User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 639 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 639
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RonanF.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    This game is perfect, absolut contagios Jogo excelente, sistema de batalha unico e perfeito
  2. RobertoDelaT
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    this game is awesome, the variety of battle movements of bayonetta and the challenging boss enemies. Grats and thanks platinum games.
  3. JamesS
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get Jumps up my personal list as one of the best games I've ever played (and I've been playing games for 28 years). You have to play this and judge for yourself and hopefully you'll find something here as enduring as I did. It's all about the gameplay. Do not let the cynics fool you into thinking it's repititive; I guarantee none of them have the skills needed to get through this challenging game. Lots of variety (you map numerous weapons to your hands AND feet opening up a lot of different combos). Great great great replay to those who love challenging themselves and having fun. Expand
  4. RobD
    Mar 29, 2010
    9
    I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the I too have Briefly looked at a few user comments & critics as well. WTF is up w the ridiculously LOW scores? Do people NOT do ANY research B4 buying anything? If a gamer is too stupid to know what genre game they are buying & then bash it because they are mad at themselves that is BS! The Same holds true for critics partial to specific types that seemingly forget they are reviewing the product based on quality NOT their preferences! This is similar to the Devil May Cry series & I,for one, happen to Like these titles a LOT. I have still Only rated this a 9 rather than just popping a 10 because Bayonetta is Not perfect but it does almost everything right. The 1 point deduction I gave is for the fact that Bayonetta IS a niche title. as Many have stated this does fit the Love or Hate category well but Should satisfy Most fans of quality action games. I am Not a FPS fan but you don't see me dropping 1s on CODMW2 or BC2. Extend the Same courtesy as we should be helping one another by providing Fair & Accurate reviews! Expand
  5. RandallH
    Jun 14, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an over the top all out fun in an old school hard sort of way extravaganza. The graphics are beautiful, the score is wonderful, though you will likely grow tired of the main combat theme over multiple playthroughs. Incredible replayability and more unlockables than any game I have seen in years. Definitely worth the price of admission to get this great game.
  6. PaulR.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    Best action game i've ever played.
  7. RyanG.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Honestly this is 1 of the best games ive ever played...and if you think this game is crap you are either crying for attention or have a slight case of retardation.
  8. Sceptic
    Jan 10, 2010
    8
    The Japanese have elevated story-telling in games to a new type of art form.I call it...shite. If you skip every cut-scene and don't listen to arguably the worst dialog in writing history,bayonetta is awesome.Yes,there is a game in there somewhere and it's pretty good.For me,this is just filler 'til mass effect 2 and bioshock 2 arrive amongst some other excellent The Japanese have elevated story-telling in games to a new type of art form.I call it...shite. If you skip every cut-scene and don't listen to arguably the worst dialog in writing history,bayonetta is awesome.Yes,there is a game in there somewhere and it's pretty good.For me,this is just filler 'til mass effect 2 and bioshock 2 arrive amongst some other excellent tiltles.Just keep the receipt for this one though... Expand
  9. SeanM
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like This game is near perfect. The game does draw out near the middle/end, but will pick the pace at the end. It is around 10 hours if you rush through normal. I would like to see some sort of horde/firefight like mode on it, but future DLC could fix this. Also, the sexual themes in this game are there for a comedic effect, its there to laugh at, intentionally or not. If you like action/hack-and-slash, I recommend it. Expand
  10. DaveL
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash Bayonetta is an awe inspiring game with flashy attacks combined with a fluidity most games could only dream of. This game is clearly not for all gamers but if you like fast paced action games, then you might enjoy this. The fighting system works well once you play through normal and attempt hard, the game progresses once you learn the moves, it is certainly most not a hack n' slash despite what others might say. Bayonetta may have a bit of a confusing story but it becomes clearly towards the end, The replay system is an absolute joy as things become once easier. The creators clearly has a plan to make the game sexual in nature, but it is integrated smoothly and in a seductive way. The game overall is a must buy if you are patient enough to take the time to learn moves, learn enemies, and enjoy the sometimes over the top attacks. 10/10 easy Expand
  11. CRAIGB
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    I wasn't too sure when I first started playing Bayonetta but now I love it, its funny, has amazing game play and its a bit twisted which is fun.
  12. JJS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This game looks and plays beautifully, possibly the best combat system out there at this time.
  13. RicardoPulido
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Games like this don't come around very often, while Kamiya's title doesn't re-invent the genre it certainly rocks the hell out of it. Don't judge a book by it's cover, is the name of the game with Bayonetta. Do yourself a favor and star your new year with one of the best action titles to be released in this generation. In three words: Non-Stop-Climax.
  14. AnthonyS.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Simply put, if your a fan of the action genre this game is a dream come true. A must buy
  15. KenM.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    Great game filled with action and sexiness from alpha to omega!
  16. ChristianG.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    This is the best fighting game out there right now. The gameplay mechanics are so fluid and redeeming, the story is incredibly bizzare and exciting, and the characters are fantastic. The game is also incredibly hard, but it's too much fun. Definitely a "must" buy.
  17. PedroA.
    Jan 5, 2010
    10
    It's Amazing. Congratulations SEGA.
  18. AlanJ.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    Fantastic game, fast paced, great story line, excellent graphics. Everything a good game should be.
  19. JasonC.
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you While this game isn't really worth a 10 from its lack of story, there's no way I'm going to give it a 9. I wish there was a 9.5 or even 9.7 rating because the combat is just that good. You'll be laughing at and with the game the entire time and with DMC creators doing the combat theres never a moment -ever- where the controls do something different than what you wanted. This game has -perfect- gameplay. Expand
  20. KingG.
    Jan 7, 2010
    10
    Bayonetta has ruined me for all other action games.
  21. AmandaK.
    Jan 8, 2010
    9
    Game is absolutely beautiful and well-done. Little lacking in how the story shows through during the game. I asked many times "what am I doing now?" or "Whats going on?". But it didn't really matter because I was having fun playing. Bayonetta's intelligence, sass, and sexiness. AWESOME.
  22. nacorC.
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    the best of the best in it genre. Crazy replayability. A must buy for hack n slash lovers.
  23. WilliamBradley
    Jan 9, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long long time.
  24. R.G
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that I have to say, I am astonished to read a review from "gamers" that rate a game a zero (0), and for this game anything lower than a 5 is just imflamatory, from a person that must have a gripe from the developers! This game is so well done in gameplay, good graphics, music, and the story is just fun. YES, it is over the top and it is meant to be, it is a witch! It has a funfactor that anyone that considers themselves a gamer can enjoy. I am sick of people putting bs scores and it makes just remindes me that the world is full of idiots. I can find fun in most games, and if your a true gamer you should too. By the way a rating of a 4 is a game that has many flaws-this game does not have any flaws (framerate, tearing, etc.). So enough of my rant. This is one of the best games i have played in a long time, and i am sick of seeing scores on all games that are just plain stupid. Even games that are bland and not great like CSI games dont deserve lower than a 4 or 5, and those games dont add much of anything to gaming. Expand
  25. CollinJ
    Feb 22, 2010
    9
    I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. I must say, I have to laugh at everyone who thinks these reviews are fake. It's a love-it-or-hate-it type game, and personally I love it. Most of the comments say "Save money for ME2" or "I'm gonna play CoD instead."... This isn't Cod. This isn't Mass Effect, it's a completely different genre entirely. The battle system is very fluid, the visuals are amazing. Sure, you can get through the entire game button mashing, but that's not the POINT! If you build up your combos and take pride in pulling off bad-ass combos, it's a very fulfilling game. I agree the cinematics drug on a bit, but this is a game of spectacle. If you don't enjoy this sort of thing, grade it on the merits this sort of game is normally based. The action is fluid, and it does a good job of occasionally shifting up the action. And as for Bayonetta being over the top and a transparant character... She's supposed to be over the top, but is definately not two dimensional. If you'd play more through the game, she story has enough twists to keep it interesting. The game is supposed to be ripe in self-parody, that's what it's always been meant to be. And it is extremely replayable, but only if you're a perfectionist and want to unlock all the extra modes and costumes. Overall I give this game a 9; the only gripe I have with it is some occasional sputerring of the frame rate. Expand
  26. KenL
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels This is why Platinum Games joining with Sega is a good thing. This is the next evolution of Devil May Cry from the people who actually created Devil May Cry. The style may offend some, but it is style none the less. Controls never failed me. The only gripe I have is the manual Camera is a little slow. Switching scenarios with dramatic changes like the Motorcycle and "Space Harrier" levels never tripped me up. The QTEs even kept the Controller in my hands during the cut-scenes. This is the perfect balance between Serious and completely self-aware poke-funery. Plus there are tons of homages to other games from Classic Sega arcade games, Past Capcom games, to Assassin's Creed. Expand
  27. RandyB
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war Bayonetta is different, fast-paced and loads of fun, a terrific job was done in making this game work within the crazy wolrd in which its told. Theres something special about bayonetta, maybe its the absurdly fast combat, the story of an umbra witch, or maybe its just bayonettas legs! i cant decide either way this i a sure-fire purchase and id recommend it to all who like the God of war or DMC series. Expand
  28. MichaelH
    Mar 3, 2010
    8
    This is a very solid entertaining action game. I loved the dodging mechanic, I love how it's an action game that has a substantial learning curve, and I love the weapons varitey. But let me just say the story line is horrendous, a few funny parts, terrible voice acting in a few roles (I'm looking at you old british angel guy), and the worst part is that some of the cut scences This is a very solid entertaining action game. I loved the dodging mechanic, I love how it's an action game that has a substantial learning curve, and I love the weapons varitey. But let me just say the story line is horrendous, a few funny parts, terrible voice acting in a few roles (I'm looking at you old british angel guy), and the worst part is that some of the cut scences just draaaaaaaaag ooooooooooooon and they are just pointless, they don't evole the characters, they don't advance the story, they aren't even funny. Another thing I didn't like was the secuinces where your operating some form of vehical, instead of feeling like a fast paced high action little extra in the game, it was a boring, tedious, unpolished snorefest that I was just dying for to be over. BUT, on to the positive, let me say that Bayonetta (while in it's normal action sequences and boss fights) is the most fair, highly polished, and fun action game I've ever put my hands on. Not once in Bayonetta did I think, "okay, yeah, that was REAAAAAL fair there guys, just gonna give no fair warning on that huh?" every time I died I knew it was my fault, and I knew that there was somthing to do about it. I love that in games, and it's really what hardcore action gaming is all about in the end. So, in conclusion, If you are an action gamer (like myself) you will LOVE Bayonetta. But Bayonetta is not a perfect expirence and comes with more flaws than I can count on two hands, if this game didn't have such a confusing, horrendous story line it would have gotten a 9, and if it didn't have several unpolished lame driving senquences , it would have been getting closer to perfect, scrach the jaw droppingly bad voice acting, and to some, and to me, you might have yourself a 10. Expand
  29. JasonG.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    great game i am lucky enough to have an xbox 360 and a ps3 having originally bought the ps3 version i was i was very dissapointed by the choppy action and loading every time i picked something up but having taken the game back and exchanging it for the 360 version i was greeted with a really good game fun to play and full of good ideas the game is top notch.
  30. PeterC.
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    The story is unfocused (although often humorously over the top). But the _game_ part of this game is phenomenal. I've never even _enjoyed_ an action game before, much less fallen in love with one. Some of the most fantastic set pieces of any work in any medium ever.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 86 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 86
  2. Negative: 0 out of 86
  1. A game that exemplifies so much of what commentators claim has died in the Japanese game industry. A blast of creative brilliance, both technically accomplished, strategically deep and infused with rare imagination, Bayonetta represents the pinnacle of its chosen niche. [JPN Import]
  2. A beautiful and graceful fighting game that lets imagination loose, and winks before slapping Dante, Kratos and every other hero back to the drawing board. [Christmas 2009, p.90]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Astonishingly, every one of these dazzling battles is thrilling without overstaying its welcome - and also challenges you without being cheap. [Jan 2009, p.66]