User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 263

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games to be released in 2011.It's just amazing in every sense and the cherry on the cake is...only 15 dollars.This has $60 worth of quality content and then some.You just never know anymore,I was looking forward to Dirt 3 and while very good, it was a let down.This is a game that is just screaming with new ideas and content.It's an Indie game,WHAT?Craaazy
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals, the deep characters all bring Bastion into the rank of Legendary. Compared to most AAA titles these days, Bastion is a true breath of fresh air, it takes the bar and launches it straight into the stratosphere. All developers should strive to bring theSimply amazing, there are no words to describe Bastion YOU MUST PLAY THE GAME TO UNDERSTAND ITS GREATNESS! The music, the wonderful visuals, the deep characters all bring Bastion into the rank of Legendary. Compared to most AAA titles these days, Bastion is a true breath of fresh air, it takes the bar and launches it straight into the stratosphere. All developers should strive to bring the quality that Bastion has brought forth to the gaming scene. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    I wanted to give this game a 9/10, but I really couldn't justify it. I'm on my third playthrough and I really can't find any compelling reason as to why this game is not a 10/10: it's aesthetically gorgeous, the audio is beautiful to the point of astonishment, the gameplay is simple but engaging, level layout and flow is just perfectly nailed down... If you're wondering about theI wanted to give this game a 9/10, but I really couldn't justify it. I'm on my third playthrough and I really can't find any compelling reason as to why this game is not a 10/10: it's aesthetically gorgeous, the audio is beautiful to the point of astonishment, the gameplay is simple but engaging, level layout and flow is just perfectly nailed down... If you're wondering about the narration, it's more than a replacement for having a main character ramble out loud to themselves stating, "I need to find a key!", or a text popup explaining things. They've fleshed it out to the point of being a full feature of the game - you'll have to play it for yourself, but trust me it beats the hell out of an objective marker system. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2011
    7
    My take on Bastion:
    1. Inventive and unique use of narrator (cuts out pretty much all reading and lets the narrator tell the story)
    2. Upgrade system for weapons gives you a large variety of customization, and the training grounds for each adds some challenges for rewards 3. Story length is 7-8 hours, but with New Game+ you can burn through it in 1-2 hours tops 4. 'Idols' that can be
    My take on Bastion:
    1. Inventive and unique use of narrator (cuts out pretty much all reading and lets the narrator tell the story)
    2. Upgrade system for weapons gives you a large variety of customization, and the training grounds for each adds some challenges for rewards
    3. Story length is 7-8 hours, but with New Game+ you can burn through it in 1-2 hours tops
    4. 'Idols' that can be activated to add challenge with small rewards given
    5. Not much re-playability; an hour into New Game+ I had all weapons upgraded and hit max level of 10

    All in all, worth the $15 for a fun game that'll last you a week as a casual gamer, and maybe a weekend if you play more often.
    Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Just amazing. This is definitely my favorite XBLA game. The story was intriguing and the combat was a lot of fun. Any time that you felt like it might get repetitive, you could just change up between the 10 or so weapons, the multiple upgrades for each weapon or bring different tonics with you. The shrines were great for the new game + also. After hitting level 10 with all your weaponsJust amazing. This is definitely my favorite XBLA game. The story was intriguing and the combat was a lot of fun. Any time that you felt like it might get repetitive, you could just change up between the 10 or so weapons, the multiple upgrades for each weapon or bring different tonics with you. The shrines were great for the new game + also. After hitting level 10 with all your weapons completely upgraded, you were basically immortal unless you turned on a few shrines. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    This is the first indie game that I think deserves a ten. From the absolutely stellar and unique soundtrack, the visuals resembling a water color painting in motion and the game play flawless, you'll never find a better use for 15$.
  7. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    It's not often that an arcade game comes out of this quality. The charm of Bastion is overwhelming; the art style, music, sound effects, characters and narrator all help tell the story of a mysterious "calamity" that has claimed the lives of almost everyone and left the world in ruins. One of my favorite aspects of the game is the "inverse fog of war." Instead of exploring places, theIt's not often that an arcade game comes out of this quality. The charm of Bastion is overwhelming; the art style, music, sound effects, characters and narrator all help tell the story of a mysterious "calamity" that has claimed the lives of almost everyone and left the world in ruins. One of my favorite aspects of the game is the "inverse fog of war." Instead of exploring places, the levels drop in from the sky in context to where you move. The controls are as tight as any full $60 brawler action game ala God of War or Dante's Inferno. There's a good amount of progression, creatively implemented, and the customization allows for different play styles. Multiple endings towards the end has me playing through a second time with all the "difficulty modifiers."

    Overall, this is one of the highest quality arcade games I've played in a while. From a story-telling perspective to style to features -- $15 is totally worth it. Easily the best arcade game of 2011 so far and I don't see any of the others in the calendar lineup topping this one.
    Expand
  8. Jul 28, 2011
    9
    Despite some small flaws, Bastion Is Not only one of the best xbla games this year, but the best xbla game so far. From the exelent narrator, to the upgrading system, to the shrine, this game should be on every xbox hardrive
  9. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Fun game for $15. Very glad I bought it and played it. Gonna start new game plus now! woot
  10. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Bastion boasts an incredible soundtrack and some of the most delightful graphics of any game on the market today, making it a wonderful sensory experience. Aside from some flaws in the cohesion of the story, this game is a new landmark for indie/small studio games, standing tall next to heavyweights like Braid and Limbo.
  11. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Unlike many other indie games, this isn't a blatant copy of an older game. Bastion is an extremely original game with deep, interesting characters, beautiful art direction, and a perfect sense of pacing and rewards. It delivers on both fronts of gameplay and story. You'll be addicted to leveling up "The Kid" and the plethora of weapons at his disposal, along with the narrative and theUnlike many other indie games, this isn't a blatant copy of an older game. Bastion is an extremely original game with deep, interesting characters, beautiful art direction, and a perfect sense of pacing and rewards. It delivers on both fronts of gameplay and story. You'll be addicted to leveling up "The Kid" and the plethora of weapons at his disposal, along with the narrative and the gravely toned narrator. In fact, of all the original ideas Bastion has to offer, the narrator is probably the most original. Throughout the entire game a grim man you can't see (unless you're in the safe world known as "The Bastion") talks about nearly everything you do ranging from completing an objective, to picking up health. This simple, yet ingenious mechanic doesn't annoy, it adds to the depth of both "The Kid" and the world around him. The developers picked the perfect voice actor for the man too. He's monotone enough to be taken seriously, but he's not boring enough to not add a little humor here and there. For example, towards the beginning of the game, I fell over the edge of the map and plunged into darkness. The narrator said, "And then he fell to his death." Then, "The Kid" reappeared from the top of the map, falling to the spot he was when he fell. The narrator followed up with saying, "Nah, I'm just foolin'." This both shocked me, and made me laugh. Every game that I've played where I fell over an edge, I died and had to sit through a loading screen so I could be teleported to the beginning of the level. Bastion is full of unique moments like this. While the story is phenomenal, the gameplay lacks when it comes to depth. Most of the time you'll be mashing a button waiting for the enemy's health to drop to zero. While there is a leveling system for "The Kid" and an upgrading system for every weapon, it isn't used to its fullest potential. One last complaint would be the soundtrack. At some points, the music is beautiful and you fins yourself humming it even when not playing the game. At other times, the music is entirely forgettable. I would have liked to see a few better songs, but that is a very small complaint. One other thing I would love to mention is the way you move around the world. As you walk towards an edge, the path floats up from under the map allowing "The Kid" to continue on his way. It doesn't add anything other than a cool effect, but it's too beautiful not to mention. Overall, Bastion is the best XBLA game since Limbo. It adds new ideas to the gaming market, rather than stealing from it. A fantastic adventure, highly recommended for those looking for both a fun beat-em-up RPG and a good story. Buy now. Expand
  12. Jul 22, 2011
    9
    Having just completed the normal game (going to play new game plus eventually) I fully recommend this indie game to casual and hardcore gamers alike. This game is a steal at $15. The artwork, music, and narration are on par if not better than any triple A title in recent history. The gameplay is simple yet deceptively complex, the array of weapons to choose from keep things fresh. IHaving just completed the normal game (going to play new game plus eventually) I fully recommend this indie game to casual and hardcore gamers alike. This game is a steal at $15. The artwork, music, and narration are on par if not better than any triple A title in recent history. The gameplay is simple yet deceptively complex, the array of weapons to choose from keep things fresh. I haven't played a game this gripping since super meat boy earlier this year. The unfortunate thing is the game will only last about 10 hours (if you're a completionist then maybe 13 hours), but you don't want it to end because the story is just that good. If you're looking for something new and fresh to play then pick this one up. Expand
  13. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The demo doesn't do it justice; Bastion is a slow burner. It starts slow but builds through engaging combat, while all along the art direction and sound design really shine. It won't knock your socks off, nor is it groundbreaking. However, it serves for some pleasurable action-RPG mashing, and as it steadily builds upon itself, it only grows on you. Better than Deathspank or otherThe demo doesn't do it justice; Bastion is a slow burner. It starts slow but builds through engaging combat, while all along the art direction and sound design really shine. It won't knock your socks off, nor is it groundbreaking. However, it serves for some pleasurable action-RPG mashing, and as it steadily builds upon itself, it only grows on you. Better than Deathspank or other pretenders for sure. Expand
  14. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Well i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. TheWell i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. The floating sky routes focus on stunning colours and artistry, and when rolling around keep you on your toes lest you fall through the gaps. This game is totally justified by its 1200 MS Points Price tag, this is a must have title for arcade. Collapse
  15. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Featuring a unique art style, beautiful music, a massive inventory of items, and a heartfelt story, Bastion is an amazing game, arcade or otherwise. This is a game that absolutely oozes with heart, and you can clearly feel that Supergiant Games poured their soul into making this game. This is pure gaming bliss.
  16. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    I go through video games like I go through cans of Red Bull. Play, Enjoy (or not), then forget. NEXT! A good game is a good game, but it still gets thrown in the closet. Bastion is an exception. When I played it at PAX East, I was worried about the narrator getting annoying, or the combat getting stale. Neither happened, and for those people who it did bother- giving it a 0/10 on thatI go through video games like I go through cans of Red Bull. Play, Enjoy (or not), then forget. NEXT! A good game is a good game, but it still gets thrown in the closet. Bastion is an exception. When I played it at PAX East, I was worried about the narrator getting annoying, or the combat getting stale. Neither happened, and for those people who it did bother- giving it a 0/10 on that alone is a bit absurd and should be ignored.

    I will give people who are curious about the game a tip.
    1)Play through the game
    2)Pick the "Bad Ending."
    3)Play through New Game Plus
    4)Pick the "Good Ending."

    That's all I can say without spoiling anything. Anybody who has beaten Bastion knows EXACTLY what I'm talking about.
    Expand
  17. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    The best Indie game so far, and i played many of 'em. If you like Action RPGs, than this is a must buy. Cool narrator, good story, many weapons and skills, and many cool new and fresh ideas. Pair that with a fantastic soundtrack and gorgeous full HD 2D graphics, and you'll get the best bang for the buck in a long time. And it has a lot of replayability too!
  18. Aug 31, 2011
    6
    This game is described and promoted as "role playing" action/adventure. Reviews have mainly missed the point that this is more of a "platformer" with a far away 3 dimensional perspective. You don't get in close, you can't examine areas very much, and you move along a path. This doesn't mean this is a bad game, and if you like an array of weapons and things wack 'em with, you will likeThis game is described and promoted as "role playing" action/adventure. Reviews have mainly missed the point that this is more of a "platformer" with a far away 3 dimensional perspective. You don't get in close, you can't examine areas very much, and you move along a path. This doesn't mean this is a bad game, and if you like an array of weapons and things wack 'em with, you will like the game. Also the art and music is excellent. There is a constant narrator, which some may find irritating after awhile. Ultimately I didn't like the game so much, since I really wanted to spend more time exploring than fighting but that's just me. So for me it's a 6 for the effort, if you like platformers and action give it an 8 or 9. Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite games of the year, likely just one of my favorite games. Period. Fantastic combat, art, music (!!!); the narrator is a unique addition that isn't tacked on, but well executed. It's a game I see myself returning to year after year for all those reasons.Including the story actually; by the end I found myself surprisingly invested in it. I can't recommend this game enough,One of my favorite games of the year, likely just one of my favorite games. Period. Fantastic combat, art, music (!!!); the narrator is a unique addition that isn't tacked on, but well executed. It's a game I see myself returning to year after year for all those reasons.Including the story actually; by the end I found myself surprisingly invested in it. I can't recommend this game enough, and the cheap price certainly doesn't hurt. Expand
  20. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Anyone who gives this game a 0 is jaded and needs to move on. A 0 really?!? Just in atmosphere, art style it deserves a 70. The game is fun, challenging at times for the average player. Stop and smell the roses and ENJOY a game. This isn't Call of Duty where you are just working on getting to multiplayer. This is an experience. 10/10 easily.
  21. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    Beautiful art direction, amazing score, fun gameplay! I enjoyed the heck out of it. Thanks, Supergiant Games, for the most fun I've had with a downloadable title in a while.
  22. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    This game was created with more heart than any games of recent. The artwork is stunning, the narration is a creative touch and the music is captivating. These factors add so much to game, yet they do not overshadow the game and the wonderful story that grabs hold of your emotions and doesn't let go. While the RPG elements may not be as apparent as fans of the "rpg" genre may want, there isThis game was created with more heart than any games of recent. The artwork is stunning, the narration is a creative touch and the music is captivating. These factors add so much to game, yet they do not overshadow the game and the wonderful story that grabs hold of your emotions and doesn't let go. While the RPG elements may not be as apparent as fans of the "rpg" genre may want, there is still enough variable gameplay there to make the replay value on this $15 game high. It almost has a Legend of Zelda-like feel to it as far as gameplay goes: variable weapons and upgrades, but with a focus on action and no so much on being a "true" rpg. It worked for Legend of Zelda... it works for Bastion. It takes a little getting used to at first, yes, but you almost instantly pick up the style and once you get lost in the story, you won't want to put it down until you've learned all you can about this fabulous world that Supergiant Games has created. They captivate you in even more with the wonderful music of Darren Korb. All of the songs are so fitting for their parts and put you in the mood of the moment, whether it be slower, sorrow-filled pieces or high-anxiety fight scene themes. The music plays a big part in this game. On top of the music, you have the wonderful narration which not only guides you through, but also reacts to your decisions. The narration makes the game the emotional masterpiece that it is. This is a creative new element to the game which tells you the story as it unfolds as opposed to just telling you the whole story and telling you your end-game. All in all, this game is a wonderful experience, especially for the price. If you love being taken away to new worlds with stories like no other that make you actually feel the emotions of the characters, then this is a must. Expand
  23. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Bastion is a great game all around - the art and music are beautiful, the narrator does an amazing job, and the gameplay itself is incredibly fun! Fast paced action and tight, responsive controls combine to make Bastion an absolute joy to play.
  24. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Best use of 15$. Has definitely skyrocketed to one of my top ten games. It is simply amazing in my opinion. Can't wait to see what the rest of the company has to die for. Even bought the physical copy of their soundtrack. That's how good I found this game guys. Try the demo at least and if you like it get it. If not. That's okay too =)
  25. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    After seeing the giant surge of negative scores, I had to come in and help support Bastion. I do not understand the claim that Bastion is just a "dungeon crawl." I've never known a dungeon crawl to be this intense, fast, and vigorous. If anything, Bastion reminds me more of the SNES games I loved playing when I was younger, such as Secret of Mana and Terrianegma. Bastion was a refreshingAfter seeing the giant surge of negative scores, I had to come in and help support Bastion. I do not understand the claim that Bastion is just a "dungeon crawl." I've never known a dungeon crawl to be this intense, fast, and vigorous. If anything, Bastion reminds me more of the SNES games I loved playing when I was younger, such as Secret of Mana and Terrianegma. Bastion was a refreshing change from all the games made of muzzle flash and gunmetal grey. Every minute of bastion was a joy. Expand
  26. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    The game play becomes secondary in this masterpiece where users with find themselves merely popping enemies to find out what happens next from the narrator. The difficulty scales quite interestingly at the players choosing. All round, the best game I have ever gotten on the XBLA!
  27. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    Bastion has a great story, deep rewarding combat and is a decent length. This game puts Torchlight to shame in every way. Definitely a top tier XBLA title
  28. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    I've blogged a bit about Supergiant Games' Bastion previously, and discussed most of its most prominent features; for those who still don't know much about this Xbox Live Arcade downloadable, well, let's just say it's an action RPG infused with style, atmosphere, and just enough poignancy to make the trip feel worth both your time and your hard-earned dollar. If there is only one XBLAI've blogged a bit about Supergiant Games' Bastion previously, and discussed most of its most prominent features; for those who still don't know much about this Xbox Live Arcade downloadable, well, let's just say it's an action RPG infused with style, atmosphere, and just enough poignancy to make the trip feel worth both your time and your hard-earned dollar. If there is only one XBLA downloadable game you get this year, you can bet Bastion should be one of your top choices.

    Recommended For:
    + Action RPG fans
    + Fans of games with style
    + Fans of immersive, story-based games
    + Anybody with an Xbox360

    Not Recommended For:
    - People with no souls.

    See the full review here: http://boredomsadvocate.blogspot.com/2011/07/review-bastion.html
    Expand
  29. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    I played about 4 hours and I'm halfway through the game now. I can say it's great. The first few hours left me disturbed, but after a while all the pieces came together (...!) in a magically effortless way. Even for rpg-noobs like me it's an accessible game, with a unique presentation. Only the aiming with some of the weapons could be improved. I give this a 9.25 out of 10
  30. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The team over at Supergiant Games, a studio which was created by a small team of ex-EA employees set out to show the gaming community that you donâ Expand
  31. Aug 3, 2011
    0
    Well i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. TheWell i can say wholeheartedly that this game blew me away, the words fresh and appealing jump to mind when i think of this game. Narration is utterly a fantastic little addition, it makes the game more engaging rather than just another arcade title button masher. You can see with the detail that the game dev's have put there heart and soul into this piece. It really does show. The floating sky routes focus on stunning colours and artistry, and when rolling around keep you on your toes lest you fall through the gaps. This game is totally justified by its 1200 MS Points Price tag, this is a must have title for arcade. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    89
    This game is a tribute to action-RPGs of SNES era. It's a cross-breed between Zelda and Secret of Mana. And it is cute as a button and it sounds like a charm. This little adventure is a must-buy for RPG enthusiasts. [Sept 2011]
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    In all it's familiarity the Diabloesque gameplay sucks you in, but it is the beautiful word, the brilliant music, and the genius voice over that keeps you going. Bastion might be a game, but it's much more a fascinating fairy tale told in real time.
  3. Sep 25, 2011
    61
    Teeth-grindingly annoying film noir-style narration over EVERYTHING you do. [Nov 2011, p.91]