huge improvement over the first Assassin's Creed. Unlike the first one, 2 is far more varied and more fun. The open world free running platforming has more meaning to it than just being a "get from a to b" task as there is more to do than just assassinating people and the story is much, much better with more character interactions than the first. Ezio Auditore is a far betterHuge, huge, huge improvement over the first Assassin's Creed. Unlike the first one, 2 is far more varied and more fun. The open world free running platforming has more meaning to it than just being a "get from a to b" task as there is more to do than just assassinating people and the story is much, much better with more character interactions than the first. Ezio Auditore is a far better assassin than Altair from the first game because he's more explored than Altair. Overall, Assassin's Creed 2 is a complete revelation from Assassin's Creed, which I thought was really mediocre. Expand
  80. Sep 13, 2010
    9
    First up,Assassin's Creed gameplay was simply boring repetitive & to make it worst,there wasn't any anti-aliasing for the ATI graphic card users.Assassin's Creed 2 brought in those changes.I was really pull in by this game due to a few reasons.1:The Background (which takes place Italy), 2:The storyline & plots, 3:Ezio's Costume.For the background,I was amazed by the beautiful highlyFirst up,Assassin's Creed gameplay was simply boring repetitive & to make it worst,there wasn't any anti-aliasing for the ATI graphic card users.Assassin's Creed 2 brought in those changes.I was really pull in by this game due to a few reasons.1:The Background (which takes place Italy), 2:The storyline & plots, 3:Ezio's Costume.For the background,I was amazed by the beautiful highly detailed environments,architectural buildings & historical paintings in Italy during the Renaissance period. What makes the gameplay so addictive was due to it's plots that immerse along with the storyline,leaving players on wanting to know what is gonna happen after each sequence.Relating to the storyline,I think a story about family & revenge is captivating as long there are plenty of conspiracy to unravel the truth.Furthermore,Ezio's noble assassin costume was well designed as it's does blends in with the time line.Although like what most agreed that Assassin's Creed is repetitive in terms of gamplay,I have to be honest that it's also the same for the 2nd installment,except it's repetitive in an addictive way.For those who are concerned about soundtrack,all I can it's decent and suitable with each scenario.I also like the varieties of weapons usage eg.smoke bombs/poison blade as well as different ways & means to distract guards using prostitutes/thieves.Mini games in between such as collecting secrets,artifacts & upgrading the villa is something to keep players occupied even if he/she has finish the main game.Overall,I think Ubisoft Montreal has a really good job on Assassin's Creed 2 not in terms of improving the repetitive gameplay but the beautiful surroundings,game atmosphere,intense plots & also repetitive but addictive gameplay.Luckily,for ATI graphic card users we can finally enable Anti-Aliasing in this 2nd installments. One thing is for sure,Assassin's Creed 2 is definitely worth trying cause it's not gonna leave you with the same experience like you had in Assassin's Creed.The reason on why I can't give a perfect 10 for this game is because there some minor flaws which I believe the developers can improved in the next series of Assassin's Creed. Expand
  81. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    AC2 is a pretty good game. It has good graphics but I still think that it lacks something. Like a better control system. When I played it I got frustrated. Instead of climbing the wall sometimes Ezio decided to jump to the water and so on. And the music. I thought that i didn't fit to the game. The game has improved from AC1 but it still has a lot to go on. Fighting is way too easy. FewAC2 is a pretty good game. It has good graphics but I still think that it lacks something. Like a better control system. When I played it I got frustrated. Instead of climbing the wall sometimes Ezio decided to jump to the water and so on. And the music. I thought that i didn't fit to the game. The game has improved from AC1 but it still has a lot to go on. Fighting is way too easy. Few counter kills and you're done. The story is good first but to the end it got really weird. Just when it got interesting ti ended. I hope that AC: Brotherhood completes the story. Expand
  82. Feb 26, 2011
    9
    I felt that the play control in AC1 was not that good, and since I was only renting it, I didn't finish it. I gave Assassin's Creed 2 a shot and loved it! They made great improvements from the first game. Awesome visuals, great story, and the main story arc with Desmond is really cool.
  83. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    I loved everything about this game. Everything. The story is great and has different levels to it since there is a present and past storyline to follow, the creepy puzzles you find in the game world are amazing, the combat is good, and climbing is as fun as the first game. An improvement over the first in every possible way. You kind of need to play the first game in order to understandI loved everything about this game. Everything. The story is great and has different levels to it since there is a present and past storyline to follow, the creepy puzzles you find in the game world are amazing, the combat is good, and climbing is as fun as the first game. An improvement over the first in every possible way. You kind of need to play the first game in order to understand everything though, because it doesn't explain or recap anything that happened in the first game. Expand
  84. Sep 25, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome. It is the best game of 2009 alongside Uncharted and Arkam Asylum. Ubisoft have improved upon everything that was bad about the first game!!!
  85. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is beautiful, engaging, and, most importantly, fun to play and explore. It's nearly the perfect action adventure game. Sure, there can be frustrations of a game with this kind of a scope, but what you're getting is hours of an interesting storyline and some of the game pacing and gameplay ever created in a video game. This game is one of the gems of this generation.
  86. Jan 31, 2011
    10
    **** the people who say that "the graphics are worse" or "THE ONLY REASON I LIKE THIS GAME IS BECAUSE OF THE GRAPHICS" since when does graphics make the game? The graphics are good for assassins creed 2. Its an amazing game in almost every aspect. I think the stories great, and how can there be "too much" in the game? Its like saying "I have all this money, But i dont want THAT much".**** the people who say that "the graphics are worse" or "THE ONLY REASON I LIKE THIS GAME IS BECAUSE OF THE GRAPHICS" since when does graphics make the game? The graphics are good for assassins creed 2. Its an amazing game in almost every aspect. I think the stories great, and how can there be "too much" in the game? Its like saying "I have all this money, But i dont want THAT much". This game is great and i stayed up through all hours of the night playing this. They fixed the repetitiveness alot. Every mission is fun to play, and the story is really good. If you havent played 1, its ok, you didnt really miss much and they do a good job at explaining the story in the beginning. GET THIS GAME Expand
  87. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    This game is pretty fun and has a very interesting story. I love the way the game plays, from the fighting, to the climbing, to the running. I loved the sword fights. The controls are perfect as well. My only complaints are that it wasn't hard enough and I would have liked a longer story. If I was still a kid, I would be Altair for Halloween.
  88. Jul 16, 2011
    9
    Never got the chance too play the first Assassins Creed game's but as far as i can tell is over the top. Getting the chance to jump from a rooftop is always a hobby to do. The story is well written and a n important factor in it. Gameplay sometimes is unresponsive,tho, thats a minor flaw. Innovative game .
  89. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    Assassin's Creed II completed the structure the first series entry fell short of. And what a brilliant structure it is. The graphics are vastly changed, and improved - new, higher resolution textures are plentiful, cities more detailed, and motion blur less intrusive. The gameplay has been tweaked to good effect, with far more weapons, armour, and decorative capes around. You even get toAssassin's Creed II completed the structure the first series entry fell short of. And what a brilliant structure it is. The graphics are vastly changed, and improved - new, higher resolution textures are plentiful, cities more detailed, and motion blur less intrusive. The gameplay has been tweaked to good effect, with far more weapons, armour, and decorative capes around. You even get to go into the world of real estate not too long after the games start. Combat is more rewarding this time around, with dodging made possible, and combos more deadly. One of the few things people might consider a flaw would be the endless amount of content here. Although, after getting 1000/1000, which means doing pretty much... everything... can't complain. Some long, repetitive platforming elements pop up here and there in gameplay, but Ubisoft have tried to improve them. It's a very strong, beautiful world from Ubisoft. Highly recommended. Expand
  90. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    The first game disappointed me in its overly repetitive missions and quite simple combat. This was all corrected in Assassin's Creed II, with more innovative missions and combat styles being added. There were also major improvements to both characters and storyline, which really impressed me. The side missions added also provided an amazing past time to enjoy outside of the originalThe first game disappointed me in its overly repetitive missions and quite simple combat. This was all corrected in Assassin's Creed II, with more innovative missions and combat styles being added. There were also major improvements to both characters and storyline, which really impressed me. The side missions added also provided an amazing past time to enjoy outside of the original missions. I have to say that the scenery wasn't as good as the last one, but only by a small portion, but beside that, this game corrected every fault I had with the previous game, and thus made this game a very enjoyable experience and sets the scene for an even better game next in the series. Expand
  91. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    This game is so good in all aspects. Every aspect of the game has been so well cared, and offers a lot of improvements from the previous game. The only bad point in my oppinion are the DLC content that obviously was cut from the original release, expensive and without achievements.
  92. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    What can I say. A major mark up from the first Assassin's Creed outing. The graphics are better, the combat is better, the locations are better, the missions are not as linear but definitely better. The addition of a money system really works well but in my mind the overall game length is too long considering the reason I bought AC2 was to explore. On that matter, the environments are hugeWhat can I say. A major mark up from the first Assassin's Creed outing. The graphics are better, the combat is better, the locations are better, the missions are not as linear but definitely better. The addition of a money system really works well but in my mind the overall game length is too long considering the reason I bought AC2 was to explore. On that matter, the environments are huge yet at times too small due to in the beginning parts been sectioned off. The difficulty was the only issue. Too hard? No way it was far too easy. The feathers are also a good edition with all 100 feathers unlocking a cape and the last 2 achievements for me. That however I have yet to overcome. A great game for anyone who likes to roam around or who likes combat. Expand
  93. Jun 17, 2011
    10
    This is one of the most amazing games I've ever played, ever. They really improved the shortcomings that were present in the first game. This is just an outstanding game that I believe that everyone should at least rent if they haven't played it yet.
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A step up from the original in every possible way. Whereas ACI was a short, repetitive experience with only slight scrapings at any kind of tangible story, ACII is lengthy (20hrs for main story), varied, your character is heavily customisable and the number of ways in which you can play the game are multiplied vastly, and the story gets kicked up about ten notches, to the point where IA step up from the original in every possible way. Whereas ACI was a short, repetitive experience with only slight scrapings at any kind of tangible story, ACII is lengthy (20hrs for main story), varied, your character is heavily customisable and the number of ways in which you can play the game are multiplied vastly, and the story gets kicked up about ten notches, to the point where I finish wanting nothing but more Assassin's Creed. The art style is unique and beautiful, with every city having its own lively flare and a vastly greater size than your average open-worlder. The soundtrack is freaking amazing to the point where i found myself ceasing gameplay for minutes on end just to listen to the music, beautiful, inspiring and a real treat to listen to. The side missions are fun and the collectible items have been reduced to a sensible 100 (feathers), as opposed to the multitude of flags to collect in the original, however, you can only tell how many feather are left in each city, which means that if i've found 19/20 feathers in Florence (idk the actual amount of feathers, i'm just stating an example), there's nothing I can do but to scour the entire huge **** city to find that one **** feather, but the beauty of the cities easily detract from this, and I guarantee that searching for all 100 feathers isn't a task you'll tire of easily. The ending leaves a lot of questions answered and a lot more unanswered, leaving you waiting in anticipation for the next game (Brotherhood, which you'll find i've reviewed also). Overall, ACII slots itself snugly into my top 5 games of all time---Happy murdering :D Expand
  95. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    Although it wasn't the sequel I was expecting, Assassin's Creed 2 as an amazing game, with beautiful visuals, excellent voice acting, great game play, and great story telling.
  96. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    Assassins creed was a great game and one would think, living up to it might be a big deal but Ubisoft did pull out all stops to come up with a great story, music and amazing game play in all new environments while addressing issues such as the drudgery of repeated game play.
  97. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Assassin's Creed II is just a superb and amazing game which improves upon its predecessor in almost every way adding a longer and a more in depth story, a larger map and more weapons, equipment and special abilities. This game provides an amazing ancient setting capturing the feel of that time and showing how the people used to live their lives back in the day and how much corruption andAssassin's Creed II is just a superb and amazing game which improves upon its predecessor in almost every way adding a longer and a more in depth story, a larger map and more weapons, equipment and special abilities. This game provides an amazing ancient setting capturing the feel of that time and showing how the people used to live their lives back in the day and how much corruption and politics existed during that ancient time. The game's story is very deep and interesting it is divided into two parts one is about Desmond and the Assassin's planning to fight against the Abstergo corparation as they are losing the war against them which they are fighting for the sake of a freedom of the people and they want to teach Ezio the way of the Assassin's rhrough the memories of his Assassin's Ancestors and find out about the secrets in the ancient time. The second story follows the life of Ezio Auditore (Desmond's ancestor) and his family that became a part of politics and corruption which leads to Ezio becoming an Assassins and getting revenge and waging in war against the Borgia and the templars who are planning to take over the entire Italy. Both the stories are very well told and deep. The game is a mix of hack and slash and stealth elements and as the player progresses more and more he gets more weapons, armor and abilities there are alot of cool and fun ways to assassinate people and the addition of Guns, Flying machine and Smoke Bombs may put some people off as may not be perfect for the setting they add to the game and make the gameplay more fun and diverse also the player can hire courtesans or thugs to distracts guards and walk through them or assassinnate them. There is alot of side stuff in the game there are beat them up events, races, courier deliveries and every one's favorite Assassination Contracts and the game also has the Assassination Tomb missions which are a homage to the original Prince of Persia sands of time series another Ubisoft series for last gen consoles they have been implemented really well. The game also just looks great the character models look good but they can look a little stiff at times but they are still detailed well. The environments are just breath taking they look super realistic and awesome. The animations of assassinations are also fantastic. The voice acting brilliant even when they speak Italian and the music is just excellent and suits the environments. However I still feel some missions of the game were a lost opportunity as some missions in the game were just too short and not that interesting and the controls may take a while to get used to and will cause some problems. And the people who are looking for a challenging game may be put off by the fact that the game could be too easy at times apart from a few missions which are actually more annoying than hard. Overall AC II is not a game it is a true piece of art, a masterpiece If you haven't played it yet you don't know what you are missing. 9.5/10. Expand
  98. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    Violent, fun and really enjoyable. Assassin's Creed II surpasses its predecessor with it's story and improved gameplay and still manages to provide some creativity in it as well.
  99. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    After testing the marketing waters with the first game, Ubisoft pulls no punches with this installment. The combat system breaks the mold of third person interaction and the building-scaling, roof-hopping travel set-up we all love is perfected. Expect this franchise for years to come.
  100. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    This game was awesome, it has a great story but doesn't get stuck with too much story telling either. Some games can get away with a ton of story telling but it was a good choice with this one to tell the story but not to get away from the action too much. Nice controls for free run and fighting has improved dramatically from the first game. I think some of the optional tasks at the endThis game was awesome, it has a great story but doesn't get stuck with too much story telling either. Some games can get away with a ton of story telling but it was a good choice with this one to tell the story but not to get away from the action too much. Nice controls for free run and fighting has improved dramatically from the first game. I think some of the optional tasks at the end get repetitive partly because they don't have an impact on the game. They do serve their purpose though in giving you more too do during the game and not just having to stick with the main mission, side quests are important. Graphics are very good and the detail of the cities is well done. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 82
  2. Negative: 1 out of 82
  1. The first Assassin's Creed's charm was in the sumptuous graphics and straightforward action - that incredible climbing and free-running, and the visceral thrill of stapling evil people to the dirt with a wristblade. With AC2 the rest of the game has caught up with the brilliance of those central ideas to create a complete and coherent experience. We can think of plenty of words that could describe Assassin's Creed 2 - involving, exciting, cinematic - but there's only one word that sums it up beautifully. Killer. [Dec 2009, p.74]
  2. Assassin's Creed 2 is miles away form the first chapter. It's a whole new game, different in many aspects. The main quest is involving and nice to play, and the number of side mission and extra activities is impressive (and all of them are fun to play). The setting is peculiar and unique, and the panoramic views are sharp and, somehow, magic.
  3. Assassin's Creed II delivers a great story driven experience. Solving most of the problems of its predecessor, this accomplished sequel offers compelling action, beautiful environments and a great plethora of well written characters. A must have for every action-adventure fan with a taste for history, and one of the best games of this fall.