User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    7
    game is still fun and co-op is a nice addiction but i think a solo mode would have been better as without local friends or internet connection it becomes unplayable literally
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Where do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only gets bigger and bigger! This game is great. With so many quirky and questionable Asian themes and songs you truly get a feel of an out of this world experience. This is a great addition to the true namco Katamari fan. The major drawback was the camera anglesWhere do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only gets bigger and bigger! This game is great. With so many quirky and questionable Asian themes and songs you truly get a feel of an out of this world experience. This is a great addition to the true namco Katamari fan. The major drawback was the camera angles and the length of play. That's why this fun game only gets an 8 from me. Collapse
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    8
    Totally addictive and fun as hell. I picked this up not expecting much. Actually I had no clue what to expect as I had never played a Katamari game before, only knew them by reputation.

    The levels are short and chaotic, but boy do they have huge replay value. I wish I could be more descriptive but I can't. This is a game that everyone should play at least once. It is strange as can be,
    Totally addictive and fun as hell. I picked this up not expecting much. Actually I had no clue what to expect as I had never played a Katamari game before, only knew them by reputation.

    The levels are short and chaotic, but boy do they have huge replay value. I wish I could be more descriptive but I can't. This is a game that everyone should play at least once. It is strange as can be, but I'm sure that's just the culture barrier in the way (it doesn't matter, but it's there.)

    Overall:
    A very strange but highly enjoyable game that I can some up in one word: Fun!
    Expand
  4. Dec 6, 2010
    7
    This game is pretty bizarre and fun.

    The graphics look like Nintendo wii graphics but that doesn't mean it's bad I'm just saying about the graphics.

    You play as a bunch of really bizarre looking characters, well you find them around the game.

    The story is pretty weird, but the gameplay is kinda fun.
  5. GaryW
    May 18, 2008
    0
    'NAMCO RIPS OFF FANS ' There, I said it. Im a long time katamari fan and have loved them all but this is decidely lacklustre. Clearly the game has been made to bleed Katamari fans dry. The game is criminally short (around 3-4 hours for experienced 'katamaras') and the levels arent as imaginative as they have been in say, we love katamari. There is occasional camera 'NAMCO RIPS OFF FANS ' There, I said it. Im a long time katamari fan and have loved them all but this is decidely lacklustre. Clearly the game has been made to bleed Katamari fans dry. The game is criminally short (around 3-4 hours for experienced 'katamaras') and the levels arent as imaginative as they have been in say, we love katamari. There is occasional camera problems in one level which can annoy, although I think the Katamari is easier to control than the PS2 or PSP versions. Im not sure this is a good thing as the struggle to control it gave the game some difficulty, I flew through this one only failing the stage where you have to get 10,000 degrees. Of course, its still katamari so it still great fun but at the end of the day, it is FAR too short, and has clearly been an experiment in how far a games company can rip the fans off (lots of downloadable content from day one that has to all be bought seperately and could have easily been fitted into the full game for the asking price). I paid £24.99 and despite being a Katamari fan I feel like ive been robbed. I call on Namco to do the right thing and either bundle all the extra stuff into one pack for 800 points, or give them away for free to the people who went out and paid for half a game. The real killer is that you cant get all the achievements without buying the extra content. This is ridiculous, despite my love Katamari, I agree with the other fella who says boycott this game, if you can find it for a tenner used buy it and have a great time, but dont give Namco the full RRP for a game that you cannot fully complete without paying more money. Expand
  6. GerryB.
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Ok let me just say this game is better then most people say have any of you played the game in hd? or an lcd monitor it looks a lot better when I first saw this game on the ps2 i though what a stupid game then i tried it as a demo and was hooked I got both of them for the ps2 as for the 360 version i like it 1 thing i would say could make it better would be to add more levels I'mOk let me just say this game is better then most people say have any of you played the game in hd? or an lcd monitor it looks a lot better when I first saw this game on the ps2 i though what a stupid game then i tried it as a demo and was hooked I got both of them for the ps2 as for the 360 version i like it 1 thing i would say could make it better would be to add more levels I'm thinking like oh maybe lol 30 but thats a pipe dream i guess hahahanyway I like the game. Expand
  7. CassieB.
    Jan 21, 2008
    7
    Of the 3 games in the Katamari series this is by far the weakest for so many reasons: camera issues, control, bipolar difficulty, lack of the Katamari humor, graphics that could have been updated, etc. I really could go on. But it's not a terrible game by any means, but it settled for "good" when it could have been "great"...easily.
  8. AllanM.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    No matter how good this game is it HAS TO BE BOYCOTTED. All of the downloadable content is already on the disc it just needs to be paid for and unlocked on xbox live. This is exactly where xbox live can not go. Do NOT support a game that aims to rip off the customer by not allowing them access to content already on the disc without paying for it TWICE.
  9. JakeS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    This games stays true to its roots. Its still amazing.
  10. UncleDouggieB.
    Oct 23, 2007
    8
    A solid game, but it all ends to fast. Controls have a steep learning curve and can be frustrating with the camera, but everything else is great. Leaderboards and multiplayer are a cool feature and the downloadable content will add depth, but it's just too short.
  11. TobyO.
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    I love this series, but this is the weakest console version yet. It's way too short, with only a dozen or so stages (if that). Maybe to milk downloadable content? The control and camera seem worse now -- perhaps because it was developed externally (Vicarious Visions). The king's insults were also less enjoyable this time around. I played through the whole thing and had a good I love this series, but this is the weakest console version yet. It's way too short, with only a dozen or so stages (if that). Maybe to milk downloadable content? The control and camera seem worse now -- perhaps because it was developed externally (Vicarious Visions). The king's insults were also less enjoyable this time around. I played through the whole thing and had a good time, but this is nearing jump-the-shark status. Still, infectious gameplay, much more onscreen, and online multiplayer make it worth checking out for both series fans and Katamari n00bs. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2013
    0
    Where do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only gets bigger and bigger! This game is great. With so many quirky and questionable Asian themes and songs you truly get a feel of an out of this world experience. This is a great addition to the true namco Katamari fan. The major drawback was the camera anglesWhere do I start? This game keeps you interested, just when you think the ball you are meticulously rolling has gotten huge, it only gets bigger and bigger! This game is great. With so many quirky and questionable Asian themes and songs you truly get a feel of an out of this world experience. This is a great addition to the true namco Katamari fan. The major drawback was the camera angles and the length of play. That's why this fun game only gets an 8 from me. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. It clearly aims to include everyone and exclude no one, and that's just plain refreshing amid a holiday season stuffed full of deadly serious, high-learning-curve me-toos. [Nov 2007, p.96]
  2. 78
    There’s a decent attempt to extend game through online multiplayer but once again Katamari’s biggest downfall is that the magic is short lived. Even with the few problems I’ve mentioned the game is still a joy to behold and a guaranteed smile in a box.
  3. The game’s title screams of beauty, but in truth, with the single player experience not being up to spec, this is the ugly duckling of the Katamari series. It just doesn’t have that wow factor going for it like the previous entries did.