User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 859 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 69 out of 859
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 11, 2010
    5
    A great game completely destroyed by a lot of small problems and before the rabid fanboys come to try and decapitate my post I want to stress it's almost good. I'll list the main problems I have though,

    1. My biggest problem with this game is the inexplicable load time of 13 seconds. A disgracefully long time given the amount of times you die in this game. It encourages players to camp
    A great game completely destroyed by a lot of small problems and before the rabid fanboys come to try and decapitate my post I want to stress it's almost good. I'll list the main problems I have though,

    1. My biggest problem with this game is the inexplicable load time of 13 seconds. A disgracefully long time given the amount of times you die in this game. It encourages players to camp and use overpowered weapons (which I'll get to a bit later). Given that the game encourages you to spawn with your squad it's an appaling decision to have made and it alone breaks the game. But god is that not the only issue.

    2. At the time of writing (august 2010) there are still only 9 new maps available 7 months after the game was released. That's tolerable-ish given that maps can change throughout the game time but DICE and EA lost all credit when they allowed new players to pay to unlock weapons. That is completely unacceptable! Unlocks ARE MEANT TO BE UNLOCKED not payed for.

    3. Imbalance of weapons. Need I mention the M60, a hilariously broken gun even after the patch. Or any later shotgun which is a one shot kill from an ungodly distance.

    4. Squads, wouldn't it make sense to put snipers with snipers, I find that very irritating when you're the only one actually running foward and your squad are half a mile away. and everyone else form a conventional squad. Or be able to spawn within helicopters even if the pilots not part of your squad?

    5. A lot of new stuff is given too you in Multiplayer. This raises a very easy to fix problem, no one knows how to use the damn things! Tracer Darts are never introduced in Singleplayer (nor is flying a helicopter) so you have to know how to use them yourself. This could be fixed by toggling the private match settings so you could run around alone (like in MW2) but you need 7 other players to do so!

    6. Singleplayer, what Singleplayer. It's over in 2 1/2 hours with little fun in between. I think the main problem is a lack of tension. You are with 3 other people and are ONLY with 3 other people. In the rare chance you meet an ally they will be blown up (or die inexplicably). In an invasion of a country you are still only with 4 people. It's also jaw droppingly obvious who the villain is, no that's NOT a spoiler. Also you never feel like you'll be ambushed because about 5 seconds before an Ambush a sign will come up saying FEND OFF THE AMBUSH. Also while I like the deliberate cliche it still takes itself far too seriously.

    The main problem with BC2 is it's competing against MW2 when it shouldn't be. i didn't like mw2 but at least it knew it was a game. This game takes itself seriously half the time and pokes fun at itself the other. It copies MW2 alarmingly and tries to pass it off with a few fun references. it's not a bad game, it's a great game surrounded by mediocre ideas.
    Expand
  2. Apr 24, 2011
    6
    Bad Company 2 takes the FPS genre and brings some refreshing changes into the mix, especially with its multiplayer component. The campaign is fun, the story isn't fantastic but there are some interesting sections to play through and the characters have some mildly amusing dialogue, although not as much as the first game. The online multiplayer is where this game really impresses. There areBad Company 2 takes the FPS genre and brings some refreshing changes into the mix, especially with its multiplayer component. The campaign is fun, the story isn't fantastic but there are some interesting sections to play through and the characters have some mildly amusing dialogue, although not as much as the first game. The online multiplayer is where this game really impresses. There are only 3 modes, squad death match is where 4 teams of 4 players go around the map and try to reach 40 kills before any other. Rush involves one team of 12 attempting to destroy two points before advancing, up to five times depending on the map, and doing so again. Conquest is the classic Battlefield game type where 12v12 teams attempt to gain control of flags and elimate all enemy respawn tickets (250 each I think); the more flags you hold, the easier is it to deplete their tickets. There are four combat classes, assault where you get access to many assault rifles, and have the ability to resupply comrades with ammunition to earn extra points. Engineer has access to silenced SMGs and RPGs, as well as the ability to repair friendly vehicles, or hi-jacked enemy ones. The Medic class can revive recently killed team mates, as well as supply health packs to those who have been badly wounded in a gunfight; this class can use machine guns. The Recon class has access to sniper rifles, and can stay back from the main fight a spot enemies (all players can spot, but recon class can spot from a distance and pick off enemies). Recon can call in mortar strikes on a position. The maps are huge and destructible, virtually every building and tree can be razed to the ground and huge craters appear in the ground where mortar fire rains down. You can play with 4-squad mates, whom you can chat with, and you can respawn on them if they're in trouble or safe, depending on how daring you are. Respawning is the best of any online shooter, you only get killed on spawning if you spawn on a squadmate in imminent danger. You can spawn quite safely in the team's base. Vehicles play a huge part, with different kinds of choppers and tanks and others to take the attack to the enemies. The guns looks and sound fantastic, and with the volume turned up and 'War Tapes' sound setting on, it really immerses you into a proper battle. Be warned, if you're used to playing Call of Duty, there is a steep learning curve to get used to the heavier feel of the game, but once you get through it, there is no game better at making you feel like part of a battle or part of a team. It's the best online shooter out there, so give it a go. Expand
  3. Reginald
    Apr 1, 2010
    5
    Incomplete multiplayer and DLC driven schemes yet again. Unbalanced multiplayer and classic poor programing antics such as the following: User side hit detection rather than server side, endless mortar strike spam, poor map design, chronic server and stat issues since day 1 and my personal favorite from games like MW2: Bullets coming from your camera not your gun. I enjoy watching my Incomplete multiplayer and DLC driven schemes yet again. Unbalanced multiplayer and classic poor programing antics such as the following: User side hit detection rather than server side, endless mortar strike spam, poor map design, chronic server and stat issues since day 1 and my personal favorite from games like MW2: Bullets coming from your camera not your gun. I enjoy watching my friends and enemies clip through walls while getting kills. I mean Epic and Zipper fixed this problem, why not DICE? What makes it worse is that unlike every other multiplayer game on the market . there is nothing left to unlock once you pass rank 24, in a game where the ranks go up to 50. You know what that means! MORE DLC ! The story mode is a harsh joke. Utterly short when compared to the first Bad Company, all of the classic humor of the game was replaced with pointless violence and allusions to Modern Warfare 2. Gone are the lovable characters of the first game, in their place, gruff, health regenerating super soliders that teeter back and forth between complete jerkasses and sociopaths. What I hated the most? The fact the game could not stop talking about Modern Warfare. Every thing they said and did they attempted to one up MW2. They could have done what they did in the past and ignored MW2 and been their own game, but no. They choose the route of spite and rivarly and came out looking ridiculous. In closing, I really expected more from this game and what I got was yet another landmark disappointment of this generation of gaming. All these 10/10 reviewers can shove off. I for one will not accept an incomplete game. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2010
    5
    Modern warfare 2 is SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much better. go buy modern warfare 2 right now and never even think about buying this game.
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    5
    Just received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up someJust received the game for X-mas. I am a long time gamer since the start of gaming, seen it all. Played a bit of the campaign but mostly on X-box live. Lets start with the graphics that everybody is saying so great. My TV is 53" 6 year old HD projection (witch weren't that great to start with) so the graphics look like sh** and I have trouble seeing enemies and tanks even close up some times, you have to look for motion for something to stand out. Especially with all the constant smoke and dust obscuring visibility. You shoot an enemy up and a cloud of smoke obstructs further aiming. Not knowing where your enemies are is very realistic but it seems like most of the times you die you never see it coming, sometime the radar will light up enemies when they are shooting at you but allot of times it doesn't which is very frustrating because you can't rely on it. They are trying to take 3D life where you have your 6 senses working 360 degrees and peripheral vision - and then translate it to 2D which doesn't work. They have to give you alternate senses to rely on to replace the ones lost. Allot of times it ends up being just a free fraul off killing and deaths unless you are on a drastically winning team or are on a private chat with 3 other friends to coordinate attacks and expose enemies by sacrificing your own. The ability to respawn on your own personal and bases makes dying only a minor inconvenience adding to the free fraul. In conquest respawning only at home base would solve this plus being made to take bases in order and the game ending when you posses all the bases would eliminate the craziness and late game home base blood baths creating a straight forward goal based battle. The next biggest frustration with the game is getting stuck on you surroundings either waking or driving. When walking anything over 6 inches tall (step height) stops you dead forcing you to jump as well as hills you think you should be able to climb up stop you and you sit there jumping like an idiot trying to get up. You will end up pulling your hair out because of this. When driving a tank you get stuck on almost everything. There is not much that can stop a tank in real life but when you get stuck on a wooden fence or building it's frustrating. Some things come down easy an others do not - very frustrating You should be able to flatten the grass/bamboo/tin huts in the Vietnam version without even slowing down. Some will break with effort but by then you are dead from enemy fire that you can't locate it's origin . Next is the weapons capabilities, as you build rand they give you more weapons not necessarily better ones. As you scroll thought the list of weapons you can't compare them directly, you find two you like at opposite ends of the list and by the time you scroll from one to the other you can't hardly remember where the bar was - to solve this give the power / accuracy / range bars a numerical value. As well the ability to only use one spec in each of the three spec columns is a piss off. You put hundreds of hours into the game to earn this stuff and only get to use 3. They make you choose between armor or ammo, targeting systems or speedy reloading ect............................It feels like all the time and progress is futile. You should be able to use them all, you put the time in you reap the benefits. If it gives you to much of an advantage make them harder to get or set up games where your entrance depends on ability. Low rank players play with other low rankers ect... Another thing that is frustrating is the aiming ability, whenever you hit the button it seems like I am always pointing at the enemies feet. If you set the sensitivity low it moves to slow and you end up dead, too fast and you over shoot the target every time, I can't seem to find a happy middle ground. Always liked some sort of mild auto aiming. Lastly the gun sights projected out in front of you whether walking or driving are either white or lighted red or blue. The white being the worst, you have a hard time seeing them especially when going though like back ground colours or smoke. Half the time you can't tell where you are aiming. The 4x red dot scope is a great spec but you have to pass up other good specs to use it. I should have waited for version 3. I hope they address all the problems with #2 and fire all their testers and hire some that know what they are doing and have some balls to say that the game isn't ready yet! Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2014
    6
    A good fun game, decent campaign and very entertaining multiplayer. I am pretty new to FPS multiplayer but I just can't honestly say that this game is better than modern warfare 2, it just plain isn't and with two games offering such similar experiences I think you would be in good stead playing through the campaign but leaving the multiplayer to modern warfare 2 (that is my opinion basedA good fun game, decent campaign and very entertaining multiplayer. I am pretty new to FPS multiplayer but I just can't honestly say that this game is better than modern warfare 2, it just plain isn't and with two games offering such similar experiences I think you would be in good stead playing through the campaign but leaving the multiplayer to modern warfare 2 (that is my opinion based on release dates)

    On writing this review ghosts and battlefield 4 have just come out, still I would recommend for multiplayer either battlefield 3 for high scale broad multi or modern warfare for shorter more arcade style fast paced action.
    Expand
  7. Soap
    Mar 30, 2010
    7
    I checked Metacritic the first day this came out and it had an overall user review of 9.8 by more than a hundred people. PLAY THE GAME BEFORE YOU RATE IT!! A day is not enough time to get through the entire single player and play a decent amount of multiplayer. Another thing is that I'm tired of people yelling that Infinity Ward payed every single professional reviewer and user that I checked Metacritic the first day this came out and it had an overall user review of 9.8 by more than a hundred people. PLAY THE GAME BEFORE YOU RATE IT!! A day is not enough time to get through the entire single player and play a decent amount of multiplayer. Another thing is that I'm tired of people yelling that Infinity Ward payed every single professional reviewer and user that doesn't give this a perfect score millions of dollars to make this look inferior. Let's be realistic: that doesn't happen. ANYWAYS, onto my cool user review~! The sound is good and so are the graphics. There is pop up, but there also was in MW2, and there also are clipping issues, but that's probably because of the destructable enviroments. As far as gameplay goes I'll start with single player: IT SUCKS!! Really, this has got to be one of the most boring sinlgle player campaigns ever in a shooter. I know this is primarely a multiplayer a game, but if you put something in a game it better be good. Everything it does is either dull or done before and BETTER by Call of Duty. There are two origional aspects to single player. One is vehicles, but there is no challenge there other than blowing up a base and traveling a million miles to the next one. They handle akwardly, too, but that's more of a fundimental problem rather than a control issue (you've heard the phrase "handles akwardly as a tank" before). I think the vehicle segments could have been improved if they were done in third person so you have a clear view of your vehicle as a whole rather than a crude symbole on your heads up display. The other is the destructable enviroments. They add to the multiplayer which I'll comment on later, but it's just annoying in single player because a lot of enemies are rocket spammers that blow all your cover away. Other than those the set pieces shamelessly rip off Call of Duty. It feels like Dice tried so hard to live up to the standard set by it rather than actually trying to EXCEDE the standard. The battles are always very quiet and slow especially when you compare it to its competitor, Call of Duty, which always had so much action happening on the screen at once as you battled pretty much an entire country in each level. The checkpointing is very, VERY spaced out, too, adding to the frustration. I also HATE shooting down helicopters!! Going back on how very little cover there is, helicopters could take you out in a matter of seconds, and they seem to have some sort of invisible anti-rocket force field around them because they're sooooo hard to hit! Eventually they'll shoot you and you'll have to start again at a checkpoint a half hour back. A bad game can be saved by its story (for example The Darkness or the Silent Hill series), but this one isn't. The story is not funny and very cliched. The set pieces are not as dramatic because of the dull story and the feeling of vulnerability is not present because even though you die in a couple shots (on normal dificulty!) your alies can take three head shots and keep walking, and for some odd reason they always only follow you, even the commander. Overall this game has horrible single players. On to the multiplayer! Fortunately the multiplayer is a lot better than the single player, and different than Call of Duty. In Bad Company 2 it's based around what one gets out of a class overall than just choosing a weapon and your favorite perks. That being said it's a lot more limited than Call of Duty's by design, but class building is still deep enough for satisfaction. As you may predict the multiplayer is less frustrating than Call of Duty's because there are no killstreak rewards so you wouldn't have to obsess over them. I think it's a good idea how you can choose which person you want to spawn with or if you just want to spawn randomly. The multiplayer also runs smoothly (except one time it sent me to the xbox dashboard even though I didn't press anything. weird, huh?). There are a few flaws. For one thing the maps are very open and vast so shotguns usually aren't the weapon of choice. Some iron sights are also a huge pain to use. Another thing is that guilly suites aren't too useful. I also don't like how I can't figure out how to view the kill cam in first peron. How's a shot of the enemy in third person going to help? One more flaw that isn't really the game's fault is the fact that since there is a lot of emphisis on teams and you're joined into a squad (small team) where no one is being helpful than don't expect to have much fun. And, like all other multiplayer games, there is a steep learning curve to go through to memorize the maps, especially when they are so vast and there are very few land marks in them so it's hard to tell where you are. There are also less game modes than Call of Duty. As far as ballence goes, there are guns which are better than others, but none of that is crippeling. Other than those issues the multiplayer is great. I'd still say the Call of Duty multiplayer is better, but not by a whole lot, and now when CoD4 is dominated by people who can play it with their eyes closed and MW2 is dominated by grenade spammers this is clearly the shooter of choice when it comes to multiplayer at this time. In conclusion single player gets a 0 and multiplayer gets a 9. That averages out and rounds to a 5, which is a horrible score to give this considering how good the multiplayer is, so a 7 is good enough. I don't think people would be playing it forever, but it would last for a while. One more thing I would like to mention is that there is no third bonus mode like Spec Ops or Nazi Zombies like in its competitor, Call of Duty. If you don't have Xbox LIVE than don't get it. Don't even look at it!! Get it for the multiplayer. Expand
  8. MikeH
    Mar 13, 2010
    7
    [Campaign 8.0] The campaign is what it is... fun but short, and engaging but not mind-blowing. But who buys fps' just for their story modes anymore? [Online 7.0] Campaign aside, I'm having trouble getting into the multiplayer. The modes and maps are too few in number, and are a bit on the stale side. Plus, after playing MAG for so long, anything under 32 players feels pretty [Campaign 8.0] The campaign is what it is... fun but short, and engaging but not mind-blowing. But who buys fps' just for their story modes anymore? [Online 7.0] Campaign aside, I'm having trouble getting into the multiplayer. The modes and maps are too few in number, and are a bit on the stale side. Plus, after playing MAG for so long, anything under 32 players feels pretty small scale. Not to mention, the fact that while this game advertises itself as a team-based fps, I have seen very little actual teamwork while playing. Hardly anyone in my squad ever has a headset, and they all just go do their own thing anyway... I can understand that EA/DICE wants to keep the story portion of this franchise going, but I can't help but feel like they should ditch the campaign and go for an online only title like BF-1943 or MAG. While BFBC2 has some rock-solid shooting mechanics going for it, it all feels a bit anti-climactic. Expand
  9. LuckyDutch
    Mar 19, 2010
    7
    I had very high expectations for this game but I am afraid to say it didn't quite meet them. The whole game, from the music to the storyline is alot more serious than the last and apart from a few funny moments and a funny easter egg convosation half way through. My mine problem with this game lies with the multiplayer. It is very very frustrating. The question everyone is asking is I had very high expectations for this game but I am afraid to say it didn't quite meet them. The whole game, from the music to the storyline is alot more serious than the last and apart from a few funny moments and a funny easter egg convosation half way through. My mine problem with this game lies with the multiplayer. It is very very frustrating. The question everyone is asking is how does this compare to COD? Unfortunately it doesn't hold up very well. Don't get me wrong COD has its problems (knifing and the new killstreaks among them) but i'd say on average it is more enjoyable. I think most people will find themselves going back to it as BC2 gets a bit stale after a while. Overall this is worth the money and i'm glad I bought it but it certainly isn't a 10/10. Expand
  10. GregoryF
    Mar 15, 2010
    7
    This is a response to the people who seem 2 be confused and upset at this game getting a 89. im so tired of ppl rating games 9 or 10 all the time. dont u think "reviewers" do that enough?. Dont get me wrong i love this game, BF on a bad day will always deliver intense firefights that other games can only dream of. But the re-use of the same building over and over? The very buggy server This is a response to the people who seem 2 be confused and upset at this game getting a 89. im so tired of ppl rating games 9 or 10 all the time. dont u think "reviewers" do that enough?. Dont get me wrong i love this game, BF on a bad day will always deliver intense firefights that other games can only dream of. But the re-use of the same building over and over? The very buggy server list, only 7 mp maps, often muddy low res textures.... and i agree totally about the "lackluster" areas of the singleplayer. it just simply feels cheap. If people are this blind to lazy work no wonder studios dont feel the need to improve there product. Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2010
    7
    The game has a very well constructed online system and breaks away from the norm of online shooters allowing you to level up classes that you use often and collecting attachments on the way. However the game is brought down significantly by its shody campaign which is slow paced and doesn't seem to make much sense. You'll will probrably decide to leave the campiagn ( unless you areThe game has a very well constructed online system and breaks away from the norm of online shooters allowing you to level up classes that you use often and collecting attachments on the way. However the game is brought down significantly by its shody campaign which is slow paced and doesn't seem to make much sense. You'll will probrably decide to leave the campiagn ( unless you are intrested in gaining achievements like me for example!). I only recccomend buying the game for its online qualities and to give it a miss if you arn't able to connect to xbox live. Expand
  12. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    This game just barely gets a 7. The single player campaign was pretty good. I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth one play through. I also really enjoyed Onslaught mode. I liked the challenge on of and the team work involved to win. But that's where my liking ends. I tend to enjoy multiplayer on most games more than anything... and I hate multiplayer on this game. The games modes are fewThis game just barely gets a 7. The single player campaign was pretty good. I enjoyed it. It was definitely worth one play through. I also really enjoyed Onslaught mode. I liked the challenge on of and the team work involved to win. But that's where my liking ends. I tend to enjoy multiplayer on most games more than anything... and I hate multiplayer on this game. The games modes are few and they suck. The vehicles are over powered. Being able to spawn on your team mates is crap. I kill a guy and then another pops up and another. If I can manage to kill those two that popped up out of NO WHERE. Then comes another. It's stupid. I respect the realism that they are going for, but this game just does not play that well. Controls feel whacky. I guess I'm spoiled by the IW engine on COD. Expand
  13. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    I liked the game, at first I was skeptical, and a bit of a "Call of duty fanboy" but I soon got into the game, I didn't like the singleplayer very much, but it wasn't terrible. The multiplayer was quite fun, and still is today.
  14. Jul 29, 2013
    7
    Definitely one of the strongest games in the series if not a bit repetitive. Its campaign is the best of any first person shooter, and its multiplayer is worthy as well although it's easy to get tired of.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Not content to settle for second place, DICE throws down the gauntlet with Bad Company 2, delivering its best multiplayer package since Battlefield 2 and a remarkably improved single-player campaign that openly mocks its rival while cribbing from them at the same time. [Issue#203, p.84]
  2. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is one of the best shooters of this generation. The game has steel-solid mechanics, top gen graphics and an incredible multiplayer. Call of Duty has a new rival.
  3. 89
    Bad Company 2 as an online shooter is flexible and engaging, offering several features that the competition can only dream of. If you're looking for a more strategic and team-based change of pace, look no further. This is the game for you.