Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 596 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroyThe year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Without a doubt the best game in the series in a while. It could very well do without assassins and the story has a few hiccups, but a true pirate won't mind! [Issue#236]
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    92
    While some core mechanics could still be improved, Black Flag's story, world, and systems come together to form a markedly better and more cohesive game than Assassin's Creed III. It's not only the best Assassin's Creed game to date, but also one of the best games for pirate fans to embark on as well.
  3. 90
    After weathering the somewhat diminishing returns of Revelations and ACIII, Black Flag is exactly the shot in the arm Assassin’s Creed needed. It’s dependably fun, endlessly engrossing, and filled with tons of ready distractions everywhere you look, all while bringing to life a fascinating period of history with an engaging story and memorable characters. And if that isn’t enough, it’s the best game about pirates we’ve ever played.
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    90
    The freshness of Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag puts any concerns of sequel fatigue to rest.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    If a great adventure is what you’re looking for, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag can be easily recommended. It’s a pleasure to discover troubled waters and bays by ship, and it’s easy to get lost in the many things to do. All the while, the returning sneaking and fighting still manages to captivate. Getting somewhat annoyed by the excessive hand-holding, the limited artificial intelligence and during climbing it isn’t uncommon.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    80
    Despite having huge shoes to fill and obstacles to overcome, Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is definitely the best Assassin’s Creed game to date.
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    60
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is probably the weakest in the series, yet it’s not a bad game. It gives you just about what you’d expect, but not so much more than that. The dynamic sailing experience is one of the highlights, and the naval battles with the subsequent boarding of enemy ships will stick to your mind.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 159
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    Ac 4 is probably the best ac game in the series. A truly epic open world, bursting with things to do. While the story might be a little bitAc 4 is probably the best ac game in the series. A truly epic open world, bursting with things to do. While the story might be a little bit deferent from the previous installments, it's still enjoyable. The graphics are amazing, kinda like an enhanced version of Far Cry 3. The stealth segments have been greatly improved from ac 3. A must own for any pirate fan Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    I thought it is an outstanding game. the graphics are good, the story is outstanding and I enjoy playing it. I think its totally the bestI thought it is an outstanding game. the graphics are good, the story is outstanding and I enjoy playing it. I think its totally the best Assassins creed that's come out. Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Easily the best entry in the franchise. The scope and depth is unmatched by most games to date. Sunning visuals and and interesting characterEasily the best entry in the franchise. The scope and depth is unmatched by most games to date. Sunning visuals and and interesting character and engaging if sometimes shaky story make this one of the best games of the year. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    I have played all of the games in the assassin's creed series, and while I can't say its the best, it is certainly not as bad as ac 3. TheI have played all of the games in the assassin's creed series, and while I can't say its the best, it is certainly not as bad as ac 3. The gameplay and graphics are great on both the latest gens and the story line is twisted and contains a good transition from sequence to the other Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    Amazing game
    + Great Graphics
    + Fun, addicting game play + Amazingly giant map - Boring Start + New main character + Epic Ship Battles
    Amazing game
    + Great Graphics
    + Fun, addicting game play
    + Amazingly giant map
    - Boring Start
    + New main character
    + Epic Ship Battles
    + Great Soundtrack
    + Fun Multi player
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    A great effort by Ubisoft to follow up to AC3, which, in my opinion, paled in comparison to previous entries. However, Black Flag's characterA great effort by Ubisoft to follow up to AC3, which, in my opinion, paled in comparison to previous entries. However, Black Flag's character models are ugly, to the point where the main character looks inhuman. I feel that AC2 still remains the best entry in the series. However, this game gets a decent score because the all-out ship battles are fun, and the controls are intuitive. What probably impressed me the most was the broad variety of things to do while playing and the near-complete lack of loading screens. I also felt that the voice actors in this game are more "time appropriate" if that makes sense. Overall, a decent game from beginning to end. Expand
  7. Apr 13, 2014
    0
    Complete and utter **** The story sucks, multiplayer is no different from ''Cawadoody'' or whatever the **** the only good thing to do isComplete and utter **** The story sucks, multiplayer is no different from ''Cawadoody'' or whatever the **** the only good thing to do is piss around. Worse than that, for this game it pivots entirely on naval free roam and pretending like you're some kind of Blackbeard wannabe. But that gets boring really fast, too; after you beat the legendary ships (which provide ZERO tactical challenge), you learn a ram attack that pretty much turns you into Jesus. When the Man o' War ships start going down faster than your mother on a Saturday night and you easily gain massive profits on a regular basis, upgrading your ship to 100%, that's when you need to think about snapping your disk. No, seriously.

    Plotline? Utter nonsense. Some linear **** regarding pirates partaking in their usual antics, before getting hanged and then what's left of the Assassins **** and whining about how Edward is so much better than all of them put together. Incidentally, they still haven't adjusted this game to reality, so whilst every NPC in-game is a total **** the man character is still supernaturally overpowered by comparison.

    Even small features such as combat- which really gave a bonus to all the other games in the franchise, except Revelations, of course- are completely massacred in this pile of poo. Why the **** did they even bring back the multiple- counter- option feature if every enemy it works on can be counter-killed? The only other one you'd ever need to use is the ''disarm'' feature if you need to take some guy's rifle off him so you can shoot when you're out of ammo, but otherwise pointless. We've also apparently gone back to relying heavily on kicking someone in the balls like a coward, since in this game ''Officer'' class enemies can't be defeated in melee combat without doing so.

    In conclusion, this is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life and if you disagree you're wrong, sorry. Now I'm off to pwn some noobs in Modern Warfare 3.
    Expand

See all 159 User Reviews