User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1275 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    It's Batman. In Gotham City (At least a large part of it) And it has Mark Hamill's swan song (seemingly) of the Clown Prince of Crime. If you love video games, if you love comic video games, and most of all, if you love the goddam batman, than I don't need to explain why this game is so damn good, just see for yourself. BUY IT.
  2. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    A truly stunning game that is a completely worthy sequel to the amazing Arkham Asylum. What the story lacks in focus is made up for with a huge amount of content and detail within the city itself. This game also contains the best sub-quests of any game because they feel like whole plots within themselves. A massive lifespan and stunning looks makes this game a must buy.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This game simply is a fantastic and flawless follow up to Arkham Asylum. We as gamers sometimes take for granted how difficult it is to follow up one of the best games produced for any platform. In Batman: Arkham City, Rocksteady has done an incredible job. A few new features have been added. New gadgets give you an array of choices when fending off enemies. If you played the previous game, gliding and grappling has a similar feel but features a new way to attack foes and to navigate the immense city. The combat "free flow" system is once again near perfection and crushing foes to senseless piles of meat never gets old. The voice acting is superb as was the first. I certainly am going to miss Mark Hamill (aka Luke Skywalker) as he said that this is his last voice act for The Joker. Here is a pretty cool vid I found on youtube on his Joker voice acting. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gBWpWwIBKw. He's phenomenal as are Quinn, Strange, Catwoman and the others. The story is engrossing, addictive and keeps your interest with worthwhile side missions that gently divert you from the main story. It is extremely easy however to refocus to the main story at any time. Boss fights are challenging but somewhat predictable at any difficulty and the new "game plus" mode will challenge the most experienced gamers skills. The online "challenge modes" are a little repetitive as you fight waves of enemies. It is good however to hone in your hand to hand combat skills. This game has a monster amount of Riddler trophies that make you use your noggin, some of them are extremely difficult to solve but are extremely rewarding once you solve them. In conclusion this game will immerse you with it's genius storytelling, voice acting, free flow combat system, graphics and game mechanics. A genuine GOTY contender and a must play! Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Great story, stellar voice cast, and brilliant setting, Arkham Asylum was one of the sleeper hits of 2009, and Rocksteady showing once more they can make it with the big boys. This game is a must for any gamer, not just comic junkie, loads of variety, and hard to put down, my only complaint is that they could have made the world slightly bigger, as opening upgrades means you can get across it a little too quick, but the future is bright for this franchise.. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    loved the first one and this is an even better version of that. More areas to explore and cool enhancements, a must have game for any xbox owner. The combat alone is worth the price of entry alone. It is so fluid and fun just bashing people with their own bats or throwing a smoke pellet and flee from incoming bullets. A great game with a great story !
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of the year hands down. I still cannot believe how great it was and the way they delt with mark hamills finishing of his career brought a teat to my eye like how toy story 3 did
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    Arkham City takes many aspects of Asylum, and improves them substantially. The combat has been refined ever so slightly to make the free flow even better, and there are more gadgets to play with this time around. the setting of Arkham City is reasonable immersing and the visuals are very nice. Voice acting is phenomenal with the Joker stealing the show. However, the story this time through doesn't feel as engrossing. Much of the time while playing it, I felt like the devs were giving me objectives to do just to fill up gameplay time without any actual substantive meaning. In fact, the majority of the game had to do with the same mission and inconveniences that kept hampering Batman's progress which the player has to play an hour more to overcome. On the contrary, Arkham Asylum had a brilliant sense of pacing and discovery, and nothing felt repetitive.

    Overall, City is a good sequel to Asylum in terms of gameplay, visuals, and voice acting, but lacks the great pacing and intrigue of the first game's story.
    Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing this is 10times better than arkham asylum the map was bigger the graphics were amazing the gameplay was phenomenal only thing that let's it down is replay value you do not get the same feeling it feels completely different overall amazing
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Do yourself a favor. Buy this game. So much fun. Combat is amazing when you get really good at it. I was amazing at arkham asylum, so the new enemy types really add a new degree of challenge. Love this game.
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    After playing Arkham Asylum, I had high expectations for Arkham City. All were met as Arkham City is better than its predecessor in all ways. First off, flying is amazing! With a pull of the right trigger, you dive down and gain speed. When you pull up, that speed is transferred into forward momentum. After getting the grapnel boost upgrade, experienced flyers can fly indefinitely. The story? It's full of twist, turns, and not to mention cameos from Batman's old friends. Catwoman is playable, however she doesn't steal the show. My only issue is that if you buy B:AC used, you have to pony up $10 to play as her. She has her own arsenal of weapons, and is definitely fun to play as. The story is fairly short, but not only is there a new game +, there's a whole lot of side missions! Most are easy, but the Riddler's side mission will take quite a while. Not only are there 400 trophies/challenges, but he has 5 hostages hidden all over Arkham for you to save. Once you finish that, there are a multitude of "campaigns" to play through (Essentially the challenge maps from AA). A must buy, as well as a GOTY contender. Keep it up Rocksteady! Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    The best game I've played this year so far. The game has a brilliant and engaging storyline, tons of gadgets, a fight system that has been refined and so many great characters from the universe that it truly is remarkable. For me to give something a 10 is a pretty big deal, I don't throw them around. But this game is addictive, immersing, clever, beautiful and huge. The main story is a little brief but with what feels like a thousand side missions it makes it feel so much bigger. The addition of Catwoman is great, she is unique and has her own little story. Though this is where my only gripe with the game is. She feels a little bit tagged on, her story is way too short, she has no gadgets worth anything except her whip. Her combat though is way smoother and faster than Batman's which makes her combat enjoyable. Her stealth element is so frustrating at times, so in respect to Catwoman more of her in every way.

    But Batman is perfected, he is better than ever and considering this is Batman's story all credit goes to the game for making Batman so perfect. Now I'm gonna go glide around the city, as I have perfected how to do it and its so much fun!
    Expand
  12. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game is so good I actually had to punch myself in the face to stop playing so that I could make the experience last longer. Being Batman never felt so good (except for that one Halloween in '95 when I got really drunk). There are tons of gadgets to play around with, a huge city to explore, tons of villains, cat woman's butt, and loads of puzzles to solve. Once I wake up from my coma, I'll be playing this game again and once I beat it I'll boot it back up for new game plus. Expand
  13. Nov 12, 2011
    6
    I had a lot of fun with this game. The reason I am giving it a 6 out of 10 is because I am getting really tired of game developers charging money for DLC content that should have been a part of the original game. I'm not paying for the Nightwing Bundle Pack - that should have been part of the game. Same thing with the upcoming Robin Bundle Pack. ALL of these should have been part of the game we're paying $60 for. Arkham City was a decent game - but the developers are getting way too greedy. Waaaay too greedy. People need to start pushing back against these developers who hold back content and then release it as DLC less than two weeks after the game comes out. Ridiculous. Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This game was very exciting. I dropped tears of joy when i first unwrapped the game. I then started to play it, and again dropped tears of joy. :D TOT worth $ 66.40
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Now this is a game you should be spending your money on.
    You know what? I am just so sick, just so sick of publishers pumping out games that are the same game every year just to make money and not caring of how fun it is, and yet everybody just keeps buying it, again and again,and year after year.
    But once so often a game comes along that is quite the opposite. The latest to fot this
    title is Batman Arkham City. This game has it all, fun and varied game-play: Check, a amazing story and unforgettable ending: check, and most importantly, different from its predecessor!
    This game builds on everything that worked in the first game and builds upon it to make more fun and varied, also even though there wasn't much wrong with Arkham Asylum, it fixes the things that you didn't even notice that were bad to make a unforgettable experience. Not only is it the best super hero game ever, but its one the best games EVER!
    But sadly it will never sell as high as COD :(
    I really think the gaming industry needs to grow up.
    Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    I LOVE this game. its a great combination of stealth and action, its got a long story and hours of side missions. There's tons of things to unlock, ranging from 3D art to character bios, and to unlock these you have to collect riddler trophies. Thinking like a detective while beating up crooks seems like a wierd combination, but Rocksteady masters it. And the challenge room have never been better.

    In Short
    + Epic story
    + Good bosses
    + Hours of side missions
    + Lots of challenge room that never gets old
    +- Will leave you hungry for more

    i dont always give 10/10, but when i do. its BATMAN!
    Expand
  17. BoG
    Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Still fun, but it feels like the devs made a city, threw a bunch of villains in it and plopped Batman in the middle of it all. The environment and the characters who inhabit it lack cohesion. I don't feel nearly as emotionally or intellectually engaged because of it. Also there's an overwhelming amount of **** to do.
  18. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios released the critically acclaimed hit Batman: Arkham Asylum and in doing so set the gold standard by which all superhero games hence forth would be compared to.

    Now, just over two years later, the developer has released the next chapter in their Batman saga, Batman: Arkham City. After promising to improve an already impressive first effort, does Arkham City
    deliver high-flying thrills and a gripping tale, or would it fall victim to the dreaded sophomore slump syndrome?

    Taking place six months after the events which occurred in Arkham Asylum, Arkham City drops you in the middle of a city-turned-prison on the brink of total chaos. Donning the legendary cape and cowl, you, playing as Batman, are immediately thrown into the turmoil and tasked with getting to the bottom of whatâ
    Expand
  19. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Fantastic super hero game with lots to see and do. A must have in any collection. would like to have seen more in the multilayer side of things but that isn't a big issue with a game of this quality.
  20. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is simply the total package Batman fans, and avid video game players. It improves over Arkham Asylum in every way. Just to name a few; Arkham City is a huge environment, with enemies that constantly chatter, making the city seem real. There are more gadgets, and none of them feel contrived. The Catwoman DLC (free) is a blast. The voice actors of this game are the definitive voices for the characters, and it will be an immense challenge for anyone to ever top Mark Hamill as Joker. But the most important reason to play the game is to experience the story. Without spoiling anything, events occur that could never happen in the mainstream DC Universe, and it is fascinating to watch the events play out. For a casual fan, I recommend trying the combat once if you're on the fence about buying the game-the combat system in this game is perhaps the most fluid in any action game. For the hardcore fans, there are plenty of Easter Eggs. Overall, Arkham City is a simply astounding experience. I can not recommend it highly enough. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    Remember when a sequel was supposed to innovate? I loved Arkham Asylum, and although the sandbox feel in City is nice, I don't feel, with the other games out there (Skyrim), that I need to play through this. A longer production time and more innovation would have been nice.
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Arkham City is big to explore, the side missions are awesome, main quests will take about 15 hours, and then there are Riddler Trophies, Challenge Maps and New Game+. The story is fantastic and surprising as it rolls, and many of Batman's comic books characters are at least mentioned. Graphics are good, not one of the bests around, but still stunning. Gameplay is not perfect, and you certainly will take time to know what you are supposed to do, but this is definetively a great game.
    Gameplay:7/10
    Graphics:9/10
    Story:10/10
    Lifetime: 10/10
    OVERALL: 9/10
    Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    Overall: amazing game. It struck a good balance of keeping the things that worked in Arkham Asylum the same, but changing enough things that this game felt new and better. Some of the villains felt a little diluted because there were so many, but it's a minor gripe. The fighting style is something you will either love or hate, and falls in the "easy to learn but hard to master" cliche. The primary story line felt a little short, but there is enough to do around the City that keeps you busy for a long time. This game was a blast and worth every penny. Expand
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This game feels more like DLC then a new game. They also managed to cram every villain possible into this and it really clutters up the story. Also, like all negative reviews I give...no element of multiplayer in 2011? Come on..so much opportunity with this, batman and robin co-op or a batman vs villain mode. It's really amazing that after paying a monthly subscription to use your consoles online service the only thing you can do with it in most cases is just buy more dlc for the game. Expand
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    A great sequel. By sequel I mean it in every sense of the word. Arkham City has not recreated the wheel as we know it when we drive. Arkham City is the same prison type setting for a game that has brought respect for comic book video games. New villains, a bigger prison, and more gadgets. The combat is the same with a few more enemies to make you mad when you don't get that 30+ hit combo. The best part about Arkham City is moving from point A to point B. You feel like you are Batman and not just some Street Fighter type character. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    What a great game, everything has been improved upon since the original. I was quite amazed of what seemed like an endless stream of combos and gadgets. And the Combat System is the best of its class, the animations and work gone into it are truly breathtaking - even on Secondary Characters such as Catwoman. I thoroughly enjoyed this game from beginning to end, and although they were not up to par with the likes of Assassin's Creed, I still found the Side Missions quite entertaining. Expand
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Overall, very nice! I noticed how they took the previous game AA and recycled it, but to my surprise they avoided the same repetitive **** as COD and added ALOT more content to make it feel as if it was a different game.
  28. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game takes everything that was great about Arkham Asylum and raises the bar in every aspect. More quests, more gadgets, an open world and even better combat controls. The graphics, sound, and gameplay are basically flawless. The story reminds you of something that you could really see yourself reading in a comic book and the art direction of Arkham makes you feel like you are really in a dark and twisted place. The Catwoman story arc integrated into the main story was actually a quite a surprise, it didn't feel like dlc and felt like it was integrated into the game very well. This game is by far the best game ever based on a comic book character, if only other developers would take the same approach with their licensed franchises the gaming world would be a better place. Easily one of the top 5 games of 2011, and quite possible the GOTY in my opinion. It's been a long time since a game has grabbed me and kept my attention the whole way through and left me wanting more while still feeling complete. Expand
  29. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Amazing as the first. You finally get to use most of the abilities and move sets which weren't really designed for Arkham Ayslum. Great story with sometimes even better sidequests like the riddlers. Well worth the money.
  30. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Arkham City is the Batman game. The learning curve is around 1/2 hr and you are in. Its cinematic, gets harder over time and becomes more awesome. Any new or casual gamer like me will love it. It is so far the best game I played this year.
  31. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Okay so this is what I think about this game. It is very good, HOWEVER, I do not personally believe that it deserves all these amazing reviews by the critics. While there are some features that are great in this game, it feels too much like the old one. It is still the same combat system other than maybe a couple changes. And all of the side missions feel so distant from the rest of the game. I recommend it, but I would suggest just a rental for this. Expand
  32. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    i love batman , this game is what the fans have been waiting for a batman game that does not fall short, it has a ton of villains and side missions ,trophy collections and the ranked matches.this game offers so much to do in a game .the reason why this game is perfect.this game deserves a 10 because of how awesome the game is , the story, and the controls, it makes you feel like batman himself.highly recommend this game to anyone. you will have continuous fun. Expand
  33. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game was pretty solid. It continued the awesomeness that Arkham Asylum started. This game brought in a few new characters (familiar faces) to the series, like cat woman, robin etc. The fighting is epic as you just punish multiple enemies at once and the counter button is pressed a million times. The story is great, specially if your a fan and follow the series on tv, movies or comics. The graphics are impressive , specifically the charter models and scenery. I love the grappling hook and soaring throughout the city looking for trouble. This is a great buy and I recommend it to any one thats looking for a great plat former slash kick ass game. Expand
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Game of the year. Improves upon Arkham Asylum in exery aspect. Great main story and effectively developed side missions. The unlockable rewards like character trophies, concept art, interview tapes, bios all adds to the game's epic feel and it feels like a homogenous well conceived product. Getting all the Riddler trohies and challenges is fun and makes you use all your gadgets and your brains :)
  35. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Finally......I get to be batman! This is the game you have been waiting for ever since you saw your first batman movie. Great story, amazing game play, and you will never get bored.
  36. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game sets the example of what a game should be. A solid story, solid game play, smooth combat and excellent mechanics. 1 of my very few flaws with this game is that it is too short. I completed the story in less than 7 hours. Sure, new game + lets you replay the story with all previous unlocks but where's the fun in that? Maybe after a few weeks of parting with the game sure.
    The
    variation in villains in this game compared to its predecessor, Arkham Asylum, is very well thought out and they tie in with the story almost perfectly. Although people say that this is just a larger version of Arkham Asylum, I cannot disagree more. Sure, it's an open world game (almost like a sandbox style) whereas Arkham Asylum was almost on a linear, bottleneck path but Arkham City is so much more than that. There are tonnes of things to do such as its side missions that introduce some less heard of villains into the game, the Riddler challenges and even another characters ability to free roam once the story is complete. Speaking of the Riddler, no Batman game is complete without the Riddler and his challenges.
    Challenges also make a return with more variation, characters and tasks to complete to earn those precious stars.
    Robin also makes an appearance in the story but sadly, it's only a brief moment. A robin section in this game would make it a whole lot better and add on more precious hours of gameplay.
    Expand
  37. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. Just can't quit playing it. Only criticism is I would have liked a longer story and less Riddler trophies. They get kind of tedious after a while although I like the fact that the city is still populated with bad guys once the story is finished and you're going back to find all the Riddler trophies and riddles. In Asylum it got boring running around just trying to get the trophies with no action in between. Expand
  38. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing game, with a terrific story and varied, compelling gameplay. Much more freedom than Arkham Asylum, allowing Batman to sail over the city and go pretty much anywhere. The open-world feel suits Batman's ethos to a tee, and you get the feeling you are the caped crusader himself doing his nightly rounds as you come across a poor helpless hobo being beaten up by a thug, knowing that only you can take him down.

    The combat is exhilarating and you have many more options than in the previous game as to how you nail your opponents. New gadgets such as the freeze grenade and the shock gun add spice to combat, while new enemies like the armoured thugs and the shielded thugs mean you have to approach each encounter in a new way. Some of the ways in which familiar enemies were realised was refreshing and thrilling, particularly the Penguin with his 'monocle', and (to me) new characters like the Mad Hatter and Deadshot added to the richness of the backstory. After finishing the main quest and the various side quests, there are still the 400 Riddler challenges to cope with, some of which are infuriating but many of which are a pleasure to take a few minutes to take stock until you work out the solution. It's this constant change of pace and tack that makes BAC such a great game, eschewing the monotony than can so often be the problem with any game, particularly button-mashing combat game, of which it would be easy to discard BAC as one. Don't be fooled: this is a mixture of combat, stealth, detective work, puzzle solving and some lite RPG elements. Something for everyone. My only two gripes would be that (1) the main story felt as if it could have been longer, and too many crucial moments (e.g. defeating major characters) are handled by cutscene, which is no-one's idea of fun, and (2) some of the villains don't get enough screen time--Two Face in particular is mishandled (apart from a brief encounter if you play as Catwoman). I hope some DLC is released which expands the adventure and allows us to wear Batman's cape once more and kick the snot out of some bad guys.
    Expand
  39. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Probably one of the best sequel games every made. Arkham City brings Batman OUT of arkham Asylum and gives you the free roaming capabilities that everyone was wanting from the first game. The combat has been tweaked and is better than ever. Nothing feels quite as good as countering three different goons at once and slamming all 3 of their heads on the ground. Rocksteady NAILED this one. I'm officially a fan, and will buy the next game they come out with JUST because of how well designed this one is. the voice work is perfect, the graphics are incredible, The side mission don't feel like side missions, the riddler trophies are back and more sinister than they used to be. There is a TON of batman fan service, and the ending to this game is one of the best i've seen in the past five years. Well done guys, i'm giving this game a well deserved 10 out of 10. Expand
  40. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    So I was frantic to get this game, I couldn't wait and when I found out I had to wait until 1:00pm to get my copy I got pissed off a bit, but It was definately worth the wait, for the majority, I have rated this game a 7 because after you have finished the game (what an ending, absolutley amazed at it, the cheek of rocksteady) it gets boring, the map isnt that big, there isnt much to explore, very very short side missions and no multiplayer, its so short, the campaign alone took me about 5 hours and yes it was an action packed 5 hours but a sad end, so what I would say to do, if you want this game buy it cheap because all you'll do is sell it after it's been completed, I have and Im now waiting for SKYRIM (my bets on game of the year goes to this not COD, its too repetitive)
    Need Help- email me on Maddc002@sgfl.org.uk and Ill gove you some tips PLEASE NO TIME WASTERS
    Expand
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Batman: Arkham City is, without a doubt, the best Batman game produced so far. I'm a bit undecided on the combat gameplay as I found it a bit too simple. I can't think of a better system that would incorporate Batman's gadgets as well as the current system did though. The combat can get a little repetitive 3/4ths through the game but there are a ton of other elements in the game that make up for it. If you don't feel like following the storyline, there are a lot of side missions to cover. Discovering and solving all the Riddler challenges alone will take quite a bit of time. If you're a Batman fan, you will drown in all the details developer Rocksteady has crammed into Arkham City. This is a must-buy for 2011. Expand
  42. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Oh man, what a game! I played Asylum three times, so my expectations for this game was very high! Needless to say it did not dissapoint, and delivered on every end. Everything from the gameplay, to the story, and even on down to just the tiny details of the batsuit and characters, was spot on! I love it, I love it, I love it!!! Mark Hammil gave one the greatest performances of his life, and should be honored that this was his last role (still skeptical about that one). Kevin Conroy delivered a fantastic gritty batman as well,and has stepped up his game to rightfully wear the cowl of batman. I cannot brag about this game enough, and if you are a batman fan you need to leave now and buy It. I give it a 10. Expand
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game is, as a whole, better than Arkham Asylum in every way. More gadgets, more combat options, more characters, crazy challenges, and a navigation system that is as much fun as Ultimate Spider-Man. The basic combat challenges seem easier to max, but this seems to be a way to balance the new Campaign mode for challenges. The game's pacing suffers a bit from the open world structure, but if you get all the trophies on your first playthrough you can self-pace a bit on New Game +, and it's substantially better that way. Overall, it's absolutely worth the money, buy it now. Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I don't know what to say about Batman: Arkham City except holy crap this is awesome.. If it can be done well I think a co-op sanbox mode with a "mini - campaign" would make a fantastic addition to everything this game offers for Batman 3..
  45. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    absolutely superb campaign. great game lovingly made, not quite the 30 hour marathon some would have you believe though. i got through the campaign and side missions in about 10 hours or so. not much replay value and not interested in the challenge maps (basically fighting a ton of enemies in areas that you already fought a ton of enemies in-game) if you like Batman youll love this! my biggest criticism would only be the guy who does the Penguin voice, where did you learn your english accent? watching Dick Van Dyke? awful and insulting. Expand
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is a 10 for me despite not being perfect it is such a great game.
    More gadgets
    bigger area to explore
    Even the collectable which can be a major grind in a lot of games are fun as some you need some special remote batarang skills to collect. The game is fair and challenging in parts but never so hard you want to give up. I'm still playing it now to get 100% I intend to start another
    game plus once I have solved all the riddler puzzles. If your a fan of the previous game you will love this. GOTY so far for me. Expand
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Just completed 100% the game and Riddler challenges and WOW.. Such a fantastic game! Easily as good as Arkham Asylum if not better. I kinda thought there was less stealth and gadget progression this time around, seemed to be a tad more fighting, but honestly the quotas between stealth, combat, exploration and puzzle solving were about the same. Wished the main story and side missions had been a bit longer too. Some of the side story villain missions seemed to cut a bit short. Also I have to say how unhappy I am with the Catwoman content unlock pass. I think that really wasn't necessary and it annoyed me a lot that I couldn't share the full content of this game with family members, or that in the future if my profile ever becomes compromised, I may not be able to access the Catwoman content at all. At the very least a PC style revoke tool should have been implemented so that we can move the content to different profiles and xboxs if we encounter problems. And don't believe it doesn't happen, my brother lost his profile to hackers and lost all of his GS and purchased DLC. But apart from that I thoroughly I enjoyed this game and would recommend it to any gamer, even if they aren't a Bats fan. Fantastic game. Congrats to the developers. Expand
  48. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Wow, Game of the Year? I sure hope so. Batman: Arkham City has literally changed my view on the superhero genre of videogames. I know EXPECT games to be this good, not only superhero ones, but all games should strive for a narration this well written with seamless gameplay.
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is worth retail price. Story is amazing. The only problem with this game is that it has too many gadgets and upgrades. A minor defect is learning the combos but you can not blame the game if you can't handle awesomeness that is way above average.
  50. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Fans of Arkham Asylum will find that this game is a great mixture of what was really good in the old series, in addition to adding enough content that you will feel like you actually own a new game (I'm looking at you MW3 *glare*). Gameplay - The fighting and predator gameplay have not changed in any substantial way from Asylum, but there also wasn't a need for it. The gameplay in this title still holds up very well and is very visually appealing. Chances are the people in the room will cheer just as much as you will after you pull off that 50x combo. Not to mention that, but with the addition of new characters that actually feel different from Batman, I feel a satisfactory update was made to gameplay. I noticed while using Catwoman that her counters and attacks seem a touch quicker than Batman's, coming at the price of gadget quantity.

    Story - It's good. Some may say it is short but I think given the scope of the game and what is happening, it doesn't waste any time and gets you the details you need and leaves. There is also a slew of side missions to be had, although some are great and some not so great.

    Sound - The voiceovers for the most part are very, very well done. You feel very immersed into the Batman universe. The only thing that can become repetitive is the thug banter as you swing around Arkham, but it is a small complaint.

    Replay Value? - Yes and no. It depends on how much you enjoy the game overall. I got a good majority through New Game Plus mode, which is a harder version of the game, but with my limited gaming time I didn't have the heart to finish it as of yet. The challenge modes however are quite fun and place you into the parts of the game that are arguably most fun; combat.

    In summary, get this game. Get it new, get it used if need be. If you like Batman in any way, you will get a kick out of this game. If you don't like him, you might be surprised.
    Expand
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game is for sure, the best game that i have ever come across. when i played it at the beginning, i was thinking wow this game should get 100 out of 10!. with the great boss fights of ras al ghul , solomon grundy and mister freeze it was looking fantastic. the side missions are great as well. my 2 favorites were deadshot and mad hatter. and at this point i was thinking it is the game of the lifetime. BUT THEN, appeared the final boss in CLAYFACE. for the game this good, CLAYFACE to be the final boss, it really just ruins it. altogether the game is deffinately the best i have ever played but the finish surely isnt. Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    If you liked Arkham Asylum, you'll like Arkham City. This Batman series of games is simply the best (only) superhero game franchise worth looking at. It's really amazing how many moves, gadgets and abilities they've given Batman and how simple they've made the controls to be able to pull those moves off. The graphics are beautiful, the stories of both games are great, and the audio is fantastic. The voice acting in the game are the same voice actors that made "Batman The Animated Series" back in the 90's. It's fantastic. Be sure to play Arkham Island first. The stories connect, and they're both highly worth it. Expand
  53. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    Very fun and entertaining, I loved the first one , and I was happily suprised hey were able to add features and not just put out another game on the name of the old one. Nice job, my son and I love it!
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Yet again Rocksteady has made this game one of the most amazing and memorable super villain game. A must buy for Batman fans, gameplay is splendid although there were quite too many riddles. But hey, that keep me busy for a while. Game is roughly ~20 Hrs including side mission. Really lots to do, challenge mode and Nightwing and Robin. However, you cannot free roam with any DLC characters such as Nightwing and Robin which is really unfortunate. Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    This game is beautifully done and exceeds all of my expectation for replay value. I find myself coming back, time and time again, to spend an hour or two searching for Riddler trophies or tackling challenge maps. This game has had my interest from the minute that I opened the case, and I don't see that changing any time soon.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    This game picks up where arkham asylum left off, the game feels bigger and there are a few new gadgets to make use of. The best addition to the game is the side quests that you can choose to participate in, one even setting up events for another game later on. Boss fights are much improved.

    The biggest draw for me was the batman characters, the way they are portrayed in these 2 games is
    excellent and really got me interested, the voice acting is top notch also. Theres plenty to do, see and take in here wether you're flying about the city or spending time pitching your wits against a much more involved riddler.

    A well reccomended game.
    Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing. Improves upon Asylum in every way possible. The open world feeling is great, you never feel confined to the small areas as in AA. You truly feel as badass as you should feel when you are Batman.
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Batman was one of the best possible super hero games out there. It brings action, "detective mode", thriller, and a new perspective of Batman. In my opinion, there could have been more changes such as expanding the map and adding more gadgets. However, unlike MOW 3, it had a lot of new differences and brought some more villians from the comic series.
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    I struggled to believe that 'City would be able to improve upon the formula of the previous game. However, upon playing the game these concerns were laid to rest relatively early, while I don't believe the opening moments had as much impact as it's predecessor, the moment the game opens up and allows you to glide around the converted center of Gotham makes this forgiveable. The combat engine has been improved, allowing for multiple counters, and much more variety of combat choices through quick-fire gadgets, alongside this the levelling system was streamlined quite well, only gaining a high enough level to attain all upgrades a little after completing the main story-line. Detective mode has also been slightly altered, switching off in combat situations, and if activated in combat, static will blank vision of the player for a brief moment, enough to make it counter-productive when it is not intended for use.

    As for the story itself, parts of it feel a little disjointed, with multiple objectives comprising of the main over-arcing story, parts felts shoehorned in a little, or cut down to fit constraints (project 10). The characters are all voiced, and animated well (shout outs to the two-face scene in the courthouse) with all characters feeling how they would be expected to, some even delivering a few pleasant surprises. In all it feels very comic book-esque, which may not be to everybody's tastes.

    The challenge maps provide a nice little bit of post game fun, letting the player refine and experiment with combat or stealth prowess, using various locations from the story as stages within which to play the challenges, while I can't honestly say it will provide countless hours of post story game play, it does provide a nice little way to play with the game without having to load up your story save and go searching for a huge group to fight or take down with stealth.

    Overall I really enjoyed the game, the Riddler challenges within story mode could have been a little less saturated, but things to do isn't really a big thing to complain about, while there is room for improvement, I don't believe it could have been achieved easily in this generation of consoles, and while Arkham City is a great, fun game, it is at the end of the day a sequel, therefore will never have the impact of the original without major design overhauls.
    Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I believe the only reason I kept playing this game is because it is Batman. If this was a title other then the famous name, the ratings would be much lower. It is your typical x button mash game, has terrible camera angles and the story line lasted me one night. There is absolutely no punching someone in the face unless you want to alert the other 15 guys in the room that you are there. Apparently Batman packs grenade punches that awaken the dead, lets not even get into how you have to kill "the stun gun guy", "the riot shield guy" and "the knife guy" all completely different ways. I found myself saying "my god this game is ridiculous" about 25 times. On a positive note, if you can get by all the defects this game has, it is fairly deep and will keep you playing with side missions. Just don't expect the main storyline to wow you. Definitely a rental game. Expand
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Great game due to the massive landscape and free-roaming capability. Extremely intriguing characters and a well-developed plot-line. As good as button-mashers come.
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The amount of polish, attention to detail, and respect of the Batman canon is inspired. A beautiful button-masher that teaches you to mash conservatively and in a timed fashion. The amount of content available out of the box is seemingly infinite, and somehow they even made Robin a total badass. The villains are plentiful, the leveling system is a blast, the gadgets are varied and abundant You owe it to yourself to check this out. Expand
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply amazing! I can't say i am surprised that this game was going for greatness, but it I am surprised it exceed my expectations! Can't stop playing! Now on to game plus mode :)
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Arkham CIty se siente como un concepto nuevo y viejo a la vez. De buenas a primeras la historia impresiona mas que cualquier otro cómic que haya salido, los gadgets de batman siguen siendo el fuerte de este y arkham city es gigante y llena de secretos. Pequeños detalles y referencias a personajes de la saga de batman hace que los fieles seguidores del caballero de la noche se sientan complacidos. De cualquier forma, el modo de juego no ha cambiado mucho, los controles no se sienten forzados y los graficos son grandiosos. La historia esta ligada con cliches clasicos de heroe, pero siempre sientes que son buenos. Los modos de investigacion suben bien, pero no lo puedo comparar con algo como Condemned 2, ya que en arkham city se trata de apuntar y descifrar.La historia es lo suficientemente larga y llena de historias secundarias, retos, logros, trofeos, como para hacer de este juego una digna compra. Expand
  65. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Greetings,

    Batman Arkham City is by far one of the best games that has been put out in the past years. I am giving it 10 out of 10. (Mainly, to counteract people say giving a 0/0, 3/10 etc. come on. If you don't like a game give a reasonable review, don't bomb a game)

    Is it a perfect game, no. Well no game is. But I am in love with it.
  66. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    Surpassing it's predecessor (Batman: Arkham Asylum) in every way, Arkham City is not only the best comic book-based video game ever made, but it is one of the best games of this console generation. Yes, that is a hefty statement to make, considering this puts it in the league of juggernauts such as Grand Theft Auto IV, Red Dead Redemption, and Fallout 3, but this praise is more than well deserved. From a visual aspect, the recreation of a gritty, dark, and depressing section of Gotham is a dream finally realized in amazing fashion. The quality of the environment, the detail of your surroundings, and the ability to finally take Batman out into a more open world than ever before all come to fruition. While the gameplay is not truly innovative, and does nothing radical that Asylum before hadn't already done, the controls feel polished, the mechanics solid, and the execution of the controls in game is very satisfying. Leaping from enemy to enemy, brawling your way through endless waves of varied enemy types, and delivering bone-crushing finishing blows is yet another satisfying part of the game's overall perfection.

    The story and voice acting, not to be overshadowed by the visual and gameplay aspects, are really what sells the game for me. Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill ARE the voice of Batman and Joker, respectively. They embody the characters and bring them to life in a story that is full of suspense, a few surprise twists, and an ending that will leave you feeling as if you had watched a dramatic tale come to it's close, all while playing a video game. One issue I would like to address is one that has been brought up in several of the negative reviews. Concerning Catwoman and her inclusion/absence from the game. YES she is included as a downloadable content add-on, but NO she is not a crucial part of the games story. If you buy the game new, you will get her, free of charge. If you buy the game used, and which to play as her, you will have to pay $10 to download her. Her part in the game is short, with 4 very quick chapters to play through. Only one of the chapters significantly adds to the story, but that addition comes in the form of a "choice" that is presented to the players that has to be made the right way in order for the story to proceed, so it's not a choice at all. The story can be played without her, as all of the depth to the story she brings come in the form of the cut-scenes she is in, which are not a part of her DLC.

    Overall, visually, gameplay-wise, and story-wise, Arkham City stands out as the best game released so far this year, and one of the best released in the last decade. A clear contender for Game of the Year, and well deserving of all it's accolades, it has surpassed all other licensed games before it, and will stand as a testament to what a truly perfect game can be.
    Expand
  67. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    From the get go, the action starts off very quickly. Within the first hour, you encounter many fan favorite villains and missions send you around the very gothic looking streets (and rooftops) of Arkham City. The main campaign lacks the race against time feel of the first game, but thats only because there is so much to do and get distracted by. The upgrades and gadgets make you feel more powerful than ever. The catwoman section play very well and are a welcome break from playing as Bats. What really sets this appart from its predeccessor are the side missions, which feel much more like side stories, as they have you hunting down gotham criminals in episodic installments. Visuals and combat haven't changed much, but the map size and the amount of on screen enemies are very impressive. With improved boss battles, more villains and a longer campaign, this is a fantastic sequel that should not be missed. Expand
  68. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    I love this game! I can't even begin to think of how much time I have put into Arkham City already, and there is plenty more to do! The open environment, great storyline, rich content. This game has it all, and is so much fun. The only gripe I have is that if I am downloading something and start this game, when the download is finished in the background, you will get bounced back to the main menu. Other than that it rocks! Possibly Game of the Year in my book. Expand
  69. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Subject to the games that are coming in the remainder of 2011, for me, Batman Arkham City is the game of the year, the quality of its graphics, the intelligence of its history, polished personalities of each character, the challenges well structured and perfect recreation of the mega-city prison, they do certainly a delight for gamers who follow the dark knight's adventures.Rocksteady has created a monster! Expand
  70. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This game is too good. This is potentially the best game of the year so far. There is no reason not to get it. The only flaw this game has is that it ends.
  71. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    My anticipation for this game was through the roof and when the first cutscene rolled and I beat people up as catwoman I knew this game was great. Playing as batman, it's not like being batman at all, you are batman. That's what makes this game worth a 10.
  72. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I find the negative reviews of this game amusing. The game is absolutely excellent. The voice acting is on par with the first game. The gadgets are better than the first. The story is quite intriguing (which was the big thing I was worried about going in - Batman:AA had a great story and I was worried about "sequel story syndrome" of making a cheesy story just to sell a new game). There are definite 'holy crap' moments in the plot (no spoilers here) where you are left asking- "did that just happen?' The story is great because it appeals to a wide audience while at the same time including many easter eggs for comic junkies like myself. I keep reading the description that this game is now a "sandbox" game. That isn't any more true than the first game- sandbox games (like GTA for example) have a 'go anywhere, do anything' mantra. While the open world of Batman:AC is much larger than the Asylum, you still are bound by definitely rules- you can't swim, you can't kill the cops, etc - therefore, NOT A SANDBOX GAME. I've read that the transportation in the game is tedious, which couldn't be further from the truth- I can get across the map in about a minute (those who can't just don't know the tools available to them). Ok, now that I've defended the game against the negative reviews, here are a list of positives-

    -Story on par with the first game (arguably better)
    -Great gadgets and fighting gameplay
    -Pretty graphics with great ambiance and light contrast to create the proper dark Gotham city feel
    -Enjoyable side missions
    -Unlike the first game, there is a reason to solve all of the Riddler puzzles (doing so advances your pursuit of one of the major side missions)
    -Aside from the story mode, the addictive challenge mode is back - and even more fun with Catwoman, Nightwing, and Robin, each of whom have unique fighting abilities and styles (they're not just 'skins' over the Batman fighting model)

    All I can say is- buy this game- for what it is, there is really nothing better in the genre, period.
    Expand
  73. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Game of the year for me, as with all games a few problems occur but ill get to them. Overall this game is very linear and simple except for the riddler challenges but it is very simple to play. This is what makes it great. Amazing graphics and physics, brilliant story and pacing and the best combat in a game yet. It is a thouroughly enjoying game and is definatly worth getting. All you have to do is defeat penguin and the fun really does begin. Expand
  74. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    This was a fun, single player game that retained all the best from Arkham Asylum and added a few new tricks!. This game sports a much bigger world to explore and a great environment that make the game seem endless. The riddler trophies are much harder to acquire and there are no riddler maps (you interrogate informants instead). If you are an achievement hunter, you will be in for the long haul!! There are 440 riddler trophies/challenges in the game to complete plus over 150 riddler challenges that stand alone outside the game. Further, to get 100% complete you must play through the game twice and complete all the side missions (some of which are incredibly annoying to find). For all casual gamers and fans of the batman comics this is a must play! Numerous villains, catwoman, and robin all make appearances in the game! Expand
  75. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    As a huge Batman fan, it's possible to say I am a little biased into liking this game more than I should, but it should help to know the only reason I am a Batman fan is Batman: Arkham Asylum. Before that game I had a lingering curiosity for Batman comics and like everyone else enjoyed the old movies as a kid and now greatly enjoy the Chris Nolan Batman movies.

    After Arkham Asyulm I was
    hooked. So when Arkham City was announced, there was very little to keep me from squealing like a school girl. The few weeks before it's release the sinking feeling crept into me, what if its not good? What if it contains a similar lack luster ending? Well now that it here and I have played it for a week I can safely say, This is single handedly the best game I have played all year and a glorious follow up to 2009's Arkham Asylum.

    Every aspect has been improved upon. Combat now flawlessly incorporates gadgets and new combo moves while feeling as fluid as ever. The player starts with just about every gadget from the first game and is able to upgrade them throughout. By the end, every gadget has multiple functions and juggling which way to tackle a new objective or puzzle is dependent on your knowledge of your equipment.

    Stealth action is back and can now be even more challenging than the extreme challenge maps from the first game without feeling frustrating. A player could get through the entire game relying on tactics from the first game, but new gadgets and moves make combat and stealth much more exciting and diverse.

    While the story missions are the primary draw and are given a great deal of effort and detail, its the side missions that really shine. Anyone who blows through the main game and skips the side missions are really missing out. They encompass everything from investigating a serial killer, to tracking an assassin, and working with former enemies. Fans of the comics will get the most out of these missions as they contain debuts of lesser known Batman villains. But non-comic readers will also enjoy these as they may also contain hints about possible sequels.

    On to the story. While the side missions tend to focus on one Bat-villain each, the story is packed so full of foes you would think they would be stepping on each others toes. But each villain has a purpose. Some might find these cameos not as fleshed out as they should be. A few well known villains are given very little screen time, But I think each character is handled expertly. Only being involved in the story in a natural way, never feeling jammed in or forced.

    What really pulls it all together is the voice acting. As usual Mark Hamill's Joker steals the show. But other voice actors from the Animated Series make their way in. Kevin Conroy continues to prove that he is the greatest actor to don the cape and cowl. Even the original Mr. Freeze voice actor returns adding a chilling calmness to my personal favorite villain in the game. The 5000 character limit isn't enough to go into detail about how great every character featured in the game is, but if there is one more worth mentioning it is the Riddler. After his defeat in Arkham Asylum Edward Nigma is back with a vendetta against the Bat. He now less resembles Jim Carrey's Riddler from the movies and is more reminiscent of Jigsaw.

    The first game contained Riddler trophies and riddles adding up to a whoping 240 collectibles. Well Rocksteady upped the ante with a staggering 460 trophies, riddles, and breakable objects. And each trophy is no easy snatch-and-grab affair. They are all part of some puzzle that needs to be solved before claiming your prize. Each trophy I came across felt like a portal puzzle only instead of only orange or blue, I had a utility belt full of possible solutions. Not to take into account that I may not have acquired the necessary gadget to solve the puzzle.

    The climax of the game is where words cease to be able to convey its quality. If the ending was the first games greatest shortcoming, then the ending is the sequel's crowning achievement. It would be unfair for me to try to explain, as words fall short of how to describe the final minutes before the credits roll. So I won't, but I urge every single person who calls themselves a gamer or a Batman fan to play this game.

    So far Batman: Arkham City is easily my top choice for game of the year. It encompasses the best aspects of every other GOTY contenders. Portal 2's puzzles, Uncharted 3's action adventure and great story telling, L.A. Noire's character detail and voice performance all while tying it up in a neat Batman bow. Don't mistake my meaning for this being some kind of Frankenstein monster of gaming. These are just the best aspects of the great games this year, just all done in one game.
    Expand
  76. Oct 31, 2011
    8
    Like the Uncharted series, these games aren't just video games, they're almost interactive films, with fantastic voice acting, graphics and an engaging story. I find the direction they have gone with the depiction of Batman in these games to be even grittier and perhaps more mentally unstable than the Christopher Nolan films, which are well known for their dark approach to the dark knight. The single player campaign is well paced with the catwoman missions and interesting side missions and when the game comes to an end you will have also collected a number of collectibles and arena missions that can be attempted with batman and also catwoman and robin depending on what DLC you have. Which leads me to the negatives, apart from the short single player and the surprisingly small city, the catwoman and robin DLC not being included on the disc is just a huge annoyance and it is becoming ridiculous, although I know its not the fault of the developer. At the end of the game, a hardcore mode is unlocked, however i didn't particularly want to play it again, as the gameplay can become somewhat repetitive at the end and as the game is story driven and once all of the secrets have been told they don't have the same impact. The arena mode was a nice time waster, but overall i felt that i'd payed £40 for a very enjoyable but very short adventure. For this reason i just couldn't stretch to giving the game a 9 and i'll award it a very high 8/10 Expand
  77. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    There aren't too many words to say about this game apart from, BUY THIS GAME!!! THE GREATEST BATMAN GAME EVER MADE!!! Just you wait till next summer, we might just have the greatest Batman movie ever made, the way things are shaping up anyway!!!
  78. Oct 30, 2011
    9
    Batman AC is one of the best games I've played this year. Im about 50% of the way through the story and have loved every minute so far. There is tonnes to do in AC if you fancy a break from the main story. With over 400 collectibles numerous side missions and the Riddlers Revenge missions you get a lot of play for your money.
  79. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Definitely a candidate for GOTY, adds to the amazing story and action from the first game, does justice to all the characters and has a great ending.

    Recommened for all, but get and play Arkham Asylum first!
  80. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Didn't really see what the big deal was with Arkham Asylum. Great game, but overrated IMO. Arkham City came along and BLEW my expectations away. Don't listen to the haters, this game is just flat-out awesome.
  81. Oct 29, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Batman Arkham City is everything it needed to be! It had an epic and well written story and the combat and stealth gameplay feels even better. The side missions are a cool add-on to the game and the open world environment is truly amazing. the riddles are harder to get so you feel more accomplished after getting all 400 of them. The Boss battles are good. i would say Mister Freeze's was the best out of the 4. The ending was alright but it made me feel like they killed off to many villains and I wasn't sure where they could go from there with Joker, Strange, Ra's, and Talia all likely dead! The challenge mode adds to replay value and really shows your Batman skills. I can't wait for future DLC cause this game is my favorite of the year so far and possible my favorite game of all time! Expand
  82. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    rkham City is a bigger and better game than its already excellent predecessor. game does not have disadvantages, though no one is THIS CARD! but all the other delights of the game covering all flaws! BEST GAME OF THE YEAR!
  83. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    What's not to love about this game? It's Batman meets Assassin's Creed. A huge improvement over the last game, and the last game was pretty good. My only complaint is that I wish they let you explore the sandbox environment a little more before pushing certain elements of the main storyline. If you like Batman, video games and fun, buy this game.
  84. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Take everything that was great about the first game and make it even better by adding either more of it or a more polished version of it. This is not a game only for Batman fans, it's a game for video game fans plain and simple.
  85. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is an incredible gaming experience, and is undoubtedly one of the best games of this generation. Rocksteady Studios has took everything good about Batman: Arkham Asylum, and made it even better - an expanded combat system, larger environment, deeper plot and characters, new gadgets, and a lot more replay value. Additionally, there were some niggling factors in Arkham Asylum, such as repetitive boss battles and unchallenging Riddler Trophies, which have all been massively improve upon in the sequel. It's clear Rocksteady has made great strides to make each boss battle feel unique and interesting. From a technical perspective, Rocksteady is literally pushing Unreal Engine 3 to its limits with Arkham City, and the result is beautiful visuals, fluid animations, and high-detailed character models. I'll be honest, Batman: Arkham City features some of the most incredible art I've ever seen in a game, with Arkham City designed as a dense, macabre and unholy prison - roads and streets are filled with burnt-out cars and trucks, while bags of waste have formed in alleyways. I could go on about just how fantastic Batman: Arkham City, but it's a game that really does have to be experienced by anyone who plays games - not just a Batman fan. It is a monumental feat in game design, and could very well be the first game in a long-time that I can honestly is absolutely perfect. Expand
  86. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    There are few sequels that manage to make their predecessors irrelevant the way that Batman: Arkham City has done. Batman: Arkham City is to the comic console game what The Dark Knight was to the comic movie. I
  87. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    I love this game it's,so well done it should be the blueprint for all superhero games. The graphics are amazing, and using all the Bat-gadgets rocks!
  88. Oct 28, 2011
    10
    This game is one or maybe the best game for this generation that I've played.

    Why? Easy answer, I can´t stop playing and playing and playing again. The most games that I've played on this generation, are worst or better, but I can play for more than 1 o 2 hours.

    I can´t leave my pad playing batman. The graphics, the voices, the sound, the story, the alternative
    missions, all the entire game its really nice.

    You can´t get bored because all of the missions and alternative missions are spectacular, not like other games that are silly alternative missions.

    Playing this game, you are Batman, you can fell yourself as Batman!.
    Expand
  89. Oct 27, 2011
    8
    Taking the Arkham Asylum formula and putting it in an open world setting works. The complex yet accessible combat is as good as ever, traveling around the city, especially as Batman, is a treat, and the ability to complete side missions to take a break from the main story is a nice touch. One of the biggest flaws though for me was that there was just too much stuff to do. Yes. This is a positive negative but I was just overwhelmed with all the riddles, trophies, side missions, main story, and challenges to accomplish and it sometimes felt like a never ending chore. At one point I had to make a conscious decision to just stick with the story so I would feel like I was making some sort of progress. But really when I get to be a super badass Batman to do all these "chores" I can't complain too much. This game is great and a must buy. It might be a challenge to achieve 100% completion but I think Rocksteady had that in mind when creating it. It will be a challenge I will be happy to suit up for days to come. Expand
  90. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Arkham City is a fun game, undoubtedly, but they must have spread some serious love and $$ around to get all those 10/10 reviews. Read those reviews for what's good about it. Here's what's not:

    1) It's short, for one thing. Yes, there are a bunch of optional side-quests, but I've completed at least half of them plus the main story, and I can't possibly have put more than 10 hours in.
    (The advertised 25 hours just for the main story is totally laughable.) I would guess that it would take maybe another 5 hours at most to complete all of the side-quests. The rest of the supposed 40 hours of gameplay must be just hunting for Riddler trophies, which is sort of interesting, but isn't real content.

    2) It's small. The open world thing is cool and all, but the prison/city feels very small. You can easily get from one end to the other in 3 minutes. Part of that is that travelling by grappling-hook + glider wing is very fast, but part is that the area is just small. There are 5-6 large internal areas that you have to work your way through, but that's not any more than were in Arkham Asylum. The asylum actually felt bigger to me simply because it took longer to get around and seemed to have more secret nooks and crannies.

    3) The plot makes no sense. The ending, particularly, is full of head scratchers. There's a big 'reveal' with flashbacks and ominous music and everything, but I couldn't even figure out what the reveal meant. It really does make no sense. The first game had a very cohesive and interesting plot. This game seems to at first, but just doesn't pull it all together.

    4) It's misogynistic. As you swing around the city, you are constantly overhearing conversations of inmates. Every few minutes, you hear one that has rape fantasies about Catwoman and/or Harley Quinn. The word **** seems to be used with particular frequency. There's even a scene where Batman grabs Harley by the throat, grins maliciously, then throws her to the ground. I wouldn't have as much a problem with this except for two things: 1) this is a rated T game, from a comic book/cartoon franchise, guaranteed to appeal to 10 year olds. 2) There's no push-back by any of the good guys. Batman never condemns the misogyny. At the very least, you could have Catwoman say something like "I'm not a **** I'm a kitty" as she clocks some dude with her high-heels. Or Oracle could say something like "Those guys in there sound like real ladies-men." But that doesn't happen.

    I honestly think that Arkham Asylum was a far better game: more content, more interesting environments, better story.
    Expand
  91. Oct 27, 2011
    6
    First of all, this is an excellent game of the highest quality. There is tons to explore and do, a great many surprises, and all of it good fun. Playing as batman gives you all the best elements of being James Bond, a ninja, Sherlock Holmes, and a vampire. There is much to be praised, and yet by now most if not all of that has been covered elsewhere, so I'll just note that I agree with pretty much all of the positive reviews.

    I do have one rather huge objection to this game though. They somehow got it pushed through with a "teen" rating, and yet as a parent I feel strongly that it really should have been given a "Mature" rating. Particularly as when playing as the Catwoman, you find yourself constantly fending off gangs of thugs while they basically threaten to gang rape you. (They constantly taunt you along the lines of "I'm gonna make you purr for me kitten" and "let's see what's underneath that cat suit.") As she fights on through the story she begins to look bruised, filthy, cut up, and her cat suit has indeed become quite tattered. (Not in a clearly provocative way, but I still found it potentially disturbing for younger players given the context with the thugs.) I think every female character in the game gets called a **** more than once along the way, mostly by the various thugs who talk about putting them in their place. Overall I was surprised by how strong the tone of sexism was expressed. You also see cops get executed while begging for help. There is probably some other stuff too, as the game is nothing if not extremely violent, but Batman's "one rule" of not actually killing anybody (he just beats them all unconscious) keeps the bloodshed down. I'm not sure what sets the line between teen and mature, but it bothers me that many parents will buy this game for their 13 year old boys on the basis of the game's stellar ratings, without understanding what the ratings board is condoning for their children. And it bothers me that Rocksteady was not more responsible in the first place with either toning that mature content down a bit or not seeking a teen rating. And on that basis I have to give the game an 6.
    Expand
  92. Oct 27, 2011
    5
    That's why writing reviews on day one is pointless. People who give a 10 have barley played it so first impression is the review you will read. A bad review is either a troll (if instant review) or will get loads of "thumbs down" on his comment because he won't give a "green" coloured review. Truth is the game is OK not bad and by no means great! It's literally the same as AA (no I'm not saying its an expansion pack "rip off") it's literally the same game but the Map is now bigger. Story was boring tbh as it didn't grab my attention like AA did. Yes there's lots of side missions but they also get boring and fast too. The story was an easy 7 hours without speed rushing. I do feel the release videos by the dev's were way over there head, I would be proud of making a bigger scale game too. But don't believe the hype. Good game but sadley not THAT much off an improvement. My opinion anyway. Expand
  93. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    What a game!! The main storyline will keep you occupied for a good while and is very entertaining + all the side missions, riddler trophies etc will keep you playing for a long time. Graphics a great and so is the game play (most important) 10 out of 10!!!!
  94. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    This is how you make a sequel to the best game of the decade. Everything that made Arkham Asylum great has made its way to Arkham City. Everything's been expanded upon: The combat system and the opponents are better and more varied than ever, as are the environments. The boss fights are top notch and have also seen considerable improvement over the original. Few games offer experiences as satisfying as disassembling an opponent's machine gun, doing the knife dodge takedown or diving from a skyscraper and pulling up at the last minute. The Catwoman side character is well done, and I hope to see much more of that in the third installment of the series. Expand
  95. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I cant understand how rocksteady did this perfect jewels, graphics (details), animation, storyLine, enigma's (perfect bonus)... why this guys haven't more games... I become fanatic for movies and games of batman thanks to Arkham asylum and city.. full.
  96. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    It is really sad to see people bringing down a meta rating just out of spite. This game is extremely well done. I would give it a 9.5 but that isn't an option so I am going with 10 to try to make up for some of the unreasonable ratings it has received. A zero, really? One poster mentioned that it wasn't a challenge, that isn't a fair statement, there are a few tough side missions but this game isn't about difficulty. I beat Dark Souls in a couple days because I love "a challenge" with Arkham City I love the masterfully crafted world which you transverse. I have never been a huge comic book fan but this game makes Batman a living character in a living world. He navigates around the environment as you imagine he might if he were real. The villains, although not a challenge, are still fun mini puzzles that are a blast to see in action. They actually have the personalities like you would expect from the characters you have heard about since childhood. That isn't even to touch on the sheer amount of recorded voice content the player can overhear while traversing the area. These conversations let the player see how the various villians are interacting with each other. Rocksteady studios actually makes you feel like Batman in a living city and they do it with flair and subtle, clever invention. On top of all that the game is huge; especially if you take into account all the side missions, Riddler trophies and of course the challenge arenas. I have never written a review on this site before but I would like to start so that companies that put blood, sweat, and tears into extremely polished content such as this game, can get the lip service they truly deserve. Expand
  97. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Batman: Arkham City is exactly what a sequel should be; it expands on the fantastic story and formula that the original game created. You start off with nearly all of your gadgets from Arkham Asylum; none of the cliche "oops you lost all of your gear you already earned" that was popularized in games like the first two Metroid Prime games (not implying that those we bad games, it's just as an example here). No Batman:AC only builds on the foundation that was set before it. More great bat-gear, more bad guys, more riddles, more free flow combat moves, more challenges, basically more of everything that made the first game great and memorable. The voice acting is top notch (though I can say the dialogue itself is a little bit generic superhero speak, we get it Batman "today is a bad day to mess with you"), the visuals stand out more (just watch the details like how snowflakes fall on the dark knight's cape), and the map of Arkham City is much larger and dense to explore than back on Arkham Island.

    All that being said, I did feel that the main story line was a little shorter than I expected, if only by an hour or two. Maybe it's just because I ran through it so fast knowing that was a new game plus mode waiting on me. Or maybe it was because the story line was just something I had to continue despite all the enticing distractions like the character side quests or Riddler trophies. Or maybe even it was that the learning curve is much smaller than it was in Arkham Asylum since I've already saved the day (night) with Batman once before. Whatever the reason, the result of this story line left me a bit taken back and certainly wanting to find out more of what happens after this long long night. Hopefully there will some expanding on the story line in the future with DLC or even a third game in the years to come. Regardless, what matters most is this: if you enjoyed Arkham Asylum, or if you've ever wanted to know what it would be like to be Batman, this is the best interpretation you will ever get. Do yourself a favor and pick up this game, you won't regret it.
    Expand
  98. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    If you like Batman, or have even heard of him, prepare yourself for an epic adventure. Right off the bat (no pun intended) you'll be scrambling around the vast world that rocksteady has created. One of your first undertakings should be to immediately do the first 3 AR training. This will unlock the grapple boost which makes traveling the city 200% easier and much more enjoyable. With this new ability the world opens up to exploration, my advice would be to become acquainted with the controls and world, grab a couple trophies, swoop down on unsuspecting thugs and try out those new finishing move. After doing so you'll find yourself becoming the Batman you always wanted to be. Next step dive head first into the story which will keep you on the edge of the seat for the entire ride. If you spine doesn't begin to shiver at the end credits then your soul must have left your body a long time ago. Thank you Rocksteady for the GOTY Expand
  99. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I had a lot of time on my hands when Arkham Asylum came out, so I nailed it with 1000 gamer points and was in the top 100 on the leaderboards for all combat challenges. So I think over-exposure dulled the anticipation for Arkham City, though tit would just be an extension/upgrade
    Dead wrong. Everyfacet is improved. The craft, care and creativity that have gone into it make it shine on
    every level. Combat is better (even the thuds of impact are more satisfying), the swooping and gliding add new aspects, story is great, stealth improved and there's loads of bonus content to keep you going for weeks. A triumph Expand
  100. Oct 25, 2011
    0
    While Asylum was one of the best games I have played, Arkham City doesn't live up to it unfortunately. The sandbox element doesn't feel very good. The grapling hook doesn't work half the time, the fights are quite silly and not very challenging. The best part about the game is the voice acting and story. And that are the two aspects I care the least about in games. I want fun gameplay, and this one just doesn't cut it unfortunately Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 87 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 87
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 87
  3. Negative: 0 out of 87
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    95
    Improved gameplay, new mechanics, and an even stronger story denote whether you care about Batman or not, it's still a game worthy of your time. With some easter eggs possibly hinting at plots for a third game, let's hope Rocksteady isn't quite done with the Dark Knight.
  2. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    Arkham City handles its side-stories gloriously. [Christmas 2011, p.102]
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.