Batman: Arkham Asylum Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1068 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeC.
    Aug 30, 2009
    6
    This game is way overrated. It doesn't suck, but there's NO WAY it deserves an average Metacritic score comparable to truly great games like Bioshock and Fallout 3. The game environment is beautiful, but disappointingly non-interactive. At least in the demo, Batman can only climb and grapple to a limited set of pre-determined grappling points. I think reviewers are going This game is way overrated. It doesn't suck, but there's NO WAY it deserves an average Metacritic score comparable to truly great games like Bioshock and Fallout 3. The game environment is beautiful, but disappointingly non-interactive. At least in the demo, Batman can only climb and grapple to a limited set of pre-determined grappling points. I think reviewers are going overboard with praise simply because the graphics and sound are so beautiful. However, I think the gameplay (at least in the demo) was pretty dull/average at best. Expand
  2. ClarkGriswold
    Nov 17, 2009
    6
    For every cool thing about this game there are two frustrating and/or annoying things. The coolest things being the villains and voice acting, the worst being the controls and fighting (I'm trying to recall a time I died that wasn't caused by performing an action that was contrary to my input). There was almost enough frustration to make me give up on the game altogether--it was For every cool thing about this game there are two frustrating and/or annoying things. The coolest things being the villains and voice acting, the worst being the controls and fighting (I'm trying to recall a time I died that wasn't caused by performing an action that was contrary to my input). There was almost enough frustration to make me give up on the game altogether--it was a *very* close call--and when I finished it, it was a big "meh." Expand
  3. HagenM
    Sep 20, 2009
    6
    I went into this game only because my friends begged me to give it a second chance as I was utterly unimpressed by the demo. I'll start off by saying that the character designs are fugly, the dialogue is atrocious, and the script writing is border-line cliche. However, these are just minor annoyances, not big problems. The biggest problem with this game is that it is B O R I N G. I went into this game only because my friends begged me to give it a second chance as I was utterly unimpressed by the demo. I'll start off by saying that the character designs are fugly, the dialogue is atrocious, and the script writing is border-line cliche. However, these are just minor annoyances, not big problems. The biggest problem with this game is that it is B O R I N G. There's really nothing fun to do in this game. The most fun I had was swinging from gargoyles and gliding from the top of buildings. Expand
  4. GargamelDeLaMorte
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    10? Please. Can you say overhype? I knew you could. Im almost done with it. Its good- definitely the best Batman and best comic book game thus far. Lemme break it down for you. PROS: Great look, very detailed. Expansive. Good play time. Sick gadgets. Slimmed down but great combat. Decent rogues gallery selection. Excellent boss battles. Some good variety in gameplay. CONS: Funky story 10? Please. Can you say overhype? I knew you could. Im almost done with it. Its good- definitely the best Batman and best comic book game thus far. Lemme break it down for you. PROS: Great look, very detailed. Expansive. Good play time. Sick gadgets. Slimmed down but great combat. Decent rogues gallery selection. Excellent boss battles. Some good variety in gameplay. CONS: Funky story line- I think they could have done something different to help tie in the villains. The Titan thing had its moments, but its kinda cheesy and ham-handed...There could have been a better selection of rogues as well- top tier like Mr. Freeze, Two-Face, Mad Hatter...even if not boss battles, it wouldnt have been hard to squeeze in some cameos-biographies and homages just didnt cut the mustard...also lets face it, the Riddlers riddes were corny. Less is more- a few well concieved and memorabe deathtraps/puzzles would have really displayed how badass the Riddler is, with or without an appearance...Finally, the stealth aspect was not very satisfying- AI was decent..but not nearly as challenging as they HYPED it up to be. I was expecting more use of the environment... resourcefulness in taking out henchmen(dropping or throwing cables, boxes on them, knocking guns from their hands****)...when you were surrounded by 7 crooks the only real method of taking them out was to single them out one by one and cape glide- a fully interactive environment would have been much more fun- - also, gargoyles felt like a real cop out, as did detective mode...seeing enemies instantly through cowel vision mode made gameplay less gripping... I definitey think it would have felt more like Batman to do things the old fashioned way- after all, thats what sets Batman apart from other superheroes in the first place! Conclusion: Can't get everything right I guess...Dont get me wrong, theres a lot to like here, but again, ive got some well founded gripes as well. Its frickin good. But not 10 good- BAA is definitely a 7 good. The game is not without some grating flaws-However, I do not regret buying it. Expand
  5. TimS
    Aug 26, 2009
    5
    This is the most overhyped game of the summer. There's nothing new here you haven't played before and the character animations are so slow that you feel like you're playing in molasses. Play the demo or rental and save your money for something better that isn't as insanely hyped.
  6. RichardP.
    Sep 15, 2009
    5
    Massive over-hype! Lovely graphics and design, but very little actual gameplay mechanic. I feel as though there's only really 3/4 hours of good gameplay in this game. There after, it repeats and repeats itself to the point of boredom. For those that will disagree with me, that bit with Killer Croc? The game wants you to walk very slowly and throw your batarang a few times. This Massive over-hype! Lovely graphics and design, but very little actual gameplay mechanic. I feel as though there's only really 3/4 hours of good gameplay in this game. There after, it repeats and repeats itself to the point of boredom. For those that will disagree with me, that bit with Killer Croc? The game wants you to walk very slowly and throw your batarang a few times. This section of the game is like pulling teeth. The Scarecrow bits are impressive the first time, but then become cheap and repetitive. The Riddler's riddles are usually just a matter of finding the one out-of-the-ordinary object in a room and focusing on it. Unless you put a huge amount of time into tracking them all down, you're subjected by the Riddler's crappy taunts throughout. Stealth bits are cheap and repetitive. The enemies are boring and repetitive. Poison Ivy boss fight is awful and ridiculous. The final boss fight is boring, mostly just more thugs. Over all though. The design and voice acting is excellent and the bit where Batman relives his parents death is gaming magic ..... but sadly it's the only memorable bit. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I picked this game up because of all of the Arkham City hype going on and I thought I would see what I missed out on Batman's first Arkham adventure from two years ago. I didn't miss anything. I've played enough of these games with Ninja Gaiden, God of War, and Splinter Cell that I don't find them enjoyable anymore and remembered why I passed on this one. It's just your basic hit the "A"I picked this game up because of all of the Arkham City hype going on and I thought I would see what I missed out on Batman's first Arkham adventure from two years ago. I didn't miss anything. I've played enough of these games with Ninja Gaiden, God of War, and Splinter Cell that I don't find them enjoyable anymore and remembered why I passed on this one. It's just your basic hit the "A" button until you get to your next cut-scene, mash the "X" button until everyone is defeated, and then figure out which particular object you need to use to move to the next area. This "trial and error" progression to make it through the next level is as old as the first Castlevanyia. I prefer the games that allow more than one way to complete a mission and allows improvising instead of resigning to the game developers single choice of progression. Why can't I use that particular duct work to swing over to an area when not to long ago I had to use a similiar duct work to progress before? This idiotic reasoning breaks the immersion of the story and constantly reminds you that you are only playing a game that has very limiting rules. These are the reasons why I stopped playing games like this about five years ago. I'm thankful that games have evolved into more engaging experiences like Assassin's Creed, Mass Effect, Red Dead Redempton, and so on. And one more thing....whose idea was it to make a Batman that cannot disarm an enemy?! What are those weapons ducted-taped to their hands? Expand
  8. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a fun and worth while single player game managing to make good use of the Batman francise. The game play is fairly fun but eventually becomes too much of a button masher, while it does look cool to bash the crap out of a mob of bad dudes it unfortunately runs on autopilot most of the time. The story is pretty basic but works decently, the main problem I have with itBatman Arkham Asylum is a fun and worth while single player game managing to make good use of the Batman francise. The game play is fairly fun but eventually becomes too much of a button masher, while it does look cool to bash the crap out of a mob of bad dudes it unfortunately runs on autopilot most of the time. The story is pretty basic but works decently, the main problem I have with it is the same problem I have with most comic book 'franchises' in that as it is a franchise there never seems to be an end, we know that batman is never going to die (if he did they will just bring him back to life), he will never totally defeat his enemies either, they will always come back again and again which does water down the story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  9. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    This game is fun, but needs a lot of work.

    PROS
    -Nice combat
    -good graphics

    CONS
    -boring
    -poor story
    -long and confusing gameplay
    -bad controls
  10. MorganS
    Oct 20, 2009
    7
    A good game for sure, but not perfect. There are elements which I like; the graphics (the ive seen best on 360 possibly), the controls (very fluid), combat animations, the stealth gameplay, the voice acting, the characters. However, I feel the game is dragged down by several factors. For me, it felt a bit too linear, and a bit too short. I guess thats okay, but it didn't really A good game for sure, but not perfect. There are elements which I like; the graphics (the ive seen best on 360 possibly), the controls (very fluid), combat animations, the stealth gameplay, the voice acting, the characters. However, I feel the game is dragged down by several factors. For me, it felt a bit too linear, and a bit too short. I guess thats okay, but it didn't really thrill me in anyway, and i didnt find myself having too much fun whilst playing it. I really didn't and still don't feel like replaying it any time soon. The playground (consisting of Arkham island) was far too small. I was really hoping for at least a small additional portion of gotham city, but unfortunately we are restricted to the island and its asylum. Limited fun is to be derived from the challenge mode and the riddle solving (which I found incredibly boring) is quite tedious (but thankfully optional). The combat was overly simplified, although it does look good, but i mostly found myself simpling slamming X and Y simultaneously, and again I found that fairly tedious. The fighting againt armed opponents is considerably more satisfying, requiring more planning and reflex, which I did enjoy. The selection of gadgets was on the small side, most of them being fairly similar in my opinion, even after unlocking all the upgrades. Also, there is no opportunity to ride the batmobile or the batjet (or whatever its called), even though they are featured briefly. Perhaps the worst aspect of the game are the boss battles. They were instantly forgettable, and also simple but repetitive. If you are a batman game, you will enjoy this game. If you don't, but enjoy superhero games, it probably is worth buying, as there aren't many superhero games out this generation of any worth. I would have been far more impressed by a game larger in scope; Spider Man The Movie 2 remains my favourite superhero game, maybe its just cas im more of a marvel fan. So overall I rate a 7, which i think is accurate for most gamers (add 1 or 2 to the score if you are a fan of batman or dc). Expand
  11. DanielD.
    Sep 1, 2009
    7
    I'm very surprised at how critically acclaimed this game has become. Everything about this new Batman game is good, but could be better. For starters, the fighting is undeniably repetitive, including both the style in which you have to take down goons, and the goons themselves. The graphics are very good, but lacks variety completely. Most of the game takes place in dark, grayish I'm very surprised at how critically acclaimed this game has become. Everything about this new Batman game is good, but could be better. For starters, the fighting is undeniably repetitive, including both the style in which you have to take down goons, and the goons themselves. The graphics are very good, but lacks variety completely. Most of the game takes place in dark, grayish corridors and rooms, with little visual impact once you've grown accustomed to the realism. Gotham City sits in the background ready to be explored, but is left out of the game completely. The game also introduces you to the Batmobile from the very start, but never incorporates it into the game except for videos. There are multiple bosses that you don't even fight; Harley Quinn is a main character throughout much of the game, yet you don't even fight her. You simply kill a bunch of the same goons as always, and a video then catches her and locks her up for you. Overall, I've still enjoyed playing the game, but with a Metacritic score of 92 out of 100, you would expect scenery variety and combat that rivals games like God of War, and the exploration of a game like Tomb Raider. It just doesn't live up to the hype it's generated, although hardcore Batman fans should still make it a must-play. 75 out of 100 for me. Expand
  12. DavidB
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    I wanted to love this game, but instead, I merely like it. The graphics are excellent, if a bit familiar to anyone who's played multiple Unreal Engine 3-based games. The control is very responsive, and while you can get through most hand-to-hand battles with simple button-mashing, if you take the time to get the combos/moves down, the game's fisticuffs can be very satisfying. I wanted to love this game, but instead, I merely like it. The graphics are excellent, if a bit familiar to anyone who's played multiple Unreal Engine 3-based games. The control is very responsive, and while you can get through most hand-to-hand battles with simple button-mashing, if you take the time to get the combos/moves down, the game's fisticuffs can be very satisfying. The AI is a bit uneven, though. The unarmed thugs don't stand a chance against Batman and his arsenal of gadgets and fighting expertise, even when they outnumber him 8 to 1. However, all of the gun-toting goons are absolute deadeyes, and hardly ever miss (even at long distance at night against a moving target wearing black and grey). The game's biggest disappointment has to be the boss battles. Most of them are overly simplistic, and the ones that are a little more challenging can usually be overcome through simple trial and error. The Killer Croc encounter has to be the most disappointing and anti-climactic of the bunch. I played through much of the game with the inevitable encounter with Croc in the back of my mind, only for it to be reduced to a few batarang flings and a lot of running. I picked this game up based on its high Metacritic score and the fact that I'm a Batman fan in general, and while I don't regret the purchase, I think the developers left a lot on the table with this one, and hopefully the sequel will flesh the experience out a bit more. Expand
  13. BrianM.
    Aug 26, 2009
    7
    The review are right in saying that it's this years "Bioshock." It's an average at best game released during the summer's long drought of game releases, so the reviewers go nuts over it. If it were released 3 months from now, it would not have scored this high. Same with Bioshock. Lots of style but repetitive and boring gameplay.
  14. CarloT
    Aug 31, 2009
    7
    The game was great, best graphics ever, the plot really really good. But the boss fights? I was extremely disappointed by the fact that we had: The Joker, Harley Quinn, Croc, Bane, Scarecrow, The Riddler and Poison Ivy, and we only get to fight Bane, Poison Ivy, and the joker. The other "boss fights" are just either evading (croc and scarecrow) or looking at them as they shoot you and The game was great, best graphics ever, the plot really really good. But the boss fights? I was extremely disappointed by the fact that we had: The Joker, Harley Quinn, Croc, Bane, Scarecrow, The Riddler and Poison Ivy, and we only get to fight Bane, Poison Ivy, and the joker. The other "boss fights" are just either evading (croc and scarecrow) or looking at them as they shoot you and talk (Harley Quinn). This was a bit frustrating, I went several hours playing, wishing for a boss fight (ever since Bane got pushed to the water), and to my surprise, the next boss fight was 10 minutes before the final boss fight! Also, the first scarecrow scene was great, but they overdid it, I mean, 1 time = good, 2 times = still good, 3 times... errmm ok...? 2 times and 1 fight would've been perfect, but no, croc had to eat him. And croc fight, it's not a fight, you're just running away, avoiding him, and when it seems like you'll fight him, you just press one button to make him fall down in the trap. They could've done so much with the enemies, hope Arkham Asylum 2 improves on this. Expand
  15. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Batman: Arkham Asylum, is a game that feels like you control the fighting sequences in a beautiful world with a leading character that performs true to his name. Yet there are some issues that edge me with this title. Despite a great experience, the world's space is limited and you tend to find yourself back tracking through areas time and time again. Some challenges the game provide areBatman: Arkham Asylum, is a game that feels like you control the fighting sequences in a beautiful world with a leading character that performs true to his name. Yet there are some issues that edge me with this title. Despite a great experience, the world's space is limited and you tend to find yourself back tracking through areas time and time again. Some challenges the game provide are quite entertaining and require some thought and, the game often reminds you that you are a man in a suit, yet it felt like something was missing from this title.
    A sense of urgency is often attempted to manifest, yet it never really develops. It is more a relief to finish the plot line than a satisfaction. The boss fights I considered less challenging than grunts, which was a vital flaw in this title.
    Expand
  16. Nov 29, 2013
    6
    This game was frustrating to play. I say "was" because I didn't bother to finish it and turned it in for credit for another, different game. During the fighting (Poison Ive and the Party at the Penitentiary fighting) the control input vs. Batman's reaction was so frustrating that I gave up playing.
    If you want to play a Batman game I would recommend skipping over this game and get
    This game was frustrating to play. I say "was" because I didn't bother to finish it and turned it in for credit for another, different game. During the fighting (Poison Ive and the Party at the Penitentiary fighting) the control input vs. Batman's reaction was so frustrating that I gave up playing.
    If you want to play a Batman game I would recommend skipping over this game and get Arkham City instead.
    Arkham City is sooo much better!
    Expand
  17. May 10, 2013
    7
    Maybe the best (as welll as the only) comic-book based game I ever played. The combat/combo is extremely well-done and fun to play. You actually feel you are THE batman here. The story/level design is also unexpected excellent. The boss fights are interesting and i love all of them. But the game is too short and although I enjoy it I dont want to replay this game, which lowered the scoreMaybe the best (as welll as the only) comic-book based game I ever played. The combat/combo is extremely well-done and fun to play. You actually feel you are THE batman here. The story/level design is also unexpected excellent. The boss fights are interesting and i love all of them. But the game is too short and although I enjoy it I dont want to replay this game, which lowered the score of this game for me. Expand
  18. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    To be brutally honest here, having played this game on other systems, I was very disappointed with the Xbox 360 version. In all fairness this game without knowledge of how much better it was on another system really deserved at best a 4, maybe less. The problems that where rampant achievements would not be acknowledged making you go back and repeat something over and over if you wantedTo be brutally honest here, having played this game on other systems, I was very disappointed with the Xbox 360 version. In all fairness this game without knowledge of how much better it was on another system really deserved at best a 4, maybe less. The problems that where rampant achievements would not be acknowledged making you go back and repeat something over and over if you wanted credit, just sad all day long on Xbox. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 78
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 78
  3. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. What may be one of Batman’s worst nights of his life may end up being one of many players’ best experiences of the year.
  2. This is certainly not a game for just Batman fans, comic fans or action fans; this is a game that everyone should play and thoroughly enjoy. It looks beautiful, plays like a dream and has a superb mix of action, stealth and detective elements. The combat is intuitive, flexible and surprisingly deep too. Give this game a go and you will not be pleasantly surprise, you will be blown away.
  3. Batman Arkham Asylum is a product of absolute value that can count on a cast of colorful characters to build a great game, really fun. The greatest strengths of the production lie in the gameplay built around what are the real capabilities of Batman, mixing action and stealth section, but always related with the universe from which have been extrapolated. Rocksteady's game is certainly the new standard for understanding how produce games under license, adapting for videogaming the very spirit of this historic character.