Assassin's Creed Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1047 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2015
    8
    Revolutionary game for its time. The parkour was something that had never been used before in a game to my knowledge. The time period was great for the assassin setting. Only drawback is how repetitive the game is.
  2. Jul 16, 2015
    8
    The prototype of the superb ACII. The story doesn't get interesting until the end and the game is quite repetitive. However, it was the beginning of one of the greatest videogame sagas.
  3. Jul 9, 2015
    10
    Combat
    The combat is challenging and rewarding. People saying it's clunky are either lazy or should be seeing movies instead of playing videogames. They tend to not like challenges, and prefer to spam buttons and kill 10 people in 2 seconds like in newer AC games. This game takes a more realistic approach, where the counters have to be executed properly and well-timed combos feel very
    Combat
    The combat is challenging and rewarding. People saying it's clunky are either lazy or should be seeing movies instead of playing videogames. They tend to not like challenges, and prefer to spam buttons and kill 10 people in 2 seconds like in newer AC games. This game takes a more realistic approach, where the counters have to be executed properly and well-timed combos feel very rewarding. It may not have a high diversity of weapons, but they all feel rich, well thought, and with very good animations.

    Story
    The writing is superb. It elevates the whole game, and it was probably the inspiration for making this game. The emotions and voices are well done, and they did an excelent job to inmerse you in the world. The story is also full of interesting twistes that will keep you focused in the story.

    Gameplay missions
    It frustates me the amount of people I've heard saying it's repetitive, in which I completely disagree. Lets put the pickpocket missions as an example, (which you'll do around 10+ times during the game). The first time you pickpocket a guy may be fast and easy, but the next one you may need to hide between some monks to avoid some guards, or take a different shortcut to go past them to be able to pickpocket, or wait until he is alone to not get spotted. Then, once you get the item, sometimes it is a map that give you the coordinates of guard archers on rooftops that will be protecting your target. Other times it will be a letter written by your target that gives you the time and place of the event and helps you on the mission. THIS is why some missions may seem repetitive at first, but in reality they are all different and diverse. Take league of legends as an analogy to this missions, it may seem repetitive on the same map and killing the same nexus every game, but actually each game feels completely different due to your surroundings, positioning, and enemies.

    Graphics
    I don't get why people say they are old. The graphics engine is actually BETTER in visuals compared newer AC games, this is due their goal of being able to put 1000 bots in screen at the same time in newer AC titles. If you don't believe me, simpy get on top of the highest building on AC, then do the same in newer ACs. Then tell me which looks better.

    Overall 10/10
    If you read the whole review you'll understand why it earns a 10/10. No other AC to date can get even close to this one in terms of its Single player experience. This review is for all the people saying blindly that the combat is clunky, the missions are repetitive, or the graphics are old. Please grow some eyes.
    Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2015
    8
    A great start to a very successful series.

    This game is much more focused on the actual assassin part of the game, and it's this purity and charm that still makes it one of the best. Graphically superb for its time, you run around big detailed cities and countrysides, and the missions are well scripted and rewarding. The plot is somewhat confusing to start, and quite thin. The
    A great start to a very successful series.

    This game is much more focused on the actual assassin part of the game, and it's this purity and charm that still makes it one of the best.

    Graphically superb for its time, you run around big detailed cities and countrysides, and the missions are well scripted and rewarding.

    The plot is somewhat confusing to start, and quite thin. The plot keeps swapping between modern day and past, but once you are used to the basics its easier to follow.

    You play as Altair, a disgraced Assassin looking to return to glory and earn the respect once of again from his peers. The game takes about 10-15 hours to complete, and does a good job of mixing up the environments for each assassination.

    The main mechanic for this game is the free running ability. Its does a great job of giving you freedom to do anything, so you can assassinate any way you want to. You can literally climb or run across anything.

    The only problem is before each assassination can take place you must do smaller tasks, such as pick-pocketing information or eavesdropping on guards. These are the same for each mission, and you have to do them, essentially doing them 10 times in a row. This repetition can discourage a few players unfortunately.

    Enemy AI is OK, but the game is not hard by any means. Combat is particularly easy, as Altair can fend off sometimes 20 guards at a time!

    However it is a great game, and if you like adventure games that make you feel like a true dangerous assassin, this game is for you.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2014
    9
    Revolutionary! Loved it. May get a little repetitive, but it rewards you with a piece of the story once you get it right. Please play this before AC2. I hate when a game gets hate after it's sequel is released.
  6. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    Jerusalem, 1911 AD, in the time of the Third Crusaders. The streets sparkle with action, but within seconds you, the feared assassin (Altair), will change all this.

    You play as a man called Altair living in a very futuristic world, and you have tried to forget your past but someday a couple of people bring you to this machine called the Animus...that forces you to reenact all your past
    Jerusalem, 1911 AD, in the time of the Third Crusaders. The streets sparkle with action, but within seconds you, the feared assassin (Altair), will change all this.

    You play as a man called Altair living in a very futuristic world, and you have tried to forget your past but someday a couple of people bring you to this machine called the Animus...that forces you to reenact all your past days as an assassin...then the game begins.

    Personally i loved the way the creators of Assassin's Creed mingled history and science fiction together. As a first impression, in the first hour or so, the graphics and the gameplay was all i could think of for the couple of hours after switching the Xbox off. I got to say, the graphics are intense...i have never seen so much dedication to graphics before - it would seem just like you are watching a scene in a movie where the protagonist is walking through a very crowded area. I know it's hard to say...but the graphics are even better than GoW and GTA IV. Even if you look at a pot ona shelve or something you can see the same texture as you would with a real pot.

    At first you don't have many weapons and skills to fight and defend yourself but as the game wears on, you increase dramatically with your skill - in the game with the swords and your skill with the buttons on your controller. The storyline is also quite interesting because in each level you can do a number of things to choose your personality in the game. You can be a pickpocket, you can help helpless citizens, be violent and kill all the guards or be stealthy and try and avoid them - or even you can do all of these. But each level as a certain assassination that the masters give you and you have to find information throughout the level about this person...then kill him. All this seems so interesting but finish a couple of levels and kill hundreds of guards the storyline gets a little repetitive and boring...destroying the excitement of killing people.

    There is one thing in the game that I will never get tired of and that is while fighting off a large group of guards. What I love doing is holding my dagger in defense and then pressing 'X' to counter attack the guard. If you do that at a certain time, Altair will eliminate the guard in a very smooth and swift way...and there are many smooth and swift ways. Then, when the dagger goes through the body of the guard blood gushes out and increases the intensity of the graphics.

    The sound effects are also pretty impressive and exciting. The sound changes according to you status in the game, if you are unnoticed the sound will be cool, but if you are being chased by a large group of guards that music will change to something more drastic and fast. Then to loose that large group of guards you will have to hide in a haystack or a little box thingy with curtains...if you are hiding the music will change into a heart beat rhythm. Then again, it gets repetitive as you go further into the game.

    At many points in the game, the map doesn't show you objective and what you have to do next then it gets quite difficult to go on because the cities are really big. This gets really frustrating and you feel like quitting...but then after hours of search you might be able to find your objective. Also, the achievements are pretty hard to get.

    The cutscenes are also very cool and unique. They are unique because in the cutscenes of Assassin's Creed you can move around and change the camera views when there is a "glitch" in the game. (People who have played this game will know why I put "" around glitch).

    Lastly, my favorite thing about thing about this game is that you can climb up call building and synchronize with the city. The way the game shows the city when you synchronize with it is beautiful and very clever...i loved it. I also enjoyed climbing and jumping from building to building. Though the climbing can get pretty annoying because you have to be perfectly in line with the thing you are going to use next to climb with.

    Graphics = 9.5/10
    Storyline = 7/10
    Sound Effects = 8/10

    OVERALL = 8/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2014
    8
    There are some really good ideas in this game expressed in a very well designed environments with solid gameplay, the movement has an excellent flow to it, the combat and stealth also blend together perfectly. If you have looked at other reviews there is a big problem with repetitiveness and boring drawn out pointless donkey rides. Overall the game is a little let down by it's own ambitionThere are some really good ideas in this game expressed in a very well designed environments with solid gameplay, the movement has an excellent flow to it, the combat and stealth also blend together perfectly. If you have looked at other reviews there is a big problem with repetitiveness and boring drawn out pointless donkey rides. Overall the game is a little let down by it's own ambition and is really hoping you buy into the franchise to find out what the **** is going on with future Desmond but this is a great game, especially for people who like the concept of playing a game as an assassin ninja, which all gamers should. Expand
  8. Nov 27, 2013
    9
    THEY NEED to remaster this on xbox one and get rid of the repetitiveness out of this game re do the missions but keep the story change the combat and free running to
    ac brotherhood and free running and story as impressive and fast paced as 2 and with actual knights Templars with the famous red cross across their chests like they was in this game the knights templar was one of the most
    THEY NEED to remaster this on xbox one and get rid of the repetitiveness out of this game re do the missions but keep the story change the combat and free running to
    ac brotherhood and free running and story as impressive and fast paced as 2 and with actual knights Templars with the famous red cross across their chests like they was in this game the knights templar was one of the most feared knights they was the highest skilled and never surrendered not even if they was greater numbers facing them they also defeated an army when the odds was like 4 to 1 against the templars they was also the best and most skilled fighters yet in assassins creed you never see this
    Expand
  9. Oct 14, 2013
    8
    The original Assassins creed is still a great game. It does pale in comparison with the sequels but laid down the groundwork and fantastic concept that the rest follow.
  10. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed te da una buena oportunidad de disfrutar de los lujos de un mapa bastante grande en toda su exquisita forma (animales, personas, ambientes, enemigos) y una excelente manera de crear una historia, los gráficos son medios pero es un gran paso para Ubisoft.
  11. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favorAssassin's Creed is a beautifully detailed, smooth operating, engrossing game that suffers from one glaring fault, repetition. The number of times you must save a harassed citizen is a product of a design team that had to work on all kinds of function and scenery, and than had little time left over to fill the game with missions. The other annoyance to a game that is supposed to favor stealth and assassin techniques is the constant large scale unavoidable fights the later assassinations produce. I'm sorry, my character is the worst assassin ever if he constantly just walks into a crowd of soldiers.
    Great game mechanics and wonderful detailing largely overcome second rate missions.
    Expand
  12. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    not as good as ac2 and brotherhood but awesome. Things it had trouble with is a lot of repetiveness in missions and little trouble with the fight mechanics but altogether the game play was really great (love free running). Would've loved to see more customization of the character but at same time felt right in certain ways (felt more serious and less video gamey) Loved the sound and storynot as good as ac2 and brotherhood but awesome. Things it had trouble with is a lot of repetiveness in missions and little trouble with the fight mechanics but altogether the game play was really great (love free running). Would've loved to see more customization of the character but at same time felt right in certain ways (felt more serious and less video gamey) Loved the sound and story that leads to an epic ending where you feel Altaiir is the freaken man. Expand
  13. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Monotony may be a pervasive ailment of some of its letter moments, but "Assassin's Creed" does manage to successfully present a wholly gratifying stealth-action experience.
  14. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    Looking back at this game after playing Assassin's Creed 3, I can see why I originally loved it. In a way, the game is very arcade-like. You're given a mission to kill some guy, you research the guy, and then you kill the guy. Rinse and repeat. However, the way in which this process is executed is where things get interesting. Your targets are always harder and harder to get. While someLooking back at this game after playing Assassin's Creed 3, I can see why I originally loved it. In a way, the game is very arcade-like. You're given a mission to kill some guy, you research the guy, and then you kill the guy. Rinse and repeat. However, the way in which this process is executed is where things get interesting. Your targets are always harder and harder to get. While some might walk out into the open, acting like sitting ducks, others might hide away in castles, trying their best to avoid you. The simple and compelling gameplay is addictive and satisfying.
    Unlike later iterations of the Assassin's Creed franchise, the first game has a very basic plot. You play as Altair, you kill people, and you uncover various mysteries surrounding your order as you go along. It's interesting enough to keep you playing, but simple enough not to frustrate you with dumb plot points and details.
    The simplistic style and gameplay of Assassin's Creed makes it ridiculously fun to play, acting as one of the best games in the franchise.
    Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    Assassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed withAssassin's creed is an enthralling, immersive, and incredibly atmospheric game. It's a classic for sure, but that's not to say it doesn't have its flaws. Let's talk about the good first. First off, it's very well written. It's one of those rare games that would actually make a decent movie, like Halo, or Half Life. It's world is incredibly detailed. The atmospheric music mixed with incredible visuals gives the game an almost hypnotic quality, and the climbing, free running, and fighting are all impressive. It also doesn't feel to short. A rare thing to find in games nowadays. On the other hand though, its story dips into some themes which are offensive to Christians, like myself. It can also be very repetitive. You keep having to do the same types of pre-mission missions like ease dropping, or pickpocketing. Fortunately though, the main assassinations are all varied greatly, and the game overall is so original, so fun, and so awe inspiring that it would be crazy to pass up, especially now when the price has been lowered. Expand
  16. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    A cool take on past events and how they could have really happened if things had been different. Assassin's Creed blends stealth and action together in a great way showing that Splinter Cell isn't the only series capable.
  17. May 25, 2013
    9
    I first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew it took the prince of Persia formula and made it even better. The story for the game is half and half for me. The story of Altair is great. it manages to tie everything together, and the plot twist at the game actually surprised me a lot. Desmond'sI first came across Assassin's Creed through Prince of Persia, Assassin's Creed's spiritual successor. and when I played this game, I knew it took the prince of Persia formula and made it even better. The story for the game is half and half for me. The story of Altair is great. it manages to tie everything together, and the plot twist at the game actually surprised me a lot. Desmond's story, however, isn't that great. or good. This story is seriously not needed in every possible way, and why it was even created or affected the main storyline in the past will always be a mystery to me. The gameplay is pretty nice. the open-world roaming and combat are fun and addicting, and it definitely shows relation to Prince of Persia. though I sometimes thought Altair wasn't fast enough. his climbing felt very slow, and didn't seem to run that fast. the music in the game is decent, but isn't very memorable. the graphics for the game are great. for a game that came out almost 2 years in the 360's life span, the graphics are really nice, especially for the first in a series of games. I did notice a few issues with character models, like lip-syncing, but that was little. Something I found very enjoyable with the game was the voice acting. Altair's voice actor fits perfectly, along with characters like Al Mualim, Malik, and even Desmond. Side missions in the game are passable. some can be simple, like eavesdropping, and others can get repetitive, like killing certain targets to clear an assassin. this game also has replay elements. for example, all side missions must be completed to get a full sync in a memory sequence, or section of the game. unfortunately, that involves flag collecting, which is the worst part of the game. I'm all about having things in a game to add replay ability, but the flags are not a good way of showing it. There are hundreds and hundreds of flags to collect, and by the time I got 60 flags, I was shut off of flag collecting. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great start to such an amazing series. the gameplay is awesome by taking elements from prince of Persia, the replay value is huge, and Altair's story is well-crafted. if you're a fan of action-adventure games, give Assassin's Creed a try. you may just end up loving it. Expand
  18. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    I played AC2 before playing this so the game wasn't so good to me because obviously the mechanics are more dumbed down in this but even then I found so much fun in this game and spent hours on going to ever viewpoint, collecting every flag, help every citizens, this game was so good that this game made me want to 100% complete it which no game has ever made me done before...this is a mustI played AC2 before playing this so the game wasn't so good to me because obviously the mechanics are more dumbed down in this but even then I found so much fun in this game and spent hours on going to ever viewpoint, collecting every flag, help every citizens, this game was so good that this game made me want to 100% complete it which no game has ever made me done before...this is a must buy in the series Expand
  19. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome. Though people complain about its historical Inaccuracy its an amazing game and propelled the series. I suggest this game to anyone looking for a good RPG
  20. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Although I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recent releases, the gameplay and story line keep you entertained and eager to keep playing. If you were to run through the story-driven missions without taking any time to sight-see or attempt side missions, it is around a 10hr game. I took my sweet timeAlthough I didn't give this game a shot until 2011, I am very glad that I did! While the graphics don't hold up that well compared to recent releases, the gameplay and story line keep you entertained and eager to keep playing. If you were to run through the story-driven missions without taking any time to sight-see or attempt side missions, it is around a 10hr game. I took my sweet time and played much longer. There are fun weapons and ways in which you can "take care" of your targets. All in all, my favorite thing about the AC franchise is free running around the city and jumping off the tops of ancient wonders. Oh yeah, the historical accuracy in AC is quite riveting. As a history buff I thoroughly enjoyed seeing much of the game's story line and characters following their destiny. Great game. Expand
  21. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri
    Primo e grandissimo capitolo di una serie adventure/stealth che sicuramente tutti conosciamo!
    La trama del gioco riesce subito a rapirti ed è accompagnata con un comparto grafico davvero raffinato e ben fatto.Per quanto riguarda il gameplay intravediamo solo il sistema di combattimenti veloci che sono possibili nei capitoli come Revelations e Brotherhood ma comunque gli scontri risultano godibili, invece per quando riguarda il lato stealth del gioco troviamo anche qui un buon lavoro con situazioni che richiedono un minimo di pianificazione e un'accurato studio dell'ambiente circostante.
    Per molti la più grande pecca di questo splendido gioco e la sua ripetitività nelle azioni da svolgere ma che secondo il mio parere, questa peculiarità, è stata quasi voluta dagli sviluppatori per ricreare quella atmosfera scandita da dogmi e regole che viveva la setta degli assassini in quel periodo, il che comporta lo svolgere di precise azioni più volte da parte di Altair per sottostare al credo dell'assassino.
    Inoltre Assassin's Creed è ricco di riferimenti storici che danno ancora più valore a questo gioco ricreando tutte le varie atmosfere del tempo, che forse però, non tutti sono stati in grado di apprezzare nella loro minuziosa ricostruzione e resa grafica.
    Il tutto verrà nettamente migliorato e portato ad un'altro livello nel secondo capitolo ma il primo rimane sicuramente uno dei più belli grazie anche alla sua ambientazione medievale che dona all'opera un che di mistico che riesce ad affascinare il giocatore.
    Expand
  22. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game, the first in a line of greats, gave a great beginning to the Assassin's Creed story. The actions were something at the time never were available. The game although boring at times, had a very good story line that would give the designers the ability to develop it further. Overall not a great game, just good but nonetheless still a classic. Expand
  23. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    An original, creative and well thought action game which is quite different to others and can also provide some challenging and fun gameplay as well.
  24. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    Assassin's Creed is truly a wonderful game. The visuals are gorgeous, (except the people--I'll get to that later), the cities teem with life and the ending will shock you to the core.

    However, the people are poorly done, or maybe it's just my PC. Their legs show through their robes when they walk, and their index and middle, ring and pinkie fingers are stuck together, making them look
    Assassin's Creed is truly a wonderful game. The visuals are gorgeous, (except the people--I'll get to that later), the cities teem with life and the ending will shock you to the core.

    However, the people are poorly done, or maybe it's just my PC. Their legs show through their robes when they walk, and their index and middle, ring and pinkie fingers are stuck together, making them look like aliens. It's also rather formulaic, with you completing the same types of things (flag challenges, stealth assassinations, stall destroying) over and over in different circumstances.

    It's great fun to just mess around, though. You don't have to follow the story after a certain point--you can just mess around and kill civilians if you so chose. Seriously, buy this game. You'll love it.
    Expand
  25. Aug 8, 2012
    10
    I loved Assassin's Creed, it was an amazing story to play through, the controls were new and a little hard to get used to, but I played it hours on end, I would definitely recommend this game, great job once again Bioware.
  26. Cuz
    Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Just now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a fewJust now playing this for the first time because of a Steam sale on the series. This is a half-hearted console port but playing with an XBOX controller made it work. The graphics look great given the age of the game and I really enjoyed the overall atmosphere of the cities. It does get repetitive so not really something you want to sit down and play for hours. I played it over a few weeks just getting in a mission here and there, about 20 hours of total gameplay not finding every flag. I'm giving it an 8 for the quality of the world and story, I very much enjoyed it in spite of the flaws. Expand
  27. Jul 26, 2012
    9
    Though the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's theThough the missions get repetitive quickly, the sheer joy of stalking your target from the rooftops before sneaking in for a brutal assassination managed to keep me hooked the whole way through. The graphics are absolutely stunning, especially standing at the peak of a tower or church steeple and looking around you. Combat is deceptively simple and not hugely innovative, and it's the assassination feature that will really grab your attention. The storyline is gripping and intelligent and comes together with the rest of the features to create a hugely immersive and impressive title. Expand
  28. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the
    I had long dreamed of having an Assassin Creed's game, but it was only until now that I had a chance to buy one. I decided to start from the first one and here I am doing a review, consisting of my thoughts about half-way into the game.

    Gameplay is great all-around, but the fact is that it gets repetitive really quickly. Basically, for the bulk of the game, you have to go to one of the cities, investigate the area through pickpocketing, eavesdropping, interrogating and so on. After gaining enough info about a target, you get to kill the dude. The whole process is fun for two or three times, but becomes extremely tedious and annoying when you realise you have to do this for around 10 times for the whole game. Visiting view points and saving citizens becomes a chore and adds to the frustration. Also, the inclusion of flag-collecting serves no more than an achievement-oriented item. By the time you finish the story, there is absolutely minimal motivation in letting you replaying the game to collect the random collectables.

    Story-wise, the plot starts off promisingly but similar to the gameplay, it seems to lose it's direction and sense of progression afterwards. The whole plot seems to disappear in the middle part of the game as you just hunt down targets one by one, without any sort of twist or surprise in the story. The lack of subtitles is downright weird for a game with so many cutscenes and dialogues, which not only makes people hard to follow what they're talking about, but also deters people from becoming engaged in the story.

    Bearing in mind this was a 2007 game, the graphics are fantastic even when playing in the year 2012. The stunning graphics is what glues the game together, otherwise no one would be bothered to leap around the city and scale towers again and again. The views of the cities from up-top is fantastic and the kills are made to look rewarding.

    In conclusion, the core gameplay is excellent with great combat and free-running mechanics. It is visually breathtaking and dialogue/sounds are decent. However, it's biggest flaw is repetitiveness. If the game was 3-hours long, this would have been rated a 9 or even 9.5, but unfortunately it is not. The lack of replayablity, along with repetitiveness, means it downgrades an excellent game into a good game.
    Expand
  29. Jun 28, 2012
    8
    I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.I picked this game up 2012 and i wasn't expecting it to be anything special. Once i started playing it and realized it came out in 2007 i was blown away, the smoothness of movement, interesting plot in "present." The game was flawed in many ways, the combat got very repetitive, the information mission were pretty repetituos and the random detections by the soldiers were really annoying.

    What AC did right was capture annoying beggars and the "disturbed" though the beggars sometimes shoved you and therefore soldiers would detect you. The smoothness of movement was really great, you really didn't jump where you didn't want to, which is much better than as example in Prince of Persia: Forgotten Sands. You also have to give credit to the player involvement in cut scenes/dialogue, the player was rarely cut off from the game watching a cut scene, instead what they added was a "memory error" a little interactive camera angle switch which kept the player aware. The only place where i felt the player was stripped of his control was finishers, i would have loved to actually get to press each move myself and not watch my guy just roll a certain animation in a canned film manner.

    Overall, AC was a entertaining package with its repetitiveness and solid game play.
    Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    Having played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was whollyHaving played this game in late 2008, I found myself excited at the prospect of stepping into the robes of a true Assassin named Altair. However, when I began the game, I was surprised to find that it was not a purely-historical game. Instead, there were strong science-fiction ties that had to do with memories of ancestor, and this only made it harder to put down. Of course, I was wholly inexperienced with the gameplay, causing my death many times during my first playthrough, but it hadn't detracted from the experience in the least. It became so natural that I was ending fights with only the hidden blade equipped. However, during the first three-quarters of the game, I realized how much I disliked Altair and how far he was away from I behaved. Becoming a Master Assassin early in life, he grew arrogant and selfish, but changed after killing another who was like him; who killed others just because he could. And so he transformed into one of my favorite characters.

    The single-funnest feature in the game for me was the act of parkour and free-running, which allowed Altair to scale buildings without much effort and travel the city in half the time it would take others. But it came at a cost; there were several instances that I was killed from the accidental turn of the camera because it was so sensitive. In addition to this, the second time I played, it was quite noticeable that the mission structure was (to use a common word) "repetitive", but I continued to play with vigor. Each assassination was actually unique in and of itself, so much that I ignored the like-mindedness of the structure. For a game series in its first outing, the game created my hunger for the rest of the games and even though it is not perfect, it is a great example of what can happen if you try new IPs.
    Expand
  31. Dec 20, 2011
    8
    Innovation is great in this Prince of Persia spin-off, a lot of things are historically accurate and it couldn't be better, though, the missions before assassinating are really boring and the game gets a little repetitive but who cares, it's so much fun messing around in this game that can be forgiven. Despite some weaknesses Assassin's Creed stands up and makes a good game.
  32. Nov 15, 2011
    8
    Very good game! Before this game I didn't know that I will ever like 3rd persone action games! Atmosphere in game is absolutely amazing! Story is intriguing and good! Thank you!!
  33. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Story: 9
    Characters: 7
    Graphics: 10
    Setting: 9
    Multiplayer: N/A
    Soundtrack: 8
    Audio: 7
    Gameplay: 10
    Re-Playability Value: 8
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 8.5/10 = A
  34. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The first installment of an amazing series. This is the game the started it all, it is a revolutionary achievement in gaming history. Assassin's Creed pulled me in and left me in awe, when I first played it four years ago. Although the graphics have improved over the series, I'll never forget that special feeling I had when I first interned the world of Assassin's Creed, beautiful.
  35. Jun 17, 2011
    9
    Before I played Assassin's Creed i thought that it was going to be a cool game but wow they just blew me out of the water. I love so much about this game that it's difficult to even begin how amazing it is. That being said that there are a few flaws that detract from the game.
  36. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    I loved the story and it played so well. It's kinda of a little bit too easy though. The original does not compare to AC: Brotherhood, but it might be better than AC2.
  37. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society
    1.
    1. lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+ Amazing story+ Drags on during some parts- Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  38. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    lets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then andlets start off with the PRO's- Graphics are very detailed, and luxurious. Sound is also good, when u hear the clanking of your sword hit the other guys sword or the crunch when you shove your sword in someone's shoulder gives you a feeling of satisfaction and that u kick ass. Story is amazing! its a really interesting plot involving the templars and how they've affected society then and thru history, including the assassin's who are the "good" guys who are trying to stop the templars. It gets deeper, but i don't want to ruin it for you. Also the setting is amazing! the detail that goes into the architecture is quite stunning, and there are three cities that the assassinations take place (Acre, Jerusalem and Damascus). CONS:( it can be very slow sometimes, it takes a measure of patience to play this game. What makes it slow is that you have to ride everywhere, walk (or climb) around the huge cities to get somewhere. another con is that even tho the detail that went into making the cities is amazing, its bland. What i mean is, is there is not a lot of color, for instance Acre is a cool, dark medieval city, and thats it. the weather is always overcast, then Damascus is like a desert town full of browns and oranges for coloring. Also i wish they would have put in weather affects, its an open world and i would have liked at least a night and day cycle. Another thing i wish was just a bit different is combat, now its satisfying when you counterattack and shove your sword thru someone's gut, but its slow attacking first is like hitting with the slowest attack you can throw at him, quite annoying after awhile. I give it an 8.2 out of 10. For stunning visuals and sound+
    Amazing story+
    Drags on during some parts-
    Combat is slow, but counterattacks are nice-
    Expand
  39. Oct 8, 2010
    9
    Somewhat repetitive game play and missions, but the visuals and imaginative story line make for an enjoyable experience. The flag collecting felt dated, but makes for some each gamerscore accumulation
  40. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.
    Assassin's Creed is a great game and a must have any action/adventure gamer. Pros:

    Exploration: One of the highlights of the game is exploration. You can go anywhere, climb any building and ride a horse in any feild. In between locations is huge country and mountain side for you to explore or wreck havoc. The citites are huge and very enjoyable to search the place for nook and cranny.

    Gameplay: The gameplay is very cool. There are no levels just assassination contracts. You could do them stealthly or all out swords.

    Grpahics: Graphics make use of the X-Box egine and is very detailed. The cities don't look generic but has a style of their own. Voice Acting/Plot: The voice acting is great and the plot is straight thriller satutes giving twist and turns.

    Cons:

    Combat: While the combat is very cool, you only get three different kind weapons. The Hidden Blade, a sword and a small dagger. Each weapon has a unique set of moves but their the same for the enitre game. Never improving and no unlockables.

    Weapons: There is no weapons system no upgrades for weapons except for damage. It would be cool to get other weapons.

    Minor Tecnical Glitches: There minor ones, when Altair goes on the view points his cape goes through the floorboards. Enemy AI can get stupid sometimes and you can lose them sometimes too quickly.

    Overall Consensus: AC's combat system is reaptive but it still provide thrills and a good refreshing entry into the action genre. 90%
    Expand
  41. DanielT
    Nov 19, 2009
    9
    I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when I actually only played this game several months ago (instead of playing it on the spot like others) and was incredibly pleased with the result. From the moment I stepped into Desmond's shoes and until the end, I had an insane amount of fun (due to my inexperience and making mass incidents) on my first play-through. I watched this game closely from the moment it was announced, to when it was released; so, of course, I knew the entire premise of it all. After beating the storyline and getting the achievements, I noticed that the mission structure was a bit repetitive. But, you know what? I didn't care. Sure, the way you get information on your targets is practically the same, the environments and the way to access you targets was unique in it's own way (my favorite being the execution stage mission: had a lot of fun with that one!). The *only* reason it's not a perfect ten is the controls were a bit too sensitive, regularly plunging me to my desynchronization. Not being able to swim does not count, as that is only a nitpick! - Number 4 on my "Greatest games of all time" - Expand
  42. KanishkA
    Nov 19, 2009
    10
    It amazes me as to how people cannot appreciate this game. This game is brilliant on so many levels and will definitely be remembered as the most well made games of this generation. Form the story lines to the expansive scenes of the towns from the view points. This game is simply breathe taking. The fights are tense and require you to use your skills as a player. Simple button mashing It amazes me as to how people cannot appreciate this game. This game is brilliant on so many levels and will definitely be remembered as the most well made games of this generation. Form the story lines to the expansive scenes of the towns from the view points. This game is simply breathe taking. The fights are tense and require you to use your skills as a player. Simple button mashing won't do. And guard chases are also lot of fun while searching for that very crucial hiding place. This game is just pure unadulterated fun. That is why I am unable to comprehend the reasoning of some of these critics here. Who have given bad reviews to an amazing game and brought down its overall rating. This games deserves nothing but excellent marks for all that it has to offer. Expand
  43. TigheM.
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    I think the main problem people have with Assassin's Creed will be that they are incapable of respecting it for what it is: it's really not that much like most other games. Reading some of the negative posts on this website, It has become clear to me that the most people can come up with to complain about is "It's too repetitive" or "I hated the sci-fi bit because it turns I think the main problem people have with Assassin's Creed will be that they are incapable of respecting it for what it is: it's really not that much like most other games. Reading some of the negative posts on this website, It has become clear to me that the most people can come up with to complain about is "It's too repetitive" or "I hated the sci-fi bit because it turns out I don't really get to be an assassin." In fact, I have seen several official reviews of the game that barely get above this standard themselves. Assassin's Creed is a game that you shouldn't play all in one or two 15-hour sessions; it's best taken an hour or two at a time over a longer period, giving your brain time to absorb all of the little details that make it so compelling. The emails you find on Vidic's computer aare just one example of the time the developers spent creating a vivid fiction to entertain those who can respect such a thing in a video game. If Gears of War is a summer blockbuster, AC is a critically acclaimed, misunderstood masterpiece. The design, ultimately, gives gamers a fun way to experience the cinematic masterpiece that is Assassin's Creed. Many people have been disappointed by the "too easy" fighting system; I think this goes to show that these people aren't taking the time to delve into the 'Assassin' part of the game; the level of satisfaction you get from gathering all of the info there is on your target, doing reconnaiscance, planning your attack, and then pulling off a daring assassination leaves all complaints I have about the fighting system behind. It is the small things that reinforce the overall experience that make this game amazing; the fact that Ubisoft obviously spent time making such a small thing as jumping through a merchant stand cinematic and cool elevates the experience beyond other games. Bottom Line: AC is not for everyone; but if you have patience, curiosity, and a love for cinematic storytelling, Assassin's Creed may just be the best game you'll ever play. Expand
  44. JohnP
    Feb 21, 2009
    8
    This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both This game is the creme of the crop in terms of graphics. Try perching on top of a Mosque spire and looking at the beautiful world below. If you have an awesome PC, I recommend looking at the Windows version and its godly graphics. The game play is tedious overall, but amazingly fun. Its a bit like Morrowind and Grand Theft Auto toned down a lot, but leaving the sandbox atmosphere of both games in it. Shanking guards, free running through medieval Jerusalem, or actually playing the game, Assassin's Creed is a very delightful game for those that enjoy a good long game. Expand
  45. BrennanM
    Jan 18, 2009
    9
    Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means Really good game, that's for sure. The combat is repetitve halfway through, but so long as you don't try saving every single citizen and stick to doing the bare minimum for the story to progress, the game flows very well and stays fresh, ESPECIALLY the climbing. My god, the climbing. It's absolutely beautiful, every single time you see a brick hanging out, that means it's grab-able. The Leaps of Faith from tall points are breathtaking, and I honestly cannot get enough. The game, when doing bare bones minimum (less achievements, but still get all the story), takes 10-15 hours, and my goodness, is it a good 10-15 hours. Expand
  46. Sindow
    Jan 7, 2009
    9
    The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it The only problem many people will have with this game is the lack of their own imaginations. While it seems the developers spent most of their time developing the engine the end result is well worth it. Once you learn Assassin's Creed is about doing awesome things for the sake of being fun instead of having a pop-up box telling you what you did was fun because you get points for it you will have a blast. Expand
  47. ShaneSmith
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Absolutely amazing game! Slightly repetitive, and some of the cut-scenes were a bit *too* long, but sticking with it is very rewarding.

    Sometimes it was frustrating trying to escape the guards, and you start to wonder whether you should just fight them every single time. But then you lose their line of sight, and find a place to hide, and breathe a sigh of relief. A tip - playing on
    Absolutely amazing game! Slightly repetitive, and some of the cut-scenes were a bit *too* long, but sticking with it is very rewarding.

    Sometimes it was frustrating trying to escape the guards, and you start to wonder whether you should just fight them every single time. But then you lose their line of sight, and find a place to hide, and breathe a sigh of relief.

    A tip - playing on the 360, don't expect to pack up when you see the credits or get the "finished Assassin's Creed" achievement - there's a bit more you'll want to have a look at afterwards...
    Expand
  48. ChristopherP.
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    The type of game you want to show off to people. Cinematic, easy to play, open-ended, absolutely gorgeous, and simply awesome to play. It's too bad there's so much trash you have to sit through to enjoy the gameplay and story inside the "virtual reality" sci-fi tale. The ridiculous and trite sci-fi story was completely unnecessary and a terrifically awful idea. You're a kid The type of game you want to show off to people. Cinematic, easy to play, open-ended, absolutely gorgeous, and simply awesome to play. It's too bad there's so much trash you have to sit through to enjoy the gameplay and story inside the "virtual reality" sci-fi tale. The ridiculous and trite sci-fi story was completely unnecessary and a terrifically awful idea. You're a kid remembering what his assassinating ancestors did? Who thought that was at all cool? You have to sit through long cutscenes of it with awkward, stupid, and pointless dialogue. The "characters" present in this part of the story are cardboard cut-out stereotypes who give you monologues which are less graceful than what you'd see in a typical Half-Life fanfiction. The entire thing is horrendous, and it's stunning that they thought it would be better than, you know, you being an actual assassin. There are lots of other God-awful design decisions riddled throughout the game: it's unbelievably easy, for starters. Now, I like easy games. I like games where I can play around without worrying too much about messing up and having to reload a save over and over. But this is just ridiculous. Your health bar (called "sync bar") is near-inexhaustible, even when surrounded by enemies. My brother and I both affectionately call this game "Assassin's Rampage", because you can tear through the entire city and every single guard without any real effort. And it really doesn't matter if you have an army of guards on you, because they *ALWAYS* attack one at a time, with breaks in between each guard you take down. What this means is that you can sit back and hit counter every time one comes at you, and you can take down dozens of them without taking a single hit if you're at all decent (of course, this doesn't matter with your already near-invincibility). There really is no challenging part to this game. The game often suggests things like taking our archers before your primary target so you don't get attacked by them when you have to escape. Well, guess what: It's completely unnecessary. Not only do arrows do almost no damage and barely slow you down, but you might not even run into any archers on your way out. If you do, just charge at them and take them out in one hit. It makes no difference. You can even just grab them and throw them off the building if you feel like it--the result's the same whether you attack or ignore them. I could go on about how you can run through the entire city killing, literally, every single guard and not worry about being discovered because of how ridiculously easy it is to kill or evade them (if Solid Snake were able to sit on a bench with his head down to vanish from oblivious guards running by, he wouldn't need a gun either), or that your primary targets often don't put up any fight at all, but the bottom line is that you're invincible and thus can do whatever the hell you want without worrying about the consequences. So, you're probably thinking "Why in the hell did you give this game a 9, then?" Well, because I like being able to randomly kill anyone I see and walk away. It's actually kind of refreshing to be able to play as if you have cheat codes on the whole time. I often find myself walking through a city toward whatever destination, and if I decide I didn't like how someone was looking at me, I can leap at them and stab them in the throat, and just walk away like nothing happened. I can do it fifty times in between objectives if I feel like it. I can take anyone, throw them to the ground, then leap on top of them and stab their throat in a similar fashion. I can push guards off towers and watch them fly over the edge and yell until they hit the ground as people scatter below. I can walk up behind one of the soapbox preachers and stab them in the back as they're yelling at a crowd. I can throw people into scaffolds and have it collapse over them. I can ride on a horse through a line of guards marching and knock all of them over. Hell, after I save a citizen from guards and listen to them thank me and tell me how honorable I am, I can immediately put a sword through their neck, and still get the bonus for saving them. In short, I can do whatever the hell I want, and the game doesn't care. There are no real rules. You're told there are and get suggestions about how to avoid guards and approach targets and whatever, but they're are all completely superficial. Kill guards in plain sight, or throw a dozen citizens down and stab them all in the neck. There's no actual consequence, and it looks damned cool when you pull it all off. The graphics, music, story (outside, or rather within, the stupid sci-fi crap), and production values are exceptional, too. If the idea of being an unstoppable assassin in a gorgeous world sounds like fun to you by itself, this game is a dream. Awesome. Expand
  49. ChrisP.
    Oct 15, 2008
    8
    This game brings back memories of _Thief_ from years back. Jumping from roof top to roof top, making your way through ancient villages in search of your prey is pretty darn cool :)
  50. JoeA.
    Jul 24, 2008
    8
    Actually, I'd prefer to give this a 7.5, but I'll round up to an '8'. The first hour of this game is pretty dull, as I was expecting a more 'hack-and-slash' combat experience. Upon entering the first assassination mission, however, I started to notice how awesome this game is. The combat is really more about patience than slicing your way through a crows of Actually, I'd prefer to give this a 7.5, but I'll round up to an '8'. The first hour of this game is pretty dull, as I was expecting a more 'hack-and-slash' combat experience. Upon entering the first assassination mission, however, I started to notice how awesome this game is. The combat is really more about patience than slicing your way through a crows of soldiers. Blocking and countering is what it's all about, and it takes some practice before you get the timing for the counters right. When you do, it's pretty rewarding; you feel kinda bad-ass taking own groups of seven or eight soldiers without getting even a single scratch. The graphics are some of the best on the current consoles, but the occasional graphical tear is present. Lighting and textures are amazing. The story is also pretty interesting, if you stick with it. The ending, without giving anything away, is pretty open, obviously leading to a sequel. Conspiracy theorists might like this game for the story alone. The free-running element is the best part. Jumping from rooftop to rooftop, fighting dozens of bad guys is great fun and makes the game very non-linear, as you can approach your target from almost any direction, assassinating him in any way you choose. On the down side, it's pretty repetitive. On each mission you how to discover at least 3 pieces of info on your target before you can kill him. You can pickpocket, eavesdrop, and interrogate different people for info. If you get all the info, you'll be more prepared when it's time for your kill. Also, all the cities look the same. They do look great, and are very large, but there really isn't any difference between, say, Acre and Jerusalem. One of the cities does have a docks section, and it was fun to jump from boat to boat, dodging enemy soldiers. Not a bad game by any means, but I can see how it won't be for everyone. Adventure fans will want to at least give it a rental, but those expecting non-stop balls-to-the-wall action will want to stay away. Expand
  51. MatthewV.
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    A very good game the graphical side of the game was very realistic also knowing that you could jump around on any building to evade or to stork your assassination was extremely clever. The only down side is the game gets very repetitive and boredom sets in but in the end it was a great game to play.
  52. JulioD.
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    Although not completely historically accurate. The game still has a fascinating and well thought out story with good replayable gameplay. This game also has awesome graphics and cool cutscenes. Each character is unique and important to storyline and dialog is interesting.
  53. KimY.
    Apr 19, 2008
    8
    The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those The graphics of the game were amazing, some of the best that i have seen. The scale of the maps were fantastic. The assassination animation was pretty cool. And thats about it that i really enjoyed about this game. The game got really redundant after 3.5 hours. The scripted scenes were incredibly boring. In fact i had no clue what was happening by the end of it because whenever those scenes occurred I just blanked out or went to do something for the 20 minutes that they ran. The enemy AI are fools who attack one at a time watching their buddies get decapitated or whatever as they flail their swords and arms pretending to attack. overall, I'd prob not want to play through the game again in fear that I may get more bored of it even more. This is a renting game thats what I did and I still got bored in the 2 days that I had it. Expand
  54. Jacky
    Mar 19, 2008
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a great game, albeit it does have flaws. After a while the gameplay became very repetitive, and you found yourself getting rather bored with it. But overall the plot was very good, as were the graphics! So I would recommend getting it. The only thing missing were some nice little puzzles to solve but other than that. GREAT GAME!
  55. MW
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Simply Fantastic...a must own game..I love Ubisoft.
  56. AndyM.
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    I love the assassinations, but I hate having to get to that point.
  57. HIroP.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of While repetition is an issue, the game turns out to be very entertaining and likely one of the best games I've played in a long time. Combat controls are fluid and diverse. Not only that, but you're treated to some cinematic "finishing" moves, especially on counterattacks. All this is done without being annoying or taking control away from the character. The diversity of objectives leaves a bit to be desires, but each (apart from Eavesdropping, really) presents it's own set of challenges, location not least among them. I wish they had made it possible to complete more of the game with less combat, but it's not intended as a stealth title, really. Expand
  58. AlexF.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    I think this game should rate 10 or at least 9 because you have so much freedom to do what you want and the fighting is just fantastic! and very realistic.
  59. WillS.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    Very interesting 3rd person adventure game. It's very refreshing to see one of the big studios make something new for a change. Assassin's Creed has high art quality, and some of the best animation blending i have seen in a game. I like being able to climb on almost ever surface, plus things such as mounted combat and the crowd AI really adds to the gameplay. Worth the buy!
  60. Pidgeman
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This game is brilliant. Not really a stealth game like hitman or splinter cell as you might expect. The graphics are easliy some of the best on 360, the view from the high points across the cities is breathtaking and the 'leaps of faith' are a brilliant touch. The gameplay can get a tad repetitve but with such big cities to explore and the ability to run and jump ANYWHERE it This game is brilliant. Not really a stealth game like hitman or splinter cell as you might expect. The graphics are easliy some of the best on 360, the view from the high points across the cities is breathtaking and the 'leaps of faith' are a brilliant touch. The gameplay can get a tad repetitve but with such big cities to explore and the ability to run and jump ANYWHERE it will be a long time before you get bored. Must Own. Expand
  61. ShanB.
    Jan 20, 2008
    10
    Assasin's Creed is a great game, especialy those who are in to action games. The enviorment and characters all look stunning, the gameplay is fun and will keep you entertained even by just jumping across buildings. The only downside is that it does become a little repetitve near the end of the game. Overall, Assassin's Creed is a great game that will not to dispoint.
  62. KeZ.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Riveting story, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay. Assassin's creed masters all 3 aspects of a good game.
  63. WesT.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This game is fantastic. I felt like I had full control of the environment around me. It has a great story line and will leave you deep in thought well after you finish the game. I suggest buying it now.
  64. DaxD.
    Jan 14, 2008
    8
    Great game that keeps rolling on. I am so tired of buying games for $60 buck that last under ten hours. This game even if you do not do every mission or find every view point will take you 20 plus hours of game play. This game gives you the best bang for your buck. The only other game I have played in the last 6 months that was better was Bioshock.
  65. RaphaelP.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    This game is simply the best action game I have ever played. Its scenery its simply marvelous and astonishing. the freedom you experience while playing is simply the best! everyone should play this game!
  66. BrianK.
    Jan 11, 2008
    8
    Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, Graphics alone this is one of the best looking games I've ever seen on the 360. You really can't give this game enough praise in that department. Story is very take it or leave it. I personally could not appreciate the story that much, I really feel like the developers made the most obscure plot so that the fans could obsess about AC2 (yes, the sequel setup is already in place, preorder now!) which is a huge letdown and doesn't command my respect, but it will sell games I guess... Gameplay wise, this is sandbox game. Sandbox games are different from many single player games, you have objectives, but largely you will spend your time doing things unrelated to the single player story. Think of games like GTA, Superman (360), or Saints Row and you have an idea of what AC is, but the styling of the game is so well done, you may not realize it until you're about an hour into the game. One of these things is rescuing citizens from corrupt guards, which means mastering the combat system which is engaging and well designed, but probably too tedious for the amount of combat they have put in the game to get your 100% completion satisfaction. This is not your God of War combat system, it's not so satisfying that you will want to spend gads of time fighting, however if you get creative you can stage fights on rooftops, fling soldiers to their death, and generally have fun with it, it's just too bad the primary obligatory combat in the game means you're always fighting in some street hall or corner. Another common activity is climbing around rooftops and towers, and yes, this is an absolute part of the game you must complete, or at least makes the game much easier when performed. This is probably the most fun activity in the game, it's tons of fun and fills in the gaps between the obligatory elements of pickpocketing, evesdropping, and of course, assassinating. Speaking of which you won't do much assassinating in this game, exactly 9 times to be exact, and a few side quests (and not too many really). And most of all that I found disappointing, most of the time your targets appear on your trusty minimap and have floating arrows above their heads. Yes, we all know your average gamer is clincally stupid, but this huge KILL ME sign wasn't really necessary and the gamer would have more fun if they had to pick out their targets. Imagine with me taking down a slave trader by skillfully eliminating his gang members one at a time, until the perfect moment to strike nears. That won't happen in AC, it's paint by numbers the whole way through. Expand
  67. PerryS.
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    WTH is up with all you haters! Assassin's creed is a great game but not perfect. Amazing graphics solid controls and not to linear game-play really puts u in the feel of Altair. Repetitive game-play my butt! find me one game that doesn't get repetitive! look at bioshock, a 96 and that is one of the most linear reptitve games i have ever played! i would recommomnd this game to WTH is up with all you haters! Assassin's creed is a great game but not perfect. Amazing graphics solid controls and not to linear game-play really puts u in the feel of Altair. Repetitive game-play my butt! find me one game that doesn't get repetitive! look at bioshock, a 96 and that is one of the most linear reptitve games i have ever played! i would recommomnd this game to anyone who loves their 360. Expand
  68. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Awesome game. Assassin's creed breaks new gorund in graphics and evironments, but it lacks creative side missions, the game gets a bit repetitive and once beaten there isnt much replay value. Overal 9.3 rent or buy.
  69. MatthewR.
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Assassin's Creed flourishes for it's main story; the moment of a kill is everything it has to offer. However, in order to get this Kill the generic sidequests must be completed (often a chore). even with this hindering it the overall gameplay and excellent graphics allow for an amazing expirience.
  70. BrodelE.
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    Best single player only game I have played in a LONG time!
  71. JoelA.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    I found it fun and challenging exactly what i was expecting a very good game.
  72. MatthewH.
    Dec 23, 2007
    10
    A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, A truly spectacular achievement that isn't for everyone. The repetitiveness that so many seem to enjoy bemoaning is something that I never had a problem with, but I just enjoyed the process of doing these tasks because everything else is so incredibly well done. The vastness and beauty of the cities you explore have to be seen to be believed. The story, while ambiguous at the end, only left me wanting more, not necessarily disappointed. Any every "contrived" element (for example, scholars walking only once you join them or 12th century people from Damascus speaking modern english) are explained and make since within the context of the story. And the virtual lack of load times is, in my opinion, one of the greatest achievements. While a critically adored game like Mass Effect has a minute-long load-time for practically every single room, Assassin's Creed loads an entire city of thousands of people in half the time. Go figure. Expand
  73. JH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    This game is underrated. People complain because of "the repetitive missions", when clearly if all you care about is a storyline, get a game that needs one. The ability of free roaming, the graphics, and the environment are amazing. I'd advise this game to anyone who's intelligence can expand past being able to follow a linear story.
  74. ReelWorld
    Dec 11, 2007
    8
    Great graphics, some nifty animations on jumping and climbing and some cool counter attack kills - but after a few missions, it becomes very very repetitive. As others have pointed out, the missions become very button mashing when you end up facing twenty guards at once. Definately worth a rent though. If there had been more variety to the missions and more control over combat, the score Great graphics, some nifty animations on jumping and climbing and some cool counter attack kills - but after a few missions, it becomes very very repetitive. As others have pointed out, the missions become very button mashing when you end up facing twenty guards at once. Definately worth a rent though. If there had been more variety to the missions and more control over combat, the score would have been higher. Expand
  75. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    the best game on any console. all you critics are really stupid. graphics are the best, storyline is good, the only con is finding flags for achievments, otherwise an almost perfect game.
  76. RobS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    The levels of immersion in this game are just immense. There are times when youll forget your in the Animus; and there are times when youll forget your playing a game, which is scary but awsome at the same time. The game is only repetitive if you plough through the story without exploring the game. The game in five words, SCALE, BLOODLUST, IMMERSION, DETAIL, FUN. A resounding 9 out of 10.
  77. NickK
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    I would have to say that this would've been worth $100 if it was released at that price. Aside from the somewhat repetitive fighting system this game is at the top of my collection. The stunning graphics, in depth storyline and massive maps keep you wanting more from the game. I will be looking forward to a sequel.
  78. NealB.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    This game is absolute perfection. It's Immersive, engaging, and compelling in presentation. To the reviewer who argues that the game is slow due to having to walk around at a crawl has clearly mis-interpreted the training scenarios. The proper way of moving about the cities are via the rooftops of by running in high profile mode to escape your perusers.
  79. KieferM.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Sheer massive in scale, beautiful world, intense combat, lotsa neat tricks, skills and moves. and amazingly to my surprise, its got a bit of sci-fi thrown in there too... the only thing better would be... well, the sequel.
  80. JasonLong
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    Aside from the repetitious critical remarks made by many people, this game is actually very good. I was initially turned off by bad reviews, whinging and people claiming it was a failure. I didn't buy it for a while before giving in. I figured why not try it and see for myself.

    Sorry guys. But this is an absolute blast of a game. The combat system is great, the game unlocks it
    Aside from the repetitious critical remarks made by many people, this game is actually very good. I was initially turned off by bad reviews, whinging and people claiming it was a failure. I didn't buy it for a while before giving in. I figured why not try it and see for myself.

    Sorry guys. But this is an absolute blast of a game.

    The combat system is great, the game unlocks it slowly for you, so you don't get BORED. Each assassination unlocks new moves, weapons and street skills.

    The historical depiction of the kingdom is fantastic. I visited the Church of the Holy Sepulchure, the Dome of Rock and other holy sites. The cities are brilliant, I found a real distinction between them. The church in Damascus is awesome.

    The story has been slammed by so many people. WHY? It is a great story and the extra plot device works so well. The ending is like an episode of Lost. Just awesome.

    Finally, yes it has its own set of faults and issues. Like many 'games', it is not like real life. What a shame.... Yes, some things are annoying and yes, the repetitive nature of the game is sometimes grating.... However, it was just so worth it. I finished it, and came away with an intense dislike for IGN's Hillary Goldstein. Funny that.

    I am waiting in immense anticipation for the next chapter. Whilst doing so, I intend to play this game again.
    Expand
  81. JasonM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Just a beautiful game and a must own, especially for fans of the Prince of Persia series.
  82. LukaB.
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    Artistically this game overcomes its short comings. the amount of freedom given to altair to just walk around and explore is almost entirely destroyed during target missions...this is where you go kill your target, unlike hitman...where you have countless ways to approach and kill your prey, AC turns from an open sand box game into a very linear, almost arcade like game. you get only one Artistically this game overcomes its short comings. the amount of freedom given to altair to just walk around and explore is almost entirely destroyed during target missions...this is where you go kill your target, unlike hitman...where you have countless ways to approach and kill your prey, AC turns from an open sand box game into a very linear, almost arcade like game. you get only one shot at your target, you cant improvise at all...you kill your prey, the same way the producers wants you to...and that just drives me crazy. what was supposed to be the meat and wine of this game becomes completely an afterthought...giving the only fun element in escaping the guards by jumping and climbing the amazing cities...but see, the game is not called THE GRAND MEDIEVAL ESCAPE ARTIST...its called "assassins creed"...so, what happened here? my score is very high, because im an artist, and i must appreciate the overall amazing design of it all...its clearly has alot going for it...everything except the very crucial parts unfortunately. Expand
  83. AlexK.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    This game is great. There are a couple gripes with the game however - it does get repetitive if you just rush through it and do everything the same way. some of the dialog is repetitive too. Also, there are no subtitles and you cannot skip any cutscenes if you have seen them before. No swimming? Really odd and annoying in the harbors. Good points - Combat is some of the best combat that This game is great. There are a couple gripes with the game however - it does get repetitive if you just rush through it and do everything the same way. some of the dialog is repetitive too. Also, there are no subtitles and you cannot skip any cutscenes if you have seen them before. No swimming? Really odd and annoying in the harbors. Good points - Combat is some of the best combat that I've seen outside of some fighting games. Graphics and animation are top quality. Free-running and climbing is effortless. Cities are huge. For those people experiencing glitches (the ones that arent programmed in, at least) I've played Assassin's Creed for almost forty hours now, and its only frozen on me twice. Also, the infamous cloning glitch that happens in the last assassination is an easily solved problem - disconnect any other controllers (or guitar hero/rock band peripherals) and it won't happen. Obviously, this game is not without its flaws, but there really isn't such a game in existence. I give Assassin's Creed an 8 out of 10. Expand
  84. NeilV.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    Pros: this game's graphics and sound are on par with any console game on the market. Additionally, the story is interesting and immersive. All of this adds up to fun, engrossing gameplay. Cons: Definitely repetitive. The early parts of the game (prior to you being granted most of your skills) are pretty dull and there is not enough variety and/or fun involved in the side missions. Pros: this game's graphics and sound are on par with any console game on the market. Additionally, the story is interesting and immersive. All of this adds up to fun, engrossing gameplay. Cons: Definitely repetitive. The early parts of the game (prior to you being granted most of your skills) are pretty dull and there is not enough variety and/or fun involved in the side missions. That said, the further you get into the game, the better it gets. Give it a chance and you will be pleased! Expand
  85. NickV
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Browsing through the comments, it's pretty evident that you're either going to REALLY like the game, or not at all.

    I think a lot of the negative comments about this game stem from people who were expecting something that Ubisoft never had any intention of delivering. To them, no multiplayer, no true stealth, no constant action, simplified controls and a lot of cutscene
    Browsing through the comments, it's pretty evident that you're either going to REALLY like the game, or not at all.

    I think a lot of the negative comments about this game stem from people who were expecting something that Ubisoft never had any intention of delivering. To them, no multiplayer, no true stealth, no constant action, simplified controls and a lot of cutscene "downtime" instantly triggers the "boring, there's nothing new here", hence the scattering of very negative comments.

    The other side of the story is for people who have a bit more patience. Is there multiplayer? No, but the game doesn't lend itself to that gamplay style. Instead you're treated to a really immersing single player game, which are few and far between these days. The dual storyline is very engaging providing people have some patience and actually listen to what is being said. If you know what's going on, the plot raises motive questions and also gives a sense of purpose to your missions. The complainers also take issue with the simplified controls, but this game is NOT about 1 vs 1 combat or frantically tapping out a sequence of buttons to save your ass in a swordfight. Instead, the simplified and innovative combat scheme gives the game a certain grace and pace to fighting. It really shines when you're outnumbered and surrounded by a contingent of guards. There's nothing quite like systematically and gracefully taking them out one by one in quick succession. There's a huge "I'll do what I want when I want - just try to stop me" aspect of the game...and with a bit of skill you can pull it off and really put yourself in Altair's role.

    And that's truly what the game has going for it.
    Expand
  86. RobC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I'm confused. I take it everyone who has voted on here before have played a decent amount of games? If so, to the point where so many people's reviews i have read, and the amount of people who have said this game is repetitive really have not played alot of games i have. Can someone tell me a game where every action and every attack (if with swords or guns) is not repeated in I'm confused. I take it everyone who has voted on here before have played a decent amount of games? If so, to the point where so many people's reviews i have read, and the amount of people who have said this game is repetitive really have not played alot of games i have. Can someone tell me a game where every action and every attack (if with swords or guns) is not repeated in some way. I have only just begun assassins creed and compared to alot of games this really is amazing. From the beautifull graphics to the game mechanics. This game (for me) really is one of the top games i have played. Expand
  87. DrealgrinV.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    The whole thing, beautiful... god this game is good... a little too easy once you get used too it, but that's a testament to the interface. in my personal experience if you don't start out fights good then they won't end well either, but running away from a fight is one of the more satisfying parts. i know that sounds insane but the amount of time they put in the free The whole thing, beautiful... god this game is good... a little too easy once you get used too it, but that's a testament to the interface. in my personal experience if you don't start out fights good then they won't end well either, but running away from a fight is one of the more satisfying parts. i know that sounds insane but the amount of time they put in the free running aspect must have been hell!!! Altair makes it look easy to scale just about anything as long as you have a kung fu grip. Expand
  88. Max
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Story mode is great and graphics are amazing but the replay value is crappy. I made the mistake of buying this game but it is most definitely worth a rent.
  89. KristofI.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Ok so its not a perfect game and it does get repetitive but did I think its ridiculously fun. I don't care if I am seeing something getting knifed in the top of the skull for 21398132 time, I still enjoy it equally. Its a little tedious to do all the side quests but hey, the game only makes you do an minimal amount before you can continue. I think people need to lay off and realize Ok so its not a perfect game and it does get repetitive but did I think its ridiculously fun. I don't care if I am seeing something getting knifed in the top of the skull for 21398132 time, I still enjoy it equally. Its a little tedious to do all the side quests but hey, the game only makes you do an minimal amount before you can continue. I think people need to lay off and realize how great this game is. I mean Ubisoft could of made another game that we have all played before just with prettier graphics. Instead they stepped up to the plate and tried something else. So its getting a 9 because its not perfect .. but man I can't wait till they make the sequel with a few adjustments! Expand
  90. Nathan
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    If you have to listen to user comments, do not pay any attention to the comments by Don J! Are you five? You can't hold two buttons while you are playing? Just because you are inept at games does not mean that a game is bad! This is a great game that will entertain the crap out of you!
  91. TomE.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This One word to describe this game... WOW!!! This is a great experience. Ubisoft Montreal (Prince of Persia, Splinter Cell, Rainbow 6) is the team behind this outstanding title. The open level design is visually stunning and the puppet system for directing the main character is probably the best aspect of the game. As you progress through the game you gain or "regain" weapons and skills. This is where the control system comes back into play. The subtle ability to counter and attack during combat is one of the most rewarding aspects of the game. Time it just right and you unleash an animation sequence that is impressive and different a majority of times it is activated. You have the ability to choose your objectives and the order you want to complete them. You have a vast kingdom to explore and many side quests are available if you have the time. The visuals and open world presentation are what truly sets this apart from other titles. Expand
  92. KyleG.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    I love Assassin's Creed. The environment is so dynamic and you really can put it to use wherever you are. The graphics are great(compared to those on my Wii) and the control system, while being slighty strange at first, is very intuitive and easy to use. Even if assination does get repetitive, climbing buildings is always fun and can last for ages given the size of the environments.
  93. PhilipV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very fun,open-ended,and stealthy;what is there NOT to love? (Besides the fact of repetitive side-missions...).
  94. NickV.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, THE GOOD THINGS: Visuals: Best looking game I've seen to date, with great character animations, sprawling cities and quality lighting effects. Controls: The game controls great. It's easy and intuitive, with only swordfighting requiring a bit of practice. Storyline: This seems to be one of the key issues with reviewers. Frankly, I feel the dual storylines has been very engaging, and if you don't rush the game, you can get really immersed in the plot. THE BAD THINGS: Details: Really, Ubisoft only failed in the details of this game. First and foremost is that there isn't much variety in dialogue out of the main quest lines, especially in regards to civilians and guards around the city. You'll hear a lot of comments over and over again. Repetition: This is the 2nd big issue reviewers seemed to have, and while it definitely could have used a bit more variety, isn't close to as bad as some might have you believe. I guess it's point of view. But I fail to see how this game gets the stigma of being repetitious, when FPS's (as in shoot-run-hide-repeat every 10 seconds) rarely seem to be branded as such. Overall, this is a 9.5 game, and just misses the perfect mark because of some details that could have used tweaking. Expand
  95. JohnnyQ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    What a challenge. Assasin
  96. MikeM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    This game is a beautiful game, no doubt, but it seems kinda slow at times. A little to slow.
  97. TuckerS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    The game is good with minor flaws, including the learning curve of the controls. But overall, its a game to get.
  98. JamesM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and This games more like a 9.5 but I'll round up. It has possibly one of the most interesting stories seen in todays gaming community. Many people complain about the repetitiveness of the pre-assassination but you only have to do 2 or 3 for each kill. Also the gameplay is simplistic but it makes it so pretty much anyone can pick it up and play. The climbing is the best of any game and worth your while due to the gorgeous environments. There are a few downsides to this game. Sometimes when interrogating someone Altair wont kill them after listening to them talk this leads to the game to be playing but you cant move at all and its just focused on the guy waiting to be killed. Also there are a few instances where you counter kill or grab and end up glitching into the wall or out of the level. These are small blemishes on a amazing game. Its main outstanding feature is that there are no other games like this on the market. Expand
  99. BryonD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    The game itself is absolutely beautiful...streets are filled with people and the cities seem huge. Controls are great too...the only flaw is that the whole mission idea/structure seems like it neglected in favor of the controls and visuals.
  100. ShaunK.
    Nov 20, 2007
    8
    Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a Excellent game, but not without it's fair share of issues that somewhat hinder the enjoyment. Story is innovative and has a nice twist, blending future with past. Free-running is fun and really never gets old. Battles are not the fastest, but fun. They do get a bit stale after a while. There is, however, freezing and framerate issues to be had. Freezing only happens every once and a while and the framerate is a TINY bit uncommon. Loved the game very much, I think you will to. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Its stunning visual style, high concept story, and wildly open level design are like nothing else, even if too much repetition begins to frustrate in the later hours. It’s a game people will still be talking about five years from now.
  2. 100
    It's hard to put the sheer size and brilliance of Assassin's Creed into words. It is an epic game that you have to experience for yourself. I will caution that the game is not for the impatient or the faint of heart. While you can plow through the main storyline in under 20 hours, to truly get every single last shred of gaming goodness, you will probably have to put in twice that number.
  3. With its riveting story, beautiful visuals and surprisingly lifelike world, Assassin's Creed is an incredibly deep, enjoyable game that kept us addicted from beginning to bizarre end.