Beyond Good & Evil HD Xbox 360

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    60
    Beyond Good & Evil HD is a visually lovely update to what many consider an ignored classic. There is much to be admired about how the heroine Jade is presented and how the game mixes a plethora of genres with some success, but the nonexistent difficulty curve and simplistic mechanics make it hard to recommend for fans of action-rpgs.
  2. Mar 4, 2011
    70
    A game that has aged reasonably well. While there are a few hiccups here and there, the visual update is fantastic and the gameplay is still incredibly well paced and fun.
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    70
    The new character models and HD visuals do a great job of bringing Hillys to life, but only serve to contrast how far game design has come in eight years. We're more critical of camera issues and interface problems these days, spoiled by the likes of Uncharted and Mass Effect. Considering the effort gone into revamping the character models, it strikes me as odd that Ubisoft hasn't addressed these issues too.
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    70
    As much as I've come to re-love Beyond Good & Evil, the niggling issues stand out as possible evidence that Ubisoft might not be willing to invest more time in Jade than is strictly necessary. It's a shame, and I hope that's not really the case, because this is a yesteryear project that deserves the trilogy it never got.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    If you haven't played the original on the PS2, or Gamecube this is a must buy. For $10.00 this is a steal. I recommend this game to anyone whoIf you haven't played the original on the PS2, or Gamecube this is a must buy. For $10.00 this is a steal. I recommend this game to anyone who likes action games. It's a few years old but it doesn't feel dated. Only thing that still bugs me is the camera. This is a GREAT classic game at a GREAT price. Download today! Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Obviously the gameplay is still the same, which isn't bad from a nostalgic standpoint. The graphics are smoothed over and essentially you areObviously the gameplay is still the same, which isn't bad from a nostalgic standpoint. The graphics are smoothed over and essentially you are given the pleasure of playing this under-appreciated classic. Whether it holds up by today's standards is arguable, but that's not what you should be looking for with this game. It was great when it came out and it is honestly one of the best games you've never played. Remember that thing you used to have when you were a kid...what was it? .....ah yes, fun! Well that's this game. It's good clean, imaginative fun. Enjoy it. Full Review »
  3. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    As a kid I played this game obsessively, but in the end I was rubbish at being sneaky, didn't understand what was going on and had anAs a kid I played this game obsessively, but in the end I was rubbish at being sneaky, didn't understand what was going on and had an overwhelming sense of achievement when I photographed a dead whale. Still somehow Beyond Good and Evil spoke to me and has made me regret the ridding of the gamecube for a long while. So I bought an xbox, purely to play this and hope for a sequel. An amazing soundtrack, brilliantly thoughtful plot and wonderful gaming style has made this impressive action puzzler one of the best overlooked games of the noughties. I seriously recommend you give it a try, and a full game for only a few quid makes it immensely great value! Full Review »