Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Tyranny of King Washington is a DLC for Assassin's Creed III in which you explore an alternate reality where George Washington has become a dictator that you must overthrow.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 21, 2013
    83
    The first episode touched on it but this one really hammers the idea home and despite the bad taste buying three separate episodes for the same DLC may leave in some people’s mouths, this episode works well.
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    80
    In its good moments – of which there are quite many – the fight against 'King Washington' DLC still features some of the most engaging Assassin's Creed gameplay we have played over the last few years.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    80
    The Eagle Flight power is brilliantly daft. The best DLC so far. [May 2013, p.77]
  4. Mar 19, 2013
    70
    This DLC features a brand new power which destroys one of the most entertaining elements of the Assassin's Creed gameplay. The eagle power ruins the famous free running exploration of this Ubisoft's series, turning the game into something different...but not necessarily better.
  5. 65
    Storywise, The Betrayal is a shade sillier than The Infamy, and a few moments in its missions are strange to the point of absurdity... If you’re invested in its alternate-universe narrative, though, The Betrayal is an important piece of the puzzle, and its ending hints at something potentially amazing for the final chapter.
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    60
    The Betrayal tries to offer more variety than The Infamy did thanks to its high flying antics, but it never truly transcends those ideas on a base level. If it offered a full sandbox with ridiculous spirit powers, it could have made for a pretty amazing superhero sideshow.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    45
    Making games that resemble TV show episodes is not a bad idea. Unfortunately The Tyranny of King Washington is much worse than, say, The Walking Dead (considered to be one of the best episodic games ever). The new DLC - The Betrayal, much like The Infamy before it, is short, boring and gives little place for Connor to use his new skills. After the debut of the last episode, we'll know whether this mini-trilogy is salvageable or not.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    9
    This portion of DLC will leave you wondering why they didn't include this ability in the original game... For those who were disappointed in the ending, this is a chance to experience something new and fresh. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    Why all the hate for this DLC?
    It's brilliant! After the averageness of AC3 this DLC really took AC3 back to it's core whilst fulfilling the
    true potential of a game set in a period of history.
    The real star of this DLC is the environment. It's so interesting to see how the environment has changed. Also people seem to be complaining about it cheapening AC3's story but it makes it REALLY CLEAR that this DLC is NON-CANON AT THE START!
    Animal powers are an interesting concept that could be overpowered but aren't.
    My only problem is that you don't get to see that many AC3 characters in this new universe and that whilst Washington is an interesting villain he disappears after the start.
    So this DLC is a decent experiment that pays off big time and takes AC back to it's core gameplay.
    Expand
  3. May 1, 2013
    7
    this new episode isn't quite amazing and isn't what i was expecting i guess my expectations are too high or something but this DLC is a good part to king Washington and is better than the first one but it still leaves you with that i want more feeling but has the same amazing environment that the first had but one thing i don't understand is the whole deal with the red coats like are they British wanting to take America back or just rebels dressed as British or were the developers just too lazy to make new character skins and unfortunately they never saw hopefully they do with the last episode Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    Assassin's Creed- The Betrayal is a flawed experience. Gameplay feels repetitive and somewhat boring. It does, however, end on an interesting cliffhanger for part three. Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers. The second episode seemed to be the weakest of the three for me. I really liked the eagle power and this made traversing the rooftops of Boston and New York that much easier. However, it is almost essential to use this power as you are attacked on sight and this can be very frustrating. Collapse