User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 252

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DanielB.
    Jan 1, 2010
    6
    this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and photorealistic.. the gameplay is ok.. the blowing up thing is okay at least.. its a nice gameplay feature but is all scripted and doesn't compare to red faction:gorilla.. the story is pretty good filled with fun and creative characters but the AI is sub-par this game isn't perfect.. or mach up to cod 4 in any way shape or form.... the graphics are pretty good.. but not sharp and photorealistic.. the gameplay is ok.. the blowing up thing is okay at least.. its a nice gameplay feature but is all scripted and doesn't compare to red faction:gorilla.. the story is pretty good filled with fun and creative characters but the AI is sub-par and the missions are repetitive and subpar as well. the online maps are huge and a bit hard to find people hit detection is bad at best... while the breakable buildings are fun.. the vehicle controls are terrible and not mention the vehicle themselves are cheap. they spawn in almost completely random places... unaware that they are giving all of them to say the team that is pwning. speaking of controls.. there terrible. at least.... not to mention there is ads.. but only with a few guns.. some just zoom in and its extremely annoying..and the layout itself is just god-awful, y to knife right stick click to duck.... wtf... overall this game is just a cheap COD4 knockoff.. do not buy it Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2011
    6
    The single player does feel like a battlefield unlike CoD, but this is a bad thing if you want lots of action. The only reason for the map to be big is just for them to put gold bars (collectibles) in stupid places. Overall, the campaign isn't attrocious but it is quite boring. Even on a harder difficulty it's still not intense or exciting. Multiplayer is what battlefield has always beenThe single player does feel like a battlefield unlike CoD, but this is a bad thing if you want lots of action. The only reason for the map to be big is just for them to put gold bars (collectibles) in stupid places. Overall, the campaign isn't attrocious but it is quite boring. Even on a harder difficulty it's still not intense or exciting. Multiplayer is what battlefield has always been about. But coming from a CoD player, I wasn't sold on the multiplayer concept. There's only 1 game mode (2 if you include conquest- a copy of domination and war from CoD) and there's not much action. You have to wait to spawn, and you can choose to spawn on your team mate who is either camping nowhere near the action or getting shot to pieces, or you can spawn at base- miles away from the action. I don't like the gun bobbing or the slow movement. No matter what you do, it never feels satisying- the objective nor the kills. In every way, this game is boring. Expand
  3. KevinF.
    Jul 3, 2008
    7
    An uncommonly addictive fusion of COD4 and Battlefield: MC. Two VERY important things are missing however (beyond the usual rants). First, there is no belly crawl, just a crouch. This is unforgivable--please let me be wrong on this one. Also, they failed to include conquest mode. They say it will be available as an update sometime "after the launch". This is incredibly stupid of EA, and An uncommonly addictive fusion of COD4 and Battlefield: MC. Two VERY important things are missing however (beyond the usual rants). First, there is no belly crawl, just a crouch. This is unforgivable--please let me be wrong on this one. Also, they failed to include conquest mode. They say it will be available as an update sometime "after the launch". This is incredibly stupid of EA, and if they charge for the update, incredibly greedy, as well. Expand
  4. ac
    Sep 4, 2008
    7
    The art and physics are immaculate; however the run cycle seemed very strange and so did the speed. I wished I could use more of the weapons or perhaps a greater population spread or a meta game where I can call in for supplies with weapons I'd like versus the gold I've found? For example there were several weapons early on that I really enjoyed but never saw them again. Also The art and physics are immaculate; however the run cycle seemed very strange and so did the speed. I wished I could use more of the weapons or perhaps a greater population spread or a meta game where I can call in for supplies with weapons I'd like versus the gold I've found? For example there were several weapons early on that I really enjoyed but never saw them again. Also the movies were sometimes jarring. I wouldn't give it a 10 thru 8 because it feels like another vector of the game is missing. Right now it just an open level game with vehicles. Sometimes the game heuristics are inconsistent as well, like not being able to use artillery again; why did someone take the time to create that and not allow theplayer to use it again? There are alot of examples like this; all in all, a 7. Expand
  5. StevenH.
    Jun 17, 2008
    6
    The game was not up to my expectations, yes the graphics were good but explosions didn't feel big enough and the aiming system wasn't as good as Call Of Duty 4 which I am used to.
  6. WilliamL.
    Jun 23, 2008
    5
    Engine still need more polish, the gameplay sucks too much.
  7. ChadJ
    Jun 25, 2008
    6
    A quick change to the Halo control scheme makes the vehicular combat fun and frantic. The on-foot action is hampered by unsatisfying shooting mechanics and glitchy bullet hit detection. The game's sense of scale, audio choices, and inconsistent destructibility sometimes will have you scratching your head, but the chaos of multiplayer can be a blast when you look past these blemishes.
  8. AndyF
    Sep 8, 2008
    7
    I can only judge this game on the merits of the single-player, as I don't really play online games all that much. BF:BC is very nearly a great game, but I can't help but think that a few niggles let it down from being a classic. It is by no means terrible, but having completed the storyline mode quite a few irritations stick in my mind. The main one is the combat - the enemy in I can only judge this game on the merits of the single-player, as I don't really play online games all that much. BF:BC is very nearly a great game, but I can't help but think that a few niggles let it down from being a classic. It is by no means terrible, but having completed the storyline mode quite a few irritations stick in my mind. The main one is the combat - the enemy in this are either super-accurate or plain random, sometimes legging it out of cover for no good reason. They are also bloody tough, with some taking (and I'm not exaggerating) literally 10's of rounds before they fall down. If given the time to aim carefully and get in a headshot, they will fall down after a few shots, but in the urban scenarios, where you only have time to let off a quick spray, this feels a little shallow. The other main gripe is the way the respawn system works. If you die, you reppaear at your last save-point and continue the battle as if nothing happened; this helps keep the tempo of the firefight up without the frustration of having to 'redo' the whole section again. However, it takes any pressure off you to be careful, as if you do die, you simply come back again & again until the area is clear of enemies. Other minor gripes are the sensitivity of the aiming (this is admittedly a subjective complaint), the rather forced cross-country dashes you sometimes have to make in a vehicle and the sometimes unresponive controls. After all that negativity, the game does have some major pluses. The sound is absolutely fantastic, and it was the quality of the demo alone that persuded me to purchase the full game. The firefights are very immersive, and feel a little more personal than the enormous COD4 set-pieces. Also, the team AI is very good, with the three supporting characters yelling out enemy positions and yells of support right in the thick of the action. Overall, I feel that BF:BC is a solid game, but the developers are probably waiting to pull out the stops for an inevitable sequel. Expand
  9. DustinR
    Apr 7, 2009
    6
    The single player campaign was great. Multi-player is full of glitches/bugs that have yet to be addressed. These bugs can be of great annoyance to the honest gamer. The players that use these glitches to downright murder the opposing team ruin the multiplayer aspect.
  10. Aug 30, 2013
    5
    I'm reviewing this for the single player only.

    Good fun but just too easy. When killed you respawn with the enemies you killed staying dead. This means there is no penalty for dying and takes all tension and excitement from the game. This is a real shame because otherwise it's a solid experience. The destructible environment works well and the combat can be great fun destroying a
    I'm reviewing this for the single player only.

    Good fun but just too easy. When killed you respawn with the enemies you killed staying dead. This means there is no penalty for dying and takes all tension and excitement from the game.

    This is a real shame because otherwise it's a solid experience. The destructible environment works well and the combat can be great fun destroying a building to remove a snipers position can feel great. The weapons animation and sound is solid.

    The story line is interesting and I like the light-hearted feel of it, different to most military shooters around at the minute.

    I would recommend it for picking up and having a few minute of light hearted fun, but certainly not for a tense shootout.
    Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 70
    While not a complete success, Battlefield: Bad Company has many plus points, and provides a limited but fun single-player campaign that, while not wholly original, does have some memorable moments.
  2. The extreme polish evident in the final product makes it all worthwhile. Both single- and multiplayer shine - at long last redeeming DICE for the crappy bot-fests offline players had to endure in previous games in the series. [July 2008, p.82]
  3. It may lack the finesse in the single-player that some similar titles have, but it does a great job of making you feel the part as you roll into combat with guns blazing, your squad hooting and bellowing behind you. Add to this the multiplayer which is well rounded and realistic, yet big on the fun, and you have a great experience which could ultimately have you playing for months and months.