Battle: Los Angeles Xbox 360

Battle: Los Angeles Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players will have the opportunity to relive the thrill of the movie as they assume the role of Corporal Lee Imlay and fight alongside characters from the film and defend the city of Los Angeles from attacks from unknown forces.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. May 26, 2011
    76
    A middle-classed first person-shooter for fans of the motion picture as well as hunters of aliens – not innovative at all, but solid in action and presentation.
  2. Mar 30, 2011
    60
    The game is thirty minutes long and costs ten dollars. That's thirty three cents a minute to play this game. You'll get better value out of a psychic hotline.
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    55
    The game lacks variety, but it also doesn't outstay its welcome. If you want some laughs and don't mind that the shooting experience is average at best, playing through this alien invasion is probably more entertaining than the movie and you'll get some Achievements/Trophies out of it.
  4. Apr 7, 2011
    40
    The gaming equivalent of buying a gourmet mince and cheese pie - you'll be uncertain you've got your money's worth, and pretty sure you could have done a better job.
  5. Apr 4, 2011
    35
    Easy, short, linear and with embarrasing flaws in AI, this game is a huge disappointment.
  6. games(TM)
    May 22, 2011
    30
    A lifeless carcass in the FPS mould lies in its wake. [Issue#109, p.104]
  7. Mar 23, 2011
    20
    Like poking a dead bluebird with a stick. For a few seconds you're fascinated by the grotesque, then you walk away, disgusted.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 5 out of 10
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    What a happy surprise. This looks and feels like a regular game instead of an Xbox Arcade title. It was in 3D--and played very well. OpeningWhat a happy surprise. This looks and feels like a regular game instead of an Xbox Arcade title. It was in 3D--and played very well. Opening up all the unlockable content was a blast--and playing an Arcade title that looked as good as a full price game at less than ten bucks had me feeling like it was by far the best money I've spent on the Xbox this year. Go Battle: LA. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This was fun! I played it on all four difficulty levels, and enjoyed opening up all the cool modes and mods and videos and artwork--plus theThis was fun! I played it on all four difficulty levels, and enjoyed opening up all the cool modes and mods and videos and artwork--plus the last level is seriously hard. Overall, I think it looks better (shadows, lights, effects, texturing, and on) than Call of Duty . It was a bargain at under ten bucks. I'm kind of shocked that I actually enjoyed a movie licensed game. And it wasn't as short as some people in forums noted. I'm not the fastest player on the planet, but beating it on all four difficulty levels was most of my day (after I saw a Battle Los Angeles Matinà Collapse
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    6
    For an arcade game it was better than expected but still very repetitive. I bought it after I saw the film and it was neat seeing the sameFor an arcade game it was better than expected but still very repetitive. I bought it after I saw the film and it was neat seeing the same faces among the crowd. If you love arcade games and have an extra 800 MSP laying around then this might not be a bad buy. Just dont expect to get hours of play out of it. Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    4
    Positives: The game is mercifully short. Negatives: This game is awful! NPC's look to the side while firing forward. Too short, overpriced,Positives: The game is mercifully short. Negatives: This game is awful! NPC's look to the side while firing forward. Too short, overpriced, terrible fps. The cut scenes are laughable and even on the hardest setting this game is too easy. Ignore the inflated ratings by HG42, which is obviously a clone account sent to skew the score as this is his/her only review. Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    4
    When I found this game on XBLA a few months back I wasn't too sure what to expect. It seemed to have come out of nowhere. Anyway it was onlyWhen I found this game on XBLA a few months back I wasn't too sure what to expect. It seemed to have come out of nowhere. Anyway it was only 800 ms points and I like the fps genre so I downloaded it. About 45 minutes later I beat it on the normal difficulty. Needless to say it left a very very sour taste in my mouth. Where should I start? Should I talk about the lack of weapons? There are only 3 plus useless grenades. The lack of enemy types? There is only 3. How about the bad acting, or intermissions? Well, at least I got some easy achievements from my 45 mins. The developers couldn't even get those right. One would figure that when you beat the game on normal or hard (its not really hard at all) that you would get the achievements from the lower difficulties if you hadn't gotten them already. Nope, instead the game forces you to play though 3 times to get em all. Finally how about the games glitches. On my several short playthroughs of both the 360, and PS3 versions I encountered numerous glitches. These ranged from standard freezing, to doors that are supposed to open not opening. Didn't this game go through bug testing?

    In the end the only people who should buy this game are achievement/trophy whores. Even then I would hold out and hope they lower the price to $5 as as $10 is simply too much.
    Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2011
    3
    This game is awful, even for an XBL arcade game. As a modern FPS, it has some glaring errors that I'm surprised the developers didn't take theThis game is awful, even for an XBL arcade game. As a modern FPS, it has some glaring errors that I'm surprised the developers didn't take the time to fix. The controls are slow and sluggish, forcing you to move around from battle to battle in tiny, fenced in maps to kill a few aliens and repeat... over and over and over. The character models don't even look down the barrels of their guns, but stare off to the side while they fire to the front. The AI is a joke and basically consists of "pop up here, then fire from here till the player kills you".

    The audio is annoying as you'll hear the same things from your AI "allies" repeated about 10 times per level. The cut scenes look like they were made in a high school animation class - think low budget south park. Even on the hardest setting the game is easy completely killing replay value.

    The positives of getting to lay waste to aliens as a marine gets old after the first level and you feel like you're being punished for buying the game. I think the only positive reviews are by the developers themselves or poor souls who are gullible enough to appreciate any rushed, half-developed game made to increase sales based on a weak IP.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    2
    This game is bad, ok, the movie can have some moments, but the game is terrible, is expensive, and is short, when you believe that you finishThis game is bad, ok, the movie can have some moments, but the game is terrible, is expensive, and is short, when you believe that you finish "the first mission" you finish the game. A big disaster. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Trailers